DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Applicant’s remarks filed on March 20, 2026. As set forth therein, the Applicant elects, without traverse, Group I, Claims 1-12. In addition, claims 31-42 are newly added and claims 13-30 are canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on May 22, 2025 and July 24,2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-10, 31-34, and 37-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arur et al. US Patent Pub. 2020/0213000
Regarding claim 1:
An apparatus for wireless communication at a network node, comprising:
Arur is directed to location management for satellite systems for communicating with a user terminal. See the abstract. In addition, Arur discloses that the system includes satellite base stations (see Figure 2 and paragraphs ([0071]-[0072]). See also paragraphs [0005], [0086], [0087] and Figure 4.
one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the network node to:
Arur discloses in paragraph [0158-0161] that the disclosed functional operations are implemented with the use of a processor as well as programs which are encoded in a memory device. See also paragraph [0006] which discloses the use of a controller for a satellite based radio access network.
receive an information element that indicates, for a geographical area associated with the network node, a resolution for the geographical area to be used for a broadcast transmission by the network node or a portion of the geographical area to be used for the broadcast transmission by the network node; and
Arur discloses in paragraph [0096]-[0099] of a controller 450. Figure 5 shows the satellite base stations 410 receiving (from the controller of the radio access network) and broadcasting information about satellite beam mapping defining different mobility areas MA1…MA4.
As set forth therein, information indicating mobility areas corresponding to the beams are broadcast to user terminal from the satellite base stations which allows each user terminal to determine its mobility area. Arur also shows, with respect to Figure 5 that each mobility area (e.g. MA1, MA2, etc.) defines the geographical area associated with the satellite base station. As explained in paragraph [0099], the mobility area can be updated for the base station. See also paragraph [0060] which discloses that “mobility area” is an identifier for a geographical area serviced by a group of base stations. See also paragraphs [0072] and [0092]. As explained above the resolution is defined based on the boundary areas of each mobility area.
perform the broadcast transmission in accordance with the information element.
Arur discloses in paragraph [0096-0099] that the satellite broadcast the mobility area information to the user terminal 460. See also paragraph [0072] which discloses that the base station broadcast information in system information blocks that include the unique identifier of the cell and the mobility area of which the cell is part of.
Regarding claim 2:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the network node to receive the information element, are configured to cause the network node to receive, from an access and mobility management function (AMF), an indication of the resolution for the geographical area to be used for the broadcast transmission by the network node.
Arur discloses that a 5G core network includes the use of AMF. See paragraphs [0049]. See also paragraph [0047]-[0048]. Thus, the core network, as set forth above in claim 1 is an AMF which may broadcast the geographical area to be used for the broadcast transmission. See also paragraph [0097].
Regarding claim 3:
The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the indication of the resolution for the geographical area includes an indication of a mapped beam or a mapped beam group associated with the geographical area.
See paragraphs [0097] and [0098] which discloses that the satellite beam mapping defines mobility areas MA1-MA4 which represent a resolution for the geographical area to be used for the broadcast transmission. As set forth in paragraph [0069] “a controller for a satellite-based radio access network can determine a mapping between satellite beams and mobility areas. Each satellite beam can transmit information indicating the identity of mobility areas at least partially covered by the satellite beam and also data indicating the boundaries of those mobility areas.”
Regarding claim 4:
The apparatus of claim 3, wherein the mapped beam or the mapped beam group is indexed with a unique beam identifier associated with a plurality of cells or a unique beam identifier within a cell associated with the network node.
See paragraph [0097] which discloses that the mapped beam is associated with a beam identifier within the mobility area.
Regarding claim 7:
An apparatus for wireless communication at an access and mobility management function (AMF), comprising:
Arur discloses an AMF (see paragraph[0049]) identifiable as the core network control 450 of paragraph [0097].
one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the AMF to:
Arur discloses in paragraph [0158-0161] that the disclosed functional operations are implemented with the use of a processor as well as programs which are encoded in a memory device. See also paragraph [0006] which discloses the use of a controller for a satellite based radio access network.
obtain an indication of a geographical area associated with a network node; and transmit an information element that indicates, for the geographical area, a resolution for the geographical area to be used for a broadcast transmission by the network node or a portion of the geographical area to be used for the broadcast transmission by the network node.
Arur discloses in paragraph [0096]-[0099] of a controller 450. Figure 5 shows the satellite base stations 410 receiving (from the controller of the radio access network) and broadcasting information about satellite beam mapping defining different mobility areas MA1…MA4.
