DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Status of Claims
Claims 1-16 are pending.
Claims 1, 4-6, 9, and 12-14 have been amended.
Claims 2-3 and 10-11 have been canceled.
Response to Amendment
Objection to Specification (Title): Applicant has submitted a replacement Title that addresses the concerns with regards to the Title. The objection to the specification is withdrawn.
Objection to Claims: The amendments to claim 9 addresses the concerns with regards to the claims. The objection to the claim is withdrawn.
Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. §103: Claims 1 and 9 has been amended to change the scope of the claimed invention. Specifically, amended claim 1 recites “a vent provided in the inflatable skirt that permits air provided to the inflatable skirt by the compressor to exit the inflatable skirt at a location beneath the underside of the vehicle and at a rate that enables the inflatable skirt to change shape to follow the ground and prevent damage during an impact between the ground and the inflatable skirt”, which changes the scope of the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. §103: Applicant’s amendments have necessitated new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the current rejection. Applicant relies on new reference Shaw (US 3265144 A) to teach amended language related to the vent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 9, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scholz (US 20240286689 A1) in view of Shaw (US 3265144 A) and Sullivan (US 4611847 A).
Regarding claim 1, Scholz teach A vehicle plenum skirt (see at least FIG. 1, [0087]: “a vehicle 100 having a skirt 102”) comprising:
an (see at least FIG. 1: skirt 102) that is configured downward from an underside (see at least FIG. 1, [0087]: “The skirt 102 is mounted on an underside 106 of the vehicle 100”) of a vehicle (see at least FIG. 1: vehicle 100) toward the ground (see at least FIG. 1, [e0088]: “The skirt 102 … extends downwards towards a ground surface (e.g. a road) 114”);
a plurality of limiting pneumatic actuators (see at least FIG. 3: actuation mechanisms 136a-c; [0101]: “the actuation mechanisms 136a-c comprise pneumatic actuators”) to maintain a gap (see at least [0094]: “for controlling a height of the rim 118 over the ground surface 114”) between the vehicle underside and the ground.
However, Scholz does not explicitly teach inflatable;
to be inflated;
a compressor for inflating the inflatable skirt through an inlet provided in the inflatable skirt;
a vent provided in the inflatable skirt that permits air provided to the inflatable skirt by the compressor to exit the inflatable skirt at a location beneath the underside of the vehicle and at a rate that enables the inflatable skirt to change shape to follow the ground and prevent damage during an impact between the ground and the inflatable skirt.
Shaw teach an inflatable (see at least (10) column 1 lines 62-63: “FIGURE 1 shows diagrammatically an inflatable flexible structure according to the invention”) skirt (see at least (4) column 1 lines 23-24: “flexible members in the form of skirts”) that is configured to be inflated to extend downward from an underside (see at least (21) column 3 line 46: “the skirt enclosing a gas cushion in a vehicle as aforementioned.”; (1) column 1 lines 14-16: “in vehicles which in operation are supported over a surface on a cushion of pressurized gas produced beneath the vehicle”) of a vehicle toward the ground;
(see at least FIG. 1: conduit 9; column 2 lines 5-9: “The framework is connected to a high pressure air supply 8 by way of a conduit 9 and valve housing 10 whereby the tubular members are inflated and the framework consequently stiffens to assume the desired outline of the structure, the surfaces of which are formed by the sheath panels.”) provided in the inflatable skirt;
a vent (see at least FIG. 1: orifices 17, 18) provided in the inflatable skirt that permits air provided to (see at least (7) column 1 lines 44-46: “the framework is inflated by a relatively high pressure air supply”) the inflatable skirt (see at least (19) column 2 lines 60-64: “Should the flexible structure be deflected relative to an adjacent structure the orifices 17, 18 become displaced in relation to the associated sealing means allowing air to escape from the flexible structure with consequent reduction of internal pressure.”) the inflatable skirt at a location beneath the underside of the vehicle and at a rate that enables the inflatable skirt to change shape (see at least (19) column 2 lines 64-66: “The stiffness of the flexible structure is thereby reduced permitting it to collapse or otherwise yield.”) to follow the ground and prevent damage (see at least (22) column 3 lines 51-60: “On meeting an obstruction which cannot be negotiated by the normal flexibility of the skirt, the impact will cause deflection of a section or sections of flexible structure to release the contained pressure. The said sections will readily give way relieving the main structure of shock and considerably reducing the possibility of crippling damage. After passing over the obstruction the inflation of the stiffening framework rapidly restores the section to its original configuration thus serving to reduce excessive loss of cushion pressure.”) during an impact between the ground and the inflatable skirt.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Scholz to incorporate the teachings of Shaw to vent air from an inflatable compressor to prevent damage from contact with obstacles. Doing so would reduce damage and enable rapid recovery, as recognized by Shaw in column 1 lines 38-40.
