DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-9, 11-13, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HU et al. (US 2026/0190176) in view of XIE et al. (US 2024/0389062).
Regarding claim 1, HU teaches a method performed by a location management function (LMF) entity in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from a last serving base station, a new radio (NR) positioning protocol A (NRPPa) positioning information update message including an indication that a user equipment (UE) in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state moved out of a first validity area, wherein the first validity area includes a list of cells where a sounding reference signal (SRS) configuration configured for the UE is valid (I.E., transmit, with the transceiver and to a UE, a first SRS configuration for RRC inactive or idle state and a first validity area associated with the first SRS configuration; receive, with the transceiver and from a second BS, a retrieve context request for retrieving a context of the UE, wherein the retrieve context request includes a cause value indicating to update SRS configuration and associated validity area of the UE… the processor is further configured to: transmit, with the transceiver and to a location management function (LMF), an SRS validity area update indication including an identity of the second BS in response to receiving the retrieve context request [0013]-[0014]); and transmitting, to a receiving base station, a positioning information request message including information on requested transmission characteristics (I.E., transmit, with the transceiver and to the second BS, (1) a retrieve context response with the context of the UE in the case that it is determined to update the first SRS configuration and the first validity area, or (2) a retrieve context failure message including an encapsulated RRC release message in the case that it is determined not to update the first SRS configuration and the first validity area.. transmit, with the transceiver and to the second BS, (1) a retrieve context response with the context of the UE in the case that it is determined to update the first SRS configuration and the first validity area, or (2) a retrieve context failure message including an encapsulated RRC release message in the case that it is determined not to update the first SRS configuration and the first validity area [0013]-[0014]).
Hu further teaches the LMF may transmit a positioning activation or deactivation request indicating the BS to activate or deactivate SRS transmission based on the SRS configuration for RRC inactive or idle state via e.g., NRPPa signalling ([0064], [0091]). But HU does not specifically teach receiving or transmitting NRPPa positioning information update.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. XIE teaches Step 1: The LMF (e.g., server) may request a positioning capability of a target device (e.g., UE) using a LTE positioning protocol (LPP) capability transfer procedure (as shown in FIG. 4). Step 2: The LMF may send a NR positioning protocol A NRPPa TRP information request message to a serving gNB to request downlink positioning reference signal (DL-PRS) configuration information for the target device. Step 3: The serving gNB may determine the resources available for DL-PRS, and may configure the target device with the DL-PRS resource sets. Step 4: The serving gNB may provide the DL-SRS configuration information to the LMF in a NRPPa TRP information response message… Step 1: The LMF may request the positioning capabilities of the target device using the LPP capability transfer procedure. Step 2: The LMF may send a NRPPa positioning information request message to the serving gNB to request uplink sounding reference signal (UL-SRS) configuration information for the target device ([0039]-[0040]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of XIE within the system of HU in order to enable precise Uplink (UL) positioning in 5G networks, allowing for accurate device tracking using existing radio signals without GPS. It improves location accuracy and indoor tracking while conserving battery life through direct network control of the UL-SRS configuration.
Regarding claim 2, Hu in view of XIE teaches all the limitations above. Xie further teaches receiving, from the receiving base station, a NRPPa positioning information response message including information on a new SRS configuration of the UE (i.e., The serving gNB may provide the UL-SRS configuration information to the LMF in a NRPPa positioning information response message [0039]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 3, HU in view of Xie teaches all the limitations above. XIE further teaches wherein the NRPPa positioning information response message (i.e., The serving gNB may provide the UL-SRS configuration information to the LMF in a NRPPa positioning information response message [0039]-[0040]). Hu further teaches information on a validity area is associated with the SRS configuration (i.e., a second SRS configuration for RRC inactive or idle state and a second validity area associated with the second SRS configuration [0006], [0031]).
