DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 1-6, 8-17, and 20-23 are pending and have been examined in this application.
Response to Arguments
The applicant’s arguments regarding the drawing objections, the specification objections and IDS have been considered and are persuasive. These objections are withdrawn.
The applicant’s arguments regarding the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been considered and are persuasive. These rejections are withdrawn.
The applicant argues that none of the cited references suggest a battery in cylindrical form and having a size of a conventional water bottle so that the battery can be located in the same position as a water bottle carrier on a conventional bicycle. However, Grey does disclose, “the battery housing is shaped to replicate a drinks bottle” (pg. 15, LL. 18-20). Furthermore, the combination of the side profile and circular cross section shown in Figs. 6-7 show that the battery housing is cylindrical in shape.
Regarding the rejection of claim 9, the applicant argues that one would not modify Grey to have the motor controller separate from the battery because doing so would ignore the design philosophy of Grey because Grey specifically provides an integrated compact system. While Grey acknowledges the advantages of such a compact system, Grey is not considered to teach away from a separate motor controller and battery because Grey does not criticize, discredit or otherwise discourage a separate motor controller and battery (see MPEP 2145 D.).
The applicant argues that DE’905 teaches away from a water-bottle sized battery because DE’905 teaches that relatively small additional batteries have limited capacity, are cumbersome, and are safety-critical in the event of a fall and cites paragraph [0005] of the reference. Paragraph [0005] of the disclosure is explaining problems with the prior art that are addressed by the disclosed invention. Additionally, as illustrated in Fig. 1, battery (7) appears to be approximately water-bottle sized. Accordingly, DE’905 does not teach away from a water bottle sized battery.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 8-17, and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 and 9 recite, “the battery…has a size of a conventional water bottle”. The phrase “size of a conventional water bottle” renders the claim indefinite as conventional water bottles come in many sizes and it is unclear which sizes are encompassed by the claim. For example, miniature water bottles with a fluid volume of 8 oz. are common and it is unclear if the claim would encompass a battery of this size.
Claim 1 recites, “a conventional bicycle”. The phrase “conventional bicycle” renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear which types of bicycles would be considered “conventional”. For example, it is unclear if the scope of the claim is intended to encompass recumbent bicycles.
Claim 23 recites, “a conventional drink bottle holder”. The phrase “conventional drink bottle holder” renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear if the scope of the claim would encompass all types of conventional drink bottle holders. For example, it is unclear if the scope of the claim would encompass a drink bottle holder with a different holding structure compared to what is disclosed by the applicant. Additionally, since drink bottle holders are conventionally attached to bicycle frames in a variety of ways, it is unclear which fastening mechanisms would be encompassed by the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9, 15, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grey (WO 2017009637 A1) in view of Huang (CN 102795306 A), DE 202015002905 U1; hereinafter, DE’905, and Zhang (CN 202529106 U).
With respect to claim 1, Grey discloses: an electric drive system for an assisted pedaling bicycle (10, Fig. 1), the system comprising: a battery holder (46) with an attachment portion for attaching the battery holder externally to a frame tube of a bicycle (“battery carrier 46 is rigidly secured to the downtube 40”, pg. 13, LL. 9-10), the battery holder comprising a battery holder portion (see “a battery housing 48 is removably connectable to the battery carrier 46”, pg. 13, LL. 10-11), a battery (48) arranged to be removably received in the battery holding portion of the battery holder, an electric hub motor (“an electric motor which cannot be seen but which is mounted within the hub 30”, pg. 13, LL. 7-9) for mounting on a front or rear wheel of the bicycle, a motor controller (50) for controlling power delivered to the hub motor from the battery (“determining the voltage…”, pg. 13, LL. 13-15), whereby the battery comprises an integral control interface (156, Fig. 4) for changing an assist level provided by the hub motor (see “switch from high-power mode to low-power mode”, pg. 16, LL. 32-33) and a display means (160) for displaying information relating to the motor assist level or a battery charge level (“representing the state of charge of the battery”, pg. 16, LL. 27), wherein the battery is of cylindrical form (see circular cross section in Fig. 7) and has a size of a conventional water bottle so that the battery can be located in the same position as a water bottle carrier on a bicycle (see “replicate a drinks bottle”, pg. 15, LL. 18-19).
