DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show [the numeral “65” which represents the feature/limitation “a magnetic shielding” in dependent claims 5 and 17] as described in the specification, Paragraph [0063]. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 14 line 8, “wherein the relative position” --, should be corrected to --, “wherein a relative position” --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Zioni et (US Patent No. 3980980).
Regarding claim 1, Zioni discloses assembly (i.e., 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) for monitoring the status (i.e., such as to see if power leads 44 are OPEN or CLOSE; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) of a switch (i.e., 4; such as FIGS. 1 to 3 includes a housing 2, a spring loaded pushbutton 4 mounted in the housing; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) for high currents and/or high voltages (i.e., such as to electrically and/or electromagnetically isolate the initial activation means e.g., said push-button, from a direct contact or the direct influence of any current carrying element of the device; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) with a blow magnetic field (i.e., 32; such as the coil 32 is adapted to continuously receive electrical impulses at adjustable predetermined intervals and durations. The impulses are adjusted to generate in the coil a magnetic field of a sufficient strength to influence the reed switch 30, when it is not shielded by the sleeves 34 or 36; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) and a control element (i.e., 22; such as an L-shaped plate 22 is secured to hinge 24 which in turn is mounted at 26 to the housing 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) that can be moved into several control positions (i.e., 42, no-gap, 46; such as in this rest position, the closed rear section 42 of the channel 40 is left unoccupied by sleeve 36. In this position, sleeve 36 is frictionally held in place by the spring loaded ball arrangement 38, in this position a gap 46 is created between the end parts of sleeves 34 and 36. Also as seen in the Figure, sleeve 36 is frictionally held in its displaced position by the spring loaded ball arrangement 38; see for example figs. 1-3, Col. 3 lines 5+) by a drive (i.e., 6; such as said pushbutton comprising a manipulating body 6 attached to a knob 8 which in turn is biased by means of a spring 10; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+), wherein different switching positions (i.e., 42, no-gap, 46; such as in this rest position, the closed rear section 42 of the channel 40 is left unoccupied by sleeve 36. In this position, sleeve 36 is frictionally held in place by the spring loaded ball arrangement 38, in this position a gap 46 is created between the end parts of sleeves 34 and 36. Also as seen in the Figure, sleeve 36 is frictionally held in its displaced position by the spring loaded ball arrangement 38; see for example figs. 1-3, Col. 3 lines 5+) of the switch (i.e., 4; such as FIGS. 1 to 3 includes a housing 2, a spring loaded pushbutton 4 mounted in the housing; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) are associated with different control positions (i.e., 42, no-gap, 46; such as in this rest position, the closed rear section 42 of the channel 40 is left unoccupied by sleeve 36. In this position, sleeve 36 is frictionally held in place by the spring loaded ball arrangement 38, in this position a gap 46 is created between the end parts of sleeves 34 and 36. Also as seen in the Figure, sleeve 36 is frictionally held in its displaced position by the spring loaded ball arrangement 38; see for example figs. 1-3, Col. 3 lines 5+) of the control element (i.e., 22; such as an L-shaped plate 22 is secured to hinge 24 which in turn is mounted at 26 to the housing 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+); 1. wherein the assembly (i.e., 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) comprises a status sensor (i.e., 30; such as a normally open vacuum encapsulated reed switch 30 is axially disposed inside a coil 32 and is adapted to be activated by electromagnetic lines of force; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) that can be influenced (i.e., activated; such as reed switch 30 is axially disposed inside a coil 32 and is adapted to be activated by electromagnetic lines of force; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) by the blow magnetic field (i.e., 32; such as the coil 32 is adapted to continuously receive electrical impulses at adjustable predetermined intervals and durations. The impulses are adjusted to generate in the coil a magnetic field of a sufficient strength to influence the reed switch 30, when it is not shielded by the sleeves 34 or 36; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) and an influencing element (i.e., 34; such as sleeve 34 is secured to the plate 22 by means of a flexible wire or a retaining pin 23, while sleeve 36 is frictionally controlled by means of an adjustable spring loaded ball and screw arrangement 38. Both sleeves are adapted to reciprocate in an annular guiding channel 40 provided between the coil 32 and the reed switch 30; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) for influencing (i.e., activating the reed switch 30 from OPEN to CLOSE and vice versa; such as the impulses are adjusted to generate in the coil a magnetic field of a sufficient strength to influence the reed switch 30, when it is not shielded by the sleeves 34 or 36. Furthermore, for reasons which will become apparent hereinafter, the normally open reed switch 30 is of the kind requiring a relatively weaker