Regarding claim 6, HU teaches a method performed by a receiving base station (BS) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from a location management function (LMF) entity, a positioning information request message including information on requested sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission characteristics (i.e., receive, with the transceiver and from the LMF, an SRS validity area update response in response to the SRS validity area update indication, wherein the SRS validity area update response indicates that the LMF acknowledges or rejects to update the first SRS configuration and the first validity area ([0014]-[0015]).. in response to receiving the SRS validity area update response from the LMF, the first BS may transmit a release indication to other cells within the current validity area, to indicate the other cells to release SRS resources associated with the current SRS configuration for RRC inactive or idle state of the UE ([0075], [0078]); and transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a radio resource control (RRC) release message including SRS configuration and information on a validity area associated with the SRS configuration, wherein the validity area includes a list of cells where the SRS configuration configured for the UE is valid (i.e., and transmit, with the transceiver and to the UE, an RRC Release message or an RRC resume message based on the received retrieve context response or retrieve context failure message.. the RRC release message including a suspend indication or the RRC resume message is transmitted and the processor is further configured to transmit, with the transceiver, an updated SRS configuration and an updated associated validity area to the UE, in the case that the retrieve context response is received [0033]-[0034], [0066], [0074]).
Hu further teaches the LMF may transmit a positioning activation or deactivation request indicating the BS to activate or deactivate SRS transmission based on the SRS configuration for RRC inactive or idle state via e.g., NRPPa signalling ([0064], [0066], [0091]). But HU does not specifically teach receiving or transmitting NRPPa positioning information update.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. XIE teaches Step 1: The LMF (e.g., server) may request a positioning capability of a target device (e.g., UE) using a LTE positioning protocol (LPP) capability transfer procedure (as shown in FIG. 4). Step 2: The LMF may send a NR positioning protocol A NRPPa TRP information request message to a serving gNB to request downlink positioning reference signal (DL-PRS) configuration information for the target device. Step 3: The serving gNB may determine the resources available for DL-PRS, and may configure the target device with the DL-PRS resource sets. Step 4: The serving gNB may provide the DL-SRS configuration information to the LMF in a NRPPa TRP information response message… Step 1: The LMF may request the positioning capabilities of the target device using the LPP capability transfer procedure. Step 2: The LMF may send a NRPPa positioning information request message to the serving gNB to request uplink sounding reference signal (UL-SRS) configuration information for the target device ([0039]-[0040]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of XIE within the system of HU in order to enable precise Uplink (UL) positioning in 5G networks, allowing for accurate device tracking using existing radio signals without GPS. It improves location accuracy and indoor tracking while conserving battery life through direct network control of the UL-SRS configuration.
Regarding claim 7, HU in view of XIE teaches all the limitations above. Xie further teaches wherein the NRPPa positioning information response message (i.e., The serving gNB may provide the UL-SRS configuration information to the LMF in a NRPPa positioning information response message [0039]-[0040]). Hu further teaches information on a validity area is associated with the SRS configuration (i.e., a second SRS configuration for RRC inactive or idle state and a second validity area associated with the second SRS configuration [0006], [0031]).
Regarding claim 8, HU in view XIE teaches all the limitations above. HU further teaches receiving, from the UE, a resume request message including a cause indicating a request for new SRS configuration (i.e., receiving, from a UE, an RRC resume request including an I-RNTI allocated by a first BS and a cause value indicating to update SRS configuration and associated validity area [0023], [0042]).
Regarding claim 9, HU in view XIE teaches all the limitations above. HU further teaches transmitting, to a last serving gNB, a retrieve UE context request message which is triggered based on the resume request message (i.e., in response to receiving the RRC resume request, transmit, with the transceiver and to the first BS, a retrieve context request for retrieving a context of the UE, wherein the retrieve context request includes a cause value indicating to update SRS configuration and associated validity area [0033]-[0034]).
