DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the section titled “A. Overview” on page 1 of the reply filed 08/11/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 12-18 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. In light of the amended claims, the rejection of claims 12-18 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see the section titled “B. 35 USC 103 Rejections” with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. See the rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-7, 12, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawai (US 2001/0020893 A1), in view of Oesterling (US 2019/0092280 A1), Liu (US 2021/0383619 A1), and Paiva Ferreira (US 2017/0212511 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kawai discloses a communication system for a vehicle (In paragraphs [0050] and [0057], Kawai discloses that a vehicle 1 is equipped with an on-vehicle unit 4 which comprises an on-vehicle phone 8 that transmits the vehicle condition data sent from the control unit 14 to the data server 2 through a communication means and receives the command signal for settling the abnormality in the vehicle transmitted from the data server 2) comprising:
a communication device associated with the vehicle (In paragraphs [0050] and [0057], Kawai discloses that a vehicle 1 is equipped with an on-vehicle unit 4 which comprises an on-vehicle phone 8 that transmits the vehicle condition data sent from the control unit 14 to the data server 2 through a communication means and receives the command signal for settling the abnormality in the vehicle transmitted from the data server 2),
the communication device having a processor, memory in communication with the processor (In paragraph [0057], Kawai discloses that the on-vehicle unit 4 comprises a control unit 14 and a driver 9, wherein the driver 9 receives the settling command signal from the on-vehicle phone 8 through the control unit 14, and drives a specific device on the vehicle 1 based on the settling command signal to settle the abnormality; the Examiner understands that the control unit must inherently include a processor and memory in communication with the processor in order to send, receive, and process the data and signals as disclosed; see also paragraphs [0094-0095], Kawai discloses embodiments wherein the control unit 14 includes a storage section 31, and an abnormality determining section 32 and a setting section 33 to perform various determinations),
the processor configured to 1) receive data regarding the vehicle and send the received data regarding the vehicle to only the Cloud via the phone transceiver (In paragraph [0057], Kawai discloses that the on-vehicle sensor 7 detects the condition of the vehicle 1, and outputs the results of the detection as the vehicle condition data, the control unit 14 sends the vehicle condition data output from the on-vehicle sensor 7 to the on-vehicle phone 8, and the on-vehicle phone 8 transmits the vehicle condition data sent from the control unit 14, to the data server 2 [cloud] through a communication means; see also figures 2 and 4 where the vehicle and on-vehicle unit are depicted as communicating only with the data server, or cloud, via the communication medium),
2) receive data for the vehicle from only the Cloud (In paragraph [0057], Kawai discloses that the on-vehicle phone 8 receives the command signal for settling the abnormality in the vehicle transmitted from the data server 2 [cloud]; see also figures 2 and 4 where the vehicle and on-vehicle unit are depicted as communicating only with the data server, or cloud, via the communication medium), and
3) control the vehicle according to the received data for the vehicle (In paragraph [0057], Kawai discloses that the driver 9 receives the settling command signal from the on-vehicle phone 8 through the control unit 14, and drives a specific device on the vehicle 1 based on the settling command signal to settle the abnormality); and
an application configured to operate on a remote device of a user, the application allowing reception of data regarding the vehicle from only the Cloud and transmission of data regarding the vehicle to only the Cloud for transmission to the vehicle (In paragraph [0059], Kawai discloses that the cellular phone 6 [remote device] is carried by the user 3 of the vehicle 1, receives the abnormality informing signal sent from the server communicator 10 in the data server 2 [cloud] through the communication means, and informs the user of the abnormality in the vehicle 1, wherein the user 3 operates the cellular phone 6 to input the command for settling the abnormality in the vehicle 1, and then the cellular phone 6 transmits the settling command signal to the server communicator 10 in the data server 2 [cloud]; in paragraph [0057], Kawai discloses that the on-vehicle phone 8 receives the command signal for settling the abnormality in the vehicle transmitted from the data server 2 [cloud]; see also figures 2 and 4 where the user and cellular phone are depicted as communicating only with the data server, or cloud, via the communication medium; the Examiner understands that the software or programming on the cellular phone to perform the disclosed functions must at least constitute an “application” under its broadest reasonable interpretation).
Although in paragraphs [0050] and [0057], Kawai discloses that a vehicle 1 is equipped with an on-vehicle unit 4 which comprises an on-vehicle phone 8 that transmits the vehicle condition data sent from the control unit 14 to the data server 2 through a communication means and receives the command signal for settling the abnormality in the vehicle transmitted from the data server 2, Kawai does not explicitly disclose:
a cellular transceiver in communication with the processor,
a cellular antenna connected to the cellular transceiver,
a GPS receiver in communication with the processor,
a GPS antenna connected to the GPS receiver,
a CAN Bus interface in communication with the processor and configured to allow connection to a CAN Bus of the vehicle,
wherein the processor is configured to receive data regarding the vehicle from the CAN Bus of the vehicle via the Can Bus interface and control the vehicle utilizing the CAN Bus of the vehicle;
wherein the Cloud stores device applications corresponding to various different types of vehicles; and
wherein a device application corresponding to the vehicle is selected from the device applications in the Cloud and is received from the Cloud and executed by the communication device;
wherein configuration data stored in the Cloud is automatically sent to the respective vehicle when the vehicle is detected as being within boundaries of a particular site.
However, Oesterling teaches a communication device including a cellular transceiver in communication with the processor (In paragraphs [0024] and [0027-0028], Oesterling teaches that the vehicle 10 is equipped with accessory module 16 that is coupled to an antenna system 20, wherein antenna system 20 may include multiple antennas to enable accessory module 16 to communicate with one or more remote computing devices and may include a cellular antenna 20 that is equipped to transmit and receive long distance data communications over wireless carrier system 11),
a cellular antenna connected to the cellular transceiver (In paragraphs [0024] and [0027-0028], Oesterling teaches that the vehicle 10 is equipped with accessory module 16 that is coupled to an antenna system 20, wherein antenna system 20 may include multiple antennas to enable accessory module 16 to communicate with one or more remote computing devices and may include a cellular antenna that is equipped to transmit and receive long distance data communications over wireless carrier system 11),
a GPS receiver in communication with the processor (In paragraphs [0024] and [0027-0028], Oesterling teaches that the vehicle 10 is equipped with accessory module 16 that is coupled to an antenna system 20, wherein antenna system 20 may include multiple antennas to enable accessory module 16 to communicate with one or more remote computing devices and may include an antenna that is equipped to receive GPS satellite signals and generating GPS coordinates based on those signals),
a GPS antenna connected to the GPS receiver (In paragraphs [0024] and [0027-0028], Oesterling teaches that the vehicle 10 is equipped with accessory module 16 that is coupled to an antenna system 20, wherein antenna system 20 may include multiple antennas to enable accessory module 16 to communicate with one or more remote computing devices and may include an antenna that is equipped to receive GPS satellite signals and generating GPS coordinates based on those signals),
a CAN Bus interface in communication with the processor and configured to allow connection to a CAN Bus of the vehicle (In paragraphs [0036] and [0039], Oesterling teaches that the CAN 19 is a vehicle bus standard that allows accessory module 16 [communication device] to be coupled to various vehicle system modules to monitor and govern various vehicle functionality of various electrical components located throughout the vehicle body),
wherein the processor is configured to receive data regarding the vehicle from the CAN Bus of the vehicle via the Can Bus interface and control the vehicle utilizing the CAN Bus of the vehicle (In paragraphs [0036] and [0039], Oesterling teaches that the CAN 19 is a vehicle bus standard that allows accessory module 16 [communication device] to be coupled to various vehicle system modules to monitor and govern various vehicle functionality of various electrical components located throughout the vehicle body; see also paragraph [0032] where Oesterling teaches where accessory module 16 includes a Cybersecurity Gateway Module 36 (CGM) that may have the capability to both read and write messages from the vehicle's CAN 19 as well as be able to stop messages from being written to CAN 19 when required).
