Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The following claims 2-8, 10-16 and 18-20 each recite “The tool of claim…” and should be amended to recite “The reaching and grasping tool of claim…” to properly address the reaching and grasping tool of each of the Independent claims 1, 9 and 17, respectively.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-12 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al (U.S Pub 2021/0245361) (“Smith”) in view of Kroeze et al (U.S Pub 2022/0024025) (“Kroeze”).
Regarding Claim 1, Smith discloses a reaching and grasping tool (Abstract) comprising:
a pole assembly having a plurality of pole segments slidingly coupled together (Page 1, paragraph [0011], the reaching and grasping tool comprises a first pole coupled between the trigger assembly and a hinge assembly, Figures 1-7, #28 first pole);
a trigger assembly having a handle body (Abstract; paragraph [0006], #22 trigger assembly [Wingdings font/0xE0] Smith discloses wherein the reaching and grasping tool comprises a trigger assembly having a handle); and
a jaw assembly #24 (Figures 1-7, paragraph [0028]) having frame, a first jaw, and a second jaw (paragraphs [0006] and [0008] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Smith discloses a first and second jaw), the first jaw and second jaw being rotationally coupled to the frame (paragraphs [0006] and [0010] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Smith discloses wherein the at least one jaw is configured to move from an open position to a second position in response to movement of the first trigger).
Smith, however, fails to expressly disclose wherein the trigger assembly comprises a tensioning mechanism, wherein the tensioning mechanism having a cylindrical member rotationally coupled to the handle body and a torsional biasing member operably coupled to the cylindrical member and a linkage operably coupled between the torsional biasing member, the first jaw and the second jaw.
Kroeze teaches the reaching and grasping tool above comprising a tensioning mechanism, wherein the tensioning mechanism having a cylindrical member rotationally coupled to the handle body and a torsional biasing member operably coupled to the cylindrical member (Figure 1; paragraphs [0020] and [0025] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Kroeze teaches wherein the trigger assembly #26 is attached to an extension spring #21 that is secured to interior of the housing #22 and can be stretched when the trigger is actuated. Kroeze further discloses a pivot joint #78 that has a spring locking element #80) and a linkage operably coupled between the torsional biasing member, the first jaw and the second jaw (paragraph [0024] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Kroeze teaches a flexible control link #40) for the purpose of pushing the locking elements inwardly so that the end is rotated to allow the gripping device to be ready to grasp a particular item (Abstract; paragraph [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Smith to include a tensioning mechanism as described above and a linkage, as taught by Kroeze, because doing so would help to push the locking elements inwardly to allow the gripping device to be ready to grasp a particular item.
Regarding Claim 2, Smith in view of Kroeze teach the of claim 1, wherein the linkage is made from a metallic strip of material (Abstract; paragraphs [0021] and [0024] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Kroeze teaches a flexible control link or element #40 that is made from a thin sheet or strip of metal).
Regarding Claim 3, Smith in view of Kroeze teach the tool of claim 2, wherein the metallic strip is wound around the cylindrical member (Abstract; paragraphs [0021] and [0024] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Kroeze teaches a flexible control link or element #40 that is wound into and/or held in a coil spring).
Regarding Claim 4, Smith discloses the tool of claim 3, wherein the trigger assembly #22 includes an actuator #84 rotationally coupled to the handle body, the actuator being operably coupled to rotate the cylindrical member when the actuator is moved from a first position towards a second position (Figure 4A; Page 1, paragraphs [0004] and [0012] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Smith discloses an actuator that is configured to cause a pair of gripping heads to open and close, #84 movable actuator).
Regarding Claim 6, Smith discloses the tool of claim 1, further comprising a hinge coupled between one of the plurality of pole segments and the frame, the linkage extending through the hinge (paragraph [0028], #26 hinge assembly, Figures 1-7).
Regarding Claim 7, Smith discloses the tool of claim 1, wherein the first jaw and second jaw each include at least one engagement feature (Figures 1-7, paragraph [0028]) having frame, a first jaw, and a second jaw (paragraphs [0006], [0008] and [0010] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Smith discloses a first and second jaw, wherein the at least one jaw is configured to move from an open position to a second position in response to movement of the first trigger).
