DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 8, 2025 and December 8, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
3. The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant' s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
5. This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“Means for receiving a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) transmission in a channel occupancy time (COT) period, wherein the COT period is determined based on parameter of the PSSCH transmission” in claim 8. The reference, “WTRU may receive a PSSCH transmission in a COT [0161]. A WTRU (e.g. UE) is the object that will be interpreted to carry out the functional language within claim 8.
“Means for receiving an indication to use multi-channel feedback and an indication of a feedback occasion within the COT period” in claim 8. The reference, “transmit an indication to the RX WTRU including the PSFCH occasion information and an indication to use multi-channel PSFCH (e.g., in PSCCH/PSSCH) [0162]”. The RX WTRU (e.g. receiving UE) is the object that will be interpreted to carry out the functional language within claim 8.
“Means for sending multi-channel feedback for the PSSCH transmission in the feedback occasion based on one or more factors.” in claim 8. The reference “For example, a WTRU may determine to send S-SSB(s) using single-channel or multi-channel based on one or more factors (e.g., more than one RB set, that is contiguous, non-contiguous, adjacent, non-adjacent, configured, determined based on one or more factors, etc.); based on that one or more factors, the WTRU may determine to send S-SSB using multi-channel [0152]”. The TX WTRU (e.g. UE) is the object that will be interpreted to carry out the functional language within claim 8.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (US 20240349315 A1) in view of Stefanatos et al. (US 20240008085 A1).
8. Regarding claim 1, Guo et al. teaches a method implemented by a first wireless transmit receive unit (WTRU), (“In action 306, the one or more second sidelink UEs 302 transmit, and the first sidelink UE 304 receives, M physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) communications” [0053]). The first sidelink UE 304 is a first WTRU.
In further claim 1, Guo et al. teaches a method comprising: receiving a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) transmission in a channel occupancy time (COT) period, (“In action 306, the one or more second sidelink UEs 302 transmit, and the first sidelink UE 304 receives, M physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) communications” [0053]). The UE is receiving PSSCH communications (e.g. transmissions).
Following up with, (“The sidelink resource configuration may indicate a time, a periodicity, and/or a frequency band where the sidelink UEs may contend for COTs for sidelink communication (e.g., PSSCH/PSCCH/PSFCH)” [0089]). The UE contends for a COT for sidelink communications and PSSCH communications (e.g. transmissions) is taught.
In further claim 1, Guo et al. teaches receiving an indication to use multi-channel feedback and an indication of a feedback occasion within the COT period, (“the sidelink communication module 608 receiving the indication to transmit the plurality of PSFCH communications includes the sidelink communication module 608 receiving a plurality of sidelink communications in a plurality of physical sidelink shared channels (PSSCHs)” [0079]). Receiving the indication to transmit a plurality of PSFCH is a feedback channel and receiving a plurality of PSSCH indicates the use of a multi-channel.
Following up with, (“The sidelink resource configuration may indicate a time, a periodicity, and/or a frequency band where the sidelink UEs may contend for COTs for sidelink communication (e.g., PSSCH/PSCCH/PSFCH)” [0089]). Communication channels PSFCH (e.g. feedback channel) and PSSCH is being used within the COTs period.
In further claim 1, Guo et al. teaches sending multi-channel feedback for the PSSCH transmission in the feedback occasion based on one or more factors, (“In some aspects, receiving the indication to transmit the plurality of PSFCH communications includes receiving a plurality of sidelink communications in a plurality of physical sidelink shared channels (PSSCHs). In some aspects, each of the PSSCH communications may be associated with a sidelink control information (SCI), a priority, and/or a cast type” [0095]). Transmitting plurality of PSFCH involves the contents of a plurality of PSSCH (e.g. multi-channel) that includes one or more factors such as sidelink control information (SCI), a priority, and/or a cast type.
Although Guo et al. teaches a method implemented by a first wireless transmit receive unit (WTRU); a method comprising: receiving a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) transmission in a channel occupancy time (COT) period; receiving an indication to use multi-channel feedback and an indication of a feedback occasion within the COT period; sending multi-channel feedback for the PSSCH transmission in the feedback occasion based on one or more factors, Guo et al. does not explicitly teach, wherein the COT period is determined based on parameter of the PSSCH transmission.