Regarding claim 11, HU teaches a location management function (LMF) entity comprising: at least one transceiver (typical feature of communication device); at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver (typical feature of communication device); and at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination to cause the LMF entity (typical feature of communication device) to: receivie, from a last serving base station, a new radio (NR) positioning protocol A (NRPPa) positioning information update message including an indication that a user equipment (UE) in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state moved out of a first validity area, wherein the first validity area includes a list of cells where a sounding reference signal (SRS) configuration configured for the UE is valid (I.E., transmit, with the transceiver and to a UE, a first SRS configuration for RRC inactive or idle state and a first validity area associated with the first SRS configuration; receive, with the transceiver and from a second BS, a retrieve context request for retrieving a context of the UE, wherein the retrieve context request includes a cause value indicating to update SRS configuration and associated validity area of the UE… the processor is further configured to: transmit, with the transceiver and to a location management function (LMF), an SRS validity area update indication including an identity of the second BS in response to receiving the retrieve context request [0013]-[0014]); and transmit, to a receiving base station, a positioning information request message including information on requested transmission characteristics (I.E., transmit, with the transceiver and to the second BS, (1) a retrieve context response with the context of the UE in the case that it is determined to update the first SRS configuration and the first validity area, or (2) a retrieve context failure message including an encapsulated RRC release message in the case that it is determined not to update the first SRS configuration and the first validity area.. transmit, with the transceiver and to the second BS, (1) a retrieve context response with the context of the UE in the case that it is determined to update the first SRS configuration and the first validity area, or (2) a retrieve context failure message including an encapsulated RRC release message in the case that it is determined not to update the first SRS configuration and the first validity area [0013]-[0014]).
Hu further teaches the LMF may transmit a positioning activation or deactivation request indicating the BS to activate or deactivate SRS transmission based on the SRS configuration for RRC inactive or idle state via e.g., NRPPa signalling ([0064], [0091]). But HU does not specifically teach receiving or transmitting NRPPa positioning information update.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. XIE teaches Step 1: The LMF (e.g., server) may request a positioning capability of a target device (e.g., UE) using a LTE positioning protocol (LPP) capability transfer procedure (as shown in FIG. 4). Step 2: The LMF may send a NR positioning protocol A NRPPa TRP information request message to a serving gNB to request downlink positioning reference signal (DL-PRS) configuration information for the target device. Step 3: The serving gNB may determine the resources available for DL-PRS, and may configure the target device with the DL-PRS resource sets. Step 4: The serving gNB may provide the DL-SRS configuration information to the LMF in a NRPPa TRP information response message… Step 1: The LMF may request the positioning capabilities of the target device using the LPP capability transfer procedure. Step 2: The LMF may send a NRPPa positioning information request message to the serving gNB to request uplink sounding reference signal (UL-SRS) configuration information for the target device ([0039]-[0040]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of XIE within the system of HU in order to enable precise Uplink (UL) positioning in 5G networks, allowing for accurate device tracking using existing radio signals without GPS. It improves location accuracy and indoor tracking while conserving battery life through direct network control of the UL-SRS configuration.
Regarding claim 12, Hu in view of XIE teaches all the limitations above. Xie further teaches receiving, from the receiving base station, a NRPPa positioning information response message including information on a new SRS configuration of the UE (i.e., The serving gNB may provide the UL-SRS configuration information to the LMF in a NRPPa positioning information response message [0039]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 13, HU in view of Xie teaches all the limitations above. XIE further teaches wherein the NRPPa positioning information response message (i.e., The serving gNB may provide the UL-SRS configuration information to the LMF in a NRPPa positioning information response message [0039]-[0040]). Hu further teaches information on a validity area is associated with the SRS configuration (i.e., a second SRS configuration for RRC inactive or idle state and a second validity area associated with the second SRS configuration [0006], [0031]).
Regarding claim 16, HU teaches a receiving base station (BS) comprising: at least one transceiver (typical feature of communication device); at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver (typical feature of communication device); and at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination to cause the second BS (typical feature of communication device) to: receive, from a location management function (LMF) entity, a positioning information request message including information on requested sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission characteristics (i.e., receive, with the transceiver and from the LMF, an SRS validity area update response in response to the SRS validity area update indication, wherein the SRS validity area update response indicates that the LMF acknowledges or rejects to update the first SRS configuration and the first validity area ([0014]-[0015]).. in response to receiving the SRS validity area update response from the LMF, the first BS may transmit a release indication to other cells within the current validity area, to indicate the other cells to release SRS resources associated with the current SRS configuration for RRC inactive or idle state of the UE ([0075], [0078]); and transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a radio resource control (RRC) release message including SRS configuration and information on a validity area associated with the SRS configuration, wherein the validity area includes a list of cells where the SRS configuration configured for the UE is valid (i.e., and transmit, with the transceiver and to the UE, an RRC Release message or an RRC resume message based on the received retrieve context response or retrieve context failure message.. the RRC release message including a suspend indication or the RRC resume message is transmitted and the processor is further configured to transmit, with the transceiver, an updated SRS configuration and an updated associated validity area to the UE, in the case that the retrieve context response is received [0033]-[0034], [0066], [0074]).