As set forth therein, information indicating mobility areas corresponding to the beams are broadcast to user terminal from the satellite base stations which allows each user terminal to determine its mobility area. Arur also shows, with respect to Figure 5 that each mobility area (e.g. MA1, MA2, etc.) defines the geographical area associated with the satellite base station. As explained in paragraph [0099], the mobility area can be updated for the base station. See also paragraph [0060] which discloses that “mobility area” is an identifier for a geographical area serviced by a group of base stations. See also paragraphs [0072] and [0092]. As explained above the resolution is defined based on the boundary areas of each mobility area.
Regarding claim 8:
The apparatus of claim 7, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the AMF to transmit the information element, are configured to cause the AMF to transmit, to the network node, an indication of the resolution for the geographical area to be used for the broadcast transmission by the network node.
Arur discloses that a 5G core network includes the use of AMF. See paragraphs [0049]. See also paragraph [0047]-[0048]. Thus, the core network, as set forth above in claim 1 is an AMF which may broadcast the geographical area to be used for the broadcast transmission. See also paragraph [0097].
Arur discloses in paragraph [0096-0099] that the satellite broadcast the mobility area information to the user terminal 460. See also paragraph [0072] which discloses that the base station broadcast information in system information blocks that include the unique identifier of the cell and the mobility area of which the cell is part of.
Regarding claim 9:
The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the indication of the resolution for the geographical area includes an indication of a mapped beam or a mapped beam group associated with the geographical area.
See paragraphs [0097] and [0098] which discloses that the satellite beam mapping defines mobility areas MA1-MA4 which represent a resolution for the geographical area to be used for the broadcast transmission. As set forth in paragraph [0069] “a controller for a satellite-based radio access network can determine a mapping between satellite beams and mobility areas. Each satellite beam can transmit information indicating the identity of mobility areas at least partially covered by the satellite beam and also data indicating the boundaries of those mobility areas.”
Regarding claim 10:
The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the mapped beam or the mapped beam group is indexed with a unique beam identifier associated with a plurality of cells or a unique beam identifier within a cell associated with the network node.
See paragraph [0097] which discloses that the mapped beam is associated with a beam identifier within the mobility area.
Regarding claim 31:
A method of wireless communication performed by a network node, comprising:
Arur is directed to location management for satellite systems for communicating with a user terminal. See the abstract. In addition, Arur discloses that the system includes satellite base stations. See paragraphs [0005], [0086], [0087] and Figure 4.
receiving an information element that indicates, for a geographical area associated with the network node, a resolution for the geographical area to be used for a broadcast transmission by the network node or a portion of the geographical area to be used for the broadcast transmission by the network node; and
Arur discloses in paragraph [0096]-[0099] of a controller 450. Figure 5 shows the satellite base stations 410 receiving (from the controller of the radio access network) and broadcasting information about satellite beam mapping defining different mobility areas MA1…MA4.
As set forth therein, information indicating mobility areas corresponding to the beams are broadcast to user terminal from the satellite base stations which allows each user terminal to determine its mobility area. Arur also shows, with respect to Figure 5 that each mobility area (e.g. MA1, MA2, etc.) defines the geographical area associated with the satellite base station. As explained in paragraph [0099], the mobility area can be updated for the base station. See also paragraph [0060] which discloses that “mobility area” is an identifier for a geographical area serviced by a group of base stations. See also paragraphs [0072] and [0092]. As explained above the resolution is defined based on the boundary areas of each mobility area.
performing the broadcast transmission in accordance with the information element.
Arur discloses in paragraph [0096-0099] that the satellite broadcast the mobility area information to the user terminal 460. See also paragraph [0072] which discloses that the base station broadcast information in system information blocks that include the unique identifier of the cell and the mobility area of which the cell is part of.
Regarding claim 32:
The method of claim 31, wherein receiving the information element comprises receiving, from an access and mobility management function (AMF), an indication of the resolution for the geographical area to be used for the broadcast transmission by the network node.
Arur discloses that a 5G core network includes the use of AMF. See paragraphs [0049]. See also paragraph [0047]-[0048]. Thus, the core network, as set forth above in claim 1 is an AMF which may broadcast the geographical area to be used for the broadcast transmission. See also paragraph [0097].
