DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 and 4-20 are pending.
Claims 2-3 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments on page 7, applicants argues “As described in Applicant's specification, "[a] non-communicating unit does not have electronic communication capabilities and thus cannot communicate data to other units in the HVAC system." Applicant's specification, para. [0011]. Instead, "the non-communicating unit may simply be instructed to turn on or off. For example, a circuit electrically coupled to the non- communicating unit may be completed, e.g., via a command signal transmitted by a thermostat, such that voltage may be transmitted to the non-communicating unit to power on”. Examiner respectfully disagree because if there is no communication then how can a system be turned ON/OFF. Only way a system or device can be turned ON/OFF if there is communication. The communication channel lets us turn ON/OFF.
Applicant’s arguments on pages 7-8, applicants argues “Chitrala does not teach or suggest that "the wireless connectivity device is configured to be mechanically and operatively coupled to the non-communicating unit”. Examiner respectfully disagree because Chitrala paragraph 0037 and FIG. 3 teaches non communicating unit is connected by wire and it can turn ON/OFF. Specification further defines that “wherein the wireless connectivity device is configured to be integrated with the non-communicating unit” so there is a communication channel. Applicant’s background section paragraph 0003 applicant’s admitted that “In a non-communicating system, the thermostat acts as a switch, and completes a circuit to deliver voltage to a component of the HVAC system, e.g., an indoor unit such as an air handler or furnace, and/or an outdoor unit such as an air conditioning (AC) unit, to cause the component to turn on or off until a temperature set point is reached”. Chitrala paragraph 0018 thermostat can turn ON/OFF the non-communicating device.
Applicant’s arguments on page 6, applicants argue “Chitrala does not teach or suggest "a non-communicating unit”. Examiner respectfully disagree because paragraph 0018, 0037 outdoor unit is being interpreted as non-communicating unit. Which is similar as of applicant’s specification refer outdoor unit as “non-communicating unit”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 10-14 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chitrala et al. USPGPUB 20190219280 A1 (hereinafter “Chitrala”).
As to claim 1, Chitrala teaches a wireless connectivity device for a Heating, Ventilation, and Air Conditioning (HVAC) system (paragraph 0030 “system controller 106 may be configured for selective bidirectional communication via a wired or wireless communication network”), the wireless connectivity device comprising:
one or more sensors configured to be operatively coupled to a non-communicating unit of the HVAC system, and to measure one or more internal operations parameters of the non-communicating unit (paragraph 0031-0032 “controller 126 may be carried by the outdoor unit 104 and may be configured to receive information inputs, transmit information outputs, and/or otherwise communicate with the system controller 106” and FIG. 1-3); a communication module configured to wirelessly communicate data between the wireless connectivity device and the HVAC system (paragraph 0037-0039 “control system 300 comprises the HVAC system 100 that is communicatively coupled to a communication device 310 via a communication network 308. Communication network 308 may be a wired or wireless communication network” and paragraph 0038 “FIG. 3, the HVAC system 100 comprises a system controller 106 and outdoor unit 104. It is to be appreciated that other components of HVAC system 100 described with reference to FIG. 1 also are included in FIG.1”);
at least one processor; and memory having instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the at least one processor to determine a state of internal operations of the non-communicating unit based on the measured one or more internal operations parameters (paragraph 0039-0040 “receive actual SPL values measured at the predetermined location from outdoor unit 104 using the sensor 316 in communication device 310 or other sensors that are placed at predefined distances from the predetermined location during execution of commissioning algorithm 314. In some embodiments, system controller 106 may use the actual SPL values and the estimated SPL values to determine maximum operable compressor speeds of compressor 116 and fan speeds of outdoor fan 118 (FIG. 1) for operating in each of the daytime quiet operating mode and nighttime quiet operating mode so as to conform to the noise level limits in effect during each time period” and paragraph 0006, FIG. 1-3); wherein the wireless connectivity device is configured to be mechanically and operatively coupled to the non-communicating unit (paragraph 0037 and FIG. 3 “control system 300 comprises the HVAC system 100 that is communicatively coupled to a communication device 310 via a communication network 308. Communication network 308 may be a wired or wireless communication network, such as an IEEE® 802.11 wireless network, an IEEE® 802.3 wired network or any other suitable wired or wireless communication technology” and paragraph 0018).
