DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to communications received on 06/18/2026.
Claims 1-2, 5-11, 13-33 are pending and rejected. Claims 3, 4 and 12 are cancelled. Claims 31-33 are new.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-2, 5-8, 11, 15, 17-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al (US 20200275298 A1) (hereinafter “Xu”) in view of 3GPP (TSG RAN WG1 #110bis-e, October 10-19, 2022) (hereinafter “3GPP”).
Regarding claim 1, Xu discloses a first network node for wireless communication (see Fig. 1 (110a)), comprising:
one or more memories (see Fig. 2 (242 Memory) para. [0015] discloses memory); and
one or more processors (see Fig. 2 (240 processor) para. [0015] discloses controller/processor coupled with memory),
coupled to the one or more memories (see Fig. 2 (242 Memory) para. [0015] discloses controller/processor coupled with memory),
configured to cause the first network node to:
transmit, to the first UE, the inter-UE (CLI) CLI measurement configuration (see para. [0009];[0014]-[0016] discloses base station transmitting to a first UE configuring resources for transmission of CLI SRS to a second UE, instructions to transmit one or more communications as the CLI-SRS).
Xu fails to disclose but 3GPP teaches determine an inter-user equipment (UE) cross-link interference (CLI) measurement configuration (see lines (185-186) discloses Step 2 of UE to UE CLI measurement and report, where the SRS configurations of the aggressor UE and the SRS measurement and report configurations of the victim UE are configured by the serving gNB), for a first UE, based at least in part on a sounding reference signal (SRS) configuration or an uplink reference signal configuration associated with a second UE (see lines (187-188) discloses Step 3 of UE to UE CLI measurement and report, aggressor UE transmits the SRS, and the victim UE receives the SRS according to the configurations in the step 2), the SRS configuration or the uplink reference signal configuration being received from a second network node serving the second UE (see lines (187-188) discloses Step 3 of UE to UE CLI measurement and report, aggressor UE transmits the SRS, and the victim UE receives the SRS according to the configurations in the step 2);
transmit the inter-UE CLI measurement configuration to the second network node (see lines 189-190) discloses step 4 of UE to UE CLI measurement and report, victim UE measures the SRS according to measurement configuration, then reports the measurement results to its serving gNB);
receive an inter-UE CLI report from the first UE (see Fig. 1 (UE-UE CLI), lines (74-75); (144-161) discloses UE0 (first UE) interfere with UE2, the victim should measure the interference from the aggressor; gNB to gNB CLI reporting, after measurement of CLI the information is reported to the aggressor gNB from the victim gNB); and
transmit the inter-UE CLI report to the second network node (see Fig. 1 (gNB CLI, UE-UE CLI), lines (144-161) disclose gNB to gNB CLI reporting, after measurement of CLI the information is reported to the aggressor gNB from the victim gNB).
Xu and 3GPP are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and CLI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu to include the CLI reporting described by 3GPP.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving signaling during cross-link interference mitigation.
Regarding claim 2, Xu discloses first network node of (see Fig. 1 (110a)), wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first network node to grant, to the first UE, resources associated with low inter-UE CLI (see para. [0009];[0014]-[0016];[0096] discloses base station transmitting to a first UE configuring resources for transmission of CLI SRS to a second UE, instructions to transmit one or more communications as the CLI-SRS;UE may be configured to measure and report one or more CLI-RS ).
Regarding claim 5, Xu discloses a first network node (see Fig. 1 (110a)), wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first network node to transmit, to the second network node (see Fig. 1 (110a-110d), Fig. 2, (240 processor), Fig. 7C (110b), para. [0015] discloses controller/processor coupled with memory).
Xu fails to disclose but 3GPP teaches causing the first network node to transmit, to the second network node, the inter-UE CLI report (see lines (176-201) discloses UE to UE CLI measurement and report, including the steps with SRS measurement and report until two gNBs exchange measurement reports. CLI based on CSI reports).
Xu and 3GPP are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and CLI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu to include the inter UE CLI reporting described by 3GPP.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving signaling during cross-link interference mitigation.
