DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
No IDS has been filed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitation uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is:
“liquid blocking element” in claims 11-20, which reads on a non-absorbent element configured to cover the porous membrane and apply pressure to the porous membrane to reduce absorption capacity (see paragraph [0156]) and known functional equivalents
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(bas being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Independent claim 21 states that “according to the water absorption function of the water absorption area, the porous membrane is provided to contact with different kinds of liquids for many times, whereby completing the test of the analyte in the liquid sample”. The meaning and scope of this phrase is unclear. It is not clear what kind of absorption effect is being described and what level of performance is required. For example, the term “the porous membrane is provided to contact with different kinds of liquids many times” may be taken to mean that the device is intended for repeated use over an extended lifespan in which many different tests are performed. Alternatively, the term may be interpreted to mean that the device receives different liquids during a single test and that the apparatus is a single-use device that is disposed after testing.
Claims 22 and 23 are rejected as being dependent on claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lambert (WO 2006071247).
With respect to claims 1 and 21, Lambert discloses a device for testing an analyte in a liquid sample. The device includes a testing area (Figure 1:50) and a water absorption area (Figure 1:100) downstream from the testing area. A liquid sample (Figure 1:120) contacts the testing area and interacts with one or more first receptors (Figure 1:60, 80) immobilized on the testing area, wherein the receptors are capable of specifically binding to analytes (Figure 1:110) in the liquid sample. This is described in paragraph [0060]. The absorption area 100 is described as a wicking pad, and therefore functions to draw liquid away from the testing area via capillary forces.
With respect to claim 2, Lambert discloses the apparatus as described above. Lambert indicates that a plurality of different receptors (Figure 2:61, 62, 63) are immobilized onto the testing area to create an array. The receptors bind to different analytes (Figure 2:110A, 110B, 110C) in the liquid sample. This is taught in paragraph [0063].
With respect to claim 3, Lambert discloses the apparatus as described above. Lambert teaches that the testing area is located on a porous membrane (“test strip 10 with backing substrate 20 has a sample pad 30, conjugate pad 40, nitrocellulose membrane component 50”).
With respect to claim 4, Lambert discloses the apparatus as described above. Lambert indicates that the testing area 50 is formed on a nitrocellulose membrane that directly receives liquid sample from the sample pad and conjugate pad on a first end. Liquid flows through the nitrocellulose membrane to interact with the receptors, and is allowed to contact the absorption area at a second end of the nitrocellulose membrane.
With respect to claims 5-9, 22 and 23, Lambert discloses the apparatus as described above. The nature of the liquid added to the claimed device is not a structural feature of the device and does not further limit the claimed device. Rather, the liquid is added during a testing operation and therefore describes an intended use. Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114.
With respect to claim 10, Lambert discloses the apparatus as described above. The nitrocellulose membrane of Lambert is fully capable of contacting different kinds of liquids.
Claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schwind (WO 2005005991)1.
With respect to claims 1 and 21, Schwind discloses a device for testing an analyte in a liquid sample. The device includes a testing area (Figure 1:6) and a water absorption area (Figure 1:3) downstream from the testing area. A liquid sample contacts the testing area and interacts with one or more first receptors (Figure 1:I-VI) immobilized on the testing area, wherein the receptors are capable of specifically binding to analytes in the liquid sample (“identifying a number of analytes or the derivatives thereof in a liquid sample, consisting in the application of the sample to the charging zone (5) of a membrane (2) of the device…whereby this sample is present in an amount sufficient for causing the sample liquid to flow through the indicator zones toward the absorption area (3), and for causing the analytes or the derivatives thereof in the sample liquid to form a complex in the indicator zones”).
With respect to claim 2, Schwind discloses the apparatus as described above. Schwind indicates that a plurality of different receptors (Figure 1:I-VI) are immobilized onto the testing area to create an array. The receptors bind to different analytes in the liquid sample (“diagonally staggered point-shaped indicator zones 1-XI provided in defined X and Y positions, consisting of the following binding elements…”)
With respect to claim 3, Schwind discloses the apparatus as described above. Schwind teaches that the testing area is located on a porous membrane (Figure 2:2).
With respect to claim 4, Schwind discloses the apparatus as described above. Schwind indicates that the testing area 6 is formed on a porous membrane that directly receives liquid sample at a first end (Figure 2:5). Liquid flows through the porous membrane to interact with the receptors, and is allowed to contact the absorption area 3 at a second end of the nitrocellulose membrane.