Grey is silent in teaching that the motor controller comprises an attachment structured and arranged for attachment to the bicycle frame directly or indirectly via a controller holding bracket attached to the bicycle frame, a first cable connecting the motor controller to the hub motor, and a second cable for connecting the motor controller to the battery, wherein the battery is configured as a range extender battery.
Huang teaches a similar e-bike comprising: a battery (55, Fig. 6), a motor controller (29), a hub motor (30), a first cable (see annotated figure below) connecting the motor controller to a hub motor, and a second cable (see annotated figure below) connecting the motor controller to the battery. The vehicle disclosed by Huang also has the battery (55) disposed on the frame separately from motor controller (29).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Grey in view of Huang by applying the cables disclosed by Huang to the vehicle disclosed by Grey to arrive at the claimed invention and to ensure that the motor receives the correct power from the battery. It would have been obvious to further modify Grey in view of Huang to have the motor controller attached to the frame of the vehicle separately from the battery so that the battery or motor controller could be replaced independently of the other in the event that the battery or motor controller breaks.
DE’905 teaches a bicycle comprising a first battery (7) and a second battery (10) configured as a range extender (see paragraph [0022]). DE’905 further teaches that the use of a secondary battery configured as a range extender battery is advantageous compared to a single battery with a larger capacity, because the use of an extender battery can provide increased range without requiring a complete discharge of a battery and accordingly, the lifespan of the batteries can be improved (see paragraph [0008]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Grey in view of Huang in further view of DE’905 to have at least two batteries, wherein the one battery is configured as a range extender battery to arrive at the claimed invention and to increase the range of the vehicle without sacrificing battery lifespan. Note, when making such a modification, a primary battery such as the one taught in DE’905 could be added to the bicycle such that the bottle shaped battery of Grey could be used as a range extender battery.
Zhang teaches another similar e-bike comprising a battery (5, Fig. 1) and a motor controller (9) mounted to a bicycle frame, wherein the motor controller comprises an attachment mechanism (8) structured an arranged for attachment to the bicycle frame directly or indirectly via a controller holding bracket attached to the bicycle frame (see paragraph [0023]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Grey in view of Huang and DE’905 in further view of Zhang to arrive at the claimed invention and to provide means for securely attaching the motor controller to the frame of the bicycle.
With respect to claim 2, Grey in view of Huang, DE'905, and Zhang as modified above teaches: the electric drive system according to claim 1, wherein the motor controller (Zhang; 8, Fig. 1) has an elongated shape with a longitudinal axis and first and second longitudinal ends (see annotated figure below) but is silent in teaching that the first and second cable extend from a first end of the motor controller facing in a longitudinal direction of the longitudinal axis.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to further modify Grey in view of Huang, DE’905 and Zhang to have the first and second cable extend from a first end of the motor controller facing in a longitudinal direction of the longitudinal axis because such a modification would be a mere rearrangement of parts that would not modify operation of the device (see MPEP 2144.04 VI. C.). Such a person may have been motivated to modify the location of the cable-motor controller connections to improve access to said connections.
With respect to claim 3, Grey in view of Huang, DE'905, and Zhang teaches: the electric drive system according to claim 2, further comprising a pedaling sensor (Grey; “sensor”, pg. 13, LL. 19-20) for sensing pedaling motion connected via a third cable (“wires”, pg. 13, L. 21) to the motor controller.
Grey in view of Huang, DE'905, and Zhang as modified above is silent in teaching connecting the third cable to the first longitudinal end of the motor controller.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to further modify Grey in view of Huang and Zhang to have the third cable connected to the first longitudinal end of the motor controller because such a modification would be a mere rearrangement of parts that would not modify operation of the device (see MPEP 2144.04 VI. C.). Such a person may have been motivated to modify the location of the cable-motor controller connections to improve access to said connections.
