DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Applicant’s amendment filed on June 24, 2026. As set forth therein, claims 1-12 and 31-42 are pending and claims 1-3, 5-8, 11-12, 31-33, 35-38, and 41-42 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Specifically, the Examiner finds that Applicant’s arguments with respect to Arur to be persuasive in view of the claims as amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-10,12, 31-34, 36-40,42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida US Patent Pub. 2024/0214831 in view of Abedini et al. US Patent Pub. 2023/0232367.
Regarding claim 1:
An apparatus for wireless communication at a network node, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the network node to:
As set forth in paragraph [0039], Yoshida is directed to a wireless communication system which includes a communication control apparatus 1, a ground base station 4 and a communication terminal 8. Yoshida discloses in paragraphs [0055]-[0056] that the base station includes a control unit which includes at least one processor C1 and at least one memory C2. See also paragraph [0050] which discloses that a program for operating the processor is stored in memory and the processor reads the program from the memory to carry out the method. Paragraph [0056] discloses that the base station processor and memory is similar to the control unit 11 of the communication control apparatus.
receive an information element that configures a broadcast transmission of a message by the network node within a geographical area, the information element including an indication of a resolution for the geographical area or a portion of the geographical area, to be used for the broadcast transmission of the message by the network node; and
As set forth in paragraph [0058], Yoshida discloses that the antenna 43 [of the base station] transmits and receives an electric wave in the beam direction instructed by the control unit 41. As set forth in paragraph [0054], the communication unit indicates directivity direction, the beam direction to the base station. In paragraph [0056], Yoshida discloses that the control unit 41 (of the base station) changes the beam direction and the frequency on the basis of the instruction information from the communication control apparatus 1.
Thus, Yoshida discloses of receiving an information element (instruction information from the communication control apparatus) which indicates a geographical area to be used for broadcast transmission (directivity direction or beam direction). See Figures 9 and 10 and paragraph [0041]. See also paragraph [0094] which discloses that communication terminals are to receive the transmitted electric wave. See also paragraph [0048] which discloses a message (e.g. determination result of the directivity direction) is transmitted to the terminal 8 via the base station.
The Examiner notes that as set forth above, the terminals are configured to receive the transmitted electric wave as well as instruction information (message). However, to the extent it is considered that the electric wave broadcast to the terminals is not the transmission of a ‘message’, the Examiner finds that it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to transmit a message based on the configured broadcast transmission area.
For example, Abedini is directed to a method for determining a beam direction for paging a UE. See paragraphs [0120] and [0123]. In addition, Abedini is also directed to the broadcast, multicast, groupcast or unicast communications which relates to communication between a base station and a UE (terminal). See paragraph [0074]. See also paragraph [0076] which discloses a base station broadcasting a message to the User Equipment. As set forth in paragraph [0107], the AMF sends a paging request to the base station so that the base station can send a paging message to the UE. See also paragraphs [0108]-[0109] and [0113].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure a broadcast of message. The Examiner notes that Yoshida and Abedini both related to changing a direction of a beam for the purpose of communicating with a user equipment/termina. As explained by Yoshida, information is transmitted to the terminal via the base station. Thus, the base station of Yoshida is configured to broadcast the message for reception by a plurality of terminals. In addition, Abedini also discloses the broadcast of message between the base station and user equipment. For the purpose of providing information to the user equipment. Therefore, the combination would have yielded a predictable result to a person of ordinary skill in the art since the prior art discloses of the broadcast of information message to UEs/terminals which will allow the UEs/terminals to communicate using the specified beams to the base station.
perform the broadcast transmission of the message within the indicated resolution or the indication portion of the geographical area, the broadcast transmission being directed to user equipments located in the indicated resolution or portion.
See paragraph [0094] which discloses that communication terminals are to receive the transmitted electric wave. See also paragraph [0048] which discloses a message (e.g. determination result of the directivity direction) is transmitted to the terminal 8 via the base station. See also Figure 9 and 10.
