DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 06/16/2026 with respect to claims 1, 14 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1 line 13, “a vicinity” ---, should be corrected to ---, “the vicinity” ---.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zioni et al (US Patent No. 3980980) in view of Bates (US Patent No. 3594518).
Regarding claim 1, Zioni discloses assembly (i.e., 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) for monitoring the status (i.e., such as to see if power leads 44 are OPEN or CLOSE; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) of a switch (i.e., 4; such as FIGS. 1 to 3 includes a housing 2, a spring loaded pushbutton 4 mounted in the housing; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) for high currents and/or high voltages (i.e., such as to electrically and/or electromagnetically isolate the initial activation means e.g., said push-button, from a direct contact or the direct influence of any current carrying element of the device; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) with a blow magnetic field (i.e., 32; such as the coil 32 is adapted to continuously receive electrical impulses at adjustable predetermined intervals and durations. The impulses are adjusted to generate in the coil a magnetic field of a sufficient strength to influence the reed switch 30, when it is not shielded by the sleeves 34 or 36; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) and a control element (i.e., 22; such as an L-shaped plate 22 is secured to hinge 24 which in turn is mounted at 26 to the housing 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) that can be moved into several control positions (i.e., 42, no-gap, 46; such as in this rest position, the closed rear section 42 of the channel 40 is left unoccupied by sleeve 36. In this position, sleeve 36 is frictionally held in place by the spring loaded ball arrangement 38, in this position a gap 46 is created between the end parts of sleeves 34 and 36. Also as seen in the Figure, sleeve 36 is frictionally held in its displaced position by the spring loaded ball arrangement 38; see for example figs. 1-3, Col. 3 lines 5+) by a drive (i.e., 6; such as said pushbutton comprising a manipulating body 6 attached to a knob 8 which in turn is biased by means of a spring 10; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+), wherein different switching positions (i.e., 42, no-gap, 46; such as in this rest position, the closed rear section 42 of the channel 40 is left unoccupied by sleeve 36. In this position, sleeve 36 is frictionally held in place by the spring loaded ball arrangement 38, in this position a gap 46 is created between the end parts of sleeves 34 and 36. Also as seen in the Figure, sleeve 36 is frictionally held in its displaced position by the spring loaded ball arrangement 38; see for example figs. 1-3, Col. 3 lines 5+) of the switch (i.e., 4; such as FIGS. 1 to 3 includes a housing 2, a spring loaded pushbutton 4 mounted in the housing; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) are associated with different control positions (i.e., 42, no-gap, 46; such as in this rest position, the closed rear section 42 of the channel 40 is left unoccupied by sleeve 36. In this position, sleeve 36 is frictionally held in place by the spring loaded ball arrangement 38, in this position a gap 46 is created between the end parts of sleeves 34 and 36. Also as seen in the Figure, sleeve 36 is frictionally held in its displaced position by the spring loaded ball arrangement 38; see for example figs. 1-3, Col. 3 lines 5+) of the control element (i.e., 22; such as an L-shaped plate 22 is secured to hinge 24 which in turn is mounted at 26 to the housing 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+); 1. wherein the assembly (i.e., 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) comprises a status sensor (i.e., 30; such as a normally open vacuum encapsulated reed switch 30 is axially disposed inside a coil 32 and is adapted to be activated by electromagnetic lines of force; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) that can be influenced (i.e., activated; such as reed switch 30 is axially disposed inside a coil 32 and is adapted to be activated by electromagnetic lines of force; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) by the blow magnetic field (i.e., 32; such as the coil 32 is adapted to continuously receive electrical impulses at adjustable predetermined intervals and durations. The impulses are adjusted to generate in the coil a magnetic field of a sufficient strength to influence the reed switch 30, when it is not shielded by the sleeves 34 or 36; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) and an influencing element (i.e., 34; such as sleeve 34 is secured to the plate 22 by means of a flexible wire or a retaining pin 23, while sleeve 36 is frictionally controlled by means of an adjustable spring loaded ball and screw arrangement 38. Both sleeves are adapted to reciprocate in an annular guiding channel 40 provided between the coil 32 and the reed switch 30; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) for influencing (i.e., activating the reed switch 30 from OPEN to CLOSE and vice versa; such as the impulses are adjusted to generate in the coil a magnetic field of a sufficient strength to influence the reed switch 30, when it is not shielded by the sleeves 34 or 36. Furthermore, for reasons which will become apparent hereinafter, the normally open reed switch 30 is of the kind requiring a relatively weaker magnetic-field for sustaining it in its closed position, than the magnetic-field required in order to cause the closing of the switch; and the shields are of such a nature as to prevent the magnetic field from closing said switch while allowing a sufficient amount of flux to penetrate in order to sustain said switch in its closed position; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) the blow magnetic field (i.e., 32; such as the coil 32 is adapted to continuously receive electrical impulses at adjustable predetermined intervals and durations. The impulses are adjusted to generate in the coil a magnetic field of a sufficient strength to influence the reed switch 30, when it is not shielded by the sleeves 34 or 36; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) at the status sensor (i.e., 30; such as a normally open vacuum encapsulated reed switch 30 is axially disposed inside a coil 32 and is adapted to be activated by electromagnetic lines of force; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+); 2. wherein the blow magnetic field (i.e., 32; such as the coil 32 is adapted to continuously receive electrical impulses at adjustable predetermined intervals and durations. The impulses are adjusted to generate in the coil a magnetic field of a sufficient strength to influence the reed switch 30, when it is not shielded by the sleeves 34 or 36; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) at the status sensor (i.e., 30; such as a normally open vacuum encapsulated reed switch 30 is axially disposed inside a coil 32 and is adapted to be activated by electromagnetic lines of force; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) depends on a relative position (i.e., the position of 30 with respect to 34 in three scenarios and these are; scenario. I) when gap 42 is generated, see fig. 1; scenario. II) when no gap is generated, see fig. 2; and finally, scenario. III) when gap 46 is generated, see fig. 3; see for example Col. 3 lines 5+) between the status sensor (i.e., 30; such as a normally open vacuum encapsulated reed switch 30 is axially disposed inside a coil 32 and is adapted to be activated by electromagnetic lines of force; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) and the influencing element (i.e., 34; such as sleeve 34 is secured to the plate 22 by means of a flexible wire or a retaining pin 23, while sleeve 36 is frictionally controlled by means of an adjustable spring loaded ball and screw arrangement 38. Both sleeves are adapted to reciprocate in an annular guiding channel 40 provided between the coil 32 and the reed switch 30; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+), and wherein the assembly (i.e., 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) is configured such that the relative position (i.e., the position of 30 with respect to 34 in three scenarios and these are; scenario. I) when gap 42 is generated, see fig. 1; scenario. II) when no gap is generated, see fig. 2; and finally, scenario. III) when gap 46 is generated, see fig. 3; see for example Col. 3 lines 5+) changes when the control position (i.e., 42, no-gap, 46; such as in this rest position, the closed rear section 42 of the channel 40 is left unoccupied by sleeve 36. In this position, sleeve 36 is frictionally held in place by the spring-loaded ball arrangement 38, in this position a gap 46 is created between the end parts of sleeves 34 and 36. Also as seen in the Figure, sleeve 36 is frictionally held in its displaced position by the spring-loaded ball arrangement 38; see for example figs. 1-3, Col. 3 lines 5+) of the control element (i.e., 22; such as an L-shaped plate 22 is secured to hinge 24 which in turn is mounted at 26 to the housing 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) changes (i.e., such as changes via 22; for instance, an L-shaped plate 22 is secured to hinge 24 which in turn is mounted at 26 to the housing 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+).
Zioni does not explicitly disclose wherein the switch including a switching element in a chamber of the switch operable with a control element in the chamber to control movement of the switching element between different switching positions to change the operational status of the switch and with blow magnets in the chamber of the switch generating a blow magnetic field in the chamber, and in the chamber in a vicinity of the switching element that is configured to detect the status of the switch, the status sensor configured to be influenced by the blow magnetic field created by the blow magnets.
Bates discloses electrical switches (i.e., see for example figs. 1-2, Col. 1 lines 46+); wherein the switch (i.e., such as the switch assembly 2; see for example figs. 1-2, Col. 1 lines 46+) including a switching element (i.e., such as switching element 16/12 and 7/14; for instance, switch-contact 16 is the stationary contact and switch-contact 7 is the movable contact; see for example figs. 1-2, Col. 1 lines 46+) in a chamber (i.e., such as chamber as of the compartment housed by cap 11; see for example figs. 1-2, Col. 1 lines 46+) of the switch (i.e., such as the switch assembly 2; see for example figs. 1-2, Col. 1 lines 46+) operable (i.e., such as operable via rotatable hub portion 6; for instance, upon rotation of the drive shaft 4 the contact breaker assembly 2 and rotor arm 14 operate in the normal manner in association with an ignition coil to generate and distribute ignition pulses to spark ignition devices of an internal combustion engine, and the hub portion 6 drives the magnetic shunt member 7 in rotation so that the reed contact switches are operated when the cutout portion 8 in the rim 7a comes opposite each reed contact switch, thereby allowing the magnetic flux from the associated magnet to influence the reed contact switch; see for example figs. 1-2, Col. 1 lines 46+) with a control element (i.e., such as control element 6; for instance, a rotatable hub portion 6 of the unit is keyed on to the upper end of the drive shaft 4 and carries a movable member 7 in the form of a dish-shaped magnetic shunt e.g. of mild steel, having a rim 7a provided with a cutout portion 8. The body 5 also carries two diametrically spaced reed contact switches 9, as well as two magnet members 10 which are arranged one opposite each of the reed contact switches 9. Connecting tags 16 are provided for making electrical connections to the reed contacts. The upstanding rim 7a of the magnetic shunt member 7 can thus rotate in the gap between each reed contact switch 9 and its associated magnet member 10. The upper edge 5b of the body 5 is shaped to receive and locate the lower edge of the distributor cap 11 which contains the peripherally disposed distributor contacts 12 and also the central high-tension contact 13 which engages with the conducting portion of a rotor arm 14. The latter fits on and is keyed to the upper end of the hub portion 6. The cap 11 is retained in position by the securing clips 15; see for example figs. 1-2, Col. 1 lines 