DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Based on the previous restriction, claims 10-13 were cancelled by applicant. As such, the cancellation makes moot the previous restriction requirement. Furthermore, the Examine has re-entered claim 9 as a species and thus withdrawn the election requirement between claim 8 and 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites the limitation "the body" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 2 and 16 claim “wherein the coupling portion on the first coupler is the same as the coupling portion on the second coupler”. This claim reads that the coupler on the first is literally the same as the second which cannot happen because they are separate structures. However, what the Examiner believes that applicant is attempting to claim is “wherein the coupling protrusion on the first coupler is the same shape as the coupling protrusion the second coupler”. This inconsistency should be remedied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haviland (US Pat. No. 2,855,206).
Regarding claim 1, Haviland discloses an assembly toy (Fig. 1; noting “toy” is simply intended use and any object can be utilized as a toy) comprising: a building element having an aperture (see Fig. 1 below); and at least one coupling element comprising: a first coupler including a first mid-flange having a first side with a coupling portion extending therefrom (Fig. 1 below; noting “flange” can simply be “a flat surface sticking out from an object” as defined by dictionary.cambridge/org) and a second side with at least one protrusion extending away from the body (Fig. 1 below); a second coupler including a second mid- flange having at least one opening (Fig. 1 below), the second mid-flange having a first side with a coupling portion extending therefrom and a second side (Fig. 1 below); and a decorative element disposed between the second sides of the first and second couplers (Fig. 1 below, item 24), the decorative element including at least one hole therethrough (Fig. 1 below; noting this is obvious); wherein the at least one protrusion of the first coupler extends through the at least one hole of the decorative element and into the at least one opening of the second coupler such that the decorative element remains captured between the first coupler and the second coupler (Fig. 1 below; noting this is obvious and functionally possible given the structure), wherein the coupling portion of the first or second coupler is adapted to engage the aperture to releasably connect the coupling element with the building element (Fig. 1 below; noting this is functionally possible given the structure). The above rejection is given under a 103 because the Examiner utilizes the connector in Fig. 6 in conjunction with the connectors shown in Fig. 1 (as annotated below). The ability to use Fig. 6 in connection with Fig. 1 is not only functionally possible, it is an obvious and predictable solution to a POSA based on the specific disclosure of Haviland. That is, Haviland specifically discloses that Fig. 6 can be used to connect to cavity 35 as seen in annotated Fig. 1 below (col. 5, lines 19-27).
Regarding claim 2, Haviland discloses that the coupling portion on the first coupler is the same as the coupling portion on the second coupler (Fig. 1 above; the Examiner assuming that applicant is claiming that they have the same “shape”; and not that they are the exact same coupler).
Regarding claim 3, Haviland discloses that the building element comprises a first building element and a second building element (Fig. 1 above), wherein the coupling portion on the first coupler is adapted to engage with and releasably connect with the first building element (Fig. 1; noting this is functionally possible given the structure; albeit not shown in annotated Fig. 1 above; the italicized language denoting functional language), wherein the coupling portion of the second coupler is adapted to engage with and releasably connect with the second building element (Fig. 1 above; noting this is specifically shown), and wherein the first and second building elements are releasably connected with one another (Fig. 1 above; noting this is functionally possible given the structure; noting they would be releasable connected with one another via the first and second coupling).
Regarding claim 4, Haviland discloses that the second coupler includes a sleeve aligned with the at least one opening, wherein the sleeve receives at least a portion of the protrusion (Fig. 1 above, noting item 25 of the second coupler; noting this can be considered a “sleeve” because it is round in nature; noting “sleeve” as defined by merriam-webster.com is “a tubular part”).
Regarding claim 5, Haviland discloses that a plurality of building elements, wherein the at least one coupling element joins two of the building elements, wherein the decorative element is positioned between the building elements and extends outward of the building elements (Fig. 1 above; again noting that this is functionally possible as the 1st Building Element in Fig. 1 above may functionally be attached to the “first coupler”).
Regarding claim 6, Haviland discloses one or more second coupling elements, the second coupling elements each comprising: a third coupler including a third mid-flange having a first side with a coupling portion extending therefrom and a second side with at least one protrusion extending away from the body; and a fourth coupler including a fourth mid-flange having at least one opening, the fourth mid-flange having a first side with a coupling portion extending therefrom and a second side(see Fig. 1 above; noting this is an obvious mere duplication of the coupler parts as annotated in Fig. 1 above because applicant is simply claiming a duplicate coupler, see Fig. 12 making obvious the ability to use a vast number of couplers), wherein the plurality of building elements are joined together with the first and second coupling elements to form a toy (Fig. 1; noting this is obvious given Fig. 1, a duplication of parts, and the functionally ability in Fig. 1 for the coupler to combine multiple building elements).
