DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-13, 15-29, 31-46, 48-62, 64-78, and 80-82 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chacko (US Pat. App. Pub. No. 2012/0300370).
With respect to claim 1, Chacko discloses a solid electrolytic capacitor (see abstract) with an improve capacitance stability comprising: an anode with a dielectric on said anode (see FIG. 1, elements 12 and 14, and paragraph [0036]); a cathode on said dielectric (see FIG. 1, elements 16 and 18, and paragraph [0036]) wherein said cathode comprises: a first solid electrolyte layer wherein said first solid electrolyte layer with a glass transition temperature below 0°C (see paragraph [0053], citing at least poly(ethylene oxide)); and a second solid electrolyte layer wherein said second solid electrolyte layer with a glass transition temperature of at least 50°C (see paragraph [0054], citing at least silicone, polyester, epoxy, polyimides and butyrals). While Chacko does not mention glass transition temperatures, the Office notes that glass transition temperatures are physical properties for the materials used for the first and second solid electrolyte layer, and as such, are implicitly disclosed by the explicit recitation in Chacko of materials that are recited in the instant application. See also, MPEP 2112.01(a).
With respect to claim 2, Chacko is considered to disclose that said first solid electrolyte layer has an ionic conductivity which is higher than an ionic conductivity of said second solid electrolyte. While Chacko does not mention ionic conductivities, the Office notes that ionic conductivities are physical properties for the materials used for the first and second solid electrolyte layer, and as such, are implicitly disclosed by the explicit recitation in Chacko of materials that are recited in the instant application. See also, MPEP 2112.01(a).
With respect to claim 3, Chacko discloses that said cathode further comprises an internal layer. See paragraph [0036], noting that the conductive polymer layers may include multiple layers of similar compositions.
With respect to claim 4, Chacko discloses that said first solid electrolyte layer comprises a first polymer selected from the group consisting of: poly(triethyleneglycol methyl vinyl ether); poly[2-(2-ethoxy)ethoxyethyl vinyl ether]; poly(2-ethoxyethyl vinyl ether); poly(ethyl vinyl ether); poly(iso-propyl vinyl ether); poly(n-propyl vinyl ether); poly(n-butyl vinyl ether); poly(iso-butyl vinyl ether); poly(2-ethyl hexyl vinyl ether); poly(trimethylene carbonate-co-s- caprolactone); polytrimethylene oxide; poly(ethylene) oxide; poly(propylene oxide); poly(ethylene oxide)-co-poly(propylene oxide) copolymers; polyvinylidene fluoride; poly(vinylidene fluoride-hexafluoropropylene); poly(ethylene imine); poly(3-hydroxypropyl ethyleneimine); poly[bis((methoxyethoxy)ethoxy)phosphazene]; poly[bis{poly(ethylene glycol) methylether}phosphazene]; poly[bis{poly(oxyethylene(4)) laurylether}phosphazene] and oly[bis-((methoxyethoxy)ethoxy)phosphazene]. See paragraph [0053].
With respect to claim 5, Chacko discloses that said a second solid electrolyte layer comprises a second polymer selected from the group consisting of: polyester, polyurethane, polyamide, polyimide, silicone polyester, hydroxyl functional silicone, hydroxyethyl cellulose, polyvinyl alcohol, phenolic, epoxy, butyral, copolymers of these or mixture of these multifunctional polymers such as epoxy/amine, epoxy/anhydride, isocyanate/amine, isocyanate/alcohol, unsaturated polyesters, vinyl esters, unsaturated polyester and vinyl ester blends, unsaturated polyester/urethane hybrid resins, polyurethane-ureas, reactive dicyclopentadiene resins or reactive polyamides. See paragraph [0054].
With respect to claim 6, Chacko discloses that said anode comprises a material selected from the group consisting of niobium, aluminum, tantalum and NbO. See paragraph [0059].
With respect to claim 7, Chacko is considered to disclose that said anode has a charge density of at least 50,000 CV/g. While Chacko does not mention charge densities for the anode, the Office notes that charge densities are physical properties for the materials used for the anode, and as such, are implicitly disclosed by the explicit recitation in Chacko of materials that are recited in the instant application. See also, MPEP 2112.01(a).
With respect to claim 8, Chacko is considered to disclose that said anode has a charge density above 100,000 CV/g. While Chacko does not mention charge densities for the anode, the Office notes that charge densities are physical properties for the materials used for the anode, and as such, are implicitly disclosed by the explicit recitation in Chacko of materials that are recited in the instant application. See also, MPEP 2112.01(a).
With respect to claim 9, Chacko is considered to disclose that said anode has a charge density above 200,000 CV/g. While Chacko does not mention charge densities for the anode, the Office notes that charge densities are physical properties for the materials used for the anode, and as such, are implicitly disclosed by the explicit recitation in Chacko of materials that are recited in the instant application. See also, MPEP 2112.01(a).
With respect to claim 10, Chacko is considered to disclose that said anode has a charge density above 250,000 CV/g. While Chacko does not mention charge densities for the anode, the Office notes that charge densities are physical properties for the materials used for the anode, and as such, are implicitly disclosed by the explicit recitation in Chacko of materials that are recited in the instant application. See also, MPEP 2112.01(a).
With respect to claim 11, Chacko is considered to disclose that said anode has a charge density of up to 350,000 CV/g. While Chacko does not mention charge densities for the anode, the Office notes that charge densities are physical properties for the materials used for the anode, and as such, are implicitly disclosed by the explicit recitation in Chacko of materials that are recited in the instant application. See also, MPEP 2112.01(a).
