DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-9, 11-13 and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0373674 (hereinafter Xu) and further in view of Song et al. U.S. Patent No. 6,064,564 (hereinafter Song).
Consider claim 1, Xu teaches a modular mounting system for a keyboard comprising (Figure 1, elements 1, 7): a keyboard case (Figure 1, elements 1, 7), wherein the keyboard case comprises a plurality of connection points disposed on a perimeter of the keyboard case (Figure 10, elements 21); a plurality of gasket modules (Figure 2, element 2), wherein each of the plurality of gasket modules comprises at least a top portion and a bottom portion (Figure 2, element 2 comprises a plurality of portions including a top and bottom portion) and is configured to removably connect to one or more of the connection points ([0037], long flexible strip 2 and groove 21); and a switch plate (Figure 2, element 3), wherein the switch plate is configured to rest on the plurality of gasket modules ([0034] and figure 2, the long flexible strip 2 is mounted on all sides of the key locking plate 3).
Xu does not appear to specifically disclose the switch plate is configured to rest on a top surface of each of the plurality of gasket modules such that the plurality of gasket modules support an underside of the switch plate.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Song teaches a removed keyboard assembly (abstract) and further teaches the switch plate (Figure 2, 70) is configured to rest on a top surface of each of the plurality of gasket modules such that the plurality of gasket modules support an underside of the switch plate (Figure 2 and figure 4, 90).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to support an underside as shown in Song’s figure 2 with the benefit that support structure 68 is then removably retained in the recess 30 as suggested in column 4, lines 7-12.
Consider claim 2, Xu and Song teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Xu teaches wherein each of the plurality of connection points comprises at least one opening (Figure 10, elements 21), and wherein the bottom portion of each of the plurality of gasket modules comprises at least one protrusion (Figure 10, elements 2).
Consider claim 3, Xu and Song teach all the limitations of claim 1.
Xu does not appear to specifically disclose wherein each of the plurality of connection points comprises at least one protrusion, and wherein the bottom portion of each of the plurality of gasket modules comprises at least one opening.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Song teaches a removed keyboard assembly (abstract) and further teaches wherein each of the plurality of connection points comprises at least one protrusion (Figure 2, 88), and wherein the bottom portion of each of the plurality of gasket modules comprises at least one opening (Figure 2, 90).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide protrusions and opening as shown in Song’s figure 2 with the benefit that support structure 68 is then removably retained in the recess 30 as suggested in column 4, lines 7-12.
Consider claim 5, Xu and Song teach all the limitations of claim 1.
Xu does not appear to specifically disclose a plurality of switch plate locators, wherein each of the plurality of switch plate locators is configured to removably connect to one or more of the connection points.
However, Song teaches a plurality of switch plate locators (Figure 2, element 90), wherein each of the plurality of switch plate locators is configured to removably connect to one or more of the connection points (Figure 2, elements 90, 42, 88).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide locators as shown in Song’s figure 2 with the benefit that support structure 68 is then removably retained in the recess 30 as suggested in column 4, lines 7-12.
Consider claim 6, Xu and Song teach all the limitations of claim 5. In addition, Song teaches wherein the switch plate comprises a plurality of anchor locations (Figure 2, elements 90), and each of the plurality of anchor locations is configured to fit around one of the plurality of switch plate locators (Figure 2, elements 90 and 70, see motivation to combine in claim 5).
Consider claim 7, Xu and Song teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Xu teaches wherein the number of connection points is greater than the number of gasket modules (Figure 10, number of connection points 21-22, strip 2) that can be used at any one time (since the long flexible strip 2 is inserted into the holddown groove 21 as suggested in [0037]).
Consider claim 8, Xu and Song teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Xu teaches wherein each of the plurality of gasket modules can be connected, disconnected, and reused a plurality of times ([0037], the long flexible strip 2 is inserted into the holddown groove. In addition, figure 10 shows disconnected and figure 1 shows connected).
Consider claim 9, Xu and Song teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Xu teaches wherein an amount of vertical travel of the switch plate increases when one or more of the plurality of gasket modules are removed from the modular mounting system ([0034], The long flexible strip 2 is mounted on all sides of the key locking plate 3. [0037], the long flexible strip 2 is inserted into the holddown groove 21 to effectively prevent the long flexible strips from moving to achieve a good effect of isolation and vibration reduction. Thus, when strip 2 is removed, modules can move (vertical travel), and when strip 2 is inserted, modules can achieve a good effect of isolation and vibration reduction (vertical travel)), and wherein the amount of vertical travel of the switch plate decreases when one or more of the plurality of gasket modules are added to the modular mounting system ([0034], The long flexible strip 2 is mounted on all sides of the key locking plate 3. [0037], the long flexible strip 2 is inserted into the holddown groove 21 to effectively prevent the long flexible strips from moving to achieve a good effect of isolation and vibration reduction. Thus, when strip 2 is removed, modules can move (vertical travel), and when strip 2 is inserted, modules can achieve a good effect of isolation and vibration reduction (vertical travel)).