46+) in the chamber (i.e., such as chamber as of the compartment housed by cap 11; see for example figs. 1-2, Col. 1 lines 46+) to control movement (i.e., such as control movement of rotation between elements 7 and 8; for instance, upon rotation of the drive shaft 4 the contact breaker assembly 2 and rotor arm 14 operate in the normal manner in association with an ignition coil to generate and distribute ignition pulses to spark ignition devices of an internal combustion engine, and the hub portion 6 drives the magnetic shunt member 7 in rotation so that the reed contact switches are operated when the cutout portion 8 in the rim 7a comes opposite each reed contact switch, thereby allowing the magnetic flux from the associated magnet to influence the reed contact switch; see for example figs. 1-2, Col. 1 lines 46+) of the switching element (i.e., such as switching element 16/12 and 7/14; for instance, switch-contact 16 is the stationary contact and switch-contact 7 is the movable contact; see for example figs. 1-2, Col. 1 lines 46+) between different (i.e., such as the switching position of the movable contact 7 with respect to the stationary contact 16 is different from the switching position of the cutout portion 8 upon the rotation of the rotatable hub 6; for instance, upon rotation of the drive shaft 4 the contact breaker assembly 2 and rotor arm 14 operate in the normal manner in association with an ignition coil to generate and distribute ignition pulses to spark ignition devices of an internal combustion engine, and the hub portion 6 drives the magnetic shunt member 7 in rotation so that the reed contact switches are operated when the cutout portion 8 in the rim 7a comes opposite each reed contact switch, thereby allowing the magnetic flux from the associated magnet to influence the reed contact switch; see for example figs. 1-2, Col. 1 lines 46+) switching positions (i.e., such as the switching position of the movable contact 7 with respect to the stationary contact 16 is different from the switching position of the cutout portion 8 upon the rotation of the rotatable hub 6; for instance, upon rotation of the drive shaft 4 the contact breaker assembly 2 and rotor arm 14 operate in the normal manner in association with an ignition coil to generate and distribute ignition pulses to spark ignition devices of an internal combustion engine, and the hub portion 6 drives the magnetic shunt member 7 in rotation so that the reed contact switches are operated when the cutout portion 8 in the rim 7a comes opposite each reed contact switch, thereby allowing the magnetic flux from the associated magnet to influence the reed contact switch; see for example figs. 1-2, Col. 1 lines 46+) to change (i.e., such as the change between the movable contact 7 and the cutout portion 8 via rotatable hub 6 with respect to the body 5; for instance, upon rotation of the drive shaft 4 the contact breaker assembly 2 and rotor arm 14 operate in the normal manner in association with an ignition coil to generate and distribute ignition pulses to spark ignition devices of an internal combustion engine, and the hub portion 6 drives the magnetic shunt member 7 in rotation so that the reed contact switches are operated when the cutout portion 8 in the rim 7a comes opposite each reed contact switch, thereby allowing the magnetic flux from the associated magnet to influence the reed contact switch; see for example figs. 1-2, Col. 1 lines 46+) the operational status (i.e., such as the operational status is ON when the movable contact 7 is within the vicinity of body 5, in particular to be inside the sleeve within numeral 5b of the body 5 as to be within the proximity of the magnetic flux that is generated by the magnet 10 and sensed by the sensor reed switch 9, and the operational status is OFF when the cutout portion 8 is within the vicinity of body 5 as no magnetic-influence can happen and the circuit contacts 16 and 7 are broken; for instance, upon rotation of the drive shaft 4 the contact breaker assembly 2 and rotor arm 14 operate in the normal manner in association with an ignition coil to generate and distribute ignition pulses to spark ignition devices of an internal combustion engine, and the hub portion 6 drives the magnetic shunt member 7 in rotation so that the reed contact switches are operated when the cutout portion 8 in the rim 7a comes opposite each reed contact switch, thereby allowing the magnetic flux from the associated magnet to influence the reed contact switch; see for example figs. 1-2, Col. 1 lines 46+) of the switch (i.e., such as the switch assembly 2; see for example figs. 1-2, Col. 1 lines 46+) and with blow magnets (i.e., such as blow magnets 10; see for example figs. 1-2, Col. 1 lines 46+) in the chamber (i.e., such as chamber as of the compartment housed by cap 11; see for example figs. 1-2, Col. 1 lines 46+) of the switch (i.e., such as the switch assembly 2; see for example figs. 1-2, Col. 1 lines 46+) generating (i.e., such as magnets 10 are generating magnetic flux, thence, influencing sensor reed switch 9; see for example figs. 1-2, Col. 1 lines 46+) a blow magnetic field (i.e., such as blow magnetic field generated by the magnets 10; see for example figs. 1-2, Col. 1 lines 46+) in the chamber (i.e., such as chamber as of the compartment housed by cap 11; see for example figs. 1-2, Col. 1 lines 46+), and in the chamber (i.e., such as chamber as of the compartment housed by cap 11; see for example figs. 1-2, Col. 1 lines 46+) in a vicinity (i.e., such as within the vicinity of body 5; for instance, the operational status is ON when the movable contact 7 is within the vicinity of body 5, in particular to be inside the sleeve within numeral 5b of the body 5 as to be within the proximity of the magnetic flux that is generated by the magnet 10 and sensed by the sensor reed switch 9, and the operational status is OFF when the cutout portion 8 is within the vicinity of body 5 as no magnetic-influence can happen and the circuit contacts 16 and 7 are broken; for instance, upon rotation of the drive shaft 4 the contact breaker assembly 2 and rotor arm 14 operate in the normal manner in association with an ignition coil to generate and distribute ignition pulses to spark ignition devices of an internal combustion engine, and the hub