Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claim 19 is directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons:
Embodiment I, directed drawing 9B, claim 18 and 20 where the first heat dissipated member facing the first substrate.
Embodiment II, directed to drawing 7A, claim 19, where the first heat dissipated member facing away from the first substrate.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claim 19 is withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 2, “the top plate top plate” should be changed to “the top plate”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al (US 2016/0126624).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses in Figure 4, an antenna module (200) comprising:
a radio-frequency circuit component that (“one or more circuit devices”, see par. 0048) processes a radio-frequency signal to be wirelessly communicated;
a first substrate (210) on which the radio-frequency circuit component is provided;
a connector (211) provided on the first substrate (210) and that connects to a cable (222) that transfers a signal to the radio-frequency circuit component; and
a first shield structure that covers at least part of the connector (211) and at least a portion (side walls of 212 forming space 212a) of the first shield structure is disposed between the radio-frequency circuit component and the connector (211),
wherein the first shield structure includes a side plate (side walls of 212 forming space 212a) that surrounds the connector (211) in plan view and a separate top plate (230), and the side plate has an opening that is sized to receive the cable (222).
Regarding claim 2, as applied to claim 1, Lee discloses in Figure 4,
wherein, under a condition that an upward direction is a direction in which a surface of the first substrate on which the connector is provided faces, the first shield structure (230) covers the connector (211) from above and laterally.
Regarding claims 3-4, as applied to claims 1-2, Lee discloses in Figure 4, further comprising
a second shield structure (212) that covers at least part of the radio-frequency circuit component.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 2016/0126624) in view of Chien (EP 3324717).
Regarding claims 5-6, Lee discloses every feature of claimed invention as expressly recited in claims 3 and 4, except for at least a portion of the second shield structure disposed between the connector and the radio-frequency circuit component.
Chien discloses in Figure 3, at least a portion of the second shield structure (150) disposed between the connector (130) and the radio-frequency circuit component (151).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the second shield structure of Lee with the second shield having at least a portion between the connector and the radio-frequency circuit component as taught by Chien to effectively improve signal quality. Therefore, to employ having the at least a portion of the second shield structure as claimed invention would have been obvious to person skill in the art.
Regarding claim 15, as applied to claim 3, Chien discloses in Figure 3, wherein the first shield structure (140) and the second shield structure (150) are physically separate components.
Claims 7, 9 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 2016/0126624) in view of Liao et al (US 2012/0062439).
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses every feature of claimed invention as expressly recited in claim 3, except for
wherein the radio-frequency circuit component includes a second substrate, a radio-frequency
integrated circuit disposed on the second substrate,
a sealing resin layer that seals the radio-frequency integrated circuit, and a conductor post
embedded in the sealing resin layer,
the second shield structure includes a first ground plane provided on or in the first substrate, and a second ground plane provided on or in the second substrate, and the conductor post electrically
connects the first ground plane and the second ground plane and is part of the second shield structure.
Liao discloses in Figure 1, wherein the radio-frequency circuit component includes a second substrate (111), a radio-frequency integrated circuit (112a) disposed on the second substrate (111),
a sealing resin layer (120) that seals the radio-frequency integrated circuit (112a), and a conductor post (132) embedded in the sealing resin layer (120),
the second shield structure includes a first ground plane (131) provided on or in the first substrate (140), and a second ground plane (plane in 110 connected between 170 and 114a, see Fig. 1) provided on or in the second substrate (110), and the conductor post (132) electrically connects the first ground plane and the second ground plane (131) and is part of the second shield structure.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the radio frequency circuit component of Lee with the radio
frequency circuit component as taught by Liao to enable efficient millimeter wave signals. Therefore,
to employ having the radio frequency circuit component as claimed invention would have been obvious
to person skill in the art.
Regarding claim 9, as applied to claim 7, Liao discloses in Figure 1, further comprising
a radiating element (150) provided on the second substrate (110), wherein the radiating element is connected to the radio-frequency circuit component.
Regarding claim 16, as applied to claim 7, Liao discloses in Figure 1, wherein the first ground plane (131) is internal layer of the first substrate.