In the same field of endeavor of where the COT period is determined based on the parameter of the PSSCH transmission, Stefanatos et al. teaches, (“As another example, the COT-initiating transmission 450 can include a PSCCH having an SCI-1 and a PSSCH having a SCI-2, and one or both of the SCI-1 and the SCI-2 may include the afore-mentioned COT-sharing information (e.g., the duration of the COT 420, the location of the COT-initiating sidelink UE 405a, the spatial range of the COT 420, etc.)” [0090]). As a result, the COT duration (e.g. period) is determined during the COT-initiating transmission of the PSSCH SCI-2. Sidelink control information (SCI) is a parameter from the PSSCH.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo et al. to include the parameter SCI in PSSCH during the COT period as taught by Stefanatos et al... The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to include a PSSCH that contains SCI parameters such as, “(e.g., the duration of the COT 420, the location of the COT-initiating sidelink UE 405a, the spatial range of the COT 420, etc.)” [0090]) to track the COT-initiating location of the sidelink UE and include the duration of the COT to track the time of communication.
9. Regarding claim 2, Guo et al. teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more factors is received in a configuration information transmission that is received before the PSSCH transmission, (“The PSFCH capability configuration may be preconfigured in a UE and stored in a memory of the UE, or may be signaled or otherwise communicated based on RRC signaling, MAC information elements, MAC control elements, sidelink control information (SCI), and/or any other suitable mechanism type of control signaling, message, and/or data communication” [0052]). PSFCH is a capability configuration that stores configuration information indicating that it has been in possession or communicated through RRC signaling. Indicating, received configuration information.
Following up with, (“The PSFCH capability configuration may further indicate that the first sidelink UE 304 selects or determines which of the scheduled M PSFCH communications may be multiplexed based on one or more orders, rankings, or other parameters, including PSFCH priority, PSFCH order, PSFCH payload, PSSCH cast type (e.g., unicast, multicast, groupcast, etc.), and/or any combination thereof” [0054]). The received configuration information may select/determine which PSSCH cast type may me multiplexed (e.g. transmitted). Therefore, configuration information is received before the transmission of PSSCH.
10. Regarding claim 3, Guo et al. teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the sending is performed based on a successful clear channel assessment, (“Thus, to provision for sidelink services over a shared spectrum or unlicensed spectrum, sidelink user equipment devices (UEs) are required to contend for channel access in the spectrum, for example, via CCA and/or LBT procedures” [0022]). Provisioning sidelink services over shared or unlicensed spectrum requires UEs to contend for CCA (clear channel assessment) or LBT (listen before talk) procedures.
Following up with, (“one or more sidelink UEs may transmit a plurality of PSSCH communications to a receiving sidelink UE” [0023]). The sidelink UE is transmitting PSSCH communications to a receiving sidelink UE. Teaching the capability of performing sidelink communication.
11. Regarding claim 4, Guo et al. teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the COT is sharable by the first WTRU, (“A UE 115 may transmit, during sidelink communications, physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) data, physical sidelink shared control channel (PSCCH) sidelink control information (SCI), sidelink COT sharing SCI, sidelink scheduling SCI, and/or physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) ACK/NACK feedbacks (e.g., HARQ for sidelink) to another UE and/or receive PSSCH data” [0047]). A UE (e.g. WTRU) can transmit sidelink COT to share sidelink control information (SCI) with another UE, indicating that a COT is sharable. A UE that is doing the transmitting can be considered a first WTRU to the receiving UE.
12. Regarding claim 5, Guo et al. teaches the method of claim 1, the one or more factors, (“In some aspects, each of the PSSCH communications may be associated with a sidelink control information (SCI), a priority, and/or a cast type” [0095]). The factors are represented as SCI, priority, and/or a cast type.
Although Guo et al. teaches one or more factors, Guo et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more factors includes a position of the feedback occasion with the COT period.
