DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 10-11, 13-14, 17, 21, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Cui (CN104385879A).
Regarding claim 1/13, Cui discloses a vapor cycle system (see Fig. 3-6) comprising: a condenser unit comprising: a condenser (core 3) comprising: an inlet (31) configured to receive pressurized gas; and an outlet (32) configured to allow a flow of liquid out of the condenser; a plurality of mounting features (see elements 411, 431, 441, 423 of bracket 4) attached to the condenser unit, wherein each mounting feature of the plurality of mounting features defines one or more bolt holes (see plurality of holes therein), and wherein the plurality of mounting features is configured to allow the condenser unit to be mounted in a vehicle via the one or more bolt holes of each mounting feature of the plurality of mounting features in a plurality of orientations with respect to gravity, wherein the outlet is positioned at a lowermost point of the condenser in each of the plurality of orientations (condenser is capable of being mounted in such a manner); and a rigid frame (body 41) configured to stabilize the condenser unit, wherein the plurality of mounting features are integrated into the rigid frame, and wherein the condenser is attached to the rigid frame via the plurality of mounting features, wherein the vapor cycle system is configured to cool a thermal load in a vehicle (air conditioner system - ¶[0001]).
Regarding claim 2/14, Cui discloses the limitations of claim 1/13, and Cui further discloses the plurality of mounting features (see elements 411, 431, 441, 423 of bracket 4) comprises a first set of mounting features (411) on a first side of the vapor cycle system and a second set (431,441,423) of mounting features on a second side of the vapor cycle system, wherein the second side is a different side than the first side.
Regarding claim 3, Cui discloses the limitations of claim 2, and Cui further discloses the condenser is configured to be mounted to the vehicle by one of the first or second set of mounting features (see elements 431, 441, 423 of bracket 4)
Regarding claim 5/17, Cui discloses the limitations of claim 1/13, and Cui further discloses the condenser unit (Fig. 3-6) defines an x- axis, a y- axis, and a z-axis, wherein a positive y-direction is defined away from a source of gravity, wherein the outlet of the condenser is located substantially at the origin of each of the x- axis, the y- axis, and the z-axis, and wherein the plurality of mounting positions include all positions of the condenser unit as the condenser unit pivots at least up to 90 degrees around any of the x- axis, the y- axis, and the z-axis.
Regarding claim 10, Cui discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Cui further discloses the plurality of mounting features comprises one or more elongated bars (see elements 411, 431, 441, 423 of bracket 4) and a bolt hole (bolts - ¶[0028]) through the elongated bar, wherein the elongated bar is further configured to stabilize a rigid frame of the condenser unit.
Regarding claim 11, Cui discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Cui further discloses the condenser unit further comprises a rigid frame (41) configured to stabilize the condenser unit, wherein the rigid frame comprises one or more pipes defining one or more diameters, and wherein the plurality of mounting features comprises one or more bolt holes through a diameter of the one or more diameters defined by the one or more pipes of the rigid frame.
Regarding claim 21/23, Cui discloses the limitations of claim 1/14, and Cui further discloses the one or more first mounting features (as defined above) of the first set of mounting features and one or more second mounting features of the second set of mounting features are asymmetric across a plane bisecting the condenser unit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui (CN104385879A) in view of Park (KR102050989B1).
Regarding claims 4/16, Li teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Cui further teaches wherein the condenser unit defines a side profile, wherein each mounting feature of the plurality of mounting features, when projected onto a plane parallel to the side profile, defines a corner of a polygon on the plane (3 would project such a polygonal side profile), and Cui does not teach wherein a projection of a center of gravity of the condenser unit on the plane is located on the plane within an area of the polygon.
Park teaches (see Fig. 7) wherein a projection of a center of gravity (CG) of the condenser unit on the plane is located on the plane within an area of the polygon, in order to prevent excessive vibrations (Page 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li to design for a preferred center of gravity, in order to prevent excessive vibrations (Page 2).
Claim(s) 7-8, 12, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui (CN104385879A) in view of Walker (US5046327A).
Regarding claim 7/19,Cui teaches the limitations of claim 1/13, and Cui further teaches the condenser unit further comprises: a compressor configured to pressurize a fluid in the vapor cycle system to provide the pressurized gas to the condenser; and a condenser fan configured to cool the fluid passing through the condenser, wherein at least one of the plurality of mounting features (as defined above) is adjacent each of the condenser fan (2), and the condenser (3). Li is silent to the mounting features being adjacent the compressor.
Walker teaches (Fig. 1-7) the mounting features (129) being adjacent the compressor (50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li to include the compressor mounted adjacent the mounting features of Walker, in order to provide an attractive and space minimizing manner in which to mount the condenser to a vehicle (Col. 3, lines 35-50).
Regarding claim 8/20, Cui teaches the limitations of claim 7/19, and Cui further teaches the condenser unit further comprises a rigid frame (4) configured to stabilize the condenser unit, and wherein the plurality of mounting features (as defined above) comprises one or more mounting features incorporated into an attachment feature (bolts ¶[0028]) that attaches the rigid frame to the condenser.
Regarding claim 12, Cui teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Cui is silent to an evaporator in fluid communication with the condenser unit, and in fluid communication with a thermal load, wherein the evaporator is configured to cool the thermal load through energy transfer from the thermal load to a fluid in the vapor cycle system.
Walker teaches an evaporator in fluid communication with the condenser unit, and in fluid communication with a thermal load, wherein the evaporator is configured to cool the thermal load through energy transfer from the thermal load to a fluid in the vapor cycle system (see “evaporator” - abstract & 310; Fig. 3-4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cui to include the indoor evaporator of Walker, in order to provide cooling to the vehicle’s interior (Col. 2, lines 20-30).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui (CN104385879A) in view of Walker (US5046327A) and Kato (US6240738A).
Regarding claim 9, Cui teaches the limitations of claim 7, and Cui does not teach the condenser unit further comprises a surge valve in fluid communication with the compressor, wherein an orientation of the surge valve is aligned with an orientation of the condenser.
Kato teaches (see Fig. 1) the condenser unit (10) further comprises a surge valve (20) in fluid communication with the compressor, wherein an orientation of the surge valve is aligned with an orientation of the condenser (both are upright).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cui to include the surge valve of Kato, in order to safely reduce the pressure of the air conditioning system if impacted (Col. 3, lines 55-65).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui (CN104385879A) in view of Kato (US6240738A).
Regarding claim 22, Cui teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Cui does not teach the condenser unit further comprises a surge valve in fluid communication with the compressor, wherein an orientation of the surge valve is aligned with an orientation of the condenser.
Kato teaches (see Fig. 1) the condenser unit (10) further comprises a surge valve (20) in fluid communication with the compressor, wherein an orientation of the surge valve is aligned with an orientation of the condenser (both are upright).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cui to include the surge valve of Kato, in order to safely reduce the pressure of the air conditioning system if impacted (Col. 3, lines 55-65).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC S RUPPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763