DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1–20 are pending.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2024/0186650 A1.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 14 February 2024 was filed before the mailing of a first Office Action on the merits. The submission complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
FIGS. 1–24 do not have satisfactory reproduction characteristics. See US 2024/0186650 A1. The lines are not sufficiently dense and dark to permit adequate reproduction. All drawings must be made by a process, which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines however fine, to shading, and to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. Lines and strokes of different thicknesses may be used in the same drawing where different thicknesses have a different meaning. See 37 CFR 1.84 (l).
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: DEGASSING UNIT INCLUDING MEMBRANE CARRIER MATERIAL-FUSED WITH MEMBRANE TO BLOCK AXIAL MOBILITY AND BATTERY HOUSING INCLUDING THE SAME.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Reference character 63 is referred to as a snap hook in paragraph [0093]. Reference character 63 is used to designate a snap connection; and reference character 631 is used to designate a snap hook. Reference character 631 should be used to designate a snap hook in paragraph [0093].
Appropriate correction is required.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the membrane carrier is configured to be sealed around the gas passage opening circumferentially and fluid-tightly in relation to the main body." It is unclear if the phrase "in relation to the main body" is further limiting only the immediate adjacent limitation (i.e., fluid-tightly) or all preceding limitations (i.e., circumferentially and fluid-tightly).
Claims 2–7 are directly or indirectly dependent from claim 1 and include all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claims 2–7 are also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the membrane support device" in lines 1–2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1, which claim 8 is directly dependent, recites the limitation "a fluid-permeable support device." The Office recommends the limitation "the fluid-permeable membrane support device" in claims 8–11.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the gas passage region" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 12 has previously recited the limitation "a fluid-permeable gas passage region" in line 2. The Office recommends the limitation "the fluid-permeable gas passage region " in lines 3 and 6.
Claims 13–19 are directly or indirectly dependent from claim 1 and include all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claims 13–19 are also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the membrane carrier is configured to be sealed around the gas passage opening circumferentially and fluid-tightly in relation to the main body." It is unclear if the phrase "in relation to the main body" is further limiting only the immediate adjacent limitation (i.e., fluid-tightly) or all preceding limitations (i.e., circumferentially and fluid-tightly).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 8–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu et al. (CN 107178638 A, hereinafter Xu).
Regarding claim 1, Xu discloses a degassing unit (FIG. 1, [0026]) for a battery housing, the degassing unit comprising:
a main body (1) comprising at least one fastening means action region configured to attach the degassing unit fluid-tightly to a rim of a pressure compensation opening of the battery housing (FIG. 1, [0026]); and a gas passage opening (20, [0028]);
a membrane (4) configured to cover the gas passage opening (20, [0026]);
a fluid-permeable membrane support device (5) spanned across the membrane (4) at an inner side of the membrane (4, [0026]); and
a membrane carrier (6, 14) separate from the main body (1) and configured to be connected by a reversibly detachable fastening device (13) to the main body (1) such that a relative mobility of the membrane carrier (6, 14) and the main body (1) relative to each other is blocked in an axial direction (FIG. 1, [0026]),
wherein the membrane (4) is fastened by material fusion to the membrane carrier (6, 14; [0030]), and
wherein the membrane carrier (6, 14) is configured to be sealed around the gas passage opening (20) circumferentially and fluid-tightly in relation to the main body (1, [0026]).
Regarding claim 2, Xu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a degassing unit:
wherein the reversibly detachable fastening device (13) comprises one among a bayonet connection, a snap connection, and a holding element (FIG. 1, [0030]).
Regarding claim 8, Xu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a degassing unit:
wherein the membrane support device (5) is a component separate from the membrane carrier (6, 14; [0026]), and
wherein the membrane support device (5) is arranged at an inner side of the main body (1, [0026]).
Regarding claim 9, Xu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a degassing unit:
wherein the membrane support device (5) is connected immediately to the main body (1) at the inner side of the main body (1, [0026]).
Regarding claim 10, Xu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a degassing unit:
wherein the membrane support device (5) is the reversibly detachable fastening device (13) and acts as a holding element (5) holding the membrane carrier (6, 14) with form fit at the main body (1, [0026]).
Regarding claim 11, Xu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a degassing unit:
wherein the membrane support device (5) is formed monolithically with the membrane carrier (6, 14; [0026]).
Regarding claim 12, Xu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a degassing unit:
wherein the membrane carrier (6, 14) comprises a fluid-permeable gas passage region (8) and a membrane fastening region (16) circumferentially surrounding the gas passage region (8, [0031]),
wherein the membrane (4) is connected circumferentially to the membrane carrier (6, 14) in the membrane fastening region (16, [0031]), and
wherein the membrane (4) completely covers the gas passage region (8, [0026]).
Regarding claim 13, Xu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a degassing unit:
wherein the membrane (4) is a semipermeable membrane configured to permit passage of gaseous media from an environment into the battery housing and in reverse, and to prevent passage of liquid media and/or solids (FIG. 1, [00216]).
Regarding claim 14, Xu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a degassing unit:
wherein the membrane carrier (6, 14) has a round cross section or a polygonal cross section (FIG. 1, [0026]).
