DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: RADIO-FREQUENCY MODULES THAT ENHANCE NOISE REDUCTION USING BYPASS CAPACITORS IN DOUBLE-SIDED MOUNTING CONFIGURATIONS.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 18434842 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the claims in the pending application are transparently found in co-pending application 18434842 with obvious wording variation. See the table below for comparison:
Pending Application 18442117
Copending Application 18434842
1. A radio-frequency module comprising: a module substrate having a first major surface and a second major surface that are opposite to each other; a plurality of electronic components disposed at the first major surface and at the second major surface; and a plurality of external connection terminals disposed at the second major surface, the plurality of external connection terminals including a power supply terminal, wherein the plurality of electronic components includes a first electronic component disposed at the second major surface, the first electronic component including an active circuit coupled to the power supply terminal, and a second electronic component disposed at the second major surface, the second electronic component including a capacitor coupled between a path connecting the power supply terminal to the active circuit and ground, and the power supply terminal is disposed closer to the second electronic component than any other external connection terminals.
1. A radio-frequency module comprising: a module substrate including a first major surface opposite to a second major surface; a plurality of electronic components disposed at the first major surface and at the second major surface; and an external connection terminal for power supply disposed at the second major surface, wherein the plurality of electronic components include a first electronic component disposed at the second major surface, the first electronic component including an active circuit coupled to the external connection terminal for power supply, and a second electronic component disposed at the second major surface, the second electronic component including a capacitor coupled between a path connecting the external connection terminal for power supply to the active circuit and ground, and the first electronic component is disposed closer to the second electronic component than any other electronic component disposed at the second major surface.
2. The radio-frequency module according to claim 1, wherein the second electronic component is disposed closer to the power supply terminal than any other electronic component disposed at the second major surface.
2. The radio-frequency module according to claim 1, wherein the second electronic component is disposed closer to the first electronic component than any other electronic component disposed at the second major surface.
3. The radio-frequency module according to claim 2, wherein the second electronic component is disposed between the first electronic component and the power supply terminal in plan view of the module substrate.
16. A radio-frequency module comprising: a module substrate including a first major surface opposite to a second major surface; a plurality of electronic components disposed at the first major surface and at the second major surface; and an external connection terminal for power supply disposed at the second major surface, wherein the plurality of electronic components include a first electronic component disposed at the second major surface, the first electronic component including an active circuit coupled to the external connection terminal for power supply, a second electronic component disposed at the second major surface, the second electronic component including a capacitor coupled between a path connecting the external connection terminal for power supply to the active circuit and ground, and a third electronic component disposed at the second major surface, and the second electronic component is disposed between the first electronic component and the third electronic component in plan view of the module substrate.
4. The radio-frequency module according to claim 3, wherein the active circuit is a low-noise amplifier.
5. The radio-frequency module according to claim 1, wherein the active circuit is a low-noise amplifier.
5. The radio-frequency module according to claim 4, wherein the plurality of electronic components further includes a third electronic component disposed at the first major surface, the third electronic component including an inductor coupled to an input end of the low-noise amplifier, and at least a portion of the second electronic component overlaps at least a portion of the third electronic component in plan view of the module substrate.
4. The radio-frequency module according to claim 3, wherein the plurality of electronic components further include a third electronic component disposed at the second major surface, the third electronic component including a switch coupled between an antenna connection terminal, and the power amplifier and a low-noise amplifier, and the second electronic component is disposed between the first electronic component and the third electronic component in plan view of the module substrate.
6. The radio-frequency module according to claim 3, wherein the active circuit is a control circuit configured to control a power amplifier.
3. The radio-frequency module according to claim 1, wherein the active circuit is a control circuit configured to control a power amplifier.
7. The radio-frequency module according to claim 6, wherein the plurality of electronic components further includes a third electronic component disposed at the first major surface, the third electronic component including a filter coupled to an output end of the power amplifier, and at least a portion of the second electronic component overlaps at least a portion of the third electronic component in plan view of the module substrate.
4. The radio-frequency module according to claim 3, wherein the plurality of electronic components further include a third electronic component disposed at the second major surface, the third electronic component including a switch coupled between an antenna connection terminal, and the power amplifier and a low-noise amplifier, and the second electronic component is disposed between the first electronic component and the third electronic component in plan view of the module substrate.
8. The radio-frequency module according to claim 3, wherein the active circuit is a power amplifier.
7. The radio-frequency module according to claim 1, wherein the active circuit is a power amplifier.
9. The radio-frequency module according to claim 8, further comprising a ground electrode layer within the module substrate, wherein at least a portion of the second electronic component overlaps at least a portion of the ground electrode layer in plan view of the module substrate.