Regarding claim 33:
The method of claim 32, wherein the indication of the resolution for the geographical area includes an indication of a mapped beam or a mapped beam group associated with the geographical area.
See paragraphs [0097] and [0098] which discloses that the satellite beam mapping defines mobility areas MA1-MA4 which represent a resolution for the geographical area to be used for the broadcast transmission. As set forth in paragraph [0069] “a controller for a satellite-based radio access network can determine a mapping between satellite beams and mobility areas. Each satellite beam can transmit information indicating the identity of mobility areas at least partially covered by the satellite beam and also data indicating the boundaries of those mobility areas.”
Regarding claim 34:
The method of claim 33, wherein the mapped beam or the mapped beam group is indexed with a unique beam identifier associated with a plurality of cells or a unique beam identifier within a cell associated with the network node.
See paragraph [0097] which discloses that the mapped beam is associated with a beam identifier within the mobility area.
Regarding claim 37:
A method of wireless communication performed by an access and mobility management function (AMF), comprising:
Arur discloses an AMF (see paragraph[0049]) identifiable as the core network control 450 of paragraph [0097].
obtaining an indication of a geographical area associated with a network node; and transmitting an information element that indicates, for the geographical area, a resolution for the geographical area to be used for a broadcast transmission by the network node or a portion of the geographical area to be used for the broadcast transmission by the network node.
Arur discloses in paragraph [0096]-[0099] of a controller 450. Figure 5 shows the satellite base stations 410 receiving (from the controller of the radio access network) and broadcasting information about satellite beam mapping defining different mobility areas MA1…MA4.
As set forth therein, information indicating mobility areas corresponding to the beams are broadcast to user terminal from the satellite base stations which allows each user terminal to determine its mobility area. Arur also shows, with respect to Figure 5 that each mobility area (e.g. MA1, MA2, etc.) defines the geographical area associated with the satellite base station. As explained in paragraph [0099], the mobility area can be updated for the base station. See also paragraph [0060] which discloses that “mobility area” is an identifier for a geographical area serviced by a group of base stations. See also paragraphs [0072] and [0092]. As explained above the resolution is defined based on the boundary areas of each mobility area.
Regarding claim 38:
The method of claim 37, wherein transmitting the information element comprises transmitting, to the network node, an indication of the resolution for the geographical area to be used for the broadcast transmission by the network node.
Arur discloses in paragraph [0096-0099] that the satellite broadcast the mobility area information to the user terminal 460. See also paragraph [0072] which discloses that the base station broadcast information in system information blocks that include the unique identifier of the cell and the mobility area of which the cell is part of.
Regarding claim 39:
The method of claim 38, wherein the indication of the resolution for the geographical area includes an indication of a mapped beam or a mapped beam group associated with the geographical area.
See paragraphs [0097] and [0098] which discloses that the satellite beam mapping defines mobility areas MA1-MA4 which represent a resolution for the geographical area to be used for the broadcast transmission. As set forth in paragraph [0069] “a controller for a satellite-based radio access network can determine a mapping between satellite beams and mobility areas. Each satellite beam can transmit information indicating the identity of mobility areas at least partially covered by the satellite beam and also data indicating the boundaries of those mobility areas.”
Regarding claim 40:
The method of claim 39, wherein the mapped beam or the mapped beam group is indexed with a unique beam identifier associated with a plurality of cells or a unique beam identifier within a cell associated with the network node.
See paragraph [0097] which discloses that the mapped beam is associated with a beam identifier within the mobility area.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 6, 11, 12, 35, 36, 41 and 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arur in view of Chenchu US Patent Pub. 2023/0075840.
Regarding claims 5, 11, 35 and 41:
5. apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the network node to receive the information element, are configured to cause the network node to receive, from an access and mobility management function (AMF), an indication of the portion of the geographical area to be used for the broadcast transmission by the network node, wherein the indication of the portion of the geographical area is an indication of a target geographical area that includes at least one of a country indicator, a region indicator, or a zone indicator.
11. The apparatus of claim 7, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the AMF to transmit the information element, are configured to cause the AMF to transmit, to the network node, an indication of the portion of the geographical area to be used for the broadcast transmission by the network node, wherein the indication of the portion of the geographical area is an indication of a target geographical area that includes at least one of a country indicator, a region indicator, or a zone indicator.
35. The method of claim 31, wherein receiving the information element comprises receiving, from an access and mobility management function (AMF), an indication of the portion of the geographical area to be used for the broadcast transmission by the network node, wherein the indication of the portion of the geographical area is an indication of a target geographical area that includes at least one of a country indicator, a region indicator, or a zone indicator.