In the same field of endeavor of including one or more factors that includes a position of the feedback occasion with the COT period, Stefanatos et al. teaches, (“As another example, the COT-initiating transmission 450 can include a PSCCH having an SCI-1 and a PSSCH having a SCI-2, and one or both of the SCI-1 and the SCI-2 may include the afore-mentioned COT-sharing information (e.g., the duration of the COT 420, the location of the COT-initiating sidelink UE 405a, the spatial range of the COT 420, etc.)” [0090]). The COT initiating transmission (e.g. feedback) can include the location (e.g. position) of the COT initiating sidelink UE and the duration (e.g. period) of the COT.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo et al. to include the location of the COT-initiating sidelink and the spatial range of the COT within the SCI through a PSSCH as taught by Stefanatos et al... The suggestion/motivation to do so would allow the UE to understand the location of the COT-initiating sidelink and the length of COT period.
13. Regarding claim 6, Guo et al. teaches the method of claim 1, one or more factors includes a buffer status of the first WTRU, packet delay budget, or a QoS of data in the PSSCH transmission, (“For example, in some aspects, one or more sidelink UEs may transmit a plurality of PSSCH communications to a receiving sidelink UE [0023]”). Teaches a plurality of PSSCH transmission.
Following up with, (“each bit of the multi-bit PSFCH communication may correspond to two or more PSSCH communications, where each PSSCH communication is associated with a sidelink control information (SCI). Each SCI may be associated with a priority value, such as 0, 1, 2, 3, etc.” [0070]). The priority value is a direct component of the QoS data. PSSCH communication is associated with the SCI which contains a priority value and that information is being communicated (e.g. transmitted).
14. Regarding claim 7, Guo et al. teaches one or more factors, (“The PSFCH capability configuration may also indicate one or more parameters or rules for selecting up to the one or more maximum numbers of single-bit and/or multi-bit PSFCH communications” [0054]). A parameter (e.g. factor) may select the number of single-bit or multi-bit PSFCH communications.
Although Guo et al. teaches one or more factors, Guo et al. does not explicitly teach wherein one or more factors includes the resource block set of the PSSCH transmission.
In the same field of endeavor of creating a method, wherein one or more factors includes the resource block set of the PSSCH transmission, Stefanatos et al. teaches, (“The resource pool 1302 may be composed of two sub-channels 1308 (e.g., assigned a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) and a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH)) and 1310 (e.g., assigned to the PSSCH), each of the two sub-channels 1308 and 1310 including a consecutive set of RBs spanning different frequencies” [0156]). Sub-channel PSSCH includes a set of RBs (e.g. resource block set) spanning different frequencies.
Following up with, (“the parameter sl-NumSubchannel may define resource pool 1302 to include two sub-channels (e.g., 1308 and 1310) and the parameter sl-SubchannelSize may define that each of sub-channels 1308 and 1310 include 10 RBs to 100 RBs” [0157]). The parameter (e.g. sl-NumSubChannel) is a parameter (e.g. factor) that helps define the resource pool to include two sub-channels one of which is the PSSCH channel.
Following up with, (“The multiple PSSCH communications may be unicast, groupcast, and/or multicast.” [0159]). Teaching multiple methods of PSSCH transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Guo et al. to include the method wherein one or more factors includes the resource block set of the PSSCH transmission as taught by Stefanatos et al... The suggestion/motivation to so would have been to implement sub-channels such as PSSCH to include the consecutive set of RBs within the resource pool and the parameter (e.g. sl-NumSubChannel) to define the resource pool to include two sub-channels PSCCH/PSSCH as well as the parameter sl-SubChannelSize to define the number of RBs of each sub-channel (e.g. PSCCH/PSSCH).
15. Regarding claim 8, Guo et al. teaches a first wireless transmit receive unit (WTRU), (“In action 306, the one or more second sidelink UEs 302 transmit, and the first sidelink UE 304 receives, M physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) communications” [0053]). The first sidelink UE 304 is a first WTRU.
In further claim 8, Guo et al. teaches comprising: means for receiving a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) transmission in a channel occupancy time (COT) period, (“In action 306, the one or more second sidelink UEs 302 transmit, and the first sidelink UE 304 receives, M physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) communications” [0053]). The generic placeholder “means for” is interpreted as a user equipment (UE). The UE is receiving PSSCH communications (e.g. transmissions).