magnetic-field for sustaining it in its closed position, than the magnetic-field required in order to cause the closing of the switch; and the shields are of such a nature as to prevent the magnetic field from closing said switch while allowing a sufficient amount of flux to penetrate in order to sustain said switch in its closed position; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) the blow magnetic field (i.e., 32; such as the coil 32 is adapted to continuously receive electrical impulses at adjustable predetermined intervals and durations. The impulses are adjusted to generate in the coil a magnetic field of a sufficient strength to influence the reed switch 30, when it is not shielded by the sleeves 34 or 36; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) at the status sensor (i.e., 30; such as a normally open vacuum encapsulated reed switch 30 is axially disposed inside a coil 32 and is adapted to be activated by electromagnetic lines of force; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+); 2. wherein the blow magnetic field (i.e., 32; such as the coil 32 is adapted to continuously receive electrical impulses at adjustable predetermined intervals and durations. The impulses are adjusted to generate in the coil a magnetic field of a sufficient strength to influence the reed switch 30, when it is not shielded by the sleeves 34 or 36; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) at the status sensor (i.e., 30; such as a normally open vacuum encapsulated reed switch 30 is axially disposed inside a coil 32 and is adapted to be activated by electromagnetic lines of force; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) depends on a relative position (i.e., the position of 30 with respect to 34 in three scenarios and these are; scenario. I) when gap 42 is generated, see fig. 1; scenario. II) when no gap is generated, see fig. 2; and finally, scenario. III) when gap 46 is generated, see fig. 3; see for example Col. 3 lines 5+) between the status sensor (i.e., 30; such as a normally open vacuum encapsulated reed switch 30 is axially disposed inside a coil 32 and is adapted to be activated by electromagnetic lines of force; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) and the influencing element (i.e., 34; such as sleeve 34 is secured to the plate 22 by means of a flexible wire or a retaining pin 23, while sleeve 36 is frictionally controlled by means of an adjustable spring loaded ball and screw arrangement 38. Both sleeves are adapted to reciprocate in an annular guiding channel 40 provided between the coil 32 and the reed switch 30; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+), and wherein the assembly (i.e., 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) is configured such that the relative position (i.e., the position of 30 with respect to 34 in three scenarios and these are; scenario. I) when gap 42 is generated, see fig. 1; scenario. II) when no gap is generated, see fig. 2; and finally, scenario. III) when gap 46 is generated, see fig. 3; see for example Col. 3 lines 5+) changes when the control position (i.e., 42, no-gap, 46; such as in this rest position, the closed rear section 42 of the channel 40 is left unoccupied by sleeve 36. In this position, sleeve 36 is frictionally held in place by the spring-loaded ball arrangement 38, in this position a gap 46 is created between the end parts of sleeves 34 and 36. Also as seen in the Figure, sleeve 36 is frictionally held in its displaced position by the spring-loaded ball arrangement 38; see for example figs. 1-3, Col. 3 lines 5+) of the control element (i.e., 22; such as an L-shaped plate 22 is secured to hinge 24 which in turn is mounted at 26 to the housing 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) changes.
Regarding claim 2, Zioni discloses assembly (i.e., 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+); wherein the influencing element (i.e., 34; such as sleeve 34 is secured to the plate 22 by means of a flexible wire or a retaining pin 23, while sleeve 36 is frictionally controlled by means of an adjustable spring-loaded ball and screw arrangement 38. Both sleeves are adapted to reciprocate in an annular guiding channel 40 provided between the coil 32 and the reed switch 30; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) is mechanically coupled (i.e., 34 move according to 22 and vice versa; such as sleeve 34 is secured to the plate 22 by means of a flexible wire or a retaining pin 23; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) to the control element (i.e., 22; such as an L-shaped plate 22 is secured to hinge 24 which in turn is mounted at 26 to the housing 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+).
Regarding claim 3, Zioni discloses assembly (i.e., 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+); wherein the control element (i.e., 22; such as an L-shaped plate 22 is secured to hinge 24 which in turn is mounted at 26 to the housing 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) and the influencing element (i.e., 34; such as sleeve 34 is secured to the plate 22 by means of a flexible wire or a retaining pin 23, while sleeve 36 is frictionally controlled by means of an adjustable spring loaded ball and screw arrangement 38. Both sleeves are adapted to reciprocate in an annular guiding channel 40 provided between the coil 32 and the reed switch 30; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) are rigidly connected to each other (i.e., 22 is rigidly connected to 34 via 23; such as sleeve 34 is secured to the plate 22 by means of a flexible wire or a retaining pin 23; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+).