portion 6 drives the magnetic shunt member 7 in rotation so that the reed contact switches are operated when the cutout portion 8 in the rim 7a comes opposite each reed contact switch, thereby allowing the magnetic flux from the associated magnet to influence the reed contact switch; see for example figs. 1-2, Col. 1 lines 46+) of the switching element (i.e., such as switching element 16/12 and 7/14; for instance, switch-contact 16 is the stationary contact and switch-contact 7 is the movable contact; see for example figs. 1-2, Col. 1 lines 46+) that is configured to detect (i.e., such as the sensor/reed-switch 9 is configured to detect the magnetic flux that is generated by the magnets 10; see for example figs. 1-2, Col. 1 lines 46+) the status (i.e., such as the ON/OFF status; for instance, the operational status is ON when the movable contact 7 is within the vicinity of body 5, in particular to be inside the sleeve within numeral 5b of the body 5 as to be within the proximity of the magnetic flux that is generated by the magnet 10 and sensed by the sensor reed switch 9, and the operational status is OFF when the cutout portion 8 is within the vicinity of body 5 as no magnetic-influence can happen and the circuit contacts 16 and 7 are broken; for instance, upon rotation of the drive shaft 4 the contact breaker assembly 2 and rotor arm 14 operate in the normal manner in association with an ignition coil to generate and distribute ignition pulses to spark ignition devices of an internal combustion engine, and the hub portion 6 drives the magnetic shunt member 7 in rotation so that the reed contact switches are operated when the cutout portion 8 in the rim 7a comes opposite each reed contact switch, thereby allowing the magnetic flux from the associated magnet to influence the reed contact switch; see for example figs. 1-2, Col. 1 lines 46+) of the switch (i.e., such as the switch assembly 2; see for example figs. 1-2, Col. 1 lines 46+), the status sensor (i.e., such as the status sensor reed switch 9; see for example figs. 1-2, Col. 1 lines 46+) configured to (i.e., such as the sensor/reed-switch 9 is configured to be influenced by the magnetic flux that is generated by the magnets 10; see for example figs. 1-2, Col. 1 lines 46+) be influenced (i.e., such as such as the sensor/reed-switch 9 is configured to be influenced by the magnetic flux that is generated by the magnets 10; for instance, upon rotation of the drive shaft 4 the contact breaker assembly 2 and rotor arm 14 operate in the normal manner in association with an ignition coil to generate and distribute ignition pulses to spark ignition devices of an internal combustion engine, and the hub portion 6 drives the magnetic shunt member 7 in rotation so that the reed contact switches are operated when the cutout portion 8 in the rim 7a comes opposite each reed contact switch, thereby allowing the magnetic flux from the associated magnet to influence the reed contact switch; see for example figs. 1-2, Col. 1 lines 46+) by the blow magnetic field (i.e., such as blow magnetic field generated by the magnets 10; see for example figs. 1-2, Col. 1 lines 46+) created (i.e., such as the magnetic flux is created by the magnets 10; see for example figs. 1-2, Col. 1 lines 46+) by the blow magnets (i.e., such as blow magnets 10; see for example figs. 1-2, Col. 1 lines 46+). Also, Bates discloses the influencing element (i.e., such as influencing element 7; see for example figs. 1-2, Col. 1 lines 46+) in the chamber (i.e., such as chamber as of the compartment housed by cap 11; see for example figs. 1-2, Col. 1 lines 46+) in the vicinity (i.e., such as within the vicinity of body 5; for instance, the operational status is ON when the movable contact 7 is within the vicinity of body 5, in particular to be inside the sleeve within numeral 5b of the body 5 as to be within the proximity of the magnetic flux that is generated by the magnet 10 and sensed by the sensor reed switch 9, and the operational status is OFF when the cutout portion 8 is within the vicinity of body 5 as no magnetic-influence can happen and the circuit contacts 16 and 7 are broken; for instance, upon rotation of the drive shaft 4 the contact breaker assembly 2 and rotor arm 14 operate in the normal manner in association with an ignition coil to generate and distribute ignition pulses to spark ignition devices of an internal combustion engine, and the hub portion 6 drives the magnetic shunt member 7 in rotation so that the reed contact switches are operated when the cutout portion 8 in the rim 7a comes opposite each reed contact switch, thereby allowing the magnetic flux from the associated magnet to influence the reed contact switch; see for example figs. 1-2, Col. 1 lines 46+) of the switching element (i.e., such as switching element 16/12 and 7/14; for instance, switch-contact 16 is the stationary contact and switch-contact 7 is the movable contact; see for example figs. 1-2, Col. 1 lines 46+).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the magnets in Zioni, as taught by Bates, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards allowing the switch to operate through contactless, remote proximity sensing, making the entire mechanism highly reliable, durable, and safe.
Regarding claim 2, Zioni in view Bates and the teachings of Zioni as modified by Bates have been discussed above.
Zioni further discloses assembly (i.e., 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+); wherein the influencing element (i.e., 34; such as sleeve 34 is secured to the plate 22 by means of a flexible wire or a retaining pin 23, while sleeve 36 is frictionally controlled by means of an adjustable spring-loaded ball and screw arrangement 38. Both sleeves are adapted to reciprocate in an annular guiding channel 40 provided between the coil 32 and the reed switch 30; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) is mechanically coupled (i.e., 34 move according to 22 and vice versa; such as sleeve 34 is secured to the plate 22 by means of a flexible wire or a retaining pin 23; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) to the control element (i.e., 22; such as an L-shaped plate 22 is secured to hinge 24 which in turn is mounted at 26 to the housing 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+).
