DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/29/2026 is acknowledged by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “first charging component” and “second charging component” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lopotko et al. (US 2020/0280199), hereinafter Lopotko.
As to claim 1, Lopotko discloses in figures 1-13, a charging device [see figures 1 and 2], comprising:
a support post [ support post (4)] configured to receive a wearable ring device [wearing device in this case smart watch/ring (12); see ¶0021-0022] is charged on top of the support post], the support post comprising a retaining component [retaining component (6) which comprises charging coil (41); see ¶0021-0022] configured to retain the wearable ring device onto the support post;
a charging post [charging arm (10) is considered as charging post; see ¶0022 ] comprising an outer housing, a power receiving component [element 18] configured to receive power from one or more external power sources, and a first charging component configured to transfer the power from the power receiving component to the wearable ring device to recharge a rechargeable battery of the wearable ring device [see ¶0021-0022], wherein the charging device is configured to: transition between a first charging orientation [see figure 1] and a second charging orientation [see figure 2] , wherein the first charging orientation comprises an orientation in which the retaining component is on a same side of the support post as the power receiving component and the second charging orientation comprises an orientation in which the retaining component is on a different side of the support post from the power receiving component [as shown in figures 1 and 2, the charging orientation is rotatable and has different positions; see ¶0024-0025].
As to claim 2, Lopotko discloses in figures 1-13, wherein the charging device further comprises: a hinge [joint (22)] component connecting the support post and the charging post, wherein, to transition between the first charging orientation and the second charging orientation, the hinge component is configured to: rotate the charging post with respect to the support post [noted that the joint connections rotates the charging retention area in different orientations; see ¶0023].
As to claim 3, Lopotko discloses in figures 1-13, a second charging component [charging coil] configured to transfer the power from the power receiving component to the wearable ring device to recharge the rechargeable battery of the wearable ring device, wherein the first charging component [the electrical plug] and the second charging component [the charging coil] are located on a first position on a circumferential surface of the charging post and a second position on the circumferential surface of the charging post, respectively [magnetic and inductive changing components are disclosed; see ¶0093 and ¶0044]
As to claim 4, Lopotko discloses in figures 1-13, wherein the first charging component is positioned on an outer circumferential surface of the charging device when the charging device is in the first charging orientation, and wherein the second charging component is positioned on the outer circumferential surface of the charging device when the charging device is in the second charging orientation [see ¶0044 and ¶0093].
As to claim 5, Lopotko discloses in figures 1-13, wherein the support post comprises: a removable support post configured to interface with the charging post in either of the first charging orientation or the second charging orientation [see ¶0023].
As to claim 9, Lopotko discloses in figures 1-13, wherein a diameter of the retaining component is greater than a diameter of the support post [see figures 1 and 2].
As to claim 10, Lopotko discloses in figures 1-13, wherein a size of one or more components of the charging device is based at least in part on a size of the wearable ring device.
As to claim 11, Lopotko discloses in figures 1-13, wherein the support post comprises: one or more indentations on an outer circumferential surface of the support post, the one or more indentations configured to interface with one or more protrusions on an inner circumferential surface of the wearable ring device.
As to claim 12, Lopotko discloses in figures 1-13, one or more magnetic components configured to attract one or more magnetic components of the wearable ring device [see ¶0093].
As to claim 13, Lopotko discloses in figures 1-13, wherein the one or more external power sources comprise one or more of a cell phone, a laptop, a rechargeable portable battery, or a power outlet [see ¶0014].
As to claim 14, Lopotko discloses in figures 1-13, wherein the power receiving component comprises a Universal Serial Bus Type-C connector [see ¶0010].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 -8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
For Claim 6: primarily, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest in the claimed combination: wherein the removable support post comprises: an outer circumferential surface and a receiving hole extending a width of the support post and overlapping a portion of the outer circumferential surface to create a gap in the outer circumferential surface [see ¶0104].
For Claim 8: primarily, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest in the claimed combination: wherein the support post further comprises: one or more indentations configured to interface with one or more clip components of the charging post in either of the first charging orientation or the second charging orientation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lane et al. (US 2023/0147889) discloses wireless charger and a method for providing the same.
Green (US 2017/0242406) discloses travel case stand for smart watch.
/SAMUEL BERHANU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859