DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because in step 325 of Figure 3, “scheudling” should be corrected to “scheduling”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7-10, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ye et al (US 2024/0090015).
Regarding claim 1: Ye discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (disclosed throughout; see memory 450 of Figure 4, for example); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to (disclosed throughout; see the processor 404 and co-processor(s) 474 of Figure 4, for example);
receive, in accordance with a half-duplex reduced capability (RedCap) communications capability of the UE, first control signaling scheduling reception of a downlink transmission in first time resources (disclosed throughout; see the downlink grant(s) or SPS disclosed throughout; for example, see [0037] “A first scenario of the first conflict type occurs when the UE 102 has received a dynamic downlink grant and a dynamic uplink grant”; see also [0040] and [0042], for example; further, as indicated in [0030] and [0033], for example, the conflict occurs in half-duplex RedCap devices (“HD-FDD UEs (e.g., RedCap devices)”));
receive, in accordance with the half-duplex RedCap communications capability of the UE, second control signaling scheduling an uplink transmission in second time resources (disclosed throughout; see the uplink grant(s) disclosed throughout; for example, see [0037] “A first scenario of the first conflict type occurs when the UE 102 has received a dynamic downlink grant and a dynamic uplink grant”; see also [0040] and [0042], for example; further, as indicated in [0030] and [0033], for example, the conflict occurs in half-duplex RedCap devices (“HD-FDD UEs (e.g., RedCap devices)”)); and
drop the uplink transmission or the downlink reception based at least in part on at least a portion of the uplink transmission overlapping in time with at least a portion of the downlink transmission (disclosed throughout; see [0049]-[0056] and Figure 2, for example, which describe various alternatives avoiding the overlap and involve dropping one or more of the scheduled uplink or downlink transmissions; see also Figure 3 and the corresponding description in the text, for example).
Regarding claim 10: Ye discloses a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
receiving, in accordance with a half-duplex reduced capability (RedCap) communications capability of the UE, first control signaling scheduling reception of a downlink transmission in first time resources (disclosed throughout; see the downlink grant(s) or SPS disclosed throughout; for example, see [0037] “A first scenario of the first conflict type occurs when the UE 102 has received a dynamic downlink grant and a dynamic uplink grant”; see also [0040] and [0042], for example; further, as indicated in [0030] and [0033], for example, the conflict occurs in half-duplex RedCap devices (“HD-FDD UEs (e.g., RedCap devices)”));
receiving, in accordance with the half-duplex RedCap communications capability of the UE, second control signaling scheduling an uplink transmission in second time resources (disclosed throughout; see the uplink grant(s) disclosed throughout; for example, see [0037] “A first scenario of the first conflict type occurs when the UE 102 has received a dynamic downlink grant and a dynamic uplink grant”; see also [0040] and [0042], for example; further, as indicated in [0030] and [0033], for example, the conflict occurs in half-duplex RedCap devices (“HD-FDD UEs (e.g., RedCap devices)”)); and
dropping the uplink transmission or the downlink reception based at least in part on at least a portion of the uplink transmission overlapping in time with at least a portion of the downlink transmission (disclosed throughout; see [0049]-[0056] and Figure 2, for example, which describe various alternatives avoiding the overlap and involve dropping one or more of the scheduled uplink or downlink transmissions; see also Figure 3 and the corresponding description in the text, for example).
Regarding claim 19: Ye discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communications, comprising:
means for receiving, in accordance with a half-duplex reduced capability (RedCap) communications capability of the UE, first control signaling scheduling reception of a downlink transmission in first time resources (disclosed throughout; see the downlink grant(s) or SPS disclosed throughout; for example, see [0037] “A first scenario of the first conflict type occurs when the UE 102 has received a dynamic downlink grant and a dynamic uplink grant”; see also [0040] and [0042], for example; further, as indicated in [0030] and [0033], for example, the conflict occurs in half-duplex RedCap devices (“HD-FDD UEs (e.g., RedCap devices)”));
means for receiving, in accordance with the half-duplex RedCap communications capability of the UE, second control signaling scheduling an uplink transmission in second time resources (disclosed throughout; see the uplink grant(s) disclosed throughout; for example, see [0037] “A first scenario of the first conflict type occurs when the UE 102 has received a dynamic downlink grant and a dynamic uplink grant”; see also [0040] and [0042], for example; further, as indicated in [0030] and [0033], for example, the conflict occurs in half-duplex RedCap devices (“HD-FDD UEs (e.g., RedCap devices)”)); and
means for dropping the uplink transmission or the downlink reception based at least in part on at least a portion of the uplink transmission overlapping in time with at least a portion of the downlink transmission (disclosed throughout; see [0049]-[0056] and Figure 2, for example, which describe various alternatives avoiding the overlap and involve dropping one or more of the scheduled uplink or downlink transmissions; see also Figure 3 and the corresponding description in the text, for example).
Regarding claims 7 and 16: Ye discloses the limitations drop communication of the uplink transmission or the downlink reception based at least in part on a dropping rule configured for the UE by a network entity associated with a non-terrestrial network (disclosed throughout; see [0038], for example, which discloses that “the prioritization between the uplink and downlink communications is configured by the RAN 110, perhaps using RRC configuration or any other signaling method”; see also [0039] and [0040], for example; further, as disclosed throughout, the RAN 110 is associated with a non-terrestrial network, see [0062], for example (“the UE 102 may operate in a wireless communication system 100 that includes a non-terrestrial network (NTN) that serves the UE 102”)).