Regarding claim 3, Zioni in view Bates and the teachings of Zioni as modified by Bates have been discussed above.
Zioni further discloses assembly (i.e., 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+); wherein the control element (i.e., 22; such as an L-shaped plate 22 is secured to hinge 24 which in turn is mounted at 26 to the housing 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) and the influencing element (i.e., 34; such as sleeve 34 is secured to the plate 22 by means of a flexible wire or a retaining pin 23, while sleeve 36 is frictionally controlled by means of an adjustable spring loaded ball and screw arrangement 38. Both sleeves are adapted to reciprocate in an annular guiding channel 40 provided between the coil 32 and the reed switch 30; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) are rigidly connected to each other (i.e., 22 is rigidly connected to 34 via 23; such as sleeve 34 is secured to the plate 22 by means of a flexible wire or a retaining pin 23; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+).
Regarding claim 4, Zioni in view Bates and the teachings of Zioni as modified by Bates have been discussed above.
Zioni further discloses assembly (i.e., 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+); wherein the influencing element (i.e., 34; such as sleeve 34 is secured to the plate 22 by means of a flexible wire or a retaining pin 23, while sleeve 36 is frictionally controlled by means of an adjustable spring-loaded ball and screw arrangement 38. Both sleeves are adapted to reciprocate in an annular guiding channel 40 provided between the coil 32 and the reed switch 30; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) is an attenuating element (i.e., weakening the magnetic flux; such as a relatively weaker magnetic-field; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+).
Regarding claim 5, Zioni in view Bates and the teachings of Zioni as modified by Bates have been discussed above.
Zioni further discloses assembly (i.e., 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+); wherein in at least one of the control positions (i.e., 42, no-gap, 46; such as in this rest position, the closed rear section 42 of the channel 40 is left unoccupied by sleeve 36. In this position, sleeve 36 is frictionally held in place by the spring loaded ball arrangement 38, in this position a gap 46 is created between the end parts of sleeves 34 and 36. Also as seen in the Figure, sleeve 36 is frictionally held in its displaced position by the spring loaded ball arrangement 38; see for example figs. 1-3, Col. 3 lines 5+) the status sensor (i.e., 30; such as a normally open vacuum encapsulated reed switch 30 is axially disposed inside a coil 32 and is adapted to be activated by electromagnetic lines of force; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) is surrounded by a magnetic shielding (i.e., shield provided by sleeves 34, 36; such as described hereinbefore, coil 32 is continuously provided with impulses having the capability of inducing a magnetic field of a sufficient strength to activate the reed switch, i.e., to close said switch. As long as the reed switch is magnetically shielded by the sleeves 34, 36, FIGS. 1 and 2, no actuation of the switch can take place. However, after the return of plate 22 and the linked sleeve 34 to their initial position, the gap 46 created between the sleeves allows the magnetic flux to reach the switch and to close it. The closing of the switch initiates the activation of the circuit to which it is wired; see for example figs. 1-3, Col. 3 lines 5+) that is closed in a ring-shaped manner (i.e., the ring-shaped sleeve that is surrounded by sleeves 34, 36 and channel 40; such as further seen in these drawings, a normally open vacuum encapsulated reed switch 30 is axially disposed inside a coil 32 and is adapted to be activated by electromagnetic lines of force. Both sleeves are adapted to reciprocate in an annular guiding channel 40 provided between the coil 32 and the reed switch 30; see for example figs. 1-3, Col. 3 lines 5+) around the status sensor (i.e., 30; such as a normally open vacuum encapsulated reed switch 30 is axially disposed inside a coil 32 and is adapted to be activated by electromagnetic lines of force; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+), wherein the influencing element (i.e., 34; such as sleeve 34 is secured to the plate 22 by means of a flexible wire or a retaining pin 23, while sleeve 36 is frictionally controlled by means of an adjustable spring loaded ball and screw arrangement 38. Both sleeves are adapted to reciprocate in an annular guiding channel 40 provided between the coil 32 and the reed switch 30; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) is part of the shielding (i.e., shield provided by sleeves 34, 36; such as described hereinbefore, coil 32 is continuously provided with impulses having the capability of inducing a magnetic field of a sufficient strength to activate the reed switch, i.e., to close said switch. As long as the reed switch is magnetically shielded by the sleeves 34, 36, FIGS. 1 and 2, no actuation of the switch can take place. However, after the return of plate 22 and the linked sleeve 34 to their initial position, the gap 46 created between the sleeves allows the magnetic flux to reach the switch and to close it. The closing of the switch initiates the activation of the circuit to which it is wired; see for example figs. 1-3, Col. 3 lines 5+).
Regarding claim 6, Zioni in view Bates and the teachings of Zioni as modified by Bates have been discussed above.
