DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 12, 18, 19 are amended. Claim(s) 1-6, 8-21 are pending. Claim 7 is cancelled.
Priority: 9/25/2023(FP)
Assignee: Yangtze Memory
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-6, 8-12, 17, 18, 19, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al.(20210173785), in view of Kavirayani et al.(20240094903), and further in view of Das et al.(20210049104).
Claim 1 is similar to claim 18 as shown below and therefore the same rejections are incorporated.
As per claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, in addition, Jin discloses:
wherein the first command is to instruct to write the first data, and the first command further comprises the first data, and the performing the operation on the first data in the first storage space according to the at least one first physical page address comprises: writing the first data at at least one physical address in the first storage space(Jin, [0040 -- The memory controller 200 may control the memory device 100 to perform the program operation, the read operation, or the erase operation in response to a request from the host. During the program operation, the memory controller 200 may provide a write command, a physical block address, and data to the memory device 100. ]).
As per claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, in addition, Jin discloses:
wherein the first command is to instruct to read the first data, and the performing the operation on the first data in the first storage space according to the at least one first physical page address comprises: reading the first data at the at least one first physical page address in the first storage space(Jin, [0040 -- During the read operation, the memory controller 200 may provide a read command and the physical block address to the memory device 100.]).
As per claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, in addition, Jin discloses:
wherein a controller of the memory system comprises a cache in which the first mapping relationship is stored(Jin, [0138 - The map data manager 420 may manage the first mapping table and the second mapping table by different address mapping methods. ]).
As per claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, in addition, Jin discloses:
in response to a second command comprising a second logical address of second data on which an operation is to be performed is received, obtaining a second physical page address corresponding to the second logical address according to a second mapping relationship, the second logical address corresponding to a second storage space of the memory(Jin, [0170 -- When the logical address corresponds to random write data, the main controller may store the mapping data generated based on the logical address in the first mapping table 421. ]);
and performing the operation on the second data in the second storage space according to the second physical page address, wherein the second storage space is a storage space that can support random read or random write(Jin, [0102 -- In addition, the main controller may determine whether the data input from the host 300 is random write data or sequential write data based on the logical address received from the host 300.]).
As per claim 9, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated, in addition, Jin discloses:
wherein the second mapping relationship is a mapping relationship comprising the second logical address, a physical block address corresponding to the second logical address, and a second physical page address corresponding to the physical block address(Jin, [0148 -- Specifically, in the first mapping table 421, the logical addresses and the physical address of the page unit may be mapped with each other one-to-one.]).
As per claim 10, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated, in addition, Jin discloses:
before the obtaining a second physical page address corresponding to the second logical address according to a second mapping relationship and the second logical address, establishing the second mapping relationship corresponding to the second logical address(Jin, [0163 -- When the logical address received from the host 300 is included in the first logical address range LBA 1 to LBA 1000, the main controller may store the mapping data generated based on the logical address in the first mapping table 421. When the logical address received from the host 300 is included in the second logical address range LBA 1001 to LBA 2000, the main controller may store the mapping data generated based on the logical address in the second mapping table 422. As described with reference to FIG. 4B,]);
and writing the second mapping relationship corresponding to the second logical address into the memory, wherein the performing the operation on the second data in the second storage space according to the second physical page address comprises: writing the second data at the second physical page address in the second storage space(Jin, [0168 -- The main controller may determine whether the logical address corresponds to random write data or sequential write data based on a length (or the number of successive logical addresses) received from the host 300. In FIG. 8, when the length of the logical address string, i.e., number of logical addresses, is equal to or greater than 10, the main controller may determine that the logical address corresponds to sequential write data.]).
As per claim 11, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated, in addition, Jin discloses:
wherein the second command is to instruct to read the second data, and the method further comprises: before the obtaining a second physical page address corresponding to the second logical address according to a second mapping relationship, in response to the second command, reading the second mapping relationship corresponding to the second logical address from the memory,(Jin, [0163 -- When the logical address received from the host 300 is included in the first logical address range LBA 1 to LBA 1000, the main controller may store the mapping data generated based on the logical address in the first mapping table 421. When the logical address received from the host 300 is included in the second logical address range LBA 1001 to LBA 2000, the main controller may store the mapping data generated based on the logical address in the second mapping table 422. As described with reference to FIG. 4B,]);
wherein the performing the operation on the second data in the second storage space according to the second physical page address comprises: reading the second data at the second physical page address in the second storage space(Jin, [0093 -- The first memory controller 200_1 may select a memory device group to perform the read operation based on the logical address received from the host 300. The first memory controller 200_1 may control the memory device group corresponding to the mapping table including the received logical address to perform the read operation.]).