Regarding claim 4, Zioni discloses assembly (i.e., 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+); wherein the influencing element (i.e., 34; such as sleeve 34 is secured to the plate 22 by means of a flexible wire or a retaining pin 23, while sleeve 36 is frictionally controlled by means of an adjustable spring-loaded ball and screw arrangement 38. Both sleeves are adapted to reciprocate in an annular guiding channel 40 provided between the coil 32 and the reed switch 30; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) is an attenuating element (i.e., weakening the magnetic flux; such as a relatively weaker magnetic-field; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+).
Regarding claim 5, Zioni discloses assembly (i.e., 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+); wherein in at least one of the control positions (i.e., 42, no-gap, 46; such as in this rest position, the closed rear section 42 of the channel 40 is left unoccupied by sleeve 36. In this position, sleeve 36 is frictionally held in place by the spring loaded ball arrangement 38, in this position a gap 46 is created between the end parts of sleeves 34 and 36. Also as seen in the Figure, sleeve 36 is frictionally held in its displaced position by the spring loaded ball arrangement 38; see for example figs. 1-3, Col. 3 lines 5+) the status sensor (i.e., 30; such as a normally open vacuum encapsulated reed switch 30 is axially disposed inside a coil 32 and is adapted to be activated by electromagnetic lines of force; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) is surrounded by a magnetic shielding (i.e., shield provided by sleeves 34, 36; such as described hereinbefore, coil 32 is continuously provided with impulses having the capability of inducing a magnetic field of a sufficient strength to activate the reed switch, i.e., to close said switch. As long as the reed switch is magnetically shielded by the sleeves 34, 36, FIGS. 1 and 2, no actuation of the switch can take place. However, after the return of plate 22 and the linked sleeve 34 to their initial position, the gap 46 created between the sleeves allows the magnetic flux to reach the switch and to close it. The closing of the switch initiates the activation of the circuit to which it is wired; see for example figs. 1-3, Col. 3 lines 5+) that is closed in a ring-shaped manner (i.e., the ring-shaped sleeve that is surrounded by sleeves 34, 36 and channel 40; such as further seen in these drawings, a normally open vacuum encapsulated reed switch 30 is axially disposed inside a coil 32 and is adapted to be activated by electromagnetic lines of force. Both sleeves are adapted to reciprocate in an annular guiding channel 40 provided between the coil 32 and the reed switch 30; see for example figs. 1-3, Col. 3 lines 5+) around the status sensor (i.e., 30; such as a normally open vacuum encapsulated reed switch 30 is axially disposed inside a coil 32 and is adapted to be activated by electromagnetic lines of force; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+), wherein the influencing element (i.e., 34; such as sleeve 34 is secured to the plate 22 by means of a flexible wire or a retaining pin 23, while sleeve 36 is frictionally controlled by means of an adjustable spring loaded ball and screw arrangement 38. Both sleeves are adapted to reciprocate in an annular guiding channel 40 provided between the coil 32 and the reed switch 30; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) is part of the shielding (i.e., shield provided by sleeves 34, 36; such as described hereinbefore, coil 32 is continuously provided with impulses having the capability of inducing a magnetic field of a sufficient strength to activate the reed switch, i.e., to close said switch. As long as the reed switch is magnetically shielded by the sleeves 34, 36, FIGS. 1 and 2, no actuation of the switch can take place. However, after the return of plate 22 and the linked sleeve 34 to their initial position, the gap 46 created between the sleeves allows the magnetic flux to reach the switch and to close it. The closing of the switch initiates the activation of the circuit to which it is wired; see for example figs. 1-3, Col. 3 lines 5+).
Regarding claim 6, Zioni discloses assembly (i.e., 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+); wherein the influencing element (i.e., 34; such as sleeve 34 is secured to the plate 22 by means of a flexible wire or a retaining pin 23, while sleeve 36 is frictionally controlled by means of an adjustable spring-loaded ball and screw arrangement 38. Both sleeves are adapted to reciprocate in an annular guiding channel 40 provided between the coil 32 and the reed switch 30; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) is an amplifying element (i.e., strengthening the magnetic flux; such as allowing a sufficient strength amount of flux to penetrate in order to sustain said switch in its closed position; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+).
Regarding claim 7, Zioni discloses assembly (i.e., 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+); wherein the influencing element (i.e., 34; such as sleeve 34 is secured to the plate 22 by means of a flexible wire or a retaining pin 23, while sleeve 36 is frictionally controlled by means of an adjustable spring-loaded ball and screw arrangement 38. Both sleeves are adapted to reciprocate in an annular guiding channel 40 provided between the coil 32 and the reed switch 30; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) is a direction changing element (i.e., 34 changes the direction of 36 in three scenarios and these are; scenario. I) when gap 42 is generated, see fig. 1; scenario. II) when no gap is generated, see fig. 2; and finally, scenario. III) when gap 46 is generated, see fig. 3; see for example Col. 3 lines 5+).