Regarding claim 6, Xu discloses a first network node (see Fig. 1 (110a)), wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first network node to transmit, to the second network node (see Fig. 1 (110a-110d), Fig. 2 (240 processor) para. [0015] discloses controller/processor coupled with memory).
Xu fails to disclose but 3GPP teaches are further configured to cause the first network node to transmit, to the second network node, the inter-UE CLI measurement configuration (see lines (176-201) discloses UE to UE CLI measurement and report, including the steps with SRS configuration of the aggressor UE, and SRS measurement and report configuration of the victim UE, , configured by the serving gNB. Measurement and report until two gNBs exchange measurement reports. CLI based on CSI reports).
Xu and 3GPP are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and CLI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu to include the inter UE CLI configuration described by 3GPP.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving signaling during cross-link interference mitigation.
Regarding claim 7, Xu discloses a first network node (see Fig. 1 (110a)), wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first network node to transmit, to the second network node (see Fig. 1 (110a-110d), Fig. 2 (240 processor) para. [0015] discloses controller/processor coupled with memory).
Xu fails to disclose but 3GPP teaches are further configured to cause the first network node to transmit, to the second network node, a mitigation policy (see lines (228-229) discloses power control can be used for mitigation of gNB-to-gNB CLI, using a mapping table between CLI measurement results and power control offset).
Xu and 3GPP are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and CLI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu to include the inter mitigation described by 3GPP.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving signaling during cross-link interference mitigation.
Regarding claim 8, Xu discloses a first network node (see Fig. 1 (110a)), wherein the mitigation policy identifies one or more of a power backoff (This part is optional), one or more transmit beams (This part is optional), one or more receive beams (This part is optional), a guard band (This part is optional), a timing adjustment (This part is optional), one or more aggressor UEs (see para. [0081] discloses techniques and apparatuses for measuring and reporting CLI, may be used for mitigation of CLI), a most interfering beam (This part is optional), or a least interfering beam (This part is optional).
Regarding claim 11, Xu discloses a first network node for wireless communication (see Fig. 1 (110a)), comprising:
one or more memories (see Fig. 2 (242 Memory) para. [0015] discloses memory); and
one or more processors (see Fig. 2 (240 processor) para. [0015] discloses controller/processor coupled with memory),
coupled to the one or more memories (see Fig. 2 (240 processor) para. [0015] discloses controller/processor coupled with memory),
Xu fails to disclose but 3GPP teaches configured to cause the first network node to:
transmit, to a first user equipment (UE), an uplink reference signal configuration (see lines (185-186) discloses SRS configuration of the aggressor UE and SRS measurement and report configuration of the victim UE are configured by the serving gNB);
transmit, to a second network node, the uplink reference signal configuration (see lines (182-183); (185-186) discloses configuration of SRS and other configuration information should be exchanged between serving gNB of the two UEs using Xn; SRS configuration of the aggressor UE and SRS measurement and report configuration of the victim UE are configured by the serving gNB);
receive, from the second network node, an inter-UE cross-link interference (CLI) configuration associated with a second UE (see lines (185-186) discloses Step 2 of UE to UE CLI measurement and report, where the SRS configurations of the aggressor UE and the SRS measurement and report configurations of the victim UE are configured by the serving gNB), the inter-UE CLI configuration being determined based at least in part on the uplink reference signal configuration (see lines (187-188) discloses Step 3 of UE to UE CLI measurement and report, aggressor UE transmits the SRS, and the victim UE receives the SRS according to the configurations in the step 2);
receive an uplink reference signal measurement report from the first UE (see lines (189-190) discloses aggressor UE transmits SRS); and transmit the uplink reference signal measurement report to the second network node (see lines (189-190) discloses the victim measures SRS and reports measurement results to serving gNB; the two serving gNBs exchange the measurements results).
Xu and 3GPP are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and CLI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu to include the reference signal as described by 3GPP.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving signaling during cross-link interference mitigation.
