DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 13 November 2025. Claims 1-20 are now pending in the present application. This office action is made Non-Final.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,937,134 B1 (Fang; application no. 16/5330,822; Applicant Related Art; hereinafter ARA ‘134). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant application and the US patent ARA ‘134 claim the same subject matter. The common subject matter is wireless communication service using multiple radio access technology (RAT) types.
Regarding claims 1, 10, and 12, ARA ‘134 discloses a method to wirelessly serve a User Equipment (UE), the method comprising: wirelessly indicating Radio Access Technology (RAT) types to the UE; receiving signaling from the UE indicating UE-selected ones of the RAT types; identifying a network slice for the UE; selecting network-selected ones of the RAT types from the UE-selected ones of the RAT types based on the network slice for the UE; and simultaneously exchanging user data with the UE over the network-selected ones of the RAT types. { (drawn to features - see claims 1 and 10) }.
Regarding claims 2-9, 11, and 13-20, are drawn to the features of ARA ‘134 claims 2-9 and 11-20.
Therefore, the US patent reference ARA ‘134 includes the same manipulations of the instant application and as addressed above more than adequately meets the claim limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (hereinafter Kim) (US 2021/0136671 A1) in view of support by Azzizi et al. (hereinafter Azzizi) (US 2019/0364492 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 10, and 12, Kim discloses a method to wirelessly serve a User Equipment (UE), the method comprising:
wirelessly indicating Radio Access Technology (RAT) types to the UE { (see pg. 3, [0052, 0055]; pg. 2, [0034]; pg. 1, [0005]; Figs. 1, 6, & 9), where the system provides communication using various types of RATs and mapping information of RATs for a geographical area (see pg. 7, [0107, 0110]]) };
receiving signaling from the UE indicating UE-selected ones of the RAT types { (see pg. 8, [0120]; pg. 9, [0133]; pg. 10, [0141-0142]; Figs. 1, 6, & 9), where the system provides a UE is that provides a selection (message/instruction) of the RATs according to a prior list of candidates (see pg. 9, [00129-0132]) };
identifying a network slice for the UE { (see pg. 8, [0120]; pg. 9, [0133]; pg. 10, [0141-0142]; Figs. 1, 6, & 9), where the system provides a UE is that provides a selection (message/instruction) of the RATs according to a prior list of candidates (see pg. 9, [00129-0132]) };
selecting network-selected ones of the RAT types from the UE-selected ones of the RAT types based on the network slice for the UE { (see pg. 8, [0120]; pg. 9, [0133, 0136]; pg. 10, [0141-0142]; Figs. 1, 6, & 9), where the system provides a selection (message/instruction) of the RATs according to a prior list of candidates (see pg. 9, [00129-0132]), and a UE can assist in selecting available candidates for selection (or hand-off) as done with mobile assisted handoff (MAHO) (see pg. 8, [0120]; pg. 9, [0133]) }; and
simultaneously exchanging user data with the UE over the network-selected ones of the RAT types { (see pg. 2, [0046]; pg. 4, [0070]; pg. 10, [0151]; Figs. 1, 6, & 9), where the system provides transmitting and receiving between the UE and network in which the communication is bi-directional or simultaneous signaling (see pg. 14, [0166-0167]) }.
Kim does not specifically disclose having the feature(s) identifying a network slice for the UE; based on the network slice for the UE. However, the examiner maintains that the feature(s) identifying a network slice for the UE; based on the network slice for the UE was well known in the art, as taught by Azzizi.
In the same field of endeavor, Azzizi discloses the feature
identifying a network slice for the UE; based on the network slice for the UE { (see pg. 148, [1237, 1239-1240]; pp. 150-151, [1251, lines 19-30; 1252]), where the system performs network slice selection for a suitable network (see pg. 154, [1270]; pg. 130, [1120]) }.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the teachings of Kim and Azzizi to have the feature identifying a network slice for the UE; based on the network slice for the UE, in order to provide communication with different radio type, as taught by Azzizi (see abstract).
