DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 05/26/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-2 and 4 have been amended, claim 8 has been cancelled and new claims 16-21 have been added. Therefore, claims 1-7 and 9-21 are now pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Previous rejection of claims 2 and 4 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph have been withdrawn in light of applicant amendment to claims 2 and 4.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: Amended claim 4 recites (Original). (Must be “Currently Amended”).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 21, end of the sentence missing period. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 9-10, 12-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gustavsson (US – 2020/0278007 A1, herein after Gustavsson ‘007) and further in view of Ishimoto Yoshitaka (JOP – 2004/108426 A).
As per claim 1, Gustavsson ‘007 discloses A Frequency Tuned Damper And a Method For Manufacturing (Title and [0051]) comprising:
a base portion (20, Fig: 1-7d) for fixing to a vibration source (the housing 21 with connector holes 23 for connecting the damper to a surface (not shown), termed vibration surface, the vibration of which are to be dampened, [0054], Fig: 1-7d);
at least one spring portion (two elastic elements 60, Fig: 1-7d) comprising two end regions, which is fixed to the base portion via at least one bracket (Fig: 4, 6c, 7a); and
at least one damper mass (40, Fig: 1-7d) for absorbing vibration energy from the vibration source (a mass acting as a vibration body 40, and two elastic elements 60. The damper 10 extends along a longitudinal direction AD and may be use for damping vibrations in direction transverse to the longitudinal direction AD, [0053], Fig: 1-7d).
Gustavsson ‘007 discloses all the structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the damper mass has at least one
the spring portion is pressed into the continuous opening in the damper mass.
Ishimoto discloses Cylindrical Dynamic Damper comprising:
wherein the damper mass (2, Fig: 3) has at least one
the spring portion (3, Fig: 3) is pressed into the continuous opening in the damper mass (2, Fig: 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Frequency Tuned Damper of the Gustavsson ‘007 to make the damper mass has at least one continuous opening or cavity, through or into which the spring portion extends, wherein the spring portion is pressed into the continuous opening in the damper mass as taught by Ishimoto in order to provide a cylindrical dynamic damper that can reduce the size of a molding die, simplify a molding operation, and increase productivity.
As per claim 5, Gustavsson discloses ‘007 wherein the base portion (20) comprises two or more brackets (27, Fig: 4) for holding respective spring portions (60, Fig: 4).
As per claim 6, Gustavsson ‘007 discloses wherein multiple spring portions (60, Fig: 1-7d) are provided which are held via respective brackets (at mounting opening 27, Fig: 4) and which hold a damper mass (40, Fig: 4).
As per claim 9, Gustavsson ‘007 discloses wherein the spring portion is pressed into the holding geometries on the base portion (As per figure 7a-7b, spring portion 60 passed and deformed by two end).
As per claim 10, Gustavsson ‘007 discloses wherein the spring portion is equipped with a hollow space at its two end regions (a first larger part 65 of an inner cavity of the elastic element 60, [0062], Fig: 5c).
As per claim 12, Gustavsson ‘007 discloses wherein end regions of the damper mass (40, Fig: 6a-7a) are embodied with a cavity (42, Fig: 6a-7a) into which respective spring portions extend (Fig: 6a-7a).
As per claim 13, Gustavsson ‘007 discloses wherein respective holding geometries (27, Fig: 7a-7d) extend into the cavities in order to hold a respective end region of a spring portion (Fig: 7a-7d).
As per claim 14, Ishimoto further discloses wherein the cavities are continuous (Fig: 1, 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Frequency Tuned Damper of the Gustavsson to make the cavities in which cavities are continuous as taught by Ishimoto in order to provide a cylindrical dynamic damper that can reduce the size of a molding die, simplify a molding operation, and increase productivity.
As per claim 15, Gustavsson ‘007 discloses wherein the vibration source is a vehicle body (The present inventive concept relates in general to frequency tuned dampers. Such dampers are used to dampen vibration in a surface, such as a surface of a component in or the body of a motor vehicle (see e.g. reference numeral 81 in FIG. 7c), [0051]).
As per claim 16, Gustavsson ‘007 discloses A Frequency Tuned Damper And a Method For Manufacturing (Title and [0051]) comprising:
a base portion (20, Fig: 1-7d) for fixing to a vibration source (the housing 21 with connector holes 23 for connecting the damper to a surface (not shown), termed vibration surface, the vibration of which are to be dampened, [0054], Fig: 1-7d);
at least one spring portion (two elastic elements 60, Fig: 1-7d) comprising two end regions (Fig: 4, 6c, 7a); and
at least one damper mass (40, Fig: 1-7d) for absorbing vibration energy from the vibration source (a mass acting as a vibration body 40, and two elastic elements 60. The damper 10 extends along a longitudinal direction AD and may be use for damping vibrations in direction transverse to the longitudinal direction AD, [0053], Fig: 1-7d), wherein:
both end regions of the spring portion are held by at least one bracket (27, Fig: 4) provided on the base portion (20, Fig: 4); and
the spring portion functions as a plate spring such that vibration of the damper mass is elastically supported in a direction perpendicular to the main longitudinal extension direction of the spring portion (a mass acting as a vibration body 40, and two elastic elements 60. The damper 10 extends along a longitudinal direction AD and may be use for damping vibrations in direction transverse to the longitudinal direction AD, [0053], Fig: 1-7d).
Gustavsson ‘007 discloses all the structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose the damper mass has at least one continuous opening through which the spring portion extends;
the spring portion extends transversely to a main longitudinal extension direction of the damper mass.