Regarding claim 8, Zioni discloses assembly (i.e., 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+); wherein the influencing element (i.e., 34; such as sleeve 34 is secured to the plate 22 by means of a flexible wire or a retaining pin 23, while sleeve 36 is frictionally controlled by means of an adjustable spring-loaded ball and screw arrangement 38. Both sleeves are adapted to reciprocate in an annular guiding channel 40 provided between the coil 32 and the reed switch 30; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) comprises a punched and/or formed metal sheet (i.e., 34 and 36 formed of metal; such as interposed between the reed switch 30 and the interior of the coil 32 are axially disposed sleeves 34 and 36 surrounding at least the major length of said reed switch and adapted to shield the switch from the electromagnetic lines of force by being made of any suitable high permeability metal; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+).
Regarding claim 9, Zioni discloses assembly (i.e., 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+); wherein the influencing element (i.e., 34; such as sleeve 34 is secured to the plate 22 by means of a flexible wire or a retaining pin 23, while sleeve 36 is frictionally controlled by means of an adjustable spring-loaded ball and screw arrangement 38. Both sleeves are adapted to reciprocate in an annular guiding channel 40 provided between the coil 32 and the reed switch 30; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) is a mechanical shielding (i.e., the magnetic shield provided by sleeves 34 and 36 corresponds to the mechanical shield of reed switch 30 because no actuation of the switch 30 can take place, in other word switch 30 is physically guarded from exposure to the magnetic flux that is generated by coil 32. Simultaneously with the closing of the switch, the magnetic flux will act also on the frictionally displaceable sleeve 36 to cause its movement towards sleeve 34 until it abuts against the latter, thus closing the gap 46 and re-shielding the reed switch; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) for the status sensor (i.e., 30; such as a normally open vacuum encapsulated reed switch 30 is axially disposed inside a coil 32 and is adapted to be activated by electromagnetic lines of force; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+).
Regarding claim 10, Zioni discloses assembly (i.e., 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+); wherein the status sensor (i.e., 30; such as a normally open vacuum encapsulated reed switch 30 is axially disposed inside a coil 32 and is adapted to be activated by electromagnetic lines of force; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) is a discrete status sensor (i.e., ON/OFF scheme switch either CLOSE or OPEN reflects on power leads 44; such as Reed switch 30 is connected in circuit by means of leads 44 to the device to be indirectly and finally activated, deactivated or initiated when said switch is closed; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+).
Regarding claim 11, Zioni discloses assembly (i.e., 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+); wherein the status sensor (i.e., 30; such as a normally open vacuum encapsulated reed switch 30 is axially disposed inside a coil 32 and is adapted to be activated by electromagnetic lines of force; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) consists of a single component (i.e., a one piece element 30/48; two reeds in a glass capsule 48; see for example fig. 4, Col. 4 lines 55+).
Regarding claim 12, Zioni discloses assembly (i.e., 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+); wherein the status sensor (i.e., 30; such as a normally open vacuum encapsulated reed switch 30 is axially disposed inside a coil 32 and is adapted to be activated by electromagnetic lines of force; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) is a reed switch (i.e., 30; such as a normally open vacuum encapsulated reed switch 30 is axially disposed inside a coil 32 and is adapted to be activated by electromagnetic lines of force; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+).
Regarding claim 13, Zioni discloses assembly (i.e., 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+); wherein the status sensor (i.e., 30; such as a normally open vacuum encapsulated reed switch 30 is axially disposed inside a coil 32 and is adapted to be activated by electromagnetic lines of force; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) is arranged within a switching chamber (i.e., 40; such as both sleeves are adapted to reciprocate in an annular guiding channel 40 provided between the coil 32 and the reed switch 30. As is seen in FIG. 1, at its "set" or "ready" position, sleeve 34 bears against the vertical leg of the L-shaped plate 22, said sleeve partially extending outside the channel 40. Sleeve 36 abuts with one of its ends the end of sleeve 34 thus forming a continuous sheath around the major part of reed switch 30. In this rest position, the closed rear section 42 of the channel 40 is left unoccupied by sleeve 36. In this position, sleeve 36 is frictionally held in place by the spring-loaded ball arrangement 38. When plate 22 is caused to move by either body 6 or core-wire 20, (see FIG. 2) it will bear against sleeve 34 and cause it to be axially displaced toward the inside of channel 40 while slidingly pushing sleeve 36 towards the closed rear section 42 of the channel 40; see for example see for example figs. 1-3, Col. 3 lines 5+).
