DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 10-12 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Demonstrating Quantum Error Correction that Extends the Lifetime of Quantum Information” (hereinafter Nissim) in view of Gross, “Designing Codes Around Interactions: The Case of a Spin” (“Gross”), and further in view of Gross et al., “Hardware-Efficient Error-Correcting Codes for Large Nuclear Spins” (“MAUS”).
Claim 1: Nissim teaches method for performing error correction in quantum computation in a spin system, the method comprising the steps of:
obtaining syndrome measurements of the phase errors and the amplitude errors (e.g. Nissim’s cat code detects photon-loss errors by monitoring photon-number parity. Nissim explains that photon loss causes a change in parity and an associated phase rotation of the encoded state, and the parity is monitored as the error syndrome. The QEC system records these errors and later performs correction. Nissim’s general teaching is explicit that projective measurement of the relevant symmetry constitutes an error syndrome measurement used for detection and correction. Nissim, p. 1. More specifically, the cat-code discussion identifies photon loss/energy damping as the dominant error and monitors parity in real time. Nissim thereby teaches an amplitude-loss error having an associated logical phase change); and
correcting the amplitude errors and the phase errors by constructing one or more quantum error-correcting codes (e.g. Nissim teaches a cat quantum-error-correcting code that suppresses errors due to energy loss for a qubit logically encoded in superpositions of coherent states. Nissim expressly characterizes those superpositions as cat states and implements a full error-correction protocol. Nissim, p. 1).
Not explicitly taught by Nissim is:
“in a finite dimensional spin system”;
“categorizing Kraus operators as polynomials in angular momentum”;
the specific categorization of such spin-system errors into phase errors and amplitude errors; and
“encoding each logical qubit in a collection of spin-cat qudits.”
However, Gross teaches quantum-error-correcting codes in large finite-dimensional spins. Gross’s abstract expressly states that it provides schemes for encoding a qubit in a large spin, constructs QEC codes, and derives criteria under which the codes correct physically relevant errors. Gross, p. 1. Gross further explains that for a large single spin, the relevant physical operators are the angular-momentum operators J_x,\quad J_y,\quad J_z acting on the spin’s Hilbert space. Gross, pp. 1–2. This directly supplies the finite-dimensional spin system missing from Nissim. At p. 3, Eqs. (9)–(11), Gross introduces the spin-system Lindblad noise model and states: “For \gamma dt\ll1, the following Kraus operators map \rho\rightarrow\rho+d\rho…”
and gives E_0=
1-\frac{1}{2}\gamma dt\|\mathbf J\|^2
=
\left(1-\frac{j(j+1)}{2}\gamma dt\right)I
\tag{10} and E_w=\sqrt{\gamma dt}\,J_w,
\qquad
w\in\{x,y,z\}.
\tag{11}.
Gross’s Kraus operators are expressly functions/polynomials of angular momentum:
E_0 is proportional to the identity after use of \|\mathbf J\|^2=j(j+1)I;
E_x\propto J_x;
E_y\propto J_y;
E_z\propto J_z.
Thus, Gross directly teaches Kraus operators expressed as zeroth- and first-order polynomials in angular-momentum operators. Furthermore, Gross explains that in spin systems it is natural to consider the dominant noise sources as T2-type dephasing errors J_z, T1-type relaxation errors J_-, and thermalization errors J_+. Gross further states that these error operators are linear combinations of the random-rotation error operators and therefore correcting either family is equivalent. Gross, pp. 3–4.
Under a reasonable BRI:
T2/dephasing error J_z corresponds to the claimed phase error; and
T1/relaxation J_- corresponds to an amplitude error/amplitude damping error.
Accordingly, Gross teaches substantially the claimed: “categorizing Kraus operators as polynomials in angular momentum that lead to phase errors and amplitude errors.”
Also, Gross states that: “Correcting the errors corresponding to these Kraus operators is equivalent to correcting random rotations to lowest order.” Gross then applies the exact quantum-error-correction condition: \langle\bar a|E_j^\dagger E_k|\bar b\rangle
=
C_{jk}\delta_{ab}
\tag{12} and explains that, because of the symmetry of its codes, the conditions reduce to terms involving J_z^2, J_xJ_y, and J_z. Gross, p. 4, Eq. (12).
Thus Gross expressly connects: Kraus operators → angular-momentum error operators → QEC conditions → spin QEC code.
Furthermore, MAUS supplies an actual syndrome/error-detection and recovery protocol in a spin qudit. For instance, MAUS explicitly teaches a practical hardware-efficient protocol that:
encodes information in the large Hilbert space of a nuclear spin;
uses an ancillary electron;
detects phase/dephasing errors; and
performs recovery.
MAUS’ abstract states that the protocol “corrects phase flips of a nuclear spin”, uses the large nuclear-spin Hilbert space for encoding, and uses an electron spin as an ancilla for error correction. MAUS, p. 1. This is a direct finite-dimensional spin-qudit QEC system.
MAUS provides an actual error-detection measurement. At p. 3, it teaches reversing the \pi/2 pulse and measuring the electron, which projects the nuclear spin into either:
the |\pm3/2\rangle_z subspace, indicating no error, or
the |\pm1/2\rangle_z subspace, indicating an I_z error.
The measurement is implemented as a QND measurement. Additionally, Figure 2 on p. 3 expressly lays out: Information encoding → Error detection → Error correction → Information decoding. Therefore, to the extent that Nissim’s syndrome measurement is considered tied to a bosonic implementation, MAUS expressly demonstrates that error detection/syndrome-type measurement and recovery are known in a finite-dimensional spin system.