Regarding claim 15, Xu discloses a first network node (see Fig. 1 (110a)), wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first network node to transmit, to the second network node, (see Fig. 1 (110a-110d), Fig. 2 (240 processor) para. [0015] discloses controller/processor coupled with memory).
Xu fails to disclose but 3GPP teaches are further configured to cause the first network node to transmit, to the second network node, a mitigation policy, wherein the mitigation policy identifies one or more of a power backoff (see lines (228-230); (246-248) discloses power control to mitigate gNB-gNB CLI, mapping table between measurement results and power control offsets), one or more transmit beams (This part is optional), one or more receive beams (This part is optional), a guard band (This part is optional), a timing adjustment (This part is optional), one or more aggressor UEs (This part is optional), a most interfering beam (This part is optional), or a least interfering beam (This part is optional).
Xu and 3GPP are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and CLI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu to include the mitigation policy with power control as described by 3GPP.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving signaling during cross-link interference mitigation.
Regarding claim 17, Xu discloses a first network node for wireless communication (see Fig. 1 (110a)), comprising:
one or more memories (see Fig. 2 (242 memory) para. [0015] discloses memory); and
one or more processors (see Fig. 2 (240 processor) para. [0015] discloses controller/processor coupled with memory), coupled to the one or more memories (see Fig. 2 (242 Memory) para. [0015] discloses controller/processor coupled with memory).
Xu fails to disclose but 3GPP teaches configured to cause the first network node to:
transmit an inter-gNB cross-link interference (CLI) measurement configuration to a second network node (see Fig. 1 (gNB-gNB CLI), lines (144-161) disclose gNB to gNB CLI reporting, after measurement of CLI the information is reported to the aggressor gNB from the victim gNB);
receive an inter-gNB CLI report from the second network node (see Fig. 1 (gNB-gNB CLI), lines (144-161) disclose gNB to gNB CLI reporting, after measurement of CLI the information is reported to the aggressor gNB from the victim gNB),
wherein the inter- gNB CLI report is determined based at least in part on the inter-gNB CLI measurement configuration (see lines (152-154) discloses gNB to gNB CLI reporting, report can be event triggered or can be periodic); and
mitigate inter-gNB CLI between the first network node and the second network node based at least in part on the inter-gNB CLI report (see lines (217-221) discloses techniques for decrease interference to the victim gNB, such as power control, by reducing power on aggressor gNB).
Xu and 3GPP are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and CLI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu to include the CLI reporting and mitigation described by 3GPP.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving signaling during cross-link interference mitigation.
Regarding claim 18, Xu discloses a first network node (see Fig. 1 (110a)), with one or more processors (see Fig. 2 (240 processor) para. [0015] discloses controller/processor coupled with memory).
Xu fails to disclose but 3GPP teaches causing the first network node to mitigate the inter-gNB CLI, are configured to cause the first network node to reduce a transmission power (see lines (217-221) discloses techniques for decrease interference to the victim gNB, such as power control, by reducing power on aggressor gNB).
Xu and 3GPP are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and CLI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu to include power reduction as described by 3GPP.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving signaling during cross-link interference mitigation.
Regarding claim 19, Xu discloses a first network node (see Fig. 1 (110a)), with one or more processors (see Fig. 2 (240 processor) para. [0015] discloses controller/processor coupled with memory).
Xu fails to disclose but 3GPP teaches are further configured to cause the first network node to transmit the inter-gNB CLI report to a third network node (see lines (236-237) discloses the mechanism for CSI-RS for interference measurement can be extended to multiple aggressor gNBs case).
Xu and 3GPP are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and CLI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu to include CLI report for another node as described by 3GPP.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving signaling during cross-link interference mitigation.
Regarding claim 20, Xu discloses a first network node of (see Fig. 1 (110a)), wherein the inter-gNB CLI configuration includes one or more of a measurement configuration identifier (This part is optional), one or more CLI measurement resources (see para. [0093] discloses BS may transmit configuration of resources, instructions to receive a cross link interference and resources to report the measurement), a CLI measurement trigger (This part is optional), a CLI measurement periodicity (This part is optional), a CLI measurement window (This part is optional), a CLI measurement type (This part is optional), a CLI reporting trigger (This part is optional), an indication for measuring one or more of leakage or direct interference (This part is optional), an indication for filtering the CLI measurement (This part is optional), or an indication for instantaneous CLI measurement (This part is optional).