As set forth above, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to understand that Yoshida or Abedini performs the broadcast transmission of the message within the geographical area. See Figure 9 of Yoshida which discloses a plurality of terminals within a portion of the geographical area. As explained by Abedini in paragraph [0138], by designing the direction of the beam, it will increase the likelihood/probability of paging (sending a message) to the UE.
Regarding claim 2:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the network node to receive the information element, are configured to cause the network node to receive, from an access and mobility management function (AMF), the indication of the resolution for the geographical area to be used for the broadcast transmission of the message by the network node.
As set forth above, Yoshida discloses the network node (base station) receiving an information element from a communication control apparatus. Yoshida does not specifically disclose that the communication control apparatus is an access and mobility management function (AMF).
Nonetheless, Abedini discloses that it was known to use an access and mobility management function to sending an indication to the base station regarding a geographical area to be used for transmissions. As set forth in paragraph [0123], Abedini discloses that the AMF may use beam-related information and to send to the base station for paging the UE. This information is referred to as beam assistance information which is used by the RAN in determining a beam or direction to use in paging the UE. See also paragraphs [0054] and [0094] which discloses that broadcast control information may be transmitted to all UEs in the coverage area.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an access and mobility function. As set forth above, Yoshida discloses of using a communication and control apparatus for causing a base station to receive an indication the broadcast area. Abedini discloses that an AMF is part of the core network and is used to perform various functions related to mobility management and session management function for the UE (see paragraph [0047]). The Examiner notes that the communication and control apparatus of Yoshida is also directed to performing functions for the UE. Therefore, it would have been predictable to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use an AMF since the AMF is performing the same functions as the communication and control apparatus as since AMFs are well known to provide information related to beam direction for communication messages from the base station to the user equipment/terminals.
Regarding claim 3:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the indication of the resolution for the geographical area includes an indication of a mapped beam or a mapped beam group associated with the geographical area.
As set forth in paragraph [0054] of Yoshida, the communication unit indicates directivity direction, the beam direction to the base station. In paragraph [0056],Yoshida discloses that the control unit 41 (of the base station) changes the beam direction and the frequency on the basis of the instruction information from the communication control apparatus 1. See also paragraph [0092] which discloses that the control unit identifies a specific beam (e.g. beam #1).
Regarding claim 4:
The apparatus of claim 3, wherein the mapped beam or the mapped beam group is indexed with a unique beam identifier associated with a plurality of cells or a unique beam identifier within a cell associated with the network node.
As set forth in paragraph [0054], the communication unit indicates directivity direction, the beam direction to the base station. In paragraph [0056],Yoshida discloses that the control unit 41 (of the base station) changes the beam direction and the frequency on the basis of the instruction information from the communication control apparatus 1. See also paragraph [0092] which discloses that the control unit identifies a specific beam (e.g. beam #1). See also Figure 9 and paragraph [0092] which disclosed a mapped beam is index with a unique beam identifier (beam #1) within a cell.
Regarding claim 6;
The apparatus of claim 1 wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the network node to perform multicast transmission of the message within the indicated resolution or the indication portion of the geographical area.
As set forth above, Yoshida discloses of the broadcast of the message. To the extent the broadcast of the message is not considered a multicast transmission, the Examiner notes that it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to perform multicast transmission within the geographical area.
For example, Abedini discloses that communication between the base station and UE may be for broadcast, multicast, groupcast or unicast. See paragraph [0074].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use multicast transmissions. The Examiner notes that multicast transmission is one type of communication that is used for the transmission of information. As explained by Abedini, a multicast communications is delivered to multiple intended recipient devices. The Examiner notes that Yoshida discloses, as set forth in paragraphs [0092] and [0094], that not all devices would receive a communication. It is noted that Abedini discloses that it was known to use multicast where not all user equipment/terminals are to receive a communication. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that by using multicast, a specified number of terminals/UEs can be designed to receive a message.
