DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-7 are pending and under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) document(s) submitted on 02/15/2024 is compliant with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS document(s) has/have been fully considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because:
The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “positioning mechanism” of claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. The meaning of every term used in any of the claims should be apparent from the descriptive portion of the specification with clear disclosure as to its import; and in mechanical cases, it should be identified in the descriptive portion of the specification by reference to the drawing, designating the part or parts therein to which the term applies. A term used in the claims may be given a special meaning in the description. See MPEP § 2111.01 and § 2173.05(a).
Usually, the terminology of the claims present on the filing date of the application follows the nomenclature of the specification, but sometimes in amending the claims or in adding new claims, new terms are introduced that do not appear in the specification. The use of a confusing variety of terms for the same thing should not be permitted.
New claims, including claims first presented after the application filing date where no claims were submitted on filing, and amendments to the claims already in the application should be scrutinized not only for new matter but also for new terminology. While an applicant is not limited to the nomenclature used in the application as filed, he or she should make appropriate amendment of the specification whenever this nomenclature is departed from by amendment of the claims so as to have clear support or antecedent basis in the specification for the new terms appearing in the claims. This is necessary in order to insure certainty in construing the claims in the light of the specification See 37 CFR 1.75, MPEP § 608.01(i) and § 1302.01 and § 2103. Note that examiners should ensure that the terms and phrases used in claims presented late in prosecution of the application (including claims amended via an examiner’s amendment) find clear support or antecedent basis in the description so that the meaning of the terms in the claims may be ascertainable by reference to the description, see 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1). If the examiner determines that the claims presented late in prosecution do not comply with 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1), applicant will be required to make appropriate amendment to the description to provide clear support or antecedent basis for the terms appearing in the claims provided no new matter is introduced. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
Applicant’s recitation of “a positioning mechanism” in claim 1 was not disclosed in the originally filed application. However, the claimed terminology appears to be referring to “tip rack pressing means 119” disclosed in paragraphs [0210-0211] and Figures 24-26 of applicants originally filed disclosure (16/644,753). The examiner requests applicant amend the claim terminology “a positioning mechanism” to “a tip rack pressing means”.
Applicant’s recitation of “a height reference member” in claim 1 was not disclosed in the originally filed application. However, the claimed terminology appears to be referring to “a height reference side 44” disclosed in paragraphs [54-55] and Figures 24-26 of applicant’s originally filed disclosure (16/644,753). The examiner requests applicant amend the claim terminology “a height reference member” to “a height reference side”.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a positioning mechanism configured to position the expendable supply at a predetermined position” in claim 1.
For purposes of examination, the examiner is interpreting the positioning mechanism to be “a plurality of pressing member” and “a plurality of biasing members” as defined by claim 1.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 line 21 recites “the inner wall”, line 23 recites “the four corners of the expendable supply”, and lines 27-28 recite “the rolling range of the ball”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these terms in the claim and it is unclear what applicant is referring to. Perhaps applicant is intending to recite “an inner wall”, “one of four corners of the expendable supply”, and “a rolling range of the ball”? Claims 2-6 are also rejected by their dependency from claim 1. A similar rejection is also made over lines 6, 12, and 22 of claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiyama et al. (US Patent No. 7,360,984 – hereinafter “Sugiyama”), in view of Belz et al. (US 2011/0300620 – hereinafter “Belz”) and further in view of Bouschart et al. (US Patent No. 3,264,866 – hereinafter “Bouschart”).
Regarding claim 1, Sugiyama teach an expendable supply device (Sugiyama; figs. 2-7, #80, col. 5 lines 59-60), comprising:
a table configured to allow an expendable supply to be mounted (Sugiyama; figs. 12-13, #34a, #34b, col. 11 lines 64-67); and
a positioning mechanism configured to position the expendable supply at a predetermined position while moving the table from side to side (Sugiyama; fig. 13, #11, col. 11 line 62 through col. 12 line 9),
wherein the positioning mechanism includes
a height reference member configured to restrict the vertical position of the expendable supply by coming into contact with a portion of the expendable supply from above as the table moves (Sugiyama; figs. 12-13, #29a, #29b, col. 11, lines 45-61).