Oesterling is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention in that they both pertain to the utilization of a cellular antenna that is equipped to transmit and receive long distance data communications and a GPS antenna to receive GPS satellite signals, as well as a CAN Bus for coupling various modules of the vehicle system. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Oesterling with the communication system as disclosed by Kawai, where the Examiner understands that the use of a CAN bus and antennas for communication means is well understood in the art and may be implemented without undue experimentation, with predictable results, and with a reasonable expectation of success. Implementing the teachings of Oesterling may be advantageous in that the compatibility of the device with the CAN bus standard, and cellular and GPS networks, may improve the usability of the device with pre-existing vehicles and infrastructure, for example. Additionally, implementing the Cybersecurity Gateway Module as suggested by Oesterling in paragraph [0032] to read and write to the CAN bus of the vehicle may advantageously increase security of the data transmissions, for example
The combination of Kawai and Oesterling does not explicitly disclose wherein the Cloud stores device applications corresponding to various different types of vehicles; and
wherein a device application corresponding to the vehicle is selected from the device applications in the Cloud and is received from the Cloud and executed by the communication device;
wherein configuration data stored in the Cloud is automatically sent to the respective vehicle when the vehicle is detected as being within boundaries of a particular site.
However, Liu teaches wherein the Cloud stores device applications corresponding to various different types of vehicles (In paragraph [0050], Liu teaches a vehicle type selection interface related to vehicle type selection data through a display screen, and sending corresponding vehicle type data to the server 101 based on a vehicle type selected by the user on the vehicle type selection interface, where when the server 101 receives the vehicle type data, it sends the vehicle diagnosis interface data related to the vehicle type data to the user equipment 102 through the network); and
wherein a device application corresponding to the vehicle is selected from the device applications in the Cloud and is received from the Cloud and executed by the communication device (In paragraph [0050], Liu teaches a vehicle type selection interface related to vehicle type selection data through a display screen, and sending corresponding vehicle type data to the server 101 based on a vehicle type selected by the user on the vehicle type selection interface, where when the server 101 receives the vehicle type data, it sends the vehicle diagnosis interface data related to the vehicle type data to the user equipment 102 through the network).
Liu is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention in that they both pertain to receiving vehicle type specific program information from an external server. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Liu with the system as disclosed by the combination of Kawai and Oesterling, where “Since transmission of the vehicle type selection interface and controlling of the vehicle terminal are executed by the server in the technical solution of the present disclosure, thus, the user can implement a vehicle detection just by interacting with the server through the user equipment, and needn't download the vehicular diagnosis system into the user equipment in the form of software” and “In this way, a probability that illegal persons reversely crack software can be reduced to a certain extent, and the safety of the vehicle detection is further improved” as suggested by Liu in paragraph [0036], improving system safety and contextual accuracy, for example.
The combination of Kawai, Oesterling, and Liu does not explicitly disclose wherein configuration data stored in the Cloud is automatically sent to the respective vehicle when the vehicle is detected as being within boundaries of a particular site.
However, Paiva Ferreira teaches wherein configuration data stored in the Cloud is automatically sent to the respective vehicle when the vehicle is detected as being within boundaries of a particular site (In paragraph [0086], Paiva Ferreira teaches that upon entering the parking lot, the vehicle control is transferred from the current entity, (semi-) autonomous vehicle itself or third party, to the collaborative parking system; in paragraph [0114], Paiva Ferreira teaches that said controller functions may be assumed by a local or remote server; see also paragraph [0079] where Paiva Ferreira teaches that examples of positioning systems might include GPS, magnetic strips, WiFi, optical systems, cameras, among others, as well as combinations).
Paiva Ferreira is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention in that they both pertain to sending data to a vehicle from a server when the vehicle is within a particular site. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Paiva Ferreira with the communication system as disclosed by the combination of Kawai, Oesterling, and Liu, where doing so may increase the contextual accuracy of control of the vehicle and improve access to relevant data, for example, by establishing connection and control of the vehicle with a relevant server entity to the particular site.
Regarding claim 6, Kawai discloses a communication device for a means of conveyance (In paragraphs [0050] and [0057], Kawai discloses that a vehicle 1 is equipped with an on-vehicle unit 4 which comprises an on-vehicle phone 8 that transmits the vehicle condition data sent from the control unit 14 to the data server 2 through a communication means and receives the command signal for settling the abnormality in the vehicle transmitted from the data server 2) comprising:
a processor (In paragraph [0057], Kawai discloses that the on-vehicle unit 4 comprises a control unit 14 and a driver 9, wherein the driver 9 receives the settling command signal from the on-vehicle phone 8 through the control unit 14, and drives a specific device on the vehicle 1 based on the settling command signal to settle the abnormality; the Examiner understands that the control unit must inherently include a processor and memory in communication with the processor in order to send, receive, and process the data and signals as disclosed; see also paragraphs [0094-0095], Kawai discloses embodiments wherein the control unit 14 includes a storage section 31, and an abnormality determining section 32 and a setting section 33 to perform various determinations);
the processor having programming configured to 1) receive data regarding aspects of the means of conveyance (In paragraph [0057], Kawai discloses that the on-vehicle sensor 7 detects the condition of the vehicle 1, and outputs the results of the detection as the vehicle condition data, the control unit 14 sends the vehicle condition data output from the on-vehicle sensor 7 to the on-vehicle phone 8, and the on-vehicle phone 8 transmits the vehicle condition data sent from the control unit 14, to the data server 2 through a communication means),
2) send the received data regarding aspects of the means of conveyance to only the Cloud via a phone transceiver (In paragraph [0057], Kawai discloses that the on-vehicle sensor 7 detects the condition of the vehicle 1, and outputs the results of the detection as the vehicle condition data, the control unit 14 sends the vehicle condition data output from the on-vehicle sensor 7 to the on-vehicle phone 8, and the on-vehicle phone 8 transmits the vehicle condition data sent from the control unit 14, to the data server 2 [cloud] through a communication means; see also figures 2 and 4 where the vehicle and on-vehicle unit are depicted as communicating only with the data server, or cloud, via the communication medium),
3) receive data for the means of conveyance from only the Cloud (In paragraph [0057], Kawai discloses that the on-vehicle phone 8 receives the command signal for settling the abnormality in the vehicle transmitted from the data server 2 [cloud]; see also figures 2 and 4 where the vehicle and on-vehicle unit are depicted as communicating only with the data server, or cloud, via the communication medium),
4) control aspects of the means of conveyance according to the received data for the means of conveyance from only the Cloud (In paragraph [0057], Kawai discloses that the driver 9 receives the settling command signal from the on-vehicle phone 8 through the control unit 14, and drives a specific device on the vehicle 1 based on the settling command signal to settle the abnormality),
5) send data regarding aspects of the means of conveyance to a remote device of a user via only the Cloud (In paragraph [0059], Kawai discloses that the cellular phone 6 [remote device] is carried by the user 3 of the vehicle 1, receives the abnormality informing signal sent from the server communicator 10 in the data server 2 [cloud] through the communication means, and informs the user of the abnormality in the vehicle 1, wherein the user 3 operates the cellular phone 6 to input the command for settling the abnormality in the vehicle 1, and then the cellular phone 6 transmits the settling command signal to the server communicator 10 in the data server 2 [cloud]), and
6) receive data regarding aspects of the means of conveyance from only the Cloud through data received by the Cloud from a remote device of a user (In paragraph [0059], Kawai discloses that the cellular phone 6 [remote device] is carried by the user 3 of the vehicle 1, receives the abnormality informing signal sent from the server communicator 10 in the data server 2 [cloud] through the communication means, and informs the user of the abnormality in the vehicle 1, wherein the user 3 operates the cellular phone 6 to input the command for settling the abnormality in the vehicle 1, and then the cellular phone 6 transmits the settling command signal to the server communicator 10 in the data server 2 [cloud]; in paragraph [0057], Kawai discloses that the on-vehicle phone 8 receives the command signal for settling the abnormality in the vehicle transmitted from the data server 2 [cloud]).
