DETAILED ACTION
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s remarks submitted on 04/30/2026 for response of the office action mailed on 01/30/2026. Independent claims 1, 12, 17 and 26 are amended. Dependent claims 2-3, 7-11, 13-16, 18-24 and 27-30 are also amended. No claims are cancelled. Therefore, claims 1-30 are pending and addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1-2, 10, 12, 15-16, 17-18 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (2025/0039978), Zhou978, in view of Zhou et al. (2024/0334538), Zhou538 hereinafter.
Re. claim 1, Zhou978 teaches an apparatus (Fig. 15, 1502) configured for wireless communications (Fig. 15/Fig. 35-36), comprising: one or more memories (Fig. 15, 1524); and one or more processors (Fig. 15, 1528) coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors being configured to cause the apparatus to: wirelessly receive an indication associated with the plurality of TRPs indicating to change an activation state for at least one TRP of cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) or cell discontinuous reception (DRX) for at least one of the plurality of TRPs but for less than all TRPs of the plurality of TRPs; (Fig. 35-36 & ¶0343 - the wireless device may receive, at a second time (e.g., T1), a first message comprising parameters indicating an enabling (or triggering, activating, initiating, etc.) of the cell DTX configuration. Fig. 35 & ¶0344 - the first message may comprise at least one of:..…. a DCI… the DCI may be a group common DCI transmitted to a plurality of wireless devices in the cell. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0347 - if UE DRX configuration is configured, the wireless device may perform the UE DRX operation comprising discontinuously monitoring PDCCH (for one or more RNTIs associated with UE DRX configuration as shown above with respect to FIG. 29) in the UE DRX Active Time (indicated by the first parameters) within the first time duration (indicated by the second parameters) of the cell DTX Active Time according to example embodiments of FIG. 29. The wireless device may skip PDCCH monitoring for the one or more RNTIs associated with the UE DRX operation in the UE DRX inactive time, which may be within the first time duration of the cell DTX Active Time or the second time duration of the cell DTX inactive time….Fig. 35-36 & ¶0357 - the DCI for the activation/deactivation of the cell DTX configuration may be a new DCI (e.g., DCI format 2_8, DCI format 2_9, or DCI format 2_x, which is different from existing DCI format 26 for UE's wake-up or existing DCI format 27 for paging early indication). The DCI may be a group common DCI addressed to all wireless devices in the cell. Fig. 10B/Fig. 21A-B/Fig.22 & ¶0153/¶0343 – discloses a plurality of cells/TRP (PCell/SCel/PScell) that a wireless device may be connected to….); and based at least in part on the indication, change the activation state for at least one of the cell DTX or the cell DRX for the at least one of TRP (Fig. 35-36 & ¶0347 - if UE DRX configuration is configured, the wireless device may perform the UE DRX operation comprising discontinuously monitoring PDCCH (for one or more RNTIs associated with UE DRX configuration as shown above with respect to FIG. 29) in the UE DRX Active Time (indicated by the first parameters) within the first time duration (indicated by the second parameters) of the cell DTX Active Time according to example embodiments of FIG. 29. The wireless device may skip PDCCH monitoring for the one or more RNTIs associated with the UE DRX operation in the UE DRX inactive time, which may be within the first time duration of the cell DTX Active Time or the second time duration of the cell DTX inactive time. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0349 - the base station may determine to disable (or release, deactivate, clear, etc.) the cell DTX configuration…... To improve the transmission latency, the base station may transmit, e.g., at T2, a second message indicating a disabling (or releasing, deactivating, clearing, etc.) of the cell DTX configuration. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0350 - the second message may comprise at least one of:….a DCI, …. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0357 - the DCI for the activation/deactivation of the cell DTX configuration may be a new DCI (e.g., DCI format 2_8, DCI format 2_9, or DCI format 2_x, which is different from existing DCI format 26 for UE's wake-up or existing DCI format 27 for paging early indication). The DCI may be a group common DCI addressed to all wireless devices in the cell. . Fig. 10B/Fig. 21A-B/Fig.22 & ¶0153/¶0343 – discloses a plurality of cells/TRP (PCell/SCel/PScell) that a wireless device may be connected to…).
Yet, Zhou978 does not expressly teach maintain a connection with a plurality of transmission reception points (TRPs) of at least one serving cell of the apparatus;
However, in the analogous art, Zhou538 explicitly discloses maintain a connection with a plurality of transmission reception points (TRPs) of at least one serving cell of the apparatus (Fig. 33A-B & ¶0296 - FIG. 33A and FIG. 33B show examples of multiple transmission and reception point (TRP) configurations. FIG. 33A shows an example of a communication between a base station (equipped with multiple TRPs) and a wireless device (equipped with single panel or multiple panels) based on intra-cell TRPs. Transmission and reception with multiple TRPs may improve system throughput and/or transmission robustness for a wireless communication in a high frequency (e.g., above 6 GHZ). The multiple TRPs may be associated with a same physical cell identifier (PCI). Multiple TRPs on which PDCCH/PDSCH/PUCCH/PUSCH resources of a cell are shared may be referred to as intra-cell TRPs (or intra-PCI TRPs). Fig. 33A-B & ¶0297 - A TRP of multiple TRPs of the base station may be indicated/identified by at least one of: a TRP identifier (ID), a virtual cell index, or a reference signal index (or group index). In an example, in a cell, a TRP may be identified by a control resource set (coreset) group (or pool) index (e.g., CORESETPoolIndex as shown in FIG. 26) of a coreset group from which DCI is transmitted from the base station on a coreset. Fig. 33A-B & ¶0299 - The wireless device may determine the reception of full/partially overlapped PDSCHs in time domain only when PDCCHs that schedule two PDSCHs are associated to different ControlResourceSets having different values of CORESETPoolIndex.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhou978’s invention of a system and a method for PDCCH (physical downlink control channel) skipping and cell discontinuous transmission (Cell DTX) in a 5th generation (5G) new radio (NR) system to include Zhou538’s invention of a system and a method for Network Energy Saving For Wireless Communications Management in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in enabling or activating for power saving operation in the wireless communication system. (¶0004, Zhou538)
Re. Claim 2, Zhou978 and Zhou538 teach claim 1.
Yet, Zhou978 does not expressly teach wherein to wirelessly receive the indication, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to wirelessly receive the indication from a first TRP of the plurality of TRPs without receiving the indication from the other TRPs of the plurality of TRPs based at least in part on a configuration.
However, in the analogous art, Zhou538 explicitly discloses wherein to wirelessly receive the indication, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to wirelessly receive the indication from a first TRP of the plurality of TRPs without receiving the indication from the other TRPs of the plurality of TRPs based at least in part on a configuration. (Fig. 33A-B & ¶0297 - A TRP of multiple TRPs of the base station may be indicated/identified by at least one of: a TRP identifier (ID), a virtual cell index, or a reference signal index (or group index). In an example, in a cell, a TRP may be identified by a control resource set (coreset) group (or pool) index (e.g., CORESETPoolIndex as shown in FIG. 26) of a coreset group from which DCI is transmitted from the base station on a coreset. Fig. 33A-B & ¶0299 - The wireless device may determine the reception of full/partially overlapped PDSCHs in time domain only when PDCCHs that schedule two PDSCHs are associated to different ControlResourceSets having different values of CORESETPoolIndex. Fig. 33A-B & ¶0298 - The wireless device may determine receiving beams (or spatial domain filters) for PDCCHs/PDSCHs based on a TCI indication (e.g., DCI) and a CORESET pool index associated with a CORESET for the DCI.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhou978’s invention of a system and a method for PDCCH (physical downlink control channel) skipping and cell discontinuous transmission (Cell DTX) in a 5th generation (5G) new radio (NR) system to include Zhou538’s invention of a system and a method for Network Energy Saving For Wireless Communications Management in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in enabling or activating for power saving operation in the wireless communication system. (¶0004, Zhou538)
Re. Claim 10, Zhou978 and Zhou538 teach claim 1.
Zhou978 further teaches wherein to wirelessly receive the indication the one or more processors (Fig. 15, 1528) are configured to cause the apparatus to wirelessly receive the indication via downlink control information (DCI). (Fig. 35-36 & ¶0343 - the wireless device may receive, at a second time (e.g., T1), a first message comprising parameters indicating an enabling (or triggering, activating, initiating, etc.) of the cell DTX configuration. Fig. 35 & ¶0344 - the first message may comprise at least one of:..…. a DCI… the DCI may be a group common DCI transmitted to a plurality of wireless devices in the cell. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0347 - if UE DRX configuration is configured, the wireless device may perform the UE DRX operation comprising discontinuously monitoring PDCCH (for one or more RNTIs associated with UE DRX configuration as shown above with respect to FIG. 29) in the UE DRX Active Time (indicated by the first parameters) within the first time duration (indicated by the second parameters) of the cell DTX Active Time according to example embodiments of FIG. 29. The wireless device may skip PDCCH monitoring for the one or more RNTIs associated with the UE DRX operation in the UE DRX inactive time, which may be within the first time duration of the cell DTX Active Time or the second time duration of the cell DTX inactive time….Fig. 35-36 & ¶0357 - the DCI for the activation/deactivation of the cell DTX configuration may be a new DCI (e.g., DCI format 2_8, DCI format 2_9, or DCI format 2_x, which is different from existing DCI format 26 for UE's wake-up or existing DCI format 27 for paging early indication). The DCI may be a group common DCI addressed to all wireless devices in the cell. Fig. 10B/Fig. 21A-B/Fig.22 & ¶0153/¶0343 – discloses a plurality of cells/TRP (PCell/SCel/PScell) that a wireless device may be connected to….).
