DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 15, 17, and 21-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakhnini et al. (US 2023/0421324 A1) in view of Li et al. (US 2025/0062809 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sakhnini discloses a method performed by a terminal (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving first information on a first resource set and second information on a second resource set (paragraph [0061]; [0145]-[0151]; [0158]-[0159]; [0161]-[0163]; [0133]; [0136]; [0150]; [0254]-[0258]; and etc., explaining receiving plurality of information on resource set); performing measurements on reference signal resources associated with the first resource set, the reference signal resources associated with the first resource set including channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) resources or synchronization signal block (SSB) resources (paragraph [0056]; [0065]-[0066]; [0089]; [0103]; [0150]; [0160]; [0180]-[0181]; [0250]; [0275]; [0300]; and so on, illustrating measurement for reference signal resources related to the received information comprising CSI-RS or SSB); transmitting a channel state information (CSI) report (paragraph [0143]-[0144]; [0146]-[0147]; [0151]; and etc., describing the transmission of CSI report).
Sakhnini does not disclose performing beam prediction based on the measurements; wherein the CSI report includes at least one predicted CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) or at least one predicted SSB resource indicator (SSBRI), and wherein an order of the at least one predicted CRI or the at least one predicted SSBRI in the CSI report is based on rank of the beam prediction.
Li teaches performing beam prediction based on the measurements (paragraph [0007]-[0010]; [0060]; [0062]; [0065]; [0069]-[0070]; [0075]-[0085]; [0087]-[0088]; and so on); wherein the CSI report includes at least one predicted CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) or at least one predicted SSB resource indicator (SSBRI) (paragraph [0067]; [0074]; [0078]-[0079]; [0081]; [0083]-[0084]; [0085]-[0087]; [0090]; [0101]-[0106]; and etc.), and wherein an order of the at least one predicted CRI or the at least one predicted SSBRI in the CSI report is based on rank of the beam prediction (paragraph [0075]; [0098]; [0109]; [0148]; [0154]; [0159]; [0176]; [0182]; [0187]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use performing beam prediction based on the measurements; wherein the CSI report includes at least one predicted CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) or at least one predicted SSB resource indicator (SSBRI), and wherein an order of the at least one predicted CRI or the at least one predicted SSBRI in the CSI report is based on rank of the beam prediction as taught by Li into Sakhnini in order to improve seamless switch of beams and to increase communication speed.
Regarding claim 17, Sakhnini discloses a method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: transmitting, to a terminal, first information on a first resource set and second information on a second resource set (paragraph [0061]; [0145]-[0151]; [0158]-[0159]; [0161]-[0163]; [0133]; [0136]; [0150]; [0254]-[0258]; and etc.), wherein reference signal resources associated with the first resource set include channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) resources or synchronization signal block (SSB) resources (paragraph [0056]; [0065]-[0066]; [0089]; [0103]; [0150]; [0160]; [0180]-[0181]; [0250]; [0275]; [0300]; and so on); and receiving, from the terminal, a channel state information (CSI) report (paragraph [0143]-[0144]; [0146]-[0147]; [0151]; and etc.)
Sakhnini does not disclose the reference signal resources are used for measurements for beam prediction of the terminal, wherein the CSI report includes at least one predicted CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) or at least one predicted SSB resource indicator (SSBRI), and wherein an order of the at least one predicted CRI or the at least one predicted SSBRI in the CSI report is based on rank of the beam prediction.
Li teaches the reference signal resources are used for measurements for beam prediction of the terminal (paragraph [0007]-[0010]; [0060]; [0062]; [0065]; [0069]-[0070]; [0075]-[0085]; [0087]-[0088]; and so on), wherein the CSI report includes at least one predicted CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) or at least one predicted SSB resource indicator (SSBRI) (paragraph [0067]; [0074]; [0078]-[0079]; [0081]; [0083]-[0084]; [0085]-[0087]; [0090]; [0101]-[0106]; and etc.), and wherein an order of the at least one predicted CRI or the at least one predicted SSBRI in the CSI report is based on rank of the beam prediction (paragraph [0075]; [0098]; [0109]; [0148]; [0154]; [0159]; [0176]; [0182]; [0187]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the reference signal resources are used for measurements for beam prediction of the terminal, wherein the CSI report includes at least one predicted CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) or at least one predicted SSB resource indicator (SSBRI), and wherein an order of the at least one predicted CRI or the at least one predicted SSBRI in the CSI report is based on rank of the beam prediction as taught by Li into Sakhnini in order to improve seamless switch of beams and to increase communication speed.