Sugiyama does not teach the positioning mechanism configured to move the table from a lower side to an upper side, or the positioning mechanism includes a plurality of members supported so as to be movable in the vertical direction, wherein the plurality of members are brought into contact with a respective one of the four corners of the expendable supply from below to hold the expendable supply horizontally by placing them on the plurality of members.
However, Belz teach the analogous art of an expendable supply device (Belz; figs. 39-42; [0047-0050]) comprising an expendable supply (Belz; figs. 26-34, #101, [0195]) and a positioning mechanism configured to move a table from a lower side to an upper side (Belz; teach various motors, gears, belts, cams, shafts, etc. that position table 218, figs. 41-42, #218, [0213, 0218]), wherein the positioning mechanism includes a plurality of members supported so as to be movable in the vertical direction, wherein the plurality of members are brought into contact with a respective one of the four corners of the expendable supply from below to hold the expendable supply horizontally by placing them on the plurality of members (Belz; figs. 41-42, #205, [0212]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the positioning mechanism of Sugiyama to be configured to move the table from a lower side to an upper side and to comprise a plurality of members supported so as to be movable in the vertical direction by bringing the plurality of members into contact with a respective one of the four corners of the expendable supply from below so as to holding the expendable supply horizontally by placing them on the plurality of members, as taught by Belz, because Belz teach the table that moves form a lower side to an upper side and comprises a plurality of members that are brought into contact with the corners of the expendable supply from below, allows the plurality of members to engage with the expendable supply to perform processing (Belz; figs. 41-42, [0212]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since Sugiyama and Belz both teach positioning a table around an expendable supply.
Modified Sugiyama does not teach the plurality of member are pressing members, the positioning mechanism includes a plurality of biasing members configured to apply biasing force from below to the plurality of pressing members, and wherein each of the plurality of the pressing members has a bottomed outer peripheral hole that opens upward at the upper end, and has a ball that is smaller than the outer peripheral hole and can roll freely, the ball being arranged in the outer peripheral hole with a gap from the inner wall, bringing the upper surface of the ball into contact with a respective one of the four corners of the expendable supply from below, and holding the expendable supply horizontally by placing them on the ball, wherein the expendable supply is configured to be horizontally moveable with the ball and within the rolling range of the ball in the outer peripheral hole.
However, Bouschart teach the analogous art of a positioning mechanism (Boushchart; fig. 11) wherein the positioning mechanism includes a pressing member (Boushcart; fig. 11, #51, col. 3, lines 34-35), a biasing member configured to apply biasing force from below to the pressing member (Bouschart; fig. 11, #75, col. 5 line 36), and wherein the pressing member has a bottomed outer peripheral hole that opens upward at the upper end (Bouschart; fig. 11, #49, col. 3 lines 33-34), and has a ball that is smaller than the outer peripheral hole and can roll freely (Bouschart; fig. 11, #48, col. 3 lines 33-34), the ball being arranged in the outer peripheral hole with a gap from the inner wall (Bouschart; fig. 11, col. 3 lines 33-34.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the positioning mechanism and plurality of members of modified Sugiyama with the pressing member, as taught by Bouschart, because Bouschart teach the pressing member comprising the biasing member and bottomed outer peripheral hold that holds a ball allows sliding engagement with a pin 46 and rollers 45 using a slot 42 (Bouschart; col. 3 lines 30-35). NOTE: The modification would thus result in bringing the upper surface of the ball into contact with a respective one of the four corners of the expendable supply from below, and holding the expendable supply horizontally by placing them on the ball, wherein the expendable supply is configured to be horizontally moveable with the ball and within the rolling range of the ball in the outer peripheral hole. One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since modified Sugiyama and Bouschart both teach engaging a surface using a movable member.
Regarding claim 2, modified Sugiyama teach the expendable supply device according to claim 1, wherein the pressing members further include a central hole that is formed in the center of the bottom surface of the outer peripheral hole and is smaller than a diameter of the ball, and wherein the ball is configured to be mounted in the central hole when released from contact with the expendable supply (The modification of the positioning mechanism and plurality of members of modified Sugiyama with the pressing member, as taught by Bouschart, has previously been discussed in claim 1 above. Bouschart teach socket 49 tapers inward to form a central hole that is smaller in diameter than a diameter of the ball 48 so that the ball can be mounted in the central hole and would be configured to remain in the central hold when released from contact with the expendable supply; fig. 11, col. 3 lines 33-34).
