DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed July 27th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-3 and 5-21 are pending. Claims 1, 6 and 9 have been amended, claim 4 has been canceled and claims 19-21 have been added by the Applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-8 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al, CN 108597941 [Tang] in view of Yang, KR 20220147380.
Regarding claim 1, Tang discloses (figs.1-3) an arc chute apparatus (20) comprising:
a housing (22) that extends from a first end (labeled in fig.1, below) to a second end (labeled in fig.1, below), the housing (22) comprising a first sidewall (221), a second sidewall (221), and an arc runner (222), the arc runner (222) comprising: a base portion (222) integral with the housing (22) and extending between the first sidewall (221) and the second sidewall (221); and a tab (223) that extends from the base portion (222) and is configured to be oriented toward an electrical contact (10) of a switching device, where the arc runner (222) comprises a ferrous material and is closer to the first end (labeled in fig.1, below) of the housing (22) than to the second end (labeled in fig.1, below) of the housing (22);
an arc guide (labeled in fig.1, below) between the first sidewall (221) and the second sidewall (221), the arc guide (labeled in fig.1, below) comprising a guide plate (labeled in fig.1, below) that extends between the first sidewall (221) and the second sidewall (221), and a retention portion(labeled in fig.1, below) that extends toward the second end of the housing (22); and
mounting features (labeled in fig.1, below) configured to hold a plurality of ferrous plates(222) in a spaced apart arrangement in the housing (22) between the first sidewall (221) and the second sidewall (221) and between the arc guide (labeled in fig.1, above) and the arc runner (222).
Tang fails to disclose an ablative insert in the housing.
Yang discloses (figs.4 and 8) an arc chute apparatus (100) comprising an ablative insert (111) in a housing (cover, 120 and sides 110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arc chute apparatus of Tang with the inclusion of the ablative insert of Yang, thereby providing a gassing material that emits molecules for arc extinguishing when heated by an arc, thus results in rapid extinguishing of the arcs, preventing damage or deformation of the arc chute housing.
Regarding claim 2, Tang further discloses where the base portion (222) is planar and the tab (223) extends in a different plane than the base portion (222) [see fig.1].
Regarding claim 5, Tang and Yang further disclose where the ablative insert (Yang, 111)
comprises a first ablative insert (111) adjacent to a first sidewall (Yang, 110), and a second ablative insert (111) adjacent to a second sidewall (110).
Regarding claim 6, Tang and Yang further disclose where the mounting features are
openings (111a, 111b) in the first ablative insert (111) and openings (111a, 111b) in the second ablative insert (111).
Regarding claim 7, Tang and Yang further disclose where the mounting features comprise: a
first mounting plate (Yang, 111) on an inner side of a first sidewall (Yang, 110), a second mounting plate (111) on an inner side of a second sidewall (110).
Regarding claim 8, Tang and Yang further disclose where the first mounting plate (Yang, 111)
and the second mounting plate (Yang, 111) are identical and include a plurality of openings (111a, 111b) each configured to receive a mounting portion (131) of a ferrous plate (130).
Regarding claim 21, Tang further discloses where the retention portion (labeled in fig.1, above) extends from the guide plate (labeled in fig.1, above) at an angle, the angle being greater than 90 degrees and less than 180 degrees.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang and Yang and further in view of DiMarco et al, US 6248970 [DiMarco].
Regarding claim 3, Tang and Yang fail to disclose wherein the tab extends perpendicularly from the base portion.
DiMarco discloses (figs.5-6) an arc chute apparatus (105) comprising a tab (118) extends perpendicularly from a base portion (see fig.10, below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the arc chute apparatus of Tang with the teaching of the arc runner of DiMarco, thereby providing a tab extending perpendicularly from a base portion, thus readily attracting the electrical arc created at the static contact, protecting the critical surface of the contact.
Claims 9-12 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DiMarco in view of Tang.
Regarding claim 9, DiMarco discloses (figs.1-11) a switching device (10) comprising:
a first electrical contact (44);
a second electrical contact (42) configured to move relative to the first electrical contact (44); and an arc chute apparatus (105) comprising:
a housing (labeled in fig.5, above) comprising a first sidewall (106), a second sidewall (107), and an arc runner (116), the arc runner (116) comprising: a base portion (labeled in fig.10, above) integral with the housing (labeled in fig.5, above) and extending between the first sidewall (106) and the second sidewall (107); and a tab (118) that extends from the base portion (labeled in fig.10, above) and is configured to be oriented toward one or more of the first electrical contact (44) and the second electrical contact (42), where the arc runner (116) comprises a ferrous material [col.6, lines 44-49].