Regrading claim 24, the claim includes features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 1. The claim is a mere reformulation of claim 1 in order to define the corresponding terminal in a wireless communication system, and the rejection to claim 1 is applied hereto.
Regrading claim 27, the claim includes features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 17. The claim is a mere reformulation of claim 17 in order to define the corresponding base station in a wireless communication system, and the rejection to claim 17 is applied hereto.
Regarding claim 4, Sakhnini discloses wherein the CSI report is associated with at least one of the first resource set or the second resource set (paragraph [0145]-[0147]; [0151]).
Regarding claim 5, as applied above, Sakhnini further discloses comprising: receiving information and CSI report. However, the receiving information is on a number of predicted CRIs or predicted SSBRIs to be reported in the CSI report.
Li discloses the receiving information is on a number of predicted CRIs or predicted SSBRIs to be reported in the CSI report (paragraph [0067]; [0074]; [0079]; [0101]; [0147]; [0162]; [0175]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the receiving information is on a number of predicted CRIs or predicted SSBRIs to be reported in the CSI report as taught by Li into Sakhnini in order to improve seamless switch of beams and to increase communication speed.
Regarding claim 15, Sakhnini discloses wherein performing measurements on reference signal resources associated with the first resource set comprises measuring layer 1-reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) on reference signal transmission occasions associated with the reference signal resources, and where the CSI report further includes predicted L1-RSRP values (paragraph [0134]-[0137]; [0146]; [0149]; [0153]; [0214]; and etc.).
Regarding claim 21-23, 25, Sakhnini discloses beam IDs. Sakhnini does not disclose wherein a first predicted CRI of predicted CRIs or a first predicted SSBRI of predicted SSBRIs is associated with a best beam of the beam prediction, transmitting, to the terminal, information on a number of predicted CRIs or predicted SSBRIs to be reported in the CSI report, wherein the CSI report further includes predicted layer 1-reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) values.
Li teaches wherein a first predicted CRI of predicted CRIs or a first predicted SSBRI of predicted SSBRIs is associated with a best beam of the beam prediction, transmitting, to the terminal, information on a number of predicted CRIs or predicted SSBRIs to be reported in the CSI report (paragraph [0066]-[0070]; [0073]-[0087]; [0090]-[0093]; [0101]-[0104]; [0148]-[0154]; [0176]-[0182]; and so on), wherein the CSI report further includes predicted layer 1-reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) values (paragraph [0067]; [0074]; [0077]-[0083]; [0085]-[0088]; [0090]-[0096]; [0101]-[0109]; and etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use wherein a first predicted CRI of predicted CRIs or a first predicted SSBRI of predicted SSBRIs is associated with a best beam of the beam prediction, transmitting, to the terminal, information on a number of predicted CRIs or predicted SSBRIs to be reported in the CSI report, wherein the CSI report further includes predicted layer 1-reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) values as taught by Li into Sakhnini in order to improve quality of service and to increase communication speed.
Regarding claim 26, Sakhnini discloses wherein, for performing measurements on the reference signal resources associated with the first resource set, the processor is configured to measure layer 1-reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) on reference signal transmission occasions associated with the reference signal resources, wherein the CSI report further includes predicted L1-RSRP values (paragraph [0134]-[0137]; [0146]; [0149]; [0153]; [0214]; and etc.).
Sakhnini does not explicitly disclose wherein information on a number of predicted CRIs or predicted SSBRIs to be reported in the CSI report is received from a base station.
Li teaches wherein information on a number of predicted CRIs or predicted SSBRIs to be reported in the CSI report is received from a base station (paragraph [0066]-[0070]; [0073]-[0087]; [0090]-[0093]; [0101]-[0104]; [0148]-[0154]; [0176]-[0182]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use wherein information on a number of predicted CRIs or predicted SSBRIs to be reported in the CSI report is received from a base station as taught by Li into Sakhnini in order to improve quality of service and to increase communication speed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIBROM T HAILU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461