Regarding claim 21, Xu discloses a first network node (see Fig. 1 (110a)), with one or more processors (see Fig. 2 (240 processor) para. [0015] discloses controller/processor coupled with memory).
Xu fails to disclose but 3GPP teaches are further configured to cause the first network node to measure a CLI periodically (see lines (152-156) ;(234-235) discloses CLI report can be event triggered or periodic; measurement can be periodic) or upon a triggering event (see lines (152-156); (160-161) discloses CLI report can be event triggered or periodic).
Xu and 3GPP are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and CLI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu to include the periodic CLI report or event triggered as described by 3GPP.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving signaling during cross-link interference mitigation.
Regarding claim 22, Xu discloses a first network (see Fig. 1 (110a)).
Xu fails to disclose but 3GPP teaches wherein the inter-gNB CLI report includes one or more inter-gNB CLI measurements (see lines (144-148) discloses gNB to gNB reporting, after measurement of CLI. CLI should be report to the aggressor gNB from the victim gNB includes CLI-RSSI or RSRP).
Xu and 3GPP are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and CLI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu to include the CLI measurement as described by 3GPP.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving signaling during cross-link interference mitigation.
Regarding claim 23, Xu discloses a first network node (see Fig. 1 (110a)).
Xu fails to disclose but 3GPP teaches wherein the inter-gNB CLI report includes one or more of a measurement configuration identifier (see lines (157-159) discloses to identify the CLI report, CLI information includes physical cell ID, and CSI-RS/CSI-IM (interference measurement) ID), one or more network node identifiers (see lines (157-159) discloses to identify the CLI report, CLI information includes physical cell ID, and CSI-RS/CSI-IM (interference measurement) ID), one or more beam identifiers (This part is optional), one or more sub-band identifiers (This part is optional), an indication of a most aggressor sub-band (This part is optional), an indication of a least aggressor sub-band (This part is optional), an indication of a most aggressor network node (This part is optional), an indication of a least aggressor network node (This part is optional), an indication of a most interfering beam (This part is optional), an indication of a least interfering beam (This part is optional), an indication that a CLI measured is caused by leakage (This part is optional), an indication that the CLI measured is caused by direct interference (This part is optional), or an indication of a CLI report type (This part is optional).
Xu and 3GPP are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and CLI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu to include the periodic CLI report as described by 3GPP.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving signaling during cross-link interference mitigation.
Regarding claim 24, Xu discloses a first network node (see Fig. 1 (110a)), with one or more processors (see Fig. 2 (240 processor) para. [0015] discloses controller/processor coupled with memory).
Xu fails to disclose but 3GPP teaches are further configured to cause the first network node to transmit the inter-gNB CLI report periodically (see lines (152-156); (234-235) discloses CLI report can be event triggered or periodic; measurement can be periodic) or upon a triggering event (see lines (152-156); (160-161) discloses CLI report can be event triggered or periodic).
Xu and 3GPP are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and CLI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu to include the CLI reporting described by 3GPP.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving signaling during cross-link interference mitigation.
Regarding claim 25, Xu discloses a first network node (see Fig. 1 (110a)), wherein the first network node is one of a central unit (CU) or a distributed unit (DU) (see Fig. 6 (CU, DU), para. [0074];[0078] discloses base station may include CU; Distributed unit (DU)).
Regarding claim 26, xu discloses a first network node (see Fig. 1 (110a)), wherein the second network node is one of a central unit (CU) or a distributed unit (DU) (see Fig. 6 (CU, DU), para. [0074];[0076];[0078] discloses base station may include CU; Physical architecture of distributed RAN; Distributed unit (DU)).
