DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed August 18, 2026. The application has been updated accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6 and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phillips et al. (2018/0370781), hereinafter Phillips, in view of Schubeis (4,100,646).
Phillips discloses:
Claim 1: A lift device (Fig. 6; 100), comprising:
a base (Fig. 12; 169);
a mast assembly (Fig. 7; 170);
a platform assembly (Fig. 7; 160) pivotally coupled to the mast assembly (Para. [0046]);
a guardrail assembly (Fig. 7; 120,130) pivotally coupled to the mast assembly (Para. [0046]) and including a guardrail (Fig. 7; 130A/B) and a door (Fig. 7; 120) pivotally coupled to a free end of the guardrail (Para. [0049]), wherein the door is configured to pivot between a closed position and an open position (Para. [0049]), wherein the door includes a coupling flange that extends outwardly from an inner side of the door (Fig. 7; 127), and wherein the guardrail assembly is configured to pivot between a working position (Fig. 7) and a folded position (Fig. 10);
but fails to disclose an automatic door hinge assembly including:
a hinge rod rotationally fixed relative to the guardrail and including a plurality of helical protrusions;
a hinge channel extending through the door and including a plurality of helical recesses, wherein each of the plurality of helical protrusions is received within a corresponding one of the plurality of helical recesses; and
a hinge rod spring biased between the guardrail and a top surface of the coupling flange and configured to generate a biasing force on the door that biases the door toward the closed position, wherein when the guardrail assembly is in the working position and the door is pivoted from the closed position to the open position by a force applied to the door, the door translates axially along the hinge rod, against the biasing force of the hinge rod spring, due to an interaction between the plurality of helical protrusions and the plurality of helical recesses, and wherein when the force is removed from the door, the biasing force applied to the door by the hinge rod spring automatically pivots the door from the open position to the closed position.
However, Schubeis discloses an automatic door hinge assembly (abstract) including:
a hinge rod (Fig. 1; 12) rotationally fixed relative to the guardrail and including a plurality of helical protrusions (Fig. 1; 14);
a hinge channel (Fig. 1; 9) including a plurality of helical recesses (Fig. 1; 11), wherein each of the plurality of helical protrusions is received within a corresponding one of the plurality of helical recesses (Col. 2, Lines 5-9); and
a hinge rod spring (Fig. 1; 15) configured to generate a biasing force on the door that biases the door toward the closed position (Col. 3, Lines 5-23), wherein the door is pivoted from the closed position to the open position by a force applied to the door, the door translates axially along the hinge rod, against the biasing force of the hinge rod spring, due to an interaction between the plurality of helical protrusions and the plurality of helical recesses, and wherein when the force is removed from the door, the biasing force applied to the door by the hinge rod spring automatically pivots the door from the open position to the closed position (Col. 3, Lines 5-23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Phillips to include the automatic hinge, as taught by Schubeis, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would ensure that the gate closes and remains closed when an operator is using the lift.
Thus, in combination Phillips and Schubeis disclose the hinge rod, of Schubeis, rotationally fixed relative to the guardrail, of Phillips, and including a plurality of helical protrusions, of Schubeis;
a hinge channel, of Schubeis, extending through the door, of Phillips, and including a plurality of helical recesses, wherein each of the plurality of helical protrusions is received within a corresponding one of the plurality of helical recesses, as taught by Schubeis; and
a hinge rod spring, of Schubeis, biased between the guardrail and a top surface of the coupling flange, of Phillips, and configured to generate a biasing force on the door that biases the door toward the closed position, as taught by Schubeis, wherein when the guardrail assembly, of Phillips, is in the working position and the door is pivoted from the closed position to the open position by a force applied to the door, the door translates axially along the hinge rod, against the biasing force of the hinge rod spring, due to an interaction between the plurality of helical protrusions and the plurality of helical recesses, and wherein when the force is removed from the door, the biasing force applied to the door by the hinge rod spring automatically pivots the door from the open position to the closed position, as taught by Schubeis.
Claim 2: Phillips and Schubeis disclose the lift device of claim 1, wherein the hinge rod is rotationally fixed (Schubeis – Fig. 1; 12, Col. 2, Lines 3-17) to the guardrail by a coupling rod (Schubeis – Fig. 1; 4) that extends through a center channel of the hinge rod (Schubeis – Col. 2, Lines 3-17).
