DETAILED ACTION
This action is a response to an application filed on 2/14/24 in which claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8, 11, 15, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi et al. (Pub. No.: 2025/0227617), herein Yi and Hwang et al. (Pub. No.: 2019/0239189), herein Hwang.
As to claim 1, Yi teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memories (Yi [0289] memory); and
one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors individually or collectively configured to (Yi [0289] processor):
receive a plurality of bits corresponding to one or more of an uplink wakeup signal (UL-WUS) configuration or a remaining minimum system information (RMSI) configuration (Yi [0015] The method includes transmitting, on a cell of the base station, configuration information regarding an uplink (UL) wake up signal (WUS) for at least one cell, to a user equipment, receiving, via physical random access channel (PRACH), the UL WUS based on the configuration information and [0257] As shown above, DCI includes multiple blocks for each SCell, and in this case, the number of blocks may be determined according to the number of activated SCells, or candidate SCells belonging to a secondary cell group. The UE may determine the location of the block (i.e., a starting location of a bit) for each SCell, based on information configured by higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling), or may determine the location of the block, based on a SCell index. For example, when the SCell index is configured as {1, 2, 3, 7}, {1, 2, 3, 7} may be allocated to block 1 to block 4, from a small SCell index. Here, each block may include a bit indicating whether to activate the on-demand operation in a corresponding SCell. For example, in consideration of on-demand SSB and SIB, two bits, i.e., “00” may indicate deactivated, “01” may indicate on-demand SSB activation, “10” may indicate on-demand SIB1 activation, and “11” may indicate on-demand SSB and SIB1 activation. Also, after the bit indicating the activation information, a bit indicating WUS configuration information and on-demand pattern information may be included.);
transmit an UL-WUS based at least in part on the plurality of bits corresponding to the UL-WUS configuration (Yi [0015] receiving, via physical random access channel (PRACH), the UL WUS based on the configuration information); and
receive an on-demand system information block (SIB) based at least in part on the UL-WUS (Yi [0015] receiving, via physical random access channel (PRACH), the UL WUS based on the configuration information, and transmitting an on-demand system information block (SIB) on the at least one cell, based on the UL WUS)
Yi does not teach
receive a flag associated with an interpretation of the plurality of bits
However Hwang does teach
receive a flag associated with an interpretation of the plurality of bits (Hwang [0285] When information indicating system information update is included, DCI may employ a one-bit flag to indicate whether the WUS is for a wake-up (or go-to-sleep) use or is for indicating system information update)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yi and Hwang, because Hwang teaches us [0286] If this bit serves the same as a flag, information represented by the remaining bits may vary depending on the bit represented by the flag. For example, the number of bits for determining a wireless device group or an NPDCCH monitoring interval may be defined differently according to a corresponding flag.
As to claim 15, Yi teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more memories (Yi Fig. 24 memory); and
one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors individually or collectively configured to (Yi Fig. 24 processor):
transmit a plurality of bits corresponding to one or more of an uplink wakeup signal (UL-WUS) configuration or a remaining minimum system information (RMSI) configuration (Yi [0015] The method includes transmitting, on a cell of the base station, configuration information regarding an uplink (UL) wake up signal (WUS) for at least one cell, to a user equipment, receiving, via physical random access channel (PRACH), the UL WUS based on the configuration information and [0257] As shown above, DCI includes multiple blocks for each SCell, and in this case, the number of blocks may be determined according to the number of activated SCells, or candidate SCells belonging to a secondary cell group. The UE may determine the location of the block (i.e., a starting location of a bit) for each SCell, based on information configured by higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling), or may determine the location of the block, based on a SCell index. For example, when the SCell index is configured as {1, 2, 3, 7}, {1, 2, 3, 7} may be allocated to block 1 to block 4, from a small SCell index. Here, each block may include a bit indicating whether to activate the on-demand operation in a corresponding SCell. For example, in consideration of on-demand SSB and SIB, two bits, i.e., “00” may indicate deactivated, “01” may indicate on-demand SSB activation, “10” may indicate on-demand SIB1 activation, and “11” may indicate on-demand SSB and SIB1 activation. Also, after the bit indicating the activation information, a bit indicating WUS configuration information and on-demand pattern information may be included.);
receive an UL-WUS based at least in part on the plurality of bits corresponding to the UL-WUS configuration (Yi [0015] receiving, via physical random access channel (PRACH), the UL WUS based on the configuration information); and
transmit an on-demand system information block (SIB) based at least in part on the UL-WUS (Yi [0015] receiving, via physical random access channel (PRACH), the UL WUS based on the configuration information, and transmitting an on-demand system information block (SIB) on the at least one cell, based on the UL WUS)
Yi does not teach
receive a flag associated with an interpretation of the plurality of bits
However Hwang does teach
receive a flag associated with an interpretation of the plurality of bits (Hwang [0285] When information indicating system information update is included, DCI may employ a one-bit flag to indicate whether the WUS is for a wake-up (or go-to-sleep) use or is for indicating system information update)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yi and Hwang for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
