DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-27 of prior U.S. Patent No. 11,192,212. This is a statutory double patenting rejection. Claim 1 of patent '212 recites an outlet module comprising a module housing, multiple outlet cores, at least one latch lever, and wherein the at least one latch lever is capable of engaging a mating plug and a second position, wherein the at least one latch lever is disengaged from the mating plug; corresponding to the outlet module in independent claim 1 of the present application. Similarly, dependent claims 2-27 of patent ‘212 recites features corresponding to dependent claims 2-27 of the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9-13, 22-23, 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hutchison (US 2019/0140410), in view of Noorily (US 5,057,029)
Regarding claim 1: Hutchison teaches an outlet module (Fig. 9), comprising: a module housing 600 (see Fig. 9) comprising a base surface (e.g. bottom of 600; Fig. 9) and a sidewall (at 600; Fig. 9) extending therefrom to at least partially surround an interior region (e.g. see interior region around receptacle 100; Fig. 9); multiple outlet cores 100 (Fig. 9) extending from the base surface (see Fig. 9).
Hutchison does not explicitly teach at least one latch lever movably coupled relative to the sidewall and adjacent a corresponding one of the multiple outlet cores, said at least one latch lever movable between a first position, wherein the at least one latch lever is capable of engaging a mating plug and a second position, wherein the at least one latch lever is disengaged from the mating plug.
Noorily teaches at least one latch lever 44 movably coupled relative to a sidewall (see Fig. 3) and adjacent a cores (e.g. terminals shown in Fig. 3), said at least one latch lever 44 movable between a first position (Fig. 4A), wherein the at least one latch lever 44 is capable of engaging a mating plug 48 (see Fig. 5) and a second position (Fig. 5), wherein the at least one latch lever 44 is disengaged from the mating plug 48 (see Fig. 5 wherein the lever 44 is pivoted to the left).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be able to modify the invention with at least one latch lever movably coupled relative to the sidewall and adjacent a corresponding one of the multiple outlet cores, said at least one latch lever movable between a first position, wherein the at least one latch lever is capable of engaging a mating plug and a second position, wherein the at least one latch lever is disengaged from the mating plug as taught by Noorily into the outlet module of Hutchison in order to achieve the advantage of mechanically locking and unlocking a mating plug to the outlet module.
Regarding claim 2: Hutchison, in view of Noorily, teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Hutchison does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one latch lever comprises multiple latch levers, and wherein each of the multiple latch levers pivots about a common pivot shaft.
Noorily teaches wherein the at least one latch lever 44 comprises multiple latch levers (see Fig. 3), and wherein each of the multiple latch levers 44 pivots about a common pivot shaft 46 (see Fig. 5).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be able to modify the invention with the at least one latch lever comprises multiple latch levers, and wherein each of the multiple latch levers pivots about a common pivot shaft as taught by Noorily into the outlet module of Hutchison in order to achieve the advantage of mechanically locking and unlocking a mating plug to the outlet module.
Regarding claim 3: Hutchison, in view of Noorily, teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and Hutchison further teaches wherein each of the multiple outlet cores 100 comprises an individual outlet core separate from the base surface (e.g. see Fig. 9 for multiple outlet cores and are separated from each other and the recess channel separates the cores from the base walls; see Figs. 9).
Regarding claim 4: Hutchison, in view of Noorily, teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein at least the base surface and the sidewall comprise an integrally molded unitary body (see Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 5: Hutchison, in view of Noorily, teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Hutchison does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one latch lever further comprises a tooth portion extending into the interior region and positioned to engage the mating plug when the at least one latch lever is in the first position.
Noorily teaches the at least one latch lever 44 further comprises a tooth portion 44h extending into an interior region and positioned to engage the mating plug 48 when the at least one latch lever is in the first position (see Fig. 5).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be able to modify the invention with the at least one latch lever further comprises a tooth portion extending into the interior region and positioned to engage the mating plug when the at least one latch lever is in the first position as taught by Noorily into the outlet module of Hutchison in order to achieve the advantage of mechanically locking and holding a mating plug to the outlet module.
