DETAILED ACTION
This is a first action on the merits, in response to the claims received 2/15/2024. Claims 1-5 are pending for prosecution below.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS)(s) file on have been considered by the examiner. An initialed copy is attached herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Najmabadi et al, (Najmabadi), (USPATNO.10,230,254).
As for claim 1, Najmabadi discloses and shows in Figs.1,5-7 a power device comprising: a power storage unit (ref’s power source); a rotating electric machine (ref’s transformer) ; a charging (via charging port) and power supply unit connected to the rotating electric machine; a DC voltage conversion unit (via boost converter) connected to the power storage unit; a power conversion unit (ref’s AC/DC) connected between the DC voltage conversion unit and the rotating electric machine; and a power supply unit connected to the DC voltage conversion unit and the power conversion unit (col.5, lines 21-59).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Najmabadi in view of CHOI et al, (CHOI), (USNO.2014/0021780)
As for claim 2, Najmabadi discloses all limitations, but differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose a power storage
unit is charged from the charging and power supply unit by an external power source,
the rotating electric machine and the power conversion unit perform a voltage step-up
operation, and the DC voltage conversion unit performs a voltage step-down operation
Choi discloses and shows in Fig. 2 a power storage unit is charged from the charging and power supply unit by an external power source, the rotating electric machine and the power conversion unit perform a voltage step-up operation (via operation mode), and the DC voltage conversion unit performs a voltage step-down operation (via buck converter in inverse operation mode) (par.[0042,0053])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention modified the teachings of Najmabadi by using a power storage unit is charged from the charging and power supply unit by an external power source, the rotating electric machine and the power conversion unit perform a voltage step-up operation, and the DC voltage conversion unit performs a voltage step-down operation for advantages such as providing energy in an emergency (par.[0003]) , as taught by Choi
As for claim 3, Najmabadi in combination with Choi discloses and shows a case where the power storage unit is charged from the charging and power supply unit by an external power source, the power supply unit steps down a voltage obtained through the voltage step-up operation of the rotating electric machine and the power conversion unit and supplies power to the outside.
As for claim 4, Najmabadi in combination with Choi discloses and shows a case where power is supplied to the outside from the charging and power supply unit with power of the power storage unit, the rotating electric machine, the power conversion unit, and the DC voltage conversion unit perform a voltage step-down operation.
As for claim 5, Najmabadi in combination with Choi discloses and shows in Fig. 2 a case where power is supplied to the outside from the charging and power supply unit with power of the power storage unit, the power supply unit steps down a voltage obtained through the voltage step-down operation of the DC voltage conversion unit and supplies power to the outside.
Contact Information
/ARUN C WILLIAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859