Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the MOSFET of Claims 10-12 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12640554. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter is essentially the same with the exception that the patent contains extra limitations.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19653754 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter is essentially the same with the exception that the copending patent application contains extra limitations.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Varigonda et al (USPGPN 20220190629; hereinafter Vari)
Independent Claim 1, Vari discloses/teaches a system for providing a battery protection circuit during an engine (¶’s [25-29]) starting event on a vessel (vessel is defined as “a container for holding something” according to https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/vessel, where ¶[29] describes the system as a commercial vehicle, which one of ordinary skill in the art a commercial vehicle inherently means something is held by it;
furthermore, noted that this limitation is an intended use, where a commercial vehicle with a holding space is certainly able to use a starting system with an engine [In response to applicant's argument that “for providing a battery protection circuit during an engine starting event on a vessel”, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim], and further commercial vehicles include commercial waterborne vehicles,
additionally, this intended use is only present in the preamble: [When reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitation “for providing a battery protection circuit during an engine starting event on a vessel” is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02],
see Figs. [5, 6, esp. 5]) comprising:
a first relay (120, 132, esp. 120), wherein the first relay electrically connects between:
a first battery (104), and
a starter motor (110) and a set of on-board accessories (loads shown in Fig. 5, ¶’s [22, 26]), the starter motor mechanically associated with an engine (¶’s [25-29]);
a battery protection circuit, wherein the battery protection circuit comprises a second relay (116) and a current-limiting circuit in parallel (118), and electrically connects between:
a second battery (102), and
the starter motor and the set of on-board accessories (Fig. 5); and
a controller (114), wherein upon receiving a signal to start the engine, the controller is configured to send a first control signal to the first relay and a second control signal to the second relay (¶[28: “Upon the next engine start-up, SCM 114 may connect UC 104 to the DC bus (by closing pre-charge switch 132 and then main contactor 120) before connecting battery 102 to the DC bus or at the same time as connecting battery 102.”], ¶’s [23, 26-28, esp. 27, 28]).
While Vari demonstrates loads, Vari does not explicitly demonstrate them being on-board. It would have been obvious to provide power to loads on-board the vehicle to provide improved safety and comfort. Comfort including HVAC, heated seating, power outlets for charging personal devices, etc. Safety including cameras, safety lights, etc. Where one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention understands it is common for on-board electric power supplies of hybrid electric vehicles as disclosed by Vari like the battery/capacitor of Fig. 5 to provide power to these various loads.
Independent Claim 14, Vari discloses/teaches a system for starting an engine (¶’s [25-29]) starting event on a vessel (vessel is defined as “a container for holding something” according to https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/vessel, where ¶[29] describes the system as a commercial vehicle, which one of ordinary skill in the art a commercial vehicle inherently means something is held by it;
furthermore, noted that this limitation is an intended use, where a commercial vehicle with a holding space is certainly able to use a starting system with an engine [In response to applicant's argument that “ for starting an engine in a vessel”, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim], and further commercial vehicles include commercial waterborne vehicles,
additionally, this intended use is only present in the preamble: [When reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitation “ for starting an engine in a vessel” is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02],
see Figs. [5, 6, esp. 5]) the system comprising:
a first battery (104);
a second battery (102);
a first relay (120, 132, esp. 120), wherein the first relay electrically connects between:
the first battery, and
a starter motor (110) and a set of on-board accessories (loads shown in Fig. 5, ¶’s [22, 26]), the starter motor mechanically associated with an engine (¶’s [25-29]);
a battery protection circuit, wherein the battery protection circuit comprises a second relay (116) and a current-limiting circuit in parallel (118), and electrically connects between:
the second battery, and the starter motor and the set of on-board accessories (Fig. 5); and
a controller (114), wherein upon receiving a signal to start the engine, the controller is configured to send a first control signal to the first relay and a second control signal to the second relay (¶[28: “Upon the next engine start-up, SCM 114 may connect UC 104 to the DC bus (by closing pre-charge switch 132 and then main contactor 120) before connecting battery 102 to the DC bus or at the same time as connecting battery 102.”], ¶’s [23, 26-28, esp. 27, 28]).