Following up with, (“The sidelink resource configuration may indicate a time, a periodicity, and/or a frequency band where the sidelink UEs may contend for COTs for sidelink communication (e.g., PSSCH/PSCCH/PSFCH)” [0089]). The UE contends for a COT for sidelink communications and PSSCH communications (e.g. transmissions) is taught.
In further claim 8, Guo et al. teaches means for receiving an indication to use multi-channel feedback and an indication of a feedback occasion within the COT period, (“For example, the sidelink communication module 608 may be configured to receive, from one or more UEs, an indication to transmit a plurality of PSFCH communications including one or more single-bit PSFCH communications and one or more multi-bit PSFCH communications.” [0079]). The generic placeholder “means for” is interpreted as the user equipment (UE). PSFCH is a feedback channel. The UE is obtaining an indication to transmit a plurality of PSFCH communications. The plurality of PSFCH is equivalent to multi-channel feedback.
Following up with, (“The sidelink resource configuration may indicate a time, a periodicity, and/or a frequency band where the sidelink UEs may contend for COTs for sidelink communication (e.g., PSSCH/PSCCH/PSFCH)” [0089]). Communication channels PSFCH (e.g. feedback channel) and PSSCH must be used within the COTs period.
In further claim 8, Guo et al. teaches means for sending multi-channel feedback for the PSSCH transmission in the feedback occasion based on one or more factors, (“a first UE receives, from one or more UEs, an indication to transmit a plurality of physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH)” [0095]). The generic placeholder “means for” is interpreted as the user equipment (UE). The UE receives an indication to transmit a plurality of PSFCH channels.
Following up with, (“In some aspects, receiving the indication to transmit the plurality of PSFCH communications includes receiving a plurality of sidelink communications in a plurality of physical sidelink shared channels (PSSCHs). In some aspects, each of the PSSCH communications may be associated with a sidelink control information (SCI), a priority, and/or a cast type [0095]). Transmitting plurality of PSFCH involves the contents of a plurality of PSSCH (e.g. multi-channel) that includes one or more factors such as sidelink control information (SCI), a priority, and/or a cast type.
Although Guo et al. teaches a first wireless transmit receive unit (WTRU); comprising: means for receiving a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) transmission in a channel occupancy time (COT) period; means for receiving an indication to use multi-channel feedback and an indication of a feedback occasion within the COT period; mean for sending multi-channel feedback for the PSSCH transmission in the feedback occasion based on one or more factors, Guo et al. does not explicitly teach, wherein the COT period is determined based on parameter of the PSSCH transmission.
In the same field of endeavor of where the COT period is determined based on the parameter of the PSSCH transmission, Stefanatos et al. teaches, (“As another example, the COT-initiating transmission 450 can include a PSCCH having an SCI-1 and a PSSCH having a SCI-2, and one or both of the SCI-1 and the SCI-2 may include the afore-mentioned COT-sharing information (e.g., the duration of the COT 420, the location of the COT-initiating sidelink UE 405a, the spatial range of the COT 420, etc.)” [0090]). As a result, the COT duration (e.g. period) is determined during the COT-initiating transmission of the PSSCH SCI-2. Sidelink control information (SCI) is a parameter from the PSSCH.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo et al. to include the parameter SCI in PSSCH during the COT period as taught by Stefanatos et al... The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to include a PSSCH that contains SCI parameters such as, “(e.g., the duration of the COT 420, the location of the COT-initiating sidelink UE 405a, the spatial range of the COT 420, etc.)” [0090]) to track the COT-initiating location of the sidelink UE and include the duration of the COT to track the time of communication.
16. Regarding claim 9, Guo et al. teaches the WTRU of claim 8, wherein the one or more factors is received in a configuration information transmission that is received before the PSSCH transmission, (“The PSFCH capability configuration may be preconfigured in a UE and stored in a memory of the UE, or may be signaled or otherwise communicated based on RRC signaling, MAC information elements, MAC control elements, sidelink control information (SCI), and/or any other suitable mechanism type of control signaling, message, and/or data communication” [0052]). The PSFCH is a capability configuration that stores configuration information indicating that it has been in possession of the UE or communicated through RRC signaling to the UE indicating, received configuration information.