With respect to claim 12, Chacko discloses that at least one of said first solid electrolytic layer or said second solid electrolytic layer comprises a conductive polymer. See paragraph [0060].
With respect to claim 13, Chacko discloses that said conductive polymer is represented by Formula A:
wherein: R1 and R2 independently represent linear or branched C1-C16 alkyl, C2-C18 alkoxyalkyl C3-C8 cycloalkyl, phenyl or benzyl which are unsubstituted or substituted by C1-C6 alkyl, C1-C6 alkoxy, halogen or OR3; or R1 and R2, taken together, are linear C1-C6 alkylene which is unsubstituted or substituted by C1-C6 alkyl, C1-C6 alkoxy, halogen, C3-C8 cycloalkyl, phenyl,benzyl, C1-C4 alkylphenyl, C1-C4 alkoxyphenyl, halophenyl, C1-C4 alkylbenzyl, C1-C4 alkoxybenzyl or halobenzyl, 5-, 6-, or 7- membered heterocyclic structure containing two oxygen elements;R3 represents hydrogen, linear or branched C1-C16 alkyl or C2-C18 alkoxyalkyl, C3-C8 cycloalkyl, phenyl or benzyl which are unsubstituted or substituted by C1-C6 alkyl; X is S; and n is an integer of 2 to a number sufficient to reach an average molecular weight of about 500,000. See paragraph [0060].
With respect to claim 15, Chacko discloses that at least one of said first solid electrolytic layer or said second solid electrolytic layer comprises a polyanion. See paragraph [0057].
With respect to claim 16, Chacko discloses that at least one of the first solid electrolytic layer or the second solid electrolytic layer further comprises a cross- linker. See paragraph [0057].
With respect to claim 17, Chacko discloses that said cross-linker comprises at a reactive group selected from the group consisting of carboxylic, hydroxyl, amine, epoxy, anhydride, isocyanate, imide, amide, carboxyl, carboxylic anhydride, silane, oxazoline, (meth)acrylates, vinyls, maleates, maleimides, itaconates, allyl alcohol esters, dicyclo-pentadiene-based unsaturations, unsaturated C12-C22 fatty esters or amides, carboxylic acid salts, quaternary ammonium salts, polyester, polyurethane, polyamide, polyamine, polyimide, silicone polyester, hydroxyl functional silicone, hydroxyethyl cellulose, polyvinyl alcohol, phenolic, epoxy, butyral, copolymers of these or mixture of these multifunctional polymers such as epoxy/amine, epoxy/anhydride, isocyanate/amine, isocyanate/alcohol, unsaturated polyesters, vinyl esters, unsaturated polyester and vinyl ester blends, unsaturated polyester/urethane hybrid resins, polyurethane-ureas, reactive dicyclopentadiene resins and reactive polyamides. See at least, paragraph [0076].
With respect to claim 18, Chacko discloses a solid electrolytic capacitor (see abstract) with an improve capacitance stability comprising: an anode with a dielectric on said anode (see FIG. 1, elements 12 and 14, and paragraph [0036]); a cathode on said dielectric (see FIG. 1, elements 16 and 18, and paragraph [0036]) wherein said cathode comprises: a first solid electrolyte layer wherein said first solid electrolyte layer comprises a first polymer with a first glass transition temperature (see paragraph [0053], citing at least poly(ethylene oxide)); and a second solid electrolyte layer wherein said second solid electrolyte layer (see paragraph [0054], citing at least silicone, polyester, epoxy, polyimides and butyrals) comprises a second polymer with a second glass transition temperature which is higher than said first glass transition temperature (while Chacko does not mention glass transition temperatures, the Office notes that glass transition temperatures are physical properties for the materials used for the first and second solid electrolyte layer, and as such, are implicitly disclosed by the explicit recitation in Chacko of materials that are recited in the instant application. See also, MPEP 2112.01(a).
With respect to claim 19, Chacko discloses that said cathode further comprises an internal layer. See paragraph [0036], noting that the conductive polymer layers may include multiple layers of similar compositions.
With respect to claim 20, Chacko discloses that said first polymer is selected from the group consisting of: poly(triethyleneglycol methyl vinyl ether); poly[2-(2-ethoxy)ethoxyethyl vinyl ether]; poly(2-ethoxyethyl vinyl ether); poly(ethyl vinyl ether); poly(iso-propyl vinyl ether); poly(n-propyl vinyl ether); poly(n-butyl vinyl ether); poly(iso-butyl vinyl ether); poly(2-ethyl hexyl vinyl ether); poly(trimethylene carbonate-co-s- caprolactone); polytrimethylene oxide; poly(ethylene) oxide; poly(propylene oxide); poly(ethylene oxide)-co-poly(propylene oxide) copolymers; polyvinylidene fluoride; poly(vinylidene fluoride-hexafluoropropylene); poly(ethylene imine); poly(3-hydroxypropyl ethyleneimine); poly[bis((methoxyethoxy)ethoxy)phosphazene]; poly[bis{poly(ethylene glycol) methylether}phosphazene]; poly[bis{poly(oxyethylene(4)) laurylether}phosphazene] and oly[bis-((methoxyethoxy)ethoxy)phosphazene]. See paragraph [0053].