Re. claim 12, Zhou978 teaches an apparatus (Fig. 15, 1502) configured for wireless communications (Fig. 15/Fig. 35-36), comprising: one or more memories (Fig. 15, 1524); and one or more processors (Fig. 15, 1528) coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors being configured to cause the apparatus to: wirelessly receive a respective TRP-specific indication for each TRP of the plurality of TRPs, wherein at least one respective TRP-specific indication indicates to change an activation state for at least one of cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) or cell discontinuous reception (DRX) for the corresponding TRP associated with the at least one respective TRP-specific indication; (Fig. 35-36 & ¶0339 - FIG. 35 shows an example embodiment of cell DTX (which is similarly applied for cell DRX) for network energy saving. In an example, at a first time (e.g., TO), a wireless device (UE) may receive, and/or a base station (gNB) may transmit, one or more RRC messages comprising configuration parameters of a cell. A cell may be implemented based on example embodiments described above with respect to FIG. 10A and FIG. 10B. The cell may be a PCell/PSCell. … the cell may be a SCell. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0343 - the wireless device may receive, at a second time (e.g., T1), a first message comprising parameters indicating an enabling (or triggering, activating, initiating, etc.) of the cell DTX configuration. Fig. 35 & ¶0344 - the first message may comprise at least one of:..…. a DCI… the DCI may be a group common DCI transmitted to a plurality of wireless devices in the cell. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0347 - if UE DRX configuration is configured, the wireless device may perform the UE DRX operation comprising discontinuously monitoring PDCCH (for one or more RNTIs associated with UE DRX configuration as shown above with respect to FIG. 29) in the UE DRX Active Time (indicated by the first parameters) within the first time duration (indicated by the second parameters) of the cell DTX Active Time according to example embodiments of FIG. 29. The wireless device may skip PDCCH monitoring for the one or more RNTIs associated with the UE DRX operation in the UE DRX inactive time, which may be within the first time duration of the cell DTX Active Time or the second time duration of the cell DTX inactive time…. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0354 - the configuration parameters of a PDCCH for a DCI indicating an activation/deactivation of a cell DTX configuration may be per BWP configured for a cell where each BWP of BWPs configured on the cell is associated with BWP specific configuration parameters of the DCI activating/deactivating cell DTX configuration. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0357 - the DCI for the activation/deactivation of the cell DTX configuration may be a new DCI (e.g., DCI format 2_8, DCI format 2_9, or DCI format 2_x, which is different from existing DCI format 26 for UE's wake-up or existing DCI format 27 for paging early indication). The DCI may be a group common DCI addressed to all wireless devices in the cell. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0403 - the one or more RRC messages may comprise configuration parameters (second parameters) of a cell DTX configuration, e.g., based on example embodiments of FIG. 35. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0404 - the one or more RRC messages may comprise configuration parameters (third parameters) of PDCCH occasions for a DCI indicating an activation/deactivation of the cell DTX configuration. Fig. 10B/Fig. 21A-B/Fig.22 & ¶0153/¶0343 – discloses a plurality of cells/TRP (PCell/SCel/PScell) that a wireless device may be connected to….); and based at least in part on the at least one respective TRP-specific indication, change the activation state for at least one of the cell DTX or the cell DRX for the TRP associated with the at least one respective TRP- specific indication. (Fig. 35-36 & ¶0339 - FIG. 35 shows an example embodiment of cell DTX (which is similarly applied for cell DRX) for network energy saving. In an example, at a first time (e.g., TO), a wireless device (UE) may receive, and/or a base station (gNB) may transmit, one or more RRC messages comprising configuration parameters of a cell. A cell may be implemented based on example embodiments described above with respect to FIG. 10A and FIG. 10B. The cell may be a PCell/PSCell. … the cell may be a SCell. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0347 - if UE DRX configuration is configured, the wireless device may perform the UE DRX operation comprising discontinuously monitoring PDCCH (for one or more RNTIs associated with UE DRX configuration as shown above with respect to FIG. 29) in the UE DRX Active Time (indicated by the first parameters) within the first time duration (indicated by the second parameters) of the cell DTX Active Time according to example embodiments of FIG. 29. The wireless device may skip PDCCH monitoring for the one or more RNTIs associated with the UE DRX operation in the UE DRX inactive time, which may be within the first time duration of the cell DTX Active Time or the second time duration of the cell DTX inactive time. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0349 - the base station may determine to disable (or release, deactivate, clear, etc.) the cell DTX configuration…... To improve the transmission latency, the base station may transmit, e.g., at T2, a second message indicating a disabling (or releasing, deactivating, clearing, etc.) of the cell DTX configuration. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0350 - the second message may comprise at least one of:….a DCI, …. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0357 - the DCI for the activation/deactivation of the cell DTX configuration may be a new DCI (e.g., DCI format 2_8, DCI format 2_9, or DCI format 2_x, which is different from existing DCI format 26 for UE's wake-up or existing DCI format 27 for paging early indication). The DCI may be a group common DCI addressed to all wireless devices in the cell. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0403 - the one or more RRC messages may comprise configuration parameters (second parameters) of a cell DTX configuration, e.g., based on example embodiments of FIG. 35. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0404 - the one or more RRC messages may comprise configuration parameters (third parameters) of PDCCH occasions for a DCI indicating an activation/deactivation of the cell DTX configuration. Fig. 10B/Fig. 21A-B/Fig.22 & ¶0153/¶0343 – discloses a plurality of cells/TRP (PCell/SCel/PScell) that a wireless device may be connected to).
Yet, Zhou978 does not expressly teach maintain a connection with a plurality of transmission reception points (TRPs) of at least one serving cell of the apparatus;
However, in the analogous art, Zhou538 explicitly discloses maintain a connection with a plurality of transmission reception points (TRPs) of at least one serving cell of the apparatus (Fig. 33A-B & ¶0296 - FIG. 33A and FIG. 33B show examples of multiple transmission and reception point (TRP) configurations. FIG. 33A shows an example of a communication between a base station (equipped with multiple TRPs) and a wireless device (equipped with single panel or multiple panels) based on intra-cell TRPs. Transmission and reception with multiple TRPs may improve system throughput and/or transmission robustness for a wireless communication in a high frequency (e.g., above 6 GHZ). The multiple TRPs may be associated with a same physical cell identifier (PCI). Multiple TRPs on which PDCCH/PDSCH/PUCCH/PUSCH resources of a cell are shared may be referred to as intra-cell TRPs (or intra-PCI TRPs). Fig. 33A-B & ¶0297 - A TRP of multiple TRPs of the base station may be indicated/identified by at least one of: a TRP identifier (ID), a virtual cell index, or a reference signal index (or group index). In an example, in a cell, a TRP may be identified by a control resource set (coreset) group (or pool) index (e.g., CORESETPoolIndex as shown in FIG. 26) of a coreset group from which DCI is transmitted from the base station on a coreset. Fig. 33A-B & ¶0299 - The wireless device may determine the reception of full/partially overlapped PDSCHs in time domain only when PDCCHs that schedule two PDSCHs are associated to different ControlResourceSets having different values of CORESETPoolIndex);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhou978’s invention of a system and a method for PDCCH (physical downlink control channel) skipping and cell discontinuous transmission (Cell DTX) in a 5th generation (5G) new radio (NR) system to include Zhou538’s invention of a system and a method for Network Energy Saving For Wireless Communications Management in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in enabling or activating for power saving operation in the wireless communication system. (¶0004, Zhou538)
Re. Claim 15, Zhou978 and Zhou538 teach claim 12.
Zhou978 further teaches wherein to wirelessly receive the respective TRP-specific indication for each TRP, the one or more processors (Fig. 15, 1528) are configured to cause the apparatus to wirelessly receive, for each TRP, the respective TRP-specific indication for each TRP via downlink control information (DCI). (Fig. 35-36 & ¶0339 - FIG. 35 shows an example embodiment of cell DTX (which is similarly applied for cell DRX) for network energy saving. In an example, at a first time (e.g., TO), a wireless device (UE) may receive, and/or a base station (gNB) may transmit, one or more RRC messages comprising configuration parameters of a cell. A cell may be implemented based on example embodiments described above with respect to FIG. 10A and FIG. 10B. The cell may be a PCell/PSCell. … the cell may be a SCell. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0343 - the wireless device may receive, at a second time (e.g., T1), a first message comprising parameters indicating an enabling (or triggering, activating, initiating, etc.) of the cell DTX configuration. Fig. 35 & ¶0344 - the first message may comprise at least one of:..…. a DCI… the DCI may be a group common DCI transmitted to a plurality of wireless devices in the cell. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0347 - if UE DRX configuration is configured, the wireless device may perform the UE DRX operation comprising discontinuously monitoring PDCCH (for one or more RNTIs associated with UE DRX configuration as shown above with respect to FIG. 29) in the UE DRX Active Time (indicated by the first parameters) within the first time duration (indicated by the second parameters) of the cell DTX Active Time according to example embodiments of FIG. 29. The wireless device may skip PDCCH monitoring for the one or more RNTIs associated with the UE DRX operation in the UE DRX inactive time, which may be within the first time duration of the cell DTX Active Time or the second time duration of the cell DTX inactive time…. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0354 - the configuration parameters of a PDCCH for a DCI indicating an activation/deactivation of a cell DTX configuration may be per BWP configured for a cell where each BWP of BWPs configured on the cell is associated with BWP specific configuration parameters of the DCI activating/deactivating cell DTX configuration. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0357 - the DCI for the activation/deactivation of the cell DTX configuration may be a new DCI (e.g., DCI format 2_8, DCI format 2_9, or DCI format 2_x, which is different from existing DCI format 26 for UE's wake-up or existing DCI format 27 for paging early indication). The DCI may be a group common DCI addressed to all wireless devices in the cell. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0403 - the one or more RRC messages may comprise configuration parameters (second parameters) of a cell DTX configuration, e.g., based on example embodiments of FIG. 35. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0404 - the one or more RRC messages may comprise configuration parameters (third parameters) of PDCCH occasions for a DCI indicating an activation/deactivation of the cell DTX configuration. Fig. 10B/Fig. 21A-B/Fig.22 & ¶0153/¶0343 – discloses a plurality of cells/TRP (PCell/SCel/PScell) that a wireless device may be connected to….).
Re. Claim 16, Zhou978 and Zhou538 teach claim 12.
Zhou978 further teaches wherein to wirelessly receive the respective TRP-specific indication for each TRP, the one or more processors (Fig. 15, 1528) are configured to cause the apparatus to wirelessly receive, for each TRP, the respective TRP-specific indication for each TRP via radio resource control (RRC) signaling. (Fig. 35-36 & ¶0343 - the wireless device may receive, at a second time (e.g., T1), a first message comprising parameters indicating an enabling (or triggering, activating, initiating, etc.) of the cell DTX configuration. Fig. 35 & ¶0344 - the first message may comprise at least one of: a RRC message. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0346 - In the example of FIG. 35, in response to receiving the first message indicating an enabling (or triggering, activating, initiating, etc.) of the cell DTX configuration, the wireless device may perform the UE DRX operation .. according to both the first parameters of the UE DRX configuration and the second parameters of the cell DTX configuration. ….Fig. 10B/Fig. 21A-B/Fig.22 & ¶0153/¶0343 – discloses a plurality of cells/TRP (PCell/SCel/PScell) that a wireless device may be connected to….).
Re. claim 17, Zhou978 teaches an apparatus (Fig. 15, 1504) configured for wireless communications (Fig. 15/Fig. 35-36), comprising: one or more memories (Fig. 15, 1514); and one or more processors (Fig. 15, 1508) coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors being configured to cause the apparatus to: wirelessly transmit, to the UE, an indication associated with a plurality of transmission reception points (TRPs), including the apparatus, that indicates to change an activation state for at least one of cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) or cell discontinuous reception (DRX) for at least one TRP of the plurality of TRPs but for less than all TRPs of the plurality of TRPs. (Fig. 35-36 & ¶0343 - the wireless device may receive, at a second time (e.g., T1), a first message comprising parameters indicating an enabling (or triggering, activating, initiating, etc.) of the cell DTX configuration. Fig. 35 & ¶0344 - the first message may comprise at least one of:..…. a DCI… the DCI may be a group common DCI transmitted to a plurality of wireless devices in the cell. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0347 - if UE DRX configuration is configured, the wireless device may perform the UE DRX operation comprising discontinuously monitoring PDCCH (for one or more RNTIs associated with UE DRX configuration as shown above with respect to FIG. 29) in the UE DRX Active Time (indicated by the first parameters) within the first time duration (indicated by the second parameters) of the cell DTX Active Time according to example embodiments of FIG. 29. The wireless device may skip PDCCH monitoring for the one or more RNTIs associated with the UE DRX operation in the UE DRX inactive time, which may be within the first time duration of the cell DTX Active Time or the second time duration of the cell DTX inactive time….Fig. 35-36 & ¶0357 - the DCI for the activation/deactivation of the cell DTX configuration may be a new DCI (e.g., DCI format 2_8, DCI format 2_9, or DCI format 2_x, which is different from existing DCI format 26 for UE's wake-up or existing DCI format 27 for paging early indication). The DCI may be a group common DCI addressed to all wireless devices in the cell. Fig. 10B/Fig. 21A-B/Fig.22 & ¶0153/¶0343 – discloses a plurality of cells/TRP (PCell/SCel/PScell) that a wireless device may be connected to. 21A-B/Fig.22 & ¶0153/¶0343 – discloses a plurality of cells/TRP (PCell/SCel/PScell) that a wireless device may be connected to….).