Although in paragraphs [0050] and [0057], Kawai discloses that a vehicle 1 is equipped with an on-vehicle unit 4 which comprises an on-vehicle phone 8 that transmits the vehicle condition data sent from the control unit 14 to the data server 2 through a communication means and receives the command signal for settling the abnormality in the vehicle transmitted from the data server 2, Kawai does not explicitly disclose:
a cellular transceiver in communication with the processor;
a cellular antenna connected to the cell phone transceiver;
a GPS receiver in communication with the processor;
a GPS antenna connected to the GPS receiver; and
a CAN Bus interface in communication with the processor and configured to allow connection to a CAN Bus of the means of conveyance;
wherein the processor is configured to receive data regarding aspects of the means of conveyance from the CAN Bus of the means of conveyance via the Can Bus interface and control aspects of the means of conveyance utilizing the CAN Bus of the means of conveyance;
wherein the Cloud stores device applications corresponding to various different means of conveyance; and
wherein a device application corresponding to the means of conveyance is selected from the device applications in the Cloud and is received from the Cloud and executed by the communication device;
wherein configuration data stored in the Cloud is automatically sent to the means of conveyance when the means of conveyance is detected as being within boundaries of a particular site.
However, Oesterling teaches a cellular transceiver in communication with the processor (In paragraphs [0024] and [0027-0028], Oesterling teaches that the vehicle 10 is equipped with accessory module 16 that is coupled to an antenna system 20, wherein antenna system 20 may include multiple antennas to enable accessory module 16 to communicate with one or more remote computing devices and may include a cellular antenna 20 that is equipped to transmit and receive long distance data communications over wireless carrier system 11);
a cellular antenna connected to the cellular transceiver (In paragraphs [0024] and [0027-0028], Oesterling teaches that the vehicle 10 is equipped with accessory module 16 that is coupled to an antenna system 20, wherein antenna system 20 may include multiple antennas to enable accessory module 16 to communicate with one or more remote computing devices and may include a cellular antenna that is equipped to transmit and receive long distance data communications over wireless carrier system 11);
a GPS receiver in communication with the processor (In paragraphs [0024] and [0027-0028], Oesterling teaches that the vehicle 10 is equipped with accessory module 16 that is coupled to an antenna system 20, wherein antenna system 20 may include multiple antennas to enable accessory module 16 to communicate with one or more remote computing devices and may include an antenna that is equipped to receive GPS satellite signals and generating GPS coordinates based on those signals);
a GPS antenna connected to the GPS receiver (In paragraphs [0024] and [0027-0028], Oesterling teaches that the vehicle 10 is equipped with accessory module 16 that is coupled to an antenna system 20, wherein antenna system 20 may include multiple antennas to enable accessory module 16 to communicate with one or more remote computing devices and may include an antenna that is equipped to receive GPS satellite signals and generating GPS coordinates based on those signals); and
a CAN Bus interface in communication with the processor and configured to allow connection to a CAN Bus of the means of conveyance (In paragraphs [0036] and [0039], Oesterling teaches that the CAN 19 is a vehicle bus standard that allows accessory module 16 [communication device] to be coupled to various vehicle system modules to monitor and govern various vehicle functionality of various electrical components located throughout the vehicle body);
wherein the processor is configured to receive data regarding aspects of the means of conveyance from the CAN Bus of the means of conveyance via the Can Bus interface and control aspects of the means of conveyance utilizing the CAN Bus of the means of conveyance (In paragraphs [0036] and [0039], Oesterling teaches that the CAN 19 is a vehicle bus standard that allows accessory module 16 [communication device] to be coupled to various vehicle system modules to monitor and govern various vehicle functionality of various electrical components located throughout the vehicle body; see also paragraph [0032] where Oesterling teaches where accessory module 16 includes a Cybersecurity Gateway Module 36 (CGM) that may have the capability to both read and write messages from the vehicle's CAN 19 as well as be able to stop messages from being written to CAN 19 when required).
Oesterling is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention in that they both pertain to the utilization of a cellular antenna that is equipped to transmit and receive long distance data communications and a GPS antenna to receive GPS satellite signals, as well as a CAN Bus for coupling various modules of the vehicle system. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Oesterling with the communication device as disclosed by Kawai, where the Examiner understands that the use of a CAN bus and antennas for communication means is well understood in the art and may be implemented without undue experimentation, with predictable results, and with a reasonable expectation of success. Implementing the teachings of Oesterling may be advantageous in that the compatibility of the device with the CAN bus standard, and cellular and GPS networks, may improve the usability of the device with pre-existing vehicles and infrastructure, for example. Additionally, implementing the Cybersecurity Gateway Module as suggested by Oesterling in paragraph [0032] to read and write to the CAN bus of the vehicle may advantageously increase security of the data transmissions, for example.
The combination of Kawai and Oesterling does not explicitly disclose wherein the Cloud stores device applications corresponding to various different means of conveyance; and
wherein a device application corresponding to the means of conveyance is selected from the device applications in the Cloud and is received from the Cloud and executed by the communication device;
wherein configuration data stored in the Cloud is automatically sent to the means of conveyance when the means of conveyance is detected as being within boundaries of a particular site.