Zioni further discloses assembly (i.e., 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+); wherein the influencing element (i.e., 34; such as sleeve 34 is secured to the plate 22 by means of a flexible wire or a retaining pin 23, while sleeve 36 is frictionally controlled by means of an adjustable spring-loaded ball and screw arrangement 38. Both sleeves are adapted to reciprocate in an annular guiding channel 40 provided between the coil 32 and the reed switch 30; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) is an amplifying element (i.e., strengthening the magnetic flux; such as allowing a sufficient strength amount of flux to penetrate in order to sustain said switch in its closed position; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+).
Regarding claim 7, Zioni in view Bates and the teachings of Zioni as modified by Bates have been discussed above.
Zioni further discloses assembly (i.e., 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+); wherein the influencing element (i.e., 34; such as sleeve 34 is secured to the plate 22 by means of a flexible wire or a retaining pin 23, while sleeve 36 is frictionally controlled by means of an adjustable spring-loaded ball and screw arrangement 38. Both sleeves are adapted to reciprocate in an annular guiding channel 40 provided between the coil 32 and the reed switch 30; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) is a direction changing element (i.e., 34 changes the direction of 36 in three scenarios and these are; scenario. I) when gap 42 is generated, see fig. 1; scenario. II) when no gap is generated, see fig. 2; and finally, scenario. III) when gap 46 is generated, see fig. 3; see for example Col. 3 lines 5+).
Regarding claim 8, Zioni in view Bates and the teachings of Zioni as modified by Bates have been discussed above.
Zioni further discloses assembly (i.e., 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+); wherein the influencing element (i.e., 34; such as sleeve 34 is secured to the plate 22 by means of a flexible wire or a retaining pin 23, while sleeve 36 is frictionally controlled by means of an adjustable spring-loaded ball and screw arrangement 38. Both sleeves are adapted to reciprocate in an annular guiding channel 40 provided between the coil 32 and the reed switch 30; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) comprises a punched and/or formed metal sheet (i.e., 34 and 36 formed of metal; such as interposed between the reed switch 30 and the interior of the coil 32 are axially disposed sleeves 34 and 36 surrounding at least the major length of said reed switch and adapted to shield the switch from the electromagnetic lines of force by being made of any suitable high permeability metal; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+).
Regarding claim 9, Zioni in view Bates and the teachings of Zioni as modified by Bates have been discussed above.
Zioni further discloses assembly (i.e., 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+); wherein the influencing element (i.e., 34; such as sleeve 34 is secured to the plate 22 by means of a flexible wire or a retaining pin 23, while sleeve 36 is frictionally controlled by means of an adjustable spring-loaded ball and screw arrangement 38. Both sleeves are adapted to reciprocate in an annular guiding channel 40 provided between the coil 32 and the reed switch 30; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) is a mechanical shielding (i.e., the magnetic shield provided by sleeves 34 and 36 corresponds to the mechanical shield of reed switch 30 because no actuation of the switch 30 can take place, in other word switch 30 is physically guarded from exposure to the magnetic flux that is generated by coil 32. Simultaneously with the closing of the switch, the magnetic flux will act also on the frictionally displaceable sleeve 36 to cause its movement towards sleeve 34 until it abuts against the latter, thus closing the gap 46 and re-shielding the reed switch; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) for the status sensor (i.e., 30; such as a normally open vacuum encapsulated reed switch 30 is axially disposed inside a coil 32 and is adapted to be activated by electromagnetic lines of force; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+).
Regarding claim 10, Zioni in view Bates and the teachings of Zioni as modified by Bates have been discussed above.
Zioni further discloses assembly (i.e., 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+); wherein the status sensor (i.e., 30; such as a normally open vacuum encapsulated reed switch 30 is axially disposed inside a coil 32 and is adapted to be activated by electromagnetic lines of force; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) is a discrete status sensor (i.e., ON/OFF scheme switch either CLOSE or OPEN reflects on power leads 44; such as Reed switch 30 is connected in circuit by means of leads 44 to the device to be indirectly and finally activated, deactivated or initiated when said switch is closed; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+).
Regarding claim 11, Zioni in view Bates and the teachings of Zioni as modified by Bates have been discussed above.
Zioni further discloses assembly (i.e., 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+); wherein the status sensor (i.e., 30; such as a normally open vacuum encapsulated reed switch 30 is axially disposed inside a coil 32 and is adapted to be activated by electromagnetic lines of force; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) consists of a single component (i.e., a one piece element 30/48; two reeds in a glass capsule 48; see for example fig. 4, Col. 4 lines 55+).
Regarding claim 12, Zioni in view Bates and the teachings of Zioni as modified by Bates have been discussed above.
Zioni further discloses assembly (i.e., 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+); wherein the status sensor (i.e., 30; such as a normally open vacuum encapsulated reed switch 30 is axially disposed inside a coil 32 and is adapted to be activated by electromagnetic lines of force; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) is a reed switch (i.e., 30; such as a normally open vacuum encapsulated reed switch 30 is axially disposed inside a coil 32 and is adapted to be activated by electromagnetic lines of force; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+).
Regarding claim 13, Zioni in view Bates and the teachings of Zioni as modified by Bates have been discussed above.