Hu further teaches the LMF may transmit a positioning activation or deactivation request indicating the BS to activate or deactivate SRS transmission based on the SRS configuration for RRC inactive or idle state via e.g., NRPPa signalling ([0064], [0066], [0091]). But HU does not specifically teach receiving or transmitting NRPPa positioning information update.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. XIE teaches Step 1: The LMF (e.g., server) may request a positioning capability of a target device (e.g., UE) using a LTE positioning protocol (LPP) capability transfer procedure (as shown in FIG. 4). Step 2: The LMF may send a NR positioning protocol A NRPPa TRP information request message to a serving gNB to request downlink positioning reference signal (DL-PRS) configuration information for the target device. Step 3: The serving gNB may determine the resources available for DL-PRS, and may configure the target device with the DL-PRS resource sets. Step 4: The serving gNB may provide the DL-SRS configuration information to the LMF in a NRPPa TRP information response message… Step 1: The LMF may request the positioning capabilities of the target device using the LPP capability transfer procedure. Step 2: The LMF may send a NRPPa positioning information request message to the serving gNB to request uplink sounding reference signal (UL-SRS) configuration information for the target device ([0039]-[0040]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of XIE within the system of HU in order to enable precise Uplink (UL) positioning in 5G networks, allowing for accurate device tracking using existing radio signals without GPS. It improves location accuracy and indoor tracking while conserving battery life through direct network control of the UL-SRS configuration.
Regarding claim 17, HU in view of XIE teaches all the limitations above. Xie further teaches wherein the NRPPa positioning information response message (i.e., The serving gNB may provide the UL-SRS configuration information to the LMF in a NRPPa positioning information response message [0039]-[0040]). Hu further teaches information on a validity area is associated with the SRS configuration (i.e., a second SRS configuration for RRC inactive or idle state and a second validity area associated with the second SRS configuration [0006], [0031]).
Regarding claim 18, HU in view XIE teaches all the limitations above. HU further teaches receive, from the UE, a resume request message including a cause indicating a request for new SRS configuration (i.e., receiving, from a UE, an RRC resume request including an I-RNTI allocated by a first BS and a cause value indicating to update SRS configuration and associated validity area [0023], [0042]).
Regarding claim 19, HU in view XIE teaches all the limitations above. HU further teaches transmitting, to a last serving gNB, a retrieve UE context request message which is triggered based on the resume request message (i.e., in response to receiving the RRC resume request, transmit, with the transceiver and to the first BS, a retrieve context request for retrieving a context of the UE, wherein the retrieve context request includes a cause value indicating to update SRS configuration and associated validity area [0033]-[0034]).
Claims 1, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HU et al. (US 2026/0190176) in view of LI et al. (US 2022/0353636).
Regarding claim 1, HU teaches a method performed by a location management function (LMF) entity in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from a last serving base station, a new radio (NR) positioning protocol A (NRPPa) positioning information update message including an indication that a user equipment (UE) in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state moved out of a first validity area, wherein the first validity area includes a list of cells where a sounding reference signal (SRS) configuration configured for the UE is valid (I.E., transmit, with the transceiver and to a UE, a first SRS configuration for RRC inactive or idle state and a first validity area associated with the first SRS configuration; receive, with the transceiver and from a second BS, a retrieve context request for retrieving a context of the UE, wherein the retrieve context request includes a cause value indicating to update SRS configuration and associated validity area of the UE… the processor is further configured to: transmit, with the transceiver and to a location management function (LMF), an SRS validity area update indication including an identity of the second BS in response to receiving the retrieve context request [0013]-[0014]); and transmitting, to a receiving base station, a positioning information request message including information on requested transmission characteristics (I.E., transmit, with the transceiver and to the second BS, (1) a retrieve context response with the context of the UE in the case that it is determined to update the first SRS configuration and the first validity area, or (2) a retrieve context failure message including an encapsulated RRC release message in the case that it is determined not to update the first SRS configuration and the first validity area.. transmit, with the transceiver and to the second BS, (1) a retrieve context response with the context of the UE in the case that it is determined to update the first SRS configuration and the first validity area, or (2) a retrieve context failure message including an encapsulated RRC release message in the case that it is determined not to update the first SRS configuration and the first validity area [0013]-[0014]).