Regarding claim 14, Zioni discloses mechanical switch (i.e., 4; such as FIGS. 1 to 3 includes a housing 2, a spring loaded pushbutton 4 mounted in the housing; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) for high currents and/or high voltages (i.e., such as to electrically and/or electromagnetically isolate the initial activation means e.g., said push-button, from a direct contact or the direct influence of any current carrying element of the device; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) with a blow magnetic field (i.e., 32; such as the coil 32 is adapted to continuously receive electrical impulses at adjustable predetermined intervals and durations. The impulses are adjusted to generate in the coil a magnetic field of a sufficient strength to influence the reed switch 30, when it is not shielded by the sleeves 34 or 36; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+), the mechanical switch (i.e., 4; such as FIGS. 1 to 3 includes a housing 2, a spring loaded pushbutton 4 mounted in the housing; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) comprising: 1. a control element (i.e., 22; such as an L-shaped plate 22 is secured to hinge 24 which in turn is mounted at 26 to the housing 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) that can be moved into several control positions (i.e., 42, no-gap, 46; such as in this rest position, the closed rear section 42 of the channel 40 is left unoccupied by sleeve 36. In this position, sleeve 36 is frictionally held in place by the spring loaded ball arrangement 38, in this position a gap 46 is created between the end parts of sleeves 34 and 36. Also as seen in the Figure, sleeve 36 is frictionally held in its displaced position by the spring loaded ball arrangement 38; see for example figs. 1-3, Col. 3 lines 5+) by a drive (i.e., 6; such as said pushbutton comprising a manipulating body 6 attached to a knob 8 which in turn is biased by means of a spring 10; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+), wherein different switching positions (i.e., 42, no-gap, 46; such as in this rest position, the closed rear section 42 of the channel 40 is left unoccupied by sleeve 36. In this position, sleeve 36 is frictionally held in place by the spring loaded ball arrangement 38, in this position a gap 46 is created between the end parts of sleeves 34 and 36. Also as seen in the Figure, sleeve 36 is frictionally held in its displaced position by the spring loaded ball arrangement 38; see for example figs. 1-3, Col. 3 lines 5+) of the switch (i.e., 4; such as FIGS. 1 to 3 includes a housing 2, a spring loaded pushbutton 4 mounted in the housing; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) are associated with different control positions (i.e., 42, no-gap, 46; such as in this rest position, the closed rear section 42 of the channel 40 is left unoccupied by sleeve 36. In this position, sleeve 36 is frictionally held in place by the spring loaded ball arrangement 38, in this position a gap 46 is created between the end parts of sleeves 34 and 36. Also as seen in the Figure, sleeve 36 is frictionally held in its displaced position by the spring loaded ball arrangement 38; see for example figs. 1-3, Col. 3 lines 5+) of the control element (i.e., 22; such as an L-shaped plate 22 is secured to hinge 24 which in turn is mounted at 26 to the housing 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+); and 2. an assembly (i.e., 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) for monitoring the status (i.e., such as to see if power leads 44 are OPEN or CLOSE; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) of the mechanical switch (i.e., 4; such as FIGS. 1 to 3 includes a housing 2, a spring loaded pushbutton 4 mounted in the housing; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+), the assembly (i.e., 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) includes a status sensor (i.e., 30; such as a normally open vacuum encapsulated reed switch 30 is axially disposed inside a coil 32 and is adapted to be activated by electromagnetic lines of force; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) influenced (i.e., activated; such as reed switch 30 is axially disposed inside a coil 32 and is adapted to be activated by electromagnetic lines of force; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) by the blow magnetic field (i.e., 32; such as the coil 32 is adapted to continuously receive electrical impulses at adjustable predetermined intervals and durations. The impulses are adjusted to generate in the coil a magnetic field of a sufficient strength to influence the reed switch 30, when it is not shielded by the sleeves 34 or 36; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) and an influencing element (i.e., 34; such as sleeve 34 is secured to the plate 22 by means of a flexible wire or a retaining pin 23, while sleeve 36 is frictionally controlled by means of an adjustable spring loaded ball and screw arrangement 38. Both sleeves are adapted to reciprocate in an annular guiding channel 40 provided between the coil 32 and the reed switch 30; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) for influencing (i.e., activating