As to claim 2, cancelled.
As to claim 3, cancelled.
As to claim 4, Chitrala teaches wherein the communication module is configured to communicate data between the wireless connectivity device and the HVAC system via at least one of a WiFi, Bluetooth, or cellular connection (paragraph 0037 and FIG. 3 “control system 300 comprises the HVAC system 100 that is communicatively coupled to a communication device 310 via a communication network 308. Communication network 308 may be a wired or wireless communication network” and paragraph 0057).
As to claim 5, Chitrala teaches wherein the processor is configured to determine the state of internal operations of the non-communicating unit by comparing the measured one or more internal operations parameters with one or more baseline internal operations parameters (paragraph 0024 “compressor 116 and outdoor fan 118 generate a relatively higher amount of sound when operated at a higher level of speed, and a relatively lower amount of sound when operated at a lower level of speed, but operating at a lower level of speed may lower the capacity of the HVAC system 100 and result in discomfort to the occupants”).
As to claim 6, Chitrala teaches wherein the processor is configured to adjust operations of the non-communicating unit if the measured one or more internal operations parameters is outside of a predetermined threshold range of the one or more baseline internal operations parameters (paragraph 0023-0025 “compressor 116 and outdoor fan 118 may be selectively rotated up to a maximum rotational speed, rotated at a lower rotational speed in a daytime quiet operating mode during periods in which the noise level limits are in effect for operation of the HVAC system 100 and rotated at an even lower rotational speed in a nighttime quiet operating mode during periods in which there are maximum noise level limits in effect”).
As to claim 7, Chitrala teaches wherein the one or more sensors comprises at least one of a current sensor configured to measure current associated with the non-communicating unit, a pressure sensor configured to measure pressure associated with the non-communicating unit, a temperature sensor configured to measure temperature associated with the non-communicating unit, an accelerometer configured to measure vibration associated with the non-communicating unit, or an audio sensor configured to measure noise associated with the non-communicating unit (paragraph 0044-0046 “pressures at compressor 116, electrical currents, and internal component temperatures. The “demand” command is used to control compressor speed of the cloud compressor 116 and fan motor speed of the outdoor fan 118 based on a correspondence between compressor and fan motor speeds and the “demand””).
As to claim 10, Chitrala teaches wherein the non-communicating unit comprises an outdoor unit, and wherein the wireless connectivity device is configured to be communicatively coupled to a thermostat (paragraph 0018-0024 “thermostat may be coupled to one or more sensors located in the outdoor unit 104, the indoor unit 102, and/or ducts that are coupled to indoor unit 102 or outdoor unit 104 in order to sense temperature, humidity, and/or other environmental information and communicate this information back to the system controller 106”).
As to claim 11, Chitrala teaches wherein the non-communicating unit comprises an indoor unit, and wherein the wireless connectivity device is configured to be communicatively coupled to a mobile application configured to communicate user input to the wireless connectivity device (paragraph 0018-0020 “a user interface that may be configured with a thermostat 130 for receiving user inputs and for displaying system settings. The system controller 106 may be configured for bidirectional communication with the thermostat 130. For example, the system controller 106 may allow a user to communicate user settings to the system controller 106 via the thermostat 130 in order to control a temperature setting, a humidity setting, and/or other environmental settings for the HVAC system 100. Further, the thermostat may be coupled to one or more sensors located in the outdoor unit 104, the indoor unit 102, and/or ducts that are coupled to indoor unit 102 or outdoor unit 104 in order to sense temperature, humidity, and/or other environmental information and communicate this information back to the system controller 106”).
