DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the communication filed on 06/15/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
A. Applicant's argument with respect to claim(s) 1 regarding, based on the SSB-based measurements of the one or more cells. The Examiner respectfully disagree, Yuan teach “channel measurement and interference measure measurement on the two resource sets to, for example, determine at least one preferred precoder to be used for the data transmission between the IAB node and the IAB donor or the parent IAB node”, see para. 64; for further clarification Yuan teach, “the first device 110 may determine the precoders to be used for first and second data transmission based on measurement of an associated reference signal. The first device 110 may determine the first set of precoders to be P1, P2, P3 and P4, for example, based on measurement of a CSI RS from the second device 120. The first device 110 may further determine the second set of precoders to be P5 and P6, for example, based on measurement of an SRS from the third device 130”, see para 56. The examiner notes that one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would clearly understand Yuan to execute one or more different functions based on the channel measurements obtained by the same equipment or by another node in the network, which explain the combination with Wu that does teach the mechanisms in certain multiple SSB transmission occasions may be used to provide more chances for inter-IAB node discovery and measurement and disclose the consideration of this knowledge for scheduling resources, see para. 64. Therefore, Wu in view of Yuan still meet the scope of the limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7, 9, 14 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US. Pub. 20220104152) in view of Yuan et al. (U.S. Pub. 20210320768).
Regarding claim 14 Wu disclose, a method for wireless communications by a first base station read as: “a network unit 104 may also be referred to a base station” see para. 39 of an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) network, comprising:
determining synchronization signal block (SSB) resources used for periodic SSB transmissions by one or more second base stations read as: one of the “network unit 104” see Fig. 1 of the IAB network para. 66, “For an IAB node, if an SSB transmitted by an IAB node for an access UE and an SSB for inter-IAB node discovery and/or measurement occupy different time domain resources”;
using the determined SSB resources to perform SSB-based measurements of one or more cells para. 66, “additional signaling can be used to indicate whether the SSB is for the access UE or the SSB is for inter-IAB node discovery and/or measurement”; and
communicating, via a backhaul link connected directly to the first base station and a second base station of the one or more second base stations, with the second base station, para. 64, “multiple SSB transmission occasions may be used to provide more chances for inter-IAB node discovery and measurement. In addition, an SSB time domain pattern may be changed over time or between different IAB nodes. As used herein, an SSB can be a single SSB or a SSB set”.
Wu do not specifically disclose, based on the SSB-based measurements of the one or more cells However, Yuan disclose, para. 64. “channel measurement and interference measure measurement on the two resource sets to, for example, determine at least one preferred precoder to be used for the data transmission between the IAB node and the IAB donor or the parent IAB node” the network device may select one or more precoders based on the channel measurement and indicate the selected precoders for data communication.
Wu and Yuan are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to transmission parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yuan in the system of Wu so the system can select the best available resource that has the best parameter performance values and backhauling functionality. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve and maintain the quality of the system.
Regarding claim 17 Wu do not specifically disclose, further comprising processing the SSB-based measurements to obtain interference information regarding the one or more cells. However, Yuan disclose, para. 41. “an IAB donor or a parent IAB node may perform channel measurement and interference measure measurement on the two resource sets to”.
Wu and Yuan are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to transmission parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yuan in the system of Wu so the system can select the best available resource that has the best parameter performance values and direct backhauling functionality. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve and maintain the best communications and quality of the system.
Claim 1 recites an apparatus corresponding to the method of claim 14 and thus is rejected under the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 14. Regarding the apparatus comprising one or more processors and one or more memories, Wu disclose, “the network unit 104 may include a processor 302 and a memory 304”, see para. 53, Fig. 3”.
Regarding claim 5, Wu do not specifically disclose, wherein the first base station determines the SSB resources, based on information received from a central base station. However, Yuan disclose para. 41, “An IAB donor or a parent IAB node may perform channel measurement and interference measure measurement on the two resource sets to, for example, determine at least one preferred precoder to be used for the data transmission between the IAB node and the IAB donor or the parent IAB node”.