Regarding claim 27, Xu discloses a first network node (see Fig. 1 (110a)) for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memories (see Fig. 2 (242 memory) para. [0015] discloses memory); and
one or more processors (see Fig. 2 (240 processor) para. [0015] discloses controller/processor coupled with memory), coupled to the one or more memories (see Fig. 2 (242 Memory) para. [0015] discloses controller/processor coupled with memory).
Xu fails to disclose but 3GPP teaches configured to cause the first network node to:
transmit a reference signal measurement configuration request to a second network node (see lines (77-80) discloses CSI RS can be reused as CLI, the configuration with other configuration information exchanged between gNBs);
receive, in response to the reference signal measurement configuration request (see lines (115-116) discloses the configuration of the CSI-RS together with other configuration information should be exchanged between aggressor gNBs and victim gNB, by Xn interface), a reference signal measurement configuration response (see lines (115-116);(123-125) discloses the configuration of the CSI-RS together with other configuration information should be exchanged between aggressor gNBs and victim gNB, by Xn interface; the victim should record the CLI and report to the aggressor gNB by the Xn interface), the reference signal measurement configuration response including a reference signal measurement configuration for the second network node (see lines (77-80) discloses CSI RS can be reused as CLI, the configuration with other configuration information exchanged between gNBs);
measure a channel using the reference signal measurement configuration response (see lines (163-164) discloses gNB to gNB CLI measurement and reporting CLI-RSSI and CLI-RSRP are needed); and
transmit a channel measurement report to the second network node (see lines (77-80) discloses CSI RS can be reused as CLI, the configuration with other configuration information exchanged between gNBs), wherein the channel measurement report includes information corresponding to a channel measurement methodology (see lines (123-125) discloses once it is larger than the threshold, the victim should record the CLI and report to the aggressor gNB).
Xu and 3GPP are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and CLI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu to include the reference signal measurement and response described by 3GPP.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving signaling during cross-link interference mitigation.
Regarding claim 28, Xu discloses a first network node (see Fig. 1 (110a)).
Xu fails to disclose but 3GPP teaches, wherein the reference signal measurement configuration request includes one or more of a transaction identifier (This part is optional), a reference signal configuration identifier (see lines (114-119);(157-159) discloses procedure of CLI using CSI-RS with configuration of CSI-RS exchanged and CSI-RS with unique resource ID; to identify the CLI report , the information should include physical cell ID and corresponding CSI-RS/ CSI-IM ID, then report this information to correct cells), a request to transmit the reference signal measurement configuration periodically (This part is optional), or a request to transmit a reference signal upon an event trigger (This part is optional).
Xu and 3GPP are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and CLI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu to include the RS (reference signal) identifier as described by 3GPP.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving signaling during cross-link interference mitigation.
Regarding claim 29, Xu discloses a first network node (see Fig. 1 (110a)), wherein the reference signal measurement configuration response includes one or more of a transaction identifier (This part is optional) or one or more requested reference signal details (see para. [0081] discloses UE may measure CLI-RS and provide feedback or measurement report so that one or more parameters may be adjusted to reduce or eliminate CLI).
Regarding claim 30, Xu discloses a first network node (see Fig. 1 (110a)), wherein the channel measurement report includes one or more of a channel estimate (see para. [0007] discloses UE may measure metrics related to the configured resources and may transmit a report of the measurement metric to the base station, the metric may be RSRP or RSSI), a channel measurement (see para. [0007] discloses UE may measure metrics related to the configured resources and may transmit a report of the measurement metric to the base station, the metric may be RSRP or RSSI), a channel interference (see para. [0081] discloses techniques and apparatuses for measuring and reporting CLI, may be used for mitigation of CLI), or a covariance matrix (This part is optional),
Regarding claim 31, Xu discloses a first network node (see Fig. 1 (110a)), with one or more processors (see Fig. 2 (240 processor) para. [0015] discloses controller/processor coupled with memory).
Xu fails to disclose but 3GPP teaches are further configured to cause the first network node to receive, from the second network node, a mitigation policy (see lines (218-230) discloses aggressor gNB can use several techniques based on CLI reporting from victim gNBs in order to decrease interference to the victim gNB. The power control can be used for mitigate the gNB-gNB CLI, a mapping table between CLI measurements results and the power control offset can be introduced for the power control).