10. The radio-frequency module according to claim 9, wherein the second electronic component is a semiconductor component.
4. The radio-frequency module according to claim 3, wherein the plurality of electronic components further include a third electronic component disposed at the second major surface, the third electronic component including a switch coupled between an antenna connection terminal, and the power amplifier and a low-noise amplifier, and the second electronic component is disposed between the first electronic component and the third electronic component in plan view of the module substrate.
11. A radio-frequency module comprising: a module substrate having a first major surface and a second major surface that are opposite to each other; a plurality of electronic components disposed at the first major surface and at the second major surface; and a plurality of external connection terminals disposed at the second major surface, the plurality of external connection terminals including a power supply terminal, wherein the plurality of electronic components includes a first electronic component disposed at the second major surface, the first electronic component including an active circuit coupled to the power supply terminal, and a second electronic component disposed at the second major surface, the second electronic component including a capacitor coupled between a path connecting the power supply terminal to the active circuit and ground, and the second electronic component is disposed closer to the power supply terminal than any other electronic component disposed at the second major surface.
9. A radio-frequency module comprising: a module substrate including a first major surface opposite to a second major surface; a plurality of electronic components disposed at the first major surface and at the second major surface; and an external connection terminal for power supply disposed at the second major surface, wherein the plurality of electronic components include a first electronic component disposed at the second major surface, the first electronic component including an active circuit coupled to the external connection terminal for power supply, and a second electronic component disposed at the second major surface, the second electronic component including a capacitor coupled between a path connecting the external connection terminal for power supply to the active circuit and ground, and the second electronic component is disposed closer to the first electronic component than any other electronic component disposed at the second major surface.
12. The radio-frequency module according to claim 11, wherein the second electronic component is disposed between the first electronic component and the power supply terminal in plan view of the module substrate.
16. A radio-frequency module comprising: a module substrate including a first major surface opposite to a second major surface; a plurality of electronic components disposed at the first major surface and at the second major surface; and an external connection terminal for power supply disposed at the second major surface, wherein the plurality of electronic components include a first electronic component disposed at the second major surface, the first electronic component including an active circuit coupled to the external connection terminal for power supply, a second electronic component disposed at the second major surface, the second electronic component including a capacitor coupled between a path connecting the external connection terminal for power supply to the active circuit and ground, and a third electronic component disposed at the second major surface, and the second electronic component is disposed between the first electronic component and the third electronic component in plan view of the module substrate.
13. The radio-frequency module according to claim 12, wherein the active circuit is a low-noise amplifier.
12. The radio-frequency module according to claim 9, wherein the active circuit is a low-noise amplifier.
14. The radio-frequency module according to claim 13, wherein the plurality of electronic components further includes a third electronic component disposed at the first major surface, the third electronic component including an inductor coupled to an input end of the low-noise amplifier, and at least a portion of the second electronic component overlaps at least a portion of the third electronic component in plan view of the module substrate.
13. The radio-frequency module according to claim 12, wherein the plurality of electronic components further include a third electronic component disposed at the second major surface, the third electronic component including a control circuit configured to control a power amplifier, and the second electronic component is disposed between the first electronic component and the third electronic component in plan view of the module substrate.
15. The radio-frequency module according to claim 12, wherein the active circuit is a control circuit configured to control a power amplifier.
14. The radio-frequency module according to claim 9, wherein the active circuit is a power amplifier.
16. The radio-frequency module according to claim 15, wherein the plurality of electronic components further includes a third electronic component disposed at the first major surface, the third electronic component including a filter coupled to an output end of the power amplifier, and at least a portion of the second electronic component overlaps at least a portion of the third electronic component in plan view of the module substrate.
13. The radio-frequency module according to claim 12, wherein the plurality of electronic components further include a third electronic component disposed at the second major surface, the third electronic component including a control circuit configured to control a power amplifier, and the second electronic component is disposed between the first electronic component and the third electronic component in plan view of the module substrate.
17. The radio-frequency module according to claim 12, wherein the active circuit is a power amplifier.
14. The radio-frequency module according to claim 9, wherein the active circuit is a power amplifier.
18. The radio-frequency module according to claim 17, further comprising a ground electrode layer within the module substrate, wherein at least a portion of the second electronic component overlaps at least a portion of the ground electrode layer in plan view of the module substrate.
