DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Du et al. (CN115621587A English Machine Translation provided with this Office Action).
Regarding claim 1, Du discloses a battery pack (See annotated Fig. 1 below, battery pack 100) comprising: a battery assembly (Fig. 1, battery module 105) including a plurality of battery cells (Fig. 1, battery cells 107) arranged side by side in a first direction (See Fig. 1);
a case (Fig. 1, casing 106) provided with an inner space that accommodates the battery assembly (See Fig. 1, casing around modules in the inner space of the pack) and a wall surface that defines at least a portion of the inner space (Fig. 1, wall surface); and
a sealing component (See annotated Fig. 7 below, closure member 120. Note Fig. 7 is a sectional view of the exhaust valve in Fig. 1) that extends through the wall surface to reach the inner space, wherein the wall surface (Fig. 7, recessed ring grove 136) is provided with a recess recessed toward the inner space when viewed from an outer portion side of the case (See Fig. 7, recessed ring grove toward inner space), and
a through hole (Fig. 7, exhaust hole, 115) reaching the inner space ([0408-0409] exhaust hole communicates inside and outside of the battery pack body) is formed in a bottom portion of the recess (See Fig. 7, exhaust hole on the recessed ring grove) and the sealing component seals the through hole ([0601] closing member 120 can close the exhaust hole).
Regarding claim 2, Du discloses the battery pack (See annotated Fig. 1 above, battery pack 100) according to claim 1, wherein the wall surface is constituted of a plate-shaped member (Fig. 1, wall surface. Note wall surface as shown shaped similar to applicants’ definition of plate-shaped in Fig. 9 of instant application).
Regarding claim 3, Du discloses the battery pack (See annotated Fig. 1 above, battery pack 100) according to claim 1, wherein the sealing component (120) includes a pressure regulation valve (Fig. 1, exhaust valve) that is opened when an internal pressure of the inner space exceeds a predetermined value ([0560-0562] exhaust valve performs pressure relief operation when pressure deviates from preset value).
Regarding claim 4, Du discloses the battery pack (See annotated Fig. 1 above, battery pack 100) according to claim 3, further comprising an electrical component unit accommodated in the case (See annotated Fig. 3 below, battery management system 116. Note Fig. 3 is an electrical schematic diagram of the battery pack in Fig. 1), wherein the pressure regulation valve is located on a side opposite to the electrical component unit with respect to the battery assembly (See Fig. 3. Note position of valve and electrical unit as shown arranged similar to applicants’ definition of opposite in Fig. 1 of instant application).
Regarding claim 5, Du discloses the battery pack (See annotated Fig. 1 above, battery pack 100) according to claim 1, wherein the wall surface is constituted of a plate-shaped member (Fig. 1, wall surface. Note wall surface as shown shaped similar to applicants’ definition of plate-shaped in Fig. 9 of instant application), and the sealing component (120) includes a pressure regulation valve (Fig. 1, exhaust valve) that is opened when an internal pressure of the inner space exceeds a predetermined value ([0560-0562] exhaust valve performs pressure relief operation when pressure deviates from preset value).
Regarding claim 6, Du discloses the battery pack (See annotated Fig. 1 above, battery pack 100) according to claim 1, wherein the wall surface is constituted of a plate-shaped member (Fig. 1, wall surface. Note wall surface as shown shaped similar to applicants’ definition of plate-shaped in Fig. 9 of instant application), and the sealing component (120) includes a pressure regulation valve (Fig. 1, exhaust valve) that is opened when an internal pressure of the inner space exceeds a predetermined value ([0560-0562] exhaust valve performs pressure relief operation when pressure deviates from preset value), the battery pack further comprising an electrical component unit accommodated in the case (See annotated Fig. 3 above, battery management system 116), wherein the pressure regulation valve is located on a side opposite to the electrical component unit with respect to the battery assembly (See Fig. 3. Note position of valve and electrical unit as shown arranged similar to applicants’ definition of opposite in Fig. 1 of instant application).
Regarding claim 7, Du discloses the battery pack (See annotated Fig. 1 above, battery pack 100) according to claim 1, further comprising an electrical component unit accommodated in the case (See annotated Fig. 3 above, battery management system 116), wherein the sealing component (closure member 120) includes a connector (See annotated Fig. 3 above, wire 114) electrically connected to the electrical component unit ([0430-0431] battery management system electrically connected with exhaust valve. Note closure member is part of the exhaust valve).
