DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6, 11-12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by PGPUB US 20160375296 A1 by Downey et al (“Downey”).
In regard to Claims 1 and 11, Downey teaches a structure for use in performing a sport, comprising:
two or more structure blocks to be associated together to form the structure, individual structure blocks of the two or more structure blocks to comprise an upper layer, a shock absorption layer that is below the upper layer, and a cell-support layer that is below the shock absorption layer, the upper layer having at least a friction feature, wherein the upper layer, the shock absorption layer, and the cell-support layer are to couple together with corresponding layers of other structure blocks upon the two or more structure blocks being associated together, and wherein the shock absorption layer is comprised of separate shock absorbing components that are individually associated to the upper layer and to the cell-support layer
(see, e.g., F4, 152 (“two or more structure blocks…form the structure”); e.g., F1, 18 (“upper layer”); e.g., F1, 32 and 34 (“shock absorption layer”); e.g., F1, 16 (“cell support layer”)).
In regard to Claims 2 and 12, Downey teaches these limitations. See, e.g., p26.
In regard to Claims 6 and 16, Downey teaches these limitations. See, e.g., F1, 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Downey, in view of PGPUB US 20180030667 A1 by Penland, JR et al (“Penland”).
In regard to Claims 3-4 and 13-14, Penland teaches the claimed limitations (see, e.g., F18 and p196);
Furthermore, the combination of the cited prior art would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing because the cited prior art includes each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the cited prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference; one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately; and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Specifically, it would have been obvious to have molded the upper layer taught by Downey with the ridges taught by Penland, in order to provide traction for the user.
Claims 7-8 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Downey, in view of PGPUB US 20180030667 A1 by Penland, JR et al (“Penland”).
In regard to Claims 7 and 17, Penland teaches the claimed limitations (see, e.g., p65 and p242);
Furthermore, the combination of the cited prior art would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing because the prior art contains a device/method/etc. which differed from the claimed device by the substitution of some components/steps/elements with other components; the substituted components and their functions were known in the art; one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element for another; and the results of the substitution would have been predictable.
Specifically, it would have been obvious to have constructed the upper layer taught by Downey with out of the translucent or transparent materials otherwise taught by Penland, in order to allow the mats to be used on grass.
In regard to Claims 8 and 18, see rejection of Claims 3 and 4.
Claims 5, 9, 15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Downey, in view of Pentland, further in view of machine translation of Chinese patent publication CN209734915U·2019-12-06 by Zhang, et al (“Zhang”).
In regard to Claims 9 and 19, Zhang teaches the claimed limitations (see, e.g., p29);
Furthermore, the combination of the cited prior art would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing because the cited prior art includes each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the cited prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference; one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately; and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Specifically, it would have been obvious to have added the light, pressure sensor and controller device taught by Zhang to the apparatus taught by the otherwise cited prior art, in order to provide instruction and scoring for fencing kendo.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,918,875. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant Application claims the genus of which the ‘875 patent is a species.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is listed in the attached PTO-Form 892 and is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner's Supervisory Primary Examiner, Peter Vasat can be reached at 571-270-7625. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/MICHAEL C GRANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715