Claim 3: Phillips and Schubeis disclose the lift device of claim 2, wherein the center channel and the coupling rod define complementary geometries so that the hinge rod is prevented from rotating relative to the coupling rod (Schubeis – Col. 2, Lines 3-17).
Claim 4: Phillips and Schubeis disclose the lift device of claim 1, wherein the hinge channel extends axially through a coupling flange (Phillips – Fig. 1; 127) that extends outwardly from an inner side of the door (Phillips - Fig. 7; 120).
Claim 6: Phillips and Schubeis disclose the lift device of claim 1, wherein pivotal movement of the door toward the closed position is limited by a stop surface (Schubeis – Fig. 1; 8) of the coupling flange engaging a guardrail surface of the guardrail (Phillips - Fig. 7; 130).
Claim 8: Phillips discloses a lift device (Fig. 6; 100), comprising:
a base (Fig. 12; 169);
a mast assembly (Fig. 7; 170);
a platform assembly (Fig. 7; 160) pivotally coupled to the mast assembly (Para. [0046]);
a guardrail assembly (Fig. 7; 120,130) pivotally coupled to the mast assembly (Para. [0046]) and including a guardrail (Fig. 7; 130A/B) and a door (Fig. 7; 139) pivotally coupled to a free end of the guardrail (Para. [0050]), wherein the door is configured to pivot between a closed position and an open position (Para. [0050]), and wherein the platform assembly and the guardrail assembly are both configured to pivot between a working position (Fig. 7) and a folded position (Fig. 10);
wherein when the platform assembly and the guardrail assembly pivot from the working position to the folded position, the door is brought into engagement with the platform assembly (Fig. 10);
but fails to disclose an automatic door hinge assembly including:
a hinge rod rotationally fixed relative to the guardrail and including a plurality of helical protrusions;
a hinge channel extending through the door and including a plurality of helical recesses, wherein each of the plurality of helical protrusions is received within a corresponding one of the plurality of helical recesses; and
a hinge rod spring biased between the guardrail and the door and configured to generate a biasing force on the door that biases the door toward the closed position, wherein the engagement between the door and the platform assembly overcomes the biasing force of the hinge rod spring and translates the door along the hinge rod, against the biasing force of the hinge rod spring, and automatically rotates the door from the closed position toward the open position due to an interaction between the plurality of helical protrusions and the plurality of helical recesses.
However, Schubeis discloses an automatic door hinge assembly (abstract) including:
a hinge rod (Fig. 1; 12) rotationally fixed relative to the guardrail and including a plurality of helical protrusions (Fig. 1; 14);
a hinge channel (Fig. 1; 9) including a plurality of helical recesses (Fig. 1; 11), wherein each of the plurality of helical protrusions is received within a corresponding one of the plurality of helical recesses (Col. 2, Lines 5-9); and
a hinge rod spring (Fig. 1; 15) biased between the guardrail and the door and configured to generate a biasing force on the door that biases the door toward the closed position (Col. 3, Lines 5-23), wherein the engagement between the door and the platform assembly overcomes the biasing force of the hinge rod spring and translates the door along the hinge rod, against the biasing force of the hinge rod spring, and automatically rotates the door from the closed position toward the open position due to an interaction between the plurality of helical protrusions and the plurality of helical recesses (Col. 3, Lines 5-23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Phillips to include the automatic hinge, as taught by Schubeis, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would ensure that the gate closes and remains closed when an operator is using the lift.
Thus, in combination Phillips and Schubeis disclose the hinge rod, of Schubeis, rotationally fixed relative to the guardrail, of Phillips, including a plurality of helical protrusions, of Schubeis;
a hinge channel, of Schubeis, extending through the door, of Phillips, and including a plurality of helical recesses, wherein each of the plurality of helical protrusions is received within a corresponding one of the plurality of helical recesses, as taught by Schubeis; and
a hinge rod spring, of Schubeis, biased between the guardrail and the door, of Phillips, and configured to generate a biasing force on the door that biases the door toward the closed position, as taught by Schubeis, wherein the engagement between the door and the platform assembly, of Phillips, overcomes the biasing force of the hinge rod spring and translates the door along the hinge rod against the biasing force of the hinge rod spring, and automatically rotates the door from the closed position toward the open position due to an interaction between the plurality of helical protrusions and the plurality of helical recesses, as taught by Schubeis.
