DETAILED ACTION
In Applicant’s Response dated August 10, 2026, Applicant amended claims 1 to 20; and argued against all rejections previously set forth in the Office action dated 5/18/2026.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16 to 20 are allowed.
With regard to claim 16, the prior arts do not specifically teach limitation wherein a first mode indicator configured to highlight when a first mode of fluid inflow is
active, the first mode indicator being user selectable on the touchscreen user interface; a second mode indicator configured to highlight when a second mode of fluid
inflow is active, the second mode indicator being user selectable on the touchscreen user interface; and wherein the alphanumeric run time value is a sum of a first elapsed run time of the inflow pump when activated in the first mode and a second elapsed run time of the inflow pump when activated in the second mode. These limitations in combination are not specifically taught by the prior arts.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with regard to claim 16 are moot because of the allowance determination. Applicant's other arguments filed 8/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
First applicant argues that:
Neither Van Der Zaag nor Keith, taken alone or in combination appear to teach or suggest such a
user interface. For example, neither reference appears to teach or suggest at least "the alphanumeric run time value is a sum of a first run time value of the first mode and a second run time value of the second mode," particularly in combination with other claim limitations.
In formulating the rejection, the Office Action appears to assert that Van Der Zaag
discloses a first mode indicator configured to indicate when a first mode of fluid inflow is active
and a second mode indicator configured to indicate when a second mode of fluid inflow is active.
Applicant respectfully disagrees. The Office Action appears to treat Figures 15A and 15B of Van
Der Zaag as respective indicators for two fluid-inflow modes. Applicant respectfully disagrees.
Figure 15A of Van Der Zaag appears to show the treatment device in a first position within the
treatment zone and Figure 15B of Van Der Zaag appears to show the treatment device in a second
position within the treatment zone. Applicant respectfully asserts that spatial or temporal states of
a device cannot be equated with two modes of fluid inflow. A change in the displayed position of
a therapy-device tip is not a change between first and second modes of fluid inflow. Van Der Zaag
does not appear to identify the displays as corresponding to different fluid delivery modes and
does not disclose indicators that identify which of two fluid-inflow modes is active. These claim
limitations are missing from the disclosure of Van Der Zaag. Keith, directed towards an interval
timing device does not appear to remedy these noted shortcomings in Van Der Zaag.
The terms “first mode” and “second mode” are not specifically defined and are therefore subject to the broadest interpretation reasonable. Van Der Zaag clearly and specifically teaches the aspect of a first mode and a second mode wherein treatment device in a first position within the treatment zone is the in the first mode and Figure 15B of Van Der Zaag appears to show the treatment device in a second
position within the treatment zone is the second mode. The two different fluid inflow mode would yield different result because of the changes in position of the treatment device. Therefore applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant further argues that
Further, the Office Action acknowledges that Van Der Zaag fails to disclose, "the aspect
wherein the alphanumeric run time value is a sum of a first run time value of the first mode and a
second run time value of the second mode." The Office Action turns to Keith as allegedly
disclosing this feature. Keith appears to disclose an interval timing device for guiding customized
exercise routines having alternating exercise and rest periods over a selected number of repetitions.
The user interface of Keith appears to include one or more exercise hold timers or counters, a rest
timer, a repetition counter, and an optional general timer for tracking the overall duration of the
workout. In formulating the rejection, the Office Action appears to equate the general timer of
Keith with the presently claimed alphanumeric run time value. Applicant respectfully disagrees.
Keith's general timer appears to be an independent overall timer, not an arithmetic accumulation
of the operating times of two modes. The general timer of Keith appears to include rest periods,
transitions, pauses, or other intervals during which neither claimed mode is active. Conversely,
Keith's individual exercise timers are separate displays and are not summed into the general timer. The cited disclosure therefore does not teach or suggest the claimed mode-specific accumulated
run-time value. It is axiomatic that an obviousness rejection requires a suggestion of all of the
elements of a claim. See In re Wada and Murphy, Appeal 2007-3733, citing CFMT, Inc. V.