With respect to claim 21, Chacko discloses that said second polymer is selected from the group consisting of: polyester, polyurethane, polyamide, polyimide, silicone polyester, hydroxyl functional silicone, hydroxyethyl cellulose, polyvinyl alcohol, phenolic, epoxy, butyral, copolymers of these or mixture of these multifunctional polymers such as epoxy/amine, epoxy/anhydride, isocyanate/amine, isocyanate/alcohol, unsaturated polyesters, vinyl esters, unsaturated polyester and vinyl ester blends, unsaturated polyester/urethane hybrid resins, polyurethane-ureas, reactive dicyclopentadiene resins or reactive polyamides. See paragraph [0054].
With respect to claim 22, Chacko discloses that said anode comprises a material selected from the group consisting of niobium, aluminum, tantalum and NbO. See paragraph [0059].
With respect to claim 23, Chacko is considered to disclose that said anode has a charge density of at least 50,000 CV/g. While Chacko does not mention charge densities for the anode, the Office notes that charge densities are physical properties for the materials used for the anode, and as such, are implicitly disclosed by the explicit recitation in Chacko of materials that are recited in the instant application. See also, MPEP 2112.01(a).
With respect to claim 24, Chacko is considered to disclose that said anode has a charge density above 100,000 CV/g. While Chacko does not mention charge densities for the anode, the Office notes that charge densities are physical properties for the materials used for the anode, and as such, are implicitly disclosed by the explicit recitation in Chacko of materials that are recited in the instant application. See also, MPEP 2112.01(a).
With respect to claim 25, Chacko is considered to disclose that said anode has a charge density above 200,000 CV/g. While Chacko does not mention charge densities for the anode, the Office notes that charge densities are physical properties for the materials used for the anode, and as such, are implicitly disclosed by the explicit recitation in Chacko of materials that are recited in the instant application. See also, MPEP 2112.01(a).
With respect to claim 26, Chacko is considered to disclose that said anode has a charge density above 250,000 CV/g. While Chacko does not mention charge densities for the anode, the Office notes that charge densities are physical properties for the materials used for the anode, and as such, are implicitly disclosed by the explicit recitation in Chacko of materials that are recited in the instant application. See also, MPEP 2112.01(a).
With respect to claim 27, Chacko is considered to disclose that said anode has a charge density of up to 350,000 CV/g. While Chacko does not mention charge densities for the anode, the Office notes that charge densities are physical properties for the materials used for the anode, and as such, are implicitly disclosed by the explicit recitation in Chacko of materials that are recited in the instant application. See also, MPEP 2112.01(a).
With respect to claim 28, Chacko discloses that at least one of said first solid electrolytic layer or said second solid electrolytic layer comprises a conductive polymer. See paragraph [0060].
With respect to claim 29, Chacko discloses that said conductive polymer is represented by Formula A:
wherein: R1 and R2 independently represent linear or branched C1-C16 alkyl, C2-C18 alkoxyalkyl C3-C8 cycloalkyl, phenyl or benzyl which are unsubstituted or substituted by C1-C6 alkyl, C1-C6 alkoxy, halogen or OR3; or R1 and R2, taken together, are linear C1-C6 alkylene which is unsubstituted or substituted by C1-C6 alkyl, C1-C6 alkoxy, halogen, C3-C8 cycloalkyl, phenyl,benzyl, C1-C4 alkylphenyl, C1-C4 alkoxyphenyl, halophenyl, C1-C4 alkylbenzyl, C1-C4 alkoxybenzyl or halobenzyl, 5-, 6-, or 7- membered heterocyclic structure containing two oxygen elements;R3 represents hydrogen, linear or branched C1-C16 alkyl or C2-C18 alkoxyalkyl, C3-C8 cycloalkyl, phenyl or benzyl which are unsubstituted or substituted by C1-C6 alkyl; X is S; and n is an integer of 2 to a number sufficient to reach an average molecular weight of about 500,000. See paragraph [0060].
With respect to claim 31, Chacko discloses that at least one of said first solid electrolytic layer or said second solid electrolytic layer comprises a polyanion. See paragraph [0057].
With respect to claim 32, Chacko discloses that at least one of the first solid electrolytic layer or the second solid electrolytic layer further comprises a cross- linker. See paragraph [0057].
With respect to claim 33, Chacko discloses that said cross-linker comprises at a reactive group selected from the group consisting of carboxylic, hydroxyl, amine, epoxy, anhydride, isocyanate, imide, amide, carboxyl, carboxylic anhydride, silane, oxazoline, (meth)acrylates, vinyls, maleates, maleimides, itaconates, allyl alcohol esters, dicyclo-pentadiene-based unsaturations, unsaturated C12-C22 fatty esters or amides, carboxylic acid salts, quaternary ammonium salts, polyester, polyurethane, polyamide, polyamine, polyimide, silicone polyester, hydroxyl functional silicone, hydroxyethyl cellulose, polyvinyl alcohol, phenolic, epoxy, butyral, copolymers of these or mixture of these multifunctional polymers such as epoxy/amine, epoxy/anhydride, isocyanate/amine, isocyanate/alcohol, unsaturated polyesters, vinyl esters, unsaturated polyester and vinyl ester blends, unsaturated polyester/urethane hybrid resins, polyurethane-ureas, reactive dicyclopentadiene resins and reactive polyamides. See at least, paragraph [0076].
