DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Drzewiecki (6,910,402).
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (D1)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (D2)]Chang discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, i.e., a pipe wrench spinner 100 comprising:
a first frame 130, Figs. 1, 2;
a second frame 111 slidingly supported by the first frame relative movement;
a first arm upper 120, pivotally attached to the second frame 111 at a first pivot point 126; a second arm lower 120 pivotally attached to the second frame at a second pivot point 126;
a first cylinder 140, attached at a first end to the first frame 130 @134 and a second end to the first arm at a third pivot point 116; and
a second cylinder lower 140, attached at a first end to the first frame @ lower 134 and a second end to the second arm at a fourth pivot point 116;
wherein the first pivot point 126 and second pivot point 126 are separated by a first distance D1 annotated Fig. 1; and
wherein the first and second cylinder are configured to move the first and second arm from a first condition retracted/open, Fig. 1 to a second condition extended/closed Fig. 2;
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (D3)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (D1)]wherein the first condition is defined by the third and fourth pivot points 116, lower 116 being separated by a distance D2 greater than the first distance annotated Fig. 1; and
the second condition closed to be defined by the third and fourth pivot points 116, lower 116 being separated by a distance D3 that is less than the first distance D1 annotated Fig. 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drzewiecki in view of Orgeron et al. (9,500,049 “Orgeron”).
Drzewiecki meets all of the limitations of claim 2, including for each of the first arm, second arm to support a jaw 125, except for the second frame to support a jaw.
Orgeron teaches a gripping apparatus, wherein the engaging arms 279, 216 and the frame 224 each support a toothed die of a tong, or a roller of a spinner, e.g., grippers 214 and 242, 19:35. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to modify the invention of Drzewiecki with the grippers as taught by Orgeron to adapt the grippers for a tong configured to making up and breaking out threaded connections.
Claim 3 and 6-8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drzewiecki in view of Orgeron et al. and Vo (10,808,469).
Drzewiecki meets all of the limitations of claim 3, except for a second pipe wrench rotatable relative to the first wrench, since the apparatus being configured as a spinner.
Orgeron et al. teaches a gripping apparatus, wherein the engaging arms 279, 216 and the frame 224 each support a toothed die of a tong, or a roller of a spinner, e.g., grippers 214 and 242. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to modify the invention of Drzewiecki with the grippers as taught by Orgeron to adapt the grippers for a tong configured to making up and breaking out threaded connections.
Vo teaches a wrench assembly comprising a lower clamp 140 and an upper clamp 135 with the lower clamp assembly is rotatable relative to the upper tong. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to further modify the invention of Drzewiecki and Orgeron with the system as taught by Vo to adapt the grippers for a system with one clamp assembly to hold a lower pipe while the other clamp assembly is utilized for initial breaking up and/or final making up of the pipe strings.
Regarding claim 6, PA (prior art, Drzewiecki modified by Orgeron and Vo) meets the limitations, i.e., the pipe wrench of claim 1, the rotating clamp further comprising a third frame 605 comprising at least one arcuate slot 600 wherein the first frame 710 comprises at least one pin wedge 505 disposed through the arcuate slot 600 and the first frame is movable relative to the third frame along a path defined by the at least one arcuate slot alignment means Fig. 7. Please note that these features are met by groove 510 in plate 515 and wedge 505 of plate 605 of Fig. 6.
Regarding claim 7, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the pipe wrench of claim 6 further comprising: a first rotation cylinder not numbered Fig. 4 configured to move the first frame stationary clamp relative to the third frame rotating clamp with the third plate; and
at least one second rotation cylinder Fig. 4 not numbered configured to move the first frame relative to the third frame.
Regarding claim 8, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the pipe wrench of claim 7in which the first rotation cylinder and the at least one second rotation, except for he cylinder to be of different sizes. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to modify the invention with regards to dimension or desired size, e.g., have a smaller or with a different diameter, for a variant in applying gripping force in adapting the tool for a particular application, since such modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PA as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Richardson (6,082,225).