Yieldup Intern. Corp., 349 F.3d 1333, 1342 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (citing In re Royka, 490 F.2d 981,
985 (CCPA 1974)). The combination of Van Der Zaag and Keith clearly fails to do so.
More specifically applicant argues Keith's general timer appears to be an independent overall timer, not an arithmetic accumulation of the operating times of two modes. The general timer of Keith appears to include rest periods.
The aspect of operation times of two mor modes are specifically taught in Keith. Keith specifically taught the aspect of accumulating the time spent on different modes of activities. Here resting is a different mode of user state or modes. These user states or modes are individually tracked and accumulated into a general timer. This specifically teaches the claim limitation wherein the alphanumeric run time value is a sum of a first run time value of the first mode and a second run time value of the second mode. Therefore, applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant’s obvious argument is also unpersuasive. Van Der Zaag already teaches the aspect of using a timer to tracks the time in a first mode. Keith teaches the aspect limitation of accumulating the time spent in two different modes. It would be obvious to combine the two arts in order for the user to be able to easily combine the time spent on different fluid modes to better measurement and save time and effort that cost to manually combine the time spent on different modes.
With regard to claim 8 applicant argues that:
Further, independent claim 8 recites, among other limitations, an inflow pump configured
to provide fluid inflow through a thrombectomy device, first and second mode indicators
corresponding to respective modes of fluid inflow, and an alphanumeric run-time value that is the
sum of a first run-time value of the first mode and a second run-time value of the second mode.
The rejection does not establish that Van Der Zaag discloses the claimed inflow pump. The Office
Action identifies the therapy device 1108, or active component 324, of Van Der Zaag as the alleged
"thrombectomy pump." Van Der Zaag, however, appears to describe therapy device 1108 as an
atherectomy device and/or thrombectomy device used to deliver intravascular therapy. The cited
disclosure does not identify therapy device 1108 as a pump, does not describe therapy device 1108
as providing fluid inflow, and does not describe fluid being pumped through a thrombectomy
device. The mere fact that a device may deliver "intravascular therapy" does not establish that the
device is an inflow pump or that the therapy consists of fluid inflow.
The terms “inflow pump” is not specifically defined and are therefore subject to the broadest interpretation reasonable. Van clearly and specifically teaches the aspect of a inflow pump. For example, as cited in paragraph 71 in the first operational state, the intravascular device 300 may deliver the intravascular therapy in response to an input signaling to begin delivery of the therapy. This clearly describes the inflow function of the pump by pumping or delivery intravascular therapy. Also as described in paragraph 32 the intravascular therapy guidance system may be used to examine and/or deliver therapy to a blood vessel, such as an artery or a vein of a patient’s vascular system, including cardiac vasculature, peripheral vasculature, neural vasculature, renal vasculature. So Van clearly and specifically teach the aspect of inflow pump, and applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van, WO 2022078744 A1, in view of Keith, 20120075959 A1.