the reed switch 30 from OPEN to CLOSE and vice versa; such as the impulses are adjusted to generate in the coil a magnetic field of a sufficient strength to influence the reed switch 30, when it is not shielded by the sleeves 34 or 36. Furthermore, for reasons which will become apparent hereinafter, the normally open reed switch 30 is of the kind requiring a relatively weaker magnetic-field for sustaining it in its closed position, than the magnetic-field required in order to cause the closing of the switch; and the shields are of such a nature as to prevent the magnetic field from closing said switch while allowing a sufficient amount of flux to penetrate in order to sustain said switch in its closed position; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) the blow magnetic field (i.e., 32; such as the coil 32 is adapted to continuously receive electrical impulses at adjustable predetermined intervals and durations. The impulses are adjusted to generate in the coil a magnetic field of a sufficient strength to influence the reed switch 30, when it is not shielded by the sleeves 34 or 36; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) at the status sensor (i.e., 30; such as a normally open vacuum encapsulated reed switch 30 is axially disposed inside a coil 32 and is adapted to be activated by electromagnetic lines of force; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+), wherein [a] the relative position (i.e., the position of 30 with respect to 34 in three scenarios and these are; scenario. I) when gap 42 is generated, see fig. 1; scenario. II) when no gap is generated, see fig. 2; and finally, scenario. III) when gap 46 is generated, see fig. 3; see for example Col. 3 lines 5+) between the status sensor (i.e., 30; such as a normally open vacuum encapsulated reed switch 30 is axially disposed inside a coil 32 and is adapted to be activated by electromagnetic lines of force; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) and the influencing element (i.e., 34; such as sleeve 34 is secured to the plate 22 by means of a flexible wire or a retaining pin 23, while sleeve 36 is frictionally controlled by means of an adjustable spring loaded ball and screw arrangement 38. Both sleeves are adapted to reciprocate in an annular guiding channel 40 provided between the coil 32 and the reed switch 30; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) affects the blow magnetic field (i.e., 32; such as the coil 32 is adapted to continuously receive electrical impulses at adjustable predetermined intervals and durations. The impulses are adjusted to generate in the coil a magnetic field of a sufficient strength to influence the reed switch 30, when it is not shielded by the sleeves 34 or 36; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) at the status sensor (i.e., 30; such as a normally open vacuum encapsulated reed switch 30 is axially disposed inside a coil 32 and is adapted to be activated by electromagnetic lines of force; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+); 3. wherein the assembly (i.e., 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) is configured such that the relative position (i.e., the position of 30 with respect to 34 in three scenarios and these are; scenario. I) when gap 42 is generated, see fig. 1; scenario. II) when no gap is generated, see fig. 2; and finally, scenario. III) when gap 46 is generated, see fig. 3; see for example Col. 3 lines 5+) changes when the control position (i.e., 42, no-gap, 46; such as in this rest position, the closed rear section 42 of the channel 40 is left unoccupied by sleeve 36. In this position, sleeve 36 is frictionally held in place by the spring-loaded ball arrangement 38, in this position a gap 46 is created between the end parts of sleeves 34 and 36. Also as seen in the Figure, sleeve 36 is frictionally held in its displaced position by the spring-loaded ball arrangement 38; see for example figs. 1-3, Col. 3 lines 5+) of the control element (i.e., 22; such as an L-shaped plate 22 is secured to hinge 24 which in turn is mounted at 26 to the housing 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) changes.
Regarding claim 15, Zioni discloses mechanical switch (i.e., 4; such as FIGS. 1 to 3 includes a housing 2, a spring loaded pushbutton 4 mounted in the housing; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+); wherein the influencing element (i.e., 34; such as sleeve 34 is secured to the plate 22 by means of a flexible wire or a retaining pin 23, while sleeve 36 is frictionally controlled by means of an adjustable spring loaded ball and screw arrangement 38. Both sleeves are adapted to reciprocate in an annular guiding channel 40 provided between the coil 32 and the reed switch 30; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) is mechanically coupled (i.e., 34 move according to 22 and vice versa; such as sleeve 34 is secured to the plate 22 by means of a flexible wire or a retaining pin 23; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) to the control element (i.e., 22; such as an L-shaped plate 22 is secured to hinge 24 which in turn is mounted at 26 to the housing 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+).