However, Liu teaches wherein the Cloud stores device applications corresponding to various different means of conveyance (In paragraph [0050], Liu teaches a vehicle type selection interface related to vehicle type selection data through a display screen, and sending corresponding vehicle type data to the server 101 based on a vehicle type selected by the user on the vehicle type selection interface, where when the server 101 receives the vehicle type data, it sends the vehicle diagnosis interface data related to the vehicle type data to the user equipment 102 through the network); and
wherein a device application corresponding to the means of conveyance is selected from the device applications in the Cloud and is received from the Cloud and executed by the communication device (In paragraph [0050], Liu teaches a vehicle type selection interface related to vehicle type selection data through a display screen, and sending corresponding vehicle type data to the server 101 based on a vehicle type selected by the user on the vehicle type selection interface, where when the server 101 receives the vehicle type data, it sends the vehicle diagnosis interface data related to the vehicle type data to the user equipment 102 through the network).
Liu is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention in that they both pertain to receiving vehicle type specific program information from an external server. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Liu with the device as disclosed by the combination of Kawai and Oesterling, where “Since transmission of the vehicle type selection interface and controlling of the vehicle terminal are executed by the server in the technical solution of the present disclosure, thus, the user can implement a vehicle detection just by interacting with the server through the user equipment, and needn't download the vehicular diagnosis system into the user equipment in the form of software” and “In this way, a probability that illegal persons reversely crack software can be reduced to a certain extent, and the safety of the vehicle detection is further improved” as suggested by Liu in paragraph [0036], improving system safety and contextual accuracy, for example.
The combination of Kawai, Oesterling, and Liu does not explicitly disclose wherein configuration data stored in the Cloud is automatically sent to the means of conveyance when the means of conveyance is detected as being within boundaries of a particular site.
However, Paiva Ferreira teaches wherein configuration data stored in the Cloud is automatically sent to the means of conveyance when the means of conveyance is detected as being within boundaries of a particular site (In paragraph [0086], Paiva Ferreira teaches that upon entering the parking lot, the vehicle control is transferred from the current entity, (semi-) autonomous vehicle itself or third party, to the collaborative parking system; in paragraph [0114], Paiva Ferreira teaches that said controller functions may be assumed by a local or remote server; see also paragraph [0079] where Paiva Ferreira teaches that examples of positioning systems might include GPS, magnetic strips, WiFi, optical systems, cameras, among others, as well as combinations).
Paiva Ferreira is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention in that they both pertain to sending data to a vehicle from a server when the vehicle is within a particular site. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Paiva Ferreira with the communication device as disclosed by the combination of Kawai, Oesterling, and Liu, where doing so may increase the contextual accuracy of control of the vehicle and improve access to relevant data, for example, by establishing connection and control of the vehicle with a relevant server entity to the particular site.
Regarding claim 7, Kawai further discloses wherein the means of conveyance comprises one of a vehicle and a watercraft (In paragraph [0050], Kawai discloses that a vehicle 1 is equipped with an on-vehicle unit 4 for detecting the condition of the vehicle 1).
Regarding claim 12, Kawai discloses a method of communicating with a means of conveyance comprising the steps of:
providing a communication device associated with the means of conveyance (In paragraphs [0050] and [0057], Kawai discloses that a vehicle 1 is equipped with an on-vehicle unit 4 which comprises an on-vehicle phone 8 that transmits the vehicle condition data sent from the control unit 14 to the data server 2 through a communication means and receives the command signal for settling the abnormality in the vehicle transmitted from the data server 2),
the communication device having a processor, memory in communication with the processor (In paragraph [0057], Kawai discloses that the on-vehicle unit 4 comprises a control unit 14 and a driver 9, wherein the driver 9 receives the settling command signal from the on-vehicle phone 8 through the control unit 14, and drives a specific device on the vehicle 1 based on the settling command signal to settle the abnormality; the Examiner understands that the control unit must inherently include a processor and memory in communication with the processor in order to send, receive, and process the data and signals as disclosed; see also paragraphs [0094-0095], Kawai discloses embodiments wherein the control unit 14 includes a storage section 31, and an abnormality determining section 32 and a setting section 33 to perform various determinations),
the processor configured to 1) receive data regarding the means of conveyance and send the received data regarding the means of conveyance to only the Cloud via the phone transceiver (In paragraph [0057], Kawai discloses that the on-vehicle sensor 7 detects the condition of the vehicle 1, and outputs the results of the detection as the vehicle condition data, the control unit 14 sends the vehicle condition data output from the on-vehicle sensor 7 to the on-vehicle phone 8, and the on-vehicle phone 8 transmits the vehicle condition data sent from the control unit 14, to the data server 2 [cloud] through a communication means; see also figures 2 and 4 where the vehicle and on-vehicle unit are depicted as communicating only with the data server, or cloud, via the communication medium),
2) receive data for the means of conveyance from only the Cloud (In paragraph [0057], Kawai discloses that the on-vehicle phone 8 receives the command signal for settling the abnormality in the vehicle transmitted from the data server 2 [cloud]; see also figures 2 and 4 where the vehicle and on-vehicle unit are depicted as communicating only with the data server, or cloud, via the communication medium), and
3) control the means of conveyance according to the received data for the means of conveyance (In paragraph [0057], Kawai discloses that the driver 9 receives the settling command signal from the on-vehicle phone 8 through the control unit 14, and drives a specific device on the vehicle 1 based on the settling command signal to settle the abnormality); and
providing an application configured to operate on a remote device of a user, the application allowing reception of data regarding the means of conveyance from only the Cloud and transmission of data regarding the means of conveyance to only the Cloud for transmission to the means of conveyance (In paragraph [0059], Kawai discloses that the cellular phone 6 [remote device] is carried by the user 3 of the vehicle 1, receives the abnormality informing signal sent from the server communicator 10 in the data server 2 [cloud] through the communication means, and informs the user of the abnormality in the vehicle 1, wherein the user 3 operates the cellular phone 6 to input the command for settling the abnormality in the vehicle 1, and then the cellular phone 6 transmits the settling command signal to the server communicator 10 in the data server 2 [cloud]; in paragraph [0057], Kawai discloses that the on-vehicle phone 8 receives the command signal for settling the abnormality in the vehicle transmitted from the data server 2 [cloud]; see also figures 2 and 4 where the user and cellular phone are depicted as communicating only with the data server, or cloud, via the communication medium; the Examiner understands that the software or programming on the cellular phone to perform the disclosed functions must at least constitute an “application” under its broadest reasonable interpretation).
Although in paragraphs [0050] and [0057], Kawai discloses that a vehicle 1 is equipped with an on-vehicle unit 4 which comprises an on-vehicle phone 8 that transmits the vehicle condition data sent from the control unit 14 to the data server 2 through a communication means and receives the command signal for settling the abnormality in the vehicle transmitted from the data server 2, Kawai does not explicitly disclose:
a cellular transceiver in communication with the processor,
a cellular antenna connected to the cellular transceiver,
a GPS receiver in communication with the processor,
a GPS antenna connected to the GPS receiver,
a CAN Bus interface in communication with the processor and configured to allow connection to a CAN Bus of the means of conveyance,
wherein the processor is configured to receive data regarding the means of conveyance from the CAN Bus of the means of conveyance via the Can Bus interface and control the means of conveyance utilizing the CAN Bus of the means of conveyance,
wherein the Cloud stores device applications corresponding to various different types of vehicles; and
wherein a device application corresponding to the mobile vehicle is selected from the device applications in the Cloud and is received from the Cloud and executed by the communication device;
wherein configuration data stored in the Cloud is automatically sent to the means of conveyance when the means of conveyance is detected as being within boundaries of a particular site.