Zioni further discloses assembly (i.e., 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+); wherein the status sensor (i.e., 30; such as a normally open vacuum encapsulated reed switch 30 is axially disposed inside a coil 32 and is adapted to be activated by electromagnetic lines of force; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) is arranged within a switching chamber (i.e., 40; such as both sleeves are adapted to reciprocate in an annular guiding channel 40 provided between the coil 32 and the reed switch 30. As is seen in FIG. 1, at its "set" or "ready" position, sleeve 34 bears against the vertical leg of the L-shaped plate 22, said sleeve partially extending outside the channel 40. Sleeve 36 abuts with one of its ends the end of sleeve 34 thus forming a continuous sheath around the major part of reed switch 30. In this rest position, the closed rear section 42 of the channel 40 is left unoccupied by sleeve 36. In this position, sleeve 36 is frictionally held in place by the spring-loaded ball arrangement 38. When plate 22 is caused to move by either body 6 or core-wire 20, (see FIG. 2) it will bear against sleeve 34 and cause it to be axially displaced toward the inside of channel 40 while slidingly pushing sleeve 36 towards the closed rear section 42 of the channel 40; see for example see for example figs. 1-3, Col. 3 lines 5+).
Regarding claim 14, Zioni in view Bates and the teachings of Zioni as modified by Bates have been discussed above.
Bates further discloses the mechanical switch (i.e., see for example figs. 1-2, Col. 1 lines 46+); a housing (i.e., such as housing body 1 and cap 11; see for example figs. 1-2, Col. 1 lines 46+). And, for the rest of the limitations/features in claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 1. {See rejection of claim 1}
Regarding claim 15, Zioni in view Bates and the teachings of Zioni as modified by Bates have been discussed above.
Zioni further discloses mechanical switch (i.e., 4; such as FIGS. 1 to 3 includes a housing 2, a spring loaded pushbutton 4 mounted in the housing; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+); wherein the influencing element (i.e., 34; such as sleeve 34 is secured to the plate 22 by means of a flexible wire or a retaining pin 23, while sleeve 36 is frictionally controlled by means of an adjustable spring loaded ball and screw arrangement 38. Both sleeves are adapted to reciprocate in an annular guiding channel 40 provided between the coil 32 and the reed switch 30; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) is mechanically coupled (i.e., 34 move according to 22 and vice versa; such as sleeve 34 is secured to the plate 22 by means of a flexible wire or a retaining pin 23; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) to the control element (i.e., 22; such as an L-shaped plate 22 is secured to hinge 24 which in turn is mounted at 26 to the housing 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+).
Regarding claim 16, Zioni in view Bates and the teachings of Zioni as modified by Bates have been discussed above.
Zioni further discloses mechanical switch (i.e., 4; such as FIGS. 1 to 3 includes a housing 2, a spring loaded pushbutton 4 mounted in the housing; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+); wherein the influencing element (i.e., 34; such as sleeve 34 is secured to the plate 22 by means of a flexible wire or a retaining pin 23, while sleeve 36 is frictionally controlled by means of an adjustable spring loaded ball and screw arrangement 38. Both sleeves are adapted to reciprocate in an annular guiding channel 40 provided between the coil 32 and the reed switch 30; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) is one of an attenuating element (i.e., weakening the magnetic flux; such as a relatively weaker magnetic-field; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+), an amplifying element (i.e., strengthening the magnetic flux; such as allowing a sufficient strength amount of flux to penetrate in order to sustain said switch in its closed position; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+), a direction changing element (i.e., 34 changes the direction of 36 in three scenarios and these are; scenario. I) when gap 42 is generated, see fig. 1; scenario. II) when no gap is generated, see fig. 2; and finally, scenario. III) when gap 46 is generated, see fig. 3; see for example Col. 3 lines 5+), or a mechanical shielding (i.e., the magnetic shield provided by sleeves 34 and 36 corresponds to the mechanical shield of reed switch 30 because no actuation of the switch 30 can take place, in other word switch 30 is physically guarded from exposure to the magnetic flux that is generated by coil 32. Simultaneously with the closing of the switch, the magnetic flux will act also on the frictionally displaceable sleeve 36 to cause its movement towards sleeve 34 until it abuts against the latter, thus closing the gap 46 and re-shielding the reed switch; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) for the status sensor (i.e., 30; such as a normally open vacuum encapsulated reed switch 30 is axially disposed inside a coil 32 and is adapted to be activated by electromagnetic lines of force; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+).
Regarding claim 17, Zioni in view Bates and the teachings of Zioni as modified by Bates have been discussed above.