Regarding claim 7:
An apparatus for wireless communication at an access and mobility management function (AMF), comprising:
As set forth in paragraph [0039], Yoshida discloses a communication system includes a ground base station 4 and a non-terrestrial network base station 5. Yoshida discloses in paragraphs [0055]-[0056] that the base station includes a control unit which includes at least one processor C1 and at least one memory C2. See also paragraph [0050] which discloses that a program for operating the processor is stored in memory and the processor reads the program from the memory to carry out the method. Paragraph [0055] discloses that the base station processor and memory is similar to the control unit 11 of the communication control apparatus.
Yoshida does not specifically disclose that the communication control apparatus is an access and mobility management function (AMF).
Nonetheless, Abedini discloses that it was known to use an access and mobility management function to sending an indication to the base station. As set forth in paragraph [0123], Abedini discloses that the AMF may use beam-related information and to send to the base station for paging the UE. This information is referred to as beam assistance information which is used by the RAN in determining a beam or direction to use in paging the UE. See also paragraphs [0054] and [0094] which discloses that broadcast control information may be transmitted to all UEs in the coverage area.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an access and mobility function. As set forth above, Yoshida discloses of using a communication and control apparatus for causing a base station to receive an indication the broadcast area. Abedini discloses that an AMF is part of the core network and is used to perform various functions related to mobility management and session management function for the UE (see paragraph [0047]). The Examiner notes that the communication and control apparatus of Yoshida is also directed to performing functions for the UE. Therefore, it would have been predictable to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use an AMF since the AMF is performing the same functions as the communication and control apparatus as since AMFs are well known to provide information related to beam direction for communication messages from the base station to the user equipment/terminals.
one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the AMF to:
Yoshida discloses that its communication control unit includes both a processor C1 and a memory C2. See paragraph [0050]. As set forth therein, the processor reads a program from a memory and carries out the communication control method. As set forth above, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the functions of the communication control unit be performed by an AMF.
obtain an indication of a geographical area associated with a network node; and
Yoshida discloses that the control unit acquires location information for each of a plurality of communication terminals and generates terminal location prediction information. See paragraph [0071]. In conjunction with the electric wave environment database DB, which includes information with respect to a base station (see paragraphs [0074]-[0084]), the control unit determines the best beam direction of each of the base stations and the communication terminals (see Figure 6 and paragraph [0087]-[0088]). See also paragraph [0096]
transmit an information element configures a broadcast transmission of a message by the network node within the geographical area or a portion of the geographical area.
As set forth in paragraph [0058], Yoshida discloses that the antennas 43 transmits and receives an electric wave in the beam direction instructed by the control unit 41. As set forth in paragraph [0054], the communication unit indicates directivity direction, the beam direction to the base station. In paragraph [0056],Yoshida discloses that the control unit 41 (of the base station) changes the beam direction and the frequency on the basis of the instruction information from the communication control apparatus 1.
Thus, Yoshida discloses of receiving an information element (instruction information from the communication control apparatus) which indicates a geographical area to be used for broadcast transmission (directivity direction or beam direction). See Figures 9 and 10 and paragraph [0041]. See also paragraph [0094] which discloses that communication terminals are to receive the transmitted electric wave. See also paragraph [0048] which discloses a message (e.g. determination result of the directivity direction) is transmitted to the terminal 8 via the base station.
The Examiner notes that as set forth above, the terminals are configured to receive the transmitted electric wave as well as instruction information (message). However, to the extent it is considered that the electric wave broadcast to the terminals is not the transmission of a ‘message’, the Examiner finds that it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to transmit a message based on the configured broadcast transmission.
