DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges the amendments to the claims received on 4/8/2026 have been entered, and that no new matter has been added.
Response to Arguments
Argument 1: Applicant argues on page 17 in the filing on 4/8/2026 that the cited prior art does not teach amended claim 1, specifically “Srinivasan and/or Soubbotin do not seem to provide for using multiple content extraction models to generate multiple different content items based upon a single search result, and then summarizing each of the multiple different content items for the single search result,” in amended claim 1.
Response to Argument 1: Respectfully, the combination of Srinivasan and Soubbotin and Zhou discloses the above. Srinivasan teaches multiple content extraction models. For example, Srinivasan 0036 discloses methods for which extraction occurs: a “sentence relevance score that meets a threshold” as a first model, and “a maximum number (predetermined number) of sentences that have a relevance score” as a second model. Furthermore, Srinivasan 0035 discloses that the extraction models are performed “for at least some of the top-ranked resources;” in other words, both models are capable of being performed upon a plurality of search results. As an example, and to use the terms in claim 1, Srinivasan 0036 uses a “sentence relevance score that meets a threshold” as a first extraction model upon the top 2 search results to generate first and third extractive summaries. Then Srinivasan can be repeated to use “a maximum number (predetermined number) of sentences that have a relevance score” as a second extraction model, again upon the top 2 search results to generate second and fourth extractive summaries. In this way, each of the top 2 search results have 2 extractive models performed upon them. Thus, Srinivasan is capable of performing multiple content extraction models and summaries upon a single search result. See rejection below for more details.
This meets the claim limitations as currently claimed, and Applicant's Argument 1 filed on 11/13/2020 are not persuasive. Applicant’s remaining statements regarding the remaining independent and dependent claims are moot or not persuasive for the reasons stated above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 has been amended to recite “selecting one of the first summary, the second summary, the third summary, or the fourth summary…” However, the last limitation needs to be amended to match. For example, in the “in response” step, the limitation still only “selects the first summary.” “Selecting the first summary” indicates that the invention already knows which summary (the first summary) to select. Why is the invention generating the second through fourth summaries if the invention is always going to “select the first summary?” Why is the invention scoring four summaries when the invention is always going to “select the first summary?” Why is the invention generating four different content items if the second through fourth content items will never be used? It is unclear to the Examiner what the invention is supposed to be doing. For the purposes of express examination, the Examiner interprets that the invention is “in response to selecting one of the first summary, the second summary, the third summary, and the fourth summary, providing one of the first summary, the second summary, the third summary, and the fourth summary for display on the client device.” Claims 11 and 19 recite similar limitations.
Claims 2-10 are dependent claims, and inherit the 35 U.S.C. §112(b) rejections from independent claim 1.
Claims 12-18 are dependent claims, and inherit the 35 U.S.C. §112(b) rejections from independent claim 11.
Claim 20 is an dependent claim, and inherits the 35 U.S.C. §112(b) rejections from independent claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Srinivasan et al., Patent Application Publication number US 20250139105 A1, (hereinafter “Srinivasan”), in view of Soubbotin, Patent Number US 12038958 B1 (hereinafter “Soubbotin”), in view of Zhao, Patent Application Publication number US 20180181573 A1 (hereinafter “Zhao”).
