Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 7, 8, 10, 14, 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Braunreiter et al (US 2021/0103056 A1 from IDS filed).
Regarding claim 1, Braunreiter discloses an apparatus (Fig. 3) comprising:
an optical device (para 54, “laser alignment module (LAM) 305”) configured to spatially separate a first optical beam (106 and 304, para 53, “302 …generates the HEL beam 106 and an auto-alignment beam 304”) and a second optical beam (108, para 54, “306 (such as a 1567 nm laser) produces the TIL beam 108”, 106, 304, 108 are spatially separated on 330 as shown in Fig. 3);
a divergence controller (para 54, “variable divergence optics 310”) configured to adjust a divergence of the second optical beam (para 54, “variable divergence optics 310 can be used to alter the divergence of the TIL beam 108 in order to obtain a variable beam footprint for the TIL beam 108”);
a steering controller (para 62, “fast steering mirror 364”) configured to adjust a steering direction of the second optical beam (para 62, “the beams 106, 108, and 318 as reflected by the fast steering mirror 364 are reflected by a mirror 380”);
a far field sensor (para 64, “image sensor 378” is considered to be far field sensor since the claim does not clearly define far field sensor in the body of the claim configured to receive a sample (para 64, “reflected TIL energy”) of the second optical beam (108) after adjustment of the divergence (by variable divergence optics 310 from para 54) and the steering direction (by fast steering mirror 364 from para 62) of the second optical beam and generate measurements of the sample (para 64, imaging sensor 378 senses generated measurements of the sample, “imaging sensor 378 to capture images that contain reflected TIL energy“); and
at least one controller (para 64, “controller 230”) configured to control the divergence controller (310) and the steering controller (364) based on the measurements of the sample (para 64, “controller 230 to perform target racking using the TIL related images and to perform boresight correction … using the TIL/BIL related images”).
Regarding claim 3, the apparatus of Claim 1, wherein the steering controller comprises one of:
a pair of Risley wedges and at least one motor configured to rotate at least one of the Risley wedges; or
at least one steering mirror (para 62, “fast steering mirror 364”).
Regarding claim 7, the apparatus of Claim 1, wherein the optical device comprises a beamsplitter (para 56, “beam splitter/combiner 332”) configured to reflect one of the first optical beam (106) or the second optical beam and transmit another of the first optical beam or the second optical beam.
Regarding claim 8, Braunreiter discloses a system (Fig. 3) comprising:
multiple optical sources (para 53, “high-energy laser generator 302”; para 54, “target illumination laser 306”) configured to generate multiple input optical beams (para 53, “HEL beam 106, AA beam 304”; para 54, “TIL beam 108”), the multiple input optical beams including two or more optical beams (106, 304) and an additional optical beam (108);
a beam combiner (para 56, “beam splitter/combiner 330”) configured to combine the two or more optical beams (106, 304) in order to generate a combined optical beam;
an optical device (para 54, “laser alignment module (LAM) 305”) configured to spatially separate the combined optical beam (106, 304) and the additional optical beam (108, para 54, “306 (such as a 1567 nm laser) produces the TIL beam 108”, 106, 304, 108 are spatially separated on 330 as shown in Fig. 3);
a divergence controller (para 54, “variable divergence optics 310”) configured to adjust a divergence of the additional optical beam (para 54, “variable divergence optics 310 can be used to alter the divergence of the TIL beam 108 in order to obtain a variable beam footprint for the TIL beam 108”);
a steering controller (para 62, “fast steering mirror 364”) configured to adjust a steering direction of the additional optical beam (para 62, “the beams 106, 108, and 318 as reflected by the fast steering mirror 364 are reflected by a mirror 380”);
a far field sensor (para 64, “image sensor 378”) configured to receive a sample (para 64, “reflected TIL energy”) of the additional optical beam (108) after adjustment of the divergence (by variable divergence optics 310 from para 54) and the steering direction (by fast steering mirror 364 from para 62) of the additional optical beam (108) and generate measurements of the sample (para 64, imaging sensor 378 senses generated measurements of the sample, “imaging sensor 378 to capture images that contain reflected TIL energy“); and
at least one controller (para 64, “controller 230”) configured to control the divergence controller (310) and the steering controller (364) based on the measurements of the sample (para 64, “controller 230 to perform target racking using the TIL related images and to perform boresight correction … using the TIL/BIL related images”).