As to claim 20, Yi teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving a plurality of bits corresponding to one or more of an uplink wakeup signal (UL-WUS) configuration or a remaining minimum system information (RMSI) configuration (Yi [0015] The method includes transmitting, on a cell of the base station, configuration information regarding an uplink (UL) wake up signal (WUS) for at least one cell, to a user equipment, receiving, via physical random access channel (PRACH), the UL WUS based on the configuration information and [0257] As shown above, DCI includes multiple blocks for each SCell, and in this case, the number of blocks may be determined according to the number of activated SCells, or candidate SCells belonging to a secondary cell group. The UE may determine the location of the block (i.e., a starting location of a bit) for each SCell, based on information configured by higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling), or may determine the location of the block, based on a SCell index. For example, when the SCell index is configured as {1, 2, 3, 7}, {1, 2, 3, 7} may be allocated to block 1 to block 4, from a small SCell index. Here, each block may include a bit indicating whether to activate the on-demand operation in a corresponding SCell. For example, in consideration of on-demand SSB and SIB, two bits, i.e., “00” may indicate deactivated, “01” may indicate on-demand SSB activation, “10” may indicate on-demand SIB1 activation, and “11” may indicate on-demand SSB and SIB1 activation. Also, after the bit indicating the activation information, a bit indicating WUS configuration information and on-demand pattern information may be included.);
transmitting an UL-WUS based at least in part on the plurality of bits corresponding to the UL-WUS configuration (Yi [0015] receiving, via physical random access channel (PRACH), the UL WUS based on the configuration information); and
receiving an on-demand system information block (SIB) based at least in part on the UL-WUS (Yi [0015] receiving, via physical random access channel (PRACH), the UL WUS based on the configuration information, and transmitting an on-demand system information block (SIB) on the at least one cell, based on the UL WUS)
Yi does not teach
receiving a flag associated with an interpretation of the plurality of bits;
However Hwang does teach
receiving a flag associated with an interpretation of the plurality of bits (Hwang [0285] When information indicating system information update is included, DCI may employ a one-bit flag to indicate whether the WUS is for a wake-up (or go-to-sleep) use or is for indicating system information update)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yi and Hwang for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
As to claim 2, the combination of Yi and Hwang teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to: receive a master information block (MIB) in a synchronization signal block (SSB) that includes the plurality of bits, wherein the plurality of bits conveys the UL-WUS configuration based at least in part on no RMSI transmission being triggered (Hwang [0131] When information is expressed using a WUS, the information may be used to indicate the update of system information (e.g., an MIB or SIB))
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yi and Hwang for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
As to claim 3, the combination of Yi and Hwang teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to: receive the flag in a master information block (MIB), a primary synchronization signal (PSS), a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), a demodulation reference signal (DMRS), or via an implicit index modulation (Hwang [0131] When information is expressed using a WUS, the information may be used to indicate the update of system information (e.g., an MIB or SIB))
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yi and Hwang for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
As to claim 4, the combination of Yi and Hwang teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the UL-WUS configuration is based at least in part on a set of preconfigured or indicated configurations (Yi [0018] The operations include receiving, on a cell of a base station, configuration information regarding an uplink (UL) wake up signal (WUS) for at least one cell, transmitting, via physical random access channel (PRACH), the UL WUS based on the configuration information, and receiving an on-demand system information block (SIB) on the at least one cell, based on the UL WUS)
As to claim 5, the combination of Yi and Hwang teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to: receive a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission that includes the plurality of bits, wherein the plurality of bits conveys the UL-WUS configuration based at least in part on no RMSI transmission being triggered (Hwang [0191] When the first example, the second example, and the third example described above are used and a WUS is designed as a physical channel using DCI, the bit size of a corresponding DCI format may be set to be the same as the bit size of a DCI format for an NPDCCH transmitted in a PO used for a WUSO)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yi and Hwang for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
As to claim 8, the combination of Yi and Hwang teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) carrying an UL-WUS configuration and a PDCCH carrying a SIB are associated with different PDCCH monitoring occasions (Yi The method includes receiving, on a cell of a base station, configuration information regarding an uplink (UL) wake up signal (WUS) for at least one cell, transmitting, via physical random access channel (PRACH), the UL WUS based on the configuration information, and receiving an on-demand system information block (SIB) on the at least one cell, based on the UL WUS)
As to claim 11, the combination of Yi and Hwang teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the on-demand SIB is received for a preconfigured or indicated number of periods (Yi [0257] on-demand pattern information may be included); or the on-demand SIB is received in a requested beam direction.