However, Oesterling teaches a cellular transceiver in communication with the processor (In paragraphs [0024] and [0027-0028], Oesterling teaches that the vehicle 10 is equipped with accessory module 16 that is coupled to an antenna system 20, wherein antenna system 20 may include multiple antennas to enable accessory module 16 to communicate with one or more remote computing devices and may include a cellular antenna 20 that is equipped to transmit and receive long distance data communications over wireless carrier system 11),
a cellular antenna connected to the cellular transceiver (In paragraphs [0024] and [0027-0028], Oesterling teaches that the vehicle 10 is equipped with accessory module 16 that is coupled to an antenna system 20, wherein antenna system 20 may include multiple antennas to enable accessory module 16 to communicate with one or more remote computing devices and may include a cellular antenna that is equipped to transmit and receive long distance data communications over wireless carrier system 11),
a GPS receiver in communication with the processor (In paragraphs [0024] and [0027-0028], Oesterling teaches that the vehicle 10 is equipped with accessory module 16 that is coupled to an antenna system 20, wherein antenna system 20 may include multiple antennas to enable accessory module 16 to communicate with one or more remote computing devices and may include an antenna that is equipped to receive GPS satellite signals and generating GPS coordinates based on those signals),
a GPS antenna connected to the GPS receiver (In paragraphs [0024] and [0027-0028], Oesterling teaches that the vehicle 10 is equipped with accessory module 16 that is coupled to an antenna system 20, wherein antenna system 20 may include multiple antennas to enable accessory module 16 to communicate with one or more remote computing devices and may include an antenna that is equipped to receive GPS satellite signals and generating GPS coordinates based on those signals),
a CAN Bus interface in communication with the processor and configured to allow connection to a CAN Bus of the means of conveyance (In paragraphs [0036] and [0039], Oesterling teaches that the CAN 19 is a vehicle bus standard that allows accessory module 16 [communication device] to be coupled to various vehicle system modules to monitor and govern various vehicle functionality of various electrical components located throughout the vehicle body),
wherein the processor is configured to receive data regarding the means of conveyance from the CAN Bus of the means of conveyance via the Can Bus interface and control the means of conveyance utilizing the CAN Bus of the means of conveyance (In paragraphs [0036] and [0039], Oesterling teaches that the CAN 19 is a vehicle bus standard that allows accessory module 16 [communication device] to be coupled to various vehicle system modules to monitor and govern various vehicle functionality of various electrical components located throughout the vehicle body; see also paragraph [0032] where Oesterling teaches where accessory module 16 includes a Cybersecurity Gateway Module 36 (CGM) that may have the capability to both read and write messages from the vehicle's CAN 19 as well as be able to stop messages from being written to CAN 19 when required).
Oesterling is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention in that they both pertain to the utilization of a cellular antenna that is equipped to transmit and receive long distance data communications and a GPS antenna to receive GPS satellite signals, as well as a CAN Bus for coupling various modules of the vehicle system. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Oesterling with the method as disclosed by Kawai, where the Examiner understands that the use of a CAN bus and antennas for communication means is well understood in the art and may be implemented without undue experimentation, with predictable results, and with a reasonable expectation of success. Implementing the teachings of Oesterling may be advantageous in that the compatibility of the device with the CAN bus standard, and cellular and GPS networks, may improve the usability of the device with pre-existing vehicles and infrastructure, for example. Additionally, implementing the Cybersecurity Gateway Module as suggested by Oesterling in paragraph [0032] to read and write to the CAN bus of the vehicle may advantageously increase security of the data transmissions, for example.
The combination of Kawai and Oesterling does not explicitly disclose wherein the Cloud stores device applications corresponding to various different types of vehicles; and
wherein a device application corresponding to the mobile vehicle is selected from the device applications in the Cloud and is received from the Cloud and executed by the communication device;
wherein configuration data stored in the Cloud is automatically sent to the means of conveyance when the means of conveyance is detected as being within boundaries of a particular site.
However, Liu teaches wherein the Cloud stores device applications corresponding to various different types of vehicles (In paragraph [0050], Liu teaches a vehicle type selection interface related to vehicle type selection data through a display screen, and sending corresponding vehicle type data to the server 101 based on a vehicle type selected by the user on the vehicle type selection interface, where when the server 101 receives the vehicle type data, it sends the vehicle diagnosis interface data related to the vehicle type data to the user equipment 102 through the network); and
wherein a device application corresponding to the mobile vehicle is selected from the device applications in the Cloud and is received from the Cloud and executed by the communication device (In paragraph [0050], Liu teaches a vehicle type selection interface related to vehicle type selection data through a display screen, and sending corresponding vehicle type data to the server 101 based on a vehicle type selected by the user on the vehicle type selection interface, where when the server 101 receives the vehicle type data, it sends the vehicle diagnosis interface data related to the vehicle type data to the user equipment 102 through the network).
Liu is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention in that they both pertain to receiving vehicle type specific program information from an external server. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Liu with the system as disclosed by the combination of Kawai and Oesterling, where “Since transmission of the vehicle type selection interface and controlling of the vehicle terminal are executed by the server in the technical solution of the present disclosure, thus, the user can implement a vehicle detection just by interacting with the server through the user equipment, and needn't download the vehicular diagnosis system into the user equipment in the form of software” and “In this way, a probability that illegal persons reversely crack software can be reduced to a certain extent, and the safety of the vehicle detection is further improved” as suggested by Liu in paragraph [0036], improving system safety and contextual accuracy, for example.
The combination of Kawai, Oesterling, and Liu does not explicitly disclose wherein configuration data stored in the Cloud is automatically sent to the means of conveyance when the means of conveyance is detected as being within boundaries of a particular site.
However, Paiva Ferreira teaches wherein configuration data stored in the Cloud is automatically sent to the means of conveyance when the means of conveyance is detected as being within boundaries of a particular site (In paragraph [0086], Paiva Ferreira teaches that upon entering the parking lot, the vehicle control is transferred from the current entity, (semi-) autonomous vehicle itself or third party, to the collaborative parking system; in paragraph [0114], Paiva Ferreira teaches that said controller functions may be assumed by a local or remote server; see also paragraph [0079] where Paiva Ferreira teaches that examples of positioning systems might include GPS, magnetic strips, WiFi, optical systems, cameras, among others, as well as combinations).
Paiva Ferreira is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention in that they both pertain to sending data to a vehicle from a server when the vehicle is within a particular site. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Paiva Ferreira with the method as disclosed by the combination of Kawai, Oesterling, and Liu, where doing so may increase the contextual accuracy of control of the vehicle and improve access to relevant data, for example, by establishing connection and control of the vehicle with a relevant server entity to the particular site.
