Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5, 7, 9, 11-13 and 19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 101, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claims 1, 16 and 20 as drafted, recite a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers steps that could reasonably be performed in the mind, including with the aid of pen and paper, but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, the limitation “generating analysis data for an artifact in the plurality of artifacts based on metadata of the artifact; generating a page generation prompt based on the metadata of the artifact and the analysis data for the artifact, the page generation prompt being configured to instruct a large language model to generate a page of a software application” as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, recite the abstract idea of mental processes. These limitations encompass a human mind carrying out these functions through observation, evaluation, judgment and /or opinion, or even with the aid of pen and paper. Thus, these limitations recite and fall within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims recites the following additional elements “at least one hardware processor; and a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing executable instructions that, when executed, cause the at least one hardware processor to perform computer operations,” “a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium tangibly embodying a set of instructions that, when executed by at least one hardware processor, causes the at least one hardware processor to perform computer operations”, “using the large language model,” and “obtaining a configuration of a process created via a software development platform, the configuration of the process comprising a plurality of artifacts, wherein each artifact in the plurality of artifacts has a manifest file comprising metadata that defines an artifact type, input parameters, and output parameters of the artifact”, “obtaining a metadata file for the page of the software application based on the page generation prompt…; and providing the metadata file for the page of the software application to the software development platform, wherein the metadata file comprises a specification of one or more user interface controls, and wherein the software development platform is configured to render the page on a computing device based on the metadata file”. The additional elements “at least one hardware processor; and a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing executable instructions that, when executed, cause the at least one hardware processor to perform computer operations,” “a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium tangibly embodying a set of instructions that, when executed by at least one hardware processor, causes the at least one hardware processor to perform computer operations”, “using the large language model,” are merely instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a generic computer or computer components as a tool to perform the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). The additional element “obtaining a configuration of a process created via a software development platform, the configuration of the process comprising a plurality of artifacts, wherein each artifact in the plurality of artifacts has a manifest file comprising metadata that defines an artifact type, input parameters, and output parameters of the artifact”, “obtaining a metadata file for the page of the software application based on the page generation prompt…; and providing the metadata file for the page of the software application to the software development platform, wherein the metadata file comprises a specification of one or more user interface controls, and wherein the software development platform is configured to render the page on a computing device based on the metadata file” does nothing more than add insignificant extra solution activity to the judicial exception, such as data gathering and outputting the results of the abstract idea to perform a task. See MPEP 2106.05(g). Accordingly, the additional elements recited in the claims do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, thus fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element “at least one hardware processor; and a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing executable instructions that, when executed, cause the at least one hardware processor to perform computer operations,” “a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium tangibly embodying a set of instructions that, when executed by at least one hardware processor, causes the at least one hardware processor to perform computer operations”, “using the large language model,” are generic computer components and instructions used as the tools to perform the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). As to the additional element “obtaining a configuration of a process created via a software development platform, the configuration of the process comprising a plurality of artifacts, wherein each artifact in the plurality of artifacts has a manifest file comprising metadata that defines an artifact type, input parameters, and output parameters of the artifact”, “obtaining a metadata file for the page of the software application based on the page generation prompt…; and providing the metadata file for the page of the software application to the software development platform, wherein the metadata file comprises a specification of one or more user interface controls, and wherein the software development platform is configured to render the page on a computing device based on the metadata file” the courts have identified gathering data and displaying the output of the abstract idea is well-understood, routine, conventional activity. See MPEP 2106.05(d). Accordingly, the additional elements recited in the claims cannot provide an inventive concept. Thus, the claims are not patent eligible.
Claims 2 and 17 as drafted, recite a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers steps that could reasonably be performed in the mind, including with the aid of pen and paper, but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, the limitation “determining that an artifact in the plurality of artifacts satisfies a set of one or more criteria based on the metadata of the artifact, wherein the generating of the analysis data for the artifact, the generating of the page generation prompt, and the obtaining of the metadata file are performed based on the determining that the artifact satisfies the set of one or more criteria” as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, recite the abstract idea of mental processes. These limitations encompass a human mind carrying out these functions through observation, evaluation, judgment and /or opinion, or even with the aid of pen and paper. Thus, these limitations recite and fall within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 3 and 18 as drafted, recite a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers steps that could reasonably be performed in the mind, including with the aid of pen and paper, but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, the limitation “determining that an artifact in the plurality of artifacts satisfies a set of one or more criteria based on the metadata of the artifact, wherein the generating of the analysis data for the artifact, the generating of the prompt, and the obtaining of the metadata file are performed based on the determining that the artifact satisfies the set of one or more criteria” as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, recite the abstract idea of mental processes. These limitations encompass a human mind carrying out these functions through observation, evaluation, judgment and /or opinion, or even with the aid of pen and paper. Thus, these limitations recite and fall within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 4 further define the list of artifacts as part of the “identifying” function set forth in the claims from which they depend, thus, are also considered to recite a mental process since the can be reasonably carried out through observation, evaluation, judgment and /or opinion, or even with the aid of pen and paper.