DiMarco fails to explicitly disclose wherein the housing is configured to mount directly to the first electrical contact.
Tang discloses (figs.1-3) a housing (22) configured to mount directly to a first electrical contact (10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the housing of DiMarco with the inclusion of the teaching of the housing of Tang, thereby directly connected to the arc chute housing to the static electrical contact.
Regarding claim 10, DiMarco further comprising mounting features configured to hold a plurality of ferrous plates (58) between the first sidewall (106) and the second sidewall (107).
Regarding claim 11, DiMarco further discloses where the arc chute apparatus (105) further comprises an arc guide (fig.8), and mounting features configured to hold the plurality of ferrous plates (58) between the arc guide (fig.8) and the arc runner (116).
Regarding claim 12, DiMarco and Tang further disclose where an arc chute apparatus (Tang,22) is configured to be mounted to the first electrical contact (10).
Regarding claim 15, DiMarco discloses (figs.1-11) a housing assembly (labeled in fig.5, above) for an arc chute (105), the housing assembly (labeled in fig.5, above) comprising:
a first sidewall (106);
a second sidewall (107); interior mounting features configured to hold a plurality of ferrous plates (58) between an interior side of the first sidewall (106) and an interior side of the second sidewall (107); and an arc runner (116) comprising: a base portion (labeled in fig.10, above) and a tab (118) that extends from the base portion (labeled in fig.10, above), the base portion (labeled in fig.10, above) is integrally attached to the interior side of the first sidewall (106) and the interior side of the second sidewall (107), the base portion (labeled in fig.5, above) and the tab (118) comprise a ferrous material [col.6, lines 44-49], and the tab (118) is configured to be positioned toward an arc generating location (56) of the switching apparatus (10).
DiMarco fails to explicitly disclose wherein an exterior of the housing assembly is configured for mounting to an electrical contact of a switching apparatus.
Tang discloses (figs.1-3) a housing (22) configured for mounting to electrical contact (10) of a switching apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the housing of DiMarco with the inclusion of the teaching of the housing of Tang, thereby connected to the arc chute housing to the static electrical contact.
Regarding claim 16, DiMarco further comprising an arc guide [see fig.8].
Regarding claim 19, DiMarco and Tang further comprising mounting assembly (Tang, 231) attached to one of a first sidewall (221) and a second sidewall (221), the mounting assembly (231) configured to attach directly to the electrical contact (10) [see fig.2].
Regarding claim 20, DiMarco and Tang further comprising a mounting block (Tang, 231) attached to an inner side of one of the first sidewall (221) and the second sidewall (221), the mounting block (231) configured to directly attach to a stationary contact (10) of the switching apparatus.
Claims 13-14 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DiMarco and Tang and further in view of Yang.
Regarding claim 13, DiMarco and Tang fail to disclose wherein the arc chute apparatus further comprises an ablative insert in the housing.
Yang discloses (figs.4 and 8) an arc chute apparatus (100) comprising an ablative insert (111) in a housing (cover, 120 and sides 110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arc chute apparatus of Tang with the inclusion of the ablative insert of Yang, thereby providing a gassing material that emits molecules for arc extinguishing when heated by an arc, thus results in rapid extinguishing of the arcs, preventing damage or deformation of the arc chute housing.
Regarding claim 14, Yang further discloses where the ablative insert (111) comprises a first
ablative insert (111) adjacent to a first sidewall (110), and a second ablative insert (111) adjacent to a second sidewall (110).
Regarding claim 17, DiMarco and Tang fail to disclose an ablative insert.
Yang discloses (figs.4 and 8) an arc chute apparatus (100) comprising an ablative insert (111) in a housing (cover, 120 and sides 110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arc chute apparatus of Tang with the inclusion of the ablative insert of Yang, thereby providing a gassing material that emits molecules for arc extinguishing when heated by an arc, thus results in rapid extinguishing of the arcs, preventing damage or deformation of the arc chute housing.
Regarding claim 18, Yang further discloses where an interior mounting features comprise openings (111a) in the ablative insert (111).
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ amendments and arguments filed July 27th, 2026 have been fully considered. All relevant arguments have been fully addressed in the new rejections above.
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicants are reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM A BOLTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831