DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Applicant’s arguments, and amendments filed on April 08, 2026, in which claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-14, and 16-19 have been amended, claims 5, 10, 15, and 20 have been canceled. Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-14, and 16-19 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US 2022/0353636).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a method performed by a location management function (LMF) entity (figs. 5, 8)) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from a first base station (BS), a new radio (NR) positioning protocol A (NRPPa) positioning information update message including an indication that a user equipment (UE) moves out of a validity area configured for the UE (i.e., receiving from a node to LMF an NRPPa PDU [position information updated] ([0048], [0168], [0208], [0211]). Step 802, the first node transmits a handover required message to the AMF, wherein the handover required message may include at least one of the following information: [0269] Positioning-related measurement ID, which is used to indicate a positioning measurement at a specific location management function node, and may be an LMF measurement ID or in other forms; [0270] Configuration information of positioning signal, which indicates the configuration of positioning signal under the positioning measurement ID, wherein the signal configuration may be SRS configuration or other information [0268]-[0272]); and transmitting, to a second base station (BS), a NRPPa positioning information request message including information on requested sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission characteristics (i.e., transmitting, from LMF, NRPPa PDU [position information activation request] to a second node ([0048], [0168], [0208], [0211]). Step 802, the first node transmits a handover required message to the AMF, wherein the handover required message may include at least one of the following information: [0269] Positioning-related measurement ID, which is used to indicate a positioning measurement at a specific location management function node, and may be an LMF measurement ID or in other forms; [0270] Configuration information of positioning signal, which indicates the configuration of positioning signal under the positioning measurement ID, wherein the signal configuration may be SRS configuration or other information [0268]-[0272], the positioning information includes sounding reference signal [claim 4]).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a location management function (LMF) entity comprising: at least one transceiver (typical feature of communication device); at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver (typical feature of communication device); and at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination to cause the LMF entity (typical feature of communication device) to: receive, from a first base station (BS), a new radio (NR) positioning protocol A (NRPPa) positioning information update message including an indication that a user equipment (UE) moves out of a validity area configured for the UE (i.e., receiving from a node to LMF an NRPPa PDU [position information updated] ([0048], [0168], [0208], [0211]). Step 802, the first node transmits a handover required message to the AMF, wherein the handover required message may include at least one of the following information: [0269] Positioning-related measurement ID, which is used to indicate a positioning measurement at a specific location management function node, and may be an LMF measurement ID or in other forms; [0270] Configuration information of positioning signal, which indicates the configuration of positioning signal under the positioning measurement ID, wherein the signal configuration may be SRS configuration or other information [0268]-[0272]); and transmit, to a second base station (BS), a NRPPa positioning information request message including information on requested sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission characteristics (i.e., transmitting, from LMF, NRPPa PDU [position information activation request] to a second node ([0048], [0168], [0208], [0211]). Step 802, the first node transmits a handover required message to the AMF, wherein the handover required message may include at least one of the following information: [0269] Positioning-related measurement ID, which is used to indicate a positioning measurement at a specific location management function node, and may be an LMF measurement ID or in other forms; [0270] Configuration information of positioning signal, which indicates the configuration of positioning signal under the positioning measurement ID, wherein the signal configuration may be SRS configuration or other information [0268]-[0272], the positioning information includes sounding reference signal [claim 4]).
Claims 1-2, 4, 11-12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xie et al. (US 2024/0389062).
Regarding claim 1, Xie teaches a method performed by a location management function (LMF) entity in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from a first base station (BS), a new radio (NR) positioning protocol A (NRPPa) positioning information update message including an indication that a user equipment (UE) moves out of a validity area configured for the UE (i.e., Step 0: A location management function (LMF) may use a procedure of transmission/reception point (TRP) information transfer operation from a gNB to the LMF to obtain the TRP information required for carrier phase measurements based positioning [0039]); and transmitting, to a second base station (BS), a NRPPa positioning information request message including information on requested sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission characteristics (i.e., Step 2: The LMF may send a NR positioning protocol A (NRPPa) TRP information request message to a serving gNB to request downlink positioning reference signal (DL-PRS) configuration information for the target device. Step 3: The serving gNB may determine the resources available for DL-PRS, and may configure the target device with the DL-PRS resource sets. Step 4: The serving gNB may provide the DL-SRS configuration information to the LMF in a NRPPa TRP information response message [0039]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 2, Xie further teaches receiving, from the second BS, a NRPPa positioning information response message including information on SRS configuration of the UE (i.e., Step 5: In the case of semi-persistent or aperiodic SRS, the LMF may request activation of UE SRS transmission by sending the NRPPa positioning activation request message to the serving gNB of the target device. The gNB may activate the UL-SRS transmission and can send the NRPPa positioning activation response message. The target device may begin the UL-SRS transmission according to the time domain behavior of UL-SRS resource configuration [0039]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 