Claims 5 and 19 as drafted, recite a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers steps that could reasonably be performed in the mind, including with the aid of pen and paper, but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, the limitation “generating a suitability determination prompt based on the key-value pairs for the plurality of user interface properties of the artifact and the list of vector embeddings corresponding to the guidelines for suitability, the suitability determination prompt being configured to instruct the large language model to compute an evaluation score indicating a level of suitability of the artifact for mobile applications using the key-value pairs and the list of vector embeddings”, “and determining that the evaluation score satisfies a suitability threshold value” as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, recite the abstract idea of mental processes. These limitations encompass a human mind carrying out these functions through observation, evaluation, judgment and /or opinion, or even with the aid of pen and paper. Thus, these limitations recite and fall within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims recites the following additional elements “using the large language model,” and “obtaining key-value pairs for a plurality of user interface properties of the artifact based on the metadata; obtaining a list of vector embeddings corresponding to guidelines for suitability of user interface elements for mobile applications based on a querying of a vector database using the key-value pairs”, “obtaining the evaluation score based on the suitability determination prompt …”. The additional elements “using the large language model,” are merely instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a generic computer or computer components as a tool to perform the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). The additional element “obtaining key-value pairs for a plurality of user interface properties of the artifact based on the metadata; obtaining a list of vector embeddings corresponding to guidelines for suitability of user interface elements for mobile applications based on a querying of a vector database using the key-value pairs”, “obtaining the evaluation score based on the suitability determination prompt …” does nothing more than add insignificant extra solution activity to the judicial exception, such as data gathering and outputting the results of the abstract idea to perform a task. See MPEP 2106.05(g). Accordingly, the additional elements recited in the claims do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, thus fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element “using the large language model,” are generic computer components and instructions used as the tools to perform the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). As to the additional element “obtaining key-value pairs for a plurality of user interface properties of the artifact based on the metadata; obtaining a list of vector embeddings corresponding to guidelines for suitability of user interface elements for mobile applications based on a querying of a vector database using the key-value pairs”, “obtaining the evaluation score based on the suitability determination prompt …” the courts have identified gathering data and displaying the output of the abstract idea is well-understood, routine, conventional activity. See MPEP 2106.05(d). Accordingly, the additional elements recited in the claims cannot provide an inventive concept. Thus, the claims are not patent eligible.
Claim 6 further define “analysis” function set forth in the claims from which they depend, thus, are also considered to recite a mental process since the can be reasonably carried out through observation, evaluation, judgment and /or opinion, or even with the aid of pen and paper.
Claim 7 as drafted, recite a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers steps that could reasonably be performed in the mind, including with the aid of pen and paper, but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, the limitation “generating an analysis generation prompt based on the manifest file of the artifact and the list of vector embeddings, the analysis generation prompt being configured to instruct the large language model to generate the analysis of the structure of the artifact using the manifest file of the artifact and the list of vector embeddings” as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, recite the abstract idea of mental processes. These limitations encompass a human mind carrying out these functions through observation, evaluation, judgment and /or opinion, or even with the aid of pen and paper. Thus, these limitations recite and fall within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims recites the following additional elements “using the large language model,” and “obtaining key-value pairs from a manifest file of the artifact; obtaining a list of vector embeddings from a vector database of vector embeddings corresponding to documentation for robotic process automation software based on a querying of the vector database using the key-value pairs”, “obtaining the analysis of the structure of the artifact based on the analysis generation prompt using the large language model…”. The additional elements “using the large language model,” are merely instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a generic computer or computer components as a tool to perform the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). The additional element “obtaining key-value pairs from a manifest file of the artifact; obtaining a list of vector embeddings from a vector database of vector embeddings corresponding to documentation for robotic process automation software based on a querying of the vector database using the key-value pairs”, “obtaining the analysis of the structure of the artifact based on the analysis generation prompt using the large language model…” does nothing more than add insignificant extra solution activity to the judicial exception, such as data gathering and outputting the results of the abstract idea to perform a task. See MPEP 2106.05(g). Accordingly, the additional elements recited in the claims do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, thus fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element “using the large language model,” are generic computer components and instructions used as the tools to perform the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). As to the additional element “obtaining key-value pairs from a manifest file of the artifact; obtaining a list of vector embeddings from a vector database of vector embeddings corresponding to documentation for robotic process automation software based on a querying of the vector database using the key-value pairs”, “obtaining the analysis of the structure of the artifact based on the analysis generation prompt using the large language model…” the courts have identified gathering data and displaying the output of the abstract idea is well-understood, routine, conventional activity. See MPEP 2106.05(d). Accordingly, the additional elements recited in the claims cannot provide an inventive concept. Thus, the claims are not patent eligible.