With regard to claim 1:
Van discloses a user interface(See paragraph 60 in some embodiments, for example, an x-ray stream 501 (e.g., the x-ray stream received at step 402) may be displayed within a graphic user interface (GUI) at the display 132. ) for a thrombectomy fluid management system (see paragraph 40 The intravascular therapy processing system 174 may be configured to receive therapy data collected with the intravascular therapy device 176, such as a stent or balloon delivery device, a thrombectomy device, an atherectomy device, and/or the like. ), comprising: a first mode indicator configured to indicate when a first mode of fluid inflow (See paragraph 32 wherein intravascular therapy is fluid inflow into the bloodstream of the patient.) is active (see fig. 15A and paragraph 95 for the first mode indicator. Figs. 15A-C illustrate a set of screen displays 1500A-C modified to indicate a duration the therapy device 1108 (e.g., the tip 1308 or end/distal portion of the intravascular device 1103) has been positioned within the therapy region 1101 and/or a duration of time the therapy device 1108 has been delivering therapy (e.g., active) within the therapy region 1101. For example, each of the screen displays 1500A-C may include a timer 1502 indicating the duration. Accordingly, the screen display 1500A, the screen display 1500B, and the screen display 1500C may correspond to a screen display after the therapy device 1108has been active within the therapy region 1101 for a first duration (e.g., 5 seconds), a second duration (e.g., 20 seconds), and a third duration (e.g., 2 minutes), respectively. ); a second mode indicator configured to indicate when a second mode of fluid inflow is active (see paragraph 95 fig. 15B for the second mode indicator with a different 1308 tip location.); and a run time display including an alphanumeric run time value shown in a first color (see fig. 15A and 15B for run time display and paragraph 95 Figs. 15A-C illustrate a set of screen displays 1500A-C modified to indicate a duration the therapy device 1108 (e.g., the tip 1308 or end/distal portion of the intravascular device 1103) has been positioned within the therapy region 1101 and/or a duration of time the therapy device 1108 has been delivering therapy (e.g., active) within the therapy region 1101. For example, each of the screen displays 1500A-C may include a timer 1502 indicating the duration. Accordingly, the screen display 1500A, the screen display 1500B, and the screen display 1500C may correspond to a screen display after the therapy device 1108has been active within the therapy region 1101 for a first duration (e.g., 5 seconds), a second duration (e.g., 20 seconds), and a third duration (e.g., 2 minutes), respectively.).
Van does not disclose the aspect wherein the alphanumeric run time value is a sum of a first run time value of the first mode and a second run time value of the second mode.
However Keith discloses the aspect wherein the alphanumeric run time value is a sum of a first run time value of the first mode (see fig. 2 for different timer used for different exercise mode, See paragraph 33 to 35 As shown in the Figure, an interval timing device 200 generally comprises a smartphone housing 210, a user interface screen 220, a plurality of exercise hold timers/counters 230, a rest timer, a repetition counter 250 and a start button 270. Similar to the embodiments discussed supra, a general timer 260 may also be provided.”) and a second run time value of the second mode (see fig. 1 and 2 and paragraph 30 wherein the general timer 160 and 260 includes a sum of first run time and a second d run time for a first and second mode.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the filing was made to apply Keith to Van so the user can see the total amount of time used from different modes of fluid inflow and be more informed about the treatment and condition of the patient.
With regard to claim 7:
Van and Keith disclose the user interface of claim 1, wherein the alphanumeric run time value is shown in seconds (Van see fig. 15 for run time value shown in seconds).
With regard to claim 8:
Van discloses a thrombectomy fluid management system, comprising: an inflow pump (See paragraph 32 the intravascular therapy guidance system may be used to examine and/or deliver therapy to a blood vessel, such as an artery or a vein of a patient’s vascular system, including cardiac vasculature, peripheral vasculature, neural vasculature, renal vasculature.) configured to provide fluid inflow through a thrombectomy device (see figure 15 for thrombectomy pump 1108 (e.g., active component 324 of Fig. 3), such as an atherectomy device and/or a thrombectomy device, that may be used to deliver the intravascular therapy. See paragraph 86); a controller in communication with the inflow pump and the thrombectomy device ( See paragraph 71 the device is controlled by controller paragraph 71 For example, in the first operational