4, Xie further teaches first BS is a last serving gNB and the second BS is a receiving gNB ([0039]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 11, Xie teaches a location management function (LMF) entity comprising: at least one transceiver (typical feature of communication device); at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver (typical feature of communication device); and at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination to cause the LMF entity (typical feature of communication device) to: receive, from a first base station (BS), a new radio (NR) positioning protocol A (NRPPa) positioning information update message including an indication that a user equipment (UE) moves out of a validity area configured for the UE (i.e., Step 0: A location management function (LMF) may use a procedure of transmission/reception point (TRP) information transfer operation from a gNB to the LMF to obtain the TRP information required for carrier phase measurements based positioning [0039]); and transmit, to a second base station (BS), a NRPPa positioning information request message including information on requested sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission characteristics (i.e., Step 2: The LMF may send a NR positioning protocol A (NRPPa) TRP information request message to a serving gNB to request downlink positioning reference signal (DL-PRS) configuration information for the target device. Step 3: The serving gNB may determine the resources available for DL-PRS, and may configure the target device with the DL-PRS resource sets. Step 4: The serving gNB may provide the DL-SRS configuration information to the LMF in a NRPPa TRP information response message [0039]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 12, Xie further teaches receiving, from the second BS, a NRPPa positioning information response message including information on SRS configuration of the UE (i.e., Step 5: In the case of semi-persistent or aperiodic SRS, the LMF may request activation of UE SRS transmission by sending the NRPPa positioning activation request message to the serving gNB of the target device. The gNB may activate the UL-SRS transmission and can send the NRPPa positioning activation response message. The target device may begin the UL-SRS transmission according to the time domain behavior of UL-SRS resource configuration [0039]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 14, Xie further teaches first BS is a last serving gNB and the second BS is a receiving gNB ([0039]-[0040]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 6-9, 13, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. (US 2024/0389062) in view of Quan et al. (US 2023/0300942).
Regarding claim 3, Xie further teaches wherein the NRPPa positioning information response message (i.e., The serving gNB may provide the UL-SRS configuration information to the LMF in a NRPPa positioning information response message [0039]-[0040]).
Xie does not specifically teach information on a validity area is associated with the SRS configuration.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Quan teaches the SRS resource configuration information includes: a physical resource of an SRS, a cycle and an offset of the SRS; and/or [0255] the valid duration configured for the SRS resource is absolute time or a duration relative to a moment when the UE starts to transmit an SRS; and/or [0256] the valid positioning area configured for the SRS resource is any one of the following areas: a cell or a cell list, a tracking area (TA) or a TA list, or an RNA. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Quan within the system of Xie in order to prevent user equipment (UE) from needlessly reconfiguring or dropping its SRS during mobility and minimize signaling overhead.
Regarding claim 6, Xie teaches a method performed by a second base station entity in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from a location management function (LMF), a new radio (NR) positioning protocol A (NRPPa) positioning information update message including an indication that a user equipment (UE) moves out of a validity area configured for the UE (i.e., Step 0: A location management function (LMF) may use a procedure of transmission/reception point (TRP) information transfer operation from a gNB to the LMF to obtain the TRP information required for carrier phase measurements based positioning [0039]).
Xie does not specifically teach transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a radio resource control (RRC) release message including SRS configuration and information on a validity area associated with the SRS configuration.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Quan teaches LMF entity indicates the UE to use the uplink signal location method; transmits an RRC connection release message to the UE, and the RRC connection release message includes an SRS resource that is configured for the UE and used for location when the UE is in an idle state or an inactive state (abstr). The SRS resource configuration information includes: a physical resource of an SRS, a cycle and an offset of the SRS; and/or [0255] the valid duration configured for the SRS resource is absolute time or a duration relative to a moment when the UE starts to transmit an SRS; and/or [0256] the valid positioning area configured for the SRS resource is any one of the following areas: a cell or a cell list, a tracking area (TA) or a TA list, or an RNA ([0254]-[0256]). The configuration information contains the valid positioning area, the UE transmits the SRS according to the SRS configuration within the valid positioning area ([0285]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Quan within the system of Xie in order to prevent user equipment (UE) from needlessly reconfiguring or dropping its SRS during mobility and minimize signaling overhead.
Regarding claim 7, Xie in view of Quan teaches all the limitations above. Xie further teaches wherein the NRPPa positioning information response message (i.e., The serving gNB may provide the UL-SRS configuration information to the LMF in a NRPPa positioning information response message [0039]-[0040]).
Xie does not specifically teach information on a validity area is associated with the SRS configuration.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Quan teaches the SRS resource configuration information includes: a physical resource of an SRS, a cycle and an offset of the SRS; and/or [0255] the valid duration configured for the SRS resource is absolute time or a duration relative to a moment when the UE starts to transmit an SRS; and/or [0256] the valid positioning area configured for the SRS resource is any one of the following areas: a cell or a cell list, a tracking area (TA) or a TA list, or an RNA. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Quan within the system of Xie in order to prevent user equipment (UE) from needlessly reconfiguring or dropping its SRS during mobility and minimize signaling overhead.