For example, Abedini is directed to a method for determining a beam direction for paging a UE. See paragraphs [0120] and [0123]. In addition, Abedini is also directed to the broadcast, multicast, groupcast or unicast communications which relates to communication between a base station and a UE (terminal). See paragraph [0074]. See also paragraph [0076] which discloses a base station broadcasting a message to the User Equipment. As set forth in paragraph [0107], the AMF sends a paging request to the base station so that the base station can send a paging message to the UE. See also paragraphs [0108]-[0109] and [0113].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure a broadcast of message. The Examiner notes that Yoshida and Abedini both related to changing a direction of a beam for the purpose of communicating with a user equipment/termina. As explained by Yoshida, information is transmitted to the terminal via the base station. Thus, the base station of Yoshida is configured to broadcast the message for reception by a plurality of terminals. In addition, Abedini also discloses the broadcast of message between the base station and user equipment. For the purpose of providing information to the user equipment. Therefore, the combination would have yielded a predictable result to a person of ordinary skill in the art since the prior discloses of the broadcast of information message to UEs/terminals which will allow the UEs/terminals to communicate using the correct beams to the base station. As explained by Abedini in paragraph [0138], by designing the direction of the beam, it will increase the likelihood/probability of paging (sending a message) to the UE.
Regarding claim 8:
The apparatus of claim 7, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the AMF to transmit the information element, are configured to cause the AMF to transmit, to the network node, an indication of a resolution for the geographical area to be used for the broadcast transmission of the message by the network node.
See paragraph [0094] which discloses that communication terminals are to receive the transmitted electric wave. See also paragraph [0048] which discloses a message (e.g. determination result of the directivity direction) is transmitted to the terminal 8 via the base station. See also Figure 9 and 10.
As set forth above, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to understand that Yoshida and Abedini performs the broadcast transmission of the message within the geographical area. See Figure 9 of Yoshida which discloses a plurality of terminals within a portion of the geographical area.
Regarding claim 9:
The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the indication of the resolution for the geographical area includes an indication of a mapped beam or a mapped beam group associated with the geographical area.
As set forth in paragraph [0054], the communication unit indicates directivity direction, the beam direction to the base station. In paragraph [0056],Yoshida discloses that the control unit 41 (of the base station) changes the beam direction and the frequency on the basis of the instruction information from the communication control apparatus 1. See also paragraph [0092] which discloses that the control unit identifies a specific beam (e.g. beam #1).
Regarding claim 10:
The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the mapped beam or the mapped beam group is indexed with a unique beam identifier associated with a plurality of cells or a unique beam identifier within a cell associated with the network node.
As set forth in paragraph [0054], the communication unit indicates directivity direction, the beam direction to the base station. In paragraph [0056],Yoshida discloses that the control unit 41 (of the base station) changes the beam direction and the frequency on the basis of the instruction information from the communication control apparatus 1. See also paragraph [0092] which discloses that the control unit identifies a specific beam (e.g. beam #1). See also Figure 9 and paragraph [0092] which disclosed a mapped beam is index with a unique beam identifier (beam #1) within a cell.
Regarding claims 12 and 42:
12. The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the information element is used for broadcast transmissions or multicast transmissions by the network node.
42. The method of claim 41, wherein the information elements used for broadcast transmissions or multicast transmissions by the network node.
As set forth above, Yoshida discloses of the broadcast of the message. See also paragraph [0052] which discloses that transmission are via a broadcast wave. With respect to multicast transmissions, the Examiner notes that it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to perform multicast transmission within the geographical area.
For example, Abedini discloses that communication between the base station and UE may be for broadcast, multicast, groupcast or unicast. See paragraph [0074].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use multicast transmissions. The Examiner notes that multicast transmission is one type of communication that is used for the transmission of information. As explained by Abedini, a multicast communications is delivered to multiple intended recipient devices. The Examiner notes that Yoshida discloses as set forth in paragraphs [0092] and [0094] that not all devices would receive a communication. It is noted that Abedini discloses that it was known to use multicast where not all user equipment/terminals are to receive a communication. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that by using multicast, a specified number of terminals/UEs can be designated to receive a message.