Yet, Zhou978 does not expressly teach establish a connection with a user equipment (UE);
However, in the analogous art, Zhou538 explicitly discloses establish a connection with a user equipment (UE); (Fig. 33A-B, Fig.34-51 & ¶0296 - FIG. 33A and FIG. 33B show examples of multiple transmission and reception point (TRP) configurations. FIG. 33A shows an example of a communication between a base station (equipped with multiple TRPs) and a wireless device (equipped with single panel or multiple panels) based on intra-cell TRPs. Fig. 33A-B, Fig.34-51 & ¶0297 - A TRP of multiple TRPs of the base station may be indicated/identified by at least one of: a TRP identifier (ID), a virtual cell index, or a reference signal index (or group index). In an example, in a cell, a TRP may be identified by a control resource set (coreset) group (or pool) index (e.g., CORESETPoolIndex as shown in FIG. 26) of a coreset group from which DCI is transmitted from the base station on a coreset. Fig. 33A-B, Fig.34-51 & ¶0298 - A base station may transmit to a wireless device one or more RRC messages comprising configuration parameters of a plurality of CORESETs on a cell (or a BWP of the cell). One of the plurality of CORESETs (e.g., each of the plurality of CORESETs) may be identified with a CORESET index and may be associated with (or configured with) a CORESET pool (or group) index. …. The wireless device may determine receiving beams (or spatial domain filters) for PDCCHs/PDSCHs based on a TCI indication (e.g., DCI) and a CORESET pool index associated with a CORESET for the DCI. Fig. 33A-B, Fig.34-51 & ¶0299 - The wireless device may determine the reception of full/partially overlapped PDSCHs in time domain only when PDCCHs that schedule two PDSCHs are associated to different ControlResourceSets having different values of CORESETPoolIndex.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhou978’s invention of a system and a method for PDCCH (physical downlink control channel) skipping and cell discontinuous transmission (Cell DTX) in a 5th generation (5G) new radio (NR) system to include Zhou538’s invention of a system and a method for Network Energy Saving For Wireless Communications Management in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in enabling or activating for power saving operation in the wireless communication system. (¶0004, Zhou538)
Re. Claim 18, Zhou978 and Zhou538 teach claim 17.
Zhou978 further teaches wherein: at least one TRP comprises the apparatus, and the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to change the activation state for at least one of the cell DTX or the cell DRX for the apparatus based at least in part on the indication. (Fig. 35-36 & ¶0347 - if UE DRX configuration is configured, the wireless device may perform the UE DRX operation comprising discontinuously monitoring PDCCH (for one or more RNTIs associated with UE DRX configuration as shown above with respect to FIG. 29) in the UE DRX Active Time (indicated by the first parameters) within the first time duration (indicated by the second parameters) of the cell DTX Active Time according to example embodiments of FIG. 29. The wireless device may skip PDCCH monitoring for the one or more RNTIs associated with the UE DRX operation in the UE DRX inactive time, which may be within the first time duration of the cell DTX Active Time or the second time duration of the cell DTX inactive time. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0349 - the base station may determine to disable (or release, deactivate, clear, etc.) the cell DTX configuration…... To improve the transmission latency, the base station may transmit, e.g., at T2, a second message indicating a disabling (or releasing, deactivating, clearing, etc.) of the cell DTX configuration. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0350 - the second message may comprise at least one of:….a DCI, …. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0357 - the DCI for the activation/deactivation of the cell DTX configuration may be a new DCI (e.g., DCI format 2_8, DCI format 2_9, or DCI format 2_x, which is different from existing DCI format 26 for UE's wake-up or existing DCI format 27 for paging early indication). The DCI may be a group common DCI addressed to all wireless devices in the cell. . Fig. 10B/Fig. 21A-B/Fig.22 & ¶0153/¶0343 – discloses a plurality of cells/TRP (PCell/SCel/PScell) that a wireless device may be connected to).
Re. Claim 25, Zhou978 and Zhou538 teach claim 17.
Zhou978 further teaches wherein to wirelessly transmit the indication, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to send wirelessly transmit the indication via downlink control information (DCI). (Fig. 35-36 & ¶0343 - the wireless device may receive, at a second time (e.g., T1), a first message comprising parameters indicating an enabling (or triggering, activating, initiating, etc.) of the cell DTX configuration. Fig. 35 & ¶0344 - the first message may comprise at least one of:..…. a DCI… the DCI may be a group common DCI transmitted to a plurality of wireless devices in the cell. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0347 - if UE DRX configuration is configured, the wireless device may perform the UE DRX operation comprising discontinuously monitoring PDCCH (for one or more RNTIs associated with UE DRX configuration as shown above with respect to FIG. 29) in the UE DRX Active Time (indicated by the first parameters) within the first time duration (indicated by the second parameters) of the cell DTX Active Time according to example embodiments of FIG. 29. The wireless device may skip PDCCH monitoring for the one or more RNTIs associated with the UE DRX operation in the UE DRX inactive time, which may be within the first time duration of the cell DTX Active Time or the second time duration of the cell DTX inactive time….Fig. 35-36 & ¶0357 - the DCI for the activation/deactivation of the cell DTX configuration may be a new DCI (e.g., DCI format 2_8, DCI format 2_9, or DCI format 2_x, which is different from existing DCI format 26 for UE's wake-up or existing DCI format 27 for paging early indication). The DCI may be a group common DCI addressed to all wireless devices in the cell. Fig. 10B/Fig. 21A-B/Fig.22 & ¶0153/¶0343 – discloses a plurality of cells/TRP (PCell/SCel/PScell) that a wireless device may be connected to….).
Claims 3-4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou978, in view of Zhou538, further in view of Zhou et al. (2024/0187200), Zhou7200 hereinafter.
Re. Claim 3, Zhou978 and Zhou538 teach claim 2.
Yet, Zhou978 does not expressly teach wherein: to maintain the connection with the plurality of TRPs, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to receive signaling indicating a plurality of control resource set (CORESET) groups that the apparatus is configured to monitor for downlink control information (DCI), each CORESET group corresponding to one of the plurality of TRPs, and the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to monitor only a first CORESET group of the plurality of CORESET groups for the indication, the first CORESET group corresponding to the first TRP of the plurality of TRPs.
However, in the analogous art, Zhou538 explicitly discloses wherein: to maintain the connection with the plurality of TRPs, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to receive signaling indicating a plurality of control resource set (CORESET) groups that the apparatus is configured to monitor for downlink control information (DCI), each CORESET group corresponding to one of the plurality of TRPs (Fig. 33A-B & ¶0297 - A TRP of multiple TRPs of the base station may be indicated/identified by at least one of: a TRP identifier (ID), a virtual cell index, or a reference signal index (or group index). In an example, in a cell, a TRP may be identified by a control resource set (coreset) group (or pool) index (e.g., CORESETPoolIndex as shown in FIG. 26) of a coreset group from which DCI is transmitted from the base station on a coreset. Fig. 33A-B & ¶0299 - The wireless device may determine the reception of full/partially overlapped PDSCHs in time domain only when PDCCHs that schedule two PDSCHs are associated to different ControlResourceSets having different values of CORESETPoolIndex. Fig. 33A-B & ¶0298 - The wireless device may determine receiving beams (or spatial domain filters) for PDCCHs/PDSCHs based on a TCI indication (e.g., DCI) and a CORESET pool index associated with a CORESET for the DCI.),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhou978’s invention of a system and a method for PDCCH (physical downlink control channel) skipping and cell discontinuous transmission (Cell DTX) in a 5th generation (5G) new radio (NR) system to include Zhou538’s invention of a system and a method for Network Energy Saving For Wireless Communications Management in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in enabling or activating for power saving operation in the wireless communication system. (¶0004, Zhou538)
Yet, Zhou978 and Zhou538 do not expressly teach the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to monitor only a first CORESET group of the plurality of CORESET groups for the indication, the first CORESET group corresponding to the first TRP of the plurality of TRPs.
However, in the analogous art, Zhou7200 explicitly discloses the one or more processors (Fig. 15, 1518) are configured to cause the apparatus to monitor only a first CORESET group of the plurality of CORESET groups for the indication, the first CORESET group corresponding to the first TRP of the plurality of TRPs (Fig. 32-33 & ¶0361 - the wireless device may apply a PDCCH monitoring adaptation indication per TRP (or CORESET pool), based on receiving the indication on a TRP of multiple TRPs of a cell. Applying the per-TRP indicated PDCCH monitoring adaptation may reduce power consumption of a wireless device when configured with multiple TRPs and/or reduce data transmission latency by skipping PDCCH monitoring on a first TRP and keeping PDCCH monitoring on a second TRP. Fig. 32-41 & ¶0415 - a wireless device may receive parameters indicating SSs and coresets. Each of the SSs may be associated with a respective one of the coresets. Each of the coresets may be respectively associated with a coreset group. The wireless device may monitor a first SS associated with a first coreset belonging to a first coreset group and monitor a second SS associated with a second coreset belonging to a second coreset group. The wireless device may receive, during the monitoring, a PDCCH monitoring adaptation indication. The wireless device, based on whether the PDCCH monitoring adaptation indication is received via the first SS or the second SS, may skip monitoring the first SS in the first coreset group or the second SS in the second coreset group.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhou978’s invention of a system and a method for PDCCH (physical downlink control channel) skipping and cell discontinuous transmission (Cell DTX) in a 5th generation (5G) new radio (NR) system and Zhou538’s invention of a system and a method for Network Energy Saving For Wireless Communications Management in a wireless communication system to include Zhou7200’s invention of a system and a method for Downlink Control Channel Monitoring Adaptation in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in reducing power consumption of a wireless device along with reducing data transmission latency when configured with multiple TRPs (Transmission and reception Points) in the wireless communication system. (¶0361, Zhou7200)
Re. Claim 4, Zhou978 and Zhou538 and Zhou7200 teach claim 3.
Yet, Zhou978 and Zhou538 do not expressly teach wherein to monitor only the first CORESET group of the plurality of CORESET groups for the indication, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to monitor a first search space associated with the first CORESET group and associated with a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH).
However, in the analogous art, Zhou7200 explicitly discloses wherein to monitor only the first CORESET group of the plurality of CORESET groups for the indication, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to monitor a first search space associated with the first CORESET group and associated with a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH). (Fig. 32-41 & ¶0415 - a wireless device may receive parameters indicating SSs and coresets. Each of the SSs may be associated with a respective one of the coresets. Each of the coresets may be respectively associated with a coreset group. The wireless device may monitor a first SS associated with a first coreset belonging to a first coreset group and monitor a second SS associated with a second coreset belonging to a second coreset group. The wireless device may receive, during the monitoring, a PDCCH monitoring adaptation indication. The wireless device, based on whether the PDCCH monitoring adaptation indication is received via the first SS or the second SS, may skip monitoring the first SS in the first coreset group or the second SS in the second coreset group. Fig. 32-41 & ¶0429 - a wireless device may monitor, on a cell, a first SS associated with a first coreset belonging to a first coreset group and a second SS associated with a second coreset belonging to a second coreset group. The wireless device may receive, during the monitoring, a PDCCH monitoring skipping indication. Based on whether the PDCCH monitoring skipping indication is received via the first SS or the second SS, the wireless device may skip monitoring the first SS and one or more third SSs in the first coreset group or the second SS and one or more fourth SSs in the second coreset group.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhou978’s invention of a system and a method for PDCCH (physical downlink control channel) skipping and cell discontinuous transmission (Cell DTX) in a 5th generation (5G) new radio (NR) system and Zhou538’s invention of a system and a method for Network Energy Saving For Wireless Communications Management in a wireless communication system to include Zhou7200’s invention of a system and a method for Downlink Control Channel Monitoring Adaptation in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in reducing power consumption of a wireless device along with reducing data transmission latency when configured with multiple TRPs (Transmission and reception Points) in the wireless communication system. (¶0361, Zhou7200)
Re. Claim 14, Zhou978 and Zhou538 teach claim 12.
Yet, Zhou978 does not expressly teach wherein: to maintain the connection with the plurality of TRPs, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to wirelessly receive signaling indicating that indicates a plurality of control resource set (CORESET) groups that the apparatus is configured to monitor for downlink control information (DCI),each respective CORESET group, of the plurality of CORESET groups, correspond to one of the plurality of TRPs, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to, for each TRP of the plurality of TRPs, monitor for the respective TRP-specific indication for each associated with the TRP of the plurality of TRPs in the respective CORESET group, of the plurality of CORESET groups, that correspond to the TRP.