Claim 8 further define “analysis” function set forth in the claims from which they depend, thus, are also considered to recite a mental process since the can be reasonably carried out through observation, evaluation, judgment and /or opinion, or even with the aid of pen and paper.
Claim 9 as drafted, recite a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers steps that could reasonably be performed in the mind, including with the aid of pen and paper, but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, the limitation “generating an analysis generation prompt based on the manifest file of the artifact and the list of vector embeddings, the analysis generation prompt being configured to instruct the large language model to generate the analysis of the input and output parameters of the artifact using the manifest file of the artifact and the list of vector embeddings” as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, recite the abstract idea of mental processes. These limitations encompass a human mind carrying out these functions through observation, evaluation, judgment and /or opinion, or even with the aid of pen and paper. Thus, these limitations recite and fall within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims recites the following additional elements “using the large language model,” and “obtaining key-value pairs for the input and output parameters of the artifact from a manifest file of the artifact; obtaining a list of vector embeddings from a vector database of vector embeddings corresponding to documentation for robotic process automation software based on a querying of the vector database using the key-value pairs of the input and output parameters of the artifact”, “obtaining the analysis of the input and output parameters of the artifact based on the analysis generation prompt”. The additional elements “using the large language model,” are merely instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a generic computer or computer components as a tool to perform the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). The additional element ““obtaining key-value pairs for the input and output parameters of the artifact from a manifest file of the artifact; obtaining a list of vector embeddings from a vector database of vector embeddings corresponding to documentation for robotic process automation software based on a querying of the vector database using the key-value pairs of the input and output parameters of the artifact”, “obtaining the analysis of the input and output parameters of the artifact based on the analysis generation prompt…” does nothing more than add insignificant extra solution activity to the judicial exception, such as data gathering and outputting the results of the abstract idea to perform a task. See MPEP 2106.05(g). Accordingly, the additional elements recited in the claims do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, thus fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element “using the large language model,” are generic computer components and instructions used as the tools to perform the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). As to the additional element “obtaining key-value pairs for the input and output parameters of the artifact from a manifest file of the artifact; obtaining a list of vector embeddings from a vector database of vector embeddings corresponding to documentation for robotic process automation software based on a querying of the vector database using the key-value pairs of the input and output parameters of the artifact”, “obtaining the analysis of the input and output parameters of the artifact based on the analysis generation prompt…” the courts have identified gathering data and displaying the output of the abstract idea is well-understood, routine, conventional activity. See MPEP 2106.05(d). Accordingly, the additional elements recited in the claims cannot provide an inventive concept. Thus, the claims are not patent eligible.
Claim 10 further define “analysis” function set forth in the claims from which they depend, thus, are also considered to recite a mental process since the can be reasonably carried out through observation, evaluation, judgment and /or opinion, or even with the aid of pen and paper.