state, the intravascular device 300 may deliver the intravascular therapy in response to an input signaling to begin delivery of the therapy.); a user activation switch configured to activate the inflow pump( the device is controlled by controller by a user, See paragraph 71 For example, in the first operational state, the intravascular device 300 may deliver the intravascular therapy in response to an input signaling to begin delivery of the therapy. The input may correspond to a user input or may be automatically generated by the therapy guidance processing system 134, for example.); and a display including a user interface (see paragraph 60 for example, an x-ray stream 501 (e.g., the x-ray stream received at step 402) may be displayed within a graphic user interface (GUI) at the display 132. The GUI may facilitate selection of the proximal end 502 and the distal end 504 via an I/O device communicatively coupled to the display 132, such as the communication module 214. For instance, an input device, such as a touch sensitive pad or touch screen display, keyboard/mouse, joystick, button, scroll wheel, and/or the like, may be coupled to the display 132 and may facilitate the selection at the GUI.); wherein the user interface includes: a first mode indicator configured to indicate when a first mode of fluid inflow (See paragraph 32 wherein intravascular therapy is fluid inflow into the bloodstream of the patient.) is active (see fig. 15A and paragraph 95 for the first mode indicator. Figs. 15A-C illustrate a set of screen displays 1500A-C modified to indicate a duration the therapy device 1108 (e.g., the tip 1308 or end/distal portion of the intravascular device 1103) has been positioned within the therapy region 1101 and/or a duration of time the therapy device 1108 has been delivering therapy (e.g., active) within the therapy region 1101. For example, each of the screen displays 1500A-C may include a timer 1502 indicating the duration. Accordingly, the screen display 1500A, the screen display 1500B, and the screen display 1500C may correspond to a screen display after the therapy device 1108has been active within the therapy region 1101 for a first duration (e.g., 5 seconds), a second duration (e.g., 20 seconds), and a third duration (e.g., 2 minutes), respectively. ); a second mode indicator configured to indicate when a second mode of fluid inflow is active (see paragraph 95 fig. 15B for the second mode indicator with a different 1308 tip location.); and a run time display including an alphanumeric run time value shown in a first color (see fig. 15A and 15B for run time display and paragraph 95 Figs. 15A-C illustrate a set of screen displays 1500A-C modified to indicate a duration the therapy device 1108 (e.g., the tip 1308 or end/distal portion of the intravascular device 1103) has been positioned within the therapy region 1101 and/or a duration of time the therapy device 1108 has been delivering therapy (e.g., active) within the therapy region 1101. For example, each of the screen displays 1500A-C may include a timer 1502 indicating the duration. Accordingly, the screen display 1500A, the screen display 1500B, and the screen display 1500C may correspond to a screen display after the therapy device 1108has been active within the therapy region 1101 for a first duration (e.g., 5 seconds), a second duration (e.g., 20 seconds), and a third duration (e.g., 2 minutes), respectively.).
Van does not disclose the aspect wherein the alphanumeric run time value is a sum of a first run time value of the first mode and a second run time value of the second mode.
However Keith discloses the aspect wherein the alphanumeric run time value is a sum of a first run time value of the first mode (see fig. 2 for different timer used for different exercise mode, See paragraph 33 to 35 As shown in the Figure, an interval timing device 200 generally comprises a smartphone housing 210, a user interface screen 220, a plurality of exercise hold timers/counters 230, a rest timer, a repetition counter 250 and a start button 270. Similar to the embodiments discussed supra, a general timer 260 may also be provided.”) a second run time value of the second mode (see fig. 1 and 2 and paragraph 30 wherein the general timer 160 and 260 includes a sum of first run time and a second d run time for a first and second mode.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the filing was made to apply Keith to Van so the user can see the total amount of time used from different modes of fluid inflow and be more informed about the treatment and condition of the patient.
Claims 2, 9, 14, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van, WO 2022078744 A1, in view of Keith, and further in view of Shinomoto, Pub. No.: 2019/0220180A1.
With regard to claims 2 and 9:
Van and Keith do not disclose the user interface of claim 1, wherein the run time display shows a first recommended run time threshold corresponding to a first working condition.