Regarding claim 17, as applied to claim 7, Liao discloses in Figure 1, wherein the second ground plane (plane in 110 connected between 170 and 114a) is provided in the second substrate (110).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 2016/0126624) in view of Chien and further in view of Jeong et al (US 2019/0103653).
Regarding claim 8, Lee and Chien discloses every feature of claimed invention as expressly recited in claim 5, except for wherein the radio-frequency circuit component includes a second substrate, a radio-frequency integrated circuit disposed on the second substrate, a sealing resin layer that seals the radio-frequency integrated circuit, and a conductor post embedded in the sealing resin layer, the second shield structure includes a first ground plane provided on or in the first substrate, and a second ground plane provided on or in the second substrate, and the conductor post electrically connects the first ground plane and the second ground plane and is part of the second shield structure.
Jeong discloses in Figure 7 and pars. 0072-0075, wherein the radio-frequency circuit component includes a second substrate (710), a radio-frequency integrated circuit (740) disposed on the second
substrate (710), a sealing resin layer (730, 732) that seals the radio-frequency integrated circuit (740),
and a conductor post (720) embedded in the sealing resin layer (730, 732), the second shield structure includes a first ground plane (760) provided on or in the first substrate, and a second ground plane (702) provided on or in the second substrate, and the conductor post (720) electrically connects the first ground plane and the second ground plane and is part of the second shield structure.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the radio frequency circuit component of Lee/Chien with the radio
frequency circuit component as taught by Jeong to enable efficient millimeter wave signals. Therefore,
to employ having the radio frequency circuit component as claimed invention would have been obvious
to person skill in the art.
Claim 10-12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 2016/0126624) in view of Kawamura (JP 2016123013).
Regarding claims 10-12, Lee discloses every feature of claimed invention as expressly recited in claims 1-3, except for a first heat dissipation member thermally coupled to the first shield structure.
Kawamura discloses in Figure 3, a first heat dissipation member (7) thermally coupled to the first shield structure (8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the firs shielding of Lee with the first shielding having a heat dissipation member as taught by Kawamura to prevent overheating and ensuring reliable performance of the antenna module. Therefore, to employ having the heat member as claimed invention would have been obvious to person skill in the art.
Regarding claim 18, applied to claim 10, Kawamura discloses in Figure 3, wherein the first heat dissipation member (7) is in contact with a surface of the top plate (8) facing the first substrate (5).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2020/0112081) in view of Lee et al (US 2016/0126624).
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses in Figure 6A and par. 0155, a communication device
comprising:
an antenna module (100g) having a radio-frequency [[circuit]] component that processes a radio-frequency signal to be wirelessly communicated; and
a baseband integrated circuit (620g) configured to generate a signal and supply the signal to the
radio-frequency circuit component.
Kim does not disclose the antenna module according to claim 1.
Lee discloses the antenna module according to claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the antenna module of Kim with the antenna module as taught by
Lee to shield the noise of the connector and enhance the wireless functionality of the
communication device. Therefore, to employ having the antenna module as claimed invention would
have been obvious to person skill in the art.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 2016/0126624) in view of Nichols et al (US 5,654,717).
Regarding claim 14, Lee discloses every feature of claimed invention as expressly recited in claim 1, except for the first shield structure electrically connected to a ground plane provided in the first substrate.
Nichols discloses in Figure 3, the first shield structure (74) electrically connected to a ground plane provided in the first substrate (56).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the shield structure of Lee with the shield structure connected to ground plane as taught by Nichols to effectively shield the noise of the connector and optimize the radiation characteristic of the antenna module.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (2020/0112081) in view of Lee et al (US 2016/0126624) in view of Kawamura (JP 2016123013).
Regarding claim 20, Kim and Lee disclose every feature of claimed invention as expressly recited in claim 13, except for a heat dissipation member in contact with a surface of the top plate facing the first substrate.
Kawamura discloses in Figure 3, wherein the first heat dissipation member (7) is in contact with a surface of the top plate (8) facing the first substrate (5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the firs shielding of Kim/Lee with the first shielding having a heat dissipation member as taught by Kawamura to prevent overheating and ensuring reliable performance of the antenna module. Therefore, to employ having the heat member as claimed invention would have been obvious to person skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiry
/DIEU HIEN T DUONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845