As to claim 12, Chitrala teaches wherein the wireless connectivity device further comprises a thermostat communicatively coupled to the mobile application (FIG. 1, 3 and paragraph 0038-0039 “HVAC system 100 comprises a system controller 106 and outdoor unit 104. It is to be appreciated that other components of HVAC system 100 described with reference to FIG. 1 also are included in FIG. 3 but are not being repeated for conciseness. In an example, system controller 106 includes a communication interface 304. In an example, Communication interface 304 is a graphical user interface (GUI) such as a thermostat 130 (FIG. 1), that is operable to display operating parameters of components of the HVAC system 100 including displaying information related to SPL values of compressor 116 (FIG. 1) and outdoor fan 118 that are measured at a predetermined location from the outdoor unit 104. Communication interface 304 is coupled to system controller 106 and may transmit user settings to system controller 106. In one example, communication interface 304 may receive user inputs for a sound level limit” .
As to claim 13, Chitrala teaches an HVAC system (abstract “HVAC system) comprising:
an indoor unit (paragraph 0018 “indoor unit”);
an outdoor unit (paragraph 0018 “outdoor unit”);
a wireless connectivity device configured to be operatively coupled to at least one of the
indoor unit or the outdoor unit (paragraph 0037 “outdoor unit 104 (FIG. 1) such as, for example, at a property line of a residential building 202 or at a habited location 216 of a neighboring building 204 in FIG. 2 in order to configure the HVAC system 100 for daytime quiet and nighttime quiet operating modes. In an embodiment, control system 300 comprises the HVAC system 100 that is communicatively coupled to a communication device 310 via a communication network 308. Communication network 308 may be a wired or wireless communication network, such as an IEEE® 802.11 wireless network, an IEEE® 802.3 wired network or any other suitable wired or wireless communication technology” and FIG. 1-3), the wireless connectivity unit comprising one or more sensors configured to measure one or more internal operations parameters of the at least one of the indoor unit or the outdoor unit, and a communication module configured to wirelessly communicate data between the wireless connectivity device and the HVAC system (FIG. 1-3 and paragraph 0037-0039 “graphical user interface (GUI) such as a thermostat 130 (FIG. 1), that is operable to display operating parameters of components of the HVAC system 100 including displaying information related to SPL values of compressor 116 (FIG. 1) and outdoor fan 118 that are measured at a predetermined location from the outdoor unit 104. Communication interface 304 is coupled to system controller 106 and may transmit user settings to system controller 106. In one example, communication interface 304 may receive user inputs for a sound level limit, a temperature setting, a humidity setting, and/or other environmental settings of the HVAC system 100. Communication interface 304 may also be coupled to one or more sensors located in the outdoor unit 104, indoor unit 102”);
at least one processor; and memory having instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the at least one processor to determine a state of internal operations of the at least one of the indoor unit or the outdoor unit based on the measured one or more internal operations parameters (paragraph 0039-0040 “receive actual SPL values measured at the predetermined location from outdoor unit 104 using the sensor 316 in communication device 310 or other sensors that are placed at predefined distances from the predetermined location during execution of commissioning algorithm 314. In some embodiments, system controller 106 may use the actual SPL values and the estimated SPL values to determine maximum operable compressor speeds of compressor 116 and fan speeds of outdoor fan 118 (FIG. 1) for operating in each of the daytime quiet operating mode and nighttime quiet operating mode so as to conform to the noise level limits in effect during each time period” and paragraph 0006, FIG. 1-3).
As to claim 14, Chitrala teaches wherein the processor is configured to adjust operations of the at least one of the indoor unit or the outdoor unit if the measured one or more internal operations parameters is outside of a predetermined threshold range (paragraph 0023-0025 “compressor 116 and outdoor fan 118 may be selectively rotated up to a maximum rotational speed, rotated at a lower rotational speed in a daytime quiet operating mode during periods in which the noise level limits are in effect for operation of the HVAC system 100 and rotated at an even lower rotational speed in a nighttime quiet operating mode during periods in which there are maximum noise level limits in effect”).
As to claim 17, Chitrala teaches wherein the indoor unit comprises at least one of an air handler or a furnace, and wherein the outdoor unit comprises an air conditioning unit or heat pump (paragraph 0017 “HVAC system 100 may be configured as a heat pump system and generally comprises an indoor unit 102, an outdoor unit 104 and FIG. 1-3).
