DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jee et al. (US 2021/0344212; “Jee”; reference of record).
As for claim 8, Jee teaches a method of charging a vehicle battery (figure 2) comprising:
determining an estimated state (para. [0045], [0056]) of the vehicle battery (10; para. [0146]);
obtaining a nominal charge curve from a model for the vehicle battery (The battery has an initial electricity amount-voltage curve and preset C-rate. Para. [0046] [0086]);
updating the nominal charge curve to set and adjust an actual charge curve by detecting lithium plating conditions during charging (These initial conditions are used to calculate a resistance change rate and to adjust the C-rate accordingly. Lithium plating occurs with overcharge of the battery, which is prevented with this operation. Para. [0046], [0078], [0087], [0088]);
using the adjusted actual charge curve to control charging current delivered to the vehicle battery (Para. [0046], [0087], [0088]).
Regarding claim 12, Jee teaches wherein the step of updating the nominal charge curve to set and adjust the actual charge curve is performed by storing a correction and limitation logic, responsive to detection of lithium plating during charging (Para. [0078], [0082], [0086] teach adjusting the charge current and storing charge information in storage unit 140).
As for claim 13, Jee teaches wherein the nominal charge curve is derived from a nominal model that contains a set of optimal charge curves computed off-line for a set of operating points of battery SOC defining nominal lithium plating boundaries (Para. [0067], [0086], [0096], and [0135] teach preset conditions for the battery monitoring system of Jee, which includes charge rates, SOC, and lithium plating prevention).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jee in view of K (US 10,071,648; reference of record).
Regarding claim 14, Jee teaches wherein the step of updating the nominal charge curve to set and adjust the actual charge curve by detecting lithium plating conditions during charging is performed by measuring secondary electrolyte-interphase layer (SEI) resistance as the vehicle battery is charged (Para. [0078] and [0088]).
Jee fails to teach wherein the nominal model relies on estimates of Li/Li+ overpotential in the battery.
However, it is well-known to those of ordinary skill in the art to utilize Li/Li+ overpotential estimation in a battery when determining levels of lithium plating. For example, see col. 6, lines 39-46 of K.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize Li/Li+ overpotential estimates in the method of Jee because such a modification would have been implementing a well-known protocol for determining lithium plating.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/22/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant's comments with respect to the rejection of claims 8, 12, and 13 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jee, Applicant argues:
Argument #1: “Jee does not disclose obtaining a nominal charge curve from a battery model, nor does Jee disclose transforming such a nominal charge curve into a distinct, adjusted actual charge curve based on lithium plating detection. Rather, the nominal charging behavior in Jee remains fixed, and lithium plating detection serves solely as a trigger for conservative current limitation.” See page 9 of Applicant’s remarks.
Response to Argument #1: As discussed above in the rejection of claim 8, the nominal charge curve of Jee comes from a predetermined model for the vehicle battery that includes an initial electricity amount-voltage curve and preset C-rate. Para. [0046] [0086].
The charge curve is then updated into an adjusted actual charge curve by detecting lithium plating conditions during charging and calculating a resistance change rate to adjust the C-rate accordingly. Lithium plating occurs with overcharge of the battery, which is prevented with this operation. Para. [0046], [0078], [0087], [0088].
Argument #2: Regarding claim 13, Applicant argues “Neither Jee nor Feng discloses this limitation. Jee does not disclose a nominal model containing precomputed optimal charge curves defining lithium plating boundaries. Jee instead relies on real-time resistance change rate calculations to limit current.” See page 12 of Applicant’s remarks.
Response to Argument #2: However, para. [0086], [0096], [0135] of Jee teach predetermined factors used for the nominal charge curve.
Regarding Applicant’s comments directed to the rejection of claim 14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jee in view of K, Applicant argues K fails to make up for the alleged deficiencies of Jee with respect to parent claim 13.
However, as seen above, Jee teaches the limitations of parent claim 13.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-7 and 15-20 are allowed.
Claims 9-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The best prior art reference of record, Jee, fails to teach or suggest:
“adjusting the charging current to enable the measured SEI resistance to track the modeled SEI resistance values.”, as set forth in claims 1 and 15; and
“wherein the step of updating the nominal charge curve to set and adjust the actual charge curve by detecting lithium plating conditions during charging is performed by measuring secondary electrolyte-interphase layer (SEI) resistance as the vehicle battery is charged.”, as set forth in claim 9.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LEVI GANNON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2849 March 3, 2026