With respect to claims 5-9, 22 and 23, Schwind discloses the apparatus as described above. The nature of the liquid added to the claimed device is not a structural feature of the device and does not further limit the claimed device. Rather, the liquid is added during a testing operation and therefore describes an intended use. Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114.
With respect to claim 10, Schwind discloses the apparatus as described above. The porous membrane of Schwind is fully capable of contacting different kinds of liquids.
With respect to claims 11-20, Schwind discloses the apparatus as described above. Schwind additionally teaches that a liquid blocking element (Figure 2:4) is used to block or reduce the flow rate of a liquid added to the porous membrane. Schwind shows different configurations of the blocking element 4 across Figs. 1-15. In Figs. 14 and 15, the liquid blocking element 4a, 4b is located around the testing area in order to divide the porous membrane into a sample contacting area, a testing area and an area in contact with the absorption area. Figs. 5 and 6 show a different embodiment in which the liquid blocking element 4 creates a liquid reservoir located on the porous membrane and configured to directly receive a liquid.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lambert (WO 2006071247) as applied to claim 3, and further in view of Schwind (WO 2005005991) and Rachamim (US 20230062903).
Lambert discloses the apparatus as described above, however does not appear to teach a liquid blocking element.
Schwind discloses a device for testing an analyte in a liquid sample. The device includes a testing area (Figure 1:6) and a water absorption area (Figure 1:3) downstream from the testing area. A liquid sample contacts the testing area and interacts with one or more first receptors (Figure 1:I-VI) immobilized on the testing area, wherein the receptors are capable of specifically binding to analytes in the liquid sample (“identifying a number of analytes or the derivatives thereof in a liquid sample, consisting in the application of the sample to the charging zone (5) of a membrane (2) of the device…whereby this sample is present in an amount sufficient for causing the sample liquid to flow through the indicator zones toward the absorption area (3), and for causing the analytes or the derivatives thereof in the sample liquid to form a complex in the indicator zones”). Schwind additionally teaches that a liquid blocking element (Figure 2:4) is used to block or reduce the flow rate of a liquid added to the porous membrane. Schwind shows different configurations of the blocking element 4 across Figs. 1-15. In Figs. 14 and 15, the liquid blocking element 4a, 4b is located around the testing area in order to divide the porous membrane into a sample contacting area, a testing area and an area in contact with the absorption area. Figs. 5 and 6 show a different embodiment in which the liquid blocking element 4 creates a liquid reservoir located on the porous membrane and configured to directly receive a liquid.
Rachamim discloses a device for testing an analyte in a liquid sample. The device includes a testing area (Figure 1:122) and a water absorption area (Figure 3:“Absorption pad”) downstream from the testing area. A liquid sample contacts the testing area and interacts with one or more first receptors (Figure 1:120) immobilized on the testing area, wherein the receptors are capable of specifically binding to analytes in the liquid sample. A reaction liquid (Figure 1:160) may be added to the resting area to generate a detectable signal. Rachamim additionally teaches that a liquid blocking element is used to block or reduce the flow rate of a liquid added to the porous membrane. Rachamim specifically states that the flow rate should be reduced at the testing area to improve accuracy of the detection result (“Advantageously, reducing of the flow rate (e.g., when the analyte binds to a capture reagent) may improve in detection of the analyte relative to conventional lateral flow assays where flow of the analyte is not reduced upon binding of the analyte to a capture reagent”). See paragraphs [0029]-[0031] and [0062]-[0066].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to provide the Lambert device with a liquid blocking element configured to divide the porous membrane into a plurality of different flow regions. Schwind teaches that a liquid blocking element provides the beneficial effect of preventing unwanted transfer of liquid across the test device (“the sealing element primarily has the effect of a liquid barrier and permits the directional distribution of sample liquid and test reagents into the porous membrane”). Rachamim further shows how the liquid blocking element should be utilized to reduce the flow rate of liquid at the testing area in order to extend contact time with receptors immobilized in the testing area.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The Shin (US 20230031808), Momiyama (US 20110189063) and Gibboni (US 5447689) references teach the state of the art regarding methods for selectively reducing flow rate in a test strip.
/NATHAN A BOWERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799
1 See provided English translation