Regarding claim 9: Hutchison, in view of Noorily, teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and Hutchison further teaches wherein the multiple outlet cores comprises at least one IEC C13 outlet core (see Para. 0005).
Regarding claim 10: Hutchison, in view of Noorily, teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and Hutchison further teaches wherein the multiple outlet cores comprises at least one combination outlet core comprising: a plurality of apertures configured to receive mating terminals corresponding to both an IEC C14 connector and an IEC C20 connector, the combination outlet core having an outer surface configured to mate with an IEC C14 connector; and a plurality of electrical terminals each positioned in a corresponding one of the apertures and configured to connect with the mating terminals corresponding to both an IEC C14 connector and an IEC C20 connector (see Para. 0005).
Regarding claim 11: Hutchison, in view of Noorily, teaches all the limitations of claim 10 and Hutchison further teaches wherein the plurality of apertures each comprise at least two intersecting cross-wise slots (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 12: Hutchison, in view of Noorily, teaches all the limitations of claim 11 and Hutchison further teaches wherein the plurality of apertures each have a T-shaped configuration (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 13: Hutchison, in view of Noorily, teaches all the limitations of claim 11 and further teaches wherein the at least one latch lever is pivotably coupled to the sidewall outside the interior region (e.g. lever attached to outside is taught by Noorily Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 22: Hutchison teaches a power distribution unit (Para. 0003), comprising: a housing (at 600; Fig. 9); a power input coupled with the housing and connectable to an external power source (see Figs. 9-12A and Para. 0003-0004); and at least one outlet module located at least partially within the housing and connected to the power input (see Fig. 12A), the at least one outlet module comprising: a module housing 600 comprising a base surface and a sidewall extending therefrom to at least partially surround an interior region (see Fig. 9); multiple outlet cores 100 (Fig. 9) extending from the base surface (Fig. 9).
Hutchison does not explicitly teach multiple latch levers pivotably coupled to the sidewall, wherein each latch lever is positioned adjacent a corresponding one of the multiple outlet cores and moveable between an unlatch position and a latch position, wherein the latch lever is positioned to engage a mating plug when the latch lever is in the latch position.
Noorily teaches multiple latch levers 44 pivotably coupled to a sidewall, wherein each latch lever 44 is positioned adjacent a corresponding one of multiple outlet cores and moveable between an unlatch position (Fig. 5) and a latch position (Fig. 4A); wherein the latch lever 44 is positioned to engage a mating plug 48 when the latch lever is in the latch position (see Fig. 5).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be able to modify the invention with multiple latch levers pivotably coupled to the sidewall, wherein each latch lever is positioned adjacent a corresponding one of the multiple outlet cores and moveable between an unlatch position and a latch position, wherein the latch lever is positioned to engage a mating plug when the latch lever is in the latch position as taught by Noorily into the outlet module of Hutchison in order to achieve the advantage of mechanically locking and unlocking a mating plug to the outlet module.
Regarding claim 23: Hutchison, in view of Noorily, teaches all the limitations of claim 22 and Hutchison further teaches wherein each of the multiple outlet cores comprises a separate outlet core fastened to the base surface (see Figs. 9-12A).
Regarding claim 26: Hutchison, in view of Noorily, teaches all the limitations of claim 22 and is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claim 10.
Regarding claim 27: Hutchison, in view of Noorily, teaches all the limitations of claim 22 and is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claim 14.
Claims 6-8, 14-21, 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hutchison (US 2019/0140410), in view of Noorily (US 5,057,029), further in view of Tezgurler (US 2017/0170600).
Regarding claim 6: Hutchison, in view of Noorily, teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Hutchison does not explicitly teach further comprising a resilient member positioned between the sidewall and the at least one latch lever to bias the at least one latch lever toward the first position.
Tezgurler teaches a resilient member 53 positioned between a sidewall and the at least one latch lever 41 to bias the at least one latch lever toward the first position (see Fig. 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be able to modify the invention with further comprising a resilient member positioned between the sidewall and the at least one latch lever to bias the at least one latch lever toward the first position as taught by Tezgurler into the outlet module of Hutchison in order to achieve the advantage of firmly holding the locked position.