Regarding Claim 8, Smith discloses the tool of claim 7, wherein the at least one engagement feature is at least one of a plurality of u-shaped slots, a plurality of ribs, and a plurality of teeth (paragraphs [0007] and [0012] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Smith discloses a plurality of teeth that are used as engagement features).
Regarding Claim 9, Smith discloses a reaching and grasping tool (Abstract) comprising:
a pole assembly having a first pole segment slidingly coupled to a second pole segment (Page 1, paragraph [0011], the reaching and grasping tool comprises a first pole coupled between the trigger assembly and a hinge assembly, Figures 1-7, #28 first pole);
a trigger assembly (Abstract; paragraph [0006], #22 trigger assembly [Wingdings font/0xE0] Smith discloses wherein the reaching and grasping tool comprises a trigger assembly having a handle); and
a jaw assembly #24 (Figures 1-7, paragraph [0028]) having a first jaw and a second jaw (paragraphs [0006] and [0008] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Smith discloses a first and second jaw), the first jaw and second jaw being rotatable relative to each other (paragraphs [0006] and [0010] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Smith discloses wherein the at least one jaw is configured to move from an open position to a second position in response to movement of the first trigger).
Smith, however, fails to expressly disclose wherein the trigger assembly comprises a rotatable tensioning mechanism, the tensioning mechanism having a cylindrical member and a torsional biasing member operably coupled to the cylindrical member and a linkage operably coupled between the torsional biasing member, the first jaw and the second jaw.
Kroeze teaches the reaching and grasping tool above comprising a rotatable tensioning mechanism, the tensioning mechanism having a cylindrical member and a torsional biasing member operably coupled to the cylindrical member (Figure 1; paragraphs [0020] and [0025] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Kroeze teaches wherein the trigger assembly #26 is attached to an extension spring #21 that is secured to interior of the housing #22 and can be stretched when the trigger is actuated. Kroeze further discloses a pivot joint #78 that has a spring locking element #80) and a linkage operably coupled between the torsional biasing member, the first jaw and the second jaw (paragraph [0024] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Kroeze teaches a flexible control link #40) for the purpose of pushing the locking elements inwardly so that the end is rotated to allow the gripping device to be ready to grasp a particular item (Abstract; paragraph [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Smith to include a rotatable tensioning mechanism as described above and a linkage, as taught by Kroeze, because doing so would help to push the locking elements inwardly to allow the gripping device to be ready to grasp a particular item.
Regarding Claim 10, Smith in view of Kroeze teach the tool of claim 9, wherein the linkage is made from a metallic strip of material (Abstract; paragraphs [0021] and [0024] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Kroeze teaches a flexible control link or element #40 that is made from a thin sheet or strip of metal).
Regarding Claim 11, Smith in view of Kroeze teach the tool of claim 10, wherein the metallic strip is wound around the cylindrical member (Abstract; paragraphs [0021] and [0024] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Kroeze teaches a flexible control link or element #40 that is wound into and/or held in a coil spring).
Regarding Claim 12, Smith discloses the tool of claim 11, wherein the trigger assembly #22 includes a handle body and an actuator #84 rotationally coupled to the handle body (Abstract; paragraph [0006] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Smith discloses wherein the reaching and grasping tool comprises a trigger assembly having a handle), the actuator being operably coupled to rotate the cylindrical member when the actuator is moved from a first position towards a second position (Figure 4A; Page 1, paragraphs [0004] and [0012] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Smith discloses an actuator that is configured to cause a pair of gripping heads to open and close, #84 movable actuator).
Regarding Claim 14, Smith discloses the tool of claim 9, further comprising a hinge operably coupled between the second pole segment and the first jaw, the linkage extending through the hinge (paragraph [0028], #26 hinge assembly, Figures 1-7).
