DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arba Mosquera (US 20220133540).
Regarding claim 1, Arba Mosquera discloses a method for providing control data for an ophthalmological laser 12 of a treatment apparatus for avoiding optical aberrations (Fig. 1, section 0034, abstract, An optimized tissue removal geometry is determined from the ascertained subgroup and control data for controlling the eye surgical laser, which uses the optimized tissue removal geometry for separating the tissue), wherein the method comprises the following steps performed by a control device: ascertaining first aberration values from a predetermined wavefront measurement of an eye, which has a first extension, wherein a first refractive power error is determined from the first aberration values; ascertaining second aberration values from a subset of the predetermined wavefront measurement, which has a second extension , wherein the second extension is smaller than the first extension , wherein a second refractive power error is determined from the second aberration values (section 0003, In order to avoid these aberrations and also to correct existing aberrations of the eye, it is known to include wavefront measurements of the eye in planning the treatment. In particular, a wavefront from a wavefront analysis can be decomposed into Zernike polynomials of multiple orders, wherein each of the Zernike polynomials can describe a refraction or aberration effect of the eye. In other words, Zernike polynomials can be used to represent wavefronts, which in turn describe imaging errors of optical systems); ascertaining a difference between the first and the second refractive power error (Section 0038, In order to achieve this, an optimization calculation can be performed, in which one or more Zernike polynomials are selected for the subgroup if they satisfy a preset optimization condition, wherein the optimization condition can be preset by the maximized target corneal geometry and the imaging correction to be achieved. In particular, the target corneal geometry can be determined from a difference of an original corneal geometry and the tissue removal geometry, which can be ascertained by the combination of the selection of the Zernike polynomials); ascertaining an aberration-corrected refractive power change by subtracting the ascertained difference of refractive power errors from a predetermined subjective refractive power correction, which is predetermined from a glasses correction measurement (section 0034, the tissue 14 can represent a lenticule or also volume body, which can be separated from a cornea of the eye 16 for correcting a visual disorder by the eye surgical laser); providing the control data for the ophthalmological laser , which includes the aberration-corrected refractive power change (Section 0037, fig. 2, providing control data for the eye surgical laser 12 of the treatment apparatus 10 for the removal of the tissue).
Regarding claim 5, Arba Mosquera discloses only low order aberrations are determined for the first and second aberration values (Section 0011, Preferably, it is provided for the refractive correction that Zernike polynomials up to second order are preset. This means that Zernike polynomials of the zeroth, first and second order, which describe the refractive correction, are fixedly associated with the subgroup).
Regarding claim 6, Arba Mosquera discloses wherein higher order aberrations from the subjective refractive power correction are compensated for by the aberration-corrected refractive power change (section 0011, This means that Zernike polynomials of the zeroth, first and second order, which describe the refractive correction, are fixedly associated with the subgroup. By this form of configuration, the advantage arises that a refraction can be safely corrected in the treatment of the eye and the target corneal geometry can be maximized by the remaining Zernike polynomials at the same time).
Regarding claim 7, Arba Mosquera discloses the first and second aberration values are ascertained from the wavefront measurements by means of Zernike polynomials, in particular by means of low order Zernike polynomials (Section 0011-0012, This means that the aberration correction to be achieved is fixedly preset in this form of configuration in that the responsible Zernike polynomials are associated with the subgroup, wherein the Zernike polynomials responsible for the refractive correction can thus be examined for presence of the maximized target corneal geometry. Preferably, it is provided that Zernike polynomials from the third order are preset for the aberration correction.).
Regarding claim 8, Arba Mosquera discloses transferring the provided control data to a respective ophthalmological laser 12 of the treatment apparatus (Section 0001, providing control data for an eye surgical laser of a treatment apparatus for the removal of tissue).
Regarding claim 9, Arba Mosquera discloses a control device 18 (Abstract).
Regarding claim 10, Arba Mosquera discloses at least one ophthalmological laser 12 for the separation of a corneal volume 14 with predefined interfaces of a human or animal eye by means of optical breakthrough (abstract, abstract, section 0034, A geometry of the tissue to be removed, thus a tissue removal geometry, can be provided by a control device, in particular in the form of control data, such that the laser emits pulsed laser pulses in a pattern predefined by the control data into the cornea of the eye to remove the tissue), in particular by means of photodisruption and/or photoablation (Section 0002, pulsed lasers and a beam focusing device can for example be formed such that laser pulses effect a photodisruption and/or photoablation in a focus located within the organic tissue to remove a tissue, in particular a tissue lenticule, from the cornea), and at least one control device 18 (abstract, section 0034, A geometry of the tissue to be removed, thus a tissue removal geometry, can be provided by a control device, in particular in the form of control data, such that the laser emits pulsed laser pulses in a pattern predefined by the control data into the cornea of the eye to remove the tissue).
Regarding claim 12, Arba Mosquera discloses computer-readable medium, on which a computer program is stored (section 0001, 0006-0007, 0022, a treatment apparatus with at least one eye surgical laser and at least one control device for performing the method, to a computer program and to a computer-readable medium).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JON ERIC C MORALES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/J.C.M/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796