However Shinomoto discloses the aspect wherein the run time display shows a first recommended run time threshold corresponding to a first working condition. (fig. 8, claim 1: “1. A control method of controlling a terminal device connected to a server and a first cooking device, wherein the server includes a memory that stores user logs, each of the user logs includes (i) food information associated with a food subject to cooking in a cooking device used by a user and (ii) a description of a user ID of the user, the terminal device includes a processor, a display, and a memory that stores the description of the user ID of a first user of the first cooking device, the control method comprising: sending, to the server using the processor, the description of the user ID of the first user and food information associated with a food of the first user to be cooked; acquiring, from the server using the processor, (i) a standard cooking time corresponding to the food of the first user to be cooked and (ii) a recommended cooking time corresponding to the food of the first user to be cooked and the description of the user ID of the first user; displaying, on the display using the processor, a user interface including one or more selection regions, each of the selection regions indicating a cooking time, the one or more selection regions including (i) a first selection region corresponding to the standard cooking time and (ii) a second selection region corresponding to the recommended cooking time; in response to detecting that the first selection region corresponding to the standard cooking time is selected by an input operation performed on the user interface, outputting, to the first cooking device using the processor, a setting command to set the standard cooking time corresponding to the first selection region; and in response to detecting that the second selection region corresponding to the recommended cooking time is selected by an input operation performed on the user interface, outputting, to the first cooking device using the processor, a setting command to set the recommended cooking time corresponding to the second selection region.”) and a second recommended run time threshold corresponding to a second working condition (claim 5: “5. The control method according to claim 1, wherein each of the user logs further includes a cooking time set in the cooking device by the user for cooking the food indicated by the food information, the memory included in the server further stores data describing, for each of the users, a correspondence between the user ID of the user and an age group of the user, the acquiring includes acquiring, from the server using the processor, another recommended cooking time corresponding to the food of the first user to be cooked and the description of the user ID of the first user; the one or more selection regions includes a third selection region corresponding to another recommended cooking time, in response to detecting that the third selection region corresponding to the other recommended cooking time is selected by an input operation performed on the user interface, outputting, to the first cooking device using the processor, a setting command to set the other recommended cooking time corresponding to the third selection region, and the recommended cooking time corresponding to the food of the first user to be cooked is recommended for an age group related to the user ID of the first user, and the other recommended cooking time corresponding to the food of the first user to be cooked is recommended for age groups other that the age group related to the user ID of the first user.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the filing was made to apply Shinomoto to Van and Keith so the user would be able to select from different run times for different situations for greater flexibility.
With regard to claim 14:
Van and Keith and Shinomoto The thrombectomy fluid management system of claim 9, wherein after reaching the first recommended run time threshold, the inflow pump continues to run whenever the user activation switch is activated (Van see fig. 15C wherein only a warning is displayed when the first recommended run time threshold is reached but the inflow is not stopped, paragraph 95: “Figs. 15A-C illustrate a set of screen displays 1500A-C modified to indicate a duration the therapy device 1108 (e.g., the tip 1308 or end/distal portion of the intravascular device 1103) has been positioned within the therapy region 1101 and/or a duration of time the therapy device 1108 has been delivering therapy (e.g., active) within the therapy region 1101. For example, each of the screen displays 1500A-C may include a timer 1502 indicating the duration. Accordingly, the screen display 1500A, the screen display 1500B, and the screen display 1500C may correspond to a screen display after the therapy device 1108has been active within the therapy region 1101 for a first duration (e.g., 5 seconds), a second duration (e.g., 20 seconds), and a third duration (e.g., 2 minutes), respectively. Additionally, the screen display 1500B illustrates movement of the therapy device 1108 from the previous position illustrated in the screen display 1500A, and the screen display 1500C illustrates no movement or relatively small movement of the therapy device 1108 from the position illustrated in the screen display 1500B. Further, in some embodiments, a warning may be provided when the duration exceeds a particular threshold (e.g., 5 seconds, 10 seconds, 30 seconds, 1 minute, 2 minutes, and/or the like) in order to prevent damage to a particular area of the blood vessel. More specifically, the warning may be provided to prevent the therapy device 1108 from delivering therapy (e.g., from being active) in one area for too much time, which may result in damage to healthy tissue. For example, as illustrated in Fig. 15C, the screen display 1500C includes a message box 1504 indicating that the duration the therapy device 1108 has remained in the position illustrated in Figs. 15B and 15C has exceeded the threshold.”).