The method of claim 37, wherein transmitting the information element comprises transmitting, to the network node, an indication of the portion of the geographical area to be used for the broadcast transmission by the network node, wherein the indication of the portion of the geographical area is an indication of a target geographical area that includes at least one of a country indicator, a region indicator, or a zone indicator.
As set forth in paragraph [0003] of Arur, the system coordinates using core network technologies. See also paragraph [0004] which disclose that the core network performs several functions including the identification of a satellite beam (see paragraph [0009]) As set forth in paragraphs [0014] and [0047], the core is a 5G core network. As also set forth in paragraph [0049], for a 5G core network, an AMF is used. Thus, the core network includes an access and mobility management function. See also Figure 1, which depicts a core network 140. See also paragraph [0071].
As set forth in paragraph [0071], each mobility area represents a geographical region defined by the coverage areas of the radio cells. Thus, an indication of the region is identified by the mobility area. See also paragraphs [0097] and [0098]
The Examiner notes however, that although Arur discloses that its core network includes an AMF and the core network provides an indication of the geographical area to be used for broadcast transmission by a base station, to the extent the teachings don’t specifically describe the AMF providing an indication of a target geographical area that includes at least one of a country indicator, a region indicator, or a zone indicator, the Examiner finds that it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the transmit the indication of the geographical area by an AMF.
For example, Chenchu discloses that network nodes communication with AMF for positioning functionally and well as mobility of the UE including cell change and handover. See paragraph [0043], As set forth in paragraph [0030], Chenchu discloses that the AMF and the base station bi-directionally communication with each other and that the base station provide communication coverage for a respective geographic region. See also paragraph [0045] in which the AMF provides location information and thus is configured to at least provide information regarding a region or a zone.
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an indication of at least a region. As explained by Arur it was known to provide the mobility area by a core network which includes an AMF. Chenchu discloses that it was known to specifically provide location information by an AMF. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that using an AMF for performing an indication of a specific region was a known functionality performed by an AMF. Arur already discloses of the need to define a mobility area associated with the base station and UE and therefore, indicating a region would have yielded a predictable result to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 6;
The apparatus of claim 5, wherein the information element that indicates the resolution for the geographical area or the portion of the geographical area is an information element to be used for broadcast transmissions by the network node or for multicast transmissions by the network node, and
See paragraphs [0097] and [0098] of Arur which discloses that the radio access network updates mapping between satellite beams and mobility areas and that the controller transmits in each beam an indication of the boundaries of the mobility areas that the beam at least partially covers.
wherein the one or more processors, to cause the network node to perform the broadcast transmission in accordance with the information element, are configured to cause the network node to perform at least one of the broadcast transmission or a multicast transmission in accordance with the information element.
See paragraphs [0097] and [0098] of Arur which discloses that each beam can transmit, in a system information block (SIB) of the beam, data indicating the mobility area determined to be covered by the beam.
Regarding claims 12 and 42:
12. The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the information element that indicates the resolution for the geographical area or the portion of the geographical area is an information element to be used for broadcast transmissions by the network node or multicast transmissions by the network node.
42. The method of claim 41, wherein the information element that indicates the resolution for the geographical area or the portion of the geographical area is an information element to be used for broadcast transmissions by the network node or multicast transmissions by the network node.
See paragraphs [0097] and [0098] of Arur which discloses that the radio access network updates mapping between satellite beams and mobility areas and that the controller transmits in each beam an indication of the boundaries of the mobility areas that the beam at least partially covers.
Regarding claim 36:
The method of claim 35, wherein the information element that indicates the resolution for the geographical area or the portion of the geographical area is an information element to be used for broadcast transmissions by the network node or for multicast transmissions by the network node, and
See paragraphs [0097] and [0098] which discloses that the radio access network updates mapping between satellite beams and mobility areas and that the controller transmits in each beam an indication of the boundaries of the mobility areas that the beam at least partially covers.
wherein performing the broadcast transmission in accordance with the information element comprises performing at least one of the broadcast transmission or a multicast transmission in accordance with the information element.
See paragraphs [0097] and [0098] which discloses that each beam can transmit, in a system information block (SIB) of the beam, data indicating the mobility area determined to be covered by the beam.
Conclusion
/Ovidio Escalante/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3992