Regarding claim 31:
A method of wireless communication performed by a network node, comprising:
As set forth in paragraph [0039], Yoshida discloses a communication system includes a ground base station 4 and a non-terrestrial network base station 5. Yoshida discloses in paragraphs [0055]-[0056] that the base station includes a control unit which includes at least one processor C1 and at least one memory C2. See also paragraph [0050] which discloses that a program for operating the processor is stored in memory and the processor reads the program from the memory to carry out the method. Paragraph [0055] discloses that the base station processor and memory is similar to the control unit 11 of the communication control apparatus.
receiving an information element that configures a broadcast transmission of a message by the network node within a geographical area, the information element including an indication of a resolution for the geographical area or a portion of the geographical area, to be used for the broadcast transmission of the message by the network node; and
As set forth in paragraph [0058], Yoshida discloses that the antennas 43 transmits and receives an electric wave in the beam direction instructed by the control unit 41. As set forth in paragraph [0054], the communication unit indicates directivity direction, the beam direction to the base station. In paragraph [0056],Yoshida discloses that the control unit 41 (of the base station) changes the beam direction and the frequency on the basis of the instruction information from the communication control apparatus 1.
Thus, Yoshida discloses of receiving an information element (instruction information from the communication control apparatus)which indicates a geographical area to be used for broadcast transmission (directivity direction or beam direction). See Figures 9 and 10 and paragraph [0041]. See also paragraph [0094] which discloses that communication terminals are to receive the transmitted electric wave. See also paragraph [0048] which discloses a message (e.g. determination result of the directivity direction) is transmitted to the terminal 8 via the base station.
The Examiner notes that as set forth above, the terminals are configured to receive the transmitted electric wave as well as instruction information (i.e. message). However, to the extent it is considered that the electric wave broadcast to the terminals is not the transmission of a ‘message’, the Examiner finds that it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to transmit a message based on the configured broadcast transmission.
For example, Abedini is directed to a method for determining a beam direction for paging a UE. See paragraphs [0120] and [0123]. In addition, Abedini is also directed to the broadcast, multicast, groupcast or unicast communications which relates to communication between a base station and a UE (terminal). See paragraph [0074]. See also paragraph [0076] which discloses a base station broadcasting a message to the User Equipment. As set forth in paragraph [0107], the AMF sends a paging request to the base station so that the base station can send a paging message to the UE. See also paragraphs [0108]-[0109] and [0113].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure a broadcast of message. The Examiner notes that Yoshida and Abedini both related to changing a direction of a beam for the purpose of communicating with a user equipment/terminal. As explained by Yoshida, information is transmitted to the terminal via the base station. Thus, the base station of Yoshida is configured to broadcast the message for reception by a plurality of terminals. In addition, Abedini also discloses the broadcast of message between the base station and user equipment. For the purpose of providing information to the user equipment. Therefore, the combination would have yielded a predictable result to a person of ordinary skill in the art since the prior discloses of the broadcast of information message to UEs/terminals which will allow the UEs/terminals to communicate using the correct beams to the base station. As explained by Abedini in paragraph [0138], by designing the direction of the beam, it will increase the likelihood/probability of paging (sending a message) to the UE.
performing the broadcast transmission of the message within the indicated resolution or the indicated portion of the geographical area, the broadcast transmission being directed to user equipments located in the indicated resolution or portion.
See paragraph [0094] which discloses that communication terminals are to receive the transmitted electric wave. See also paragraph [0048] which discloses a message (e.g. determination result of the directivity direction) is transmitted to the terminal 8 via the base station. See also Figure 9 and 10.
As set forth above, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to understand that Yoshida or Abedini performs the broadcast transmission of the message within the geographical area. See Figure 9 of Yoshida which discloses a plurality of terminals within a portion of the geographical area.
Regarding claim 32:
The method of claim 31, wherein receiving the information element comprises receiving, from an access and mobility management function (AMF), the indication of the resolution for the geographical area to be used for the broadcast transmission of the message by the network node.
As set forth above, Yoshida discloses the network node (base station) receiving an information element from a communication control apparatus. Yoshida does not specifically disclose that the communication control apparatus is an access and mobility management function (AMF).