With respect to claim 34, Chacko is considered to disclose that said first solid electrolyte layer has an ionic conductivity which is higher than an ionic conductivity of said second solid electrolyte. While Chacko does not mention ionic conductivities, the Office notes that ionic conductivities are physical properties for the materials used for the first and second solid electrolyte layer, and as such, are implicitly disclosed by the explicit recitation in Chacko of materials that are recited in the instant application. See also, MPEP 2112.01(a).
With respect to claim 35, Chacko discloses a solid electrolytic capacitor (see abstract) with an improve capacitance stability comprising: an anode with a dielectric on said anode (see FIG. 1, elements 12 and 14, and paragraph [0036]); a cathode on said dielectric (see FIG. 1, elements 16 and 18, and paragraph [0036]) wherein said cathode comprises: a first solid electrolyte layer wherein said first solid electrolyte layer with a first ionic conductivity (see paragraph [0053], citing at least poly(ethylene oxide)); and a second solid electrolyte layer with a second ionic conductivity (see paragraph [0054], citing at least silicone, polyester, epoxy, polyimides and butyrals) wherein first ionic conductivity is higher than said second ionic conductivity. While Chacko does not mention ionic conductivity, the Office notes that ionic conductivities are physical properties for the materials used for the first and second solid electrolyte layer, and as such, are implicitly disclosed by the explicit recitation in Chacko of materials that are recited in the instant application. See also, MPEP 2112.01(a).
With respect to claim 36, Chacko discloses that said cathode further comprises an internal layer. See paragraph [0036], noting that the conductive polymer layers may include multiple layers of similar compositions.
With respect to claim 37, Chacko discloses that said first polymer is selected from the group consisting of: poly(triethyleneglycol methyl vinyl ether); poly[2-(2-ethoxy)ethoxyethyl vinyl ether]; poly(2-ethoxyethyl vinyl ether); poly(ethyl vinyl ether); poly(iso-propyl vinyl ether); poly(n-propyl vinyl ether); poly(n-butyl vinyl ether); poly(iso-butyl vinyl ether); poly(2-ethyl hexyl vinyl ether); poly(trimethylene carbonate-co-s- caprolactone); polytrimethylene oxide; poly(ethylene) oxide; poly(propylene oxide); poly(ethylene oxide)-co-poly(propylene oxide) copolymers; polyvinylidene fluoride; poly(vinylidene fluoride-hexafluoropropylene); poly(ethylene imine); poly(3-hydroxypropyl ethyleneimine); poly[bis((methoxyethoxy)ethoxy)phosphazene]; poly[bis{poly(ethylene glycol) methylether}phosphazene]; poly[bis{poly(oxyethylene(4)) laurylether}phosphazene] and oly[bis-((methoxyethoxy)ethoxy)phosphazene]. See paragraph [0053].
With respect to claim 38, Chacko discloses that said second polymer is selected from the group consisting of: polyester, polyurethane, polyamide, polyimide, silicone polyester, hydroxyl functional silicone, hydroxyethyl cellulose, polyvinyl alcohol, phenolic, epoxy, butyral, copolymers of these or mixture of these multifunctional polymers such as epoxy/amine, epoxy/anhydride, isocyanate/amine, isocyanate/alcohol, unsaturated polyesters, vinyl esters, unsaturated polyester and vinyl ester blends, unsaturated polyester/urethane hybrid resins, polyurethane-ureas, reactive dicyclopentadiene resins or reactive polyamides. See paragraph [0054].
With respect to claim 39, Chacko discloses that said anode comprises a material selected from the group consisting of niobium, aluminum, tantalum and NbO. See paragraph [0059].
With respect to claim 40, Chacko is considered to disclose that said anode has a charge density of at least 50,000 CV/g. While Chacko does not mention charge densities for the anode, the Office notes that charge densities are physical properties for the materials used for the anode, and as such, are implicitly disclosed by the explicit recitation in Chacko of materials that are recited in the instant application. See also, MPEP 2112.01(a).
With respect to claim 41, Chacko is considered to disclose that said anode has a charge density above 100,000 CV/g. While Chacko does not mention charge densities for the anode, the Office notes that charge densities are physical properties for the materials used for the anode, and as such, are implicitly disclosed by the explicit recitation in Chacko of materials that are recited in the instant application. See also, MPEP 2112.01(a).
With respect to claim 42, Chacko is considered to disclose that said anode has a charge density above 200,000 CV/g. While Chacko does not mention charge densities for the anode, the Office notes that charge densities are physical properties for the materials used for the anode, and as such, are implicitly disclosed by the explicit recitation in Chacko of materials that are recited in the instant application. See also, MPEP 2112.01(a).
With respect to claim 43, Chacko is considered to disclose that said anode has a charge density above 250,000 CV/g. While Chacko does not mention charge densities for the anode, the Office notes that charge densities are physical properties for the materials used for the anode, and as such, are implicitly disclosed by the explicit recitation in Chacko of materials that are recited in the instant application. See also, MPEP 2112.01(a).
With respect to claim 44, Chacko is considered to disclose that said anode has a charge density of up to 350,000 CV/g. While Chacko does not mention charge densities for the anode, the Office notes that charge densities are physical properties for the materials used for the anode, and as such, are implicitly disclosed by the explicit recitation in Chacko of materials that are recited in the instant application. See also, MPEP 2112.01(a).
With respect to claim 45, Chacko discloses that at least one of said first solid electrolytic layer or said second solid electrolytic layer comprises a conductive polymer. See paragraph [0060].