Regarding Claim 15, Smith discloses the tool of claim 9, wherein the first jaw and second jaw each include at least one engagement feature (Figures 1-7, paragraph [0028]) having frame, a first jaw, and a second jaw (paragraphs [0006], [0008] and [0010] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Smith discloses a first and second jaw, wherein the at least one jaw is configured to move from an open position to a second position in response to movement of the first trigger).
Regarding Claim 16, Smith discloses the tool of claim 15, wherein the at least one engagement feature is at least one of a plurality of u-shaped slots, a plurality of ribs, and a plurality of teeth (paragraphs [0007] and [0012] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Smith discloses a plurality of teeth that are used as engagement features).
Regarding Claim 17, Smith discloses a reaching and grasping tool (Abstract) comprising:
a pole assembly having a first pole segment slidingly coupled to a second pole segment (Page 1, paragraph [0011], the reaching and grasping tool comprises a first pole coupled between the trigger assembly and a hinge assembly, Figures 1-7, #28 first pole);
a trigger assembly #22 (Abstract; paragraph [0006], #22 trigger assembly [Wingdings font/0xE0] Smith discloses wherein the reaching and grasping tool comprises a trigger assembly having a handle);
a jaw assembly #24 (Figures 1-7, paragraph [0028]) having a first jaw and a second jaw (paragraphs [0006] and [0008] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Smith discloses a first and second jaw), the first jaw and second jaw being rotatable relative to each other (paragraphs [0006] and [0010] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Smith discloses wherein the at least one jaw is configured to move from an open position to a second position in response to movement of the first trigger); and
a hinge coupled between the second pole segment and the frame (paragraph [0028], #26 hinge assembly, Figures 1-7).
Smith, however, fails to expressly disclose wherein the trigger assembly comprises a rotatable tensioning mechanism, the tensioning mechanism having a cylindrical member and a torsional biasing member operably coupled to the cylindrical member and a linkage operably coupled between the torsional biasing member, the first jaw and the second jaw.
Kroeze teaches the reaching and grasping tool above comprising a rotatable tensioning mechanism, the tensioning mechanism having a cylindrical member and a torsional biasing member operably coupled to the cylindrical member (Figure 1; paragraphs [0020] and [0025] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Kroeze teaches wherein the trigger assembly #26 is attached to an extension spring #21 that is secured to interior of the housing #22 and can be stretched when the trigger is actuated. Kroeze further discloses a pivot joint #78 that has a spring locking element #80) and a linkage operably coupled between the torsional biasing member, the first jaw and the second jaw (paragraph [0024] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Kroeze teaches a flexible control link #40) for the purpose of pushing the locking elements inwardly so that the end is rotated to allow the gripping device to be ready to grasp a particular item (Abstract; paragraph [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Smith to include a rotatable tensioning mechanism as described above and a linkage, as taught by Kroeze, because doing so would help to push the locking elements inwardly to allow the gripping device to be ready to grasp a particular item.
Regarding Claim 18, Smith discloses the tool of claim 17, wherein the hinge is configured to selectively lock in an angular position (paragraph [0028], #26 hinge assembly, Figures 1-7).
Regarding Claim 19, Smith discloses the tool of claim 18, wherein the hinge is rotatable in discrete angular increments (paragraph [0028], #26 hinge assembly, Figures 1-7).
Regarding Claim 20, Smith discloses the tool of claim 18, wherein:
the hinge is configured to rotate about a first axis #34; the first jaw is rotatable about a second axis #32 (paragraph [0028], #26 hinge assembly, Figures 1-7); and
the first axis is perpendicular to the second axis #32 (paragraph [0028] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Smith discloses wherein the hinge assembly #26 has an axis of rotation #32 that is offset from the main axis #34).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Harrington et al (U.S Patent 9,878,444) – discloses a reaching and grabbing tool that has a gripping head with at least one jaw operatively connected to a trigger for movement with respect to a gripping axis (Abstract; Figures 1 and 3; Col 1, lines 43-58).
Wolff et al (U.S Patent 5,941,587) – discloses a grasping device including an elongated body with a first end and a second end that comprises a cammed lever for pulling a wire (Abstract).
/ASHISH K VARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 3674
/WILLIAM D HUTTON JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3674