Claim 9: Phillips and Schubeis disclose the lift device of claim 8, wherein the hinge rod is rotationally fixed (Schubeis – Fig. 1; 12, Col. 2, Lines 3-17) to the guardrail by a coupling rod (Schubeis – Fig. 1; 4) that extends through a center channel of the hinge rod (Schubeis – Col. 2, Lines 3-17).
Claim 10: Phillips and Schubeis disclose the lift device of claim 9, wherein the center channel and the coupling rod define complementary geometries so that the hinge rod is prevented from rotating relative to the coupling rod (Schubeis – Col. 2, Lines 3-17).
Claim 11: Phillips discloses the lift device of claim 8, wherein the hinge channel extends axially through a coupling flange (Fig. 8; 132) that extends outwardly from an inner side of the door (Fig. 7; 139).
Claim 12: Phillips discloses the lift device of claim 8, wherein the door includes a coupling flange (Fig. 8; 132) that extends outwardly from an inner side of the door (Fig. 7; 139).
Claim 13: Phillips and Schubeis disclose the lift device of claim 12, wherein pivotal movement of the door toward the closed position is limited by a stop surface (Schubeis – Fig. 1; 8) of the coupling flange engaging a guardrail surface of the guardrail (Phillips - Fig. 7; 130).
Claim 14: Phillips and Schubeis disclose the lift device of claim 12, wherein the hinge rod spring (Schubeis – Fig. 1; 15) is biased between the guardrail (Phillips - Fig. 7; 130) and a top surface of the coupling flange (Phillips - Fig. 8; 132).
Claim 15: Phillips and Schubeis disclose the lift device of claim 8, wherein when the guardrail assembly is in the working position (Phillips - Fig. 7) and the door is pivoted from the closed position to the open position by a force applied to the door, the door translates axially along the hinge rod, against the biasing force of the hinge rod spring, due to the interaction between the plurality of helical protrusions and the plurality of helical recesses, and wherein when the force is removed from the door, the biasing force applied to the door by the hinge rod spring automatically pivots the door from the open position to the closed position (Schubeis - Col. 3, Lines 5-23).
Claim 16: Phillips discloses a lift device (Fig. 6; 100), comprising:
a base (Fig. 12; 169);
a mast assembly (Fig. 7; 170);
a platform assembly (Fig. 7; 160) pivotally coupled to the mast assembly (Para. [0046]);
a guardrail assembly (Fig. 7; 120,130) pivotally coupled to the mast assembly (Para. [0046]) and including a guardrail (Fig. 7; 130A/B) and a door (Fig. 7; 139) pivotally coupled to a free end of the guardrail (Para. [0050]), wherein the door is configured to pivot between a closed position and an open position (Para. [0050]), and wherein the platform assembly and the guardrail assembly are both configured to pivot between a working position (Fig. 7) and a folded position (Fig. 10);
wherein when the platform assembly and the guardrail assembly pivot from folded position to the working position, the door is brought into engagement with the platform assembly (Fig. 10);
but fails to disclose an automatic door hinge assembly including:
a hinge rod rotationally fixed relative to the guardrail and including a plurality of helical protrusions;
a hinge channel extending through the door and including a plurality of helical recesses, wherein each of the plurality of helical protrusions is received within a corresponding one of the plurality of helical recesses; and
a hinge rod spring biased between the guardrail and the door and configured to generate a biasing force on the door that biases the door toward the closed position, so that the door automatically rotates from the closed position toward the open position due to an interaction between the plurality of helical protrusions and the plurality of helical recesses, and wherein when the platform assembly and the guardrail assembly pivot from the working position to the folded position, the biasing force applied to the door by the hinge rod spring automatically pivots the door from the open position to the closed position.