Regarding claim 8, Du discloses the battery pack (See annotated Fig. 1 above, battery pack 100) according to claim 1, wherein the wall surface is constituted of a plate-shaped member (Fig. 1, wall surface. Note wall surface as shown shaped similar to applicants’ definition of plate-shaped in Fig. 9 of instant application), the battery pack further comprising an electrical component unit accommodated in the case, wherein the sealing component (closure member 120) includes a connector (See annotated Fig. 3 above, wire 114) electrically connected to the electrical component unit ([0430-0431] battery management system electrically connected with exhaust valve. Note closure member is part of the exhaust valve).
Regarding claim 9, Du discloses the battery pack (See annotated Fig. 1 above, battery pack 100) according to claim 1, wherein the wall surface is constituted of a plate-shaped member (Fig. 1, wall surface. Note wall surface as shown shaped similar to applicants’ definition of plate-shaped in Fig. 9 of instant application), and the sealing component (120) includes a pressure regulation valve (Fig. 1, exhaust valve) that is opened when an internal pressure of the inner space exceeds a predetermined value ([0560-0562] exhaust valve performs pressure relief operation when pressure deviates from preset value), the battery pack further comprising an electrical component unit accommodated in the case, wherein the sealing component (closure member 120) includes a connector (See annotated Fig. 3 above, wire 114) electrically connected to the electrical component unit ([0430-0431] battery management system electrically connected with exhaust valve. Note closure member is part of the exhaust valve).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du et al. (CN115621587A English Machine Translation provided with this Office Action) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kako et al. (US20130130079A1).
Regarding claim 10, Du discloses the battery pack (See annotated Fig. 1 above, battery pack 100) according to claim 1 but does not disclose wherein the sealing component is inserted in the through hole along a second direction orthogonal to the first direction.
Kako discloses a battery ([0014]) in which a sealing component (See annotated Fig. 12 below, sealing plug 57) is inserted in the through hole (Fig. 12, opening 43) along a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (See Fig. 12. Note direction of sealing component and through hole as shown arranged similar to applicants’ definition of second direction orthogonal to the first direction in Fig. 6 of instant application). Kako also discloses that the sealing plug can further help with the control of pressure by preventing entry of outside air ([0192]).
Du and Kako analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely batteries.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the sealing component of Du such that the sealing component is inserted in the through hole along a second direction orthogonal to the first direction as taught by Kako in order to further help with the control of pressure by preventing entry of outside air.
Regarding claim 11, Du discloses the battery pack (See annotated Fig. 1 above, battery pack 100) according to claim 1, wherein the wall surface is constituted of a plate-shaped member (Fig. 1, wall surface. Note wall surface as shown shaped similar to applicants’ definition of plate-shaped in Fig. 9 of instant application), and the sealing component (120) includes a pressure regulation valve (Fig. 1, exhaust valve) that is opened when an internal pressure of the inner space exceeds a predetermined value ([0560-0562] exhaust valve performs pressure relief operation when pressure deviates from preset value), the battery pack further comprising an electrical component unit accommodated in the case (See annotated Fig. 3 above, battery management system 116), wherein the pressure regulation valve is located on a side opposite to the electrical component unit with respect to the battery assembly (See Fig. 3. Note position of valve and electrical unit as shown arranged similar to applicants’ definition of opposite in Fig. 1 of instant application).
Du does not disclose that the sealing component is inserted in the through hole along a second direction orthogonal to the first direction.
Kako discloses a battery ([0014]) in which a sealing component (See annotated Fig. 12 above, sealing plug 57) is inserted in the through hole (Fig. 12, opening 43) along a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (See Fig. 12. Note direction of sealing component and through hole as shown arranged similar to applicants’ definition of second direction orthogonal to the first direction in Fig. 6 of instant application). Kako also discloses that the sealing plug can further help with the control of pressure by preventing entry of outside air ([0192]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the sealing component of Du such that the sealing component is inserted in the through hole along a second direction orthogonal to the first direction as taught by Kako in order to further help with the control of pressure by preventing entry of outside air.
Regarding claim 12, Du discloses the battery pack (See annotated Fig. 1 above, battery pack 100) according to claim 1, wherein the wall surface is constituted of a plate-shaped member (Fig. 1, wall surface. Note wall surface as shown shaped similar to applicants’ definition of plate-shaped in Fig. 9 of instant application), the battery pack further comprising an electrical component unit accommodated in the case, wherein the sealing component (closure member 120) includes a connector (See annotated Fig. 3 above, wire 114) electrically connected to the electrical component unit ([0430-0431] battery management system electrically connected with exhaust valve. Note closure member is part of the exhaust valve).
Du does not disclose that the sealing component is inserted in the through hole along a second direction orthogonal to the first direction.