Regarding claim 22, Paiva Ferreira further teaches wherein the communication device can monitor and control operation of the vehicle based on the configuration data (In paragraph [0086], Paiva Ferreira teaches that upon entering the parking lot, the vehicle control is transferred from the current entity, (semi-) autonomous vehicle itself or third party, to the collaborative parking system; in paragraph [0114], Paiva Ferreira teaches that said controller functions may be assumed by a local or remote server; see also paragraph [0079] where Paiva Ferreira teaches that examples of positioning systems might include GPS, magnetic strips, WiFi, optical systems, cameras, among others, as well as combinations).
Claims 2, 8, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawai (US 2001/0020893 A1), Oesterling (US 2019/0092280 A1), Liu (US 2021/0383619 A1), and Paiva Ferreira (US 2017/0212511 A1), in view of Welch (US 2006/0047380 A1).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Kawai, Oesterling, Liu, and Paiva Ferreira does not explicitly disclose wherein the communication device further comprises an analog interface in communication with the processor and configured to connect to analog components of the vehicle.
However, Welch teaches wherein the communication device further comprises an analog interface in communication with the processor and configured to connect to analog components of the vehicle (In paragraphs [0061-0062], Welch teaches that a vehicle diagnostic system may include an analog interface 205 configured to interface the analog diagnostic data from the analog probe 203 with portions of the vehicle diagnostic system 101).
Welch is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention in that they both pertain to utilizing an analog interface to obtain data from analog components of a vehicle. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Welch with the communication system as disclosed by the combination of Kawai, Oesterling, Liu, and Paiva Ferreira, where the Examiner understands that the use of an analog interface to obtain analog data at a processor is well understood in the art and may be implemented without undue experimentation, with predictable results, and with a reasonable expectation of success. Implementing the teachings of Welch may be advantageous in that “the analog interface 205 may digitize the analog diagnostic data for use within the vehicle diagnostic system 101” as suggested by Welch in paragraph [0062], where doing so may yield the advantage of increasing compatibility of the data with other digital components and data, for example.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Kawai, Oesterling, Liu, and Paiva Ferreira does not explicitly disclose an analog interface in communication with the processor, and configured to connect to analog components of the means of conveyance.
However, Welch teaches an analog interface in communication with the processor, and configured to connect to analog components of the means of conveyance (In paragraphs [0061-0062], Welch teaches that a vehicle diagnostic system may include an analog interface 205 configured to interface the analog diagnostic data from the analog probe 203 with portions of the vehicle diagnostic system 101).
Welch is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention in that they both pertain to utilizing an analog interface to obtain data from analog components of a vehicle. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Welch with the communication device as disclosed by the combination of Kawai, Oesterling, Liu, and Paiva Ferreira, where the Examiner understands that the use of an analog interface to obtain analog data at a processor is well understood in the art and may be implemented without undue experimentation, with predictable results, and with a reasonable expectation of success. Implementing the teachings of Welch may be advantageous in that “the analog interface 205 may digitize the analog diagnostic data for use within the vehicle diagnostic system 101” as suggested by Welch in paragraph [0062], where doing so may yield the advantage of increasing compatibility of the data with other digital components and data, for example.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Kawai, Oesterling, Liu, and Paiva Ferreira does not explicitly disclose wherein the communication device further comprises an analog interface in communication with the processor and configured to connect to analog components of the means of conveyance.
However, Welch teaches wherein the communication device further comprises an analog interface in communication with the processor and configured to connect to analog components of the means of conveyance (In paragraphs [0061-0062], Welch teaches that a vehicle diagnostic system may include an analog interface 205 configured to interface the analog diagnostic data from the analog probe 203 with portions of the vehicle diagnostic system 101).
Welch is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention in that they both pertain to utilizing an analog interface to obtain data from analog components of a vehicle. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Welch with the method as disclosed by the combination of Kawai, Oesterling, Liu, and Paiva Ferreira, where the Examiner understands that the use of an analog interface to obtain analog data at a processor is well understood in the art and may be implemented without undue experimentation, with predictable results, and with a reasonable expectation of success. Implementing the teachings of Welch may be advantageous in that “the analog interface 205 may digitize the analog diagnostic data for use within the vehicle diagnostic system 101” as suggested by Welch in paragraph [0062], where doing so may yield the advantage of increasing compatibility of the data with other digital components and data, for example.
Claims 3-4, 9-10, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawai (US 2001/0020893 A1), Oesterling (US 2019/0092280 A1), Liu (US 2021/0383619 A1), Paiva Ferreira (US 2017/0212511 A1), and Welch (US 2006/0047380 A1), in view of San Miguel (US 2020/0258324 A1).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Kawai, Oesterling, Liu, Paiva Ferreira, and Welch does not explicitly disclose wherein the communication device further comprises an IMU in communication with the processor.
However, San Miguel teaches wherein the communication device further comprises an IMU in communication with the processor (In paragraphs [0035] and [0040], San Miguel teaches that vehicle information transmitter may be configured to collect and log data associated with the vehicle, and transmit the data to a data server, wherein the vehicle information transmitter may include an IMU 204 is configured to measure linear and rotational forces, and linear and rotational accelerations acting on vehicle information transmitter 200).
San Miguel is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention in that they both pertain to including an IMU on a communication device for transmitting vehicle information. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement an IMU as taught by San Miguel with the communication system as disclosed by the combination of Kawai, Oesterling, Liu, Paiva Ferreira, and Welch, where Kawai already discloses that “the navigation system 22, which is one of the on-vehicle sensors 7, detects the position of the vehicle 1” in paragraph [0070], and where further use of an IMU as taught by San Miguel to obtain rotational forces and accelerations can advantageously increase the contextual accuracy of the obtained positional information to include, for example, rotational information of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Kawai, Oesterling, Liu, Paiva Ferreira, Welch, and San Miguel further discloses wherein the remote device of a user comprises a smart phone (In paragraph [0125], Kawai discloses that the cellular phone may be another portable communicator such as a portable computer; In paragraph [0021], Oesterling teaches that the mobile computing device 12 may be embodied as a smart phone).
Regarding claim 9, The combination of Kawai, Oesterling, Liu, Paiva Ferreira, and Welch does not explicitly disclose an IMU in communication with the processor.
However, San Miguel teaches an IMU in communication with the processor (In paragraphs [0035] and [0040], San Miguel teaches that vehicle information transmitter may be configured to collect and log data associated with the vehicle, and transmit the data to a data server, wherein the vehicle information transmitter may include an IMU 204 is configured to measure linear and rotational forces, and linear and rotational accelerations acting on vehicle information transmitter 200).
San Miguel is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention in that they both pertain to including an IMU on a communication device for transmitting vehicle information. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement an IMU as taught by San Miguel with the communication device as disclosed by the combination of Kawai, Oesterling, Liu, Paiva Ferreira, and Welch, where Kawai already discloses that “the navigation system 22, which is one of the on-vehicle sensors 7, detects the position of the vehicle 1” in paragraph [0070], and where further use of an IMU as taught by San Miguel to obtain rotational forces and accelerations can advantageously increase the contextual accuracy of the obtained positional information to include, for example, rotational information of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Kawai, Oesterling, Liu, Paiva Ferreira, Welch, and San Miguel further discloses wherein the remote device of a user comprises a smart phone (In paragraph [0125], Kawai discloses that the cellular phone may be another portable communicator such as a portable computer; In paragraph [0021], Oesterling teaches that the mobile computing device 12 may be embodied as a smart phone).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Kawai, Oesterling, Liu, Paiva Ferreira, and Welch does not explicitly disclose wherein the communication device further comprises an IMU in communication with the processor.