Regarding claim 16, Zioni discloses mechanical switch (i.e., 4; such as FIGS. 1 to 3 includes a housing 2, a spring loaded pushbutton 4 mounted in the housing; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+); wherein the influencing element (i.e., 34; such as sleeve 34 is secured to the plate 22 by means of a flexible wire or a retaining pin 23, while sleeve 36 is frictionally controlled by means of an adjustable spring loaded ball and screw arrangement 38. Both sleeves are adapted to reciprocate in an annular guiding channel 40 provided between the coil 32 and the reed switch 30; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) is one of an attenuating element (i.e., weakening the magnetic flux; such as a relatively weaker magnetic-field; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+), an amplifying element (i.e., strengthening the magnetic flux; such as allowing a sufficient strength amount of flux to penetrate in order to sustain said switch in its closed position; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+), a direction changing element (i.e., 34 changes the direction of 36 in three scenarios and these are; scenario. I) when gap 42 is generated, see fig. 1; scenario. II) when no gap is generated, see fig. 2; and finally, scenario. III) when gap 46 is generated, see fig. 3; see for example Col. 3 lines 5+), or a mechanical shielding (i.e., the magnetic shield provided by sleeves 34 and 36 corresponds to the mechanical shield of reed switch 30 because no actuation of the switch 30 can take place, in other word switch 30 is physically guarded from exposure to the magnetic flux that is generated by coil 32. Simultaneously with the closing of the switch, the magnetic flux will act also on the frictionally displaceable sleeve 36 to cause its movement towards sleeve 34 until it abuts against the latter, thus closing the gap 46 and re-shielding the reed switch; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) for the status sensor (i.e., 30; such as a normally open vacuum encapsulated reed switch 30 is axially disposed inside a coil 32 and is adapted to be activated by electromagnetic lines of force; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+).
Regarding claim 17, Zioni discloses mechanical switch (i.e., 4; such as FIGS. 1 to 3 includes a housing 2, a spring loaded pushbutton 4 mounted in the housing; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+); wherein the assembly (i.e., 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) includes a magnetic shielding (i.e., shield provided by sleeves 34, 36; such as described hereinbefore, coil 32 is continuously provided with impulses having the capability of inducing a magnetic field of a sufficient strength to activate the reed switch, i.e., to close said switch. As long as the reed switch is magnetically shielded by the sleeves 34, 36, FIGS. 1 and 2, no actuation of the switch can take place. However, after the return of plate 22 and the linked sleeve 34 to their initial position, the gap 46 created between the sleeves allows the magnetic flux to reach the switch and to close it. The closing of the switch initiates the activation of the circuit to which it is wired; see for example figs. 1-3, Col. 3 lines 5+) that is closed in a ring-shaped manner (i.e., the ring-shaped sleeve that is surrounded by sleeves 34, 36 and channel 40; such as further seen in these drawings, a normally open vacuum encapsulated reed switch 30 is axially disposed inside a coil 32 and is adapted to be activated by electromagnetic lines of force. Both sleeves are adapted to reciprocate in an annular guiding channel 40 provided between the coil 32 and the reed switch 30; see for example figs. 1-3, Col. 3 lines 5+) around the status sensor (i.e., 30; such as a normally open vacuum encapsulated reed switch 30 is axially disposed inside a coil 32 and is adapted to be activated by electromagnetic lines of force; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+), wherein in at least one of the control positions (i.e., 42, no-gap, 46; such as in this rest position, the closed rear section 42 of the channel 40 is left unoccupied by sleeve 36. In this position, sleeve 36 is frictionally held in place by the spring loaded ball arrangement 38, in this position a gap 46 is created between the end parts of sleeves 34 and 36. Also as seen in the Figure, sleeve 36 is frictionally held in its displaced position by the spring loaded ball arrangement 38; see for example figs. 1-3, Col. 3 lines 5+) the status sensor (i.e., 30; such as a normally open vacuum encapsulated reed switch 30 is axially disposed inside a coil 32 and is adapted to be activated by electromagnetic lines of force; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) is surrounded by the magnetic shielding (i.e., shield provided by sleeves 34, 36; such as described hereinbefore, coil 32 is continuously provided with impulses having the capability of inducing a magnetic field of a sufficient strength to activate the reed switch, i.e., to close said switch. As long as the reed switch is magnetically shielded by the sleeves 34, 36, FIGS. 1 and 2, no actuation of the switch can take place. However, after the return of plate 22 and the linked sleeve 34 to their initial position, the gap 46 created between the sleeves allows the magnetic flux to reach the switch and to close it. The closing of the switch initiates the activation of the circuit to which it is wired; see for example figs. 1-3, Col. 3 lines 5+), the influencing element (i.e., 34; such as sleeve 34 is secured to the plate 22 by means of a flexible wire or a retaining pin 23, while sleeve 36 is frictionally controlled by means of an adjustable spring-loaded ball and screw arrangement 38. Both sleeves are adapted to reciprocate in an annular guiding channel 40 provided between the coil 32 and the reed switch 30; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) being part of the shielding (i.e., shield provided by sleeves 34, 36; such as described hereinbefore, coil 32 is continuously provided with impulses having the capability of inducing a magnetic field of a sufficient strength to activate the reed switch, i.e., to close said switch. As long as the reed switch is magnetically shielded by the sleeves 34, 36, FIGS. 1 and 2, no actuation of the switch can take place. However, after the return of plate 22 and the linked sleeve 34 to their initial position, the gap 46 created between the sleeves allows the magnetic flux to reach the switch and to close it. The closing of the switch initiates the activation of the circuit to which it is wired; see for example figs. 1-3, Col. 3 lines 5+).