19. The radio-frequency module according to claim 18, wherein the second electronic component is a semiconductor component.
9. A radio-frequency module comprising: a module substrate including a first major surface opposite to a second major surface; a plurality of electronic components disposed at the first major surface and at the second major surface; and an external connection terminal for power supply disposed at the second major surface, wherein the plurality of electronic components include a first electronic component disposed at the second major surface, the first electronic component including an active circuit coupled to the external connection terminal for power supply, and a second electronic component disposed at the second major surface, the second electronic component including a capacitor coupled between a path connecting the external connection terminal for power supply to the active circuit and ground, and the second electronic component is disposed closer to the first electronic component than any other electronic component disposed at the second major surface.
20. A radio-frequency module comprising: a module substrate having a first major surface and a second major surface that are opposite to each other; a plurality of electronic components disposed at the first major surface and at the second major surface; and a plurality of external connection terminals disposed at the second major surface, the plurality of external connection terminals including a power supply terminal, wherein the plurality of electronic components includes a first electronic component disposed at the second major surface, the first electronic component including an active circuit coupled to the power supply terminal, and a second electronic component disposed at the second major surface, the second electronic component including a capacitor coupled between a path connecting the power supply terminal to the active circuit and ground, and the second electronic component is disposed between the power supply terminal and the first electronic component in plan view of the module substrate.
16. A radio-frequency module comprising: a module substrate including a first major surface opposite to a second major surface; a plurality of electronic components disposed at the first major surface and at the second major surface; and an external connection terminal for power supply disposed at the second major surface, wherein the plurality of electronic components include a first electronic component disposed at the second major surface, the first electronic component including an active circuit coupled to the external connection terminal for power supply, a second electronic component disposed at the second major surface, the second electronic component including a capacitor coupled between a path connecting the external connection terminal for power supply to the active circuit and ground, and a third electronic component disposed at the second major surface, and the second electronic component is disposed between the first electronic component and the third electronic component in plan view of the module substrate.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 11-13, 15, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida (US 20210203372, hereinafter “Yoshida”) and further in view of Han et al. (US 20100181101, hereinafter “Han”).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshida discloses,
A radio-frequency module (FIG. 1 illustrates a circuit configuration of a radio frequency module) comprising:
a module substrate having a first major surface and a second major surface that are opposite to each other (Module board 91 includes principal surface 91a (a first principal surface) and principal surface 91b (a second principal surface) on opposite sides of module board 91, Figs. 2A-2B and [0057]);
a plurality of electronic components disposed at the first major surface and at the second major surface (As illustrated in FIG. 2A and FIG. 2B, in radio frequency module 1A according to the present working example, power amplifier 10, PA control circuit 60, transmission filter 40T, reception filter 40R, and matching circuits 31 and 32 are surface-mounted on principal surface 91a (the first principal surface) of module board 91. Low noise amplifier 20 and switch 50 are surface-mounted on principal surface 91b (the second principal surface) of module board 91, [0074]); and
a plurality of external connection terminals disposed at the second major surface (External-connection terminals 150 are disposed on principal surface 91b. Radio frequency module 1A transmits and receives, via the plurality of external-connection terminals 150, [0059]), the plurality of external connection terminals including a power supply terminal (direct-current voltage signal VDC for power supply voltage Vcc and bias voltage Vbias which are to be supplied ..the direct-current voltage signal received via control signal terminal 160),
wherein the plurality of electronic components includes a first electronic component (i.e., power amplifier 60) disposed at the second major surface (principal surface 91b, Fig. 3b), the first electronic component including an active circuit coupled to the power supply terminal (RFIC 3 also outputs, to radio frequency module 1 via control signal terminal 160, direct-current voltage signal VDC for power supply voltage Vcc and bias voltage Vbias which are to be supplied to power amplifier 10, [0027]).
Yoshida does not disclose, a second electronic component disposed at the second major surface, the second electronic component including a capacitor coupled between a path connecting the power supply terminal to the active circuit and ground, and the power supply terminal is disposed closer to the second electronic component than any other external connection terminals.