However, Schubeis discloses an automatic door hinge assembly (abstract) including:
a hinge rod (Fig. 1; 2) rotationally fixed relative to the guardrail and including a plurality of helical protrusions (Fig. 1; 14);
a hinge channel (Fig. 1; 9) including a plurality of helical recesses (Fig. 1; 11), wherein each of the plurality of helical protrusions is received within a corresponding one of the plurality of helical recesses (Col. 2, Lines 5-9); and
a hinge rod spring (Fig. 1; 15) biased between the guardrail and the door and configured to generate a biasing force on the door that biases the door toward the closed position (Col. 3, Lines 5-23), so that the door automatically rotates from the closed position toward the open position due to an interaction between the plurality of helical protrusions and the plurality of helical recesses, and wherein the biasing force applied to the door by the hinge rod spring automatically pivots the door from the open position to the closed position (Col. 3, Lines 5-23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Phillips to include the automatic hinge, as taught by Schubeis, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would ensure that the gate closes and remains closed when an operator is using the lift.
Thus, in combination Phillips and Schubeis disclose the hinge rod, of Schubeis, rotationally fixed relative to the guardrail, of Phillips, including a plurality of helical protrusions, of Schubeis;
a hinge channel, of Schubeis, extending through the door, of Phillips, and including a plurality of helical recesses, wherein each of the plurality of helical protrusions is received within a corresponding one of the plurality of helical recesses, as taught by Schubeis; and
a hinge rod spring, of Schubeis, biased between the guardrail and the door, of Phillips, and configured to generate a biasing force on the door that biases the door toward the closed position, as taught by Schubeis, so that the door automatically rotates from the closed position toward the open position due to an interaction between the plurality of helical protrusions and the plurality of helical recesses, and wherein when the platform assembly and the guardrail assembly pivot from the working position to the folded position, of Phillips, the biasing force applied to the door by the hinge rod spring automatically pivots the door from the open position to the closed position as taught by Schubeis.
Claim 17: Phillips and Schubeis disclose the lift device of claim 16, wherein when the guardrail assembly is in the working position (Phillips - Fig. 7) and the door is pivoted from the closed position to the open position by a force applied to the door, the door translates axially along the hinge rod, against the biasing force of the hinge rod spring, due to the interaction between the plurality of helical protrusions and the plurality of helical recesses, and wherein when the force is removed from the door, the biasing force applied to the door by the hinge rod spring automatically pivots the door from the open position to the closed position (Schubeis - Col. 3, Lines 5-23).
Claim 18: Phillips and Schubeis disclose the lift device of claim 16, wherein the door includes a coupling flange (Phillips - Fig. 8; 132) that extends outwardly from an inner side of the door (Phillips - Fig. 7; 139).
Claim 19: Phillips and Schubeis disclose the lift device of claim 18, wherein pivotal movement of the door toward the closed position is limited by a stop surface (Schubeis – Fig. 1; 8) of the coupling flange engaging a guardrail surface of the guardrail (Phillips - Fig. 7; 130).
Claim 20: Phillips and Schubeis disclose the lift device of claim 18, wherein the hinge rod spring (Schubeis – Fig. 1; 15) is biased between the guardrail (Phillips - Fig. 7; 130) and a top surface of the coupling flange (Phillips - Fig. 8; 132).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 18, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the prior art rejections the applicant argues that the combined teachings of Phillips and Schubeis fail to disclose a spring biased between the guardrail and a top surface of the coupling flange. This argument is not persuasive in light of the new rejection of claim 1 above. Accordingly, the hinge rod spring, of Schubeis, is biased between the guardrail and a top surface of the coupling flange, of Phillips, and configured to generate a biasing force on the door that biases the door toward the closed position, as taught by Schubeis. The applicant further argues that the combined teachings of Phillips and Schubeis fail to disclose that the door is brought into engagement with the platform assembly when brought from the working position to the folded position. This argument is not persuasive in light of the new rejection of claims 8 and 16, as detailed above. Accordingly, the door (Phillips - 139) comes in contact with the platform (Phillips - 160) when brought from the working position to the folded position as shown in Fig. 10.
For at least these reasons the applicant’s remarks are not found persuasive and the claims remain rejected as advanced above.
Conclusion
/Kathleen M. McFarland/Examiner, Art Unit 3635
Kathleen M. McFarland
Examiner
Art Unit 3635
/BRIAN D MATTEI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3635