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (hereinafter Li) (US 2018/0368153 A1) in view of further support by Patil et al. (hereinafter Patil) (US 2019/0394820 A1) and Azzizi et al. (hereinafter Azzizi) (US 2019/0364492 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 10, and 12, Li discloses a method to wirelessly serve a User Equipment (UE), the method comprising:
wirelessly indicating Radio Access Technology (RAT) types to the UE { (see pp. 4-5, [0058, 0065]; pg. 11, [0119, 0123]; Figs. 1, 7-8, & 14) };
receiving signaling from the UE indicating UE-selected ones of the RAT types { (see pp. 4-5, [0058, 0065]; pg. 11, [0119, 0123]; Figs. 1, 7-8, & 14) };
identifying a network slice for the UE { (see pp. 4-5, [0058, 0065]; pg. 11, [0119, 0123]; Figs. 1, 7-8, & 14), where the system provides multiple RATs that are selected for communication and multiple UE communicates via a selected RAT in which the RAT can be a different RAT for simultaneous communication };
selecting network-selected ones of the RAT types from the UE-selected ones of the RAT types based on the network slice for the UE { (see pp. 4-5, [0058, 0065]; pg. 11, [0119, 0123]; Figs. 1, 7-8, & 14), where the system provides multiple RATs that are selected for communication and multiple UE communicates via a selected RAT in which the RAT can be a different RAT for simultaneous communication }; and
simultaneously exchanging user data with the UE over the network-selected ones of the RAT types { (see pp. 4-5, [0058, 0065]; pg. 11, [0119, 0123]; Figs. 1, 7-8, & 14), where the system provides multiple RATs that are selected for communication and multiple UE communicates via a selected RAT in which the RAT can be a different RAT for simultaneous communication }. Li inexplicitly discloses having the feature simultaneously exchanging user data. However, in the alternative, the examiner maintains that the feature simultaneously exchanging user data was well known in the art, as taught by Patil.
As further alternative support in the same field of endeavor, Patil discloses the feature
simultaneously exchanging user data { (see pg. 2, [0017, lines 22-26]; Figs. 1-2), where the system performs simultaneous exchange of data }.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the teachings of Li and Patil to have the feature simultaneously exchanging user data, in order to provide wireless communication systems which may efficiently activate bearers within multiple RATs employing dual connectivity configurations, as taught by Patil (see pg. 1, [0011]). Li does not specifically disclose having the feature(s) identifying a network slice for the UE; based on the network slice for the UE. However, the examiner maintains that the feature(s) identifying a network slice for the UE; based on the network slice for the UE was well known in the art, as taught by Azzizi.
In the same field of endeavor, Azzizi discloses the feature
identifying a network slice for the UE; based on the network slice for the UE { (see pg. 148, [1237, 1239-1240]; pp. 150-151, [1251, lines 19-30; 1252]), where the system performs network slice selection for a suitable network (see pg. 154, [1270]; pg. 130, [1120]) }.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the teachings of Li, Patil, and Azzizi to have the feature identifying a network slice for the UE; based on the network slice for the UE, in order to provide communication with different radio type, as taught by Azzizi (see abstract).
Regarding claims 2 and 13, the combination of Li, Patil, and Azzizi discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Li further discloses the method of claim 1 wherein identifying the network slice for the UE comprises mapping a UE identifier (ID) for the UE to a slice ID for the network slice { (see pp. 4-5, [0058, 0065]; pg. 11, [0119, 0123]; Figs. 1, 7-8, & 14), where the system provides multiple RATs that are selected for communication and multiple UE communicates via a selected RAT in which the RAT can be a different RAT for simultaneous communication }. Li does not specifically disclose having the feature wherein identifying the network slice for the UE comprises mapping a UE identifier (ID) for the UE to a slice ID for the network slice. However, the examiner maintains that the feature wherein identifying the network slice for the UE comprises mapping a UE identifier (ID) for the UE to a slice ID for the network slice was well known in the art, as taught by Azzizi.