As per claim 12, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated, in addition, Jin, Kavirayani does not explicitly disclose the following, however Das discloses:
wherein the second mapping relationship is a three-level mapping relationship that occupies more storage space than the two- level mapping relationship(Das, [0083 -- FIG. 4 illustrates a diagram of data structures at the intermediate physical addresses shown in FIGS. 2B and 3, according to an embodiment. In FIG. 4, data structures 401, 402, 403, and 404 are shown for the intermediate physical addresses A, B, C, and D of FIGS. 2B and 3, respectively. Each of the data structures 401, 402, 403, and 404 includes a pointer for each of the four (N=4) logical addresses mapped to the respective data structure. Each pointer points to a target physical address in the memory devices 106 where the actual data is to be read from, or written to, for the respective logical address.]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill at the time of filing to incorporate the features of Das into the system of Jin and Kavirayani for the benefit of implementing with single-level cells (SLC) to provide faster read speeds and require less sensing than blocks implemented with multi-level cells (MLC), triple-level cells (TLC), and quad-level cells (QLC)(Das, 0085).
As per claim 17, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, in addition, Jin discloses:
wherein the storage capacity of one of the zones is (1/n) times the storage capacity corresponding to the physical block of the memory of the memory system, and wherein 1<n≤256(Jin, [0087 -- A zone may be a physical area, the size of which is larger than that of a page. For example, a zone may correspond to at least two pages. For example, the zone may correspond to a single block or a group of blocks. The size of the physical area corresponding to the zone may be various. Thus, an entry in the second mapping table may be to one or more specific blocks.]).
As per claim 18, Jin discloses:
A controller(Jin, [0032 -- The memory device 100 operates under control of the memory controller], [0085 -- The first memory controller 200_1 may be a main controller that communicates with the host ]) comprising:
a processor(Jin, [0113 -- Referring to FIG. 5, the first memory controller 200_1 may include a host interface 210, a flash controller 220_1]);
and an interface circuit coupled to the processor and a memory(Jin, [0114 -- The host interface 210 may perform communication with the host 300 and the first memory controller]), wherein
the processor(Jin, [0114 -- The flash controller 220_1 may control overall operation of the first memory controller 200_1 and operation of the first memory device group]) is configured to:
in response to receiving a first command comprising a first logical address of first data on which an operation is to be performed(Jin, [0088 -- The first memory controller 200_1 may receive the request and the logical address from the host 300. The request may be a read request or a write request.]), determine at least one zone corresponding to the first logical address, the at least one zone corresponding to a first storage space of the memory(Jin, [0149 -- In the second mapping table 422, the logical address and the physical address of the zone unit may be mapped with each other N-to-one (N is a natural number equal to or greater than 1). In FIG. 7, one zone may be mapped with 250 logical addresses, although this is merely an example. One zone may be mapped with any suitable number of logical addresses.]);
and send a second command to the memory via the interface circuit to perform the operation on the first data according to the at least one first physical page address(Jin, [0127 -- When the logical address is included in a second logical address range, the operation controller 410 may provide the write command and the write data to the second memory controller 500. The second memory controller 500 may control the second memory device group 100_2 to store the write data based on the write command received from the operation controller 410.]), wherein a storage capacity of the zone is less than a storage capacity corresponding to the physical block of the memory(Jin, [0087 -- A zone may be a physical area, the size of which is larger than that of a page. For example, a zone may correspond to at least two pages. For example, the zone may correspond to a single block or a group of blocks. The size of the physical area corresponding to the zone may be various. Thus, an entry in the second mapping table may be to one or more specific blocks.]), and the first storage space is a storage space that supports sequential read and sequential write(Jin, [0176 -- When mapping data is stored in a specific mapping table according to which logical address range the logical address is included in, the mapping data is stored in the specific mapping table according to whether the logical address corresponds to the random write data or the sequential write data, as exemplified by FIGS. 7 and 8.]).