Following up with, (“The PSFCH capability configuration may further indicate that the first sidelink UE 304 selects or determines which of the scheduled M PSFCH communications may be multiplexed based on one or more orders, rankings, or other parameters, including PSFCH priority, PSFCH order, PSFCH payload, PSSCH cast type (e.g., unicast, multicast, groupcast, etc.), and/or any combination thereof” [0054]). The UE received configuration information may select/determine which PSSCH cast type may me multiplexed (e.g. transmitted). Therefore, configuration information is received by the UE before the transmission of PSSCH.
17. Regarding claim 10, Guo et al. teaches the WTRU of claim 8, wherein the sending is performed based on a successful clear channel assessment, (“Thus, to provision for sidelink services over a shared spectrum or unlicensed spectrum, sidelink user equipment devices (UEs) are required to contend for channel access in the spectrum, for example, via CCA and/or LBT procedures” [0022]). Provisioning sidelink services over shared or unlicensed spectrum requires the UEs (e.g. WTRU) to contend for CCA (clear channel assessment) or LBT (listen before talk) procedures.
Following up with, (“one or more sidelink UEs may transmit a plurality of PSSCH communications to a receiving sidelink UE” [0023]). The sidelink UE (e.g. WTRU) is transmitting PSSCH communications to a receiving sidelink UE. Teaching the capability of performing sidelink communication.
18. Regarding claim 11, Guo et al. teaches the WTRU of claim 8, wherein the COT is sharable by the first WTRU, (“A UE 115 may transmit, during sidelink communications, physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) data, physical sidelink shared control channel (PSCCH) sidelink control information (SCI), sidelink COT sharing SCI, sidelink scheduling SCI, and/or physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) ACK/NACK feedbacks (e.g., HARQ for sidelink) to another UE and/or receive PSSCH data” [0047]). A UE (e.g. WTRU) can transmit sidelink COT to share sidelink control information (SCI) with another UE, indicating that a COT is sharable. A UE (e.g. WTRU) carrying out the transmission can be considered a first WTRU to the receiving UE.
19. Regarding claim 12, Guo et al. teaches the WTRU of claim 8, wherein the one or more factors, (“In some aspects, each of the PSSCH communications may be associated with a sidelink control information (SCI), a priority, and/or a cast type. In some aspects, the SCI for each PSSCH may indicate, to the first UE, the priority value of the PSSCH communication, the cast type (e.g., unicast, groupcast, multicast, etc.)” [0095]). The PSSCH indicates to the UE (e.g. WTRU) a plurality of factors (SCI, priority, and/or a cast type).
Although Guo et al. teaches one or more factors, Guo et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more factors includes a position of the feedback occasion with the COT period.
In the same field of endeavor of including one or more factors that includes a position of the feedback occasion with the COT period, Stefanatos et al. teaches, (“As another example, the COT-initiating transmission 450 can include a PSCCH having an SCI-1 and a PSSCH having a SCI-2, and one or both of the SCI-1 and the SCI-2 may include the afore-mentioned COT-sharing information (e.g., the duration of the COT 420, the location of the COT-initiating sidelink UE 405a, the spatial range of the COT 420, etc.)” [0090]). The COT initiating transmission (e.g. feedback) can include the location (e.g. position) of the COT initiating sidelink UE (e.g. WTRU) and the duration (e.g. period) of the COT.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Guo et al. to include the location of the COT-initiating sidelink UE and the spatial range of the COT within the SCI through a PSSCH as taught by Stefanatos et al... The suggestion/motivation to do so would allow the UE (e.g. WTRU) to understand the location of the COT-initiating sidelink and the length of COT period.