Claim 11 as drafted, recite a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers steps that could reasonably be performed in the mind, including with the aid of pen and paper, but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, the limitation “generating an analysis generation prompt based on the manifest file of the artifact and the list of vector embeddings, the analysis generation prompt being configured to instruct the large language model to generate the analysis of the input and output parameters of the artifact using the manifest file of the artifact and the list of vector embeddings” as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, recite the abstract idea of mental processes. These limitations encompass a human mind carrying out these functions through observation, evaluation, judgment and /or opinion, or even with the aid of pen and paper. Thus, these limitations recite and fall within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims recites the following additional elements “using the large language model,” and “obtaining key-value pairs from a manifest file of the artifact; obtaining a list of vector embeddings from a vector database of vector embeddings corresponding to documentation for robotic process automation software based on a querying of the vector database using the key-value pairs”, “obtaining the analysis of the business logic of the artifact based on the analysis generation prompt …”. The additional elements “using the large language model,” are merely instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a generic computer or computer components as a tool to perform the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). The additional element “obtaining key-value pairs from a manifest file of the artifact; obtaining a list of vector embeddings from a vector database of vector embeddings corresponding to documentation for robotic process automation software based on a querying of the vector database using the key-value pairs”, “obtaining the analysis of the business logic of the artifact based on the analysis generation prompt …” does nothing more than add insignificant extra solution activity to the judicial exception, such as data gathering and outputting the results of the abstract idea to perform a task. See MPEP 2106.05(g). Accordingly, the additional elements recited in the claims do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, thus fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element “using the large language model,” are generic computer components and instructions used as the tools to perform the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). As to the additional element “obtaining key-value pairs from a manifest file of the artifact; obtaining a list of vector embeddings from a vector database of vector embeddings corresponding to documentation for robotic process automation software based on a querying of the vector database using the key-value pairs”, “obtaining the analysis of the business logic of the artifact based on the analysis generation prompt …” the courts have identified gathering data and displaying the output of the abstract idea is well-understood, routine, conventional activity. See MPEP 2106.05(d). Accordingly, the additional elements recited in the claims cannot provide an inventive concept. Thus, the claims are not patent eligible.
Claim 12 as drafted, recite a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers steps that could reasonably be performed in the mind, including with the aid of pen and paper, but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, the limitation “generate the page of the software application using the metadata of the artifact and the list of vector embeddings” as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, recite the abstract idea of mental processes. These limitations encompass a human mind carrying out these functions through observation, evaluation, judgment and /or opinion, or even with the aid of pen and paper. Thus, these limitations recite and fall within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims recites the following additional elements “wherein the page generation prompt is configured to instruct the large language model,” and “obtaining a list of vector embeddings from a vector database of vector embeddings corresponding to documents of domain knowledge for no-code development of mobile applications based on a querying of the vector database using the analysis data…”. The additional elements “wherein the page generation prompt is configured to instruct the large language model,” are merely instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a generic computer or computer components as a tool to perform the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). The additional element “obtaining a list of vector embeddings from a vector database of vector embeddings corresponding to documents of domain knowledge for no-code development of mobile applications based on a querying of the vector database using the analysis data…” does nothing more than add insignificant extra solution activity to the judicial exception, such as data gathering and outputting the results of the abstract idea to perform a task. See MPEP 2106.05(g). Accordingly, the additional elements recited in the claims do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, thus fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element “wherein the page generation prompt is configured to instruct the large language model,” are generic computer components and instructions used as the tools to perform the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). As to the additional element “obtaining a list of vector embeddings from a vector database of vector embeddings corresponding to documents of domain knowledge for no-code development of mobile applications based on a querying of the vector database using the analysis data…” the courts have identified gathering data and displaying the output of the abstract idea is well-understood, routine, conventional activity. See MPEP 2106.05(d). Accordingly, the additional elements recited in the claims cannot provide an inventive concept. Thus, the claims are not patent eligible.
Claim 13 further define the “documents of domain knowledge” as part of the “obtaining” function set for the in the claims from which they depend on which does nothing more than add insignificant extra solution activity to the judicial exception, such as data gathering and outputting the results of the abstract idea to perform a task. See MPEP 2106.05(g). Accordingly, the additional elements recited in the claims do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, thus fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, the courts have identified gathering data and displaying the output of the abstract idea is well-understood, routine, conventional activity. See MPEP 2106.05(d). Accordingly, the additional elements recited in the claims cannot provide an inventive concept. Thus, the claims are not patent eligible.
Claim 14 further define “metadata file” as part of the “generating” function set forth in the claims from which they depend, thus, are also considered to recite a mental process since the can be reasonably carried out through observation, evaluation, judgment and /or opinion, or even with the aid of pen and paper.