Regarding claim 8, Xie in view of Quan teaches all the limitations above. Quan further teaches receiving, from the UE, a resume request message including a cause indicating a request for new SRS configuration (i.e., the RRC connection release message further includes: [0300] connection resume indication information, configured for indicating whether the UE obtains a new SRS resource for location by resuming the RRC connection when the UE is in the inactive state and reaches a condition of stopping transmitting an SRS [0299]).
Regarding claim 8, Xie in view of Quan teaches all the limitations above. In combination with Quan, Xie further teaches transmitting, to a last serving gNB, a retrieve UE context request message which is triggered based on the resume request message ([0039]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 13, Xie further teaches wherein the NRPPa positioning information response message (i.e., The serving gNB may provide the UL-SRS configuration information to the LMF in a NRPPa positioning information response message [0039]-[0040]).
Xie does not specifically teach information on a validity area is associated with the SRS configuration.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Quan teaches the SRS resource configuration information includes: a physical resource of an SRS, a cycle and an offset of the SRS; and/or [0255] the valid duration configured for the SRS resource is absolute time or a duration relative to a moment when the UE starts to transmit an SRS; and/or [0256] the valid positioning area configured for the SRS resource is any one of the following areas: a cell or a cell list, a tracking area (TA) or a TA list, or an RNA. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Quan within the system of Xie in order to prevent user equipment (UE) from needlessly reconfiguring or dropping its SRS during mobility and minimize signaling overhead.
Regarding claim 16, Xie teaches a second base station comprising: at least one transceiver (typical feature of communication device); at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver (typical feature of communication device); and at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination to cause the second BS (typical feature of communication device) to: receive, from a location management function (LMF), a new radio (NR) positioning protocol A (NRPPa) positioning information update message including an indication that a user equipment (UE) moves out of a validity area configured for the UE (i.e., Step 0: A location management function (LMF) may use a procedure of transmission/reception point (TRP) information transfer operation from a gNB to the LMF to obtain the TRP information required for carrier phase measurements based positioning [0039]).
Xie does not specifically teach transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a radio resource control (RRC) release message including SRS configuration and information on a validity area associated with the SRS configuration.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Quan teaches LMF entity indicates the UE to use the uplink signal location method; transmits an RRC connection release message to the UE, and the RRC connection release message includes an SRS resource that is configured for the UE and used for location when the UE is in an idle state or an inactive state (abstr). The SRS resource configuration information includes: a physical resource of an SRS, a cycle and an offset of the SRS; and/or [0255] the valid duration configured for the SRS resource is absolute time or a duration relative to a moment when the UE starts to transmit an SRS; and/or [0256] the valid positioning area configured for the SRS resource is any one of the following areas: a cell or a cell list, a tracking area (TA) or a TA list, or an RNA ([0254]-[0256]). The configuration information contains the valid positioning area, the UE transmits the SRS according to the SRS configuration within the valid positioning area ([0285]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Quan within the system of Xie in order to prevent user equipment (UE) from needlessly reconfiguring or dropping its SRS during mobility and minimize signaling overhead.
Regarding claim 17, Xie in view of Quan teaches all the limitations above. Xie further teaches wherein the NRPPa positioning information response message (i.e., The serving gNB may provide the UL-SRS configuration information to the LMF in a NRPPa positioning information response message [0039]-[0040]).
Xie does not specifically teach information on a validity area is associated with the SRS configuration.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Quan teaches the SRS resource configuration information includes: a physical resource of an SRS, a cycle and an offset of the SRS; and/or [0255] the valid duration configured for the SRS resource is absolute time or a duration relative to a moment when the UE starts to transmit an SRS; and/or [0256] the valid positioning area configured for the SRS resource is any one of the following areas: a cell or a cell list, a tracking area (TA) or a TA list, or an RNA. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Quan within the system of Xie in order to prevent user equipment (UE) from needlessly reconfiguring or dropping its SRS during mobility and minimize signaling overhead.
Regarding claim 18, Xie in view of Quan teaches all the limitations above. Quan further teaches receiving, from the UE, a resume request message including a cause indicating a request for new SRS configuration (i.e., the RRC connection release message further includes: [0300] connection resume indication information, configured for indicating whether the UE obtains a new SRS resource for location by resuming the RRC connection when the UE is in the inactive state and reaches a condition of stopping transmitting an SRS [0299]).
Regarding claim 19, Xie in view of Quan teaches all the limitations above. In combination with Quan, Xie further teaches transmitting, to a last serving gNB, a retrieve UE context request message which is triggered based on the resume request message ([0039]-[0040]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4, 11-14, and 16-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEAN A GELIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643