Jin does not explicitly disclose the following, however Kavirayani discloses:
obtain at least one first physical page address in a pointer mode corresponding to the at least one zone according to a first mapping relationship and the at least one zone(Kavirayani, [0089 -- the controller may determine the zone identifier (ID) and calculate the logical page offset inside the active zone from the logical address or LPI indicated in the host command, and the controller may perform the mapping update at the calculated logical page offset in the associated region 604 of the L2P mapping table… the controller may access the region 604 associated with the command in the L2P mapping table using the active zone ID, the controller may access the particular L2P entry associated with the command in the region 604 using the logical page offset, and the controller may update that L2P entry with the corresponding physical address where the data is stored ]), wherein the pointer mode comprises calculating the first logical address according to a preset algorithm to determine a pointer corresponding to the first logical address(Kavirayani, [0089 -- the controller may determine the zone identifier (ID) and calculate the logical page offset inside the active zone from the logical address or LPI indicated in the host command]), wherein the preset algorithm comprises performing a division calculation on calculation data carried by the first logical address to obtain a quotient and a remainder(Kavirayani, [0089 -- the controller may determine the zone identifier (ID) and calculate the logical page offset inside the active zone from the logical address or LPI indicated in the host command… the controller may calculate the zone ID of the zone 302, 402 associated with the host command (e.g., by dividing the LPI by the total number of zones, or applying the function: zone id=x/num_zones, where x is the LPI)… and calculate the logical page offset within the zone 302, 402 associated with the host command (e.g., by performing a modulo operation to obtain a remainder after dividing the LPI by the number of LPIs per zone, or the function: logical page offset within zone=x % num_lpi_per_zone)]), wherein the quotient indicates the at least one zone, and the remainder indicates the pointer(Kavirayani, [0089 -- determine the active zone ID from the zone ID… the controller may access the region 604 associated with the command in the L2P mapping table using the active zone ID, the controller may access the particular L2P entry associated with the command in the region 604 using the logical page offset]), and wherein the pointer indicates a sequence number of the at least one first physical page address among a plurality of physical page addresses corresponding to the at least one zone(Kavirayani, [0089 -- Afterwards, the controller may access the region 604 associated with the command in the L2P mapping table using the active zone ID, the controller may access the particular L2P entry associated with the command in the region 604 using the logical page offset, and the controller may update that L2P entry with the corresponding physical address where the data is stored]),;
Therefore it would have been obvious to a POSITA at the time of filing to incorporate the features of Kavirayani into the system of Jin for the benefit of receiving a write command with a logical address associated with a zone and a logical-to-physical mapping table is stored in the first and second volatile memories, and thus enabling to improve the performance of the storage device(Kavirayani, 0041, 0120).
Jin, Kaviravani does not explicitly disclose the following, however Das discloses:
wherein the first mapping relationship is a two-level mapping relationship(Das, [0073 -- A logical-to-physical address mapping table 200B (also referred to herein as “mapping table 200B”) is shown and includes columns for logical addresses 201B, mapped logical addresses 202B, and intermediate physical addresses 203B.], [0080 -- Each of the data structures 301, 302, 303, and 304 include a pointer to its respective intermediate physical address identified in FIG. 2B]), and wherein the two-level mapping relationship comprises a first-level mapping table that stores a physical address in a physical block indicating a second-level mapping table corresponding to a zone(Das, [0071 -- Each of the mapped logical addresses 202A has two (i.e., N=2) of the logical addresses 201A mapped thereto. Each of the mapped logical addresses 202A is mapped to one of the intermediate physical addresses 203A. For example, in FIG. 2A, logical addresses 1 and 2 are mapped to mapped logical address 1, which is mapped to intermediate physical address A], [0073 -- FIG. 2B illustrates a diagram of an example logical-to-physical address mapping table with four logical addresses mapped to an intermediate physical address, according to an embodiment. A logical-to-physical address mapping table 200B (also referred to herein as “mapping table 200B”) is shown and includes columns for logical addresses 201B, mapped logical addresses 202B, and intermediate physical addresses 203B.]), and the second-level mapping table corresponding to the zone stores a plurality of physical page addresses corresponding to the zone(Das, [0083 -- FIG. 4 illustrates a diagram of data structures at the intermediate physical addresses shown in FIGS. 2B and 3, according to an embodiment. In FIG. 4, data structures 401, 402, 403, and 404 are shown for the intermediate physical addresses A, B, C, and D of FIGS. 2B and 3, respectively. Each of the data structures 401, 402, 403, and 404 includes a pointer for each of the four (N=4) logical addresses mapped to the respective data structure. Each pointer points to a target physical address in the memory devices 106 where the actual data is to be read from, or written to, for the respective logical address.]);
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill at the time of filing to incorporate the features of Das into the system of Jin and Kavirayani for the benefit of implementing with single-level cells (SLC) to provide faster read speeds and require less sensing than blocks implemented with multi-level cells (MLC), triple-level cells (TLC), and quad-level cells (QLC)(Das, 0085).