Claim 15 as drafted, recite a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers steps that could reasonably be performed in the mind, including with the aid of pen and paper, but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, the limitation “generating a build version of the software application based on the metadata file using the software development platform” as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, recite the abstract idea of mental processes. These limitations encompass a human mind carrying out these functions through observation, evaluation, judgment and /or opinion, or even with the aid of pen and paper. Thus, these limitations recite and fall within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims recite the following additional elements “deploying the build version of the software application to an application lifecycle management service” which does nothing more than add insignificant extra solution activity to the judicial exception, such as data gathering and outputting the results of the abstract idea to perform a task. See MPEP 2106.05(g). Accordingly, the additional elements recited in the claims do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, thus fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element “deploying the build version of the software application to an application lifecycle management service” the courts have identified gathering data and displaying the output of the abstract idea is well-understood, routine, conventional activity. See MPEP 2106.05(d). Accordingly, the additional elements recited in the claims cannot provide an inventive concept. Thus, the claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 10, 14-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Grigore (US 2025/0199774 A1), in view of Singh (US 2023/0385085 A1), further in view of Shukla (US 8,170,901 B2), and further in view of Dengler (US 2007/0130205 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Grigore (US 20250199774 A1) teaches
A computer-implemented method comprising:
obtaining a configuration of a process created via a software development platform, the configuration of the process comprising a plurality of artifacts; (Para [0026] "The input source can take various forms. For instance, a user may enter a natural language sentence, provide a source document (e.g., a spreadsheet file, a JavaScript Object Notation (JSON) file... a Portable Document Format (PDF) file... etc.), write pseudocode for the desired task, etc.") Examiner Comments: Grigore teaches obtaining a configuration of a process (input source like pseudocode or document for desired task) created via a software development platform (RPA developer platform), the configuration comprising a plurality of artifacts (documents, pseudocode, drawings), as the input is used to generate RPA workflows which are process configurations;
generating analysis data for an artifact in the plurality of artifacts based on metadata of the artifact; (Para [0031] "The cognitive AI layer may use a CV model to understand what graphical elements and text are present in the screen, and a generative AI model may create a software application that includes these graphical elements...") Examiner Comments: Grigore teaches generating analysis data (understanding graphical elements and text) for an artifact (drawing of UI or process) based on metadata of the artifact (graphical elements, text in drawing), as the AI analyzes the input artifact to generate output;
generating a page generation prompt based on the metadata of the artifact and the analysis data for the artifact, the page generation prompt being configured to instruct a large language model to generate a page of a software application; (Para [0031] "a diagram representing a design of a screen may be used to automatically generate an associated application. Consider the case where a user has designed a Visio® diagram of a UI for a screen... The cognitive AI layer may use a CV model to understand what graphical elements and text are present in the screen, and a generative AI model may create a software application that includes these graphical elements...") Examiner Comments: Grigore teaches generating a page generation prompt (input to generative AI model based on understood elements) based on the metadata and analysis data (graphical elements, text), the prompt configured to instruct a large language model (generative AI model, which includes LLMs) to generate a page of a software application (generate application with UI elements);
obtaining a metadata file for the page of the software application based on the page generation prompt using the large language model; (Para [0032] "a user may submit a diagram of a desired process to automate. The high level steps of this process may then be generated as an RPA workflow. For instance, the generative AI model may be trained to understand text in the steps and the associations therebetween as shown by connectors.") Examiner Comments: Grigore teaches obtaining a metadata file (generated RPA workflow, which includes metadata for activities) for the page (process steps in workflow) based on the prompt using the large language model (generative AI model);
providing the metadata file for the page of the software application to the software development platform. (Para [0059] "The output from the cognitive AI layer may include... a newly generated RPA workflow...") Examiner Comments: Grigore teaches providing the metadata file (generated RPA workflow) to the software development platform (RPA designer or development environment).
Grigore did not specifically teach
the configuration of the process comprising a plurality of artifacts;
wherein each artifact in the plurality of artifacts has a manifest file comprising metadata that defines an artifact type, input parameters, and output parameters of the artifact;
wherein the metadata file comprises a specification of one or more user interface controls, and wherein the software development platform is configured to render the page on a computing device based on the metadata file.