Claim 1: Srinivasan teaches “A method, comprising:
receiving, from a client device, a query (i.e. responsive to a query [Srinivasan 0035]);
in response to the query, generating a plurality of search results (i.e. At step 402, the system identifies (e.g., receives identifiers for) resources determined to be responsive to a query. For at least some of the top-ranked resources [Srinivasan 0035, Fig. 4]) corresponding to a plurality of internet resources associated with the query (i.e. resources can refer to any content accessible to a search engine. Thus, resources include webpages, images, documents, media, etc [Srinivasan 0013]);
generating, using a first content extraction model (i.e. the system generates an extractive summary by concatenating the most relevant sentences… In some implementations, sentences which have a sentence relevance score that meets a threshold are included in the extractive summary [Srinivasan 0036] note: “sentence relevance score that meets a threshold” as a first model), a first content item (i.e. the most relevant sentences [Srinivasan 0036]) based upon a first search result of the plurality of search results (i.e. For at least some of the top-ranked resources, at step 404, the system may generate an extractive summary [Srinivasan 0035] note: “resources” plural, so extraction is performed upon at least 2 search results);
generating, using a second content extraction model (i.e. the system generates an extractive summary by concatenating the most relevant sentences… In some implementations, a maximum number (predetermined number) of sentences that have a relevance score that meets the threshold are used [in the extractive summary] [Srinivasan 0036] note: “a maximum number (predetermined number) of sentences that have a relevance score” as a second model), a second content item (i.e. the most relevant sentences [Srinivasan 0036]) based upon the first search result (i.e. For at least some of the top-ranked resources, at step 404, the system may generate an extractive summary [Srinivasan 0035] note: “resources” plural, so extraction is performed upon at least 2 search results), wherein the second content item is different than the first content item generated based upon the first search result (Srinivasan 0036’s extraction models are “sentence relevance score that meets a threshold” as a first model, which is different than “a maximum number (predetermined number) of sentences that have a relevance score” as a second model);
generating, using the first content extraction model (i.e. the system generates an extractive summary by concatenating the most relevant sentences… In some implementations, sentences which have a sentence relevance score that meets a threshold are included in the extractive summary [Srinivasan 0036] note: “sentence relevance score that meets a threshold” as a first model), a third content item (i.e. the most relevant sentences [Srinivasan 0036]) based upon a second search result of the plurality of search results (i.e. For at least some of the top-ranked resources, at step 404, the system may generate an extractive summary [Srinivasan 0035] note: “resources” plural, so extraction is performed upon at least 2 search results);
generating, using the second content extraction model (i.e. the system generates an extractive summary by concatenating the most relevant sentences… In some implementations, a maximum number (predetermined number) of sentences that have a relevance score that meets the threshold are used [in the extractive summary] [Srinivasan 0036] note: “a maximum number (predetermined number) of sentences that have a relevance score” as a second model), a fourth content item (i.e. the most relevant sentences [Srinivasan 0036]) based upon the second search result (i.e. For at least some of the top-ranked resources, at step 404, the system may generate an extractive summary [Srinivasan 0035] note: “resources” plural, so extraction is performed upon at least 2 search results), wherein the fourth content item is different than the third content item generated based upon the second search result (Srinivasan 0036’s extraction models are “sentence relevance score that meets a threshold” as a first model, which is different than “a maximum number (predetermined number) of sentences that have a relevance score” as a second model);
generating… a plurality of summaries (i.e. For at least some of the top-ranked resources, at step 404, the system may generate an extractive summary [Srinivasan 0035]) comprising:
a first summary of the first content item generated, using the first content extraction model, based upon the first search result;
a second summary of the second content item generated, using the second content extraction model, based upon the first search result;
a third summary of the third content item generated, using the first content extraction model, based upon the second search result; and
a fourth summary of the fourth content item generated, using the second content extraction model, based upon the second search result (Srinivasan teaches at least 2 different extraction models that create “extractive summaries” in 0036, above. Srinivasan teaches that extraction summaries are generated for at least 2 search results in 0035, above. Thus, Srinivasan is capable of using each of the 2 extraction models upon at least 2 search results to generate 4 summaries: a first summary of the first content item, a second summary of the second content item, a third summary of the third content item; and a fourth summary of the fourth content item. For example, Srinivasan uses a “sentence relevance score that meets a threshold” as a first model upon the top 2 search results to generate first and third extractive summaries. Then Srinivasan is repeated to use “a maximum number (predetermined number) of sentences that have a relevance score” as a second model upon the top 2 search results to generate second and fourth extractive summaries);
determining summary scores of the plurality of summaries (i.e. At step 412, the system may calculate a relevance score for the extractive summary. The relevance score is based on the relevance of the extractive summary to the query [Srinivasan 0037, Fig. 4] note: in Fig. 4 step 412, scoring is performed for each summary generated in step 410);…”
Srinivasan is silent regarding generating, “using a language model,” a plurality of summaries.