As to claim 18, Chitrala teaches wherein the indoor unit is communicating and the outdoor unit is non-communicating, wherein the wireless connectivity device is operatively coupled to the outdoor unit, and wherein the processor is configured to determine a state of internal operations of the outdoor unit based on one or more measured internal operations parameters associated with the outdoor unit (paragraph 0039-0040 “receive actual SPL values measured at the predetermined location from outdoor unit 104 using the sensor 316 in communication device 310 or other sensors that are placed at predefined distances from the predetermined location during execution of commissioning algorithm 314. In some embodiments, system controller 106 may use the actual SPL values and the estimated SPL values to determine maximum operable compressor speeds of compressor 116 and fan speeds of outdoor fan 118 (FIG. 1) for operating in each of the daytime quiet operating mode and nighttime quiet operating mode so as to conform to the noise level limits in effect during each time period” and paragraph 0005-0006, FIG. 1-3 ).
As to claim 19, Chitrala teaches wherein the outdoor unit is communicating and the indoor unit is non-communicating, wherein the wireless connectivity device is operatively coupled to the indoor unit, and wherein the processor is configured to determine a state of internal operations of the indoor unit based on one or more measured internal operations parameters associated with the indoor unit (paragraph 0018-0020 and FIG. 1-3 “one or more sensors located in the outdoor unit 104, the indoor unit 102, and/or ducts that are coupled to indoor unit 102 or outdoor unit 104 in order to sense temperature, humidity, and/or other environmental information and communicate this information back to the system controller 106”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chitrala et al. USPGPUB 20190219280 A1 (hereinafter “Chitrala”) in view of Mannfeld USPGPUB 20200355389 A1 (hereinafter “Mannfeld”).
As to claim 8, Chitrala teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Chitrala does not explicitly teach wherein the wireless connectivity device is configured to be communicatively coupled to a cloud storage for storing information indicative of the state of internal operations of the non-communicating unit received from the wireless connectivity device.
However, Mannfeld teaches wherein the wireless connectivity device is configured to be communicatively coupled to a cloud storage for storing information indicative of the state of internal operations of the non-communicating unit received from the wireless connectivity device (paragraph 0044-0046 “stored diagnostic information may be accessible via the wireless communications to the Cloud computing element 31 or the portable computing device 32 directly or through the thermostat 26”).
Chitrala and Mannfeld are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They both relate to HVAC system.
Therefore at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above HVAC system, as taught by Chitrala, and incorporating wireless connectivity device is configured to be integrated with the non-communicating unit, as taught by Mannfeld.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to achieve that desired temperature in a manner that also reduces costs and energy usage as much as possible, as suggested by Mannfeld (paragraph 0003).
As to claim 15, Chitrala teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Chitrala does not explicitly teach wherein the wireless connectivity device is configured to be communicatively coupled to a cloud storage for storing information indicative of the state of internal operations of the non-communicating unit received from the wireless connectivity device.
However, Mannfeld teaches wherein the wireless connectivity device is configured to be communicatively coupled to a cloud storage for storing information indicative of the state of internal operations of the non-communicating unit received from the wireless connectivity device (paragraph 0044-0046 “stored diagnostic information may be accessible via the wireless communications to the Cloud computing element 31 or the portable computing device 32 directly or through the thermostat 26”)..
As to claim 20, Chitrala teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Chitrala teaches wherein the outdoor unit is non-communicating and the indoor unit is non-communicating but Chitrala does not explicitly wherein the wireless connectivity device is operatively coupled to the indoor unit and a second wireless connectivity device is operatively coupled to the indoor unit, and wherein the second wireless connectivity device is communicatively coupled to the wireless connectivity device.
However, Mannfeld teaches wherein the wireless connectivity device is operatively coupled to the indoor unit and a second wireless connectivity device is operatively coupled to the indoor unit, and wherein the second wireless connectivity device is communicatively coupled to the wireless connectivity device (paragraph 0016 and 0046 “HVAC system includes both of the outdoor and indoor units and each of the outdoor and indoor units includes a wireless transceiver” since each indoor and outdoor unit has its own wireless transceiver therefore there are second wireless connectivity).
Claim(s) 9 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chitrala et al. USPGPUB 20190219280 A1 (hereinafter “Chitrala”) in view of Mannfeld USPGPUB 20200355389 A1 (hereinafter “Mannfeld”) further in view of Zelczer et al. USPGPUB 2019/0154298 A1 (hereinafter “Zelczer”).