With respect to claim 46, Chacko discloses that said conductive polymer is represented by Formula A:
wherein: R1 and R2 independently represent linear or branched C1-C16 alkyl, C2-C18 alkoxyalkyl C3-C8 cycloalkyl, phenyl or benzyl which are unsubstituted or substituted by C1-C6 alkyl, C1-C6 alkoxy, halogen or OR3; or R1 and R2, taken together, are linear C1-C6 alkylene which is unsubstituted or substituted by C1-C6 alkyl, C1-C6 alkoxy, halogen, C3-C8 cycloalkyl, phenyl,benzyl, C1-C4 alkylphenyl, C1-C4 alkoxyphenyl, halophenyl, C1-C4 alkylbenzyl, C1-C4 alkoxybenzyl or halobenzyl, 5-, 6-, or 7- membered heterocyclic structure containing two oxygen elements;R3 represents hydrogen, linear or branched C1-C16 alkyl or C2-C18 alkoxyalkyl, C3-C8 cycloalkyl, phenyl or benzyl which are unsubstituted or substituted by C1-C6 alkyl; X is S; and n is an integer of 2 to a number sufficient to reach an average molecular weight of about 500,000. See paragraph [0060].
With respect to claim 48, Chacko discloses that at least one of said first solid electrolytic layer or said second solid electrolytic layer comprises a polyanion. See paragraph [0057].
With respect to claim 49, Chacko discloses that at least one of the first solid electrolytic layer or the second solid electrolytic layer further comprises a cross- linker. See paragraph [0057].
With respect to claim 50, Chacko discloses that said cross-linker comprises at a reactive group selected from the group consisting of carboxylic, hydroxyl, amine, epoxy, anhydride, isocyanate, imide, amide, carboxyl, carboxylic anhydride, silane, oxazoline, (meth)acrylates, vinyls, maleates, maleimides, itaconates, allyl alcohol esters, dicyclo-pentadiene-based unsaturations, unsaturated C12-C22 fatty esters or amides, carboxylic acid salts, quaternary ammonium salts, polyester, polyurethane, polyamide, polyamine, polyimide, silicone polyester, hydroxyl functional silicone, hydroxyethyl cellulose, polyvinyl alcohol, phenolic, epoxy, butyral, copolymers of these or mixture of these multifunctional polymers such as epoxy/amine, epoxy/anhydride, isocyanate/amine, isocyanate/alcohol, unsaturated polyesters, vinyl esters, unsaturated polyester and vinyl ester blends, unsaturated polyester/urethane hybrid resins, polyurethane-ureas, reactive dicyclopentadiene resins and reactive polyamides. See at least, paragraph [0076].
With respect to claim 51, Chacko discloses a solid electrolytic capacitor (see abstract) with an improve capacitance stability comprising: an anode with a dielectric on said anode (see FIG. 1, elements 12 and 14, and paragraph [0036]); a cathode on said dielectric (see FIG. 1, elements 16 and 18, and paragraph [0036]) wherein said cathode comprises: a first solid electrolyte layer wherein said first solid electrolyte layer with a glass transition temperature below 0°C (see paragraph [0053], citing at least poly(ethylene oxide)); and a second solid electrolyte layer wherein said second solid electrolyte layer with a glass transition temperature of at least 50°C (see paragraph [0054], citing at least silicone, polyester, epoxy, polyimides and butyrals); wherein after at least 50,000 surge cycles said solid electrolytic capacitor exhibits a capacitance loss of less than 15% (while Chacko does not mention capacitance loss, the Office notes that capacitance loss is a physical property of the explicitly recited structures in claim 51, and as such, are implicitly disclosed by the explicit recitation in Chacko of each of those same structures that are recited in the instant application. See also, MPEP 2112.01(a). While Chacko does not mention glass transition temperatures, the Office notes that glass transition temperatures are physical properties for the materials used for the first and second solid electrolyte layer, and as such, are implicitly disclosed by the explicit recitation in Chacko of materials that are recited in the instant application. See also, MPEP 2112.01(a).
With respect to claim 52, Chacko discloses that said cathode further comprises an internal layer. See paragraph [0036], noting that the conductive polymer layers may include multiple layers of similar compositions.
With respect to claim 53, Chacko discloses that said first solid electrolyte layer comprises a first polymer selected from the group consisting of: poly(triethyleneglycol methyl vinyl ether); poly[2-(2-ethoxy)ethoxyethyl vinyl ether]; poly(2-ethoxyethyl vinyl ether); poly(ethyl vinyl ether); poly(iso-propyl vinyl ether); poly(n-propyl vinyl ether); poly(n-butyl vinyl ether); poly(iso-butyl vinyl ether); poly(2-ethyl hexyl vinyl ether); poly(trimethylene carbonate-co-s- caprolactone); polytrimethylene oxide; poly(ethylene) oxide; poly(propylene oxide); poly(ethylene oxide)-co-poly(propylene oxide) copolymers; polyvinylidene fluoride; poly(vinylidene fluoride-hexafluoropropylene); poly(ethylene imine); poly(3-hydroxypropyl ethyleneimine); poly[bis((methoxyethoxy)ethoxy)phosphazene]; poly[bis{poly(ethylene glycol) methylether}phosphazene]; poly[bis{poly(oxyethylene(4)) laurylether}phosphazene] and oly[bis-((methoxyethoxy)ethoxy)phosphazene]. See paragraph [0053].