Claim 19 is similar to claim 18 as shown below and therefore the same mappings are incorporated.
As per claim 21, the rejection of claim 18 is incorporated, in addition, Jin in view of Rho does not disclose:
wherein the processor is configured to: determine the at least one first physical page address in a pointer mode based on the first mapping relationship and the at least one zone(Das, [0086 -- In this way, each of the logical addresses 1 through 16 are ultimately mapped to a respective one of the target physical addresses E through T. The data D1 through D16 can be stored in the data storage portion of the storage device (e.g., the memory devices 106 of the storage device 101 FIG. 1).]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill at the time of filing to incorporate the features of Das into the system of Jin and Kavirayani for the benefit of implementing with single-level cells (SLC) to provide faster read speeds and require less sensing than blocks implemented with multi-level cells (MLC), triple-level cells (TLC), and quad-level cells (QLC)(Das, 0085).
Claim(s) 2, 4, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al.(20210173785), in view of Kavirayani et al.(20240094903), in view of Das et al.(20210049104), and further in view of Helmick et al.(20210334203).
As per claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, in addition, Jin does not explicitly disclose the following in its entirety, however Helmick discloses:
wherein the obtaining at least one first physical page address corresponding to the at least one zone according to a first mapping relationship and the at least one zone determined comprises: determining the at least one first physical page address in a pointer mode based on the first mapping relationship and the at least one zone(Helmick, [0036 -- As data is written to a zone 206, a write pointer 210 is advanced or updated to point to or to indicate the next available block in the zone 206 to write data to in order to track the next write starting point (i.e., the completion point of the prior write equals the starting point of a subsequent write). Thus, the write pointer 210 indicates where the subsequent write to the zone 206 will begin.]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill at the time of filing to incorporate the features of Helmick into the system of Jin, Kavirayani, Das for the benefit of condensing the L2P mapping so that a pointer represents a larger storage unit, such as a zone or erase block, rather than every individual NAND slot. The controller then uses calculated offsets to resolve the exact location within that larger unit. This reduces the number of pointers needed in volatile memory while still supporting precise reads. (Helmick, 0072).
As per claim 4, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated, in addition, Jin does not explicitly disclose the following in its entirety, however Helmick discloses:
before the obtaining at least one first physical page address corresponding to the at least one zone according to a first mapping relationship and the at least one zone determined, establishing the first mapping relationship in which the at least one zone corresponds to a plurality of physical page addresses, the plurality of physical page addresses comprising the at least one first physical page address; and writing the first mapping relationship in which the at least one zone corresponds to the plurality of physical page addresses into the memory(Helmick, [0075 -- The first ZNS L2P table 420 comprise a pointer to the first or starting physical address of each zone, such that a pointer is associated with each zone start LBA (ZSLBA). A ZSLBA may be Z.sub.0SLBA 422, Z.sub.1SLBA 424, or Z.sub.NSLBA 426, where “N” is an integer. The DRAM 410 may further comprise one or more second ZNS L2P tables (second L2P table 430 shown). The second ZNS L2P table 430 comprises a pointer to each erase block within each zone, as discussed further below. The zones in the L2P tables may be in any order, such that a second zone is listed before a first zone.]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill at the time of filing to incorporate the features of Helmick into the system of Jin, Kavirayani, Das for the benefit of condensing the L2P mapping so that a pointer represents a larger storage unit, such as a zone or erase block, rather than every individual NAND slot. The controller then uses calculated offsets to resolve the exact location within that larger unit. This reduces the number of pointers needed in volatile memory while still supporting precise reads. (Helmick, 0072).
Claim 20 is similar to claim 2 as shown above and therefore the same mappings are incorporated.
Claim(s) 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al.(20210173785), in view of Kavirayani et al.(20240094903), in view of Das et al.(20210049104), and further in view of Mathur et al.(20150347013).