With respect to claim 9, Grey discloses: A bicycle (10, Fig. 1) comprising: a front wheel (18) and a rear wheel (20), a bicycle frame having a plurality of frame tube parts including a down tube (40), a seat tube (36), a chain stay (32), and an electric drive system, the system comprising: a battery holder (46) with an attachment portion for attaching the battery holder externally to a frame tube of a bicycle (“battery carrier 46 is rigidly secured to the downtube 40”, pg. 13, LL. 9-10), the battery holder comprising a battery holder portion (see “a battery housing 48 is removably connectable to the battery carrier 46”, pg. 13, LL. 10-11), a battery (48) arranged to be removably received in the battery holding portion of the battery holder, an electric hub motor (“an electric motor which cannot be seen but which is mounted within the hub 30”, pg. 13, LL. 7-9) for mounting on a front or rear wheel of the bicycle, a motor controller (50) for controlling power delivered to the hub motor from the battery (“determining the voltage…”, pg. 13, LL. 13-15), whereby the battery comprises an integral control interface (156, Fig. 4) for changing an assist level provided by the hub motor (see “switch from high-power mode to low-power mode”, pg. 16, LL. 32-33) and a display means (160) for displaying information relating to the motor assist level or a battery charge level (“representing the state of charge of the battery”, pg. 16, LL. 27), wherein the battery is of cylindrical form (see circular cross section in Fig. 7) and has a size of a conventional water bottle so that the battery can be located in the same position as a water bottle carrier on a bicycle (see “replicate a drinks bottle”, pg. 15, LL. 18-19).
Grey is silent in teaching that the motor controller comprises an attachment structured and arranged for attachment to the bicycle frame directly or indirectly via a controller holding bracket attached to the bicycle frame and is further silent in teaching a first cable connecting the motor controller to the hub motor, and a second cable for connecting the motor controller to the battery, wherein the battery is configured as a range extender battery. Huang teaches a similar e-bike comprising: a battery (55, Fig. 1), a motor controller (29), a hub motor (30), a first cable (see annotated figure below) connecting the motor controller to a hub motor, and a second cable (see annotated figure below) connecting the motor controller to the battery. The vehicle disclosed by Huang also has the battery (55) disposed on the frame separately from motor controller (29).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Grey in view of Huang by applying the cables disclosed by Huang to the vehicle disclosed by grey to arrive at the claimed invention and to ensure that the motor receives the correct power from the battery. It would have been obvious to further modify Grey in view of Huang to have the motor controller attached to the frame of the vehicle separately from the battery so that the battery or motor controller could be replaced independently of the other in the event that the battery or motor controller breaks.
DE’905 teaches a bicycle comprising a first battery (7) and a second battery (10) configured as a range extender (see paragraph [0022]). DE’905 further teaches that the use of a secondary battery configured as a range extender battery is advantageous compared to a single battery with a larger capacity, because the use of an extender battery can provide increased range without requiring a complete discharge of a battery and accordingly, the lifespan of the batteries can be improved (see paragraph [0008]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Grey in view of Huang in further view of DE’905 to have at least two batteries, wherein the one battery is configured as a range extender battery to arrive at the claimed invention and to increase the range of the vehicle without sacrificing battery lifespan. Note, when making such a modification, a primary battery such as the one taught in DE’905 could be added to the bicycle such that the bottle shaped battery of Grey could be used as a range extender battery.
Grey in view of Huang and DE’905 as modified above teaches a motor controller disposed on a frame separately from a battery but is silent regarding means for attaching the motor controller to the frame. Accordingly, a person of ordinary skill in the art seeking to make and/or use the invention resulting from the combination of Grey, Huang, and DE’905 would be motivated to look elsewhere in the prior art to find means for attaching the motor controller to the frame.
Zhang teaches another similar e-bike comprising a battery (5, Fig. 1) and a motor controller (9) mounted to a bicycle frame, wherein the motor controller comprises an attachment mechanism (8) structured an arranged for attachment to the bicycle frame directly or indirectly via a controller holding bracket attached to the bicycle frame (see paragraph [0023]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Grey in view of Huang in further view of Zhang to arrive at the claimed invention and to provide means for securely attaching the motor controller to the frame of the bicycle.
With respect to claim 15, Grey in view of Huang, DE'905, and Zhang as modified above teaches: the bicycle according to claim 9, further comprising a pedaling sensor (Grey; “sensor”, pg. 13, LL. 19-20) for sensing a pedaling motion connected via a third cable (“wires”, pg. 13, L. 21) to the motor.