Regarding claim 10, the system of Claim 8, wherein the steering controller comprises one of:
a pair of Risley wedges and at least one motor configured to rotate at least one of the Risley wedges; or
at least one steering mirror (para 62, “fast steering mirror 364”).
Regarding claim 14, the system of Claim 8, wherein the optical device comprises a beamsplitter (para 56, “beam splitter/combiner 332”) configured to reflect one of the combined optical beam or the additional optical beam and transmit another of the combined optical beam or the additional optical beam (see all the beams reflected off from 332 in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 15, the system of Claim 8, further comprising:
one of a beamsplitter (para 59, “beam splitter/combiner 350”) or a window configured to reflect the sample (para 64, “reflected TIL energy”) of the additional optical beam (108) towards the far field sensor (378).
Regarding claim 18, Braunreiter discloses a method (Fig. 3) comprising:
generating multiple input optical beams (para 53, “HEL beam 106, AA beam 304”; para 54, “TIL beam 108”), the multiple input optical beams including two or more optical beams (106, 304) and an additional optical beam (108);
combining (para 56, by “beam splitter/combiner 330”) the two or more optical beams in order to generate a combined optical beam (106, 304);
spatially separating the combined optical beam and the additional optical beam (by an optical device shown in para 54, “laser alignment module (LAM) 305”), the beams 106, 304 and 108 are spatially separated, physically separated on 330);
controlling a divergence of the additional optical beam (by a divergence controller, para 54, “variable divergence optics 310” can be used to alter the divergence of the TIL beam 108 in order to obtain a variable beam footprint for the TIL beam 108”);
controlling a steering direction of the additional optical beam (by a steering controller, para 62, “fast steering mirror 364” configured to adjust a steering direction of the additional optical beam, “the beams 106, 108, and 318 as reflected by the fast steering mirror 364 are reflected by a mirror 380”);
receiving a sample of the additional optical beam after controlling of the divergence and the steering direction of the additional optical beam and generating measurements of the sample (by a far field senso(para 64, “image sensor 378”) configured to receive a sample (para 64, “reflected TIL energy”) of the additional optical beam (108) after adjustment of the divergence (by variable divergence optics 310 from para 54) and the steering direction (by fast steering mirror 364 from para 62) of the additional optical beam (108) and generate measurements of the sample (para 64, imaging sensor 378 senses generated measurements of the sample, “imaging sensor 378 to capture images that contain reflected TIL energy“); and
adjusting the controlling of the divergence and the controlling of the steering direction of the additional optical beam based on the measurements of the sample (by at least one controller (para 64, “controller 230”) configured to control the divergence controller (310) and the steering controller (364) based on the measurements of the sample (para 64, “controller 230 to perform target racking using the TIL related images and to perform boresight correction … using the TIL/BIL related images”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Braunreiter et al (US 2021/0103056 A1) in view of Morikazu (US 2013/0134142 A1).
Braunreiter et al discloses the claimed invention as set forth above except for wherein the divergence controller comprises a pair of lenses and at least one motor configured to adjust a spacing between the lenses.
Morikazu discloses the divergence controller (Fig. 2 and para 25, beam diameter adjusting means 64) comprises a pair of lenses (641, 642) and at least one motor (645b) configured to adjust a spacing between the lenses (“second lens 642 … is moved along the support base 643 by operating the pulse motor 645b”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention before the effective filing date to use the divergence controller comprises a pair of lenses and at least one motor configured to adjust a spacing between the lenses for the purpose of obtaining precise control over the output beam’s divergence, how much it spreads and better performance in real-world systems by maintaining high beam quality across adjustments.