With respect to claim 54, Chacko discloses that said a second solid electrolyte layer comprises a second polymer selected from the group consisting of: polyester, polyurethane, polyamide, polyimide, silicone polyester, hydroxyl functional silicone, hydroxyethyl cellulose, polyvinyl alcohol, phenolic, epoxy, butyral, copolymers of these or mixture of these multifunctional polymers such as epoxy/amine, epoxy/anhydride, isocyanate/amine, isocyanate/alcohol, unsaturated polyesters, vinyl esters, unsaturated polyester and vinyl ester blends, unsaturated polyester/urethane hybrid resins, polyurethane-ureas, reactive dicyclopentadiene resins or reactive polyamides. See paragraph [0054].
With respect to claim 55, Chacko discloses that said anode comprises a material selected from the group consisting of niobium, aluminum, tantalum and NbO. See paragraph [0059].
With respect to claim 56, Chacko is considered to disclose that said anode has a charge density of at least 50,000 CV/g. While Chacko does not mention charge densities for the anode, the Office notes that charge densities are physical properties for the materials used for the anode, and as such, are implicitly disclosed by the explicit recitation in Chacko of materials that are recited in the instant application. See also, MPEP 2112.01(a).
With respect to claim 57, Chacko is considered to disclose that said anode has a charge density above 100,000 CV/g. While Chacko does not mention charge densities for the anode, the Office notes that charge densities are physical properties for the materials used for the anode, and as such, are implicitly disclosed by the explicit recitation in Chacko of materials that are recited in the instant application. See also, MPEP 2112.01(a).
With respect to claim 58, Chacko is considered to disclose that said anode has a charge density above 200,000 CV/g. While Chacko does not mention charge densities for the anode, the Office notes that charge densities are physical properties for the materials used for the anode, and as such, are implicitly disclosed by the explicit recitation in Chacko of materials that are recited in the instant application. See also, MPEP 2112.01(a).
With respect to claim 59, Chacko is considered to disclose that said anode has a charge density above 250,000 CV/g. While Chacko does not mention charge densities for the anode, the Office notes that charge densities are physical properties for the materials used for the anode, and as such, are implicitly disclosed by the explicit recitation in Chacko of materials that are recited in the instant application. See also, MPEP 2112.01(a).
With respect to claim 60, Chacko is considered to disclose that said anode has a charge density of up to 350,000 CV/g. While Chacko does not mention charge densities for the anode, the Office notes that charge densities are physical properties for the materials used for the anode, and as such, are implicitly disclosed by the explicit recitation in Chacko of materials that are recited in the instant application. See also, MPEP 2112.01(a).
With respect to claim 61, Chacko discloses that at least one of said first solid electrolytic layer or said second solid electrolytic layer comprises a conductive polymer. See paragraph [0060].
With respect to claim 62, Chacko discloses that said conductive polymer is represented by Formula A:
wherein: R1 and R2 independently represent linear or branched C1-C16 alkyl, C2-C18 alkoxyalkyl C3-C8 cycloalkyl, phenyl or benzyl which are unsubstituted or substituted by C1-C6 alkyl, C1-C6 alkoxy, halogen or OR3; or R1 and R2, taken together, are linear C1-C6 alkylene which is unsubstituted or substituted by C1-C6 alkyl, C1-C6 alkoxy, halogen, C3-C8 cycloalkyl, phenyl,benzyl, C1-C4 alkylphenyl, C1-C4 alkoxyphenyl, halophenyl, C1-C4 alkylbenzyl, C1-C4 alkoxybenzyl or halobenzyl, 5-, 6-, or 7- membered heterocyclic structure containing two oxygen elements;R3 represents hydrogen, linear or branched C1-C16 alkyl or C2-C18 alkoxyalkyl, C3-C8 cycloalkyl, phenyl or benzyl which are unsubstituted or substituted by C1-C6 alkyl; X is S; and n is an integer of 2 to a number sufficient to reach an average molecular weight of about 500,000. See paragraph [0060].
With respect to claim 64, Chacko discloses that at least one of said first solid electrolytic layer or said second solid electrolytic layer comprises a polyanion. See paragraph [0057].
With respect to claim 65, Chacko discloses that at least one of the first solid electrolytic layer or the second solid electrolytic layer further comprises a cross- linker. See paragraph [0057].
With respect to claim 66, Chacko discloses that said cross-linker comprises at a reactive group selected from the group consisting of carboxylic, hydroxyl, amine, epoxy, anhydride, isocyanate, imide, amide, carboxyl, carboxylic anhydride, silane, oxazoline, (meth)acrylates, vinyls, maleates, maleimides, itaconates, allyl alcohol esters, dicyclo-pentadiene-based unsaturations, unsaturated C12-C22 fatty esters or amides, carboxylic acid salts, quaternary ammonium salts, polyester, polyurethane, polyamide, polyamine, polyimide, silicone polyester, hydroxyl functional silicone, hydroxyethyl cellulose, polyvinyl alcohol, phenolic, epoxy, butyral, copolymers of these or mixture of these multifunctional polymers such as epoxy/amine, epoxy/anhydride, isocyanate/amine, isocyanate/alcohol, unsaturated polyesters, vinyl esters, unsaturated polyester and vinyl ester blends, unsaturated polyester/urethane hybrid resins, polyurethane-ureas, reactive dicyclopentadiene resins and reactive polyamides. See at least, paragraph [0076].