Sullivan teach a compressor (see at least Claim 8: “a vehicle compressed air supply system”) for inflating the inflatable skirt (see at least (5) column 2 lines 66-68: “The skirt is coiled or rolled up in its deflated transportation position. Preferably compressed air is used as the actuating fluid.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Scholz to incorporate the teachings of Sullivan to use an inflatable skirt. Doing so would overcome problems associated with fixed or hinged panel skirting, which “severely limited ground clearance, thereby restricting the vehicle’s mobility over uneven terrain” and “inhibit access to the underside of a vehicle for service work”, as recognized by Sullivan in column 1 lines 43-49.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Scholz, Shaw, and Sullivan teach The vehicle plenum skirt of Claim 1.
Scholz further teaches wherein the inflatable skirt has a closed shape, such as an oval (see at least FIG. 4, [0026]: “The barrier may form a closed shape … such as an oval”), rectangle, pentagon or hexagon.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Scholz, Shaw, and Sullivan teach The vehicle plenum skirt of Claim 1.
Scholz further teaches further comprising a wear element (see at least FIG. 1, [0089]: “The rim 118 includes a sealing element in the form of a sealing strip 120, which is provided on a ground facing-surface of the rim 118 such that the sealing strip 120 is arranged to contact the ground surface”) secured to the skirt for contact with the ground.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Scholz, Shaw, and Sullivan teach The vehicle plenum skirt of Claim 1.
Scholz further teaches further comprising a controller (see at least [0066]: “The skirt may further comprise a controller for controlling the actuation mechanism. In particular, the controller may be configured to control the actuation mechanism, in order to set the height of the rim above the ground surface.”) coupled with the limiting pneumatic actuators for force collapsing the inflatable skirt for maintaining the gap.
Regarding claim 9, Scholz teach A vehicle having wheels (see at least [0065]: “wheels of the vehicle”) and an underbody (see at least FIG. 1: underside 106), comprising:
an (see at least FIG. 1: skirt 102) that is configured to extend downward from the underside (see at least FIG. 1, [0087]: “The skirt 102 is mounted on an underside 106 of the vehicle 100”) of the vehicle toward the ground (see at least FIG. 1, [0088]: “The skirt 102 … extends downwards towards a ground surface (e.g. a road) 114”);
a plurality of limiting pneumatic actuators (see at least FIG. 3: actuation mechanisms 136a-c) to maintain a gap (see at least [0094]: “for controlling a height of the rim 118 over the ground surface 114”) between the vehicle underside and the ground.
However, Scholz does not explicitly teach inflatable;
a compressor for inflating the inflatable skirt through an inlet provided in the inflatable skirt;
a vent provided in the inflatable skirt that permits air provided to the inflatable skirt by the compressor to exit the inflatable skirt at a location beneath the underside of the vehicle and at a rate that enables the inflatable skirt to change shape to follow the ground and prevent damage during an impact between the ground and the inflatable skirt.
