DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
As of the amendment filed 7/8/26, claim 22 has been added, no claims have been canceled, and claims 1, 7, 8, 19, and 20 have been amended. Therefore, claims 1-22 remain pending, with claims 1, 7, 8, and 19 being independent.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/8/26 have been fully considered and are partially persuasive. As to claims 7-19, the amendment incorporating the different material limitation is accepted. However, the argument with respect to claim 1 is not persuasive given the new interpretation detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bouche (US 9,960,256).
As to claims 1 abd 22, Bouche teaches an apparatus (1000, see annotated fig. 10 below) comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (1002) having first and second diffusion regions (1008) and a channel region arranged between the first and second diffusion regions (1008, col. 6:6-12, the source/drain features are on opposite sides of the channel structure);
a gate electrode (1004-N) covering the channel region with a gate insulating film interposed therebetween (col. 5:17-21); and
first and second contact plugs (1042-B) connected to the first and second diffusion regions (1008), respectively,
wherein each of the first and second contact plugs (1042-B) including:
a first part (dark black rectangle in fig. below) having an upper section (portion above top surface of 1010) and a lower section (portion below top surface of 1010), wherein the first part has a first diameter (d1, see fig below); and
a second part (grey rectangles in fig below) surrounding a first outer side surface of the upper section of the first part (see below), wherein the second part is tubular and has a second diameter (d2), and wherein the first diameter (d1) is smaller than the second diameter (d2), and a thickness in a horizontal direction of the second part is constant (see fig. below).
It is noted that only one unmerged contact plug 1042-B is shown (as 1042-A is a merged source contact with the gate contact). However, Bouche teaches 1042-A and 1042-B are source/drain contacts and that one of them are “stitched” (i.e. merged) with the gate contact 1044-A (col. 7:2636). This heavily implies that these source/drain contacts (1042-A and 1042-B) can exist unstitched and that 1042-A and 1042-B are identical in design. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed that at least one transistor would not have a stitched gate and source contact so as to fabricate a normal transistor in a device having two unstitched, identical contacts contacting the source and drain regions.
As to claim 2, Bouche further teaches the second part (grey part above) does not surround a second outer side surface of the lower section of the first part (see fig. above).
As to claim 3, Bouche further teaches the second part has a third outer side surface and a bottom surface substantially perpendicular to the third outer side surface (see below).
As to claim 4, Bouche further teaches an interlayer insulating film (1024) surrounding the second outer side surface of the lower section of the first part, wherein the bottom surface of the second part contacts with the interlayer insulating film (see fig. above).
As to claim 5, Bouche further teaches a height position of the bottom surface of the second part is equal to or higher than a top surface of the gate electrode (see above).
As to claim 6, Bouche further teaches the first and second parts are made of the same conductive material (530) as each other (fig. 5, col. 6:55-59).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-21 are allowed. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: see Office Action dated 4/8/26 for reasons for allowance.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-Delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22313
/KAREN KUSUMAKAR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897
8/6/26