With respect to claim 67, Chacko discloses a method for forming a solid electrolytic capacitor comprising: forming a dielectric on an anode see FIG. 1, elements 12 and 14, and paragraph [0029]); and forming a cathode on said dielectric (see FIG. 1, elements 16 and 18, and paragraph [0029]) wherein said cathode comprises: forming a first solid electrolyte layer wherein said first solid electrolyte layer comprises a first polymer with a glass transition temperature below 0°C (see paragraphs [0029] and [0053], citing at least poly(ethylene oxide)); and forming a second solid electrolyte layer on said first solid electrolyte layer wherein said second solid electrolyte layer comprises a second polymer with a glass transition temperature of at least 50°C (see paragraphs [0029] and [0054], citing at least silicone, polyester, epoxy, polyimides and butyrals). While Chacko does not mention glass transition temperatures, the Office notes that glass transition temperatures are physical properties for the materials used for the first and second solid electrolyte layer, and as such, are implicitly disclosed by the explicit recitation in Chacko of materials that are recited in the instant application. See also, MPEP 2112.01(a).
With respect to claim 68, Chacko discloses forming an internal layer prior to said forming of said first solid electrolyte layer. See paragraph [0036], noting that the conductive polymer layers may include multiple layers of similar compositions.
With respect to claim 69, Chacko discloses that said first solid electrolyte layer comprises a first polymer selected from the group consisting of: poly(triethyleneglycol methyl vinyl ether); poly[2-(2-ethoxy)ethoxyethyl vinyl ether]; poly(2-ethoxyethyl vinyl ether); poly(ethyl vinyl ether); poly(iso-propyl vinyl ether); poly(n-propyl vinyl ether); poly(n-butyl vinyl ether); poly(iso-butyl vinyl ether); poly(2-ethyl hexyl vinyl ether); poly(trimethylene carbonate-co-s- caprolactone); polytrimethylene oxide; poly(ethylene) oxide; poly(propylene oxide); poly(ethylene oxide)-co-poly(propylene oxide) copolymers; polyvinylidene fluoride; poly(vinylidene fluoride-hexafluoropropylene); poly(ethylene imine); poly(3-hydroxypropyl ethyleneimine); poly[bis((methoxyethoxy)ethoxy)phosphazene]; poly[bis{poly(ethylene glycol) methylether}phosphazene]; poly[bis{poly(oxyethylene(4)) laurylether}phosphazene] and oly[bis-((methoxyethoxy)ethoxy)phosphazene]. See paragraph [0053].
With respect to claim 70, Chacko discloses that said a second solid electrolyte layer comprises a second polymer selected from the group consisting of: polyester, polyurethane, polyamide, polyimide, silicone polyester, hydroxyl functional silicone, hydroxyethyl cellulose, polyvinyl alcohol, phenolic, epoxy, butyral, copolymers of these or mixture of these multifunctional polymers such as epoxy/amine, epoxy/anhydride, isocyanate/amine, isocyanate/alcohol, unsaturated polyesters, vinyl esters, unsaturated polyester and vinyl ester blends, unsaturated polyester/urethane hybrid resins, polyurethane-ureas, reactive dicyclopentadiene resins or reactive polyamides. See paragraph [0054].
With respect to claim 71, Chacko discloses that said anode comprises a material selected from the group consisting of niobium, aluminum, tantalum and NbO. See paragraph [0059].
With respect to claim 72, Chacko is considered to disclose that said anode has a charge density of at least 50,000 CV/g. While Chacko does not mention charge densities for the anode, the Office notes that charge densities are physical properties for the materials used for the anode, and as such, are implicitly disclosed by the explicit recitation in Chacko of materials that are recited in the instant application. See also, MPEP 2112.01(a).
With respect to claim 73, Chacko is considered to disclose that said anode has a charge density above 100,000 CV/g. While Chacko does not mention charge densities for the anode, the Office notes that charge densities are physical properties for the materials used for the anode, and as such, are implicitly disclosed by the explicit recitation in Chacko of materials that are recited in the instant application. See also, MPEP 2112.01(a).
With respect to claim 74, Chacko is considered to disclose that said anode has a charge density above 200,000 CV/g. While Chacko does not mention charge densities for the anode, the Office notes that charge densities are physical properties for the materials used for the anode, and as such, are implicitly disclosed by the explicit recitation in Chacko of materials that are recited in the instant application. See also, MPEP 2112.01(a).
With respect to claim 75, Chacko is considered to disclose that said anode has a charge density above 250,000 CV/g. While Chacko does not mention charge densities for the anode, the Office notes that charge densities are physical properties for the materials used for the anode, and as such, are implicitly disclosed by the explicit recitation in Chacko of materials that are recited in the instant application. See also, MPEP 2112.01(a).
With respect to claim 76, Chacko is considered to disclose that said anode has a charge density of up to 350,000 CV/g. While Chacko does not mention charge densities for the anode, the Office notes that charge densities are physical properties for the materials used for the anode, and as such, are implicitly disclosed by the explicit recitation in Chacko of materials that are recited in the instant application. See also, MPEP 2112.01(a).
With respect to claim 77, Chacko discloses that at least one of said first solid electrolytic layer or said second solid electrolytic layer comprises a conductive polymer. See paragraph [0060].