However, San Miguel teaches wherein the communication device further comprises an IMU in communication with the processor (In paragraphs [0035] and [0040], San Miguel teaches that vehicle information transmitter may be configured to collect and log data associated with the vehicle, and transmit the data to a data server, wherein the vehicle information transmitter may include an IMU 204 is configured to measure linear and rotational forces, and linear and rotational accelerations acting on vehicle information transmitter 200).
San Miguel is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention in that they both pertain to including an IMU on a communication device for transmitting vehicle information. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement an IMU as taught by San Miguel with the method as disclosed by the combination of Kawai, Oesterling, Liu, Paiva Ferreira, and Welch, where Kawai already discloses that “the navigation system 22, which is one of the on-vehicle sensors 7, detects the position of the vehicle 1” in paragraph [0070], and where further use of an IMU as taught by San Miguel to obtain rotational forces and accelerations can advantageously increase the contextual accuracy of the obtained positional information to include, for example, rotational information of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Kawai, Oesterling, Liu, Paiva Ferreira, Welch, and San Miguel further discloses wherein the remote device of a user comprises a smart phone (In paragraph [0125], Kawai discloses that the cellular phone may be another portable communicator such as a portable computer; In paragraph [0021], Oesterling teaches that the mobile computing device 12 may be embodied as a smart phone).
Claims 5, 11, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawai (US 2001/0020893 A1), Oesterling (US 2019/0092280 A1), Liu (US 2021/0383619 A1), Paiva Ferreira (US 2017/0212511 A1), Welch (US 2006/0047380 A1), and San Miguel (US 2020/0258324 A1), in view of Oshima (US 2016/0148450 A1).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Kawai, Oesterling, Liu, Paiva Ferreira, Welch, and San Miguel does not explicitly disclose wherein the communication device further comprises a near-field communication module in communication with the processor.
However, Oshima teaches wherein the communication device further comprises a near-field communication module in communication with the processor (In paragraphs [0029] and [0032], Oshima teaches that a vehicle-mounted system 100 includes a near field communication unit configured to communicate wirelessly with the smartphone 40 within a communication range of tens to hundreds of meters in compliance with a near field communication standard).
Oshima is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention in that they both pertain to the utilization of near-field communication to connect with a vehicle system. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Oshima with the communication system as disclosed by the combination of Kawai, Oesterling, Liu, Paiva Ferreira, Welch, and San Miguel, where the Examiner understands that the use of near-field communication is well understood in the art and may be implemented without undue experimentation, with predictable results, and with a reasonable expectation of success. Utilizing near-field communication as taught by Oshima in addition to the communication means as disclosed by the combination of Kawai, Oesterling, Liu, Paiva Ferreira, Welch, and San Miguel may be advantageous in providing communication redundancies in case other means of communication cannot be established for example, increasing the usability of the communication in device in more circumstances.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Kawai, Oesterling, Liu, Paiva Ferreira, Welch, and San Miguel does not explicitly disclose a near-field communication module in communication with the processor.
However, Oshima teaches a near-field communication module in communication with the processor (In paragraphs [0029] and [0032], Oshima teaches that a vehicle-mounted system 100 includes a near field communication unit configured to communicate wirelessly with the smartphone 40 within a communication range of tens to hundreds of meters in compliance with a near field communication standard).
Oshima is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention in that they both pertain to the utilization of near-field communication to connect with a vehicle system. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Oshima with the communication device as disclosed by the combination of Kawai, Oesterling, Liu, Paiva Ferreira, Welch, and San Miguel, where the Examiner understands that the use of near-field communication is well understood in the art and may be implemented without undue experimentation, with predictable results, and with a reasonable expectation of success. Utilizing near-field communication as taught by Oshima in addition to the communication means as disclosed by the combination of Kawai, Oesterling, Liu, Paiva Ferreira, Welch, and San Miguel may be advantageous in providing communication redundancies in case other means of communication cannot be established for example, increasing the usability of the communication in device in more circumstances.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Kawai, Oesterling, Liu, Paiva Ferreira, Welch, and San Miguel does not explicitly disclose wherein the communication device further comprises a near-field communication module in communication with the processor.
However, Oshima teaches wherein the communication device further comprises a near-field communication module in communication with the processor (In paragraphs [0029] and [0032], Oshima teaches that a vehicle-mounted system 100 includes a near field communication unit configured to communicate wirelessly with the smartphone 40 within a communication range of tens to hundreds of meters in compliance with a near field communication standard).
Oshima is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention in that they both pertain to the utilization of near-field communication to connect with a vehicle system. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Oshima with the method as disclosed by the combination of Kawai, Oesterling, Liu, Paiva Ferreira, Welch, and San Miguel, where the Examiner understands that the use of near-field communication is well understood in the art and may be implemented without undue experimentation, with predictable results, and with a reasonable expectation of success. Utilizing near-field communication as taught by Oshima in addition to the communication means as disclosed by the combination of Kawai, Oesterling, Liu, Paiva Ferreira, Welch, and San Miguel may be advantageous in providing communication redundancies in case other means of communication cannot be established for example, increasing the usability of the communication in device in more circumstances.
Claims 17-18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawai (US 2001/0020893 A1), Oesterling (US 2019/0092280 A1), Liu (US 2021/0383619 A1), and Paiva Ferreira (US 2017/0212511 A1), in view of Rathi (US 2014/0077972 A1).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Kawai, Oesterling, Liu, Paiva Ferreira, and Rathi teaches wherein the means of conveyance comprises a vehicle selected from the group consisting of mobility scooters, lawn mowers, boats and power sports equipment (In paragraph [0020], Oesterling teaches that although an automobile is used herein for exemplary purposes, the embodiments described herein can be applied to other types of systems where shared access is utilized including, but are not limited to, rail systems, planes, off-road sport vehicles, robotic vehicles, motorcycles, farm equipment, and construction equipment; in paragraph [0021], Rathi teaches identifying and presenting information based on a unique vehicle identifier, where vehicle 104 can be any suitable transportation machinery, such as an automobile, a truck, a bus, a tractor, a golf cart, a go-kart, a motorcycle, a scooter, a bicycle, a motorized bicycle, a boat, a watercraft (e.g., a jet-ski), an aircraft, a lawn mower, a snowmobile, a remote controlled device (e.g., a remote controlled car or airplane), or the like).