Soubbotin teaches “receiving, from a client device, a query (i.e. a user's query for “causes of ocean tides” in query field 101, as well as search results list 103 as links to documents that were found by the search engine while matching the query [Soubbotin Col 20 lines 47-49, Fig. 1-2]);
in response to the query, generating a plurality of search results (i.e. a user's query for “causes of ocean tides” in query field 101, as well as search results list 103 as links to documents that were found by the search engine while matching the query [Soubbotin Col 20 lines 47-49, Fig. 1-2]) corresponding to a plurality of internet resources associated with the query (i.e. search results list 103 may be displayed with relevant information such as, but not limited to… a URL to the location of the document [Soubbotin Col 20 lines 43-46]);…
generating, using a language model, a plurality of summaries (i.e. If the user clicks summary request button 100, a summary of the results that are displayed on this page may be generated by the system [Soubbotin Col 20 lines 65-67, Fig. 1-2]… FIG. 2 illustrates an exemplary summary 200… that may be generated… based on Statistical AI Language Models (e.g., LLMs). In the present embodiment, the Summary has a title “causes of ocean tides” [Soubbotin Col 23 lines 6-10, Fig. 1-2]) comprising:
a first summary of the first content item generated… based upon the first search result;…
a third summary of the third content item generated… based upon the second search result; and… (i.e. If the user clicks summary request button 100, a summary of the results that are displayed on this page may be generated by the system [Soubbotin Col 20 lines 65-67, Fig. 1-2] note: Fig. 1-2 shows at least 6 summaries, element 200);”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Srinivasan to include the feature of having the ability to use a language model as disclosed by Soubbotin.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit of using generative AI, which reduces manual labor (manual code programming), and also the summary text can flow better, and not merely be a choppy selection of sentences.
Srinivasan and Soubbotin are silent regarding “selecting one of the first summary, the second summary, the third summary or the fourth summary from the plurality of summaries based upon the summary scores; and in response to selecting the first summary, providing the first summary for display on the client device.”
Zhao teaches “in response to the query, generating a plurality of search results corresponding to a plurality of… resources associated with the query (i.e. search for multiple pieces of page information matching the query from a database [Zhao 0071]);
generating, using a first content extraction model, a first content item based upon a first search result of the plurality of search results (i.e. Page information recorded in the database includes entity data obtained by performing entity extraction on pages, and/or, paragraphing data obtained by extracting paragraphs containing an answer from the pages [Zhao 0072] note: page information includes extracted text);…
determining summary scores of the plurality of summaries (i.e. perform multi-characteristic analysis on each piece of page information according to characteristics, to obtain a characteristic score of each of the characteristics [Zhao 0073] note: from 0072 above, page information includes extracted text, which is a summary);
selecting one of the first summary, the second summary, the third summary or the fourth summary from the plurality of summaries based upon the summary scores; and
in response to selecting the first summary, providing the first summary for display on the client device (i.e. rank the multiple pieces of page information according to the characteristic score [Zhao 0075]… As a possible implementation, pieces of page information top ranked can be selected and displayed as a summary on the search result page. FIG. 2 [Zhao 0051, Fig. 2]).”
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention/combination of Srinivasan and Soubbotin to include the feature of having the ability to display a certain summary as disclosed by Zhao.
One would have been motivated to do so, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to view the summary that the user desires, and summaries reduce the amount of reading a user is required, which saves the user time.
Claim 2: Srinivasan and Soubbotin and Zhao teach all the limitations of claim 1, above. Zhao teaches “displaying a search interface on the client device, wherein the query is received via the search interface (Zhao Fig. 2 shows a search interface with a query); and
in response to selecting the first summary, displaying the first summary via the search interface (i.e. rank the multiple pieces of page information according to the characteristic score [Zhao 0075]… As a possible implementation, pieces of page information top ranked can be selected and displayed as a summary on the search result page. FIG. 2 [Zhao 0051, Fig. 2]) concurrently with displaying one or more representations of one or more search results of the plurality of search results via the search interface (Zhao Fig. 2 shows “This answer is from mingju.3518.cn”).”