However, in the analogous art, Zhou538 explicitly discloses to maintain the connection with the plurality of TRPs, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to wirelessly receive signaling indicating that indicates a plurality of control resource set (CORESET) groups that the apparatus is configured to monitor for downlink control information (DCI),each respective CORESET group, of the plurality of CORESET groups, correspond to one of the plurality of TRPs (Fig. 33A-B & ¶0297 - A TRP of multiple TRPs of the base station may be indicated/identified by at least one of: a TRP identifier (ID), a virtual cell index, or a reference signal index (or group index). In an example, in a cell, a TRP may be identified by a control resource set (coreset) group (or pool) index (e.g., CORESETPoolIndex as shown in FIG. 26) of a coreset group from which DCI is transmitted from the base station on a coreset. Fig. 33A-B & ¶0299 - The wireless device may determine the reception of full/partially overlapped PDSCHs in time domain only when PDCCHs that schedule two PDSCHs are associated to different ControlResourceSets having different values of CORESETPoolIndex. Fig. 33A-B & ¶0298 - The wireless device may determine receiving beams (or spatial domain filters) for PDCCHs/PDSCHs based on a TCI indication (e.g., DCI) and a CORESET pool index associated with a CORESET for the DCI.),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhou978’s invention of a system and a method for PDCCH (physical downlink control channel) skipping and cell discontinuous transmission (Cell DTX) in a 5th generation (5G) new radio (NR) system to include Zhou538’s invention of a system and a method for Network Energy Saving For Wireless Communications Management in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in enabling or activating for power saving operation in the wireless communication system. (¶0004, Zhou538)
Yet, Zhou978 and Zhou538 do not expressly teach the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to, for each TRP of the plurality of TRPs, monitor for the respective TRP-specific indication for each associated with the TRP of the plurality of TRPs in the respective CORESET group, of the plurality of CORESET groups, that correspond to the TRP.
However, in the analogous art, Zhou7200 explicitly discloses the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to, for each TRP of the plurality of TRPs, monitor for the respective TRP-specific indication for each associated with the TRP of the plurality of TRPs in the respective CORESET group, of the plurality of CORESET groups, that correspond to the TRP. (Fig. 32-41 & ¶0415 - a wireless device may receive parameters indicating SSs and coresets. Each of the SSs may be associated with a respective one of the coresets. Each of the coresets may be respectively associated with a coreset group. The wireless device may monitor a first SS associated with a first coreset belonging to a first coreset group and monitor a second SS associated with a second coreset belonging to a second coreset group. The wireless device may receive, during the monitoring, a PDCCH monitoring adaptation indication. The wireless device, based on whether the PDCCH monitoring adaptation indication is received via the first SS or the second SS, may skip monitoring the first SS in the first coreset group or the second SS in the second coreset group. Fig. 32-41 & ¶0429 - a wireless device may monitor, on a cell, a first SS associated with a first coreset belonging to a first coreset group and a second SS associated with a second coreset belonging to a second coreset group. The wireless device may receive, during the monitoring, a PDCCH monitoring skipping indication. Based on whether the PDCCH monitoring skipping indication is received via the first SS or the second SS, the wireless device may skip monitoring the first SS and one or more third SSs in the first coreset group or the second SS and one or more fourth SSs in the second coreset group.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhou978’s invention of a system and a method for PDCCH (physical downlink control channel) skipping and cell discontinuous transmission (Cell DTX) in a 5th generation (5G) new radio (NR) system and Zhou538’s invention of a system and a method for Network Energy Saving For Wireless Communications Management in a wireless communication system to include Zhou7200’s invention of a system and a method for Downlink Control Channel Monitoring Adaptation in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in reducing power consumption of a wireless device along with reducing data transmission latency when configured with multiple TRPs (Transmission and reception Points) in the wireless communication system. (¶0361, Zhou7200)
Claims 5-6, 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou978, in view of Zhou538, further in view of Jeon et al. (2025/0063629), Jeon hereinafter.
Re. Claim 5, Zhou978 and Zhou538 teach claim 2.
Zhou978 further teaches wherein: the indication indicates to change the activation state for at least one of the cell DTX or the cell DRX for the first TRP and at least one of the other TRPs, and to change the activation state for at least one of the cell DTX or the cell DRX for at least one of the plurality of TRPs (Fig. 35-36 & ¶0347 - if UE DRX configuration is configured, the wireless device may perform the UE DRX operation comprising discontinuously monitoring PDCCH (for one or more RNTIs associated with UE DRX configuration as shown above with respect to FIG. 29) in the UE DRX Active Time (indicated by the first parameters) within the first time duration (indicated by the second parameters) of the cell DTX Active Time according to example embodiments of FIG. 29. The wireless device may skip PDCCH monitoring for the one or more RNTIs associated with the UE DRX operation in the UE DRX inactive time, which may be within the first time duration of the cell DTX Active Time or the second time duration of the cell DTX inactive time. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0349 - the base station may determine to disable (or release, deactivate, clear, etc.) the cell DTX configuration…... To improve the transmission latency, the base station may transmit, e.g., at T2, a second message indicating a disabling (or releasing, deactivating, clearing, etc.) of the cell DTX configuration. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0350 - the second message may comprise at least one of:….a DCI, …. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0357 - the DCI for the activation/deactivation of the cell DTX configuration may be a new DCI (e.g., DCI format 2_8, DCI format 2_9, or DCI format 2_x, which is different from existing DCI format 26 for UE's wake-up or existing DCI format 27 for paging early indication). The DCI may be a group common DCI addressed to all wireless devices in the cell. . Fig. 10B/Fig. 21A-B/Fig.22 & ¶0153/¶0343 – discloses a plurality of cells/TRP (PCell/SCel/PScell) that a wireless device may be connected to),
Yet, Zhou978 and Zhou538 do not expressly teach the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to: change the activation state for at least one of the cell DTX or the cell DRX for the first TRP after a first activation time occurring after reception of the indication; and change the activation state for at least one of the cell DTX or the cell DRX for at least one of the other TRPs after a second activation time occurring after the first activation time.
However, in the analogous art, Jeon explicitly discloses the one or more processors (Fig. 3, 340) are configured to cause the apparatus to: change the activation state for at least one of the cell DTX or the cell DRX for the first TRP after a first activation time occurring after reception of the indication ; and change the activation state for at least one of the cell DTX or the cell DRX for at least one of the other TRPs after a second activation time occurring after the first activation time (Fig. 9A-Fig. 16 & ¶0165 - the Cell DTX or Cell DRX pattern may be relative to the timing of PDCCH reception providing DCI format 2_9 with …… an application delay, denoted by applicationDelay. The application delay can be a time required by a UE and by the cell to switch between operation states and, particularly, from an off-state to an on-state for Cell DTX or Cell DRX. The Cell DTX or Cell DRX may be specified to start with on-duration, off-duration, or the UE may be indicated by higher layer signaling whether the Cell DTX or Cell DRX starts with on-duration or off-duration. If the Cell DTX starts with an on-duration and if the UE is configured with a start offset O.sub.DTX, the first on-duration begins applicationDelay+O.sub.DTX after the reception of PDCCH providing DCI format 2_9 for D.sub.DTX time duration followed by off-duration for K.sub.DTX-D.sub.DTX time duration and, the pattern repeats until deactivated. If the Cell DTX starts with an off-duration and if the UE is configured with a start offset O.sub.DTX, the first off-duration begins applicationDelay+O.sub.DTX after the reception of PDCCH providing DCI format 2_9 for K.sub.DTX-D.sub.DTX time duration followed by on duration for D.sub.DTX time duration and, the pattern repeats until deactivated. It is also possible that one or more of K.sub.DTX, D.sub.DTX, and O.sub.DTX are indicated by DCI format 2_9.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhou978’s invention of a system and a method for PDCCH (physical downlink control channel) skipping and cell discontinuous transmission (Cell DTX) in a 5th generation (5G) new radio (NR) system and Zhou538’s invention of a system and a method for Network Energy Saving For Wireless Communications Management in a wireless communication system to include Jeon’s invention of a system and a method for or monitoring of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) providing a network operation state in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in providing a time by a wireless device and by a serving cell in switch between operation states, such as active state or inactive/idle states operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0165, Jeon)
Re. Claim 6, Zhou978, Zhou538 and Jeon teach claim 5.
Yet, Zhou978 and Zhou538 do not expressly teach wherein the second activation time is based at least in part on an offset from the first activation time.
However, in the analogous art, Jeon explicitly discloses wherein the second activation time is based at least in part on an offset from the first activation time. (Fig. 9A-Fig. 16 & ¶0165 - the Cell DTX or Cell DRX pattern may be relative to the timing of PDCCH reception providing DCI format 2_9 with …… an application delay, denoted by applicationDelay. The application delay can be a time required by a UE and by the cell to switch between operation states and, particularly, from an off-state to an on-state for Cell DTX or Cell DRX. The Cell DTX or Cell DRX may be specified to start with on-duration, off-duration, or the UE may be indicated by higher layer signaling whether the Cell DTX or Cell DRX starts with on-duration or off-duration. If the Cell DTX starts with an on-duration and if the UE is configured with a start offset O.sub.DTX, the first on-duration begins applicationDelay+O.sub.DTX after the reception of PDCCH providing DCI format 2_9 for D.sub.DTX time duration followed by off-duration for K.sub.DTX-D.sub.DTX time duration and, the pattern repeats until deactivated. If the Cell DTX starts with an off-duration and if the UE is configured with a start offset O.sub.DTX, the first off-duration begins applicationDelay+O.sub.DTX after the reception of PDCCH providing DCI format 2_9 for K.sub.DTX-D.sub.DTX time duration followed by on duration for D.sub.DTX time duration and, the pattern repeats until deactivated. It is also possible that one or more of K.sub.DTX, D.sub.DTX, and O.sub.DTX are indicated by DCI format 2_9.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhou978’s invention of a system and a method for PDCCH (physical downlink control channel) skipping and cell discontinuous transmission (Cell DTX) in a 5th generation (5G) new radio (NR) system and Zhou538’s invention of a system and a method for Network Energy Saving For Wireless Communications Management in a wireless communication system to include Jeon’s invention of a system and a method for monitoring of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) providing a network operation state in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in providing a time by a wireless device and by a serving cell in switch between operation states, such as active state or inactive/idle states operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0165, Jeon)
Re. Claim 13, Zhou978 and Zhou538 teach claim 12.
Zhou978 further teaches wherein: to wirelessly receive the respective TRP-specific indication for each TRP, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to: wirelessly receive, at a first reception time, a first TRP-specific indication for a first TRP of the plurality of TRPs indicating that indicates to change the activation state for at least one of the cell DTX or the cell DRX for the first TRP;wirelessly receive, at a second reception time, a second TRP-specific indication for a second TRP of the plurality of TRPs indicating that indicates to change the activation state for at least one of the cell DTX or the cell DRX for the second TRP; and to change the activation state for at least one of the cell DTX or the cell DRX for the TRP associated with the at least one respective TRP-specific indication, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to (Fig. 35-36 & ¶0347 - if UE DRX configuration is configured, the wireless device may perform the UE DRX operation comprising discontinuously monitoring PDCCH (for one or more RNTIs associated with UE DRX configuration as shown above with respect to FIG. 29) in the UE DRX Active Time (indicated by the first parameters) within the first time duration (indicated by the second parameters) of the cell DTX Active Time according to example embodiments of FIG. 29. The wireless device may skip PDCCH monitoring for the one or more RNTIs associated with the UE DRX operation in the UE DRX inactive time, which may be within the first time duration of the cell DTX Active Time or the second time duration of the cell DTX inactive time. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0349 - the base station may determine to disable (or release, deactivate, clear, etc.) the cell DTX configuration…... To improve the transmission latency, the base station may transmit, e.g., at T2, a second message indicating a disabling (or releasing, deactivating, clearing, etc.) of the cell DTX configuration. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0350 - the second message may comprise at least one of:….a DCI, …. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0357 - the DCI for the activation/deactivation of the cell DTX configuration may be a new DCI (e.g., DCI format 2_8, DCI format 2_9, or DCI format 2_x, which is different from existing DCI format 26 for UE's wake-up or existing DCI format 27 for paging early indication). The DCI may be a group common DCI addressed to all wireless devices in the cell. . Fig. 10B/Fig. 21A-B/Fig.22 & ¶0153/¶0343 – discloses a plurality of cells/TRP (PCell/SCel/PScell) that a wireless device may be connected to):
Yet, Zhou978 and Zhou538 do not expressly teach change the activation state for at least one of the cell DTX or the cell DRX for the first TRP after a first activation time based at least in part on an offset from the first reception time; and change the activation state for at least one of the cell DTX or the cell DRX for the second TRP after a second activation time based at least in part on the offset from the second reception time.