However, Singh (US 2023/0385085 A1) teaches
the configuration of the process comprising a plurality of artifacts (Para [0024], "User interactions extracted from data collected from multiple computing systems... combined into sequences associated with tasks... sequences of user interactions... used to generate RPA robots that are configured to perform the tasks.") Examiner Comments: Singh teaches a process configuration comprising a plurality of artifacts (sequences of user-interaction elements extracted from user data and combined into tasks) that are used by the RPA generation system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Grigore's teaching with Singh's in order to enhance process extraction by incorporating detailed user-interaction artifacts, thereby improving the accuracy and completeness of automated RPA generation by using generative artificial intelligence (AI)/machine learning (ML) models to determine sequences of user interactions with computing systems, extract common processes, and generate robotic process automation (RPA) robots (Singh [Summary]).
Grigore and Singh did not specifically teach
wherein each artifact in the plurality of artifacts has a manifest file comprising metadata that defines an artifact type, input parameters, and output parameters of the artifact
wherein the metadata file comprises a specification of one or more user interface controls, and wherein the software development platform is configured to render the page on a computing device based on the metadata file.
However, Shukla (US 8,170,901 B2) teaches
wherein each artifact in the plurality of artifacts has a manifest file comprising metadata that defines an artifact type, input parameters, and output parameters of the artifact (Col. 5 ln. 1-53, "each activity represents a component that encapsulates metadata for the step in a workflow process... each activity has at least three parts: metadata, instance data, and execution logic. The metadata of the activity defines data properties that may be configured."; Col. 07 ln. 55-57, "declaration of variables, messages, channels, and correlation sets; declaration of in/out/ref parameters; declaration of additional custom properties... reading activity metadata and instance data; writing activity instance data...")) Examiner Comments: Shukla teaches that each artifact (activity) in a plurality of artifacts (workflow) has an associated metadata (manifest) that defines the activity type (i.e., send activity, receive activity, code activity) and its configurable data properties. Shukla further teaches that the metadata of each activity defines the activity's input and output parameters (declaration of "in/out/ref parameters"), thereby teaching a manifest-file metadata structure that defines an artifact type along with input parameters and output parameters of the artifact.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process artifacts of Grigore and Singh to incorporate Shukla's teaching of activity metadata defining the activity type and in/out parameters for each artifact. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide an "extensible framework for building a componentized workflow model" in which "any developer may extend the core workflow model by authoring these components," thereby enabling the workflow engine to "coordinate the execution of various kinds of workflows" without requiring modifications to the engine itself (Shukla, Abstract; Col. 3 ln. 5-25).
Grigore, Singh, and Shukla did not specifically teach
wherein the metadata file comprises a specification of one or more user interface controls, and wherein the software development platform is configured to render the page on a computing device based on the metadata file.
However, Dengler (US 2007/0130205 A1) teaches
wherein the metadata file comprises a specification of one or more user interface controls, (Para [0004], "an application developer can write a metadata file that defines basic as well as custom UI controls, properties of the controls, layout of the controls, and the like.") Examiner Comments: Dengler teaches a metadata file that comprises a specification of one or more user interface controls (basic and custom UI controls with their properties and layout).
and wherein the software development platform is configured to render the page on a computing device based on the metadata file. (Para [0033], "the rendering engine 230 receives the metadata defining the UI through interpreter 220 and renders the UI form 240... the rendering engine 230 parses the metadata that is supplied by interpreter 220 and instantiates the different controls (i.e. 241-243) that are described by metadata 210 and outputs a .NET control describing the UI form.") Examiner Comments: Dengler teaches that the software development platform (rendering framework) is configured to render the page (UI form) on a computing device by parsing the metadata file and instantiating the specified UI controls, thereby rendering the page based on the metadata file.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the combined teachings of Grigore, Singh, and Shukla with Dengler's metadata-driven user-interface framework, so that the LLM-generated metadata file in Grigore specifies UI controls that are then rendered by the software development platform on a computing device. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to obtain the benefit that "once created, the metadata is processed by a rendering engine to display the UI controls" and that "neither the rendering engine nor the interpreter needs knowledge of the host application and provides support for arbitrary metadata driven UI" (Dengler, Para [0007]).
Regarding Claim 2, Grigore, Singh, Shukla and Dengler teach
The computer-implemented method of claim 1.
Grigore further teaches further comprising: determining that an artifact in the plurality of artifacts satisfies a set of one or more criteria based on the metadata of the artifact, wherein the generating of the analysis data for the artifact, the generating of the page generation prompt, and the obtaining of the metadata file are performed based on the determining that the artifact satisfies the set of one or more criteria. (Para [0027] "The cognitive AI layer may determine that the type of the PDF is an invoice... The cognitive AI layer may then suggest an automation to the user and automatically generate the automation, if desired.") Examiner Comments: Grigore teaches determining that the artifact (PDF document) satisfies criteria (type is invoice) based on metadata (content type), and performing generation based on that (suggest and generate automation).
