DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the applicants' communication filed on February 14, 2024. In virtue of this communication, claims 1-20 are currently presented in the instant application.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on February 14, 2024 have been reviewed and accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 7, 10, 11, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pub No.: US US-20240147328-A1 (herein “Kim”).
Claims 1 and 10
Consider claim 10, Kim teaches A distributed unit (DU) of a base station (see Kim Fig. 1B, Fig. 15A, [0106], [0338], [0339] note base station distributed units gNB-DU) in a wireless communication system, the DU of the base station comprising:
a transceiver (see Kim Fig. 15A, note TX processing system 1510 and RX processing system 1512); and
a controller (see Kim Fig. 15A, note processing system 1508) coupled with the transceiver and configured to:
identify that a layer triggered mobility (LTM) is triggered based on a measurement report received from a user equipment (UE) (see Kim [0438], [0442] note the wireless device may transmit, for the network to determine to perform the LTM, a report comprising one or more measurements (e.g., L1 measurement and/or L3 measurement) of radio channel(s) over which the wireless device receives one or more reference signals from the network. The network may determine to perform (e.g., trigger and/or initiate) the LTM based on the report comprising the one or more measurements), and
transmit, to a central unit (CU) of the base station, a first message for notifying that the LTM is triggered (see Kim [0438], [0442] note the network may determine to perform (e.g., trigger and/or initiate) the LTM based on the report comprising the one or more measurements. The network may determine, based on the one or more measurements, which cell, among one or more cells configured for the LTM (e.g., as potential target cells for L1/L2 triggered mobility), is a target cell of the LTM. The network may indicate the target cell by transmitting, to the wireless device, the L1/L2 signaling that comprises one or more indications indicating the target cell and/or a trigger (e.g., perform and/or initiate) the LTM to the target cell. The network may determine, based on the one or more measurements, when to transmit, to the wireless device, the indication of the L1/L2 signaling to trigger (e.g., perform and/or initiate) the LTM to the target cell).
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 10.
Claims 2 and 11
Consider claim 11, Kim teaches wherein the first message includes an indicator associated with a cell switch based on the LTM (see Kim [0438] note an L1/L2 triggered mobility (LTM) may refer to a handover or cell switch (e.g., from a current serving cell to a target cell) that a wireless device initiates, triggers, execute, performs (e.g., in response to receiving an L1 control signaling (e.g., DCI) and/or an L2 control signaling (e.g., MAC CE).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 11.
Claims 6 and 15
Consider claim 15, Kim teaches A central unit (CU) of a base station (see Kim Fig. 1B, Fig. 15A, [0106], [0338], [0339] note base station distributed units gNB-CU) in a wireless communication system, the CU of the base station comprising:
a transceiver (see Kim Fig. 15A, note TX processing system 1510 and RX processing system 1512); and
a controller (see Kim Fig. 15A, note processing system 1508) coupled with the transceiver and configured to:
receive, from a distributed unit (DU) of the base station, a first message for notifying that a layer triggered mobility (LTM) is triggered, wherein the LTM is identified by the DU of the base station based on a measurement report received from a user equipment (UE) (see Kim [0438], [0442] note the wireless device may transmit, for the network to determine to perform the LTM, a report comprising one or more measurements (e.g., L1 measurement and/or L3 measurement) of radio channel(s) over which the wireless device receives one or more reference signals from the network. The network may determine to perform (e.g., trigger and/or initiate) the LTM based on the report comprising the one or more measurements. The network may determine to perform (e.g., trigger and/or initiate) the LTM based on the report comprising the one or more measurements. The network may determine, based on the one or more measurements, which cell, among one or more cells configured for the LTM (e.g., as potential target cells for L1/L2 triggered mobility), is a target cell of the LTM. The network may indicate the target cell by transmitting, to the wireless device, the L1/L2 signaling that comprises one or more indications indicating the target cell and/or a trigger (e.g., perform and/or initiate) the LTM to the target cell. The network may determine, based on the one or more measurements, when to transmit, to the wireless device, the indication of the L1/L2 signaling to trigger (e.g., perform and/or initiate) the LTM to the target cell).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 15.
Claims 7 and 16
Consider claim 16, Kim teaches wherein the first message includes an indicator associated with a cell switch based on the LTM (see Kim [0438] note an L1/L2 triggered mobility (LTM) may refer to a handover or cell switch (e.g., from a current serving cell to a target cell) that a wireless device initiates, triggers, execute, performs (e.g., in response to receiving an L1 control signaling (e.g., DCI) and/or an L2 control signaling (e.g., MAC CE).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, 5, 8, 9, 12, 13, 14, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pub No.: US US-20240147328-A1 (herein “Kim”), and further in view of Pub No.: US US-20260089533-A1 (herein “Yuan”)
Claims 3 and 12
Consider claim 12, Kim fails to teach wherein the controller is further configured to: receive, from the CU of the base station, a second message for notifying that a layer 3 (L3) handover is triggered, wherein the second message is received within a predetermined time period based on a transmission of the first message; and identify that the LTM has a higher priority than the L3 handover. Yuan teaches receiving an L1/L2 handover command within a time window of receiving an L3 handover command, determining that the priority command is the L1/L2 handover instead of the L3 handover, then executing the L1/L2 handover command instead of the L3 handover command (see Yuan Fig. 7, [0102], [0121]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the recited teaching of Yuan. Such a modification would improve Kim by providing greater improvements in the areas of speed and/or efficiency (see Kim [0506])
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 12.