Xu and 3GPP are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and CLI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu to include the mitigation described by 3GPP.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving signaling during cross-link interference mitigation.
Regarding claim 32, Xu discloses a first network node (see Fig. 1 (110a)).
Xu fails to disclose but 3GPP teaches, wherein the mitigation policy identifies one or more of a power backoff (see lines (218-230) discloses aggressor gNB can use several techniques based on CLI reporting from victim gNBs in order to decrease interference to the victim gNB. The power control can be used for mitigate the gNB-gNB CLI, a mapping table between CLI measurements results and the power control offset can be introduced for the power control)., one or more transmit beams, one or more receive beams, a guard band, a timing adjustment, one or more aggressor UEs, a most interfering beam, or a least interfering beam.
Xu and 3GPP are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and CLI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu to include the mitigation described by 3GPP.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving signaling during cross-link interference mitigation.
Regarding claim 33, Xu discloses a first network node (see Fig. 1 (110a)), wherein the inter-UE CLI configuration is transmitted via one or more of Layer 1/Layer 2 (L1/L2) signaling (This part is optional) or Layer 3 (L3) signaling (see para. [0090] discloses parameters associated with CLI-RS may be configured by control signaling (RCC signaling, this is layer 3)).
Claims 9, 10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al (US 20200275298 A1) (hereinafter “Xu”) in view of 3GPP (TSG RAN WG1 #110bis-e, October 10-19, 2022) (hereinafter “3GPP”) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Bai et al (US 20230328563 A1) (hereinafter “Bai”).
Regarding claim 9, Xu discloses a first network node (see Fig. 1 (110a)), with one or more processors (see Fig. 2 (240 processor) para. [0015] discloses controller/processor coupled with memory).
Xu fails to disclose but Bai teaches are further configured to cause the first network node to transmit, to a central unit (CU), an indication that the first UE has been configured with the inter-UE CLI configuration (see para. [0111] discloses CLI reporting techniques transmitted via Layer 3 (L3) signaling, the CLI reports received may be collected by a gNB-CU).
Xu and Bai are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and CLI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu to include the gNB CU as described by Bai.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving signaling during cross-link interference mitigation.
Regarding claim 10, Xu discloses a first network node (see Fig. 1 (110a)).
Xu fails to disclose but Bai teaches wherein the inter-UE CLI measurement configuration is transmitted via one or more of Layer 1/Layer 2 (L1/L2) signaling or Layer 3 (L3) signaling (see para. [0111] discloses CLI reporting techniques transmitted via Layer 3 (L3) signaling, the CLI reports received may be collected by a gNB-CU).
Xu and Bai are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and CLI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu to include the CLI reporting on Layer 3 described by Bai.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving signaling during cross-link interference mitigation.
Regarding claim 14, Xu discloses a first network node (see Fig. 1 (110a)), with one or more processors (see Fig. 2 (240 processor) para. [0015] discloses controller/processor coupled with memory).
Xu fails to disclose but 3GPPP teaches are further configured to cause the first network node to configure the first UE to reduce a transmit power (see para. [0108] discloses UE measure CLI and transmit CLI report to network entity. The network entity uses the CLI report from UE to mitigate CLI, by reducing transmit power of the second UE).
Xu and Bai are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and CLI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu to include the reduction of transmit power described by Bai.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving signaling during cross-link interference mitigation.
Claims 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al (US 20200275298 A1) (hereinafter “Xu”) in view of 3GPP (TSG RAN WG1 #110bis-e, October 10-19, 2022) (hereinafter “3GPP”) as applied to claim 11 above and further in view of Abedini et al (US 20220086672 A1) (hereinafter “Abedini”).
Regarding claim 13, Xu discloses a first network node (see Fig. 1 (110a)), with one or more processors (see Fig. 2 (240 processor) para. [0015] discloses controller/processor coupled with memory).