In the same field of endeavor, Azzizi discloses the feature
wherein identifying the network slice for the UE comprises mapping a UE identifier (ID) for the UE to a slice ID for the network slice { (see pg. 148, [1237, 1239-1240]; pp. 150-151, [1251, lines 19-30; 1252]), where the system performs network slice selection for a suitable network (see pg. 154, [1270]; pg. 130, [1120]) }.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the teachings of Li, Patil, and Azzizi to have the feature wherein identifying the network slice for the UE comprises mapping a UE identifier (ID) for the UE to a slice ID for the network slice, in order to provide communication with different radio type, as taught by Azzizi (see abstract).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, the combination of Li, Patil, and Azzizi discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Li further discloses the method of claim 1 further comprising: identifying a communication service for the UE; and wherein selecting the network-selected ones of the RAT types from the UE-selected ones of the RAT types comprises selecting the network-selected ones of the RAT types from the UE-selected ones of the RAT types based on the network slice and communication service for the UE { (see pp. 4-5, [0058, 0065]; pg. 11, [0119, 0123]; Figs. 1, 7-8, & 14) }. As a note, Patil at the least further discloses the feature(s) communication service { (see pg. 2, [0015, 0020]) }. As a note, Azzizi at the least further discloses the feature(s) network slice { (see pg. 148, [1237, 1239-1240]; pp. 150-151, [1251, lines 19-30; 1252]), where the system performs network slice selection for a suitable network (see pg. 154, [1270]; pg. 130, [1120]) }.
Regarding claim 4, Li discloses the method of claim 1 further comprising: identifying a quality-of-service for the UE; and wherein selecting the network-selected ones of the RAT types from the UE-selected ones of the RAT types comprises selecting the network-selected ones of the RAT types from the UE- selected ones of the RAT types based on the network slice and the quality-of-service for the UE { (see pp. 4-5, [0058, 0065]; pg. 11, [0119, 0123]; Figs. 1, 7-8, & 14) }. Li inexplicitly discloses having the feature quality-of-service for the UE. However, in the alternative, the examiner maintains that the feature quality-of-service for the UE was well known in the art, as taught by Patil.
As further alternative support in the same field of endeavor, Patil discloses the feature
quality-of-service for the UE { (see pg. 1, [0012, lines 19-20]; Figs. 1-2), where the system uses QoS for criteria of selection (see pg. 2, [0016]) }.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the teachings of Li and Patil to have the feature quality-of-service for the UE, in order to provide wireless communication systems which may efficiently activate bearers within multiple RATs employing dual connectivity configurations, as taught by Patil (see pg. 1, [0011]).
As a note, Azzizi at the least further discloses the feature(s) network slice { (see pg. 148, [1237, 1239-1240]; pp. 150-151, [1251, lines 19-30; 1252]), where the system performs network slice selection for a suitable network (see pg. 154, [1270]; pg. 130, [1120]) }.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Li, Patil, and Azzizi discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Li further discloses the method of claim 1 further comprising: identifying a Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) for the UE; and wherein selecting the network-selected ones of the RAT types from the UE-selected ones of the RAT types comprises selecting the network-selected ones of the RAT types from the UE- selected ones of the RAT types based on the network slice and the PLMN for the UE { (see pp. 4-5, [0058, 0065]; pg. 11, [0119, 0123]; Figs. 1, 7-8, & 14) }. As a note, Patil at the least further discloses the feature(s) Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) { (see pg. 2, [0015, lines 18-22]) }. As a note, Azzizi at the least further discloses the feature(s) network slice { (see pg. 148, [1237, 1239-1240]; pp. 150-151, [1251, lines 19-30; 1252]), where the system performs network slice selection for a suitable network (see pg. 154, [1270]; pg. 130, [1120]) }.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Li, Patil, and Azzizi discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Li further discloses the method of claim 1 further comprising: identifying a UE category for the UE; and wherein selecting the network-selected ones of the RAT types from the UE-selected ones of the RAT types comprises selecting the network-selected ones of the RAT types from the UE- selected ones of the RAT types based on the network slice and the UE category for the UE { (see pp. 4-5, [0058, 0065]; pg. 11, [0119, 0123]; Figs. 1, 7-8, & 14) }. As a note, Azzizi at the least further discloses the feature(s) network slice { (see pg. 148, [1237, 1239-1240]; pp. 150-151, [1251, lines 19-30; 1252]), where the system performs network slice selection for a suitable network (see pg. 154, [1270]; pg. 130, [1120]) }.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Li, Patil, and Azzizi discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Li further discloses the method of claim 1 further comprising: identifying a UE identifier for the UE; and wherein selecting the network-selected ones of the RAT types from the UE-selected ones of the RAT types comprises selecting the network-selected ones of the RAT types from the UE- selected ones of the RAT types based on the network slice and the UE identifier for the UE { (see pp. 4-5, [0058, 0065]; pg. 11, [0119, 0123]; Figs. 1, 7-8, & 14) }.