One would have been motivated to combine Srinivasan and Soubbotin and Zhao, before the effective filing date of the invention because it provides the benefit to view the summary that the user desires, and summaries reduce the amount of reading a user is required, which saves the user time.
Claim 3: Srinivasan and Soubbotin and Zhao teach all the limitations of claim 1, above. Soubbotin teaches generating summaries using a language model in claim 1 (see Soubbotin Col 23 lines 6-10, Fig. 1-2, above). Srinivasan teaches “generating… an initial summary comprising a plurality of summary items (i.e. the system generates an extractive summary by concatenating the most relevant sentences [Srinivasan 0036] note: set of relevant sentences as initial summary, each sentence as summary items);
determining, based upon the plurality of summary items and the query (i.e. each sentence in the most relevant portions… relevance represents relevance to the query [Srinivasan 0035]), a plurality of relevance statuses comprising:
a first relevance status of a first summary item of the plurality of summary items, wherein the first relevance status indicates that the first summary item is relevant to the query (i.e. relevance represents relevance to the query [Srinivasan 0035]… sentences which have a sentence relevance score that meets a threshold are included in the extractive summary [Srinivasan 0036] note: status of “included”); and
a second relevance status of a second summary item of the plurality of summary items, wherein the second relevance status indicates that the second summary item is not relevant to the query (i.e. relevance represents relevance to the query [Srinivasan 0035]… a sentence with a 0.25 relevance score may be excluded [Srinivasan 0036] note: status of “excluded”); and
generating the first summary based upon the initial summary and the plurality of relevance statuses (i.e. sentences which have a sentence relevance score that meets a threshold are included in the extractive summary [Srinivasan 0036]).”
Claim 4: Srinivasan and Soubbotin and Zhao teach all the limitations of claim 3, above. Srinivasan teaches “wherein generating the first summary comprises:
including the first summary item in the first summary based upon the first relevance status indicating that the first summary item is relevant to the query (i.e. relevance represents relevance to the query [Srinivasan 0035]… sentences which have a sentence relevance score that meets a threshold are included in the extractive summary [Srinivasan 0036] note: status of “included”); and
not including the second summary item in the first summary based upon the second relevance status indicating that the second summary item is not relevant to the query (i.e. relevance represents relevance to the query [Srinivasan 0035]… a sentence with a 0.25 relevance score may be excluded [Srinivasan 0036] note: status of “excluded”).”
Claim 5: Srinivasan and Soubbotin and Zhao teach all the limitations of claim 3, above. Srinivasan teaches “wherein determining the summary scores of the plurality of summaries comprises:
determining a first summary score of the first summary (i.e. system may calculate a relevance score for the extractive summary [0037]) based upon the plurality of relevance statuses (i.e. sentences which have a sentence relevance score that meets a threshold are included in the extractive summary [Srinivasan 0036] note: score is based on the summary, which is based on the relevant sentences, which have an “included” status (see claim 3); thus the score is based upon the status).”
Claim 6: Srinivasan and Soubbotin and Zhao teach all the limitations of claim 3, above. Srinivasan teaches “wherein determining the summary scores of the plurality of summaries comprises:
determining a first summary score of the first summary based upon a quantity of summary items of the plurality of summary items (i.e. In some implementations, a maximum number (predetermined number) of sentences that have a relevance score that meets the threshold are used [0036] note: score is based upon both a quantity and a quality attribute).”
Claim 7: Srinivasan and Soubbotin and Zhao teach all the limitations of claim 3, above. Srinivasan teaches “wherein determining the summary scores of the plurality of summaries comprises:
determining a first summary score of the first summary based upon item sizes of the plurality of summary items (i.e. In some implementations, a maximum number (predetermined number) of sentences that have a relevance score that meets the threshold are used [0036] note: score is based upon both a quantity (size) and a quality attribute).”