However, in the analogous art, Jeon explicitly discloses change the activation state for at least one of the cell DTX or the cell DRX for the first TRP after a first activation time based at least in part on an offset from the first reception time; and change the activation state for at least one of the cell DTX or the cell DRX for the second TRP after a second activation time based at least in part on the offset from the second reception time. (Fig. 9A-Fig. 16 & ¶0165 - the Cell DTX or Cell DRX pattern may be relative to the timing of PDCCH reception providing DCI format 2_9 with …… an application delay, denoted by applicationDelay. The application delay can be a time required by a UE and by the cell to switch between operation states and, particularly, from an off-state to an on-state for Cell DTX or Cell DRX. The Cell DTX or Cell DRX may be specified to start with on-duration, off-duration, or the UE may be indicated by higher layer signaling whether the Cell DTX or Cell DRX starts with on-duration or off-duration. If the Cell DTX starts with an on-duration and if the UE is configured with a start offset O.sub.DTX, the first on-duration begins applicationDelay+O.sub.DTX after the reception of PDCCH providing DCI format 2_9 for D.sub.DTX time duration followed by off-duration for K.sub.DTX-D.sub.DTX time duration and, the pattern repeats until deactivated. If the Cell DTX starts with an off-duration and if the UE is configured with a start offset O.sub.DTX, the first off-duration begins applicationDelay+O.sub.DTX after the reception of PDCCH providing DCI format 2_9 for K.sub.DTX-D.sub.DTX time duration followed by on duration for D.sub.DTX time duration and, the pattern repeats until deactivated. It is also possible that one or more of K.sub.DTX, D.sub.DTX, and O.sub.DTX are indicated by DCI format 2_9.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhou978’s invention of a system and a method for PDCCH (physical downlink control channel) skipping and cell discontinuous transmission (Cell DTX) in a 5th generation (5G) new radio (NR) system and Zhou538’s invention of a system and a method for Network Energy Saving For Wireless Communications Management in a wireless communication system to include Jeon’s invention of a system and a method for or monitoring of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) providing a network operation state in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in providing a time by a wireless device and by a serving cell in switch between operation states, such as active state or inactive/idle states operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0165, Jeon)
Re. Claim 19, Zhou978 and Zhou538 teach claim 18.
Zhou978 further teaches wherein to change the activation state for at least one of the cell DTX or the cell DRX for the apparatus (Fig. 35-36 & ¶0347 - if UE DRX configuration is configured, the wireless device may perform the UE DRX operation comprising discontinuously monitoring PDCCH (for one or more RNTIs associated with UE DRX configuration as shown above with respect to FIG. 29) in the UE DRX Active Time (indicated by the first parameters) within the first time duration (indicated by the second parameters) of the cell DTX Active Time according to example embodiments of FIG. 29. The wireless device may skip PDCCH monitoring for the one or more RNTIs associated with the UE DRX operation in the UE DRX inactive time, which may be within the first time duration of the cell DTX Active Time or the second time duration of the cell DTX inactive time. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0349 - the base station may determine to disable (or release, deactivate, clear, etc.) the cell DTX configuration…... To improve the transmission latency, the base station may transmit, e.g., at T2, a second message indicating a disabling (or releasing, deactivating, clearing, etc.) of the cell DTX configuration. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0350 - the second message may comprise at least one of:….a DCI, …. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0357 - the DCI for the activation/deactivation of the cell DTX configuration may be a new DCI (e.g., DCI format 2_8, DCI format 2_9, or DCI format 2_x, which is different from existing DCI format 26 for UE's wake-up or existing DCI format 27 for paging early indication). The DCI may be a group common DCI addressed to all wireless devices in the cell. . Fig. 10B/Fig. 21A-B/Fig.22 & ¶0153/¶0343 – discloses a plurality of cells/TRP (PCell/SCel/PScell) that a wireless device may be connected to),
Yet, Zhou978 and Zhou538 do not expressly teach the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to change the activation state for at least one of the cell DTX or the cell DRX for the apparatus after an activation time occurring after sending the indication.
However, in the analogous art, Jeon explicitly discloses the one or more processors (Fig. 3, 340) are configured to cause the apparatus to change the activation state for at least one of the cell DTX or the cell DRX for the apparatus after an activation time occurring after sending the indication (Fig. 9A-Fig. 16 & ¶0165 - the Cell DTX or Cell DRX pattern may be relative to the timing of PDCCH reception providing DCI format 2_9 with …… an application delay, denoted by applicationDelay. The application delay can be a time required by a UE and by the cell to switch between operation states and, particularly, from an off-state to an on-state for Cell DTX or Cell DRX. The Cell DTX or Cell DRX may be specified to start with on-duration, off-duration, or the UE may be indicated by higher layer signaling whether the Cell DTX or Cell DRX starts with on-duration or off-duration. If the Cell DTX starts with an on-duration and if the UE is configured with a start offset O.sub.DTX, the first on-duration begins applicationDelay+O.sub.DTX after the reception of PDCCH providing DCI format 2_9 for D.sub.DTX time duration followed by off-duration for K.sub.DTX-D.sub.DTX time duration and, the pattern repeats until deactivated. If the Cell DTX starts with an off-duration and if the UE is configured with a start offset O.sub.DTX, the first off-duration begins applicationDelay+O.sub.DTX after the reception of PDCCH providing DCI format 2_9 for K.sub.DTX-D.sub.DTX time duration followed by on duration for D.sub.DTX time duration and, the pattern repeats until deactivated. It is also possible that one or more of K.sub.DTX, D.sub.DTX, and O.sub.DTX are indicated by DCI format 2_9.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhou978’s invention of a system and a method for PDCCH (physical downlink control channel) skipping and cell discontinuous transmission (Cell DTX) in a 5th generation (5G) new radio (NR) system and Zhou538’s invention of a system and a method for Network Energy Saving For Wireless Communications Management in a wireless communication system to include Jeon’s invention of a system and a method for or monitoring of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) providing a network operation state in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in providing a time by a wireless device and by a serving cell in switch between operation states, such as active state or inactive/idle states operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0165, Jeon)
Claims 7-9 and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou978, in view of Zhou538, further in view of Nangia et al. (2025/0142588), Nangia hereinafter.
Re. Claims 7 and 22, Zhou978 and Zhou538 teach claims 1 and 17.
Zhou978 further teaches wherein: the plurality of TRPs are associated with a single serving cell (Fig. 12A & ¶0184 - Procedure P1 may enable a UE measurement on transmit (Tx) beams of a transmission reception point (TRP) (or multiple TRPs), e.g., to support a selection of one or more base station Tx beams ….),
Yet, Zhou978 and Zhou538 do not expressly teach the indication comprises one block of coded bits, the block of coded bits comprises a set of bits associated with each of the plurality of TRPs, and each set of bits indicates the activation state for at least one of the cell DTX or the cell DRX configured for the corresponding TRP.
However, in the analogous art, Nangia explicitly discloses the indication comprises one block of coded bits, the block of coded bits comprises a set of bits associated with each of the plurality of TRPs, and each set of bits indicates the activation state for at least one of the cell DTX or the cell DRX configured for the corresponding TRP. (Fig. 1 & ¶0029 - one or more NE 102 may include subcomponents, such as an access network entity, which may be an example of an access node controller (ANC). An ANC may communicate with the one or more UEs 104 through one or more other access network transmission entities, which may be referred to as a radio heads, smart radio heads, or transmission-reception points (TRPs). Fig. 1-9 & ¶0114 - DCI format 2_X at least includes N information block field(s), each containing signaling of activation or deactivation of ‘a configuration of cell DTX and/or DRX’ of ‘a serving cell’. Fig. 1-9 & ¶0116 - An information block field of DCI format 2_X for activation and deactivation of cell DTX and DRX configuration supports separate (activation/deactivation) signaling for cell DTX and cell DRX, i.e., one activation/deactivation signaling sub-field for cell DTX configuration and one activation/deactivation signaling sub-field for cell DRX configuration, i.e., separate 1 bit indication for each of activation/deactivation for one cell DTX and one cell DRX. Fig. 1-9 & ¶0117 - An information block field of DCI format 2_X is variable size either 1 or 2 bits, based on whether higher layer signaling configures one or both cell DTX and cell DRX for a given serving cell. If both are configured, the first bit corresponds to activation/deactivation of cell DTX configuration, and the second bit corresponds to activation/deactivation of cell DRX configuration. Otherwise, the 1 bit corresponds to the configured cell DTX or cell DRX configuration.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhou978’s invention of a system and a method for PDCCH (physical downlink control channel) skipping and cell discontinuous transmission (Cell DTX) in a 5th generation (5G) new radio (NR) system and Zhou538’s invention of a system and a method for Network Energy Saving For Wireless Communications Management in a wireless communication system to include Nangia’s invention of a system and a method of enhanced downlink control information (DCI) for indicating a joint cell discontinuous transmission and/or discontinuous reception (DTX/DRX) in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for deactivating a serving cell based at least in part on cell turn-off and cell DTX/DRX configuration, in turns, achieves network energy savings in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0018, Nangia)
Re. Claims 8 and 23, Zhou978 and Zhou538 teach claims 1 and 17.
Zhou978 further teaches wherein: the plurality of TRPs are associated with a plurality of serving cells (Fig. 12A & ¶0184 - Procedure P1 may enable a UE measurement on transmit (Tx) beams of a transmission reception point (TRP) (or multiple TRPs), e.g., to support a selection of one or more base station Tx beams …),
Yet, Zhou978 and Zhou538 do not expressly teach the indication comprises a plurality of blocks of coded bits, each block of coded bits is associated with one serving cell of the plurality of serving cells; each block of coded bits comprises a set of bits associated with each TRP of the plurality of TRPs associated with the serving cell associated with the corresponding block; and each set of bits indicates the activation state for at least one of the cell DTX or the cell DRX configured for the corresponding TRP.