Regarding claim 3, modified Sugiyama teach the expendable supply device according to claim 1 above, further comprising: a pair of positioning bearings provided along one side of the expendable supply in the horizontal direction in order to contact the one side of the expendable supply when the expendable supply is mounted on the table (Sugiyama; fig. 13, #30b, #30c, col. 11 lines 36-44); and a positioning facing bearing supported by springs on the other side of the expendable supply in the horizontal direction in order to contact the center of the other side of the expendable supply and to press the expendable supply towards the pair of positioning bearings when the expendable supply is mounted on the table (Sugiyama; fig. 13, #30a, col. 11 lines 36-44).
Regarding claim 4, modified Sugiyama teach the expendable supply device according to claim 2 above, further comprising: a pair of positioning bearings provided along one side of the expendable supply in the horizontal direction in order to contact the one side of the expendable supply when the expendable supply is mounted on the table (Sugiyama; fig. 13, #30b, #30c, col. 11 lines 36-44); and a positioning facing bearing supported by springs on the other side of the expendable supply in the horizontal direction in order to contact the center of the other side of the expendable supply and to press the expendable supply towards the pair of positioning bearings when the expendable supply is mounted on the table (Sugiyama; fig. 13, #30a, col. 11 lines 36-44).
Regarding claim 5, modified Sugiyama teach an automated analyzing device (Sugiyama; fig. 1, #100, col. 4 lines 4-12), comprising: a reagent vessel container that is capable of holding a plurality of reagent vessels containing a reagent used for analysis (Sugiyama; fig. 1, #53, #67, col. 5 lines 33-35); an analysis means that performs a predetermined analysis by dispensing a sample and a reagent to be analyzed (Sugiyama; fig. 1, #57, col. 5 lines 45-51]); and an expendable supply device according to claim 1 that supplies an expendable used for analysis of the sample (The expendable supply device according to claim 1 has already been discussed above. Sugiyama; fig. 1, #80, col. 4 lines 4-5).
Regarding claim 6, modified Sugiyama teach an automated analyzing device (Sugiyama; fig. 1, #100, col. 4 lines 4-12), comprising: a reagent vessel container that is capable of holding a plurality of reagent vessels containing a reagent used for analysis (Sugiyama; fig. 1, #53, #67, col. 5 lines 33-35); an analysis means that performs a predetermined analysis by dispensing a sample and a reagent to be analyzed (Sugiyama; fig. 1, #57, col. 5 lines 45-51]); and an expendable supply device according to claim 2 that supplies an expendable used for analysis of the sample (The expendable supply device according to claim 2 has already been discussed above. Sugiyama; fig. 1, #80, col. 4 lines 4-5).
Regarding claim 7, Sugiyama teach an expendable supply method for positioning an expendable at a predetermined position while moving a table from side to side, the table allowing an expendable supply to be mounted (Sugiyama; figs. 2-7 & 12-13, #80, #34a. #34b, col. 5 line 59-61, col. 11 lines 64-67), the method comprising:
a step of arranging the table (Sugiyama; fig. 13, #11, col. 11 line 62 through col. 12 line 9),
a step of restricting the vertical position of the expendable by bringing a height reference member into contact with a portion of the expendable supply from above as the table moves (Sugiyama; figs. 12-13, #29a, #29b, col. 11, lines 45-61).
Sugiyama does not teach moving the table from a lower side to an upper side, or arranging a plurality of members supported so as to be movable in the vertical direction with respect to the table, wherein the plurality of members are brought into contact with a respective one of the four corners of the expendable supply from below to hold the expendable supply horizontally by placing them on the plurality of members.