Regarding claim 7: Hutchison, in view of Noorily, further in view of Tezgurler, teaches all the limitations of claim 6 and further teaches wherein the resilient member is a coil spring 53 (see Fig. 1 of Tezgurler).
Regarding claim 8: Hutchison, in view of Noorily, further in view of Tezgurler, teaches all the limitations of claim 6.
Hutchison does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one latch lever comprises a release tab, a tooth portion, a pivot bore positioned therebetween, and wherein the resilient member is positioned between the release tab and the pivot bore.
Noorily teaches wherein the at least one latch lever 44 comprises a release tab 44d, a tooth portion 44h, a pivot bore 44e positioned therebetween (see Fig. 4a), and wherein the resilient member (e.g. resilient member 53 taught by Tezgurler) is positioned between the release tab 44d and the pivot bore 44e (e.g. positioning of resilient member to keep lever in a position ready to accept mating plug; Fig. 5).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be able to modify the invention with the at least one latch lever comprises a release tab, a tooth portion, a pivot bore positioned therebetween, and wherein the resilient member is positioned between the release tab and the pivot bore as taught by Noorily into the outlet module of Hutchison in order to achieve the advantage of firmly holding the lever in a desired position.
Regarding claim 14: Hutchison teaches an outlet module (Fig. 9), comprising: a module housing 600 (Fig. 9) comprising a base surface and a sidewall (see Fig. 9) extending therefrom to at least partially surround an interior region (e.g. area receptacle 100; see Fig. 9), wherein at least the base surface and the sidewall comprise an integrally molded unitary body (see Fig. 9); multiple outlet cores 100 extending from the base surface (see Fig. 9).
Hutchison does not explicitly teach multiple latch levers pivotably coupled to the sidewall outside the interior region, wherein each latch lever is positioned adjacent a corresponding one of the multiple outlet cores and moveable between a latch position and an unlatch position; and multiple resilient members, each positioned between the sidewall and a corresponding one of the multiple latch levers to bias the corresponding latch lever toward the latch position.
Noorily teaches multiple latch levers 44 pivotably coupled to a sidewall outside an interior region (see Fig. 3), wherein each latch lever is positioned adjacent a core and moveable between a latch position (Fig. 4a) and an unlatch position (Fig. 5); and multiple resilient members 6a, each positioned between the sidewall and a corresponding one of the multiple latch levers to bias the corresponding latch lever toward the latch position (see Fig. 4B).
Hutchison, in view of Noorily, does not explicitly teach multiple resilient members, each positioned between the sidewall and a corresponding one of the multiple latch levers to bias the corresponding latch lever toward the latch position.
Tezgurler teaches multiple resilient members 53, each positioned between a sidewall and a corresponding one of multiple latch levers 41 to bias the corresponding latch lever toward the latch position (see Fig. 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be able to modify the invention with further comprising multiple resilient members, each positioned between the sidewall and a corresponding one of the multiple latch levers to bias the corresponding latch lever toward the latch position as taught by Tezgurler into the outlet module of Hutchison in order to achieve the advantage of firmly holding the locked position.
Regarding claim 15: Hutchison, in view of Noorily, further in view of Tezgurler, teaches all the limitations of claim 14 and further teaches wherein each of the multiple latch levers pivots about a common pivot shaft (see Figs. 3-5 of Noorily).
Regarding claim 16: Hutchison, in view of Noorily, further in view of Tezgurler, teaches all the limitations of claim 14 and Hutchison further teaches wherein each of the multiple outlet cores comprises a separate outlet core fastened to the base surface (see Figs. 12A).
Regarding claim 17: Hutchison, in view of Noorily, further in view of Tezgurler, teaches all the limitations of claim 14 and is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claim 5.
Regarding claim 18: Hutchison, in view of Noorily, further in view of Tezgurler, teaches all the limitations of claim 14 and is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claim 8.
Regarding claims 19-21: Hutchison, in view of Noorily, further in view of Tezgurler, teaches all the limitations of claim 14 and is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claims 10-12, respectively.
Regarding claim 24-25: Hutchison, in view of Noorily, teaches all the limitations of claim 22 and is rejected for substantially the same reasons as claims 14, 18, respectively.
Conclusion
/OSCAR C JIMENEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2833