Ishimoto discloses Cylindrical Dynamic Damper comprising:
the damper mass (2, Fig: 3) has at least one continuous opening (Fig: 1, 3) through which the spring portion extends;
the spring portion (3, Fig: 3) extends transversely to a main longitudinal extension direction of the damper mass (2, Fig: 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Frequency Tuned Damper of the Gustavsson ‘007 to make the damper mass has at least one continuous opening through which the spring portion extends; and the spring portion extends transversely to a main longitudinal extension direction of the damper mass as taught by Ishimoto in order to provide a cylindrical dynamic damper that can reduce the size of a molding die, simplify a molding operation, and increase productivity.
As per claim 18, Gustavsson ‘007 discloses wherein the bracket (20) exhibits holding geometries (28, Fig: 7a-7b) which are assigned to the respective end regions of the spring portion (groove 64, Fig: 7a-7b) and which can be moved into engagement with the engagement geometries at the end regions of the spring portion (Fig: 7a-7b).
As per claim 19, Gustavsson ‘007 discloses wherein the holding geometries (28, Fig: 7a-7b) comprise mutually opposing limbs configured to engage the engagement geometries of the spring portion (Fig: 7a-7b).
As per claim 20, Gustavsson ‘007 discloses wherein multiple spring portions (60, Fig: 1-7d) are provided which are held via respective brackets (at mounting opening 27, Fig: 4) and which hold a damper mass (40, Fig: 4).
As per claim 21, Gustavsson ‘007 discloses wherein the base portion has at least one fastening geometry (64, 66, Fig: 5a-5c) which penetrates the damper mass without contacting it and which is at least partially provided with a permanently elastic layer (The elastic element 60 may be made from a suitable resilient material, such as silicon rubber, [0053], Fig: 5a-5c).
Claim(s) 2-4 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gustavsson (US – 2020/0278007 A1, herein after Gustavsson ‘007) as modified by Ishimoto Yoshitaka (JOP – 2004/108426 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of another invention of Gustavsson (US – 2015/0107948 A1, herein after Gustavsson ‘948).
As per claim 2, Gustavsson ‘007 discloses the end regions of which exhibit respective engagement geometries (64, 66, Fig: 5a-5c) which the bracket engages via holding geometries, wherein the spring portion is manufactured from a permanently elastic material (The elastic elements 60 may be made from a suitable resilient material, such as silicone rubber, [0053], Fig: 5a-5c), but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the spring portion [
Gustavsson ‘948 discloses Frequency tuned Damper comprising:
wherein the spring portion [exhibits] comprises a cylindrical [
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Frequency Tuned Damper of the Gustavsson ‘007 as modified by Ishimoto to make the spring portion [exhibits] comprises a cylindrical shape having an oval cross-section as taught by Gustavsson ‘948 in order to serves to further vary the dynamic properties in different directions.
As per claim 3, Gustavsson ‘007 discloses wherein the bracket (20) exhibits holding geometries (28, Fig: 7a-7b) which are assigned to the respective end regions of the spring portion (groove 64, Fig: 7a-7b) and which can be moved into engagement with the engagement geometries at the end regions of the spring portion (Fig: 7a-7b).
As per claim 4, Gustavsson ‘007 discloses wherein the holding geometries comprise mutually opposing limbs configured to [provided on the holding geometries 18a, 18b] engage the engagement geometries (64, 66, Fig: 5a-5c) of the spring portion result in a pincer like embodiment (Fig: 5a-5c)..
As per claim 17, Gustavsson ‘007 discloses, the end regions of which exhibit respective engagement geometries (64, 66, Fig: 5a-5c) which the bracket engages via holding geometries, wherein the spring portion is manufactured from a permanently elastic material (the elastic elements 60 may be made from a suitable resilient material, such as silicone rubber, [0053], Fig: 5a-5c) but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the spring portion comprises a cylindrical shape having an oval cross-section.
Gustavsson ‘948 discloses Frequency tuned Damper comprising:
wherein the spring portion comprises a cylindrical shape having an oval cross-section (Fig: 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Frequency Tuned Damper of the Gustavsson ‘007 as modified by Ishimoto to make the wherein the spring portion comprises a cylindrical shape having an oval cross-section as taught by Gustavsson ‘948 in order to serves to further vary the dynamic properties in different directions.
Claim(s) 7 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gustavsson (US – 2020/0278007 A1, herein after Gustavsson ‘007) as modified by Ishimoto Yoshitaka (JOP – 2004/108426 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Andry (US – 4,461,732).
As per claim 7, Gustavsson ‘007 as modified by Ishimoto discloses all the structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the base portion has at least one fastening geometry which penetrates the damper mass without contacting it and which is at least partially provided with a permanently elastic layer.
Andry discloses Damping Structure comprising:
wherein the base portion (34, Fig: 1-4B) has at least one fastening geometry (14, Fig: 1-4B) which penetrates the damper mass without contacting it and which is at least partially provided with a permanently elastic layer (bolt 14 through the sleeve 32 without contacting rubber bushing 10, 20, Fig: 1-4B).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Frequency Tuned Damper of the Gustavsson ‘007 as modified by Ishimoto to make the base portion has at least one fastening geometry which penetrates the damper mass without contacting it and which is at least partially provided with a permanently elastic layer as taught by Andry in order to provide a quickly alteration of the frequency is accomplished by altering the spacing between the cups as for example by loosening or tightening the thread bolt into prevailing torque nuts according to a range of adjustments determined by the extent if the thread along the shaft if the threaded bolts.
As per claim 11, Andry further discloses wherein the spring portion (10, 20, Fig: 2) is embodied with reinforcement regions (sleeve 32, Fig: 2-3) at its end regions.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see REMARK, filed 05/26/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-7, 9-15 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Gustavsson (US – 2020/0278007 A1, herein after Gustavsson ‘007) and further in view of Ishimoto Yoshitaka (JOP – 2004/108426 A), and Andry (US – 4,461,732).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAN M AUNG/Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616