With regard to claim 15:
Van and Keith and Shinomoto disclose the thrombectomy fluid management system of claim 9, wherein after reaching a recommended run time threshold , the inflow pump continues to run whenever the user activation switch is activated (see fig. 15C wherein only a warning is displayed when the first recommended run time threshold is reached but the inflow is not stopped, paragraph 95: “Figs. 15A-C illustrate a set of screen displays 1500A-C modified to indicate a duration the therapy device 1108 (e.g., the tip 1308 or end/distal portion of the intravascular device 1103) has been positioned within the therapy region 1101 and/or a duration of time the therapy device 1108 has been delivering therapy (e.g., active) within the therapy region 1101. For example, each of the screen displays 1500A-C may include a timer 1502 indicating the duration. Accordingly, the screen display 1500A, the screen display 1500B, and the screen display 1500C may correspond to a screen display after the therapy device 1108has been active within the therapy region 1101 for a first duration (e.g., 5 seconds), a second duration (e.g., 20 seconds), and a third duration (e.g., 2 minutes), respectively. Additionally, the screen display 1500B illustrates movement of the therapy device 1108 from the previous position illustrated in the screen display 1500A, and the screen display 1500C illustrates no movement or relatively small movement of the therapy device 1108 from the position illustrated in the screen display 1500B. Further, in some embodiments, a warning may be provided when the duration exceeds a particular threshold (e.g., 5 seconds, 10 seconds, 30 seconds, 1 minute, 2 minutes, and/or the like) in order to prevent damage to a particular area of the blood vessel. More specifically, the warning may be provided to prevent the therapy device 1108 from delivering therapy (e.g., from being active) in one area for too much time, which may result in damage to healthy tissue. For example, as illustrated in Fig. 15C, the screen display 1500C includes a message box 1504 indicating that the duration the therapy device 1108 has remained in the position illustrated in Figs. 15B and 15C has exceeded the threshold.”) The threshold is a the second recommended run time threshold (Shinomoto claim 5: “5. The control method according to claim 1, wherein each of the user logs further includes a cooking time set in the cooking device by the user for cooking the food indicated by the food information, the memory included in the server further stores data describing, for each of the users, a correspondence between the user ID of the user and an age group of the user, the acquiring includes acquiring, from the server using the processor, another recommended cooking time corresponding to the food of the first user to be cooked and the description of the user ID of the first user; the one or more selection regions includes a third selection region corresponding to another recommended cooking time, in response to detecting that the third selection region corresponding to the other recommended cooking time is selected by an input operation performed on the user interface, outputting, to the first cooking device using the processor, a setting command to set the other recommended cooking time corresponding to the third selection region, and the recommended cooking time corresponding to the food of the first user to be cooked is recommended for an age group related to the user ID of the first user, and the other recommended cooking time corresponding to the food of the first user to be cooked is recommended for age groups other that the age group related to the user ID of the first user.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the filing was made to apply Shinomoto to Van and Keith so the user would be able to select from different run time for different situations for greater flexibility.
Claims 3, 4, 10, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van, WO 2022078744 A1, in view of Keith and Shinomoto, and further in view of Rifkin, 20060221082 A1.
With regard to claims 3 and 10:
Van and Keith and Shinomoto do not disclose the user interface of claim 2, wherein the alphanumeric run time value is configured to change from the first color to a second color when the sum reaches at least one of the first and second recommended run time thresholds.