In the same field of endeavor, Han discloses, a second electronic component disposed at the second major surface (The decoupling capacitor 4 can be mounted to the first substrate 7 and is connected with a power pin of the component 6 through a via, Fig. 1 and [0036]), the second electronic component including a capacitor coupled between a path connecting the power supply terminal to the active circuit and ground (the decoupling capacitor 4 is connected between a power supply line and a ground line, Fig. 1 and [0036], [0039]), and the power supply terminal is disposed closer to the second electronic component than any other external connection terminals (FIG. 1, it can be seen that the decoupling capacitor 4 is mounted at the back side of the power pin of component 6. In FIG. 1, the pin connected to the component 6 is illustrated as the power/ground pin. In order to reduce a noise component, such as loop inductance, when the decoupling capacitor 4 is mounted to the PCB, the decoupling capacitor 4 is mounted as close as possible to the power/ground pins of the IC, [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yoshida by specifically providing a second electronic component disposed at the second major surface, the second electronic component including a capacitor coupled between a path connecting the power supply terminal to the active circuit and ground, and the power supply terminal is disposed closer to the second electronic component than any other external connection terminals, as taught by Han for the purpose of providing a printed circuit board (PCB) to reduce simultaneous switching noise generated from the PCB by simplifying a power trace formed on the PCB [0007].
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Yoshida and Han discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Han discloses,
the second electronic component is disposed closer to the power supply terminal than any other electronic component disposed at the second major surface (FIG. 1, it can be seen that the decoupling capacitor 4 is mounted at the back side of the power pin of component 6. In FIG. 1, the pin connected to the component 6 is illustrated as the power/ground pin. In order to reduce a noise component, such as loop inductance, when the decoupling capacitor 4 is mounted to the PCB, the decoupling capacitor 4 is mounted as close as possible to the power/ground pins of the IC, [0039]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Yoshida and Han discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2), further Yoshida discloses, Yoshida also teaches Plan view module layout in Fig. 2A.
In addition Han discloses, the second electronic component is disposed between the power supply terminal and the first electronic component in the module substrate. (FIG. 1, it can be seen that the decoupling capacitor 4 is mounted at the back side of the power pin of component 6. In FIG. 1, the pin connected to the component 6 is illustrated as the power/ground pin. In order to reduce a noise component, such as loop inductance, when the decoupling capacitor 4 is mounted to the PCB, the decoupling capacitor 4 is mounted as close as possible to the power/ground pins of the IC, [0039]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Yoshida and Han discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3), further Yoshida discloses,
wherein the active circuit is a low-noise amplifier (Low noise amplifier 20 in Fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Yoshida and Han discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3), further Yoshida discloses,
wherein the active circuit is a control circuit configured to control a power amplifier ( Power amplifier (PA) control circuit 60 of radio frequency module 1 in Fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Yoshida and Han discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3), further Yoshida discloses,
wherein the active circuit is a power amplifier (power amplifier 10, Fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 11, Yoshida discloses,
A radio-frequency module (FIG. 1 illustrates a circuit configuration of a radio frequency module) comprising:
a module substrate having a first major surface and a second major surface that are opposite to each other (Module board 91 includes principal surface 91a (a first principal surface) and principal surface 91b (a second principal surface) on opposite sides of module board 91, Figs. 2A-2B and [0057]);
a plurality of electronic components disposed at the first major surface and at the second major surface (As illustrated in FIG. 2A and FIG. 2B, in radio frequency module 1A according to the present working example, power amplifier 10, PA control circuit 60, transmission filter 40T, reception filter 40R, and matching circuits 31 and 32 are surface-mounted on principal surface 91a (the first principal surface) of module board 91. Low noise amplifier 20 and switch 50 are surface-mounted on principal surface 91b (the second principal surface) of module board 91, [0074]); and
a plurality of external connection terminals disposed at the second major surface (External-connection terminals 150 are disposed on principal surface 91b. Radio frequency module 1A transmits and receives, via the plurality of external-connection terminals 150, [0059]), the plurality of external connection terminals including a power supply terminal (direct-current voltage signal VDC for power supply voltage Vcc and bias voltage Vbias which are to be supplied ..the direct-current voltage signal received via control signal terminal 160),
wherein the plurality of electronic components includes a first electronic component (i.e., power amplifier 60) disposed at the second major surface (principal surface 91b, Fig. 3b), the first electronic component including an active circuit coupled to the power supply terminal (RFIC 3 also outputs, to radio frequency module 1 via control signal terminal 160, direct-current voltage signal VDC for power supply voltage Vcc and bias voltage Vbias which are to be supplied to power amplifier 10, [0027]).
Yoshida does not disclose, a second electronic component disposed at the second major surface, the second electronic component including a capacitor coupled between a path connecting the power supply terminal to the active circuit and ground, and the second electronic component is disposed closer to the power supply terminal than any other electronic component disposed at the second major surface.