With respect to claim 78, Chacko discloses that said conductive polymer is represented by Formula A:
wherein: R1 and R2 independently represent linear or branched C1-C16 alkyl, C2-C18 alkoxyalkyl C3-C8 cycloalkyl, phenyl or benzyl which are unsubstituted or substituted by C1-C6 alkyl, C1-C6 alkoxy, halogen or OR3; or R1 and R2, taken together, are linear C1-C6 alkylene which is unsubstituted or substituted by C1-C6 alkyl, C1-C6 alkoxy, halogen, C3-C8 cycloalkyl, phenyl,benzyl, C1-C4 alkylphenyl, C1-C4 alkoxyphenyl, halophenyl, C1-C4 alkylbenzyl, C1-C4 alkoxybenzyl or halobenzyl, 5-, 6-, or 7- membered heterocyclic structure containing two oxygen elements;R3 represents hydrogen, linear or branched C1-C16 alkyl or C2-C18 alkoxyalkyl, C3-C8 cycloalkyl, phenyl or benzyl which are unsubstituted or substituted by C1-C6 alkyl; X is S; and n is an integer of 2 to a number sufficient to reach an average molecular weight of about 500,000. See paragraph [0060].
With respect to claim 80, Chacko discloses that at least one of said first solid electrolytic layer or said second solid electrolytic layer comprises a polyanion. See paragraph [0057].
With respect to claim 81, Chacko discloses that at least one of the first solid electrolytic layer or the second solid electrolytic layer further comprises a cross- linker. See paragraph [0057].
With respect to claim 82, Chacko discloses that said cross-linker comprises at a reactive group selected from the group consisting of carboxylic, hydroxyl, amine, epoxy, anhydride, isocyanate, imide, amide, carboxyl, carboxylic anhydride, silane, oxazoline, (meth)acrylates, vinyls, maleates, maleimides, itaconates, allyl alcohol esters, dicyclo-pentadiene-based unsaturations, unsaturated C12-C22 fatty esters or amides, carboxylic acid salts, quaternary ammonium salts, polyester, polyurethane, polyamide, polyamine, polyimide, silicone polyester, hydroxyl functional silicone, hydroxyethyl cellulose, polyvinyl alcohol, phenolic, epoxy, butyral, copolymers of these or mixture of these multifunctional polymers such as epoxy/amine, epoxy/anhydride, isocyanate/amine, isocyanate/alcohol, unsaturated polyesters, vinyl esters, unsaturated polyester and vinyl ester blends, unsaturated polyester/urethane hybrid resins, polyurethane-ureas, reactive dicyclopentadiene resins and reactive polyamides. See at least, paragraph [0076].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14, 30, 47, 63, and 79 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chacko (US Pat. App. Pub. No. 2012/0300370) in view of Shi et al. (US Pat. App. Pub. No. 2018/0330888).
With respect to claim 14, Chacko fails to explicitly teach that said conductive polymer is 3,4,polyethylene dioxythiophene.
Shi, on the other hand, teaches that said conductive polymer is 3,4,polyethylene dioxythiophene. See paragraph [0024]. Such a modification is well-known for forming conductive polymer layers in a solid electrolytic capacitor having improved capacitance and ESR. See paragraphs [0008] and [0011].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Chacko, as taught by Shi, in order to form a capacitor having improved capacitance and ESR.
With respect to claim 30, Chacko fails to explicitly teach that said conductive polymer is 3,4,polyethylene dioxythiophene.
Shi, on the other hand, teaches that said conductive polymer is 3,4,polyethylene dioxythiophene. See paragraph [0024]. Such a modification is well-known for forming conductive polymer layers in a solid electrolytic capacitor having improved capacitance and ESR. See paragraphs [0008] and [0011].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Chacko, as taught by Shi, in order to form a capacitor having improved capacitance and ESR.47. The solid electrolytic capacitor of claim 46 wherein said conductive polymer is 3,4,polyethylene dioxythiophene.
With respect to claim 47, Chacko fails to explicitly teach that said conductive polymer is 3,4,polyethylene dioxythiophene.
Shi, on the other hand, teaches that said conductive polymer is 3,4,polyethylene dioxythiophene. See paragraph [0024]. Such a modification is well-known for forming conductive polymer layers in a solid electrolytic capacitor having improved capacitance and ESR. See paragraphs [0008] and [0011].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Chacko, as taught by Shi, in order to form a capacitor having improved capacitance and ESR.
With respect to claim 63, Chacko fails to explicitly teach that said conductive polymer is 3,4,polyethylene dioxythiophene.
Shi, on the other hand, teaches that said conductive polymer is 3,4,polyethylene dioxythiophene. See paragraph [0024]. Such a modification is well-known for forming conductive polymer layers in a solid electrolytic capacitor having improved capacitance and ESR. See paragraphs [0008] and [0011].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Chacko, as taught by Shi, in order to form a capacitor having improved capacitance and ESR.79. The method for forming a solid electrolytic capacitor of claim 78 wherein said conductive polymer is 3,4,polyethylene dioxythiophene.
With respect to claim 79, Chacko fails to explicitly teach that said conductive polymer is 3,4,polyethylene dioxythiophene.
Shi, on the other hand, teaches that said conductive polymer is 3,4,polyethylene dioxythiophene. See paragraph [0024]. Such a modification is well-known for forming conductive polymer layers in a solid electrolytic capacitor having improved capacitance and ESR. See paragraphs [0008] and [0011].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Chacko, as taught by Shi, in order to form a capacitor having improved capacitance and ESR.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Bunha et al. (US 2019/00267194) and CN 114207754 each disclose solid electrolytic capacitors having a plurality of solid electrolyte layers, but do not specify the glass transition temperatures for those solid electrolyte layers.
/DION R. FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848