However, Belz teach the analogous art of an expendable supply method for positioning an expendable (Belz; figs. 39-42; [0047-0050]) comprising an expendable supply (Belz; figs. 26-34, #101, [0195]) and positioning a table from a lower side to an upper side (Belz teach various motors, gears, belts, cams, shafts, etc. that position table 218; figs. 41-42, #218, [0213, 0218]), wherein the positioning includes a plurality of members supported so as to be movable in the vertical direction, wherein the plurality of members are brought into contact with a respective one of the four corners of the expendable supply from below to hold the expendable supply horizontally by placing them on the plurality of members (Belz; figs. 41-42, #205, [0212]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Sugiyama to be configured to move the table from a lower side to an upper side and to comprise a plurality of members supported so as to be movable in the vertical direction by bringing the plurality of members into contact with a respective one of the four corners of the expendable supply from below so as to holding the expendable supply horizontally by placing them on the plurality of members, as taught by Belz, because Belz teach the table that moves form a lower side to an upper side and comprises a plurality of members that are brought into contact with the corners of the expendable supply from below, allows the plurality of members to engage with the expendable supply to perform processing (Belz; figs. 41-42, [0212]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since Sugiyama and Belz both teach positioning a table around an expendable supply.
Modified Sugiyama does not teach the plurality of member are pressing members, applying a biasing force from below to the plurality of pressing members, and arranging each of the plurality of the pressing members so that a ball in a bottomed outer peripheral hole with a gap from the inner wall, the outer peripheral hole opening upward at the upper end, wherein the ball is smaller than the outer peripheral hole and can roll freely, the ball being arranged in the outer peripheral hole with a gap from the inner wall, bringing the upper surface of the ball into contact with a respective one of the four corners of the expendable supply from below, and holding the expendable supply horizontally by placing them on the ball, wherein the expendable supply is configured to be horizontally moveable with the ball and within the rolling range of the ball in the outer peripheral hole.
However, Bouschart teach the analogous art of a method arranging a member configured to apply a biasing force (Boushchart; fig. 11) wherein the method includes a pressing member (Boushcart; fig. 11, #51, col. 3, lines 34-35), a biasing member configured to apply biasing force from below to the pressing member (Bouschart; fig. 11, #75, col. 5 line 36), and wherein the pressing member has a bottomed outer peripheral hole that opens upward at the upper end (Bouschart; fig. 11, #49, col. 3 lines 33-34), and has a ball that is smaller than the outer peripheral hole and can roll freely (Bouschart; fig. 11, #48, col. 3 lines 33-34), the ball being arranged in the outer peripheral hole with a gap from the inner wall (Bouschart; fig. 11, col. 3 lines 33-34.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the positioning mechanism and plurality of members of modified Sugiyama with the pressing member, as taught by Bouschart, because Bouschart teach the pressing member comprising the biasing member and bottomed outer peripheral hold that holds a ball allows sliding engagement with a pin 46 and rollers 45 using a slot 42 (Bouschart; col. 3 lines 30-35). NOTE: The modification would thus result in bringing the upper surface of the ball into contact with a respective one of the four corners of the expendable supply from below, and holding the expendable supply horizontally by placing them on the ball, wherein the expendable supply is configured to be horizontally moveable with the ball and within the rolling range of the ball in the outer peripheral hole. One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since modified Sugiyama and Bouschart both teach engaging a surface using a movable member.
Other References Cited
The prior art of made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure include:
Marouiss et al. (US 2001/0048899) disclose an expendable supply table that moves horizontally and vertically.
Liston (US Patent No. 3,748,044) disclose a positioning mechanism comprising a pressing member and biasing member that push upward on the bottom surface of a platform.
Zeiters (US Patent No. 3,763,695) disclose pressing members configured to apply a biasing force in the event of irregularities or distortions on a surface.
Citations to art
In the above citations to documents in the art, an effort has been made to specifically cite representative passages, however rejections are in reference to the entirety of each document relied upon. Other passages, not specifically cited, may apply as well.
Conclusion
E-mail communication Authorization
Per updated USPTO Internet usage policies, Applicant and/or applicant’s representative is encouraged to authorize the USPTO examiner to discuss any subject matter concerning the above application via Internet e-mail communications. See MPEP 502.03. To approve such communications, Applicant must provide written authorization for e-mail communication by submitting the following statement via EFS Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300):
Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.
Written authorizations submitted to the Examiner via e-mail are NOT proper. Written authorizations must be submitted via EFS-Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300). A paper copy of e-mail correspondence will be placed in the patent application when appropriate. E-mails from the USPTO are for the sole use of the intended recipient, and may contain information subject to the confidentiality requirement set forth in 35 USC § 122. See also MPEP 502.03.
/C.A.T./Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/BENJAMIN R WHATLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798