Wu and Yuan are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to transmission parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yuan in the system of Wu so the system can select the optimal available resources. The motivation for doing so would have been to establish the communication channel system according with the selected configuration.
Regarding claim 7 the limitations of claim 7 are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claim 17.
Regarding claim 9 the limitations of claim 9 are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claim 14.
Regarding claim 18 the limitations of claim 18 are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claim 14.
Claim(s) 2, 6, 10, 13, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (WIPO. Pub. WO2018236256), in view of Yuan et al. (U.S. Pub. 20210320768), further in view of Qi et al. (U.S. Pub. 20210176655).
Regarding claim 6 Wu and Yuan do not specifically disclose, wherein the periodic SSB transmissions comprise periodic radio resource management (RRM)-SSB transmissions. However, Qi disclose, “different SS block based RRM measurement timing configurations, STMC, are configured for different IAB nodes and/or UEs in terms of offset and/or duration”, see para. 30.
Wu, Yuan and Qi are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to transmission parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Qi in the system of Wu and Yuan so the system can manage with the proper technique the available resources. The motivation for doing so would have been to optimize the use of limited radio resources.
Regarding claim 13 the limitations of claim 13 are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claim 6.
Regarding claim 15 Wu and Yuan do not specifically disclose, wherein the periodic SSB transmissions comprise periodic cell defining (CD)-SSB transmissions. However, Qi disclose, “to use synchronization signal block (SSB), which is transmitted periodically. SSBs from all rTRPs can be transmitted at the same time”, para. 48.
Wu, Yuan and Qi are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to transmission parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Qi in the system of Wu and Yuan so the system can operate over synchronized communications between the nodes. The motivation for doing so would have been to ensure the accuracy of the transmission maintaining the same communication speeds.
Regarding claims 2, 10 and 19 the limitations of claims 2, 10 and 19, respectively, are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claim 15.
Claim(s) 3-4, 11-12, 16, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (WIPO. Pub. WO2018236256) in view of Yuan et al. (U.S. Pub. 20210320768), further in view of Qi et al. (U.S. Pub. 20210176655), further in view of Jassal et al. (U.S. Pub. 20200044806).
Regarding claim 16 Wu, Yuan and Qi do not specifically disclose, wherein each CD-SSB transmission is associated with a cell identifier (ID). However, Jassal disclose, “An identifier of a cell may be any parameter that may be used to determine the identity of a cell. An identifier of a cell may include, for example, a cell identity. A cell identity may also be referred to as a physical cell identity (…), An SSB already inherently carries information related to cell identities” see para. 52 and 111.
Wu, Yuan, Qi and Jassal are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to transmission parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jassal in the system of Wu, Yuan and Qi so the system can associate the correspondent measurement configuration with the proper cell to be measured. The motivation for doing so would have been to ensure that the user equipment can uniquely identify the associated SSB resource configuration with the given cell.
Regarding claims 3-4, 11-12 and 20, the limitations of claims 3-4, 11-12 and 20, respectively, are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claim 16.
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (WIPO. Pub. WO2018236256) in view of Yuan et al. (U.S. Pub. 20210320768), further in view of Qi et al. (U.S. Pub. 20210176655), further in view of Balraj et al. (U.S. Pub. 20150092583).
Regarding claim 8 Wu, Yuan and Qi do not specifically disclose, wherein the processing comprises generating an interference matrix based on the SSB-based measurements. However, Balraj teach, para. 30, “Interference measurements may be performed based on the cell-specific reference signals in the form of a noise and interference covariance matrix {circumflex over (R)}.sub.n according to: R ^ n = i = 0 N AP 1 N P , i ( h ~ AP , i - h ^ AP , i ) ( h ~ AP , i - h ^ AP , i ) H , ( 1 ) EQU00001 ”.
Wu, Yuan, Qi and Balraj are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to transmission parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Balraj in the system of Wu, Yuan and Qi so the system can analyze the correspondent measurement configuration with the cell that it is being measured. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the efficiency of the current communication and reduce the interference on a given cell.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RR/
Examiner, Art Unit 2471
/SUJOY K KUNDU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471