Shaw teach an inflatable (see at least (10) column 1 lines 62-63: “FIGURE 1 shows diagrammatically an inflatable flexible structure according to the invention”) skirt (see at least (4) column 1 lines 23-24: “flexible members in the form of skirts”) that is configured to be inflated to extend downward from an underside (see at least (21) column 3 line 46: “the skirt enclosing a gas cushion in a vehicle as aforementioned.”; (1) column 1 lines 14-16: “in vehicles which in operation are supported over a surface on a cushion of pressurized gas produced beneath the vehicle”) of a vehicle toward the ground;
a (see at least FIG. 1: conduit 9; column 2 lines 5-9: “The framework is connected to a high pressure air supply 8 by way of a conduit 9 and valve housing 10 whereby the tubular members are inflated and the framework consequently stiffens to assume the desired outline of the structure, the surfaces of which are formed by the sheath panels.”) provided in the inflatable skirt;
a vent (see at least FIG. 1: orifices 17, 18) provided in the inflatable skirt that permits air provided to (see at least (7) column 1 lines 44-46: “the framework is inflated by a relatively high pressure air supply”) the inflatable skirt (see at least (19) column 2 lines 60-64: “Should the flexible structure be deflected relative to an adjacent structure the orifices 17, 18 become displaced in relation to the associated sealing means allowing air to escape from the flexible structure with consequent reduction of internal pressure.”) the inflatable skirt at a location beneath the underside of the vehicle and at a rate that enables the inflatable skirt to change shape (see at least (19) column 2 lines 64-66: “The stiffness of the flexible structure is thereby reduced permitting it to collapse or otherwise yield.”) to follow the ground and prevent damage (see at least (22) column 3 lines 51-60: “On meeting an obstruction which cannot be negotiated by the normal flexibility of the skirt, the impact will cause deflection of a section or sections of flexible structure to release the contained pressure. The said sections will readily give way relieving the main structure of shock and considerably reducing the possibility of crippling damage. After passing over the obstruction the inflation of the stiffening framework rapidly restores the section to its original configuration thus serving to reduce excessive loss of cushion pressure.”) during an impact between the ground and the inflatable skirt.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Scholz to incorporate the teachings of Shaw to vent air from an inflatable compressor to prevent damage from contact with obstacles. Doing so would reduce damage and enable rapid recovery, as recognized by Shaw in column 1 lines 38-40.
Sullivan teach a compressor (see at least Claim 8: “a vehicle compressed air supply system”) for inflating the inflatable skirt (see at least (5) column 2 lines 66-68: “The skirt is coiled or rolled up in its deflated transportation position. Preferably compressed air is used as the actuating fluid.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Scholz to incorporate the teachings of Sullivan to use an inflatable skirt. Doing so would overcome problems associated with fixed or hinged panel skirting, which “severely limited ground clearance, thereby restricting the vehicle’s mobility over uneven terrain” and “inhibit access to the underside of a vehicle for service work”, as recognized by Sullivan in column 1 lines 43-49.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Scholz, Shaw, and Sullivan teach The vehicle Claim 9.
Scholz further teaches wherein the inflatable skirt has a closed shape, such as an oval (see at least FIG. 4, [0026]: “The barrier may form a closed shape … such as an oval”), rectangle, pentagon or hexagon.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Scholz, Shaw, and Sullivan teach The vehicle Claim 9.
Scholz further teaches further comprising a wear element (see at least FIG. 1, [0089]: “The rim 118 includes a sealing element in the form of a sealing strip 120, which is provided on a ground facing-surface of the rim 118 such that the sealing strip 120 is arranged to contact the ground surface”) secured to the inflatable skirt for contact with the ground.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Scholz, Shaw, and Sullivan teach The vehicle Claim 9.
Scholz further teaches further comprising a controller (see at least [0066]: “The skirt may further comprise a controller for controlling the actuation mechanism. In particular, the controller may be configured to control the actuation mechanism, in order to set the height of the rim above the ground surface.”) coupled with the pneumatic actuators for force collapsing the inflatable skirt for maintaining the gap.
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scholz (US 20240286689 A1) in view of Shaw (US 3265144 A), Sullivan (US 4611847 A), Prentice (US 20130238198 A1), and Fridén et al. (US 20250115125 A1).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Scholz, Shaw, and Sullivan teach The vehicle plenum skirt of Claim 1.
Scholz further teaches wherein the controller includes on board vehicle (see at least [0068]: “The skirt and/or vehicle may include one or more sensors which are used as inputs by the controller for controlling the actuation mechanism.”).
However, the combination of Scholz, Shaw, and Sullivan does not explicitly teach accelerometers, suspension travel sensors and wheel speed sensors.