Kako discloses a battery ([0014]) in which a sealing component (See annotated Fig. 12 above, sealing plug 57) is inserted in the through hole (Fig. 12, opening 43) along a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (See Fig. 12. Note direction of sealing component and through hole as shown arranged similar to applicants’ definition of second direction orthogonal to the first direction in Fig. 6 of instant application). Kako also discloses that the sealing plug can further help with the control of pressure by preventing entry of outside air ([0192]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the sealing component of Du such that the sealing component is inserted in the through hole along a second direction orthogonal to the first direction as taught by Kako in order to further help with the control of pressure by preventing entry of outside air.
Regarding claim 13, Du discloses the battery pack (See annotated Fig. 1 above, battery pack 100) according to claim 1 but does not disclose wherein the recess is reduced in diameter from the outer portion of the case toward the inner space.
Kako discloses a battery ([0014]) in which the recess (See annotated Fig. 12 above, depressed portion 54) is reduced in diameter from the outer portion of the case toward the inner space (Fig. 12, lower portion of opening 43 reduced in diameter from lid portion 2). Kako also discloses that the depressed portion with the reduction in diameter serves as a guide portion of the sealing plug ([0175]) and maintains airtightness in contact with the sealing plug ([0176]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the recess of Du such that the recess is reduced in diameter from the outer portion of the case toward the inner space as taught by Kako in order to serve as a guide portion of the sealing plug and maintain airtightness in contact with the sealing plug.
Regarding claim 14, Du discloses the battery pack (See annotated Fig. 1 above, battery pack 100) according to claim 1, wherein the wall surface is constituted of a plate-shaped member (Fig. 1, wall surface. Note wall surface as shown shaped similar to applicants’ definition of plate-shaped in Fig. 9 of instant application), and the sealing component (120) includes a pressure regulation valve (Fig. 1, exhaust valve) that is opened when an internal pressure of the inner space exceeds a predetermined value ([0560-0562] exhaust valve performs pressure relief operation when pressure deviates from preset value), the battery pack further comprising an electrical component unit accommodated in the case (See annotated Fig. 3 above, battery management system 116), wherein the pressure regulation valve is located on a side opposite to the electrical component unit with respect to the battery assembly (See Fig. 3. Note position of valve and electrical unit as shown arranged similar to applicants’ definition of opposite in Fig. 1 of instant application)
Du does not disclose that the recess is reduced in diameter from the outer portion of the case toward the inner space.
Kako discloses a battery ([0014]) in which the recess (See annotated Fig. 12 above, depressed portion 54) is reduced in diameter from the outer portion of the case toward the inner space (Fig. 12, lower portion of opening 43 reduced in diameter from lid portion 2). Kako also discloses that the depressed portion with the reduction in diameter serves as a guide portion of the sealing plug ([0175]) and maintains airtightness in contact with the sealing plug ([0176]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the recess of Du such that the recess is reduced in diameter from the outer portion of the case toward the inner space as taught by Kako in order to serve as a guide portion of the sealing plug and maintain airtightness in contact with the sealing plug.
Regarding claim 15, Du discloses the battery pack (See annotated Fig. 1 above, battery pack 100) according to claim 1, wherein the wall surface is constituted of a plate-shaped member (Fig. 1, wall surface. Note wall surface as shown shaped similar to applicants’ definition of plate-shaped in Fig. 9 of instant application), the battery pack further comprising an electrical component unit accommodated in the case, wherein the sealing component (closure member 120) includes a connector (See annotated Fig. 3 above, wire 114) electrically connected to the electrical component unit ([0430-0431] battery management system electrically connected with exhaust valve. Note closure member is part of the exhaust valve).
Du does not disclose that the recess is reduced in diameter from the outer portion of the case toward the inner space.
Kako discloses a battery ([0014]) in which the recess (See annotated Fig. 12 above, depressed portion 54) is reduced in diameter from the outer portion of the case toward the inner space (Fig. 12, lower portion of opening 43 reduced in diameter from lid portion 2). Kako also discloses that the depressed portion with the reduction in diameter serves as a guide portion of the sealing plug ([0175]) and maintains airtightness in contact with the sealing plug ([0176]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the recess of Du such that the recess is reduced in diameter from the outer portion of the case toward the inner space as taught by Kako in order to serve as a guide portion of the sealing plug and maintain airtightness in contact with the sealing plug.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bauer (US20180062134A1) discloses a battery housing in which a diaphragm sealing plug is closed in a fluid-tight manner ([0028]).
Muroya et al. (US20180351139A1) discloses a battery housing in which a sealing plate has a recessed portion with a terminal insertion hole ([0046]).
Okutani et al. (US20140023914A1) discloses a battery housing in with a sealing plate with a concave portion and insulating plates ([0048]).
/DAN NGUYEN TRAN/
Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SUSAN D LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754