However Rifkin discloses the aspect wherein the alphanumeric run time value is configured to change from the first color to a second color when the sum reaches at least one of the first and second recommended run time thresholds (paragraph 13: “The animated cursor changes colors as it cycles. In a preferred embodiment, the animated cursor uses four colors, loosely based on traffic signal coloring. From 00 to 14 (first series of 15 images), the hourglass and digits may be green. From 15 to 29 (second series of 15 images), the hourglass and digits may be yellow. From 30 to 44 (third series of 15 images), the hourglass and digits may be red, and from 45 to 59 (fourth and last series of 15 images before the first series of images are used again), the hourglass and digits may be black and blue.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the filing was made to apply Rifkin to Van and Keith and Shinomoto so the user is informed about when one or more threshold time have been reached based on the changed color and act accordingly.
With regard to claims 4 and 12:
Van and Keith and Shinomoto do not disclose the user interface of claim 2, wherein the alphanumeric run time value is configured to change from the first color to a second color when the sum reaches the first recommended run time threshold, and the alphanumeric run time value is configured to change to a third color when the sum reaches the second recommended run time threshold.
However Rifkin discloses the aspect wherein the alphanumeric run time value is configured to change from the first color to a second color when the sum reaches the first recommended run time threshold, and the alphanumeric run time value is configured to change to a third color when the sum reaches the second recommended run time threshold (paragraph 13: “The animated cursor changes colors as it cycles. In a preferred embodiment, the animated cursor uses four colors, loosely based on traffic signal coloring. From 00 to 14 (first series of 15 images), the hourglass and digits may be green. From 15 to 29 (second series of 15 images), the hourglass and digits may be yellow. From 30 to 44 (third series of 15 images), the hourglass and digits may be red, and from 45 to 59 (fourth and last series of 15 images before the first series of images are used again), the hourglass and digits may be black and blue.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the filing was made to apply Rifkin to Van and Keith and Shinomoto so the user is informed about when one or more threshold time have been reached based on the changed color and act accordingly.
Claims 5, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Van, WO 2022078744 A1, in view of Keith, and further in view of Casadei, 20130205755 A1.
With regard to claim 5:
Van and Keith do not disclose the user interface of claim 1, wherein the first mode indicator is user selectable to activate the first mode of fluid inflow.
However Casadei discloses the aspect wherein the first mode indicator is user selectable to activate the first mode of fluid inflow. (paragraph 107 and 108: “In the illustrated embodiment, the displaying device 120 is of the so-called touch-screen type that allows the heat recovery apparatus 44 to be controlled and/or the selection of which actuator or fluidic motor devices 14, 20, 26, 30 the pressurized auxiliary working fluid is to be sent to. For example, by touching the display 120 at one or more of the graphic areas 132, 134, 136, 138, a user can make a selection relating to which fluidic actuator device or devices and/or fluidic motor device or devices 14, 20, 26, 30 is or are to be activated. The display 120 then alerts the control unit 90 of the selection made by the user. The control unit 90 subsequently activates the respective valve or valves 82, 84, 86, 88 that control the inflow of auxiliary working fluid into the control circuits 36, 38, 40, 42 of the fluidic actuator devices or fluidic motors 14, 20, 26, 30 on the basis of the selection made by the user.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the filing was made to apply Casadei to Van and Keith so the user could easily select different mode of fluid inflow through a user interface to help the user easily control the patient treatment.
With regard to claim 6:
Van and Keith and Casadei discloses the user interface of claim 1, wherein the second mode indicator is user selectable to activate the second mode of fluid inflow (Casadei paragraph 107 and 108: “In the illustrated embodiment, the displaying device 120 is of the so-called touch-screen type that allows the heat recovery apparatus 44 to be controlled and/or the selection of which actuator or fluidic motor devices 14, 20, 26, 30 the pressurized auxiliary working fluid is to be sent to. For example, by touching the display 120 at one or more of the graphic areas 132, 134, 136, 138, a user can make a selection relating to which fluidic actuator device or devices and/or fluidic motor device or devices 14, 20, 26, 30 is or are to be activated. The display 120 then alerts the control unit 90 of the selection made by the user. The control unit 90 subsequently activates the respective valve or valves 82, 84, 86, 88 that control the inflow of auxiliary working fluid into the control circuits 36, 38, 40, 42 of the fluidic actuator devices or fluidic motors 14, 20, 26, 30 on the basis of the selection made by the user.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the filing was made to apply Casadei to Van and Keith so the user could easily select different mode of fluid inflow through a user interface to help the user easily control the treatment.
