DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8-13-2026 have been fully considered. As they are directed towards the claims as amended, please see below.
Examiner’s Note: For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8, 11, 12, 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kienzle, et. al, U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2019/0145813, published May 16, 2019 in view of Dunphy, et. al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2007/0003206, published January 4, 2007.
As per claim 1, Kienzle discloses a level measuring device configured for use in an industrial environment, comprising:
radar measuring device electronics configured to generate a transmission signal; an antenna configured to emit the transmission signal in direction of a product and to receive a reflected transmission signal (Kienzle, ¶58);
and a first waveguide and a second waveguide, which are connected to each other and are configured to transmit the transmission signal from the measuring electronics to the antenna, wherein the first waveguide is plugged or screwed into the second waveguide (Kienzle, ¶37).
Kienzle fails to disclose the waveguides an annular projection and indention to allow deforming to form a seal when plugging the waveguides together.
Dunphy teaches a deformed sealing region provided with a projection and indentation to allow for one to plug into the other and form a seal (¶31).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to using a sealing region in order to gain the benefit of providing good seal pressure as taught by Dunphy (¶40) and whether the sealing region is on a waveguide end or the waveguide end plugs into it is well within the skill of a person in the art to determine.
As per claim 2, Kienzle as modified by Dunphy discloses the level measuring device according to claim 1, wherein a pressure-tight connection is created by the plugging or screwing of the first waveguide into the second waveguide by plastically deforming the annular projection against the corresponding annular indentation (Dunphy, ¶31).
As per claim 3, Kienzle as modified by Dunphy further discloses the level measuring device according to claim 1, wherein the connection of the first waveguide to the second waveguide is a positive connection (Dunphy, ¶31).
As per claims 6 and 16, 17 and 20, Kienzle as modified by Dunphy further discloses the level measuring device according to claim 1, wherein the first waveguide has a same internal diameter as the second waveguide (Kienzle, ¶42).
As per claim 7, Kienzle as modified by Dunphy further discloses the level measuring device according to claim 1, wherein the antenna is integrally connected to the second waveguide (Kienzle, Fig. 11).
As per claim 8, Kienzle as modified by Dunphy further discloses the level measuring device according to claim 1, wherein the second waveguide has a cylindrical or conical guide surface against which the first waveguide lies radially in order to guide and center the first waveguide during insertion or screwing in (Kienzle, Fig. 1).
As per claims 11 and 12, Kienzle as modified by Dunphy further discloses the level measuring device according to claim 2, wherein the plastically deformed sealing region is an integral part of the first waveguide or the second waveguide (Dunphy, ¶31).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the sealing region integral, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893).
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kienzle and Dunphy as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Osswald, et. al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2008/0134778, published June 12, 2008.
As per claim 9, Kienzle as modified by Dunphy discloses the device of claim 1 but fails to expressly disclose the use of threads to screw the waveguides together.
Osswald teaches threads in a fill level device (¶47).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to use threads, as Applicant has not disclosed that it solves any stated problem of the prior art or is for any particular purpose. It appears that the invention would perform equally well as the invention disclosed by Kienzle and Dunphy in providing a solid connection.
As per claim 10, Kienzle as modified by Dunphy and Osswald discloses the level measuring device according to claim 1, wherein the connection of the first waveguide to the second waveguide is designed to withstand a pressure of 640 bar (Dunphy, ¶40).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the pressure limitation disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is provided on form PTO-892.
/MARCUS E WINDRICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646