Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koitabashi (US 2023/0299345 A1; hereinafter “Koitabashi I”) in view of Yamamoto (JP 2015 005350, Machine Translation).
Regarding claim 1, Koitabashi I teaches a secondary battery comprising
A positive electrode comprising a positive electrode mixture layer containing a positive electrode active material and sulfur atoms (¶0016), and
a mass of sulfur atoms per unit volume of the positive electrode mixture layer being 430 g/m3 (¶0062; Koitabashi I teaches a mass of sulfur atoms in the positive electrode layer set in a range of 0 – 3500 g/m3, and further teaches 430 g/m3, specifically), and
A nonaqueous electrolyte containing propanesultone (¶0059), and
A concentration of propanesultone in the nonaqueous electrolyte being 0.5% by mass or more (Table 1).
Koitabashi I does not teach a nonaqueous electrolyte containing lithium difluorophosphate (LiDFP), and a concentration of LiDFP in the nonaqueous electrolyte being 0.2% by mass or more. Yamamoto teaches lithium difluorophosphate as a preferred additive to a nonaqueous electrolyte of a secondary battery where the amount of additive contained in the electrolyte solution is preferably 0.1 to 5% by mass (Yamamoto, ¶0072). It would have been obvious as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Koitabashi I by using lithium difluorophosphate as an additive for the nonaqueous electrolyte as taught by Yamamoto because of the improvement of performance and life characteristics (Yamamoto, ¶0072).
Regarding claim 2, modified Koitabashi I teaches the secondary battery of claim 1 as described above. Koitabashi I further teaches a negative electrode comprising a negative electrode mixture layer containing a negative electrode active material and sulfur atoms (¶0056).
Regarding claim 3, modified Koitabashi I teaches the secondary battery of claim 2 as described above. Koitabashi I further teaches a negative electrode mixture layer wherein the mass of sulfur atoms per unit volume is 430 g/m3 (¶0063; reference teaches a range of sulfur atoms per unit volume in the negative electrode layer as 0 -6600 g/m3, which includes the claimed value).
Regarding claim 4, modified Koitabashi I teaches a battery pack (¶0104) comprising the secondary battery as described above in addressing claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, modified Koitabashi I teaches a battery pack as described above in addressing claim 4. Koitabashi I further teaches a battery pack comprising an external power distribution terminal and a protective circuit (¶0105).
Regarding claim 6, modified Koitabashi I teaches a battery pack as described above in addressing claim 4. Koitabashi I further teaches a plurality of the secondary battery, wherein the plurality of secondary batteries is electrically connected in series, in parallel, or in a combination of in-series connection and in-parallel connection (¶0104).
Regarding claim 7, modified Koitabashi I teaches a vehicle comprising the battery pack as described above in addressing claim 4 (¶0119).
Regarding claim 8, modified Koitabashi I teaches a vehicle as described above in addressing claim 7. Koitabashi I further teaches a vehicle comprising a mechanism configured to convert kinetic energy of the vehicle into regenerative energy (¶0120).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12671110 B2 (hereinafter “Koitabashi II”) in view of Yamamoto JP 2015 005350 A.
Regarding claim 1, Koitabashi II claims a secondary battery comprising
A positive electrode comprising a positive electrode mixture layer containing a positive electrode active material and sulfur atoms (Claim 1),
a mass of sulfur atoms per unit volume of the positive electrode mixture layer being 430 g/m3 (Claim 1, Koitabashi II claims a mass of sulfur atoms in the positive electrode layer set in a range of 0 – 3500 g/m3; Col 8 Line 33, further teaches 430 g/m3)
A nonaqueous electrolyte containing propanesultone (Claim 1), and
A concentration of propanesultone in the nonaqueous electrolyte being 0.5% by mass or more (Table 1)
Koitabashi II does not claim a nonaqueous electrolyte containing lithium difluorophosphate (LiDFP), and a concentration of LiDFP in the nonaqueous electrolyte being 0.2% by mass or more. Yamamoto teaches lithium difluorophosphate as a preferred additive to a nonaqueous electrolyte of a secondary battery where the amount of additive contained in the electrolyte solution is preferably 0.1 to 5% by mass (Yamamoto, ¶0072). It would have been obvious as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Koitabashi II by using lithium difluorophosphate as an additive for the nonaqueous electrolyte as taught by Yamamoto because of the improvement of performance and life characteristics (Yamamoto, ¶0072).
Regarding claim 2, modified Koitabashi II claims the secondary battery of claim 1 as described above. Koitabashi II further claims a negative electrode comprising a negative electrode mixture layer containing a negative electrode active material and sulfur atoms (Claim 1).
Regarding claim 3, modified Koitabashi II claims the secondary battery of claim 2 as described above. Koitabashi II further claims a negative electrode mixture layer wherein the mass of sulfur atoms per unit volume is 430 g/m3 (Claim 1; reference claims a range of sulfur atoms per unit volume in the negative electrode layer as 0 -6600 g/m3, which includes the claimed value).
Regarding claim 4, modified Koitabashi II claims a battery pack (Claim 3) comprising a secondary battery as described above in addressing claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, modified Koitabashi II claims a battery pack as described above in claim 4. Koitabashi I further claims a battery pack comprising an external power distribution terminal and a protective circuit (Claim 4).
Regarding claim 6, modified Koitabashi II claims a battery pack as described above in claim 4. Koitabashi II further claims a plurality of the secondary battery, wherein the plurality of secondary batteries is electrically connected in series, in parallel, or in a combination of in-series connection and in-parallel connection (Claim 5).
Regarding claim 7, modified Koitabashi II claims a vehicle comprising a battery pack as described above in claim 4 (Claim 7).
Regarding claim 8, modified Koitabashi II claims a vehicle as described above in addressing claim 7. Koitabashi II further claims a vehicle comprising a mechanism configured to convert kinetic energy of the vehicle into regenerative energy (Claim 7).
Conclusion
/T.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1726
/JEFFREY T BARTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1726 28 August 2026