Claim 8: Srinivasan and Soubbotin and Zhao teach all the limitations of claim 1, above. Srinivasan teaches “comprising:
determining rankings, of the plurality of search results, comprising a first ranking of the first search result and a second ranking of the second search result (i.e. top ranked resources that are responsive to the query [Srinivasan 0021] note: top ranked resources indicates at least 2 ranked results),
wherein determining the summary scores of the plurality of summaries comprises determining a first summary score of the first summary based upon the first ranking (i.e. extractive summary system 126 is configured to generate an extractive summary relevance score… In some implementations, a search result generator 124 may use the extractive summary generated for a resource in a search result page [Srinivasan 0024] note: summary uses results rankings as a score, to display the summaries in the ranking order of the search results).”
Claim 9: Srinivasan and Soubbotin and Zhao teach all the limitations of claim 1, above. Srinivasan teaches “comprising:
determining a similarity score associated with a similarity between at least a portion of the first summary and content associated with an internet resource corresponding to the second search result, wherein determining the summary scores of the plurality of summaries comprises determining a first summary score of the first summary based upon the similarity score (i.e. Scoring the relevance of the extractive summary 235 to the query [results] enables the search system 120 to take into account context provided by other passages in the resource, enabling the search system 120 to better (more often and more accurately) identify resources that answer the full complex query 202. Thus, the extractive summary relevance score may be used as a resource relevance score 245 in determining a search result page for the query 202… the extractive summary system 126 can provide a resource relevance score 245 used to re-rank (re-order) resources [Srinivasan 0029] note: summaries are scored on relevance to each resource, or search result. Srinivasan’s “re-ranking” indicates that every search result is scored with an extractive summary relevance score, including a first and second search result. Extractive summary “relevance” score is a similarity score).”
Claim 10: Srinivasan and Soubbotin and Zhao teach all the limitations of claim 1, above. Srinivasan teaches “wherein:
determining a similarity score associated with a similarity between at least a portion of the first summary and content associated with an internet resource corresponding to the first search result, wherein determining the summary scores of the plurality of summaries comprises determining a first summary score of the first summary based upon the similarity score (i.e. Scoring the relevance of the extractive summary 235 to the query [results] enables the search system 120 to take into account context provided by other passages in the resource, enabling the search system 120 to better (more often and more accurately) identify resources that answer the full complex query 202. Thus, the extractive summary relevance score may be used as a resource relevance score 245 in determining a search result page for the query 202… the extractive summary system 126 can provide a resource relevance score 245 used to re-rank (re-order) resources [Srinivasan 0029] note: summaries are scored on relevance to each resource, or search result. Srinivasan’s “re-ranking” indicates that every search result is scored with an extractive summary relevance score, including a first and second search result. Extractive summary “relevance” score is a similarity score).”
Claim 11: Srinivasan and Soubbotin and Zhao teach a non-transitory machine-readable medium having stored thereon processor-executable instructions that when executed cause performance of operations (i.e. a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions executable by one or more of the processors [Srinivasan 0043]), the operations corresponding to the method of claim 1; therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 12: Claim 12 is similar in content and in scope to claim 2, thus it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 13: Claim 13 is similar in content and in scope to claim 3, thus it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 14: Claim 14 is similar in content and in scope to claim 4, thus it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 15: Claim 15 is similar in content and in scope to claim 5, thus it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 16: Claim 16 is similar in content and in scope to claim 6, thus it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 17: Claim 17 is similar in content and in scope to claim 7, thus it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 18: Claim 18 is similar in content and in scope to claim 8, thus it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 19: Srinivasan and Soubbotin and Zhao teach a computing device comprising:
a processor; and
memory comprising processor-executable instructions that when executed by the processor cause performance of operations (i.e. a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions executable by one or more of the processors [Srinivasan 0043]), the operations corresponding to the method of claim 1; therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 20: Claim 20 is similar in content and in scope to claim 2, thus it is rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Donato (US 20160350412 A1) listed on 892 is related to performing multiple text extractions and performing multiple summaries upon a single search result.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2179
/IRETE F EHICHIOYA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2179