Xu fails to disclose but Abedini teaches are further configured to cause the first network node to receive an inter-UE CLI report from the second network node, the inter-UE CLI report being associated with the second UE (see Fig. 7 (720, 740,745), para. [0032];[0099];[0103] discloses inter DU CLI; reception of UL communication from a UE (745), overlaps DL communication (740)).
Xu and Abedini are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and uplink transmission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu to include the CLI for the second node as described by Abedini.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving signaling during cross-link interference mitigation.
Regarding claim 16, Xu discloses a first network node (see Fig. 1 (110a)), with one or more processors (see Fig. 2 (240 processor) para. [0015] discloses controller/processor coupled with memory).
Xu fails to disclose but Abedini teaches are further configured to cause the first network node to receive, from a distributed unit (DU), an indication that the first UE has been configured with an inter-UE CLI configuration (see Fig. 7 (720, 740,745), para. [0032];[0099];[0103] discloses inter DU CLI; reception of UL communication from a UE (745), overlaps DL communication (740)).
Xu and Abedini are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and CLI.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu to include the distribute unit and CLI as described by Abedini.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving signaling during cross-link interference mitigation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 06/18/2026, page 11, regarding Notice of References Cited, have been considered by Examiner. The references have been added to the PTO-892.
Applicant's arguments filed 06/18/2026, pages 12-13, regarding rejection of claims 1, 2, 5-8, 11, 15 and 17-30, under 35 U.S.C. 103 based on Xu and 3GGPP, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the cited references do not disclose "determine an inter-UE cross-link interference (CLI) measurement configuration, for a first user equipment (UE), based at least in part on a sounding reference signal (SRS) configuration or an uplink reference signal configuration associated with a second UE, the SRS configuration or the uplink reference signal configuration being received from a second network node serving the second UE " as recited in amended claim1. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner interprets the claim in light of the specification and during examination the claims are given the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI). Based on BRI, Fig.1 (UE0, UE2, UE-UE CLI) and para. 3. UE to UE CLI measurement and report (lines 176-216) of 3GGP teaches or suggest configuration for SRS measurement for CLI, between two UEs, based on SRS, and the exchange of results between gNBs.
Applicants argues that the portion recited on amended claim 11 "receive, from the second network node, an inter-UE cross-link interference (CLI) configuration associated with a second UE, the inter-UE CLI configuration being determined based at least in part on the uplink reference signal configuration,", is not shown in the Office Action. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Based on BRI, Fig.1 (UE0, UE2, UE-UE CLI) and para. 2.1 gNB to gNB CLI reporting (lines 73-143) of 3GPP teaches or suggest CLI information exchange between gNBs by Xn interface, for measurement and reporting of CLI.
Applicant argues that the portion recited on amended claim 17 "receive an inter-gNB CLI report from the second network node, wherein the inter-gNB CLI report is determined based at least in part on the inter-gNB CLI measurement configuration" and "mitigate inter-gNB CLI between the first network node and the second network node based at least in part on the inter-gNB CLI report " is not shown in the Office Action. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Based on BRI, 3GPP teaches CLI reporting between gNBs (see Fig. 1 (gNB-gNB CLI), lines (144-161) disclose gNB to gNB CLI reporting, after measurement of CLI the information is reported to the aggressor gNB from the victim gNB) and a mitigation by reducing power (see lines (217-221) discloses techniques for decrease interference to the victim gNB, such as power control, by reducing power on aggressor gNB).
Applicant argues that the portion recited on amended claim 27 "transmit a channel measurement report to the second network node, wherein the channel measurement report includes information corresponding to a channel measurement methodology" is not shown in the Office Action. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Based on BRI, 3GPP teaches exchange of CSI RS report (see lines (163-164) discloses gNB to gNB CLI measurement and reporting CLI-RSSI and CLI-RSRP are needed) and a methodology for record and report based on a threshold (see lines (123-125) discloses Once the it is larger than the threshold, the victim should record the CLI and report to the aggressor gNB).
Applicant's arguments filed 06/18/2026, pages 13, regarding rejection of dependent claims have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, for the reasons set forth above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LUIS GUILLERMO LEMA LEMOS/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419