In the same field of endeavor, Han discloses, a second electronic component disposed at the second major surface (The decoupling capacitor 4 can be mounted to the first substrate 7 and is connected with a power pin of the component 6 through a via, Fig. 1 and [0036]), the second electronic component including a capacitor coupled between a path connecting the power supply terminal to the active circuit and ground (the decoupling capacitor 4 is connected between a power supply line and a ground line, Fig. 1 and [0036], [0039]), and the second electronic component is disposed closer to the power supply terminal than any other electronic component disposed at the second major surface (FIG. 1, it can be seen that the decoupling capacitor 4 is mounted at the back side of the power pin of component 6. In FIG. 1, the pin connected to the component 6 is illustrated as the power/ground pin. In order to reduce a noise component, such as loop inductance, when the decoupling capacitor 4 is mounted to the PCB, the decoupling capacitor 4 is mounted as close as possible to the power/ground pins of the IC, [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yoshida by specifically providing a second electronic component disposed at the second major surface, the second electronic component including a capacitor coupled between a path connecting the power supply terminal to the active circuit and ground, and the second electronic component is disposed closer to the power supply terminal than any other electronic component disposed at the second major surface, as taught by Han for the purpose of providing a printed circuit board (PCB) to reduce simultaneous switching noise generated from the PCB by simplifying a power trace formed on the PCB [0007].
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Yoshida and Han discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 11), further Yoshida discloses, Yoshida also teaches Plan view module layout in Fig. 2A.
In addition Han discloses, the second electronic component is disposed between the power supply terminal and the first electronic component in the module substrate. (FIG. 1, it can be seen that the decoupling capacitor 4 is mounted at the back side of the power pin of component 6. In FIG. 1, the pin connected to the component 6 is illustrated as the power/ground pin. In order to reduce a noise component, such as loop inductance, when the decoupling capacitor 4 is mounted to the PCB, the decoupling capacitor 4 is mounted as close as possible to the power/ground pins of the IC, [0039]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Yoshida and Han discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12), further Yoshida discloses,
wherein the active circuit is a low-noise amplifier (Low noise amplifier 20 in Fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Yoshida and Han discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12), further Yoshida discloses,
wherein the active circuit is a control circuit configured to control a power amplifier ( Power amplifier (PA) control circuit 60 of radio frequency module 1 in Fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Yoshida and Han discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12), further Yoshida discloses,
wherein the active circuit is a power amplifier (power amplifier 10, Fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 20, Yoshida discloses,
A radio-frequency module (FIG. 1 illustrates a circuit configuration of a radio frequency module) comprising:
a module substrate having a first major surface and a second major surface that are opposite to each other (Module board 91 includes principal surface 91a (a first principal surface) and principal surface 91b (a second principal surface) on opposite sides of module board 91, Figs. 2A-2B and [0057]);
a plurality of electronic components disposed at the first major surface and at the second major surface (As illustrated in FIG. 2A and FIG. 2B, in radio frequency module 1A according to the present working example, power amplifier 10, PA control circuit 60, transmission filter 40T, reception filter 40R, and matching circuits 31 and 32 are surface-mounted on principal surface 91a (the first principal surface) of module board 91. Low noise amplifier 20 and switch 50 are surface-mounted on principal surface 91b (the second principal surface) of module board 91, [0074]); and
a plurality of external connection terminals disposed at the second major surface (External-connection terminals 150 are disposed on principal surface 91b. Radio frequency module 1A transmits and receives, via the plurality of external-connection terminals 150, [0059]), the plurality of external connection terminals including a power supply terminal (direct-current voltage signal VDC for power supply voltage Vcc and bias voltage Vbias which are to be supplied ..the direct-current voltage signal received via control signal terminal 160),
wherein the plurality of electronic components includes a first electronic component (i.e., power amplifier 60) disposed at the second major surface (principal surface 91b, Fig. 3b), the first electronic component including an active circuit coupled to the power supply terminal (RFIC 3 also outputs, to radio frequency module 1 via control signal terminal 160, direct-current voltage signal VDC for power supply voltage Vcc and bias voltage Vbias which are to be supplied to power amplifier 10, [0027]).
Yoshida also teaches Plan view module layout in Fig. 2A. however, Yoshida does not disclose, a second electronic component disposed at the second major surface, the second electronic component including a capacitor coupled between a path connecting the power supply terminal to the active circuit and ground, and the second electronic component is disposed between the power supply terminal and the first electronic component in the module substrate..