Claims 4 and 13
Consider claim 13, Kim as modified by Yuan teach wherein the second message includes an indicator for indicating to stop data transmission to the UE (see Yuan Fig. 7, [0102], [0121] note receiving an L3 handover command, then executing the L1/L2 handover command).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 13.
Claims 5 and 14
Consider claim 14, Kim fails to teach wherein, in case that a third message for notifying that an L3 handover is triggered is received before the LTM is triggered, the L3 handover has a higher priority than the LTM. Yuan teaches receiving an L1/L2 handover command outside of a time window of receiving an L3 handover command, determining that the priority command is the L3 handover instead of the L1/L2 handover, then executing the L3 handover command instead of the L1/L2 handover command (see Yuan Fig. 7, [0101]-[0103], [0121]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the recited teaching of Yuan. Such a modification would improve Kim by providing greater improvements in the areas of speed and/or efficiency (see Kim [0506])
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 5.
Claims 8 and 17
Consider claim 17, Kim fails to teach wherein the controller is further configured to: transmit, to the DU of the base station, a second message including second message for notifying that a layer 3 (L3) handover is triggered, wherein the second message is received within a predetermined time period based on a reception of the first message, wherein the LTM is identified by the DU of the base station as having a higher priority than the L3 handover, and wherein the second message includes an indicator for indicating to stop data transmission to the UE. Yuan teaches receiving an L1/L2 handover command within a time window of receiving an L3 handover command, determining that the priority command is the L1/L2 handover instead of the L3 handover, then executing the L1/L2 handover command instead of the L3 handover command (see Yuan Fig. 7, [0102], [0121]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the recited teaching of Yuan. Such a modification would improve Kim by providing greater improvements in the areas of speed and/or efficiency (see Kim [0506])
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 17.
Claims 9 and 18
Consider claim 18, Kim fails to teach wherein, in case that a third message for notifying that an L3 handover is triggered is received before the LTM is triggered, the L3 handover has a higher priority than the LTM. Yuan teaches receiving an L1/L2 handover command outside of a time window of receiving an L3 handover command, determining that the priority command is the L3 handover instead of the L1/L2 handover, then executing the L3 handover command instead of the L1/L2 handover command (see Yuan Fig. 7, [0101]-[0103], [0121]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the recited teaching of Yuan. Such a modification would improve Kim by providing greater improvements in the areas of speed and/or efficiency (see Kim [0506])
Claims 19 and 20
Consider claim 20, Kim teaches a user equipment (UE) (see Kim Fig. 15A, note Wireless Device 1502) in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising:
a transceiver (see Kim Fig. 15A, note TX processing system 1520 and RX processing system 1522); and
a controller (see Kim Fig. 15A, note processing system 1518) coupled with the transceiver and configured to:
transmit, to a distributed unit (DU) of a base station, a measurement report, and receive, from the DU of the base station, switching command message based on a layer triggered mobility (LTM), wherein the LTM is triggered based on the measurement report (see Kim [0438], [0442] note the wireless device may transmit, for the network to determine to perform the LTM, a report comprising one or more measurements (e.g., L1 measurement and/or L3 measurement) of radio channel(s) over which the wireless device receives one or more reference signals from the network. The network may determine to perform (e.g., trigger and/or initiate) the LTM based on the report comprising the one or more measurements. The network may determine to perform (e.g., trigger and/or initiate) the LTM based on the report comprising the one or more measurements. The network may determine, based on the one or more measurements, which cell, among one or more cells configured for the LTM (e.g., as potential target cells for L1/L2 triggered mobility), is a target cell of the LTM. The network may indicate the target cell by transmitting, to the wireless device, the L1/L2 signaling that comprises one or more indications indicating the target cell and/or a trigger (e.g., perform and/or initiate) the LTM to the target cell. The network may determine, based on the one or more measurements, when to transmit, to the wireless device, the indication of the L1/L2 signaling to trigger (e.g., perform and/or initiate) the LTM to the target cell).
Kim fails to teach wherein, in case that the LTM is triggered before a trigger of a layer 3 (L3) handover, the LTM has a higher priority than the L3 handover. Yuan teaches receiving an L1/L2 handover command within a time window of receiving an L3 handover command, determining that the priority command is the L1/L2 handover instead of the L3 handover, then executing the L1/L2 handover command instead of the L3 handover command (see Yuan Fig. 7, [0102], [0121]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim to include the recited teaching of Yuan. Such a modification would improve Kim by providing greater improvements in the areas of speed and/or efficiency (see Kim [0506])
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 20.
Contact Information
/MARCUS HAMMONDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647