With respect to claim 17, Grey in view of Huang, DE’905, and Zhang teaches the bicycle according to claim 9, wherein the second cable (see annotated figure below) comprises a first end connected to the motor controller (Huang; 29, Fig. 6) and a second end for connection via a connector to the battery (55). Grey in view of Huang, DE’905, and Zhang is silent in teaching that the second cable connects to the battery via a plug.
DE’905 teaches a cable (17, Fig. 1) connected to a battery (11) via a plug connection (16).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Grey in view of Huang, DE’905, and Zhang in further view of DE’905 to have a battery plug connection as claimed to facilitate the connection and removal of the second cable to the battery.
With respect to claim 20, Grey in view of Huang, DE’905 and Zhang as modified above teaches: the bicycle according to claim 9, wherein the attachment mechanism (Zhang; 8, Fig. 2) in the motor controller for attachment of the motor controller to the bicycle frame directly or indirectly comprises holes for receiving screws (see paragraph [0023]).
Grey in view of Huang, DE'905, and Zhang is silent regarding the holes in the attachment mechanism being threaded. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to further modify Grey in view of Huang, DE'905, and Zhang to have threaded holes because said holes are used with threaded fasteners (Zhang; see “screws”, paragraph [0023]). Such a person would have been motivated to add threads to improve the engagement between the fastener and attachment mechanism.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grey (WO 2017009637 A1) in view of Huang (CN 102795306 A), DE’905 and Zhang (CN 202529106 U) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of DE 202021104588 U; hereinafter, DE’588.
With respect to claim 4, Grey in view of Huang, DE’905, and Zhang teaches: the electric drive system according to claim 1, further comprising: a pedaling sensor (Grey; “sensor”, pg. 13, LL. 19-20) for sensing a pedaling motion but is silent in teaching that said sensing happens by way of changing magnetic field and a sensor body, and a sensor holder for holding the pedaling sensor, wherein the sensor holder comprises a generally ring shaped section with opposing first and second flat faces with a central opening for receiving an axle of the hub motor, and a sensor holding section protruding radially from the generally ring shaped section, the sensor holding section comprising a locating groove for receiving the sensor body, and a screw provided in the sensor holding section for fixing the sensor body in the locating groove.
DE’588 teaches a pedaling sensor for sensing a pedaling motion via a changing magnetic field (see paragraph [0042]), the pedaling sensor having a sensor body (51, Fig. 1), and a sensor holder (1) for holding the pedaling sensor, wherein the sensor holder comprises a generally ring shaped section with opposing first and second flat faces (see annotated figure below) with a central opening (21) for receiving an axle of the hub (see paragraph [0039]), and a sensor holding section (see annotated figure below) protruding radially from the generally ring shaped section, the sensor holding section comprising a locating groove (see annotated figure below) for receiving the sensor body, and a screw (32) provided in the sensor holding section for fixing the sensor body in the locating groove.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to Grey in view of Huang, DE'905, and Zhang in further view of DE’588 to arrive at the claimed invention and to provide means for securely attaching a pedaling sensor to the bicycle.
Claims 5 and 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grey (WO 2017009637 A1) in view of Huang (CN 102795306 A), DE’905 and Zhang (CN 202529106 U) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tan (TW M594575 U).
With respect to claim 5, Grey in view of Huang, DE'905, and Zhang as modified above teaches: the electric drive system according to claim 1 but is silent in teaching: a controller holding bracket, the controller holding bracket and the attachment portion of the battery holder each comprising one or more first elongate openings or slits for attaching the controller holding bracket and the attachment portion of the battery holder to a frame tube of a bicycle via at least one screw which penetrates through one of the first elongate openings or slits in both the controller holding bracket and the attachment portion of the battery holder.