PA (prior art, Drzewiecki modified by Orgeron and Vo) meets all of the limitations of claim 3, except for the first pipe wrench 140 and second pipe wrench 135 to be separated by an adjustable distance.
Richardson teaches a power tong wrench having a vertical float cylinder 62 to adjust the spacing of the backup wrench and the power tong wrench. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to modify the invention of PA with the vertical float as taught by Richardson allowing for the necessary adjustment of spacing as the thread advances when making up a section of pipe and to allow smooth operation without the need to stop and make adjustments to the connection between the power tong and backup wrench
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drzewiecki in view of Orgeron et al. and Drzewiecki (7,121,166 “Drz`166”).
Drzewiecki meets all of the limitations of claim 5, except for a removable jaw assembly with the die, an insert and a retainer as recited.
Orgeron teaches a gripping apparatus, wherein the engaging arms 279, 216 and the frame 224 each support a toothed die of a tong, or a roller of a spinner, e.g., grippers 214 and 242. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to modify the invention of Drzewiecki with the grippers as taught by Orgeron to adapt the grippers for a tong configured to making up and breaking out threaded connections.
Drz`166 teaches a power tong assembly comprising a pair of clamping arms and a plurality of die assemblies including at least one die assembly for the center jaw/member and comprises:
at least one hardened die 302;
a removable insert 304 disposed about the hardened die; and
a retainer 306 configured to retain the removable insert on the second frame. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to modify the invention of PA including the center jaw with the removable jaw assembly as taught by Drz`166 to adapt the grippers improving the system, e.g., ease of service or maintenance, providing even gripping force to help prevent slippage and marring the workpiece.
CLAIM 9
Claims 9-13 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drzewiecki in view of Orgeron et al. and Vo (10,808,469).
Drzewiecki meets all of the limitations of claim 9, i.e., a pipe wrench spinner 100 comprising a stationary wrench 100, Figs. 1, 2 comprising a first jaw supporting center jaw defined by 160 and frame, second jaw 120, and third jaw 120; wherein the second jaw and third jaw are each pivotal relative to the first jaw Figs. 1 and 2; except for a rotating wrench comprising a fourth jaw, fifth jaw, and sixth jaw; wherein the fifth jaw and sixth jaw are each pivotal relative to the fourth jaw and wherein the rotating wrench is rotatable relative to the stationary wrench.
Orgeron teaches a gripping apparatus, wherein the engaging arms 279, 216 and the frame 224 each support a toothed die of a tong, or a roller of a spinner, e.g., grippers 214 and 242. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to modify the invention of Drzewiecki with the grippers as taught by Orgeron to adapt the grippers for a tong configured to making up and breaking out threaded connections.
Vo teaches a wrench assembly comprising a lower clamp 140 and an upper clamp 135 with the lower clamp assembly is rotatable relative to the upper tong. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to further modify the invention of Drzewiecki and Orgeron with the system as taught by Vo to adapt the grippers for a system with one clamp assembly to hold a lower pipe while the other clamp assembly is utilized for initial breaking up and/or final making up of the pipe strings.
Regarding claim 10, PA (prior art, Drzewiecki modified by Orgeron and Vo) meets the limitations, i.e., the pipe wrench assembly of claim 9 in which the second jaw and third jaw 120 of the stationary wrench are each configured to pivot over center relative to the first jaw of the stationary wrench Figs. 1 and 2 Drzewiecki.
Regarding claim 11, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the pipe wrench assembly of claim 9 in which the stationary wrench comprises:
a first frame 130 Drzewiecki, Figs. 1, 2;
a second frame 111 slidingly attached to the first frame relative movement, wherein the first jaw center jaw 242 modified by Orgeron is supported on the first frame 111; a first arm upper 120, pivotally attached to the second frame 111, wherein the second jaw 220 modified by Orgeron is supported on the first arm; and a second arm lower 120, pivotally attached to the second frame 111, wherein the third jaw 222 modified by Orgeron is supported on the second arm Fig. 8, Orgeron.