Regarding claims 8 and 17: Ye discloses the limitations that the dropping rule is configured on a per-UE basis or a per-cell basis (disclosed throughout; for example, see [0038] (“[t]he RAN 110 may configure the prioritization per cell or per UE”)).
Regarding claims 9 and 18: Ye discloses the limitations wherein: the half-duplex RedCap communications capability of the UE comprises support for wireless communications over one or more new radio (NR) non-terrestrial network bands, transmission of [[the]] a UE-common report associated with operation of RedCap UEs in non-terrestrial networks, transmission of a UE-specific report associated with operation of RedCap UEs in non-terrestrial networks, the UE-specific report indicating [[the]] a timing advance value, or any combination thereof (disclosed throughout; see at least [0002], [0027], [0028], [0030], [0032], and [0033], which disclose that the RedCap UE is capable of being served by NTNs, which are implemented according to 5G/NR standards and thus utilize one or more NR non-terrestrial bands).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 6, 11, 12, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye et al (US 2024/0090015) in view of Kunt et al (US 2023/0189179).
Regarding claims 2, 11, and 20: Ye discloses wherein dropping the uplink transmission or the downlink reception is based at least in part on the timing advance value (see [0030], for example, which discloses that “continuous change of the UE’s TA” and the fact that the gNB “is unaware of the UE’s TA”, “is likely to result in scheduling conflicts” such as “simultaneous uplink and downlink reception”). Ye does not explicitly disclose transmit a UE-specific report associated with operation of RedCap UEs in non- terrestrial networks, the UE-specific report indicating a timing advance value. However, Kunt discloses “methods for reporting timing advance in non-terrestrial network communications” (see title). Kunt further discloses in [0029] “to allow network node 125 to schedule UE 110 without collision between DL transmission(s) and UL transmission(s), UE 110, which is capable of auto-compensation of time delays in signaling, may report its TA to network node 125. UE 110 may provide a TA report which indicates a TA value to network node 125”. (TA is timing advance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Ye to send a report including the timing advance (TA) value for the UE (UE-specific). The rationale for doing so would have been to “to allow network node 125 to schedule UE 110 without collision between DL transmission(s) and UL transmission(s)” as suggested by Kunt in [0029].
Regarding claims 3 and 12: the combination of Ye and Kunt further discloses wherein a resolution of a plurality of candidate timing advance values from which the timing advance value is selected is less than one millisecond (see Kunt [0039]-[0042], for example, which discloses that the TA may one of set of indexes KI (candidate timing advance values), where the index KI corresponds to the equation reported_TA=t0 + KI * (quantization step); further, the quantization step may be “0.1 µs”; thus, the resolution (difference between the TA represented by each successive KI value) is less than one millisecond).
Regarding claims 6 and 15: the combination of Ye and Kunt further discloses wherein the UE-specific report is transmitted in accordance with a reporting periodicity (Kunt [0030] -– “UE 110 may be configured to autonomously transmit its TA report to network node 125 periodically”), in response to receiving a request to transmit the UE-specific report (Kunt [0030] – “TA reporting by UE 110 may be trigger-based or request-based (e.g., based on a trigger signal or a request from network node 125)”), or in response to the timing advance value differing from a previous timing advance value by at least a threshold amount after transmitting a previous report associated with the previous timing advance value (Kunt [0030] – “UE 110 may be configured to transmit a TA report to network node 125 in response to a value of TA deviating from a threshold by at least a predefined amount”).
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye et al (US 2024/0090015) in view of Kunt et al (US 2023/0189179) in view of MolavianJazi et al (US 2025/0112813).
Regarding claims 4 and 13: Ye, modified, does not explicitly disclose wherein a resolution of a plurality of candidate timing advance values from which the timing advance value is selected is based at least in part on a subcarrier spacing value. However, MolavianJazi discloses a system that includes transmitting timing advance information by using a plurality of candidate timing advance values (see the TA index values 0…63 in [0177]). Further, the resolution (granularity) of these values is based at least in part on a subcarrier spacing (SCS) value. See [0178], for example – “…the timing advance granularity for the UL BWP with the lower SCS…”. This clearly indicates a different timing advance granularity for different SCSs. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Ye to adjust the resolution/granularity of the TA values based on the SCS as suggested by MolavianJazi. The rationale for doing so would have been to maximize the information included in the TA index to match the particular configuration of the BWP including the subcarrier spacing.
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye et al (US 2024/0090015) in view of Kunt et al (US 2023/0189179) in view of Sun et al (US 2026/0025775).
Regarding claims 5 and 14: Ye, modified, does not explicitly disclose transmit, via the UE-specific report, an indication of a drift rate of the timing advance value, wherein the drift rate is associated with operation of the UE in association with a non-terrestrial network. However, Sun discloses a method “to enhance communications for NTN” (see abstract). Sun further discloses that a UE communicating with a non-terrestrial network (NTN) “reports TA and a drift rate of TA” and the “drift rate may be derived from TA change overtime or changes of UE's location and satellite's location over time” (see [0044], for example). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Ye, modified, to include a drift rate of the timing advance value associated with the operation of the UE in an NTN as suggested by Sun and discussed above. The rationale for doing so would have been to reduce the TA (and TA drift rate) reporting as suggested by Sun in [0044].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Choi et al (US 2025/0056539) discloses a method for communication of enhanced reduces capability user equipment.
Li et al (US 2024/0155603) discloses a method for downlink reception and uplink transmission overlap for HD-FDD operations.
Robert C. Scheibel
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2467
/Robert C Scheibel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467 January 30, 2026