20. Regarding claim 13, Guo et al. teaches the WTRU of claim 8, one or more factors includes a buffer status of the first WTRU, packet delay budget, or a QoS of data in the PSSCH transmission, (“For example, in some aspects, one or more sidelink UEs may transmit a plurality of PSSCH communications to a receiving sidelink UE” [0023]). Teaches a UE (e.g. WTRU) that may transmit a plurality of PSSCH communications.
Following up with, (“each bit of the multi-bit PSFCH communication may correspond to two or more PSSCH communications, where each PSSCH communication is associated with a sidelink control information (SCI). Each SCI may be associated with a priority value, such as 0, 1, 2, 3, etc.” [0070]). The priority value is a direct component of the QoS data. PSSCH communication is associated with the SCI which contains a priority value and that information is being communicated (e.g. transmitted).
21. Regarding claim 14, Guo et al. teaches the WTRU of claim 8, wherein one or more factors, (“The PSFCH capability configuration may further indicate that the first sidelink UE 304 selects or determines which of the scheduled M PSFCH communications may be multiplexed based on one or more orders, rankings, or other parameters, including PSFCH priority, PSFCH order, PSFCH payload, PSSCH cast type (e.g., unicast, multicast, groupcast, etc.), and/or any combination thereof.” [0054]). The WTRU (e.g. first sidelink UE) that may determine the order at which rankings, or parameters are multiplexed.
Although Guo et al. teaches the WTRU of claim 8, wherein one or more factors, Guo et al. does not explicitly teach wherein one or more factors includes the resource block set of the PSSCH transmission.
In the same field of endeavor the WTRU of claim 8, wherein one or more factors includes the resource block set of the PSSCH transmission, Stefanatos et al. teaches, (“When communicating on a sidelink a UE may use resources selected from a resource pool “[0155]). The WTRU is interpreted as a UE.
Following up with, (“The resource pool 1302 may be composed of two sub-channels 1308 (e.g., assigned a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) and a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH)) and 1310 (e.g., assigned to the PSSCH), each of the two sub-channels 1308 and 1310 including a consecutive set of RBs spanning different frequencies” [0156]). Sub-channel PSSCH includes a set of RBs (e.g. resource block set) spanning different frequencies.
Following up with, (“the parameter sl-NumSubchannel may define resource pool 1302 to include two sub-channels (e.g., 1308 and 1310) and the parameter sl-SubchannelSize may define that each of sub-channels 1308 and 1310 include 10 RBs to 100 RBs” [0157]). The parameter (e.g. sl-NumSubChannel) is a parameter (e.g. factor) that helps define the resource pool to include two sub-channels one of which is the PSSCH channel.
Following up with, (“The multiple PSSCH communications may be unicast, groupcast, and/or multicast.” [0159]). The reference teaches multiple methods of PSSCH transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Guo et al. to include the method wherein one or more factors includes the resource block set of the PSSCH transmission as taught by Stefanatos et al... The suggestion/motivation to so would have been to implement sub-channels such as PSSCH to include the consecutive set of RBs within the resource pool and the parameter (e.g. sl-NumSubChannel) to define the resource pool to include two sub-channels PSCCH/PSSCH as well as the parameter sl-SubChannelSize to define the number of RBs of each sub-channel (e.g. PSCCH/PSSCH).
Conclusion
22. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
23. The relevance of this prior art, “SECONDARY HARQ FEEDBACK RESOURCE ALLOCATION FOR SIDELINK COMMUNICATION IN UNLICENSED SPECTRUM” Document ID US 20250266933 A1; The invention conducts a listen before talk Type 1 before conducting a sidelink connection with another UE through PSCCH/PSSCH. The RX UE will conduct a second listen before talk Type 2 send feedback to the first UE. This entire process is being done in a COT.
24. The relevance of this prior art, “CHANNEL ACCESS METHOD, DEVICE AND STORAGE MEDIUM” Document ID US 20250089073 A1; The invention includes a channel access method that determines the transmission resource that corresponds to a sidelink signal. The application focuses on implementing the coexistence between SL devices and other devices of an unlicensed frequency band.
25. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PAUL THANH TRAN whose telephone number is (571)272-9841. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri Flex 8:00am-5:00pm.
/PAUL THANH TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
January 28, 2026
/GARY MUI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2465