Regarding claim 14, Haviland discloses a coupling for a toy (Fig. 1; noting “toy” is simply intended use and any object can be utilized as a toy) comprising: a first coupler including a mid-flange having a first side with a coupling portion extending therefrom and a second side with at least one protrusion extending away from the mid-flange (see Fig. 1 above); and a second coupler including a mid-flange, the mid-flange having a first side with a coupling portion extending therefrom and a second side having at least one opening; wherein the at least one protrusion of the first coupler extends into the at least one opening of the second coupler such that the first and second coupler are coupled together (see Fig. 1 above, and rejection of claim 1 for explicit analysis). The above rejection is given under a 103 because the Examiner utilizes the connector in Fig. 6 in conjunction with the connectors shown in Fig. 1 (as annotated below). The ability to use Fig. 6 in connection with Fig. 1 is not only functionally possible, it is an obvious and predictable solution to a POSA based on the specific disclosure of Haviland. That is, Haviland specifically discloses that Fig. 6 can be used to connect to cavity 35 as seen in Fig. 1 (col. 5, lines 19-27).
Regarding claim 15, Haviland discloses a decorative element, including at least one hole therethrough, wherein the at least one protrusion of the first coupler extends through the at least one hole of the decorative element and into the at least one opening of the second coupler such that the decorative element is captured between the first coupler and second coupler (Fig. 1 and see rejection of claim 1 above for explicit analysis).
Regarding claim 16, Haviland discloses that the coupling portion on the first coupler is the same as the coupling portion on the second coupler (Fig. 1 above; the Examiner assuming that applicant is claiming that they have the same “shape”; and not that they are the exact same coupler).
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haviland (US Pat. No. 2,855,206) in view of Labelle (US Pat. No. 4,547,160).
Regarding claim 7, Haviland discloses that the toy forms an animal or a vehicle (Fig. 12; noting the ability to connect the pieces to create a shape is functionally possible; for example, Fig. 12 may represent a “snake”; an animal). In the alternative, Haviland uses a coupler to connect apertures of adjacent pieces (Fig. 1 above). Labelle discloses a construction toy wherein adjacent pieces having apertures are connected, the connected pieces creating an animal or vehicle shape (Figs. 4 or 5). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Haviland to connect pieces to create an animal or vehicle as taught by Labelle because doing so would be applying a known technique (using a coupler that can retain a decorative element, the coupler attaching apertures of adjacent pieces) to a known product (a construction set that uses apertures to attach) to yield predictable results (the ability to connect adjacent construction pieces using a coupler to create an animal or vehicle, the coupler allowing for a decorative piece to be attached via a thru hole).
Regarding claim 8, it is noted that the combined Haviland and Labelle do not specifically discloses the animal is a lion, wherein the decorative element forms a mane of the lion. However, Labelle discloses that the assembled object may be an animal (Fig. 4). Furthermore, Haviland discloses a “decorative element” that may be subjectively construed as a “mane’ (Fig. 1, item 24; i.e. the combination appears to make the limitation functionally possible and also what connotes a “lion” is completely subjective). Finally, regarding the exact animal produced by the assembled pieces, it has been held that matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. See In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947)(noting first, the entire depiction of a “lion” is merely ornamentation, and second, the actually “decorative element” is, by claim name, purely ornamentation; i.e. “decorative” denotes aesthetics only and applicant is trying to denote structure to an item that is, by their own naming, pure ornamentation). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the exact animal produced by the construction would be pure ornamentation; or alternatively, that the assembled animal would have been functionally possible given the combined prior art structure.
Regarding claim 9, the combined Haviland and Labelle disclose that the vehicle is a truck, a train, a tractor, a sailboat, an airplane, or a car (Labelle: Fig. 5; noting a car). The examiner also notes that, again, the exact structure created by the construction set is directed toward ornamentation, and is completely subjective to a user. Finally, the Examiner notes that a child may construe Haviland: Fig. 12 to be a train (noting applicant does not claim anywhere a required actual structure to denote any of the above claimed vehicles).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW B STANCZAK/
Examiner, Art Unit 3711
1/29/26
/MICHAEL D DENNIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711