Nonetheless, Abedini discloses that it was known to use an access and mobility management function to sending an indication to the base station. As set forth in paragraph [0123], Abedini discloses that the AMF may use beam-related information and to send to the base station for paging the UE. This information is referred to as beam assistance information which is used by the RAN in determining a beam or direction to use in paging the UE. See also paragraphs [0054] and [0094] which discloses that broadcast control information may be transmitted to all UEs in the coverage area.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an access and mobility function. As set forth above, Yoshida discloses of using a communication and control apparatus for causing a base station to receive an indication the broadcast area. Abedini discloses that an AMF is part of the core network and is used to perform various functions related to mobility management and session management function for the UE (see paragraph [0047]). The Examiner notes that the communication and control apparatus of Yoshida is also directed to performing functions for the UE. Therefore, it would have been predictable to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use an AMF since the AMF is performing the same functions as the communication and control apparatus as since AMFs are well known to provide information related to beam direction for communication messages from the base station to the user equipment/terminals.
Regarding claim 33:
The method of claim 31, wherein the indication of the resolution for the geographical area includes an indication of a mapped beam or a mapped beam group associated with the geographical area.
As set forth in paragraph [0054], the communication unit indicates directivity direction, the beam direction to the base station. In paragraph [0056],Yoshida discloses that the control unit 41 (of the base station) changes the beam direction and the frequency on the basis of the instruction information from the communication control apparatus 1. See also paragraph [0092] which discloses that the control unit identifies a specific beam (e.g. beam #1).
Regarding claim 34:
The method of claim 33, wherein the mapped beam or the mapped beam group is indexed with a unique beam identifier associated with a plurality of cells or a unique beam identifier within a cell associated with the network node.
As set forth in paragraph [0054], the communication unit indicates directivity direction, the beam direction to the base station. In paragraph [0056],Yoshida discloses that the control unit 41 (of the base station) changes the beam direction and the frequency on the basis of the instruction information from the communication control apparatus 1. See also paragraph [0092] which discloses that the control unit identifies a specific beam (e.g. beam #1). See also Figure 9 and paragraph [0092] which disclosed a mapped beam is index with a unique beam identifier (beam #1) within a cell.
Regarding claim 36:
The method of claim 35, further comprising performing multicast transmission of the message within the indicated resolution or the indicated portion of the geographical area.
As set forth above, Yoshida discloses of the broadcast of the message. To the extent the broadcast of the message is not considered a multicast transmission, the Examiner notes that it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to perform multicast transmission within the geographical area.
For Example, Abedini discloses that communication between the base station and UE may be for broadcast, multicast, groupcast or unicast. See paragraph [0074]. As explained
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use multicast transmissions. The Examiner notes that multicast transmission is one type of communication that is used for the transmission of information. As explained by Abedini, a multicast communications is delivered to multiple intended recipient devices. The Examiner notes that Yoshida discloses as set forth in paragraphs [0092] and [0094] that not all devices would receive a communication. It is noted that Abedini discloses that it was known to use multicast where not all User Equipment/Terminals are to receive a communication. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that by using multicast, a specified number of terminals/UEs can be designed to receive a message.
Regarding claim 37:
A method of wireless communication performed by an access and mobility management function (AMF), comprising:
As set forth in paragraph [0039], Yoshida discloses a communication system includes a ground base station 4 and a non-terrestrial network base station 5. Yoshida discloses in paragraphs [0055]-[0056] that the base station includes a control unit which includes at least one processor C1 and at least one memory C2. See also paragraph [0050] which discloses that a program for operating the processor is stored in memory and the processor reads the program from the memory to carry out the method. Paragraph [0055] discloses that the base station processor and memory is similar to the control unit 11 of the communication control apparatus.
Yoshida does not specifically disclose that the communication control apparatus is an access and mobility management function (AMF).