Regarding claims 8 and 19, the combination of Li, Patil, and Azzizi discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Li further discloses the method of claim 1 further comprising: identifying a UE application for the UE; and wherein selecting the network-selected ones of the RAT types from the UE-selected ones of the RAT types comprises selecting the network-selected ones of the RAT types from the UE- selected ones of the RAT types based on the network slice and the UE application for the UE { (see pp. 4-5, [0058, 0065]; pg. 11, [0119, 0123]; Figs. 1, 7-8, & 14) }. As a note, Azzizi at the least further discloses the feature(s) network slice { (see pg. 148, [1237, 1239-1240]; pp. 150-151, [1251, lines 19-30; 1252]), where the system performs network slice selection for a suitable network (see pg. 154, [1270]; pg. 130, [1120]) }.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Li, Patil, and Azzizi discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Li further discloses the method of claim 1 further comprising: identifying a UE location for the UE; and wherein selecting the network-selected ones of the RAT types from the UE-selected ones of the RAT types comprises selecting the network-selected ones of the RAT types from the UE- selected ones of the RAT types based on the network slice and the UE location for the UE { (see pp. 4-5, [0058, 0065]; pg. 11, [0119, 0123]; Figs. 1, 7-8, & 14) }. As a note, Azzizi at the least further discloses the feature(s) network slice { (see pg. 148, [1237, 1239-1240]; pp. 150-151, [1251, lines 19-30; 1252]), where the system performs network slice selection for a suitable network (see pg. 154, [1270]; pg. 130, [1120]) }.
Regarding claims 11 and 20, the combination of Li, Patil, and Azzizi discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 12), in addition Li further discloses the method of claim 10 wherein the wireless access node wirelessly indicating the WIFI RAT type, the IoT RAT type, and the 5GNR RAT type to the UE comprises wirelessly broadcasting a System Information Block (SIB) to the UE that indicates the WIFI RAT type, the IoT RAT type, and the 5GNR RAT type { (see pp. 4-5, [0058, 0065]; pg. 11, [0119, 0123]; Figs. 1, 7-8, & 14) }. As a note, Patil at the least further discloses the feature(s) WIFI RAT type, the IoT RAT type, and the 5GNR RAT type { (see pg. 2, [0020]) }.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Li, Patil, and Azzizi discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 12), in addition Li further discloses the communication network of claim 12 wherein: the network circuitry is further configured to identify a media-streaming service for the UE; and the network circuitry is configured to select the network-selected ones of the RAT types from the UE-selected ones of the RAT types based on the media-streaming service for the UE { (see pp. 4-5, [0058, 0065]; pg. 11, [0119, 0123]; Figs. 1, 7-8, & 14) }.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Li, Patil, and Azzizi discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 12), in addition Li further discloses the communication network of claim 12 wherein: the network circuitry is further configured to identify a machine-communication service for the UE; and the network circuitry is configured to select the network-selected ones of the RAT types from the UE-selected ones of the RAT types based on the machine-communication service for the UE { (see pp. 4-5, [0058, 0065]; pg. 11, [0119, 0123]; Figs. 1, 7-8, & 14) }.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Li, Patil, and Azzizi discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 12), in addition Li further discloses the communication network of claim 12 wherein: the network circuitry is further configured to identify a vehicle-control service for the UE; and the network circuitry is configured to select the network-selected ones of the RAT types from the UE-selected ones of the RAT types based on the vehicle-control service for the UE { (see pp. 4-5, [0058, 0065]; pg. 11, [0119, 0123]; Figs. 1, 7-8, & 14) }.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Li, Patil, and Azzizi discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 12), in addition Li further discloses the communication network of claim 12 wherein: the network circuitry is further configured to identify a social-networking service for the UE; and the network circuitry is configured to select the network-selected ones of the RAT types from the UE-selected ones of the RAT types based on the social-networking service for the UE { (see pp. 4-5, [0058, 0065]; pg. 11, [0119, 0123]; Figs. 1, 7-8, & 14) }.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by the amended language, new limitations, and/or new claims.