Tan teaches a similar bicycle comprising a battery holder (61, Fig. 1) having an attachment portion comprising one or more first elongate openings or slits (621) for attaching the attachment portion of the batter holder to a frame tube (12) of a bicycle via at least one screw (67) which penetrates through one of the first elongate openings or slits in the attachment portion of the battery holder. The battery holder (61) disclosed by Tan is also configured as a controller (62) holding bracket
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Grey in view of Huang, DE'905, and Zhang to include the battery holder disclosed by Tan to arrive at the claimed invention and to provide means for securing a removable battery to a frame of the bicycle. It would have been further obvious to duplicate the battery holder disclosed by Tan to serve as a controller holding bracket to arrive at the claimed invention and to securely hold the controller in a location separate from the battery. As discussed above, it would be advantageous to dispose the battery separately from the controller, as is done by Huang, so that the battery and motor controller can be replaced independently of each other.
With respect to claim 23, Grey in view of Huang, DE’905, and Zhang as modified above teaches the electric drive system according to claim 1, but is silent in teaching that the battery holder uses the same fastening mechanism in the frame as a conventional drink bottle.
Regarding claim 23, the examiner takes official notice that threaded fasteners are a fastening mechanism for fastening conventional drink bottles to bicycle frames.
Tan teaches threaded fasteners (67, Fig. 3) for attaching a battery holder (61) to a frame of a bicycle.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Grey in view of Huang, DE’905, and Zhang in further view of Tan to arrive at the claimed invention and to provide a secure connection between the battery holder and bicycle frame.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Grey (WO 2017009637 A1) in view of Huang (CN 102795306 A), DE 202015002905 U1; hereinafter, DE’905, and Zhang (CN 202529106 U) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of DE 202022105187 U1; hereinafter, DE’187.
With respect to claim 11, Grey in view of Huang, DE'905, and Zhang as modified above discloses: the bicycle according to claim 9, but is silent in teaching that the motor controller is arranged in the down tube.
DE’187 teaches an e-bicycle comprising a motor controller (50, Fig. 1) arranged in a downtube (14) of the bicycle.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Grey in view of Huang, DE'905, and Zhang in further view of DE’187 to arrive at the claimed invention and to protect the motor controller from damage.
With respect to claim 12, Grey in view of Huang, DE'905, and Zhang as modified above discloses: the bicycle according to claim 9, but is silent in teaching that the motor controller is arranged in the seat tube.
DE’187 teaches an e-bicycle comprising a motor controller (50, Fig. 1) arranged in a seat tube (12) of the bicycle.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Grey in view of Huang, DE'905, and Zhang in further view of DE’187 to arrive at the claimed invention and to protect the motor controller from damage.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grey (WO 2017009637 A1) in view of Huang (CN 102795306 A), DE 202015002905 U1; hereinafter, DE’905, and Zhang (CN 202529106 U) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Chen (US 20060232041 A1).
With respect to claim 13, Grey in view of Huang, DE'905, and Zhang discloses the bicycle according to claim 9 but is silent in teaching that the first cable is arranged within one of the chainstay tubes.
Chen teaches routing a cable (50, Fig. 1B) through a chain stay tube (17) of a bicycle (also see paragraph [0010]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Grey in view of Huang, DE'905, and Zhang in further view of Chen to arrive at the claimed invention and to protect the cable from damage.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grey (WO 2017009637 A1) in view of Huang (CN 102795306 A), DE 202015002905 U1; hereinafter, DE’905, and Zhang (CN 202529106 U) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Negoro (US 20170151998 A1).
With respect to claim 14, Grey in view of Huang, DE'905, and Zhang as modified above discloses the bicycle according to claim 9 but is silent in teaching a torque sensor for sensing the torque applied on a crankshaft connected via a third cable to the motor controller.
Negoro teaches a similar bicycle comprising a motor controller (95) and a torque sensor (57) for sensing the torque applied on a crankshaft (41). Negoro further discloses that the torque sensor is used to calculate an appropriate torque assist command (see paragraph [0009]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Grey in view of Huang, DE'905, and Zhang in further view of Negoro to include a torque sensor to allow the motor controller to calculate an assist level based on the torque output of the rider. It would have been further obvious to connect the torque sensor to the motor controller via a third cable so that the torque sensor can send torque values to the motor controller for calculation of an assist level.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grey (WO 2017009637 A1) in view of Huang (CN 102795306 A) and Zhang (CN 202529106 U) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of DE 202021104588 U1; hereinafter, DE’588.