As per claim 13, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated, in addition, Jin does not explicitly disclose the following in its entirety discloses:
performing a first garbage collection operation on physical blocks other than blank physical blocks in the second storage space(Mathur, [0043 -- As an example, if data is written to a storage medium in pages, but the storage medium is erased in blocks, pages in the storage medium may contain invalid (e.g., stale) data, but those pages cannot be overwritten until the whole block containing those pages is erased. In order to write to the pages with invalid data, the pages with valid data in that block are read and re-written to a new block and the old block is erased (or put on a queue for erasing). This process is called garbage collection. ]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill at the time of filing to incorporate the features of Mathur into the system of Jin, Kavirayani, Das for the benefit of the sub-region accessing more than a predetermined threshold number of times is determined during a predetermined time period, thus reduces write amplification and improves endurance of the storage device(Mathur, 0045).
As per claim 14, the rejection of claim 13 is incorporated, in addition, Jin does not explicitly disclose the following in its entirety, however Mathur discloses:
wherein the first garbage collection operation is performed when it is detected that a quantity of the blank physical blocks is less than a first preset value(Mathur, [0045 -- By reducing the write amplification, the endurance of the storage medium is increased and the overall cost of the storage system is decreased. Generally, garbage collection is performed on erase blocks with the fewest number of valid pages for best performance and best write amplification.]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill at the time of filing to incorporate the features of Mathur into the system of Jin, Kavirayani, Das for the benefit of the sub-region accessing more than a predetermined threshold number of times is determined during a predetermined time period, thus reduces write amplification and improves endurance of the storage device(Mathur, 0045).
As per claim 15, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, in addition, Jin does not explicitly disclose the following in its entirety, however Mathur discloses:
performing a second garbage collection operation on zones other than blank zones in the first storage space(Mathur, [0085 -- By grouping together data associated with hot regions in the hot blocks, hot blocks will typically have more invalid pages due to the frequent updating of data in the hot regions, resulting in fewer valid pages that need to be copied in a garbage collection operation. By grouping together data from cold regions in the cold blocks, cold blocks will typically have more valid pages, due to the lower frequency of updates in the cold regions than the hot regions, and will be less likely to be selected for garbage collection, reducing the movement of cold data to new blocks. ]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill at the time of filing to incorporate the features of Mathur into the system of Jin, Kavirayani, Das for the benefit of the sub-region accessing more than a predetermined threshold number of times is determined during a predetermined time period, thus reduces write amplification and improves endurance of the storage device(Mathur, 0045).
As per claim 16, the rejection of claim 15 is incorporated, in addition, Jin does not explicitly disclose the following in its entirety, however Mathur discloses:
wherein the second garbage collection operation is performed when it is detected that a quantity of the blank zones is less than a second preset value(Mathur, [0045 -- By reducing the write amplification, the endurance of the storage medium is increased and the overall cost of the storage system is decreased. Generally, garbage collection is performed on erase blocks with the fewest number of valid pages for best performance and best write amplification.]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill at the time of filing to incorporate the features of Mathur into the system of Jin, Kavirayani, Das for the benefit of the sub-region accessing more than a predetermined threshold number of times is determined during a predetermined time period, thus reduces write amplification and improves endurance of the storage device(Mathur, 0045).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6, 8-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground(s) of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Examiner Notes
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Drissi et al.(2023/0068324) involves receiving write commands for writing data sets to a memory system. The data sets are written to sequential physical addresses of the memory system that are associated with sequential logical addresses of the memory system based on the write commands. A read command is received for a data set from a logical address of the sequential logical addresses based on writing the data sets to the sequential physical addresses. A physical address of the data set is determined based on the logical address of the data set, a logical address of a last data set written at the memory system, and a sequence number group associated with the last data set written at the memory system. The data set is read from the physical address of the memory system based on the physical address of the data set(Drissi, Abstract).
Yang et al.(2024/0220143) in which a storage controller divides the blocks into multiple zones. A first zone of the zones corresponding to a logical address received from a host is determined based on a value of the logical address. The logical address is mapped to a physical address corresponding to a first block in the first zone. The logical address or the first block is replaced with a logical address or a block of a second zone of the zones, where the second zone is different from the first zone(Yang, abstract).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Arvind Talukdar
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2132
/ARVIND TALUKDAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2132