Nonetheless, Abedini discloses that it was known to use an access and mobility management function to sending an indication to the base station. As set forth in paragraph [0123], Abedini discloses that the AMF may use beam-related information and to send to the base station for paging the UE. This information is referred to as beam assistance information which is used by the RAN in determining a beam or direction to use in paging the UE. See also paragraphs [0054] and [0094] which discloses that broadcast control information may be transmitted to all UEs in the coverage area.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an access and mobility function. As set forth above, Yoshida discloses of using a communication and control apparatus for causing a base station to receive an indication the broadcast area. Abedini discloses that an AMF is part of the core network and is used to perform various functions related to mobility management and session management function for the UE (see paragraph [0047]). The Examiner notes that the communication and control apparatus of Yoshida is also directed to performing functions for the UE. Therefore, it would have been predictable to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use an AMF since the AMF is performing the same functions as the communication and control apparatus as since AMFs are well known to provide information related to beam direction for communication messages from the base station to the user equipment/terminals.
Yoshida discloses that the control unit acquires location information for each of a plurality of communication terminals and generates terminal location prediction information. See paragraph [0071]. In conjunction with the electric wave environment database DB, which includes information with respect to a base station (see paragraphs [0074]-[0084]), the control unit determines the best beam direction of each of the base stations and the communication terminals (see Figure 6 and paragraph [0087]-[0088]). See also paragraph [0096]
transmitting an information element that configures a broadcast transmission of a message by the network node within the geographical area or a portion of the geographical area.
As set forth in paragraph [0058], Yoshida discloses that the antennas 43 transmits and receives an electric wave in the beam direction instructed by the control unit 41. As set forth in paragraph [0054], the communication unit indicates directivity direction, the beam direction to the base station. In paragraph [0056],Yoshida discloses that the control unit 41 (of the base station) changes the beam direction and the frequency on the basis of the instruction information from the communication control apparatus 1.
Thus, Yoshida discloses of receiving an information element (instruction information from the communication control apparatus)which indicates a geographical area to be used for broadcast transmission (directivity direction or beam direction). See Figures 9 and 10 and paragraph [0041]. See also paragraph [0094] which discloses that communication terminals are to receive the transmitted electric wave. See also paragraph [0048] which discloses a message (e.g. determination result of the directivity direction) is transmitted to the terminal 8 via the base station.
The Examiner notes that as set forth above, the terminals are configured to receive the transmitted electric wave as well as instruction information (i.e. message). However, to the extent it is considered that the electric wave broadcast to the terminals is not the transmission of a ‘message’, the Examiner finds that it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to transmit a message based on the configured broadcast transmission.
For example, Abedini is directed to a method for determining a beam direction for paging a UE. See paragraphs [0120] and [0123]. In addition, Abedini is also directed to the broadcast, multicast, groupcast or unicast communications which relates to communication between a base station and a UE (terminal). See paragraph [0074]. See also paragraph [0076] which discloses a base station broadcasting a message to the User Equipment. As set forth in paragraph [0107], the AMF sends a paging request to the base station so that the base station can send a paging message to the UE. See also paragraphs [0108]-[0109] and [0113].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure a broadcast of message. The Examiner notes that Yoshida and Abedini both related to changing a direction of a beam for the purpose of communicating with a user equipment/termina. As explained by Yoshida, information is transmitted to the terminal via the base station. Thus, the base station of Yoshida is configured to broadcast the message for reception by a plurality of terminals. In addition, Abedini also discloses the broadcast of message between the base station and user equipment. For the purpose of providing information to the user equipment. Therefore, the combination would have yielded a predictable result to a person of ordinary skill in the art since the prior discloses of the broadcast of information message to UEs/terminals which will allow the UEs/terminals to communicate using the correct beams to the base station. As explained by Abedini in paragraph [0138], by designing the direction of the beam, it will increase the likelihood/probability of paging (sending a message) to the UE.
Regarding claim 38:
The method of claim 37, wherein transmitting the information element comprises transmitting, to the network node, an indication of a resolution for the geographical area to be used for the broadcast transmission of the message by the network node.
See paragraph [0094] which discloses that communication terminals are to receive the transmitted electric wave. See also paragraph [0048] which discloses a message (e.g. determination result of the directivity direction) is transmitted to the terminal 8 via the base station. See also Figure 9 and 10.