Rathi is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention in that they both pertain to vehicle information storage and sharing via a remote source for a variety of vehicle types. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Rathi with the method as disclosed by the combination of Kawai, Oesterling, Liu, and Paiva Ferreira, where relevant content can be selected based on user input, the unique vehicle identifier received from the vehicle, and the geographic location of the device as suggested by Rathi in paragraph [0018]. Utilizing data selection based on specific vehicles, including those among a wide variety of vehicle types, improves contextual sensitivity, for example.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Kawai, Oesterling, Liu, Paiva Ferreira, and Rathi further teaches wherein the power sports equipment is selected from the group consisting of motorcycles, all-terrain vehicles (ATVs), utility vehicles (UTVs) snowmobiles, personal watercraft (PWCs), and scooters (In paragraph [0020], Oesterling teaches that although an automobile is used herein for exemplary purposes, the embodiments described herein can be applied to other types of systems where shared access is utilized including, but are not limited to, rail systems, planes, off-road sport vehicles, robotic vehicles, motorcycles, farm equipment, and construction equipment; in paragraph [0021], Rathi teaches identifying and presenting information based on a unique vehicle identifier, where vehicle 104 can be any suitable transportation machinery, such as an automobile, a truck, a bus, a tractor, a golf cart, a go-kart, a motorcycle, a scooter, a bicycle, a motorized bicycle, a boat, a watercraft (e.g., a jet-ski), an aircraft, a lawn mower, a snowmobile, a remote controlled device (e.g., a remote controlled car or airplane), or the like).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Kawai, Oesterling, Liu, Paiva Ferreira, and Rathi teaches wherein the vehicle is selected from the group consisting of motorcycles, all-terrain vehicles (ATVs), utility vehicles (UTVs), snowmobiles, personal watercraft (PWCs), mobility scooters, lawn mowers, boats and scooters (In paragraph [0020], Oesterling teaches that although an automobile is used herein for exemplary purposes, the embodiments described herein can be applied to other types of systems where shared access is utilized including, but are not limited to, rail systems, planes, off-road sport vehicles, robotic vehicles, motorcycles, farm equipment, and construction equipment; in paragraph [0021], Rathi teaches identifying and presenting information based on a unique vehicle identifier, where vehicle 104 can be any suitable transportation machinery, such as an automobile, a truck, a bus, a tractor, a golf cart, a go-kart, a motorcycle, a scooter, a bicycle, a motorized bicycle, a boat, a watercraft (e.g., a jet-ski), an aircraft, a lawn mower, a snowmobile, a remote controlled device (e.g., a remote controlled car or airplane), or the like).
Rathi is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention in that they both pertain to vehicle information storage and sharing via a remote source for a variety of vehicle types. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Rathi with the method as disclosed by the combination of Kawai, Oesterling, and Liu, where relevant content can include, for example, one or more specifications for the vehicle such as a user manual, year, make, model, color, fuel type, oil type, replacement part numbers, locations to purchase replacement parts, and other specifications for the vehicle as suggested by Rathi in paragraph [0018]. Utilizing data selection based on specific vehicles, including those among a wide variety of vehicle types, improves contextual sensitivity, for example.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawai (US 2001/0020893 A1), Oesterling (US 2019/0092280 A1), Liu (US 2021/0383619 A1), Paiva Ferreira (US 2017/0212511 A1), and Rathi (US 2014/0077972 A1), in view of David (US 2020/0174778 A1).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Kawai, Oesterling, Liu, Paiva Ferreira, and Rathi does not explicitly disclose uploading a desired firmware or software update to the Cloud;
sending the updated firmware or software from the cloud to the communication device of the selected vehicle;
sending the updated firmware or software from the communication device to the components that need to be updated.
However, David teaches uploading a desired firmware or software update to the Cloud (In paragraphs [0037-0039], David teaches that an over-the-air (OTA) updater device 108 of a vehicle 106 receives a software update for an updatable component 110, wherein the OTA updater device 108 may transmit a request for available updates to the server computing system 104 and may receive the software update in response, or the server computing system 104 (or another computing system) may push the software update to the OTA updater device 108, or may otherwise cause the OTA updater device 108 to initiate a download of the software update; the Examiner understands that in order for the software update to be transmitted from the server computing system 104 [cloud], the update must inherently have been acquired and uploaded to the server);
sending the updated firmware or software from the cloud to the communication device of the selected vehicle (In paragraphs [0037-0039], David teaches that an over-the-air (OTA) updater device 108 of a vehicle 106 receives a software update for an updatable component 110, wherein the OTA updater device 108 may transmit a request for available updates to the server computing system 104 and may receive the software update in response, or the server computing system 104 (or another computing system) may push the software update to the OTA updater device 108, or may otherwise cause the OTA updater device 108 to initiate a download of the software update);
sending the updated firmware or software from the communication device to the components that need to be updated (In paragraph [0059], David teaches that the OTA updater device 108 may use any suitable technique for applying the update to the updatable component 110, where for example, the OTA updater device 108 may transmit the software update or a portion thereof to the updatable component 110 via the vehicle communication bus, and the updatable component 110 may use it to update software stored on a computer-readable medium of the updatable component 110).
David is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention in that they both pertain to updating software of a vehicle via an update received from a cloud. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of David with the method as disclosed by the combination of Kawai, Oesterling, Liu, Paiva Ferreira, and Rathi, where doing so advantageously allows the most updated version of software or firmware to be implemented by the components, increasing the adaptability of the system and corresponding accuracy of operation by the components, for example.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawai (US 2001/0020893 A1), Oesterling (US 2019/0092280 A1), Liu (US 2021/0383619 A1), and Paiva Ferreira (US 2017/0212511 A1), in view of David (US 2020/0174778 A1).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Kawai, Oesterling, Liu, and Paiva Ferreira does not explicitly disclose wherein a software or firmware update for the vehicle is received from the Cloud and executed by the communication device.
However, David teaches wherein a software or firmware update for the vehicle is received from the Cloud and executed by the communication device (In paragraphs [0037-0039], David teaches that an over-the-air (OTA) updater device 108 of a vehicle 106 receives a software update for an updatable component 110, wherein the OTA updater device 108 may transmit a request for available updates to the server computing system 104 and may receive the software update in response, or the server computing system 104 (or another computing system) may push the software update to the OTA updater device 108, or may otherwise cause the OTA updater device 108 to initiate a download of the software update; in paragraph [0059], David teaches that the OTA updater device 108 may use any suitable technique for applying the update to the updatable component 110, where for example, the OTA updater device 108 may transmit the software update or a portion thereof to the updatable component 110 via the vehicle communication bus, and the updatable component 110 may use it to update software stored on a computer-readable medium of the updatable component 110).
David is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention in that they both pertain to updating software of a vehicle via an update received from a cloud via a communication device. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of David with the method as disclosed by the combination of Kawai, Oesterling, Liu, and Paiva Ferreira, where doing so advantageously allows the most updated version of software or firmware to be implemented by the components, increasing the adaptability of the system and corresponding accuracy of operation by the components, for example.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hassani (US 2021/0075594 A1) teaches vehicle digital key cloud storage, including where the server 178 may be configured to send a message to the mobile device 128 instructing it to launch the application 160 responsive to detecting the vehicle 102 and/or the mobile device 128 has entered a predefined geofence.
/HARRISON HEFLIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/HUNTER B LONSBERRY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665