Zioni further discloses mechanical switch (i.e., 4; such as FIGS. 1 to 3 includes a housing 2, a spring loaded pushbutton 4 mounted in the housing; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+); wherein the assembly (i.e., 2; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) includes a magnetic shielding (i.e., shield provided by sleeves 34, 36; such as described hereinbefore, coil 32 is continuously provided with impulses having the capability of inducing a magnetic field of a sufficient strength to activate the reed switch, i.e., to close said switch. As long as the reed switch is magnetically shielded by the sleeves 34, 36, FIGS. 1 and 2, no actuation of the switch can take place. However, after the return of plate 22 and the linked sleeve 34 to their initial position, the gap 46 created between the sleeves allows the magnetic flux to reach the switch and to close it. The closing of the switch initiates the activation of the circuit to which it is wired; see for example figs. 1-3, Col. 3 lines 5+) that is closed in a ring-shaped manner (i.e., the ring-shaped sleeve that is surrounded by sleeves 34, 36 and channel 40; such as further seen in these drawings, a normally open vacuum encapsulated reed switch 30 is axially disposed inside a coil 32 and is adapted to be activated by electromagnetic lines of force. Both sleeves are adapted to reciprocate in an annular guiding channel 40 provided between the coil 32 and the reed switch 30; see for example figs. 1-3, Col. 3 lines 5+) around the status sensor (i.e., 30; such as a normally open vacuum encapsulated reed switch 30 is axially disposed inside a coil 32 and is adapted to be activated by electromagnetic lines of force; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+), wherein in at least one of the control positions (i.e., 42, no-gap, 46; such as in this rest position, the closed rear section 42 of the channel 40 is left unoccupied by sleeve 36. In this position, sleeve 36 is frictionally held in place by the spring loaded ball arrangement 38, in this position a gap 46 is created between the end parts of sleeves 34 and 36. Also as seen in the Figure, sleeve 36 is frictionally held in its displaced position by the spring loaded ball arrangement 38; see for example figs. 1-3, Col. 3 lines 5+) the status sensor (i.e., 30; such as a normally open vacuum encapsulated reed switch 30 is axially disposed inside a coil 32 and is adapted to be activated by electromagnetic lines of force; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) is surrounded by the magnetic shielding (i.e., shield provided by sleeves 34, 36; such as described hereinbefore, coil 32 is continuously provided with impulses having the capability of inducing a magnetic field of a sufficient strength to activate the reed switch, i.e., to close said switch. As long as the reed switch is magnetically shielded by the sleeves 34, 36, FIGS. 1 and 2, no actuation of the switch can take place. However, after the return of plate 22 and the linked sleeve 34 to their initial position, the gap 46 created between the sleeves allows the magnetic flux to reach the switch and to close it. The closing of the switch initiates the activation of the circuit to which it is wired; see for example figs. 1-3, Col. 3 lines 5+), the influencing element (i.e., 34; such as sleeve 34 is secured to the plate 22 by means of a flexible wire or a retaining pin 23, while sleeve 36 is frictionally controlled by means of an adjustable spring-loaded ball and screw arrangement 38. Both sleeves are adapted to reciprocate in an annular guiding channel 40 provided between the coil 32 and the reed switch 30; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) being part of the shielding (i.e., shield provided by sleeves 34, 36; such as described hereinbefore, coil 32 is continuously provided with impulses having the capability of inducing a magnetic field of a sufficient strength to activate the reed switch, i.e., to close said switch. As long as the reed switch is magnetically shielded by the sleeves 34, 36, FIGS. 1 and 2, no actuation of the switch can take place. However, after the return of plate 22 and the linked sleeve 34 to their initial position, the gap 46 created between the sleeves allows the magnetic flux to reach the switch and to close it. The closing of the switch initiates the activation of the circuit to which it is wired; see for example figs. 1-3, Col. 3 lines 5+).
Regarding claim 18, Zioni in view Bates and the teachings of Zioni as modified by Bates have been discussed above.
Zioni further discloses mechanical switch (i.e., 4; such as FIGS. 1 to 3 includes a housing 2, a spring loaded pushbutton 4 mounted in the housing; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+); wherein the status sensor (i.e., 30; such as a normally open vacuum encapsulated reed switch 30 is axially disposed inside a coil 32 and is adapted to be activated by electromagnetic lines of force; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) is a reed switch (i.e., 30; such as a normally open vacuum encapsulated reed switch 30 is axially disposed inside a coil 32 and is adapted to be activated by electromagnetic lines of force; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+).
Regarding claim 19, Zioni in view Bates and the teachings of Zioni as modified by Bates have been discussed above.
Zioni further discloses mechanical switch (i.e., 4; such as FIGS. 1 to 3 includes a housing 2, a spring loaded pushbutton 4 mounted in the housing; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+); wherein the status sensor (i.e., 30; such as a normally open vacuum encapsulated reed switch 30 is axially disposed inside a coil 32 and is adapted to be activated by electromagnetic lines of force; see for example fig. 1, Col. 3 lines 5+) is arranged within a switching chamber (i.e., 40; such as both sleeves are adapted to reciprocate in an annular guiding channel 40 provided between the coil 32 and the reed switch 30. As is seen in FIG. 1, at its "set" or "ready" position, sleeve 34 bears against the vertical leg of the L-shaped plate 22, said sleeve partially extending outside the channel 40. Sleeve 36 abuts with one of its ends the end of sleeve 34 thus forming a continuous sheath around the major part of reed switch 30. In this rest position, the closed rear section 42 of the channel 40 is left unoccupied by sleeve 36. In this position, sleeve 36 is frictionally held in place by the spring-loaded ball arrangement 38. When plate 22 is caused to move by either body 6 or core-wire 20, (see FIG. 2) it will bear against sleeve 34 and cause it to be axially displaced toward the inside of channel 40 while slidingly pushing sleeve 36 towards the closed rear section 42 of the channel 40; see for example see for example figs. 1-3, Col. 3 lines 5+).
Regarding claim 20, Zioni in view Bates and the teachings of Zioni as modified by Bates have been discussed above.
Bates further discloses the method for monitoring the status the mechanical switch (i.e., see for example figs. 1-2, Col. 1 lines 46+); a housing (i.e., such as housing body 1 and cap 11; see for example figs. 1-2, Col. 1 lines 46+). And, for the rest of the limitations/features in claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 1. {See rejection of claim 1}
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUAAMAR QAHTAN AL-TAWEEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838