DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mashimo et al. (US20220278315A1).
Regarding claim 1 Mashimo discloses a negative electrode (e.g. Fig. 1A), comprising: a negative electrode current collector (12); and a negative electrode active material layer (14) including a negative electrode active material, wherein the negative active material layer (14) includes a first region (22) and a second region (24).
Mashimo discloses a density of the first region of 3.8 g/cc and a density of the second region of 3.5 g/cc (Table 1, Ex. 1's higher- and lower-density regions, respectively), meaning the second region's density is about 8% less than the first regions, falling within at least 7% less.
As seen in Fig. 1D and 2, Mashimo discloses an equal pitch in the pattern of high and low density regions (see also [0063]), which appears to suggest approximately equal volumes of the first and second regions in the active material layer. Mashimo discloses that the low -density regions ,i.e., second region, have a relatively large number of voids, which assist in lithium insertion and desorption to promote movement of Li ions ([0063]), while the high- density regions, i.e., first region, have a relatively small number of voids, which improves contact between the active materials and conductive material to form a suitable conductive path([0063]). Further, by forming the region at an equal pitch, the entire active layer can efficiently contribute to an electrochemical reaction to improve battery performance ([0063]). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize, therefore, that each of the “first” and “second” regions in Mashimo would occupy a large enough volume to ensure a suitable balance of ion diffusion and electrical conductivity without compromising either region’s effect.
Although Mashimo may fail to explicitly disclose that a volume ratio of the second region to the negative electrode active material layer is more than 7% and not more than 50%, to balance the desired ion diffusion and electrical conductivity, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, before the claimed inventions effective filing date, to arrive at this range by routinely optimizing volume of each of the “first” and “second” regions within the active layer (MPEP 2144.05 (II)).
Regarding claim 2, Mashimo discloses the negative electrode, wherein the second region is in grid form (as seen in Fig. 1D the pattern shows a grid of low density and high-density regions).
Regarding claim 3, Mashimo discloses the negative electrode according to claim one, wherein the negative electrode active material layer includes a plurality of the second regions (as seen in the pattern in the low density regions 22 in Fig. 1D), the second regions are columnar (as seen in Fig. 2’s cross section).
Mashimo’s discloses, as seen in Fig. 1D, that the second regions are diagonally connected, meaning the shortest distance between them would be approximately 0 μm, falling within 50 μm or less.
Regarding claim 5, Mashimo discloses a non-aqueous secondary battery comprising the negative electrode according to claim 1(as seen in Fig. 10).
6. Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mashimo et al. (US20220278315A1), as applied to claim 1, in view of Zhang et al. (US 20190305299 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Mashimo discloses the negative electrode according to claim 1, Mashimo discloses an overall electrode density ([0054]) but fails to disclose this value as a coating weight in terms of mg/cm3 and thus, fails to explicitly disclose that a coating weight of the negative electrode active material is 20 mg/cm3 or more.
However, one skilled in the art would understand that coating weight is controlled by coating thickness, and Mashimo discloses that the active material layer is preferably thicker to increase battery capacity ([0052]). The skilled artisan, on the other hand, would also realize that making the active material layer too thick would necessarily increase ion-diffusion distance across the electrode and, therefore, resistance (as implied by [0058]).
To ensure suitable balance of capacity and ionic resistance, it would have been obvious to arrive at the recited coating weight of the active material layer by routinely optimizing the thickness and, therefore, the coating weight (MPEP 2144.05(II)).
Further, Zhang teaches electrodes for electrochemical cells like secondary batteries ([0002]), teaching that the anode active material is coated at an areal density, i.e., coating weight, preferably greater than 25 mg/cm3 ([0026]). Zhang teaches that such an electrode displays improved energy density and high-capacity retention at rates equal to C/2 ([0022]).
It would be obvious to configure Mashimo’s anode active material layer with a coating weight of greater than 25 mg/cm3, falling within 20 mg/cm3 or more, with the reasonable expectation of achieving improved energy density and high-capacity retention at rates equal to C/2 as taught by Zhang.
Conclusion
The cited art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20230064681: electrode with striped patterns of low and high density regions
/D.N.N./Examiner, Art Unit 1718 /GORDON BALDWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1718