Regarding claim 15, Xu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a degassing unit:
wherein the membrane carrier (6, 14) is sealed by a circumferentially extending seal element (14) in relation to the main body (1, [0030]), and
wherein the circumferentially extending seal element (14) is an O-ring seal or a seal lip (FIG. 1, [0030]).
Regarding claim 16, Xu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a degassing unit:
wherein the circumferentially extending seal element (14) is a radially and/or axially acting seal element (FIG. 1, [0030]).
Regarding claim 17, Xu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a degassing unit:
wherein the membrane carrier (6, 14) is connected from an outer side of the degassing unit to the main body (1, [0030]), and
wherein the membrane carrier (6, 14) is arranged at an outer side of the main body (1, [0026]).
Regarding claim 18, Xu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a degassing unit:
wherein the membrane carrier (6, 14) is connected from an inner side of the degassing unit to the main body (1, [0026]), and
wherein the membrane carrier (6, 14) is arranged at an inner side of the main body (1, [0026]).
Regarding claim 19, Xu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a degassing unit, further comprising:
a cover (2) comprising at least one venting opening (29, [0029]),
wherein the cover (2) is connected externally to the main body (1) and/or to the membrane carrier (6, 14; [0026]).
Regarding claim 20, Xu discloses a battery housing configured to receive battery cells, the battery housing comprising at least one housing wall with a pressure compensation opening (see battery box body. [0001]); and a degassing unit (FIG. 1, [0026]) comprising:
a main body (1) comprising at least one fastening means action region configured to attach the degassing unit fluid-tightly to a rim of a pressure compensation opening of the battery housing (FIG. 1, [0026]); and a gas passage opening (20, [0028]);
a membrane (4) configured to cover the gas passage opening (20, [0026]);
a fluid-permeable membrane support device (5) spanned across the membrane (4) at an inner side of the membrane (4, [0026]); and
a membrane carrier (6, 14) separate from the main body (1) and configured to be connected by a reversibly detachable fastening device (13) to the main body (1) such that a relative mobility of the membrane carrier (6, 14) and the main body (1) relative to each other is blocked in an axial direction (FIG. 1, [0026]),
wherein the membrane (4) is fastened by material fusion to the membrane carrier (6, 14; [0030]), and
wherein the membrane carrier (6, 14) is configured to be sealed around the gas passage opening (20) circumferentially and fluid-tightly in relation to the main body (1, [0026]).
a main body (1) comprising at least one fastening means action region configured to attach the degassing unit fluid-tightly to a rim of a pressure compensation opening of the battery housing (FIG. 1, [0026]); and a gas passage opening (20, [0028]);
a membrane (4) configured to cover the gas passage opening (20, [0026]);
a fluid-permeable membrane support device (5) spanned across the membrane (4) at an inner side of the membrane (4, [0026]); and
a membrane carrier (6, 14) separate from the main body (1) and configured to be connected by a reversibly detachable fastening device (13) to the main body (1) such that a relative mobility of the membrane carrier (6, 14) and the main body (1) relative to each other is blocked in an axial direction (FIG. 1, [0026]),
wherein the membrane (4) is fastened by material fusion to the membrane carrier (6, 14; [0030]), and
wherein the membrane carrier (6, 14) is configured to be sealed around the gas passage opening (20) circumferentially and fluid-tightly in relation to the main body (1, [0026]).
Claims 1, 3–7, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Casey et al. (US 2022/0099205 A1, hereinafter Casey).
Regarding claim 1, Casey discloses a degassing unit (300) for a battery housing, the degassing unit comprising:
a main body (324) comprising at least one fastening means action region (326) configured to attach the degassing unit fluid-tightly to a rim of a pressure compensation opening of the battery housing (FIG. 3A, [0093]); and a gas passage opening (FIG. 3B, [0093]);
a membrane (310) configured to cover the gas passage opening (FIG. 3E, [0093]);
a fluid-permeable membrane support device (322) spanned across the membrane (310) at an inner side of the membrane (310, [0093]); and
a membrane carrier (328) separate from the main body (324) and configured to be connected by a reversibly detachable fastening device to the main body (324) such that a relative mobility of the membrane carrier (328) and the main body (324) relative to each other is blocked in an axial direction (FIG. 3A, [0093]),
wherein the membrane (310) is fastened by material fusion to the membrane carrier (FIG. 3A, [0093]), and
wherein the membrane carrier (328) is configured to be sealed around the gas passage opening circumferentially and fluid-tightly in relation to the main body (324, [0117]).
Regarding claim 3, Casey discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a degassing unit:
wherein the reversibly detachable fastening device is a bayonet connection (FIG. 3B, [0117]), and
wherein the membrane carrier (328) is configured to rotate in relation to the main body (1), and to transfer the bayonet connection from a blocked state into a released state, and vice versa (FIG. 3B, [0117]).
Regarding claim 4, Casey discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a degassing unit:
wherein an outer side of the membrane carrier (328) comprises a tool engagement region configured to introduce a torque (FIG. 3B, [0117]).