While Vari demonstrates loads, Vari does not explicitly demonstrate them being on-board. It would have been obvious to provide power to loads on-board the vehicle to provide improved safety and comfort. Comfort including HVAC, heated seating, power outlets for charging personal devices, etc. Safety including cameras, safety lights, etc. Where one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention understands it is common for on-board electric power supplies of hybrid electric vehicles as disclosed by Vari like the battery/capacitor of Fig. 5 to provide power to these various loads.
Independent Claim 20, Vari discloses/teaches a method of manufacturing a protection circuit (see Fig. 5), the method comprising:
setting a first relay (120, 132, esp. 120) to electrically connect between:
a first battery (104), and
a starter motor (110) and a set of on-board accessories (loads shown in Fig. 5, ¶’s [22, 26]), the starter motor mechanically associated with an engine (¶’s [25-29]);
setting a battery protection circuit (118, 116) to electrically connect between:
a second battery, and the starter motor and the set of on-board accessories (Fig. 5),
wherein the battery protection circuit comprises a second relay (116) and a current-limiting circuit in parallel (118); and
setting a controller (114) to electrically connect with the first relay and the second relay, wherein upon receiving a signal to start the engine, the controller is configured to send a first control signal to the first relay and a second control signal to the second relay (¶[28: “Upon the next engine start-up, SCM 114 may connect UC 104 to the DC bus (by closing pre-charge switch 132 and then main contactor 120) before connecting battery 102 to the DC bus or at the same time as connecting battery 102.”], ¶’s [23, 26-28, esp. 27, 28]).
While Vari demonstrates loads, Vari does not explicitly demonstrate them being on-board. It would have been obvious to provide power to loads on-board the vehicle to provide improved safety and comfort. Comfort including HVAC, heated seating, power outlets for charging personal devices, etc. Safety including cameras, safety lights, etc. Where one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention understands it is common for on-board electric power supplies of hybrid electric vehicles as disclosed by Vari like the battery/capacitor of Fig. 5 to provide power to these various loads.
Dependent Claims 2 and 15, Vari discloses the first battery comprises a super-capacitor battery (¶’s [06, 07, 22, 24]).
Dependent Claims 3 and 16, Vari discloses the second battery comprises one of a lead-acid battery, an enhanced flooded battery (EFB), an absorbent glass mat (AGM) battery, or a lithium battery (¶’s [06, 28]).
Dependent Claims 5 and 18, Vari discloses upon receiving the first control signal from the controller, the first relay is configured to switch from an open state to a closed state, so that the first battery supplies electric power to the starter motor to start the engine (¶[28: “SCM 114 to isolate UC 104 by opening switch 132 and main contactor 120 at engine shut down, thereby maintaining the operating voltage of UC 104 for a further extended period of time. Upon the next engine start-up, SCM 114 may connect UC 104 to the DC bus [by closing pre-charge switch 132 and then main contactor 120]”).
Dependent Claims 6 and 19, Vari discloses the first relay comprises an input terminal, an output terminal, and a control terminal;
the input terminal of the first relay electrically connects to a positive terminal of the first battery; the output terminal of the first relay electrically connects to positive terminals of the starter motor and the set of on-board accessories; and
the control terminal of the first relay electrically connects to the controller (Fig. 5).
Dependent Claim 8, Vari discloses/teaches before receiving the second control signal from the controller, the second relay is in a closed state, so that the second battery supplies electric power to the set of on-board accessories via the second relay; and
upon receiving the second control signal from the controller, the second relay is configured to switch from the closed state to an open state, so that the second battery supplies electric power to the set of on-board accessories via the current-limiting circuit (noted that this limitation is an apparatus/system claim, and thus these method limitations are simply able to/configured to/intended use limitations, and as Vari is inherently/obviously capable of performing these actions, and the limitations do not impart a structural difference, these limitations are met;
noted that ¶[28] states that 116 may be closed for safety, i.e. if the battery level gets too low, and only explicitly says 120 is opened at engine shut-off).
Dependent Claim 9, Vari discloses the second relay comprises an input terminal, an output terminal, and a control terminal;
the input terminal of the second relay electrically connects to a positive terminal of the second battery;
the output terminal of the second relay electrically connects to positive terminals of the starter motor and the set of on-board accessories; and
the control terminal of the second relay electrically connects to the controller (Fig. 5).