However, in the analogous art, Nangia explicitly discloses the indication comprises a plurality of blocks of coded bits, each block of coded bits is associated with one serving cell of the plurality of serving cells; each block of coded bits comprises a set of bits associated with each TRP of the plurality of TRPs associated with the serving cell associated with the corresponding block; and each set of bits indicates the activation state for at least one of the cell DTX or the cell DRX configured for the corresponding TRP. (Fig. 1 & ¶0029 - one or more NE 102 may include subcomponents, such as an access network entity, which may be an example of an access node controller (ANC). An ANC may communicate with the one or more UEs 104 through one or more other access network transmission entities, which may be referred to as a radio heads, smart radio heads, or transmission-reception points (TRPs). Fig. 1-9 & ¶0114 - DCI format 2_X at least includes N information block field(s), each containing signaling of activation or deactivation of ‘a configuration of cell DTX and/or DRX’ of ‘a serving cell’. Fig. 1-9 & ¶0116 - An information block field of DCI format 2_X for activation and deactivation of cell DTX and DRX configuration supports separate (activation/deactivation) signaling for cell DTX and cell DRX, i.e., one activation/deactivation signaling sub-field for cell DTX configuration and one activation/deactivation signaling sub-field for cell DRX configuration, i.e., separate 1 bit indication for each of activation/deactivation for one cell DTX and one cell DRX. Fig. 1-9 & ¶0117 - An information block field of DCI format 2_X is variable size either 1 or 2 bits, based on whether higher layer signaling configures one or both cell DTX and cell DRX for a given serving cell. If both are configured, the first bit corresponds to activation/deactivation of cell DTX configuration, and the second bit corresponds to activation/deactivation of cell DRX configuration. Otherwise, the 1 bit corresponds to the configured cell DTX or cell DRX configuration.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhou978’s invention of a system and a method for PDCCH (physical downlink control channel) skipping and cell discontinuous transmission (Cell DTX) in a 5th generation (5G) new radio (NR) system and Zhou538’s invention of a system and a method for Network Energy Saving For Wireless Communications Management in a wireless communication system to include Nangia’s invention of a system and a method of enhanced downlink control information (DCI) for indicating a joint cell discontinuous transmission and/or discontinuous reception (DTX/DRX) in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for deactivating a serving cell based at least in part on cell turn-off and cell DTX/DRX configuration, in turns, achieves network energy savings in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0018, Nangia)
Re. Claims 9 and 24, Zhou978 and Zhou538 teach claims 1 and 17.
Yet, Zhou978 and Zhou538 do not expressly teach wherein: the indication comprises a plurality of blocks of coded bits, each block of coded bits comprises a set of bits associated with one TRP of the plurality of TRPs, and each set of bits indicates the activation state for at least one of the cell DTX or the cell DRX configured for the corresponding TRP.
However, in the analogous art, Nangia explicitly discloses wherein: the indication comprises a plurality of blocks of coded bits, each block of coded bits comprises a set of bits associated with one TRP of the plurality of TRPs, and each set of bits indicates the activation state for at least one of the cell DTX or the cell DRX configured for the corresponding TRP. (Fig. 1 & ¶0029 - one or more NE 102 may include subcomponents, such as an access network entity, which may be an example of an access node controller (ANC). An ANC may communicate with the one or more UEs 104 through one or more other access network transmission entities, which may be referred to as a radio heads, smart radio heads, or transmission-reception points (TRPs). Fig. 1-9 & ¶0114 - DCI format 2_X at least includes N information block field(s), each containing signaling of activation or deactivation of ‘a configuration of cell DTX and/or DRX’ of ‘a serving cell’. Fig. 1-9 & ¶0116 - An information block field of DCI format 2_X for activation and deactivation of cell DTX and DRX configuration supports separate (activation/deactivation) signaling for cell DTX and cell DRX, i.e., one activation/deactivation signaling sub-field for cell DTX configuration and one activation/deactivation signaling sub-field for cell DRX configuration, i.e., separate 1 bit indication for each of activation/deactivation for one cell DTX and one cell DRX. Fig. 1-9 & ¶0117 - An information block field of DCI format 2_X is variable size either 1 or 2 bits, based on whether higher layer signaling configures one or both cell DTX and cell DRX for a given serving cell. If both are configured, the first bit corresponds to activation/deactivation of cell DTX configuration, and the second bit corresponds to activation/deactivation of cell DRX configuration. Otherwise, the 1 bit corresponds to the configured cell DTX or cell DRX configuration.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhou978’s invention of a system and a method for PDCCH (physical downlink control channel) skipping and cell discontinuous transmission (Cell DTX) in a 5th generation (5G) new radio (NR) system and Zhou538’s invention of a system and a method for Network Energy Saving For Wireless Communications Management in a wireless communication system to include Nangia’s invention of a system and a method of enhanced downlink control information (DCI) for indicating a joint cell discontinuous transmission and/or discontinuous reception (DTX/DRX) in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for deactivating a serving cell based at least in part on cell turn-off and cell DTX/DRX configuration, in turns, achieves network energy savings in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0018, Nangia)
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou978, in view of Zhou538, further in view of Cirik et al. (2025/0097838), Cirik hereinafter.
Re. Claim 11, Zhou978 and Zhou538 teach claim 1.
Yet, Zhou978 and Zhou538 do not expressly teach wherein to maintain the connection with the plurality of TRPs, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to receive signaling indicating at least two activated transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states for the at least one serving cell of the apparatus, each activated TCI state corresponding to one of the plurality of TRPs.
However, in the analogous art, Cirik explicitly discloses wherein to maintain the connection with the plurality of TRPs, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to receive signaling indicating at least two activated transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states for the at least one serving cell of the apparatus, each activated TCI state corresponding to one of the plurality of TRPs. (Fig. 18-19/Fig. 24A-B & ¶0298 - The dynamic switching parameter may indicate whether the wireless device supports (e.g., capable of) dynamic switching between a single-TRP and a multi-TRP for downlink receptions (e.g., PDSCH receptions, PDCCH receptions, and the like). …. The dynamic switching parameter may indicate whether the wireless device supports dynamic switching between a non-SFN scheme (e.g., a single-TRP mode/operation/scheme) and a PDSCH SFN scheme (e.g., a multi-TRP mode/operation/scheme) for the downlink receptions. The dynamic switching parameter may indicate whether the wireless device supports dynamic switching between a single TCI state (e.g., one TCI state) and multiple TCI states (e.g., two TCI states) for the downlink receptions. Fig. 18-19/Fig. 24A-B & ¶0315 - One or more configuration parameters 1815 may indicate, for a plurality of TCI states 1820, a plurality of TCI state indexes, indicators, and/or identifiers (e.g., TCI-StateId). The one or more configuration parameters 1815 may indicate, for each TCI state of the plurality of TCI states 1820, a respective TCI state index of the plurality of TCI state indexes.. Fig. 18-19/Fig. 24A-B & ¶0327 - A wireless device 1805 may receive an activation command (e.g., MAC-CE, DCI, RRC, control command, downlink control command/message, control command/message, Unified TCI States Activation/Deactivation MAC CE, Enhanced Unified TCI States Activation/Deactivation MAC CE, and the like). The activation command may, for example, indicate activation of a subset of TCI states (e.g., two TCI states 1825) of the plurality of TC states 1820 (e.g., DLorJoint-TCIStateList). The subset of TC states (e.g., two TCI states 1825) may be, for example, a subset of joint TCI states of the plurality of joint TCI states. The subset of TC states (e.g., two TCI states 1825) may be, for example, a subset of downlink TCI states of the plurality of downlink TCI states.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhou978’s invention of a system and a method for PDCCH (physical downlink control channel) skipping and cell discontinuous transmission (Cell DTX) in a 5th generation (5G) new radio (NR) system and Zhou538’s invention of a system and a method for Network Energy Saving For Wireless Communications Management in a wireless communication system to include Cirik’s invention of a system and a method for Energy Saving In Spatial Domain in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for saving energy for a wireless device operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0006, Cirik)
Claims 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou978, in view of Zhou538, further in view of Koc et al. (2016/0249405), Koc hereinafter.
Re. Claim 20, Zhou978 and Zhou538 teach claim 18.
Zhou978 further teaches the indication further indicates to change the activation state for at least one of the cell DTX or the cell DRX for at least one other TRP of the plurality of TRPs (Fig. 35-36 & ¶0347 - if UE DRX configuration is configured, the wireless device may perform the UE DRX operation comprising discontinuously monitoring PDCCH (for one or more RNTIs associated with UE DRX configuration as shown above with respect to FIG. 29) in the UE DRX Active Time (indicated by the first parameters) within the first time duration (indicated by the second parameters) of the cell DTX Active Time according to example embodiments of FIG. 29. The wireless device may skip PDCCH monitoring for the one or more RNTIs associated with the UE DRX operation in the UE DRX inactive time, which may be within the first time duration of the cell DTX Active Time or the second time duration of the cell DTX inactive time. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0349 - the base station may determine to disable (or release, deactivate, clear, etc.) the cell DTX configuration…... To improve the transmission latency, the base station may transmit, e.g., at T2, a second message indicating a disabling (or releasing, deactivating, clearing, etc.) of the cell DTX configuration. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0350 - the second message may comprise at least one of:….a DCI, …. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0357 - the DCI for the activation/deactivation of the cell DTX configuration may be a new DCI (e.g., DCI format 2_8, DCI format 2_9, or DCI format 2_x, which is different from existing DCI format 26 for UE's wake-up or existing DCI format 27 for paging early indication). The DCI may be a group common DCI addressed to all wireless devices in the cell. . Fig. 10B/Fig. 21A-B/Fig.22 & ¶0153/¶0343 – discloses a plurality of cells/TRP (PCell/SCel/PScell) that a wireless device may be connected to..);
Yet, Zhou978 and Zhou538 do not expressly teach the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to coordinate with at least the one other TRP of the plurality of TRPs via backhaul to indicate to at least the one other TRP to change at least one of the cell DTX or the cell DRX.
However, in the analogous art, Koc explicitly discloses the one or more processors (Fig. 1-4 & ¶0093-¶0094) are configured to cause the apparatus to coordinate with at least the one other TRP of the plurality of TRPs via backhaul to indicate to at least the one other TRP to change at least one of the cell DTX or the cell DRX (Fig. 1-8 & ¶0027 - Disclosed herein are coordination techniques for DRX operations in dual-connectivity architectures. According to some such techniques, a UE may be configured to report a master PPI to an MeNB and to report a secondary PPI to an SeNB, either directly or via the MeNB. The MeNB may select macro cell DRX settings for the UE based on the master PPI, and the SeNB may select small cell DRX settings for the UE based on the secondary PPI. The SeNB may forward the small cell DRX settings that it selects to the MeNB, and the MeNB may send both the macro cell DRX settings and the small cell DRX settings to the UE. Fig. 1-8 & ¶0036 - MeNB 250 and SeNB 260 may communicate over an X2 interface connection 255. In some embodiments, X2 interface connection 255 may be implemented using a backhaul that is the same as—or similar to—backhaul 106 of FIG. 1. Fig. 3 & ¶0056 - communications component 306 may be operative to receive an X2 message 332 from SeNB 360 over X2 interface connection 355, and the X2 message 332 may comprise the small cell DRX settings 328. In various embodiments, SeNB 360 may be operative to select the small cell DRX settings 328 for UE 370. In some embodiments, SeNB 360 may be operative to determine a small cell power preference for UE 370 based on a secondary PPI IE 320 in a received UE assistance information message 316-B, and may be operative to select small cell DRX settings 328 based on that small cell power preference. ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhou978’s invention of a system and a method for PDCCH (physical downlink control channel) skipping and cell discontinuous transmission (Cell DTX) in a 5th generation (5G) new radio (NR) system and Zhou538’s invention of a system and a method for Network Energy Saving For Wireless Communications Management in a wireless communication system to include Koc’s invention of a system and a method of coordination techniques for discontinuous reception (DRX) operations in dual-connectivity architectures in a wireless communication system, because it provides an increased flexibility with respect to power conservation, such that a dual-connectivity capable wireless device are supported for delivering distinct power preferences regarding respective communications with a master evolved node B (MeNB) and a secondary evolved node B (SeNB) operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0004, Koc)
Re. Claim 21, Zhou978 and Zhou538 teach claim 17.
Yet, Zhou978 and Zhou538 do not expressly teach wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to: coordinate with a TRP of the plurality of TRPs via backhaul to receive a second indication associated with the plurality of TRPs indicating to change at least one of the cell DTX or the cell DRX at the apparatus; and change the activation state for at least one of the cell DTX or the cell DRX for the apparatus based at least in part on the second indication.