Regarding claim 5, Casey discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a degassing unit:
wherein the main body (324) comprises first bayonet connection means (FIG. 3B, [0117]),
wherein the membrane carrier (328) comprises second bayonet connection means (FIG. 3B, [0117]), and
wherein the first bayonet connection means and the second bayonet connection means together form the bayonet connection (FIG. 3B, [0117]).
Regarding claim 6, Casey discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a degassing unit:
wherein the first bayonet connection means and/or the second bayonet connection means comprise a rotation angle stop predetermining an intended rotation angle end position of the membrane carrier (328, [0117])).
Regarding claim 7, Casey discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a degassing unit:
wherein the first bayonet connection means and/or the second bayonet connection means comprise at least one ramp section extending in a circumferential direction of the bayonet connection (FIG. 3B, [0117]), and
wherein the at least one ramp section is configured to convert a relative rotation movement of the membrane carrier (328) in relation to the main body (324) into an axially oriented contact force (FIG. 3B, [0117]).
Regarding claim 20, Casey discloses a battery housing configured to receive battery cells, the battery housing comprising at least one housing wall with a pressure compensation opening; and a degassing unit (300, [0093]) comprising:
a main body (324) comprising at least one fastening means action region (326) configured to attach the degassing unit fluid-tightly to a rim of a pressure compensation opening of the battery housing (FIG. 3A, [0093]); and a gas passage opening (FIG. 3B, [0093]);
a membrane (310) configured to cover the gas passage opening (FIG. 3E, [0093]);
a fluid-permeable membrane support device (322) spanned across the membrane (310) at an inner side of the membrane (310, [0093]); and
a membrane carrier (328) separate from the main body (324) and configured to be connected by a reversibly detachable fastening device to the main body (324) such that a relative mobility of the membrane carrier (328) and the main body (324) relative to each other is blocked in an axial direction (FIG. 3A, [0093]),
wherein the membrane (310) is fastened by material fusion to the membrane carrier (FIG. 3A, [0093]), and
wherein the membrane carrier (328) is configured to be sealed around the gas passage opening circumferentially and fluid-tightly in relation to the main body (324, [0117]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Joswig (US 2015/0340673 A1) discloses a degassing unit (80) for a battery housing, the degassing unit comprising a main body (90) comprising at least one fastening means action region (93) configured to attach the degassing unit fluid-tightly to a rim of a pressure compensation opening of the battery housing (FIG. 9, [046]); and a gas passage opening (FIG. 9, [0046]); a membrane (11) configured to cover the gas passage opening (FIG. 9, [0046]); a fluid-permeable membrane support device (91) spanned across the membrane (11) at an inner side of the membrane (11, [0046]); and a membrane carrier (81) separate from the main body (90) and configured to be connected by a reversibly detachable fastening device to the main body (90) such that a relative mobility of the membrane carrier (81) and the main body (90) relative to each other is blocked in an axial direction (FIG. 9, [0046]), and wherein the membrane carrier (81) is configured to be sealed around the gas passage opening circumferentially and fluid-tightly in relation to the main body (90, [0046]).
Yue (DE 102020130036 A1) discloses a degassing unit (300) for a battery housing, the degassing unit comprising a main body (301) comprising at least one fastening means action region (302) configured to attach the degassing unit (300) fluid-tightly to a rim of a pressure compensation opening (230) of the battery housing (102, [0016]); and a gas passage opening (3401, [0027]); a membrane (3503) configured to cover the gas passage opening (3401, [0019]); a fluid-permeable membrane support device (3501) spanned across the membrane (3503) at an inner side of the membrane (3503, [0018]); and a membrane carrier (3502) separate from the main body (301) and configured to be connected by a reversibly detachable fastening device to the main body (301) such that a relative mobility of the membrane carrier (3502) and the main body (301) relative to each other is blocked in an axial direction (FIG. 3B, [0018]), wherein the membrane (3503) is fastened by material fusion to the membrane carrier (3502, [0023]), and wherein the membrane carrier (3502) is configured to be sealed around the gas passage opening (3401) circumferentially and fluid-tightly in relation to the main body (301, [0023]).
Zbiral (WO 2021/110316 A1) discloses a degassing unit (10) for a battery housing, the degassing unit comprising a main body (16) comprising at least one fastening means action region (36) configured to attach the degassing unit fluid-tightly to a rim of a pressure compensation opening of the battery housing (FIG. 2, [0058]); and a gas passage opening (40, [0058]); a membrane (38) configured to cover the gas passage opening (40, [0058]); a fluid-permeable membrane support device (44) spanned across the membrane (38) at an inner side of the membrane (38, [0058]); and a membrane carrier (42) separate from the main body (16) and configured to be connected by a reversibly detachable fastening device to the main body (16) such that a relative mobility of the membrane carrier (42) and the main body (16) relative to each other is blocked in an axial direction (FIG. 2, [0058]), wherein the membrane (38) is fastened by material fusion to the membrane carrier (42, [0035]), and wherein the membrane carrier (42) is configured to be sealed around the gas passage opening (40) circumferentially and fluid-tightly in relation to the main body (16, [0058]).
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725