Dependent Claim 10, Vari discloses the current-limiting circuit comprises a resistor (124) or a pulse width modulation metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor (MOSFET)
Dependent Claim 11, Vari discloses a resistance value of the resistor or the PWM MOSFET is determined based on a nominal voltage and a maximum discharge current of the second battery (as is known to ordinary skill in the art, resistance is based upon the relationship between voltage and current, therefore, the resistance value is certainly based upon the value of the current [serial in that it flows through both] and voltage [voltage impacts the resistance]).
Dependent Claim 12, Vari teaches the resistor or the PWM MOSFET has a resistance value between 0.01 Ohm and 25 Ohm, inclusive (this value is a simple design choice well within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art, where it is known that the lower the resistance, the less energy is wasted and less heat is generated, while a lower resistance value would also result in lower costs over a higher resistance value).
Dependent Claim 13, Vari discloses the first control signal and the second control signal is a same signal (¶[28: “SCM 114 to isolate UC 104 by opening switch 132 and main contactor 120 at engine shut down, thereby maintaining the operating voltage of UC 104 for a further extended period of time. Upon the next engine start-up, SCM 114 may connect UC 104 to the DC bus [by closing pre-charge switch 132 and then main contactor 120] before connecting battery 102 to the DC bus or at the same time as connecting battery 102 ”
in light of ¶[27: “engine is shut down… Battery 102 may simply be disconnected for safety by BMS 112 or SCM 114 opening main contactor 116. When engine start-up is commanded, BMS 112 or SCM 114 may sense the voltage of UC 104 using sensor 138 or otherwise and if the sensed voltage is above a pre-determined threshold voltage (e.g., 43 volts), BMS 112 or SCM 114 may close main contactor 116…”]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 7, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Varigonda et al (USPGPN 20220190629; hereinafter Vari) in view of Sekiguchi (USPGPN 20170030316; hereinafter Seki)
Dependent Claims 4,7,&17, Vari is silent to the first relay is a normally-open relay (with respect to [wrt] Claims 4&17), and the second relay is a normally-closed relay (wrt Claim 7)
Seki teaches the first relay is a normally-open relay (SW5, SW6 for first battery 20, ¶[73]) and the second relay is a normally-closed relay (SW1A, SW1B for second battery 12, ¶[69], see at least Fig. 1). Noted that for Vari, the associated switches/relays are described as functionally open normally and potentially functionally closed normally. ¶’s [81-84] describes that by having this functionality, it can ensure that desired loads [e.g. on-board accessories 14/18] can continue be provided with power from 12 while other power sources [e.g. 20, 16] can not be discharged, which helps to prevent the deterioration of these other power sources, analogous to Vari. One of ordinary skill in the art further understands that normally open and normally closed relays offer improved simplicity advantages in that a signal is only required to turn the switch to a single type of change, rather than a signal to change to both state.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vari with Seki to provide improved reliability [of non-main battery supply] and simplicity.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Closest prior art with respect to the super capacitors and relays on a starter:
US-20110224890-A1 OR US-20120062028-A1 OR US-20120193913-A1 OR US-20150239411-A1 OR US-20150258881-A1 OR US-20170008469-A1 OR US-20160138550-A1 OR US-20170030316-A1 OR US-20200127487-A1 OR US-20120139487-A1 OR US-20170016420-A1 OR US-20170016419-A1 OR US-20220190629-A1
US-8655574-B2 OR US-8646427-B2 OR US-9370992-B2 OR US-9586575-B2 OR US-9689366-B2 OR US-9856847-B2 OR US-11146097-B2 OR US-11506167-B1 OR US-12736015-B2 OR US-10202958-B2 OR US-10060985-B2 OR US-11967854-B2
FR-2935558-A1
The following prior art relates to starters with a protection/limiting circuit:
US-20030080621-A1 OR US-20120060786-A1 OR US-20020152981-A1 OR US-20110260544-A1 OR US-20070139005-A1 OR US-20220282456-A1 OR US-20090056661-A1 OR US-20090230766-A1 OR US-20170022955-A1
US-9046070-B2 OR US-6718927-B2 OR US-9431850-B2 OR US-7608940-B2 OR US-12231036-B2 OR US-7806095-B2 OR US-7847429-B2 OR US-9845783-B2
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOHN T TRISCHLER whose telephone number is (571)270-0651. The examiner can normally be reached 9:30A-3:30P (often working later), M-F, ET, Flexible. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Drew Dunn can be reached at 5712722312. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOHN T TRISCHLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859