Claims 4, 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Braunreiter et al (US 2021/0103056 A1) in view of Marron et al (US2017/0192094 A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 11, Braunreiter et al discloses the claimed invention as set forth above except for wherein the far field sensor and the at least one controller form part of a closed control loop for controlling the divergence of the second optical beam in real-time and part of a closed control loop for controlling the steering direction of the second optical beam in real-time.
Marron discloses a sensor that provides an effective closed loop system in real time (para 22).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention before the effective filing date to make the far field sensor to provide an effective closed loop system in real time as taught by Marron for the purpose of obtaining immediate detection and rapid response, predictive and proactive maintenance and increased operational efficiency and optimization compare to batch/periodic sensing.
Regarding claim 19, in combination, the method of Claim 18, wherein the controlling of the divergence and the controlling of the steering direction of the additional optical beam are adjusted using closed control loops (Marron, para 22).
Claims 5, 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Braunreiter et al (US 2021/0103056 A1)
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Braunreiter discloses the claimed invention as set forth above except for wherein the at least one controller is further configured to receive input from an auto-alignment sensor and to use the input from the auto-alignment sensor to control at least one of the divergence of the second optical beam and the steering direction of the second optical beam.
Although an auto-alignment sensor is not disclosed for an auto-alignment beam 304 in the prior art, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention before the effective filing date to use the controller 230 (para 64, “controller 230 to perform target tracking”) to further configured to receive input such as from an auto-alignment sensor for the purpose of tracking/analyzing/aligning all beams disclosed in laser system 102 of Fig. 3 (para 53, “AA beam 304 can be used internally within the laser system 102 for alignment purpose”)
Regarding claim 20, the method of Claim 18, further comprising the steps of receiving and using are inherently met by the disclosure of the prior art.
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Braunreiter et al (US 2021/0103056 A1).
Braunreiter further discloses a range-finding laser configured to generate a range-finding beam (para 55, “range-finding laser 316 generates … range-finding beam 318”); and a beamsplitter (para 55, “bean splitter 320”) configured to reflect one of the range-finding beam (318) or the second optical/additional output beam in order to direct the range-finding beam and the second optical/additional output beam.
However, the beam is not manipulated by a common aperture.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention before the effective filing date to use a common aperture from Fig. 2 and para 40 (an aperture sharing element 222) into an embodiment of Fig. 3 for the purpose of spatial filtering and beam cleaning.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Braunreiter et al (US 2021/0103056 A1) in view of Saha et al (US 2019/0126537 A1).
Braunreiter discloses the claimed invention as set forth above except for the system of Claim 15, further comprising:
a neutral density filter configured to filter the sample of the additional optical beam;
and
a lens configured to focus the filtered sample of the additional optical beam onto the far
field sensor.
Saha discloses a neutral density filter (para 38, “neutral density ND filter 32”) configured to filter the sample and a lens (object lens 44) configured to focus the filtered sample onto the far field sensor (para 55, “sensor”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention before the effective filing date to use neutral density filter (para 38, “neutral density ND filter 32”) configured to filter the sample and a lens (object lens 44) configured to focus the filtered sample onto the far field sensor (para 55, “sensor”) as taught by Saha for the purpose of providing precise and variable power/fluence control at the target without altering beam properties.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Braunreiter et al (US 2021/0103056 A1).
Braunreiter discloses one or more beam control elements configured to adjust the combined optical beam after the combined optical beam is spatially separated from the additional optical beam (Fig. 8, see two controller 230). However, the prior art is silent on whether the additional optical beam bypasses the one or more beam control elements.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention before the effective filing date to having the additional optical beam bypass the one or more beam control elements for the purpose of providing protection of sensitive/fragile control elements and improved system reliability during maintenance or upgrades.
Conclusion
1/10/2026
/EUNCHA P CHERRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872