Regarding Claim 3, Grigore, Singh, Shukla and Dengler teach
The computer-implemented method of claim 2.
Grigore further teaches wherein the determining that the artifact satisfies the set of one or more criteria comprises: identifying an artifact type of the artifact based on the metadata of the artifact; and determining that the artifact type of the artifact is included in a list of artifact types. (Para [0027] "The cognitive AI layer may determine that the type of the PDF is an invoice...") Examiner Comments: Grigore teaches identifying artifact type (invoice) based on metadata, and determining if included in list (types suitable for automation).
Regarding Claim 4, Grigore, Singh, Shukla and Dengler teach
The computer-implemented method of claim 3.
Singh further teaches wherein the list of artifact types comprises a decision, a form, and a trigger. (Para [0113] " Workflows may include user-defined activities 420, API-driven activities 430, AI/ML activities 440, and/or and UI automation activities 450") Examiner Comments: Singh teaches artifact types including decision (condition in workflow), form (UI automation), trigger (driver-based interactions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Grigore’s teaching into Singh’s in order to enhance process extraction by incorporating detailed user interaction artifacts, thereby improving the accuracy and completeness of automated RPA generation by using generative artificial intelligence (AI)/machine learning (ML) models to determine sequences of user interactions with computing systems, extract common processes, and generate robotic process automation (RPA) robots (Singh [Summary]).
Regarding Claim 6, Grigore, Singh, Shukla and Dengler teach
The computer-implemented method of claim 1.
Grigore further teaches wherein the analysis data comprises an analysis of a structure of the artifact. (Para [0031] "The cognitive AI layer may use a CV model to understand what graphical elements and text are present in the screen...") Examiner Comments: Grigore teaches analysis data as analysis of structure (graphical elements and text structure) of the artifact (screen drawing).
Regarding Claim 8, Grigore, Singh, Shukla and Dengler teach
The computer-implemented method of claim 1.
Grigore further teaches wherein the analysis data comprises an analysis of input and output parameters of the artifact. (Para [0027] "Consider the case where a PDF is an invoice. The cognitive AI layer may determine that the type of the PDF is an invoice... This may involve creating an RPA workflow with the appropriate activities...") Examiner Comments: Grigore teaches analysis of input/output (invoice fields as parameters) of the artifact (PDF).
Regarding Claim 10, Grigore, Singh, Shukla and Dengler teach
The computer-implemented method of claim 1.
Grigore further teaches wherein the analysis data comprises an analysis of a business logic of the artifact. (Para [0032] "the generative AI model may be trained to understand text in the steps and the associations therebetween as shown by connectors.") Examiner Comments: Grigore teaches analysis of business logic (steps and associations) of the artifact (process diagram).
Regarding Claim 14, Grigore, Singh, Shukla and Dengler teach
The computer-implemented method of claim 1.
Grigore further teaches wherein the metadata file comprises a specification of one or more user interface controls. (Para [0034] "some embodiments leverage natural language processing (NLP) to automate form building... a form is automatically built or other code is automatically generated...") Examiner Comments: Grigore teaches metadata file (generated form or code) comprising specification of UI controls (form elements).
Regarding Claim 15, Grigore, Singh, Shukla and Dengler teach
The computer-implemented method of claim 1.
Grigore further teaches further comprising: generating a build version of the software application based on the metadata file using the software development platform; and deploying the build version of the software application to an application lifecycle management service. (Para [0163] "If the user accepts the automation at 1250, the automation is generated at 1260.") Examiner Comments: Grigore teaches generating build (generated automation) and deploying (implement in RPA workflow), as RPA platform manages lifecycle.
Regarding Claim 16, is the system claim corresponding to claim 1, taught by the same references.
Regarding Claim 17, is the system claim corresponding to claim 2, taught by the same references.
Regarding Claim 18, is the system claim corresponding to claim 3-4, taught by the same references.
Regarding Claim 20, is the medium claim corresponding to claim 1, taught by the same references.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the previous cited sections of the references used in the previous office action. The current office action is now citing additional references to address the newly added claimed limitations.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMIR SOLTANZADEH/Examiner, Art Unit 2191 /WEI Y MUI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2191