Hu further teaches the LMF may transmit a positioning activation or deactivation request indicating the BS to activate or deactivate SRS transmission based on the SRS configuration for RRC inactive or idle state via e.g., NRPPa signalling ([0064], [0091]). But HU does not specifically teach receiving or transmitting NRPPa positioning information update.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Li teaches The positioning information update may be included in an NG application protocol (NGAP) message, which may be a message related to path switch, such as a path switch request message, or a message related to the first NAS message for transmission to the UE, such as an initial UE message, or a message related to transmitting uplink non-UE associated NRPPa transport, etc., and the NGAP message may include at least one of the following information: Transaction ID, which is used to indicate a specific positioning UE; NRPPa PDU, which includes the positioning information update [0208]-[0212]… a downlink non-UE-associated NRPPa transport message [0217], [0220]-[0221]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the NRPPa transport procedure for transmitting positioning information update taught by Li within the system of HU in order to gather precise data like signal angles and distances from multiple radio towers and help your phone or device find its exact location.
Regarding claim 11, HU teaches a location management function (LMF) entity comprising: at least one transceiver (typical feature of communication device); at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver (typical feature of communication device); and at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination to cause the LMF entity (typical feature of communication device) to: receivie, from a last serving base station, a new radio (NR) positioning protocol A (NRPPa) positioning information update message including an indication that a user equipment (UE) in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state moved out of a first validity area, wherein the first validity area includes a list of cells where a sounding reference signal (SRS) configuration configured for the UE is valid (I.E., transmit, with the transceiver and to a UE, a first SRS configuration for RRC inactive or idle state and a first validity area associated with the first SRS configuration; receive, with the transceiver and from a second BS, a retrieve context request for retrieving a context of the UE, wherein the retrieve context request includes a cause value indicating to update SRS configuration and associated validity area of the UE… the processor is further configured to: transmit, with the transceiver and to a location management function (LMF), an SRS validity area update indication including an identity of the second BS in response to receiving the retrieve context request [0013]-[0014]); and transmit, to a receiving base station, a positioning information request message including information on requested transmission characteristics (I.E., transmit, with the transceiver and to the second BS, (1) a retrieve context response with the context of the UE in the case that it is determined to update the first SRS configuration and the first validity area, or (2) a retrieve context failure message including an encapsulated RRC release message in the case that it is determined not to update the first SRS configuration and the first validity area.. transmit, with the transceiver and to the second BS, (1) a retrieve context response with the context of the UE in the case that it is determined to update the first SRS configuration and the first validity area, or (2) a retrieve context failure message including an encapsulated RRC release message in the case that it is determined not to update the first SRS configuration and the first validity area [0013]-[0014]).
Hu further teaches the LMF may transmit a positioning activation or deactivation request indicating the BS to activate or deactivate SRS transmission based on the SRS configuration for RRC inactive or idle state via e.g., NRPPa signalling ([0064], [0091]). But HU does not specifically teach receiving or transmitting NRPPa positioning information update.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Li teaches The positioning information update may be included in an NG application protocol (NGAP) message, which may be a message related to path switch, such as a path switch request message, or a message related to the first NAS message for transmission to the UE, such as an initial UE message, or a message related to transmitting uplink non-UE associated NRPPa transport, etc., and the NGAP message may include at least one of the following information: Transaction ID, which is used to indicate a specific positioning UE; NRPPa PDU, which includes the positioning information update [0208]-[0212]… a downlink non-UE-associated NRPPa transport message [0217], [0220]-[0221]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the NRPPa transport procedure for transmitting positioning information update taught by Li within the system of HU in order to gather precise data like signal angles and distances from multiple radio towers and help your phone or device find its exact location.
Conclusion
/JEAN A GELIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643