With respect to claim 16, Grey in view of Huang, DE'905, and Zhang as modified above discloses the bicycle according to claim 9 comprising a pedaling sensor for sensing a pedaling motion but is silent in teaching that the sensing happens by way of a changing magnetic field and a sensor body, and a sensor holder for holding the pedaling sensor, wherein the sensor holder comprises a generally ring shaped section with opposing first and second flat faces with a central opening for receiving an axle of the hub motor, and a sensor holding section protruding radially from the generally ring shaped section, the sensor holding section comprising a locating groove for receiving the sensor body, and a screw provided in the sensor holding section for fixing the sensor body in the locating groove.
DE’588 teaches a pedaling sensor for sensing a pedaling motion via a changing magnetic field (see paragraph [0042]), the pedaling sensor having a sensor body (51), and a sensor holder (1) for holding the pedaling sensor, wherein the sensor holder comprises a generally ring shaped section with opposing first and second flat faces (see annotated figure below) with a central opening (21) for receiving an axle of the hub (see paragraph [0039]), and a sensor holding section (see annotated figure below) protruding radially from the generally ring shaped section, the sensor holding section comprising a locating groove (see annotated figure below) for receiving the sensor body, and a screw (32) provided in the sensor holding section for fixing the sensor body in the locating groove.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Grey in view of Huang, DE'905, and Zhang in further view of DE’588 to arrive at the claimed invention and to provide means for securely attaching a pedaling sensor to the bicycle.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grey (WO 2017009637 A1) in view of Huang (CN 102795306 A), DE 202015002905 U1; hereinafter, DE’905, and Zhang (CN 202529106 U). as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kwag (US 20150375825 A1).
With respect to claim 22, Grey in view of Huang, DE’905, and Zhang as modified above teaches the electric drive system according to claim 1, but is silent in teaching that the attachment portion of the battery holder comprises a plurality of arms which extend from the attachment portion at least partly circumferentially around the battery to hold it in place.
Kwag teaches a similar battery holder (200, Fig. 9) comprising a plurality of arms (210) which extend from the attachment portion at least partly circumferentially around a battery (100, Fig. 11) to hold it in place.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Grey in view of Huang, DE’905, and Zhang in further view of Kwag to arrive at the claimed invention and to improve the security of the connection between the battery holder and the battery.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 8, and 10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 21 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claims 6, 8, 10, and 21, the closest prior art made of record is Grey (WO 2017009637 A1). Grey discloses: an electric drive system for an assisted pedaling bicycle (10, Fig. 1), the system comprising: a battery holder (46) with an attachment portion for attaching the battery holder externally to a frame tube of a bicycle (“battery carrier 46 is rigidly secured to the downtube 40”, pg. 13, LL. 9-10), the battery holder comprising a battery holder portion (see “a battery housing 48 is removably connectable to the battery carrier 46”, pg. 13, LL. 10-11), a battery (48) arranged to be removably received in the battery holding portion of the battery holder, an electric hub motor (“an electric motor which cannot be seen but which is mounted within the hub 30”, pg. 13, LL. 7-9) for mounting on a front or rear wheel of the bicycle, a motor controller (50) for controlling power delivered to the hub motor from the battery (“determining the voltage…”, pg. 13, LL. 13-15), whereby the battery comprises an integral control interface (156, Fig. 4) for changing an assist level provided by the hub motor (see “switch from high-power mode to low-power mode”, pg. 16, LL. 32-33) and a display means (160) for displaying information relating to the motor assist level or a battery charge level (“representing the state of charge of the battery”, pg. 16, LL. 27).
Regarding claims 6, Grey is silent in teaching: a plug connector cover which holds and substantially covers the plug connector of the second cable for protecting the plug connector from the environment when the plug connector is not connected to the battery.
Regarding claims 8, 10, and 21 Grey is silent in teaching: a controller holding bracket being arranged between the attachment portion of the battery holder and a tube part of the frame, the controller holding bracket and attachment portion of the battery holder being releasably attached via at least two screws to the tube part of the frame.
Suggestions to modify Grey to arrive at the inventions as claimed in claims 6, 10, and 17 were not reasonably found in the prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW D LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 3617
/JOHN OLSZEWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3617