In response to applicant’s arguments, the Examiner respectfully disagrees as the applied reference(s) provide more than adequate support and to further clarify (see the above claims for relevant citations and comments in this section).
Repeat from office action mailed 16 January 2026 - Applicant did not argue the features for the rejection with applied references Kim and Azzizi combination in which the Examiner interprets that applicant must agree that the feature(s) are met by the applied references. Therefore, for at least claim 1 (including claims 10 & 12) above, applicant accepted and agreed to the following:
In particular, Kim discloses the language as related to the claimed feature(s)
selecting network-selected (e.g., infrastructure/RAN) ones of the RAT types from the UE-selected ones of the RAT types { (see pg. 8, [0120]; pg. 9, [0133, 0136]; pg. 10, [0141-0142]; Figs. 1, 6, & 9), where the system provides a selection
(message/instruction) of the RATs according to a prior list of candidates (see pg. 9, [00129-0132]), and the infrastructure/RAN, based on UE select instructs the UEs to switch to another RAT (see pg. 10, [0150; 0151, lines 1-2]; 0142), and a UE can assist in selecting available candidates for selection (or hand-off) as done with mobile assisted
handoff (MAHO) (see pg. 8, [0120]; pg. 9, [0133]), and the UE provides selected RAT indication request to the infrastructure and based on the request the infrastructure instructs UE to change RAT (see col. 10, [
0149; 0148, lines 10-12; 0141, lines 1-4; 0147) }.
In the same field of endeavor, Azzizi discloses the feature
identifying a network slice for the UE; based on the network slice for the UE { (see pg. 148, [1237, 1239-1240]; pp. 150-151, [1251, lines 19-30; 1252]), where the system performs network slice selection for a suitable network (see pg. 154, [1270]; pg. 130, [1120]) }
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Regarding applicant’s argument of claim 1 on pg. 7, 3rd full par., “…does not teach…selecting network-selected ones of the RAT types from the UE-selected ones of the RAT types based on the network slice for the UE…”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant has failed to interpret and appreciate the combined teachings of well-known prior art Li, Patil, and Azzizi that clearly discloses the claimed feature(s) as would be clearly recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art.
In particular, Li discloses the language as related to the claimed feature(s)
selecting network-selected ones of the RAT types from the UE-selected ones of the RAT types based on the network slice for the UE { (see pp. 4-5, [0058, 0065]; pg. 11, [0119, 0123]; Figs. 1, 7-8, & 14), where the system provides multiple RATs that are selected for communication and multiple UE communicates via a selected RAT in which the RAT can be a different RAT for simultaneous communication }.
As further alternative support in the same field of endeavor, Azzizi discloses the language as related to the claimed feature(s)
identifying a network slice for the UE; based on the network slice for the UE { (see pg. 148, [1237, 1239-1240]; pp. 150-151, [1251, lines 19-30; 1252]), where the system performs network slice selection for a suitable network (see pg. 154, [1270]; pg. 130, [1120]) }.
Therefore, the combination(s) of the reference(s) Li, Patil, and Azzizi as addressed above more than adequately meets the claim limitations.
Regarding applicant’s argument(s) of claims 2-20, the claims are addressed for the same reasons as set forth above and as applied above in each claim rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen et al. (US 2022/0015070 A1) discloses resource configuration and selection for device-to-device links.
Lee et al. (US 9,750,043 B2) discloses method for supporting communication using two or more radio access technologies and apparatus for same.
Fang (US 11,937,134 B1) discloses wireless communication service using multiple radio access technology (RAT) types.
/WILLIE J DANIEL JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465
WJD,Jr
30 September 2026