As set forth above, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to understand that Yoshida or Abedini performs the broadcast transmission of the message within the geographical area. See Figure 9 of Yoshida which discloses a plurality of terminals within a portion of the geographical area.
Regarding claim 39:
The method of claim 38, wherein the indication of the resolution for the geographical area includes an indication of a mapped beam or a mapped beam group associated with the geographical area.
As set forth in paragraph [0054], the communication unit indicates directivity direction, the beam direction to the base station. In paragraph [0056],Yoshida discloses that the control unit 41 (of the base station) changes the beam direction and the frequency on the basis of the instruction information from the communication control apparatus 1. See also paragraph [0092] which discloses that the control unit identifies a specific beam (e.g. beam #1).
Regarding claim 40:
The method of claim 39, wherein the mapped beam or the mapped beam group is indexed with a unique beam identifier associated with a plurality of cells or a unique beam identifier within a cell associated with the network node.
As set forth in paragraph [0054], the communication unit indicates directivity direction, the beam direction to the base station. In paragraph [0056],Yoshida discloses that the control unit 41 (of the base station) changes the beam direction and the frequency on the basis of the instruction information from the communication control apparatus 1. See also paragraph [0092] which discloses that the control unit identifies a specific beam (e.g. beam #1). See also Figure 9 and paragraph [0092] which disclosed a mapped beam is index with a unique beam identifier (beam #1) within a cell.
Claim(s) 5, 11, 35, 41 and 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida et al. in view of Abedini et al. and further in view of Chenchu US Patent Pub. 2023/0075840.
Regarding claims 5, 11, 35 and 41:
5. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the indication of the resolution for the geographical area, or the portion of the geographical area, to be used for the broadcast transmission of the message by the network node is received, from an access and mobility management function (AMF), and wherein the indication of the portion of the geographical area is an indication of a target geographical area that includes at least one of a country indicator, a region indicator, or a zone indicator.
11. The apparatus of claim 7, wherein the information element comprises an indication of the portion of the geographical area to be used for the broadcast transmission of the message by the network node, and, wherein the indication of the portion of the geographical area is an indication of a target geographical area that includes at least one of a country indicator, a region indicator, or a zone indicator.
35. The method of claim 31, wherein the indication of the resolution for the geographical area, or the portion of the geographical area to be used for the broadcast transmission of the message by the network node is received from an access and mobility management function (AMF), and , wherein the indication of the portion of the geographical area is an indication of a target geographical area that includes at least one of a country indicator, a region indicator, or a zone indicator.
The method of claim 37, wherein the information element comprises an indication of the portion of the geographical area to be used for the broadcast transmission of the message by the network node, and wherein the indication of the portion of the geographical area is an indication of a target geographical area that includes at least one of a country indicator, a region indicator, or a zone indicator.
Yoshida does not specifically disclose wherein the indication of a target geographical area that includes at least one of a country indicator, a region indicator, or a zone indicator. The Examiner notes that Abedini disclose in paragraph [0060] that a zone may be identified as opposed to a particular cell since this would improve the efficiency of both the UE and the network. See also paragraph [094]
In addition, Chenchu discloses that network nodes communication with AMF for positioning functionally and well as mobility of the UE including cell change and handover. See paragraph [0043], As set forth in paragraph [0030], Chenchu discloses that the AMF and the base station bi-directionally communicate with each other and that the base station provide communication coverage for a respective geographic region. See also paragraph [0045] in which the AMF provides location information and thus is configured to at least provide information regarding a region or a zone.
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an indication of at least a region and a zone. As explained by Abedini it was known to identify a specific zone. Chenchu also discloses that it was known to specifically provide location information by an AMF. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that using an AMF for performing an indication of a specific region or zone was a known functionality performed by an AMF. As explained by Abedini, by identifying a zone, this will improve the efficiency of both the UE and the network
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Ovidio Escalante/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3992