However, in the analogous art, Koc explicitly discloses wherein the one or more processors (Fig. 1-4 & ¶0093-¶0094) are configured to cause the apparatus to: coordinate with a TRP of the plurality of TRPs via backhaul to receive a second indication associated with the plurality of TRPs indicating to change at least one of the cell DTX or the cell DRX at the apparatus; and change the activation state for at least one of the cell DTX or the cell DRX for the apparatus based at least in part on the second indication. (Fig. 1-8 & ¶0027 - Disclosed herein are coordination techniques for DRX operations in dual-connectivity architectures. According to some such techniques, a UE may be configured to report a master PPI to an MeNB and to report a secondary PPI to an SeNB, either directly or via the MeNB. The MeNB may select macro cell DRX settings for the UE based on the master PPI, and the SeNB may select small cell DRX settings for the UE based on the secondary PPI. The SeNB may forward the small cell DRX settings that it selects to the MeNB, and the MeNB may send both the macro cell DRX settings and the small cell DRX settings to the UE. Fig. 1-8 & ¶0036 - MeNB 250 and SeNB 260 may communicate over an X2 interface connection 255. In some embodiments, X2 interface connection 255 may be implemented using a backhaul that is the same as—or similar to—backhaul 106 of FIG. 1. Fig. 3 & ¶0056 - communications component 306 may be operative to receive an X2 message 332 from SeNB 360 over X2 interface connection 355, and the X2 message 332 may comprise the small cell DRX settings 328. In various embodiments, SeNB 360 may be operative to select the small cell DRX settings 328 for UE 370. In some embodiments, SeNB 360 may be operative to determine a small cell power preference for UE 370 based on a secondary PPI IE 320 in a received UE assistance information message 316-B, and may be operative to select small cell DRX settings 328 based on that small cell power preference. ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhou978’s invention of a system and a method for PDCCH (physical downlink control channel) skipping and cell discontinuous transmission (Cell DTX) in a 5th generation (5G) new radio (NR) system and Zhou538’s invention of a system and a method for Network Energy Saving For Wireless Communications Management in a wireless communication system to include Koc’s invention of a system and a method of coordination techniques for discontinuous reception (DRX) operations in dual-connectivity architectures in a wireless communication system, because it provides an increased flexibility with respect to power conservation, such that a dual-connectivity capable wireless device are supported for delivering distinct power preferences regarding respective communications with a master evolved node B (MeNB) and a secondary evolved node B (SeNB) operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0004, Koc)
Claims 26-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou978, in view of Jeon et al. (2024/0267984), Jeon hereinafter.
Re. claim 26, Zhou978 teaches an apparatus (Fig. 15, 1504) configured for wireless communications (Fig. 15/Fig. 35-36), comprising: one or more memories (Fig. 15, 1514); and one or more processors (Fig. 15, 1508) coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors being configured to cause the apparatus to: wirelessly transmit, to a user equipment (UE) via a first transmission reception point (TRP) of the apparatus, a first indication that indicates to change a first activation state for at least one of cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) or cell discontinuous reception (DRX) for the first TRP, wherein the first indication comprises a first TRP-specific indication for the first TRP;(Fig. 35-36 & ¶0339 - FIG. 35 shows an example embodiment of cell DTX (which is similarly applied for cell DRX) for network energy saving. In an example, at a first time (e.g., TO), a wireless device (UE) may receive, and/or a base station (gNB) may transmit, one or more RRC messages comprising configuration parameters of a cell. A cell may be implemented based on example embodiments described above with respect to FIG. 10A and FIG. 10B. The cell may be a PCell/PSCell. … the cell may be a SCell. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0343 - the wireless device may receive, at a second time (e.g., T1), a first message comprising parameters indicating an enabling (or triggering, activating, initiating, etc.) of the cell DTX configuration. Fig. 35 & ¶0344 - the first message may comprise at least one of:..…. a DCI… the DCI may be a group common DCI transmitted to a plurality of wireless devices in the cell. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0347 - if UE DRX configuration is configured, the wireless device may perform the UE DRX operation comprising discontinuously monitoring PDCCH (for one or more RNTIs associated with UE DRX configuration as shown above with respect to FIG. 29) in the UE DRX Active Time (indicated by the first parameters) within the first time duration (indicated by the second parameters) of the cell DTX Active Time according to example embodiments of FIG. 29. The wireless device may skip PDCCH monitoring for the one or more RNTIs associated with the UE DRX operation in the UE DRX inactive time, which may be within the first time duration of the cell DTX Active Time or the second time duration of the cell DTX inactive time…. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0354 - the configuration parameters of a PDCCH for a DCI indicating an activation/deactivation of a cell DTX configuration may be per BWP configured for a cell where each BWP of BWPs configured on the cell is associated with BWP specific configuration parameters of the DCI activating/deactivating cell DTX configuration. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0357 - the DCI for the activation/deactivation of the cell DTX configuration may be a new DCI (e.g., DCI format 2_8, DCI format 2_9, or DCI format 2_x, which is different from existing DCI format 26 for UE's wake-up or existing DCI format 27 for paging early indication). The DCI may be a group common DCI addressed to all wireless devices in the cell. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0403 - the one or more RRC messages may comprise configuration parameters (second parameters) of a cell DTX configuration, e.g., based on example embodiments of FIG. 35. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0404 - the one or more RRC messages may comprise configuration parameters (third parameters) of PDCCH occasions for a DCI indicating an activation/deactivation of the cell DTX configuration.Fig. 10B/Fig. 21A-B/Fig.22 & ¶0153/¶0343 – discloses a plurality of cells/TRP (PCell/SCel/PScell) that a wireless device may be connected to….); based at least in part on the first indication, change the first activation state for at least one of the cell DTX or the cell DRX for the first TRP (Fig. 35-36 & ¶0343 - the wireless device may receive, at a second time (e.g., T1), a first message comprising parameters indicating an enabling (or triggering, activating, initiating, etc.) of the cell DTX configuration. Fig. 35 & ¶0344 - the first message may comprise at least one of:..…. a DCI… the DCI may be a group common DCI transmitted to a plurality of wireless devices in the cell. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0346 - In the example of FIG. 35, in response to receiving the first message (see at T1 in Fig. 35) indicating an enabling (or triggering, activating, initiating, etc.) of the cell DTX configuration, the wireless device may perform the UE DRX operation (if configured) according to both the first parameters of the UE DRX configuration and the second parameters of the cell DTX configuration. Fig. 10B/Fig. 21A-B/Fig.22 & ¶0153/¶0343 – discloses a plurality of cells/TRP (PCell/SCel/PScell) that a wireless device may be connected to); and based at least in part on the second indication, change the second activation state for at least one of the cell DTX or the cell DRX for the second TRP (Fig. 35-36 & ¶0350 – the second message (see at T2 in Fig. 35) may comprise at least one of: a RRC message (which may be different from the first message, received in T1, enabling/activating the cell DTX configuration), a MAC CE, a DCI. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0351 – the wireless device, based on receiving the second message (see at T2 in Fig. 35) disabling/deactivating the cell DTX configuration, may assume/determine that the cell is (always) in the power-on state (or the first power state/mode or the normal power state). Based on the disabling/deactivating of the cell DTX operation and the determining that the cell is in the power-on state (or the first power state/mode or the normal power state)… Fig. 10B/Fig. 21A-B/Fig.22 & ¶0153/¶0343 – discloses a plurality of cells/TRP (PCell/SCel/PScell) that a wireless device may be connected to).
Yet, Zhou978 does not expressly teach wirelessly transmit, to the UE via a second TRP of the apparatus, a second indication that indicates to change a second activation state for at least one of the cell DTX or the cell DRX for the second TRP, wherein the second indication comprises a second TRP-specific indication for the second TRP;
However, in the analogous art, Jeon explicitly discloses wirelessly transmit, to the UE via a second TRP of the apparatus, a second indication that indicates to change a second activation state for at least one of the cell DTX or the cell DRX for the second TRP, wherein the second indication comprises a second TRP-specific indication for the second TRP; (Fig. 10-17 & ¶0150 - For indication of activation/deactivation of a cell DTX/DRX configuration using DCI, the UE receives a PDCCH that provides a DCI indicating one or more indexes for cell DTX/DRX configurations. Similar to the MAC-CE design, the DCI includes M fields, where M is the number of serving cells or cell groups indicated by higher layers, and each field includes ceil(log 2(N+1)) bits, where N is the number of cell DTX/DRX configurations per serving cell or cell group. Each field i, for the ith serving cell or cell group, indicates an index of the cell DTX/DRX configurations for activation from the set of N configurations. One codepoint, e.g., 0, corresponds to deactivation of the cell DTX/DRX. If only one cell DTX/DRX configuration is provided for a serving cell or cell group, each field i is a one-bit indication for the activation/deactivation status of cell DTX/DRX for a corresponding serving cell …. the DCI can separate indicate activation (with corresponding configuration ID if more than one configurations are provided)/deactivation for cell DTX, and cell DRX for the serving cell. When the serving cell is paired with SUL, the cell DRX indication also applies to the SUL. Fig. 10-17 & ¶0151 - The PDCCH providing a DCI for activation of cell DTX/DRX configuration can be UE-specific (e.g., CRC scrambled by a C-RNTI) or cell-specific or UE-group-specific (e.g., CRC scrambled by a new RNTI). A UE-specific DCI can include cell DTX/DRX parameters in addition to the indications for activation/deactivation and/or cell DTX/DRX configuration index. For cell-specific or UE-group-specific DCI, a new RNTI that can be defined for cell DTX/DRX activation/deactivation and can be referred to as NES-RNTI…. the cell-specific or UE-group-specific DCI can indicate an index of the cell DTX/DRX configuration for the serving cell or cell group ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhou978’s invention of a system and a method for PDCCH (physical downlink control channel) skipping and cell discontinuous transmission (Cell DTX) in a 5th generation (5G) new radio (NR) system to include Jeon’s invention of a system and a method for configuration and activation of cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) and cell discontinuous reception (DRX) in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for performing fast adaptation of a network operation state with small signaling overhead while simultaneously informing all UEs (User Equipment) of the network operation state operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0091-¶0092, Jeon)
Re. Claim 27, Zhou978 and Jeon teach claim 26.
Zhou978 further teaches wherein to wirelessly transmit, to the UE, the first indication, the one or more processors (Fig. 15, 1508) are configured to cause the apparatus to send the first indication via downlink control information (DCI) (Fig. 35-36 & ¶0343 - the wireless device may receive, at a second time (e.g., T1), a first message comprising parameters indicating an enabling (or triggering, activating, initiating, etc.) of the cell DTX configuration. Fig. 35 & ¶0344 - the first message may comprise at least one of:..…. a DCI… the DCI may be a group common DCI transmitted to a plurality of wireless devices in the cell. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0346 - In the example of FIG. 35, in response to receiving the first message (see at T1 in Fig. 35) indicating an enabling (or triggering, activating, initiating, etc.) of the cell DTX configuration, the wireless device may perform the UE DRX operation (if configured) according to both the first parameters of the UE DRX configuration and the second parameters of the cell DTX configuration).
Re. Claim 28, Zhou978 and Jeon teach claim 26.
Zhou978 further teaches wherein to wirelessly transmit, to the UE, the second indication, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to send the second indication via downlink control information (DCI). (Fig. 35-36 & ¶0350 – the second message (see at T2 in Fig. 35) may comprise at least one of: a RRC message (which may be different from the first message, received in T1, enabling/activating the cell DTX configuration), a MAC CE, a DCI. Fig. 35-36 & ¶0351 – the wireless device, based on receiving the second message (see at T2 in Fig. 35) disabling/deactivating the cell DTX configuration, may assume/determine that the cell is (always) in the power-on state (or the first power state/mode or the normal power state). Based on the disabling/deactivating of the cell DTX operation and the determining that the cell is in the power-on state (or the first power state/mode or the normal power state).