Prentice teach wherein the controller includes on board vehicle accelerometers (see at least FIG. 24A: two-axis accelerometer sensor 172), suspension travel sensors (see at least FIG. 24A: suspension position sensors 176a-176d).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Scholz to incorporate the teachings of Prentice to use accelerometers and suspension travel sensors. Doing so would “improve[] motor vehicle control”, as recognized by Prentice in the [Abstract].
Fridén teach wherein the controller includes on board wheel speed sensors (see at least FIG. 2, [0154]: “sensors 206 include … wheel speed sensors”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Scholz to incorporate the teachings of Fridén to use wheel speed sensors. Doing so would “reduce the drag”, as recognized by Fridén in paragraph [0306].
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Scholz, Shaw, and Sullivan teach The vehicle of Claim 14.
Scholz further teaches wherein the controller includes on board vehicle (see at least [0068]: “The skirt and/or vehicle may include one or more sensors which are used as inputs by the controller for controlling the actuation mechanism.”).
However, the combination of Scholz, Shaw, and Sullivan does not explicitly teach accelerometers, suspension travel sensors and wheel speed sensors.
Prentice teach wherein the controller includes on board vehicle accelerometers (see at least FIG. 24A: two-axis accelerometer sensor 172), suspension travel sensors (see at least FIG. 24A: suspension position sensors 176a-176d).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Scholz to incorporate the teachings of Prentice to use accelerometers and suspension travel sensors. Doing so would “improve[] motor vehicle control”, as recognized by Prentice in the [Abstract].
Fridén teach wherein the controller includes on board wheel speed sensors (see at least FIG. 2, [0154]: “sensors 206 include … wheel speed sensors”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Scholz to incorporate the teachings of Fridén to use wheel speed sensors. Doing so would “reduce the drag”, as recognized by Fridén in paragraph [0306].
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scholz (US 20240286689 A1) in view of Shaw (US 3265144 A), Sullivan (US 4611847 A), and Kim et al. (US 11572949 B1).
Regarding claim 8, the combination Scholz, Shaw, and Sullivan teach The vehicle plenum shirt of Claim 1.
However, the combination Scholz, Shaw, and Sullivan does not explicitly teach wherein the inflatable skirt includes a bellows portion.
Kim teach wherein the inflatable skirt (see at least (36) column 11 lines 33-37: “may be adapted … for … inflatable vertical side skirts”) includes a bellows portion (see at least FIG. 1B, (36) column 11 lines 32-33: “the skin-constrained inflatable bellows system 10”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Scholz to incorporate the teachings of Kim to include a bellows portion. Doing so would “increas[e] shear resistance, and decreas[e] weight while maintaining or decreasing cost and decreasing manufacturing complexity”, as recognized by Kim in column 1 lines 29-31.
Regarding claim 16, the combination Scholz, Shaw, and Sullivan teach The vehicle of Claim 9.
However, the combination Scholz, Shaw, and Sullivan does not explicitly teach wherein the inflatable skirt includes a bellows portion.
Kim teach wherein the inflatable skirt (see at least (36) column 11 lines 33-37: “may be adapted … for … inflatable vertical side skirts”) includes a bellows portion (see at least FIG. 1B, (36) column 11 lines 32-33: “the skin-constrained inflatable bellows system 10”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Scholz to incorporate the teachings of Kim to include a bellows portion. Doing so would “increas[e] shear resistance, and decreas[e] weight while maintaining or decreasing cost and decreasing manufacturing complexity”, as recognized by Kim in column 1 lines 29-31.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Prior art previously presented:
Sarhadiangardabad (US 20170057565 A1) teaches a system that moves a vehicle skirt panel to increase low pressure under a vehicle to increase tire traction (see [Abstract]).
Marmo et al. (US 9994267 B1) teaches a system that uses moveable side skirts to increase air pressure in a below vehicle region to reduce drag (see column 7 lines 3-7).
Layfield et al. (US 20070120397 A1) teaches a trailer skirt system that reduces aerodynamic drag on the wheel assembly (see [Abstract]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner Interview are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
571-272-1000.
/GEORGE A ALCORN III/Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/JELANI A SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3662