MAUS also supplies the spin-coherent/cat-state relationship. For instance, MAUS states:
“Since extremal eigenstates of angular-momentum operators are spin coherent states, these MAUS code spaces are analogous to the cat codes constructed from coherent states in harmonic oscillators…” MAUS, p. 2. MAUS therefore establishes that spin-coherent-state encodings are the spin-system analogue of bosonic cat-code encodings. It also explains that its code spaces consist of extremal eigenstates of an angular-momentum operator and can exactly correct I_z errors. This provides a strong technical reason for replacing Nissim’s bosonic coherent-state cat encoding with the analogous finite-dimensional spin-coherent-state implementation.
Therefore, it therefore would have been obvious to modify Nissim’s cat-state QEC system according to Gross and MAUS to employ finite-dimensional spin qudits and the known angular-momentum Kraus-error representation, including dephasing/phase and relaxation/amplitude errors, because Gross and MAUS teach these as the natural error channels and error-correction framework for finite-dimensional spin systems and MAUS expressly identifies spin-coherent-state codes as analogous to cat codes.
Claim 5: NISSIM, Gross and MAUS teach the method of claim 1 but fail to teach that the correcting step uses a higher dimensional nature of the logical qudit, to correct the amplitude errors. However, NISSIM's cat-code inherently exploits the higher-dimensional nature of the encoding Hilbert space (superpositions of coherent states) to detect and correct errors (specifically, the photon loss error which manifests as a phase error). A POSITA applying this QEC principle to the spin-cat qudits of D2 would understand that the higher-dimensional nature of the logical qudit (the spin-cat) is precisely the resource that enables error correction. Applying this resource to also correct amplitude errors (in addition to the phase errors corrected by NISSIM's scheme) constitutes an obvious optimization and generalization of the same fundamental error correction principle disclosed by NISSIM, tailored to the full error model of a spin system.
Claim 6: NISSIM, Gross and MAUS teach the method of claim 5 but fail to teach comprising a step of coupling 6. the logical qubits with ancilla, and using a swap gate to swap the states. However, NISSIM's entire QEC protocol is built upon coupling logical states with an ancilla (the transmon) for syndrome measurement and feedback (see, e.g., NPL1, Pages 2-3, 19). The swap gate is a fundamental and standard quantum gate used extensively in quantum information processing to exchange states between subsystems. It would have been obvious to a POSITA implementing the combined system to utilize a swap gate between logical qubits and ancilla systems as a routine technical method for managing and moving quantum information during the error correction and computation processes, following the architectural model provided by NISSIM.
Claim 7: NISSIM, Gross and MAUS teach the method of claim 1 wherein the spin system is an atomic spin system. For instance, Gross expressly identifies large single spins such as atomic nuclei as physical implementations of its QEC codes. See page 1. And MAUS employs the nuclear spin of a donor atom as the finite-dimensional spin system used for quantum error correction.
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NISSIM, Gross and MAUS as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Puri et al., “Bias-preserving gates with stabilized cat qubits”.
Claim 2: NISSIM, Gross and MAUS teach the method of claim 1 but fail to teach the step of creating a universal set of gates including the step of developing a bias-preserving CNOT gate protocol suitable for errors in spin systems. However, Gross, however, expressly teaches creating a universal gate set for encoded spin qubits. Gross identifies the minimal logical operations required for universal quantum computation and includes state preparation, measurement, Clifford gates, a controlled-Z gate, and a non-Clifford T gate. Gross, p. 3, Eq. (6). gross_designing_2021.pdf Gross further teaches implementation of a two-qubit controlled gate between encoded spin qubits using the J_z\otimes J_z interaction. Gross does not expressly call the two-qubit gate bias-preserving. However, Puri et al. teaches a native bias-preserving controlled-NOT/CX gate for cat qubits, specifically maintaining a noise channel dominated by phase flips rather than converting the dominant error into an unprotected error. See Abstract. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Gross’s universal spin-qubit gate set to employ the bias-preserving CNOT principles of Puri because both references concern fault-tolerant encoded computation where preservation of the structured/correctable error channel during logical gate operations reduces error propagation and error-correction overhead.
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NISSIM, Gross, MAUS and Puri et al and further in view of Wu et al “Erasure conversion for fault-tolerant quantum computing in alkaline earth Rydberg atom arrays”.
Claim 3: NISSIM, Gross, MAUS and Puri et al teach the method of claim 2 but fail to teach that the developing step further comprising the step of using a neutral atom architecture and entangling interaction associated with a Rydberg blockade to implement the bias-preserving CNOT gate. However, Wu et al. teaches a neutral-atom quantum-computing architecture using alkaline-earth-like atoms in which qubits are encoded in a metastable electronic level and two-qubit gates are implemented by coupling the qubit state to a Rydberg state. See page 2. Wu specifically describes the {}^{171}\mathrm{Yb} metastable ^{3}P_0 level and coupling |1\rangle to a Rydberg state |r\rangle for entangling gates.
Wu further explains that this three-level system is suitable for the well-known Rydberg two-qubit-gate protocols and identifies earlier demonstrated Rydberg entangling gates. See page 2.
Thus, given Puri’s teaching of a bias-preserving CNOT and Wu’s teaching of implementing error-tailored two-qubit operations in a neutral-atom architecture by excitation to Rydberg states, it would have been obvious to implement the CNOT of claim 2 using the known Rydberg-blockade interaction to obtain a fault-tolerant entangling operation in a neutral-atom platform.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, and 10-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/GUERRIER MERANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2111 8/19/2026