DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 2, 7-8, 10-13, 15-16 & 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 26, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 & 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ries et al. (US 2007/0111587).
1.
An implantable medical device, the device comprising:
E.G. element 20 {[0019] & (Fig 1)}.
an energy storage component having a metal case and one output pin; a circuit board including a supply connection and a ground connection;
E.G. via the disclosed housing 22 being a hermetically sealed enclosure/can that houses a power supply and electronic circuitry and connectors 28 that enable said circuitry to communication with medical leads plugged into a connector assembly 26 {[0019] & (Fig 1)}.
Note: A housing of an implantable device, as disclosed by Ries, that houses power supplies and electronic circuitry are commonly enclosed within conductive housings (e.g., titanium or other biocompatible metals) to provide structural integrity, electromagnetic shielding and biocompatibility. Accordingly, the disclosed housing is reasonably interpreted as a conductive (metal) case as recited in the claim.
a first conductive wire connected to the supply connection of the circuit board and the output pin of the energy storage component; and a second conductive wire connected to the ground connection of the circuit board and the metal case of the energy storage component.
E.G via the disclosed interconnect ribbon 50 that is secured to the assembly via a core portion 30, wherein said ribbon 50 further comprises multiple traces/fingers 52-62 are adapted to be placed externally on the surface of the core portion in order to mechanically and electrically couple with said connector assembly 26 via said core portion 30 {[0020], [0023]-[0024] & (Fig 3)}.
Note: Based on the broadest reasonable interpretation a “conductive wire” includes any elongated conductive element configured to transmit electrical signals, including conductive traces, ribbons or flexible interconnects. A ‘connection’ is reasonably interpreted as establishing an electrical conduction path, either directly or indirectly, including through intermediate conductive structures, i.e. connectors, terminals, or coupling interfaces.
5.
The device of claim 1, wherein the metal case of the energy storage component includes a curved surface, and the second conductive wire is a metal ribbon connected to the ground connection of the circuit board and laser-bonded to the curved surface of the metal case.
E.G. via the curvature of the housing/can 22 and the interconnect ribbon 50 (Figs. 1 & 5-6).
6.
The device of claim 1, wherein the metal case of the energy storage component includes a first side, a second side, and an indent on the first side, the indent includes a flat indented surface at a height between the first side and the second side of the energy storage component;
E.G. see Fig 1
and wherein the second conductive wire is a metal ribbon connected to the ground connection of the circuit board and laser-bonded to the flat indented surface of the metal case.
([0027]-[0028] & (Figs 5-6)}.
Claim(s) 9 & 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Litzke et al. (US 2011/0137414).
9.
A method of making a portion of an implantable medical device, the method comprising:
connecting a first end of a first conductive wire to a supply connection of a circuit board of the implantable medical device and laser bonding a second end of the first conductive wire to an only pin of the energy storage component;
E.G. via the disclosed manufacturing process utilizing a feedthrough for conducting electrical signals through a hollow housing via at least one feedthrough pin, a connection housing securely joined to said hollowing housing and a substrate having at least one electrically conductive structure secured electrically to one or more contacts, i.e. metal ribbons, ([0022]-[0025]), wherein the electrical contacts are electrically connected to the components by use of a joining process including a laser beam, welding, soldering, etc. [0040].
and connecting a first end of a second conductive wire to a ground connection of the circuit board and laser bonding a second end of the second conductive wire to a metal case of the energy storage component.
E.G. via the disclosed substrate, i.e. PCB, and the strip conductor mounted on said substrate, wherein said contacts are electrically connected to a feedthrough for the hollow housing by means of a bonding wire [0044].
14.
The method of claim 9, including: forming the metal case of the energy storage component to have a flat indented surface between a first side of the energy storage component and a second side of the energy storage component, wherein the flat indented surface is parallel to the first side of the energy storage component;
and wherein the laser bonding the second end of the second conductive wire includes laser bonding the second end of the second conductive wire to the flat indented surface of the metal case of the energy storage component.
E.G. ([0040] & [0044])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ries et al. (US 2007/0111587) in view of Litzke et al. (US 2011/0137414).
Ries et al. discloses the claimed invention having an implantable medical device, i.e. a cardioverter/defibrillator, designed to have a hermetically sealed housing/can 22 that houses a power supply, i.e. energy storage component, and electronic circuitry electrically coupled via an interconnect ribbon 50 except wherein said energy storage component is a capacitor to store electrical energy used for defibrillation therapy.
Litzke et al. teaches that it is known to use a medical implant, such as an implantable defibrillator, comprising a connection, hollow housing and electrical contacts in the form of metal ribbons, wherein said hollow housing is used to accommodate an electrical circuit, capacitors, batteries, etc. ([0007], [0015] & [0038]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the implantable medical device having a housing/can to house a power supply and electronic circuitry as disclosed by Ries et al. with the use of a hallow housing to accommodate a capacitor as taught by Litzke et al. since such a modification would provide the predictable results pertaining to housing electrical components used to effectively provide signals, i.e. defibrillation energy, to the human body [Litzke, 0007].