Regarding claim 18, Zioni discloses mechanical switch (i.e., 4; such as FIGS. 1 to 3 includes a housing 2, a spring loaded pushbutton 4 mounted in the housing; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+); wherein the status sensor (i.e., 30; such as a normally open vacuum encapsulated reed switch 30 is axially disposed inside a coil 32 and is adapted to be activated by electromagnetic lines of force; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) is a reed switch (i.e., 30; such as a normally open vacuum encapsulated reed switch 30 is axially disposed inside a coil 32 and is adapted to be activated by electromagnetic lines of force; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+).
Regarding claim 19, Zioni discloses mechanical switch (i.e., 4; such as FIGS. 1 to 3 includes a housing 2, a spring loaded pushbutton 4 mounted in the housing; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+); wherein the status sensor (i.e., 30; such as a normally open vacuum encapsulated reed switch 30 is axially disposed inside a coil 32 and is adapted to be activated by electromagnetic lines of force; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) is arranged within a switching chamber (i.e., 40; such as both sleeves are adapted to reciprocate in an annular guiding channel 40 provided between the coil 32 and the reed switch 30. As is seen in FIG. 1, at its "set" or "ready" position, sleeve 34 bears against the vertical leg of the L-shaped plate 22, said sleeve partially extending outside the channel 40. Sleeve 36 abuts with one of its ends the end of sleeve 34 thus forming a continuous sheath around the major part of reed switch 30. In this rest position, the closed rear section 42 of the channel 40 is left unoccupied by sleeve 36. In this position, sleeve 36 is frictionally held in place by the spring-loaded ball arrangement 38. When plate 22 is caused to move by either body 6 or core-wire 20, (see FIG. 2) it will bear against sleeve 34 and cause it to be axially displaced toward the inside of channel 40 while slidingly pushing sleeve 36 towards the closed rear section 42 of the channel 40; see for example see for example figs. 1-3, Col. 3 lines 5+).
Regarding claim 20, Zioni discloses method (i.e., the arrangement of the assembly 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) for monitoring the status (i.e., such as to see if power leads 44 are OPEN or CLOSE; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) of a mechanical switch (i.e., 4; such as FIGS. 1 to 3 includes a housing 2, a spring loaded pushbutton 4 mounted in the housing; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) for high currents and/or high voltages (i.e., such as to electrically and/or electromagnetically isolate the initial activation means e.g., said push-button, from a direct contact or the direct influence of any current carrying element of the device; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) with a blow magnetic field (i.e., 32; such as the coil 32 is adapted to continuously receive electrical impulses at adjustable predetermined intervals and durations. The impulses are adjusted to generate in the coil a magnetic field of a sufficient strength to influence the reed switch 30, when it is not shielded by the sleeves 34 or 36; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+), wherein the blow magnetic field (i.e., 32; such as the coil 32 is adapted to continuously receive electrical impulses at adjustable predetermined intervals and durations. The impulses are adjusted to generate in the coil a magnetic field of a sufficient strength to influence the reed switch 30, when it is not shielded by the sleeves 34 or 36; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) acting on a status sensor (i.e., 30; such as a normally open vacuum encapsulated reed switch 30 is axially disposed inside a coil 32 and is adapted to be activated by electromagnetic lines of force; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) is changed by a movement (i.e., the position of 30 with respect to 34 or 22 because 22 is rigidly connected to 34, in three scenarios and these are; scenario. I) when gap 42 is generated, see fig. 1; scenario. II) when no gap is generated, see fig. 2; and finally, scenario. III) when gap 46 is generated, see fig. 3; see for example Col. 3 lines 5+) of a control element (i.e., 22; such as an L-shaped plate 22 is secured to hinge 24 which in turn is mounted at 26 to the housing 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+).
Conclusion
/MUAAMAR QAHTAN AL-TAWEEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838