As to claim 9, The combination of Chitrala and Mannfeld teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the cloud storage is configured to share the information indicative of the state of internal operations of the non-communicating unit with one or more third parties, wherein the wireless connectivity device is configured to control operations of the non-communicating unit responsive to one or more commands received from the one or more third parties.
However, Zelczer teaches wherein the cloud storage is configured to share the information indicative of the state of internal operations of the non-communicating unit with one or more third parties, wherein the wireless connectivity device is configured to control operations of the non-communicating unit responsive to one or more commands received from the one or more third parties (paragraph 0097-0099 “adjust operation of the HVAC equipment 110 based on historical data. In some examples, these “energy tips” may be tied to energy supplier promotions and/or rebates. For example, an end-user's energy supplier may be notified that the end-user is conserving energy by following the “energy tips” such that the end user is eligible for promotions, rebates, reduced rates, etc. The “energy tips” may also provide the end user the option of whether to let the energy supplier remotely control the system 100 and/or the HVAC equipment 110, for which the energy supplier may reward the end-user with energy discounts or rebates. For example, energy suppliers may offer rebates or discounts to end-users permit the energy supplier to control heating and cooling in the building (or one or more zones thereof) during peak power usage time”).
Chitrala, Mannfeld and Zelczer are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They both relate to HVAC system.
Therefore at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above HVAC system, as taught by Chitrala and Mannfeld, and incorporating control operations of the non-communicating unit responsive to one or more commands received from the one or more third parties, as taught by Zelczer.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to more efficient way of controlling the distribution of air or water and environmental parameters for several zones in a building or home, as suggested by Zelczer (paragraph 0009).
As to claim 16, The combination of Chitrala and Mannfeld teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the cloud storage is configured to share the information indicative of the state of internal operations of the at least one of the indoor unit or the outdoor unit with one or more third parties, wherein the wireless connectivity device is configured to control operations of the non-communicating unit responsive to one or more commands received from the one or more third parties.
However, Zelczer teaches wherein the cloud storage is configured to share the information indicative of the state of internal operations of the at least one of the indoor unit or the outdoor unit with one or more third parties, wherein the wireless connectivity device is configured to control operations of the non-communicating unit responsive to one or more commands received from the one or more third parties (paragraph 0097-0099 “adjust operation of the HVAC equipment 110 based on historical data. In some examples, these “energy tips” may be tied to energy supplier promotions and/or rebates. For example, an end-user's energy supplier may be notified that the end-user is conserving energy by following the “energy tips” such that the end user is eligible for promotions, rebates, reduced rates, etc. The “energy tips” may also provide the end user the option of whether to let the energy supplier remotely control the system 100 and/or the HVAC equipment 110, for which the energy supplier may reward the end-user with energy discounts or rebates. For example, energy suppliers may offer rebates or discounts to end-users permit the energy supplier to control heating and cooling in the building (or one or more zones thereof) during peak power usage time”).
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Gillette et al USPGPUB 2023/0392812 a control system of a heating, ventilation, and/or air conditioning (HVAC) system includes a data communication controller configured to receive, via a first wireless communication protocol, data from a sensor indicative of an operational parameter of the HVAC system. The data communication controller is also configured to receive, via an electronic device communicatively coupled to the data communication controller, a control instruction, and to transmit, via a second wireless communication protocol different from the first wireless communication protocol, a control signal to adjust operation of an HVAC component configured to enable supply of conditioned air to a structure serviced by the HVAC system based on the data and the control instruction.
Ehlers et al. USPGPUB 20070043478 A1 teaches a system and method manage delivery of energy from a distribution network to one or more sites. Each site has at least one device coupled to the distribution network. The at least one device controllably consumes energy. The system includes a node and a control system. The node is coupled to the at least one device for sensing and controlling energy delivered to the device. A control system is coupled to the node and distribution network for delivering to the node at least one characteristic of the distribution network. The node for controls the supply of energy to the device as a function of the at least one characteristic.
/ZIAUL KARIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119