Consider claim 11, Xu teaches a method for mounting a switch plate in a keyboard, comprising (Figure 1, elements 1, 7): connecting a plurality of gasket modules to a keyboard case (Figures 1, 2, 10 and [0037], elements 2 and 21), wherein the keyboard case comprises a plurality of connection points (Figure 10, elements 21), and wherein each of the plurality of gasket modules comprises at least a top portion and a bottom portion (Figure 2, element 2 comprises a plurality of portions including a top and bottom portion) and is configured to removably connect to one or more of the plurality of connection points ([0037], long flexible strip 2 and groove 21); and mounting the switch plate to the keyboard case (Figure 2, element 3), wherein the switch plate rests on the portion of each of the plurality of gasket modules ([0034] and figure 2, the long flexible strip 2 is mounted on all sides of the key locking plate 3).
Xu does not appear to specifically disclose the switch plate rests on a top surface of the top portion of each of the plurality of gasket modules such that the plurality of modules support an underside of the switching plate.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Song teaches a removed keyboard assembly (abstract) and further teaches the switch plate (Figure 2, 70) rests on a top surface of the top portion of each of the plurality of gasket modules such that the plurality of modules support an underside of the switching plate (Figure 2 and figure 4, 90).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to support an underside as shown in Song’s figure 2 with the benefit that support structure 68 is then removably retained in the recess 30 as suggested in column 4, lines 7-12.
Consider claim 12, it includes the limitations of claim 2 and thus it is rejected by the same reasoning.
Consider claim 13, it includes the limitations of claim 3 and thus it is rejected by the same reasoning.
Consider claim 15, it includes the limitations of claim 5 and thus it is rejected by the same reasoning.
Consider claim 16, it includes the limitations of claim 6 and thus it is rejected by the same reasoning.
Consider claim 17, it includes the limitations of claim 7 and thus it is rejected by the same reasoning.
Consider claim 18, it includes the limitations of claim 8 and thus it is rejected by the same reasoning.
Consider claim 19, it includes the limitations of claim 9 and thus it is rejected by the same reasoning.
Claim(s) 4 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu and Song as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0090885 (hereinafter Wang).
Consider claim 4, Xu and Song teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Xu teaches long flexible strip 2 in figure 2.
Xu does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the top portion of each of the plurality of gasket modules is constructed from foam and the bottom portion is constructed from one of rubber or plastic.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Wang teaches keyboards (abstract) and further teaches wherein the top portion of each of the plurality of gasket modules is constructed from foam (Figure 26 and [0120], 2610) and the bottom portion is constructed from one of rubber or plastic (Figure 26, element 310. [0073], 310 can be a rigid structure. [0062], rigid material such as hard plastic).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide elements 2610 and 310 as taught by Wang with the benefit in a neutral position, the resilient supports 2610 can support the underside of the flexible layer 2602 and hold the flexible layer 2602 at a position spaced away from the web structure 310. When contacted by a user, the resilient supports 2610 can compress downward toward the web structure 310 while remaining in contact with the bottom surface of the flexible layer 2602 during the motion as suggested in [0120].
Consider claim 14, it includes the limitations of claim 4 and thus it is rejected by the same reasoning.
Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu and Song as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Weng et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2004/0190239 (hereinafter Weng).
Consider claim 10, Xu and Song teach all the limitations of claim 1.
Xu does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the plurality of connection points comprise a magnetic or ferrous material, and wherein the bottom portion of each of the plurality of gasket modules comprises a magnetic or ferrous material.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Weng teaches a detachable keyboard (abstract) and further teaches wherein the plurality of connection points comprise a magnetic or ferrous material (Figure 1, magnetics 34, 16), and wherein the bottom portion of each of the plurality of gasket modules comprises a magnetic or ferrous material (Figure 1, magnetics 32 and 26).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide magnetic connections as taught by Weng with the benefit the assembly and disassembly of the keyboard and main body are achieved by means of a magnetic switch, wherein the magnetic switch is conditional on the magnetic force (attractive or repellent) as suggested in [0022].
Consider claim 20, it includes the limitations of claim 10 and thus it is rejected by the same reasoning.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 5-7, Applicant argues that “Xu does not disclose the amended limitations.” The Office respectfully disagrees for the following reasons.
As detailed above, Song disclosed the amended limitations.
On page 8, Applicant argues that “none of Song, Wang, nor Weng cures the above noted deficiencies of Xiu.” The Office respectfully disagrees for the following reasons.
As detailed above, Song disclosed the amended limitations.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERTO W FLORES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621