As to claim 16, the combination of Yi and Hwang teach the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to: transmit a master information block (MIB) in a synchronization signal block (SSB) that includes the plurality of bits, wherein the plurality of bits conveys the UL-WUS configuration based at least in part on no RMSI transmission being triggered (Yi [0207] In the descriptions of the disclosure, higher layer signaling may be signaling corresponding to at least one of or a combination of signaling methods below. [0208] Master information block (MIB) and Fig. 21 WUS by higher layer signaling); and transmit the flag in a master information block (MIB), a primary synchronization signal (PSS), a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), a demodulation reference signal (DMRS), or via an implicit index modulation (Hwang [0286] a flag designating wake-up or go-to-sleep may be set to be selectively identified after reading the flag indicating system information update. This is because, if the WUS is used to indicate system information update, a wireless device detecting the WUS does not need to select a wake-up or go-to-sleep operation and the content of the DCI also varies)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yi and Hwang for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
Claim(s) 6 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi, Hwang and Si et al. (Pub. No.: 2021/0235419), herein Si.
As to claim 6, Yi and Hwang teach the apparatus of claim 1,
Yi nor Hwang teach
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to: receive the flag in a primary synchronization signal (PSS), a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), a demodulation reference signal (DMRS), or a physical broadcast channel (PBCH).
However Si does teach
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to: receive the flag in a primary synchronization signal (PSS), a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), a demodulation reference signal (DMRS), or a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) (Si [0258] In one example, the indication of operation with shared spectrum channel access or not can be with 1 bit in the payload of PBCH)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yi and Hwang with Si, because Si teaches us the 1-bit indication can be a re-interpretation of one bit in the payload of PBCH (Si [0258])
As to claim 14, the combination of Yi, Hwang and Si teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the flag is indicated using a reserved value of an SSB parameter (Si [0258] In one example, the indication of operation with shared spectrum channel access or not can be with 1 bit in the payload of PBCH)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yi and Hwang with Si for the same reasons stated in claim 6.
As to claim 17, the combination of Yi, Hwang and Si teach the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to: transmit a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission that includes the plurality of bits, wherein the plurality of bits conveys the UL-WUS configuration based at least in part on no RMSI transmission being triggered (Hwang [0191] When the first example, the second example, and the third example described above are used and a WUS is designed as a physical channel using DCI, the bit size of a corresponding DCI format may be set to be the same as the bit size of a DCI format for an NPDCCH transmitted in a PO used for a WUSO) and transmit the flag in a primary synchronization signal (PSS), a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), a demodulation reference signal (DMRS), or a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) ) (Si [0258] In one example, the indication of operation with shared spectrum channel access or not can be with 1 bit in the payload of PBCH)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yi and Hwang for the same reasons stated in claim 1 and with Si for the same reasons stated in claim 6.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi, Hwang and He et al. (Pub. No.: 2019/0254110), herein He.
As to claim 7, the combination of Yi and Hwang teach the apparatus of claim 1,
Yi nor Hwang teach
wherein a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) carrying an UL-WUS configuration and a PDCCH carrying a SIB are associated with same PDCCH monitoring occasions.
However He does teach
wherein a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) carrying an UL-WUS configuration and a PDCCH carrying a SIB are associated with same PDCCH monitoring occasions (He [0172] If a SIB, or a DCI format scheduling a PDSCH for a SIB reception is used for WUS to indicate all PDCCH transmissions conveying respective DCI formats scheduling receptions of respective PDSCHs with paging messages in one SIB modification period, one WUS every SIB modification period is used to indicate all the associated paging occasions in a SIB modification period)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yi and Hwang with He, because He teaches us [0174] All paging occasions associated with a SS/PBCH block periodicity or a SIB monitoring window are indicated by the WUS in the corresponding SS/PBCH block periodicity or SIB monitoring window)
Claim(s) 12 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi, Hwang and Sedlacek et al. (Pub. No.: 2023/0403547), herein Sedlacek.
As to claim 12, the combination of Yi and Hwang teach the apparatus of claim 1,
Hwang nor Yi teach
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to: receive a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission that includes the plurality of bits, wherein the PDCCH transmission further indicates minimum required information for determining whether a cell is suitable for camping by a user equipment (UE), and the minimum required information is associated with a public land mobile network (PLMN) identifier (ID) and access related information
However Sedlacek does teach
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to: receive a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission that includes the plurality of bits, wherein the PDCCH transmission further indicates minimum required information for determining whether a cell is suitable for camping by a user equipment (UE), and the minimum required information is associated with a public land mobile network (PLMN) identifier (ID) and access related information (Sedlacek [0083] the UE registered to a PLMN may determine that this PLMN is unable to provide a service due to a disaster condition and may instead determine another PLMN that may provide a service)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yi and Hwang with Sedlacek, because Sedlacek teaches us [0084] the broadcasting of the “disaster condition identified” by an impacted PLMN may assist in quicker determination of failing service by UEs registered to the impacted PLMN.
Claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 12.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 10, 13 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
AYANAH S. GEORGE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2467
/AYANAH S GEORGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467