Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/14/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2-8 recite the limitation "the ”. This renders the claims unclear and indefinite, as it is unclear which fixing part the claims are referring to, as claim 1 introduces “fixing parts on both sides” of the holding member.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harada (US-20160214568-A1), henceforth referred to as Harada.
Regarding claim 1, Harada discloses a buckle device comprising: a buckle body configured to engage with a tongue provided at a webbing attached to an occupant (Paragraph [0036]: "The buckle device 10 includes a buckle body 12 that retains a tongue 110 through which a webbing 100 that is worn across an occupant sitting in the vehicle seat is inserted"), a holding member that holds the buckle body and is provided with fixing parts on both sides in a thickness direction (Figure 4: holding member formed by boot 20, comprising fixing parts 50 and 52 disposed on both sides in a thickness direction), and a support that supports the holding member and to which both of the fixing parts are fixed (Figure 4: plate 16 supports boot 20, and fixing parts 50 and 52 are connected).
Regarding claim 2, Harada discloses the fixing part is hooked on a side of the support opposite from the buckle body (Figure 4: wall 50 hooked to plate 16 at hole 42).
Regarding claim 3, Harada discloses a hook part that is provided at the support, on which the fixing part is hooked (Figure 4: clip 38 hooks wall 50 to plate 16), the hook part having a distal end side protruding to a distal end side of the fixing part (Figure 4: clip 38 comprises a distal end that protrudes to, and through, a distal end of wall 50).
Regarding claim 4, Harada discloses a hook part that is provided at the support, and on which the fixing part is hooked (Figure 4: clip 38 hooks wall 50 to plate 16), wherein at least one of a thickness or a width of the fixing part on a distal end side from the hook part is increased (Figure 4: thickness of wall 50 is greater proximal to clip 38 than at top portion 46).
Regarding claim 5, Harada discloses a hook part that is provided at the support and on which the fixing part is hooked (Figure 4: clip 38 hooks wall 50 to plate 16), wherein a protrusion is provided on a distal end side of the fixing part from the hook part (Figure 4 protrusion 72).
Regarding claim 6, Harada discloses a mounting member that is provided at the support and is mounted to lock movement of the fixing part (Figure 4: coupling webbing 18 couples buckle 12 and plate 16, and prevents walls 50 and 52 from moving upwards).
Regarding claim 7, Harada discloses the fixing part is extended from the holding member (Figure 4: walls 50 and 52 extend from the portion of boot 20 that holds buckle 12), and elasticity of the fixing part at a proximal end side from a fixing portion to the support is larger (Figure 4: the thickness of walls 50 and 52 increases below line 10A, thus the thinner portions will have greater elasticity).
Regarding claim 8, Harada discloses the fixing part is fixed to the support by press-fitting (Figure 4: protrusion 72 presses against coupling webbing 18, further, Paragraph [0050]: "The engagement protrusion portion 72 is fitted between the coupling webbing 18 that is inserted through the coupling webbing insertion hole 42 and the inner edge portion of the coupling webbing insertion hole 42 with a specific fit-interference").
Regarding claim 9, Harada discloses both of the fixing parts are fixed to one side of the support in a holding-member thickness direction (Figure 4: walls 50 and 52 attach to plate 16 on one side of plate 16 via clip 38).
Regarding claim 10, Harada discloses a fixing member that fixes both of the fixing parts to the support (Figure 4: clip 38 fixes boot 20 and walls 50 and 52 to plate 16).
Cited Prior Art not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure includes Futamara (US-20200130638-A1), which discloses a buckle with fixing members.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW JAMES O'NEILL/Examiner, Art Unit 3614
/JASON D SHANSKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614