Claims 11, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van, WO 2022078744 A1, in view of Keith and Shinomoto and Rifkin, and further in view of Nakamura, Pub. No.: 20230278173 A1.
With regard to claim 11:
Van and Keith and Shinomoto and Rifkin do not disclose the thrombectomy fluid management system of claim 10, wherein the controller is configured to emit a first audible notification when the sum reaches the first recommended run time threshold
However Nakamura discloses the aspect wherein the controller is configured to emit a first audible notification when the sum reaches the first recommended run time threshold (paragraph 33; “After the first predetermined time has elapsed since the operation performed by the operator, the notification control unit 38 causes the notification unit 32 to output the first notification sound for notifying that the holding force of the holding unit 20 is currently being changed (step S5). The first notification sound is preferably output from the notification unit 32 at the time of switching of the vacuum pressure supply paths 16 or immediately after the switching. Further, after the first predetermined time has elapsed and then the second predetermined time has further elapsed (YES in step S6), the notification control unit 38 causes the notification unit 32 to output the second notification sound for notifying that the changing of the holding force of the holding unit 20 has been completed (step S7). On the other hand, when the second predetermined time has not elapsed since the switching of the connection states between the vacuum source 12 and the five vacuum pressure supply paths 16 (NO in step S6), the notification control unit 38 waits in step S6 until the second predetermined time elapses. Owing to this configuration, the operator can grasp the change situation of the holding force by the first notification sound and the second notification sound. When the notification control unit 38 determines NO in step S6, the notification control unit 38 may return to step S5. Thus, the first notification sound is continuously outputted until the second predetermined time elapses.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the filing was made to apply Nakamura to Van and Keith and Shinomoto and Rifkin so the user is informed about when one or more threshold time have been reached based on the audio notification and act accordingly.
With regard to claim 13:
Van and Keith and Shinomoto and Rifkin and Nakamura disclose the thrombectomy fluid management system of claim 12, wherein the controller is configured to emit a second audible notification when the sum reaches the second recommended run time threshold (Nakamura paragraph 33; “After the first predetermined time has elapsed since the operation performed by the operator, the notification control unit 38 causes the notification unit 32 to output the first notification sound for notifying that the holding force of the holding unit 20 is currently being changed (step S5). The first notification sound is preferably output from the notification unit 32 at the time of switching of the vacuum pressure supply paths 16 or immediately after the switching. Further, after the first predetermined time has elapsed and then the second predetermined time has further elapsed (YES in step S6), the notification control unit 38 causes the notification unit 32 to output the second notification sound for notifying that the changing of the holding force of the holding unit 20 has been completed (step S7). On the other hand, when the second predetermined time has not elapsed since the switching of the connection states between the vacuum source 12 and the five vacuum pressure supply paths 16 (NO in step S6), the notification control unit 38 waits in step S6 until the second predetermined time elapses. Owing to this configuration, the operator can grasp the change situation of the holding force by the first notification sound and the second notification sound. When the notification control unit 38 determines NO in step S6, the notification control unit 38 may return to step S5. Thus, the first notification sound is continuously outputted until the second predetermined time elapses.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the filing was made to apply Nakamura to Van and Keith and Shinomoto and Rifkin so the user is informed about when one or more threshold time have been reached based on the audio notification and act accordingly.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DI XIAO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2178