Regarding claim 12, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the pipe wrench assembly of claim 11, further comprising a first cylinder 140, disposed between the first frame 130 and the first arm 120; and a second cylinder lower 140, disposed between the first frame 130 and the second arm lower 120, Fig. 1 Drzewiecki.
Regarding claim 13, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the pipe wrench assembly of claim 11, further comprising: a spring assembly 150 disposed between the first frame and the second frame, configured to bias the second frame away from the first frame Fig. 1 Drzewiecki.
Regarding claim 17, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the pipe wrench assembly of claim 9, except for further comprising a spindle for rotating a drill string; a carriage for providing thrust to the drill string.
Orgeron further teaches providing a carriage 16, Fig. 3 and an option of providing a spinner 08:43 for the wench assembly. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to modify the invention of PA with the carriage and spinner as taught by Orgeron in order to install drill pipes with means for rapid screwing and unscrewing of the pipes while the tongs provide the initial breaking up and final tightening of the pipes.
Regarding claims 18 and 19, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the pipe wrench assembly of claim 18 and its associated method claim 19, wherein the rotating wrench comprises a first cylinder 140 configured to pivot the second jaw relative to the first jaw; a second cylinder lower 140 configured to pivot the third jaw relative to the first jaw Fig. 1, Drzewiecki, a third cylinder 140 for the second rotating wrench configured to pivot the fifth jaw modified for the rotating wrench, Vo relative to the fourth jaw; a fourth cylinder 140 for the modified second tong configured to pivot the sixth jaw relative to the fourth jaw; and at least one rotation cylinder not numbered Fig. 4, Vo configured to rotate the rotating wrench relative to the stationary wrench. It is noted that under the principals of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Regarding claim 20, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the method of claim 19 wherein the first pipe is at least partially underground coupling decoupling tubulars in a drilling operation in oil and gas industry.
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PA as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Drzewiecki (7,121,166 “Drz`166”).
PA (prior art, Drzewiecki modified by Orgeron and Vo) meets all of the limitations of claim 14, except for the jaw assembly to include a die, a tab, an insert and a pin as recited.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (TAB)][AltContent: textbox (TAB)][AltContent: arrow] Drz`166 teaches a power tong assembly comprising a pair of clamping arms and a plurality of die assemblies including at least one die assembly for the center jaw/member and comprises:
a tab annotated fig. 7 disposed on the second frame 111 supporting the center jaw; 302; an insert 304, 306 defining a slot accommodating head 328, wherein the slot is configured to cooperate with the tab to locate the insert on the second frame; at least one die 302, positioned on the second frame by the insert 304, 306; and a pin 328 disposed through the tab, the pin having a length longer than a width of the slot. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to modify the invention of PA including the center jaw with the removable jaw assembly as taught by Drz`166 to adapt the grippers improving the system, e.g., ease of service or maintenance, providing even gripping force to help prevent slippage and marring the workpiece.
Please note that under the principals of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PA as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Richardson (6,082,225).
PA (prior art, Drzewiecki modified by Orgeron and Vo) meets all of the limitations of claim 9, except for at least one position actuator disposed between the stationary wrench and the rotating wrench, wherein a distance between the stationary wrench and the rotating wrench is configured to be adjusted by the position actuator.
Richardson teaches a power tong wrench having a vertical float cylinder 62 to adjust the spacing of the backup wrench and the power tong wrench. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to modify the invention of PA with the vertical float as taught by Richardson allowing for the necessary adjustment of spacing as the thread advances when making up a section of pipe and to allow smooth operation without the need to stop and make adjustments to the connection between the power tong and backup wrench
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon at this time, are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Pietras et al., Slettedal et al., and Lundeen are cited to show related inventions.
/Hadi Shakeri/
March 21, 2026 Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723