In the same field of endeavor, Han discloses, a second electronic component disposed at the second major surface (The decoupling capacitor 4 can be mounted to the first substrate 7 and is connected with a power pin of the component 6 through a via, Fig. 1 and [0036]), the second electronic component including a capacitor coupled between a path connecting the power supply terminal to the active circuit and ground (the decoupling capacitor 4 is connected between a power supply line and a ground line, Fig. 1 and [0036], [0039]), and the second electronic component is disposed between the power supply terminal and the first electronic component in the module substrate. (FIG. 1, it can be seen that the decoupling capacitor 4 is mounted at the back side of the power pin of component 6. In FIG. 1, the pin connected to the component 6 is illustrated as the power/ground pin. In order to reduce a noise component, such as loop inductance, when the decoupling capacitor 4 is mounted to the PCB, the decoupling capacitor 4 is mounted as close as possible to the power/ground pins of the IC, [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yoshida by specifically providing a second electronic component disposed at the second major surface, the second electronic component including a capacitor coupled between a path connecting the power supply terminal to the active circuit and ground, and the second electronic component is disposed between the power supply terminal and the first electronic component in the module substrate, as taught by Han for the purpose of providing a printed circuit board (PCB) to reduce simultaneous switching noise generated from the PCB by simplifying a power trace formed on the PCB [0007].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 7, 9, 10, 14, 16, 18 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5, The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior arts, Yoshida and Han, whether taken alone or in combination does not teach the following novel feature: “wherein the plurality of electronic components further includes a third electronic component disposed at the first major surface, the third electronic component including an inductor coupled to an input end of the low-noise amplifier, and at least a portion of the second electronic component overlaps at least a portion of the third electronic component in plan view of the module substrate”, in combination with the other limitations in claim 1 and intervening claims.
Regarding claim 7, The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior arts, Yoshida and Han, whether taken alone or in combination does not teach the following novel feature: “wherein the plurality of electronic components further includes a third electronic component disposed at the first major surface, the third electronic component including a filter coupled to an output end of the power amplifier, and at least a portion of the second electronic component overlaps at least a portion of the third electronic component in plan view of the module substrate”, in combination with the other limitations in claim 1 and intervening claims.
Regarding claim 9, The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior arts, Yoshida and Han, whether taken alone or in combination does not teach the following novel feature: “ a ground electrode layer within the module substrate, wherein at least a portion of the second electronic component overlaps at least a portion of the ground electrode layer in plan view of the module substrate”, in combination with the other limitations in claim 1 and intervening claims.
Claim 10 is allowed as those inherit the allowable subject matter from claim 9.
Regarding claim 14, The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior arts, Yoshida and Han, whether taken alone or in combination does not teach the following novel feature: “wherein the plurality of electronic components further includes a third electronic component disposed at the first major surface, the third electronic component including an inductor coupled to an input end of the low-noise amplifier, and at least a portion of the second electronic component overlaps at least a portion of the third electronic component in plan view of the module substrate”, in combination with the other limitations in claim 11 and intervening claims.
Regarding claim 16, The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior arts, Yoshida and Han, whether taken alone or in combination does not teach the following novel feature: “wherein the plurality of electronic components further includes a third electronic component disposed at the first major surface, the third electronic component including a filter coupled to an output end of the power amplifier, and at least a portion of the second electronic component overlaps at least a portion of the third electronic component in plan view of the module substrate”, in combination with the other limitations in claim 11 and intervening claims.
Regarding claim 18, The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior arts, Yoshida and Han, whether taken alone or in combination does not teach the following novel feature: “ a ground electrode layer within the module substrate, wherein at least a portion of the second electronic component overlaps at least a portion of the ground electrode layer in plan view of the module substrate”, in combination with the other limitations in claim 11 and intervening claims.
Claim 19 is allowed as those inherit the allowable subject matter from claim 18.
Prior Art of the Record:
The prior art made of record not relied upon and considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
US 20210194518: The present disclosure relates generally to radio frequency modules and communication devices, and more specifically to a radio frequency module including a plurality of low noise amplifiers and a communication device including the radio frequency module.
US 20210152200: the present disclosure aims to provide a radio frequency module and a communication device capable of reducing mismatching loss caused by wiring loss and wiring variation, thereby improving electrical characteristics.
US 20210135695: A radio frequency module includes a module board, a transmission power amplifier, a first inductance element mounted on the module board and connected to an output terminal of the transmission power amplifier, a reception low noise amplifier, a first inductance element mounted on the module board.
Conclusion
/GOLAM SOROWAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641