Re. Claim 29, Zhou978 and Jeon teach claim 26.
Zhou978 further teaches wherein to wirelessly transmit, to the UE, the first indication, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to send the first indication via radio resource control (RRC) signaling. (Fig. 35-36 & ¶0343 - the wireless device may receive, at a second time (e.g., T1), a first message comprising parameters indicating an enabling (or triggering, activating, initiating, etc.) of the cell DTX configuration. Fig. 35 & ¶0344 - the first message may comprise at least one of: a RRC message.).
Re. Claim 30, Zhou978 and Jeon teach claim 26.
Zhou978 further teaches wherein to wirelessly transmit, to the UE, the second indication, the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to send the second indication via radio resource control (RRC) signaling. (Fig. 35-36 & ¶0350 – the second message (see at T2 in Fig. 35) may comprise at least one of: a RRC message (which may be different from the first message, received in T1, enabling/activating the cell DTX configuration), a MAC CE, a DCI.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 04/30/2026 with respect to claims 1, 12, 17 and 26 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding arguments in pages 12-15 as submitted on 04/30/2026 for independent claim 1, applicant asserts, “Zhou978 in view of Zhou538 does not explicitly disclose, implicitly teach, or otherwise suggest ''wirelessly receive an indication, associated with the plurality of TRPs, that indicates to change an activation state for at least one of cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) or cell discontinuous reception (DRX) for at least one TRP of the plurality of TRPs but for less than all TRPs of the plurality of TRPs'' as recited in amended independent Claim 1 .“. See page 12 of remarks as submitted on 04/30/2026.
The applicant further asserts, “although Zhou978 describes a first message for activation of a cell DTX configuration, that first message is associated with the cell as a whole and results in a DTX/DRX state change across all TRPs associated with that cell. The first message of Zhou978 therefore does not describe an indication associated with the plurality of TRPs, which indicates a state change for less than all TRPs of the plurality of TRPs. Said differently, Zhou978 describes an all-TRP state change within the cell, not a selective state change for fewer than all TRPs of the cell.”. See page 14 of remarks as submitted on 04/30/2026.
The applicant continued in arguing, “the Office Action appears to consider the first message comprising parameters indicating enabling of a cell DTX configuration of Zhou978 as corresponding to the claimed ''respective TRP-specific indication for each TRP of the plurality of TRPs," while relying on Zhou538 for supplying the ''plurality of TRPs'' aspect of independent Claim 12 through intra-cell and inter-cell multi-TRP configurations. As described above, Zhou978 describes a first message that is a cell-wide DTX/DRX indication. In other words, the first message is a single indication for the cell as a whole and results in a state change that applies across the cell, rather than separate respective indications for respective TRPs of the cell. As such, Zhou978 does not describe transmitting/receiving a respective TRP-specific indication for each TRP of the plurality of TRPs. Nor does Zhou978 teach that at least one such respective TRP-specific indication indicates changing the activation state for the particular TRP associated with that TRP-specific indication.” See page 15 of remarks as submitted on 04/30/2026.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. In fact, the inventive concept of the instant application in reference to the amended independent claim 1, as disclosed at least in ¶0133 of the instant application, recites, “Cell DTX configured for a cell may be activated and deactivated via RRC signaling and/or a group common (GC) DCI (e.g., including a cell DTX activation/deactivation indication for multiple UEs). Specifically, in certain aspects, GC DCI format 2_9 may be used to provide an indication to multiple UEs, where the indication indicates to activate or deactivate cell DTX for a cell. Similarly, cell DRX configured for a cell may be activated and deactivated via RRC signaling and/or a GC DCI. Specifically, in certain aspects, GC DCI format 2_9 may be used to provide an indication to multiple UEs, where the indication indicates to activate or deactivate cell DRX for a cell. In some cases, RRC signaling and/or GC DCI are used to (1) activate or deactivate cell DTX and (2) activate or deactivate cell DRX for a cell simultaneously (e.g., the RRC signaling and/or the GC DCI may carry both activation status change indications).”, the instant application, continues, at least in ¶0138 along with Fig. 7, “ At time 732, however, the UE may receive an indication to activate cell DTX (e.g., change an activation state for cell DTX from “deactivation” to “activation”). In certain aspects, the indication to activate cell DTX is received by the UE via RRC signaling. In certain aspects, the indication to activate cell DTX is received by the UE via a DCI, such as a GC DCI. The CG DCI may carry an activation/deactivation command for one or multiple serving cells.”.
In other words, the indication as received by the wireless device from a network, which indicates to change an activation state (i.e., DTX activated or de-activated), either by RRC signaling message or by a group common (GC) DCI < GC DCI format 2_9> as disclosed supra.
Similar to disclosures as mentioned supra, Zhou978 also discloses that a plurality of RRC signaling messages (1st RRC message at T1 for enabling/activating Cell DTX, see Fig. 35 along with ¶0343-¶0344 & 2nd RRC message at T2 for disabling/deactivating Cell DTX, see Fig. 35 along with ¶0349-¶0350) from a network (gNB, Fig. 35) as received by the wireless device (UE, Fig. 35), indicate a change of an activation state (i.e., DTX activated at T1 or de-activated at T2 of Fig. 35), as disclosed in ¶0343-¶0344 & ¶0349-¶0350 along with 35.
In addition to RRC signaling message, the indication can also be performed a DCI, for example a new DCI (e.g., DCI format 2_8, DCI format 2_9 <similar to instant application>, or DCI format 2_x, which is different from existing DCI format) as explained in ¶0357-¶0358 along with Fig. 36.
In fact, Fig. 36 of Zhou978, is very similar to Fig. 7 of the instant application as reproduced next, quite a contrast to applicant’s assertion at pages 12-15 of remarks as submitted on 04/30/2026.
The same argument is applicable for independent claims 12 and 17.
Regarding arguments at page 15 for independent claims 1 and 12, Zhou538 disclosed the claimed features as outlined in the claims and the applicant is silent on the disclosures made by Zhou538 as pointed out in §103 rejection. Applicant, is, however, arguing that Zhou538’s reference does not disclose anything pertaining to “wirelessly receive an indication associated with the plurality of TRPs indicating to change an activation state for at least one TRP of cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) or cell discontinuous reception (DRX) for at least one of the plurality of TRPs but for less than all TRPs of the plurality of TRPs” as claimed in the independent claims 1 and 12. Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. The claimed limitations pertaining to “wirelessly receive an indication associated with the plurality of TRPs indicating to change an activation state for at least one TRP of cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) or cell discontinuous reception (DRX) for at least one of the pluralityof TRPs but for less than all TRPs of the plurality of TRPs” are taught by Zhou978 as pointed out in §103 rejection along with the detailed rebuttal argument as outlined supra. Applicant is respectfully reminded that the independent claims 1 and 12 are unpatentable over Zhou978, in view of Zhou538. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Regarding arguments in pages 16-19 as submitted on 04/30/2026 for independent claim 26, applicant asserts, “Zhou978 in view of Zhou538, and further in view of Zhou887, does not explicitly disclose, implicitly teach, or otherwise suggest ''a first indication that indicates to change a first activation state for at least one of cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) or cell discontinuous reception (DRX) for the first TRP, wherein the first indication comprises a first TRP-specific indication for the first TRP; [and] ... a second indication that indicates to change a second activation state for at least one of the cell DTX or the cell DRX for the second TRP, wherein the second indication comprises a second TRP-specific indication for the second TRP," as recited in amended independent Claim 26.“. See page 16 of remarks as submitted on 04/30/2026.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. In fact, the inventive concept of the instant application in reference to the amended independent claim 26, as disclosed at least in ¶0133 of the instant application, recites, “Cell DTX configured for a cell may be activated and deactivated via RRC signaling and/or a group common (GC) DCI (e.g., including a cell DTX activation/deactivation indication for multiple UEs). Specifically, in certain aspects, GC DCI format 2_9 may be used to provide an indication to multiple UEs, where the indication indicates to activate or deactivate cell DTX for a cell. Similarly, cell DRX configured for a cell may be activated and deactivated via RRC signaling and/or a GC DCI. Specifically, in certain aspects, GC DCI format 2_9 may be used to provide an indication to multiple UEs, where the indication indicates to activate or deactivate cell DRX for a cell. In some cases, RRC signaling and/or GC DCI are used to (1) activate or deactivate cell DTX and (2) activate or deactivate cell DRX for a cell simultaneously (e.g., the RRC signaling and/or the GC DCI may carry both activation status change indications).”, the instant application, continues, at least in ¶0138 along with Fig. 7, “ At time 732, however, the UE may receive an indication to activate cell DTX (e.g., change an activation state for cell DTX from “deactivation” to “activation”). In certain aspects, the indication to activate cell DTX is received by the UE via RRC signaling. In certain aspects, the indication to activate cell DTX is received by the UE via a DCI, such as a GC DCI. The CG DCI may carry an activation/deactivation command for one or multiple serving cells.”.
In other words, the indication as received by the wireless device from a network, which indicates to change an activation state (i.e., DTX activated or de-activated), either by RRC signaling message or by group common (GC) DCI < GC DCI format 2_9> as disclosed supra.
Similar to disclosures as mentioned supra, Zhou978 also discloses that a plurality of RRC signaling messages (1st RRC message at T1 for enabling/activating Cell DTX, see Fig. 35 along with ¶0343-¶0344 & 2nd RRC message at T2 for disabling/deactivating Cell DTX, see Fig. 35 along with ¶0349-¶0350) from a network (gNB, Fig. 35) as received by the wireless device (UE, Fig. 35), indicate a change of an activation state (i.e., DTX activated at T1 or de-activated at T2 of Fig. 35), as disclosed in ¶0343-¶0344 & ¶0349-¶0350 along with 35. More importantly, Zhou978 further discloses the one or more RRC messages may comprise configuration parameters (first parameters) of a DRX configuration specifically for the wireless device. The DRX configuration may be referred to as a UE specific DRX configuration (or UE DRX configuration, or DRX configuration), as shown FIG. 35 along with ¶0402.
In addition to RRC signaling message, the indication can also be performed a DCI, for example a new DCI (e.g., DCI format 2_8, DCI format 2_9 <similar to instant application>, or DCI format 2_x, which is different from existing DCI format) as explained in ¶0357-¶0358 along with Fig. 36.
Moreover, Zhou978 discloses that FIG. 35 shows an example embodiment of cell DTX (which is similarly applied for cell DRX) for network energy saving. In an example, at a first time (e.g., TO), a wireless device (UE) may receive, and/or a base station (gNB) may transmit, one or more RRC messages comprising configuration parameters of a cell. A cell may be implemented based on example embodiments described above with respect to FIG. 10A and FIG. 10B. The cell may be a PCell/PSCell. … the cell may be a SCell. See ¶0339 along with Fig. 35-36. Zhou978 also discloses that the one or more RRC messages may comprise configuration parameters (second parameters) of a cell DTX configuration, e.g., based on example embodiments of FIG. 35. .. the one or more RRC messages may comprise configuration parameters (third parameters) of PDCCH occasions for a DCI indicating an activation/deactivation of the cell DTX configuration. See ¶0403-¶0404 along with Fig. 35-36.
In fact, Fig. 36 of Zhou978, is very similar to Fig. 7 of the instant application as reproduced next, quite a contrast to applicant’s assertion at pages 16-19 of remarks as submitted on 04/30/2026.
Zhou887 (2025/0184887 [Wingdings font/0xF3] Old reference), is NOT used in the instant office action, hence, moot.
For reasons as explained supra, it is maintained that independent claims 1, 12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou978, in view of Zhou538.
For reasons as explained supra, it is maintained that independent claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou978, in view of Jeon (2024/0267984 [Wingdings font/0xF3] New reference).
As all other dependent claims depend either directly or indirectly from the independent claims 1, 12, 17 and 26, similar rationale also applies to all respective dependent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467