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ries et al. (US 2007/0111587) in view of Litzke et al. (US 2011/0137414).
Ries et al. discloses the claimed invention having an interconnect ribbon 50 being attached to the housing/can in respect to a tie-bar portion 64, wherein said ribbon is assembled to a single unit via being stamped from conductive, planar sheets assembled into a single sheet ([0027]-[0028] & (Figs 5-6)}, except wherein said interconnect ribbon is laser-bonded to the flat surface of the housing/can.
Litzke et al. teaches an implantable medical device having a connection housing 2 and a hollow housing 3 made of metal and suitable for electrical circuitry, capacitors, batteries, etc., electrically coupled to one or more electrical contacts, i.e. metal ribbons, and a connection housing securely joined to said hollowing housing and a substrate having at least one electrically conductive structure secured electrically to one or more contacts ([0022]-[0025]), wherein the electrical contacts are electrically connected to the components by use of a joining process including a laser beam, welding, soldering, etc. [0040].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the interconnect ribbon 50 that is formed into a single unit as disclosed by Ries et al. with the utilization of a joining process of electrical contacts associated with an implantable medical device as taught by Litzke et al. since such a modification would provide the predictable results pertaining to effectively electrically and mechanically coupling conductive-ribbon, electrical contacts to an implantable medical device via a laser-joining process (Litzke, [0007] & [0040]).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ries et al. (US 2007/0111587) in view of Litzke et al. (US 2011/0137414).
17.
An implantable medical device comprising: a battery having a metal battery case and including one battery pin; a circuit board including a supply connection and at least one ground connection;
E.G. via the disclosed IMD 20 comprising a housing 22 being a hermetically sealed enclosure/can that houses a power supply and electronic circuitry and connectors 28 that enable said circuitry to communication with medical leads plugged into a connector assembly 26 {[0019] & (Fig 1)}.
a first metal ribbon connected to the at least one ground connection of the circuit board and laser-bonded to the metal battery case; a second metal ribbon a third conductive wire connected to the supply connection of the circuit board and laser-bonded to the battery pin; and a third metal ribbon connected to the at least one ground connection of the circuit board and to the metal capacitor case.
E.G via the disclosed interconnect ribbon 50 that is secured to the assembly via a core portion 30, wherein said ribbon 50 further comprises multiple traces/fingers 52-62 are adapted to be placed externally on the surface of the core portion in order to mechanically and electrically couple with said connector assembly 26 via said core portion 30, wherein said interconnect ribbon 50 is attached to the housing/can in respect to a tie-bar portion 64, said ribbon is assembled to a single unit via being stamped from conductive, planar sheets assembled into a single sheet ([0020], [0023]-[0024], [0027]-[0028] & (Figs. 3 & 5-6)}.
Ries et al. discloses the claimed invention having an implantable medical device, i.e. a cardioverter/defibrillator, designed to have a hermetically sealed housing/can 22 that houses a power supply, i.e. energy storage component, and electronic circuitry electrically coupled via an interconnect ribbon 50, wherein said interconnect ribbon 50 is attached to the housing/can in respect to a tie-bar portion 64, assembled to a single unit via being stamped from conductive, planar sheets assembled into a single sheet ([0027]-[0028] & (Figs 5-6)}, except wherein said energy storage component is a capacitor to store electrical energy used for defibrillation therapy and except wherein said interconnect ribbon is laser-bonded to the flat surface of the housing/can.
Litzke et al. teaches an implantable medical device having a connection housing 2 and a hollow housing 3 made of metal and is further suitable for electrical circuitry, capacitors, batteries, etc., which are electrically coupled to one or more electrical contacts, i.e. metal ribbons, a connection housing securely joined to said hollowing housing, and a substrate having at least one electrically conductive structure secured electrically to one or more contacts ([0022]-[0025]), wherein the electrical contacts are electrically connected to the components by use of a joining process including a laser beam, welding, soldering, etc. [0040].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the IMD having a housing/can and an interconnect ribbon 50 that is formed into a single unit as disclosed by Ries et al. with the utilization of a joining process of electrical contacts associated with an implantable medical device that houses electrical elements such as capacitors, as taught by Litzke et al., since such a modification would provide the predictable results pertaining to effectively electrically and mechanically coupling conductive-ribbon, electrical contacts to an implantable medical device via a laser-joining process (Litzke, [0007] & [0040]) and for providing the predictable results pertaining to housing electrical components used to effectively provide signals, i.e. defibrillation energy, to the human body [Litzke, 0007].
Conclusion
/NICOLE F JOHNSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796